The following comment inspired the blogmaster to expand the focus on data collection and discussion about the COVID 19 pandemic. Thanks to @Lyall@Amit

Blogmaster

David; re. your 4:41 am post;

You are correct but I have indeed considered that cohort of the population.

The reason that the US experts are beating the drum for testing, testing and more testing is to get a handle on what proportion of the general public has been compromised by the virus in any way and has left its signatures in body fluids including blood in the population. The virus is shed from the infected body as the disease is brought under control. When it is controlled it has been found that it takes around 7 days for all particles to be shed from the body. Infected persons are released back into the community when they test negative twice over a period of 2 days.

Barbados, like all of our island neighbours, did or does not have access to large numbers of tests and had to use what we had very sparingly. Thus, the only measure that we had for gauging the incidence of the virus in the population (and a very imperfect one, at that) might be by comparing the evidence of infection levels hinted at by a comparison of the graphs of the progress of the various Covid-19 outbreaks in our Islands.

Most of the world was in the same position as the Caribbean and used the data obtained by the minimal testing of infected people and their contacts and their contacts to produce the graphs we see on such sites as WHO and Worldometer etc. All these graphs give an imperfect picture and significant underestimation of infection levels in the county or country in which the tests are carried out, but, since they are carried out in the same way in each country they might provide some rationale for guesstimating the comparative levels of the infection in various groups of countries.

The data shows that, starting out at essentially the same levels, there was some divergence in relation to the rate of infection and therefore progress of the various outbreaks in various countries. The graphs for Barbados showed low and declining levels of infection from the beginning, peaking at the level of 13 positive cases per day and thereafter showing a slowly declining trend. The individuals who would have contributed to the declining trend would have been primarily from the contact testing but should also have included other individuals referred by Health professionals or who presented themselves to Government institutions because of concern that their symptoms might point to untimely death due to the dread Covid-19.

Amit, in an earlier post on this blog, reported on his initiative of graphing Covid-19 incidence over weekly periods throughout the epidemic, in several Caribbean Islands. If David thinks it is appropriate and Amit agrees I can post a subset of graphs clipped from his data for 6 Caribbean territories which I think could illustrate some of what I have presented above.

Covid 19

There was 1 more positive case announced today as well as 1 death. A slight uptick of the daily cases line is indicated in the graph by the blue line. The total cumulative number of positive cases from the tests carried out yesterday is 76 – Llyall Small

COVID 19

Attached is the updated C-19 graph for 2020-04-23. There were no additional positive cases from yesterday’s tests and therefore cumulative positive cases remain at 76 – Lyall Small

covid10

covid12

Two new positive cases were identified from yesterday’s tests. There are now 5 cases of contacts with a previously identified individual. The 5 cases are workers from a Government Institution. Tests are ongoing today (25 April 2020)Lyall Small

Covid11

Updated graph for 26 April 2020. No new +ve cases were found. Cumulative count is still 79 – Lyall Small

covid13

There was one additional +ve case identified today (27 April 2020) from the last tranche of NAB workers moving the cumulative total cases to 80. The graph is still essentially trending downwards – Lyallsmall

Covid-Cumulative 1
Graphing Covid-19 incidence in several Caribbean Islands – Source data: caribbeansignal.com

3,454 responses to “COVID 19 UPDATES”

1. WUSSA AN WUSSA

” 175 new virus cases, 1 037 people in isolation

Eighty-six females and 89 males are the latest COVID-19 cases. The Best-dos Santos Public Health Laboratory conducted 2 085 tests on Saturday, September 25.”

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/09/26/175-new-virus-cases-1-037-people-isolation/

2. TheOGazerts

You asked above “But why the vaccine hesitancy?”
    I would hazard a guess that none of the suggestions you make are of significant import in Barbados. Those all fall in the category of “cutting your nose to spoil your features”. Few Bajans outside that industry see Tourism as of overweening importance in their scheme of things. The many Bajans that are not responding to the voices of wisdom re. taking the vaccine, are doing so for a variety of reasons that I think have very little to do with tourism. These reasons vary from a true fear of vaccine jabs to unthinking acceptance of fake news emanating from North America and to an inability to accept how dire the situation really is, for, after all, many think that God is a Bajan.

“There is a disconnect somewhere” as you stated but that disconnect revolves around many of us not yet personalizing the Island’s dire situation and therefore what their personal role should be to limit the damage.

