Prime Minister Mia Mottley, the political animal she is, is probably plotting how best to deflate that bubble of energy the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) is befitting from the crossing of the floor by Ralph Thorne. After all a Machiavellian type of politics and leadership defines our politics.

The blogmaster is embarrassed to confess that it is the first time in many years there is the interest to follow some of the debate in the Lower House. The perceived familial arrangement when Joseph Atherley crossed the floor, coupled with a monotonous cadence of delivery did not inspire interest in a public already apathetic about the work ethic and level of integrity demonstrated by the political directorate. Compared to Thorne’s studied and sometimes acerbic interventions, it stokes flashbacks to what many perceive as key elements to good political debate. There will always be the opportunity for a courageous David to draw sympathy in a fight against Goliath.

Already we see former DLPite, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade Kerri Symmonds and BLP ‘pitbull’ has been ‘let loose’ on Thorne. Symmonds should keep top of mind social media space is littered with his exploits as a tyre slasher and other uncomplimentary behaviour – read more. A word to the wise should be sufficient.

Two key considerations must apply should Barbadians want to pragmatically assess the current political landscape of Barbados.

• There is no plausible third party option or semblance of one. A contradictory position if we accept that quality representatives must emerge from the very citizens responsible for electing them.
  • The current one party dominance post 2018 has compromised good governance of the country. This should be a concern for all Barbadians.
  • If there is no third party option in the short to medium term, a logical position is to support any attempt to pump life into a struggling DLP while continuing to pursue a third party solution. This is a pragmatic view compared to being ideological and illusional.

Mottley the confirmed political animal will do what she does best, continue to exploit her station in life to extend dominance of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) and self interest. The longer she feels comfortable operating in animal mode, her legacy will fall short of achieving stateswoman. Mottley’s reluctance to amend the subvention rule as one example supports the view. In this case it is not always about the money, symbolic gestures can help to trigger fit for purpose behaviours and culture.

Although Thorne stands to lose his seat when the bell is rung by Mottley, there is the period between now and then a moribund DLP – if it chooses – can use the time to clawback credibility from a cynical and apathetic electorate. In the short time Thorne has made his move it gives credence to the view that hope springs eternal.

The blogmaster expects Mottley to respond to Thorne’s demand of the news-feed in the only way she knows.

83 responses to “Awaiting Mottley’s move”

1. Artax
    Don’t mind David, he posts half stories and non-stories with photos to mislead. Then when defeated by a response resorts to goalposts shifting or asking yuh to submit. Unresearched just like the traditional media he cusses.
    A few months ago he declared in a blog that after Mia there was no one in the party capable of leading. Now Thorne, with theatrics more than substance, is PM material! We all know 2 months ago where Thorne sat. The same Thorne said he boycotted the Estimates debate last year, a debate the blogmaster is now referring to as “important”. Tbh it appears that Thorne missed far more than last year’s edition and this is evidenced by his struggles with reading the Estimates after 7 publications and clear lack of familiarity with what has been happening based on his questions.
    The blogmaster is calling the Marcia Weekes Show a pressure group. 🤣🤣 The personality of the year and her guests (as you said Dems, some mock economists, and disgruntled former BLP members) oppose the government on everything. Other “pressure groups”, if one uses the blogmaster’s definition, are however demonised by the same blogmaster and called paid operatives. The woman is part of the Christian right, clueless aboutost things and is a bigot. Plain and simple. Don’t mind David the blogmaster.

2. @Enuff

When you are forced to depart from your usual prolix self to post a screed the blogmaster is happy. You are suggesting the Christian right should not have a voice?

3. David
    I am even happier when you can’t address my main points. But isn’t Christianity a choice? Don’t the likes of Personality of the Year and the Christian right promote the belief that certain lifestyle choices (their words) should not have a voice?

4. @enuff

You are referring to a woman the Nation newspaper labeled a personality of the year? Is Caswell far right a regular on that program? The BLP and Ferdinand had a falling out?

Pro BLP supporters will obviously oppose individuals and groups with a religious bent because of the identity of the leadership in Cabinet and that is fine.

5. @David

what is ” the identity of the leadership in Cabinet ” ?

6. @Hants

We have individuals that prefer to be in the closet regarding their sexual preference.

7. @ David,

doan answer, I know wha yuh mean.

8. @ David,

Bajans used to boast about world class high literacy. wha happen ?

9. @Hants

As a long standing member of the BU family you read blogs back in the day that highlighted how weeds were sprouting on our manicured lawns. We refused to pull those weeds at the root then and today we have bush.

10. You are referring to a woman the Nation newspaper labeled a personality of the year? Is Caswell far right a regular on that program? The BLP and Ferdinand had a falling out? Pro BLP supporters will obviously oppose individuals and groups with a religious bent because of the identity of the leadership in Cabinet and that is fine.