3. @Llyal

All of the above, you nailed it. Only when we start to hit rock bottom with panic mode set in and people rush out to get the vaccine. We have a young gullible group, those sitting on the block disconnected from society for one reason or the other who could care less at the moment. This is the group who will not identify with David Ellis. It is interesting the government is using many of the artist from the controversial Trojan Rhythm controversy to message this group on social media.

4. By Jeffrey Toobin, CNN

Updated 2200 GMT (0600 HKT) September 26, 2021

(CNN)Dr. Aaron Kesselheim had been on an advisory committee for the US Food and Drug Administration for a half-dozen years, but he had never been to a meeting like this one.

The FDA establishes advisory committees to assist the federal agency with one of its most important duties: deciding whether to approve the distribution of new drugs. The stakes of these decisions are enormous. Based on the outcome of the FDA’s deliberations, patients may gain access to lifesaving medicines, and manufacturers may reap billions in profits. Kesselheim, a professor at Harvard Medical School, was one of the members of this committee because of his expertise on pharmaceuticals that address diseases of the brain, including Alzheimer’s, the irreversible, progressive brain disorder that destroys memory and thinking skills, and eventually causes death. Alzheimer’s is the sixth leading cause of death in the United States.

https://edition.cnn.com/2021/09/26/politics/alzheimers-drug-aduhelm-fda-approval/index.html

5. WHO CAN YOU TRUST

Dunn in particular was outspoken in his support for the effectiveness of the drug, calling some of the evidence in its favor a “home run,” while opponents of approval described the same evidence as inconclusive or worse. Dunn noted further that the FDA “has determined that it is appropriate to exercise the broadest flexibility in applying the statutory standards for these conditions.”
    From a regulatory perspective, drugs can work in two ways: They can work to treat disease or they can address a surrogate measure for the disease. Take heart attacks, for example. A drug can directly reduce the chances of heart attack or it can address a surrogate for heart attack — like cholesterol.
    At the November meeting, according to Kesselheim, the issue was treatment of Alzheimer’s itself, not any surrogate. “The discussion at the committee related to the clinical benefits of the drug” — that is, whether it slowed the cognitive decline of Alzheimer’s patients, he said.
    Most of the meeting was devoted to analysis of Biogen’s own studies of the effectiveness of Aduhelm. The results were not promising in terms of clinical outcomes. Indeed, two of Biogen’s major studies of people taking Aduhelm had been shut down before they were completed because they showed no significant benefit to patients. (Aduhelm, which is injected intravenously, also caused significant side effects, including brain swelling in about a third of patients. Brain swelling, at a minimum, can produce painful headaches as well as more serious problems, including, in rare cases, death.)
    In light of this, the advisory committee voted, with one member voting uncertain but no one dissenting, to recommend that the FDA reject the drug.
    Seven months later, in June, the FDA gave Biogen final approval to treat patients with Aduhelm in all stages of Alzheimer’s disease. Reflecting the confidence in its judgment, the agency even acted on an accelerated basis.

6. This vaccine story is so bad
    In something that it crosses over in legal activities such as corruption .deception..breaking of law agreements between the govt of Barbados and international countries
    So bad is this story that it begs for legal action to be taken against govt in the form of a claim People vs the govt of Barbados
    Doesn’t Barbados have any Constitutional lawyers not to see the rot in this problem and stand vanguard calling out for legal action
    Also where is the Attorney General and what is his say on this problem
    All eyes should be on the AG to act in fast action leaving no stone unturned

7. The government of Barbados should take a page from Governor Desantis book.

8. Hello David et al,

In addition to Lyall’s ongoing analysis, please find my Covid-19 vs. Barbados, September 24 weekend update:

https://www.caribbeansignal.com/2021/09/26/covid-19-vs-barbados-september-24-weekend-update/

Keep safe All.

Kind regards,
    Amit.

9. Amit;
    Your Covid-19 charts are very informative. I especially find that the one on daily numbers of persons in isolation is interesting, informative and timely. I actually started to do a similar one but did’nt get very far.

10. 188 new virus cases, 1 062 people in isolation

The Best-dos Santos Public Health Laboratory has identified 188 new coronavirus (COVID-19) cases, comprising 91 males and 97 females. A total 1 746 tests were conducted on Sunday, September 26.

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/09/27/188-new-virus-cases-1-062-people-isolation/

11. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

Not sure if this was posted, but this also has some useful Covid-19 data for Barbados

https://barbados-covid19.blogspot.com/p/barbados-covid-19-status.html?fbclid=IwAR31zmNnGEC3KuQRg4cyNxyAjnWG4qqVFEJhtC_StgQqko7g9upZzs7Sgz0

12. @David
    The government of Barbados should take a page from Governor Desantis book

What page is that? Some in Florida call him DeathSantis and his book is unfinished

13. Dr. Fauci is panicking after this FDA official was caught admitting one fact he wanted to keep secret
    Politics

Dr. Anthony Fauci continues to be caught in lies.

He clearly doesn’t want Americans to know his real agenda.

And Dr. Fauci is panicking after this FDA official was caught admitting one fact he wanted to keep secret.

Since day one, the government’s response to COVID-19 has been shady.

After closing down almost the entire country for over a year, they announced a vaccine purported to end the pandemic.

But since then, those who are “fully-vaccinated” have continued to get the virus.

In fact, countries like Israel, which is celebrated for its high vaccination rate, have had the biggest increase in COVID-19 cases in recent months.

Despite this, Joe Biden and Dr. Fauci have been pushing for more vaccinations, with government mandates attempting to force most Americans to become vaccinated or lose their job.

But while that vaccination scheme may seem tyrannical, as it is, it doesn’t even come close to being as crazy as what one Food and Drug Administration (FDA) official is proposing.

Taylor Lee, an FDA economist, was caught on undercover video released by Project Veritas which shows him calling for a “Nazi Germany”-style registration of those who are not vaccinated.

He further calls for vaccinating African Americans with blow darts, due to the high amount of vaccine hesitancy in their community.

“Census goes door-to-door if you don’t respond. So, we have the infrastructure to do it [forced COVID vaccinations]. I mean, it’ll cost a ton of money. But I think, at that point, I think there needs to be a registry of people who aren’t vaccinated. Although that’s sounding very [much like Nazi] Germany,” Lee said.

“Nazi Germany…I mean, think about it like the Jewish Star [for unvaccinated Americans],” the FDA economist continues.

“So, if you put every anti-vaxxer, like sheep, into like Texas and you closed off Texas from the rest of the world, and you go, ‘Okay, you be you in Texas until we deal with this [pandemic].’”

Lee further complains about black Americans not taking the vaccine at the same rate as “wealthy white people” who are more “educated.”

“I think that a lot of the time — so there’s also this issue of — I remember reading about how with COVID [vaccine] trials, they were having an issue recruiting African American people,” Lee said. “It was because of a different medication the government tried to do that was specifically designed to kill African Americans.”

After the undercover journalist said, “Yeah. Can’t blame them,” Lee responded “I can’t. But at the same time, like, blow dart. That’s where we’re going.”

There are clearly officials in the government who will do anything to force the vaccine on those who don’t want to take it.

14. Sargeant that was a tongue in cheek for ac.

15. HELP!!!!!!!

” Barbados’ COVID situation is becoming so serious that the man at the helm of the country’s public health response has declared that his team can no longer maintain the entire operation

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/09/28/moh-taps-private-docs-hotels-as-virulent-strain-pushes-public-system-to-limit/

16. Hello, anyone home ? lol

17. Still wussa an wussa.

A total of 217 new coronavirus (COVID-19) cases have been reported by the Best-dos Santos Public Health Laboratory. The facility conducted 2 382 tests on Monday, September 27.

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/09/28/217-new-virus-cases-1-093-patients-isolation/

18. DL&P TV

re. your post above. Really beautiful charts and exhaustive presentation of important data that would be very useful to the GOB officials. Thanks!

19. The COVID numbers are rising and Mottley says that the Dashboard that reflects the daily stats are depressing Bajans so it will change.

In other words what you don’t know can’t hurt you as Big Brother or Big Sister decides.

So much for transparency

20. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar

@lyallsmall No problem at all

@DavidBU this is the more instructive chart. Most (if not all) of the deaths will come from those in primary isolation and, as can be seen, 27 out of 29 are NOT VACCINATED!!!!!! I will bet that all of those have one comorbidity and\or “advanced” in age. It is hoped that those in secondary isolation will in time move into tertiary isolation. It also indicates that the strategy, as Dr. Larder, had pointed out would be to focus on vaccinating the at risk people first then vaccinate the others who choose to take the vaccine. Aside from that, the plain obvious is that the unvaccinated dominate the case numbers. Also instructive is that there are 0 fully vaccinated people in primary isolation i.e. 0 people that took the required doses are “close to death”. the other 116 fully vaccinated cases i.e. 14% are expected to recover.