Artax is right. You don’t read to understand but to respond.

11. The blogmaster please guilty, scroll pass.

12. David
    I am even happier when you can’t address my main points

It might seem the Blogmaster has taken a page from the @enuff playbook. There are topics which must be avoided. You simply don’t respond.

13. The blogmaster is not interested engaging in any dry debate with anyone. The PM sold Bajans on the fact that charging 13 million for coverley lands to Maloney was a good deal, really? The government rushed hot and sweaty to move on the acquisition of land Ms. Ram’s land which the blogmaster was persuaded to support given the proposed development for the area but what do we have? Other examples can be cited.

14. “If you’re homophobic, you’re hiding something…it’s always a red flag when you some guy mad at gay people. That anger is stemming from somewhere. Come on out, live free.” — Mike Epps

A person asked Buddha: Are you a God? Buddha’s reply was No. Are you an Angel? No. Then what are you? I am Awake. — #Buddha

15. What did MAM2 get when RossU came to Bdos? Numerous Govt officials emails adorn the filings by Radical. That may have ended in a loss, but what was the intent? It certainly lost a MoH.

16. David
    Here’s a simple truth–in projects such as the Pierhead one governments in most instances can only facilitate through for example compulsory acquisition, concessions and other incentives. They seldom have the financial muscle to implement. This is why it is important to get the other project, which has actually started, out of the ground because it may vey well be the catalyst for further movement on lower Bay Street. I am sure government can also compulsory acquire Maloney’s piece if the permission expires. Meanwhile your favourite project to condemn on upper Bay Street appears to have started?
    At Coverley, give us the numbers nuh? You did a financial viability and are aware of the GDV, residual land value etc? What about the value of the then existing 10-15 year lease? Add in some planning gains if pursued by government. Lastly, factor in the overall economic contribution of Ross University and its students to the local economy, including direct benefits to Bajans. Now do the cost-benefit analysis.

17. Frank
    Huh? I’m not the one.

18. @Enuff

BU’s position on redevelopment of Bridgetown is known, was that the issue here.m? The acquisition of Ms. Ram’s place was the brainchild of this government? It is water under the bridge now anyway. We allow this man Maloney to bully his way with taxpayers having to hold the bag. GROTTO will stick in the minds of civic minded Barbadians until thine kingdom come.

19. Side note:
    I like the recent changes to the site.
    1) Bring a lazy man, the fact that the comments are easily available is a big plus in my books.
    2) it is true the reply button added some connection between the response and the original comment, bit if one missed when the response was visible then one missed a part of the conversation. Now, I can pick up where I left off.
    3) one additional comment… Kick 000 off the site😄

But on the whole.. 👍🏿👍🏿👍🏿👍🏿

20. Try harder
    The Theo’s not so witty punchlines are so predictable anal and mindlessly stupid

21. David
    Clearly you’ve conceded. 🤣🤣🤣

22. @Enuff

You that is your conclusion, run with it.

The blogmaster has been busy listening to Caswell explain how government officials conspired to deflate land tax values to facilitate easy transfer of assets.

23. Of course you’d listen to such. I guess Bro. Caswell is a valuer now. He sorted out his union yet? Who the cat likes he licks.

24. We know why you would not listen to Caswell.

25. Barbados politics seems to be more about personalities than ideas.

Here is an example of an idea to boost tourism

Pure imagination: Tasmanian premier vows to build world’s largest chocolate fountain if re-elected

26. Caricom Queen.

27. Re: Slavery abomination*
    The brainwashing mindset justification that slaves were to be trained and treated worse than dogs and not humans is the biggest crime in history of mankind.
    Much worse than the Hitlers SS treated Jews in the holocaust.
    Committed over a longer period of time 400 years x 20 generations.
    Leaving the legacy of White Supremacy Racism in all white nations.
    Who are the real rapists and dogs?

(*) comment replies from John Knox will not be required

28. Winston “Iston Bull” Branch.

The peacemaker and peacekeeper of Bridgetown and its environs.

29. It appears from what Marcia Weekes announced on her show recently, PM Mottley dropped a pre action letter “in their tail”.

https://videopress.com/v/7qOmsBpM

30. in yuh tail?

31. Not in yuh tail, but definitely in yuh face. That’s all we have the power to do. We can tell the truth to the powers that be. We cannot allow them to continue to pretend to be some “leader of the free world” and “beacon of light on a hill”.

We can expose them as destructive hegemonists and the greatest barrier to world peace.

32. sweet deal.

” The purchase from its former owner, the state-owned Barbados Agricultural Development and Marketing Corporation (BADMC) was finalised in December 2017 ”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2024/03/15/new-life-for-old-plantation/

33. Seems to me people should pay attention.

https://nationnews.com/2024/03/16/peak-of-500-dengue-cases/