The 744 in tertiary isolation are those I state can be placed on “sick leave” and can isolate at home. Removing the curfew can allow the other family members to not be at home all at once. These cases can wear masks at home if they are only asymptomatic

21. A different ground strategy required.

It must be obvious. Those of us in the rock are intimately aware the healthy system/resources is under breaking point limit.

22. The number of deaths associated with the coronavirus (COVID-19) virus in Barbados jumped overnight, when four more people succumbed to the viral illness
    https://www.nationnews.com/2021/09/30/four-deaths-related-covid-19/

23. 201 new cases

Of these 201 new cases, 39 individuals are under the age of 18, and the remaining 162 are 18 years and older.

Five deaths were recorded on Wednesday – an 85-year-old woman and four men aged 52, 55, 58, and 65. They were unvaccinated.

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/09/30/deaths-rise-covid-cases/

600 new cases in the last 3 days.

24. Did I really see a stat on CBC news tonight that only 38.6% Bajans have been fully vaccinated?

25. 38.7%

26. @lyallsmall

Thanks for the feedback, appreciate it. Slowly working my way backwards through previous dashboards and inputting info into my Excel sheet. Happy to share my file with you, contact me via my blog or via LinkedIn if interested in it.

For tomorrow’s weekly update, I may include breakdown on deaths as well (i.e., gender, age-group, vaxx status, comorbidities…). Just looking at what I have so far: 23 deaths as at Sep 29, 3 in August, and 1 in July.

Kind regards,
    Amit.

27. “Open up every damn thing and let’s see who dies and who lives”.
    Such comments are unfortunate. Tron, is the source of these comments and we know he cares little for Barbados majority population. No one should give credence to his views.

We in the UK have witness a horrendous number of Covid-19 victims. There was a period when hundreds and hundreds of people were meeting their deaths on a daily basis.

This is why I have always demanded we close the borders. Alas, as mentioned by the sage Theo the country has remained opened to tourists.

John has always asked this government to publish the locations of covid-19 clusters. As always this government refuses to disseminate such information. No surprise there.

28. Merck announces pill to fight Covid-19, as many states see significant increase in vaccinations

https://www.cnn.com/2021/10/01/health/us-coronavirus-friday/index.html

29. ” There were 228 new cases (103 males and 125 females) of COVID-19 recorded by the Best-dos Santos Public Health Laboratory on Thursday, September 30 from 2 531 tests.

Of those testing positive, 60 are under 18 years old, and 168 are 18 and older.”

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/10/01/228-new-covid-cases-1-080-isolation/

30. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar

“This is why I have always demanded we close the borders.”

What will be achieved in closing the borders when community spread is prevalent. This is not a “tourist” disease this is a worldwide pandemic

31. Jackass,

I am the source of MY comments.

I repeat, “Open up every damn thing and let’s see who lives and who dies!”

I am sick almost to death of all the idiotic arguments about rights.

NO RIGHT IS ABSOLUTE!

You want the right to determine what goes into your body. And as a general rule that should stand. You claim the right to make choices in your interest. And as a general rule that should stand.

But you do not even contemplate the right of an employer or business owner to decide who works in his/her establishment or their right to make choices in their interest. In the interest of society, this is also a limited right but limited does not mean non-existent.

All this outrage is ridiculous!

Since no right is absolute these things have always to be weighed according to the situation.

There is no absolute right or WRONG!

OPEN UP! AND WHO DEAD, DEAD!

Even if it is me. Anything is better than this infernal stupidity!

Let’s get it over with and move on!

As I see it, the choice is a quick death for a few from covid or a slow death of many from starvation.

Get it over with already!

32. Blasted idiot up in England where their economy can quickly recover, wanting to influence decisions that will affect us down here for decades.

I see some fools overseas want the right to vote down here too.

Fools don’t realise that, by sheer numbers, overseas votes could then overrule local votes. Then those who don’t live here could be deciding the future for those who do.

People never think things right through to their conclusion.

33. @ Donna,
    ” I see some fools overseas want the right to vote down here too.

Fools don’t realise that, by sheer numbers, overseas votes could then overrule local votes. Then those who don’t live here could be deciding the future for those who do.

People never think things right through to their conclusion.”

You have already stated you have no respect with me. However could you explain to the BU family the comments above. They are repugnant. How important are sheer numbers when contrasted with the miniscule numbers of members from the minority communities who have a pronounce influence on government policies.

Let’s be honest. The numerous governments in Barbados, in general, have proven themselves to be corrupt and failures. Opening up the country to the Barbados diaspora would be a very smart move.

34. Repugnant, my ass! You want to sit up in England where things do not affect you and over-rule the vote of those who are affected?

So…. we hand our decision-making over to YOU and WE live with the consequences????

“You cannot be in church and in chapel too.”

You want to vote here? Come live here! Nobody can stop you.

It never occurred to me to want to vote up in England.

35. The self-appointed supreme arbiter of what is repugnant.

EVERY BLASTED DAY THE SAME SHITE FROM TALKING LOUD AND SAYING NOTHING.

STEUPSE!

36. Crazy! Some people who are not citizens claimed the right to vote on the basis of residency. Now you want those who left here as babies voting here. So, non-citizen residents and non-resident dual citizens to decide for resident citizens!

You crazy as RH!

Talking shite about minority influence.

Who has the influence in England? You?

37. @ Donna,
    The polite and always diplomatic William Skinner tends to deflect your beamers with panache mixed in with a handful of stoicism. I will do likewise on this very tricky surface and would advice your nemesis(s) to do likewise. Have a blessed day.

38. Piss off, fool! My beamer done knock off yuh head!

Stupid arguments every blasted day!

39. Up to two months before last Christmas, loved ones sent home almost a quarter billion dollars from the Barbadian diaspora, according to World Bank Group estimates.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/04/02/more-than-one-third-billion-dollars-remitted-in-covids-first-year-possibly-bucking-wider-trend/

40. @Donna October 2, 2021 1:42 AM “OPEN UP! AND WHO DEAD, DEAD! Even if it is me.”

Donna even though I am no longer grieving over those adults who refuse to be vaccinated and who get sick and die, I beg yoo please give my grandchildren all under the age of 12, an ease. I don’t think that they should be sentenced to death because of some old fools. I don’t want to bury my children nor my grand children.

41. And all of the foolish anti vax Bajans don’t live on this rock. One, an antivaxxer lived up by TLSN, dead a few days at 49 [no comorbidities] for her antivax beliefs.

42. @Hants October 2, 2021 1:31 PM “Up to two months before last Christmas, loved ones sent home almost a quarter billion dollars from the Barbadian diaspora, according to World Bank Group estimates.”

Is the World Bank counting how much money those of us who live here send to our children who are studying abroad? I know for certain that I sent tens of thousands into the Canadian economy over the last few years. Some Canadian landlady was likely happy enough to get the rent money bright and early on the first of each month. The last time I checked USA data [not Canadian I admit] money flowing into the USA universities, landlords, transportation. grocery and entertainment companies from foreign parents whose children are being educated in the USA was the USA’s 7th biggest industry.

Is the World Bank counting the value of the labor labor the people who live here put in looking after grand children whose parents live there? Sometimes this labor is just for a summer vacation or two, but sometimes it goes on for every summer vacation for a dozen or more years, or sometimes the children remain here for ALL of their childhood. We all know situations like that.

Does anybody ever pay grandmothers for their labor?

If not why not?

Does the World Bank count grannie labor, if not why not? Does this mean that grannie labor is slave labor then?

A whole PhD is waiting for somebody who studies and documents these flows of money from what is called the third world to what is called the first world.

In your own case Hants has Canada or you repair Barbados for the care you received in Barbados from you safe birth to your young healthy adulthood? Has Barbados been reimbursed for your education from nursery to adulthood? How much did that cost? Who paid for it?

43. International students contribute $22 billion annually to Canada’s economy. They contribute some $22 billion annually to Canada’s economy and help to sustain over 170,000 jobs.

And even though of course all of that $22 billion does not come from Bajans, I am sure that Bajans are putting in their fair share based on population size.

So the money and the value flows both ways.

Perhaps the first world in the greatest beneficiary when one counts the value of brains flowing from the south to the great white north.

44. The continued growth in international students coming to the U.S. for higher education had a significant positive economic impact on the United States. International students contributed $45 billion to the U.S. economy in 2018, according to the U.S. Department of Commerce.