President Donald Trump delivered on a promise today by announcing tarifs on the world. The objective he believes, to boost domestic production and in the process Make America Great Again (MAGA).

Key tariffs announced by Trump

Time will tell very soon if Trumps strategy of using tariffs and executive orders will achieve the objective. What all the market analysts have suggested is that it is too simplistic an approach. Although the stock market is not an economic indicator, it has been reported 4 trillion has been wiped from the US stock market since Trump’s reelection.

The blogmaster is of the certain view the disruption to the global economy caused by Trump policies will force countries to renegotiate different ways to do business. Trump’s isolations strategy will be challenged given that there are alternatives IF countries commit to forging new strategic relationships.

Of immediate concern is how will Trump policies affect Barbados and the Caribbean. At first read there is a 10% baseline tariff that was imposed on ALL imports to the USA. Although Barbados is not a significant exporter of goods compared to the major players, we have exports like rum, sugar products etc that will be impacted.

Then there is tourism revenue on which Barbados and many Caribbean islands are over reliant. If the price of commodities increase significantly in the USA and Canada which are key source markets, it will reduce disposable income for North Americans. The obvious impact is that many will decide to revisit travel plans to countries like the Caribbean.

The government of Barbados has been nurturing relationships with non traditional partners to mitigate against fallout such as we been witnessing with the reelection of Trump. Our economy is already very fragile made worse by mismanagement by successive DLP and BLP governments. We should also be worried about the fact our economy is wedded to the US economy because of the peg to the dollar.

After years of growing a global economy on the concept of ‘globalisation’ and free trade, we are witnessing a US President deciding to pivot to implementing isolationist economic policies.

162 responses to “Trump tariffs unleashed on the world”

1. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

THE CARIBBEAN IS NOT THE ONLY ONES IN THE CROSSHAIRS – HERE IS WHAT IS COMING DOWN THE PIKE IN THE UK – AS OPINED AGAIN & AGAIN: EVERYTHING IS GOING TO HELL IN A PANCART!!! WHAT AN AWESOME TIME 2 BE ALIVE & TO WITNESS THIS BRAVE NEW WORLD OF MAGIC MANIA

#GiveUsBread

#GiveUsWater

#BonkersBritain

#WhatAWorld

2. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

429 Too Many Requests

You have been rate-limited for making too many requests in a short time frame.

Website owner? If you think you have reached this message in error, please contact supp

3. William Skinner Avatar

We have maintained , much to the harangue of some, that the Caribbean can plot its own path and combat external shocks by having a unified approach to global developments.
    Nothing relating to the Caribbean has ever been a popular topic on BU. Many of the negative comments made about CARICOM are birthed in a lack of serious information. The technocrats are responsible for this lack of information.
    We have always been affected by exogenous developments and common sense will show anybody that we have failed to create strategies to lessen these effects. Dr. Eric Williams explained that decades ago.
    We cannot restructure or solve forty plus years of idled development in two or three months or years. Yes, we can do better but sometimes it seems that we are more comfortable languishing in self doubt. Until that mental image is removed , we will be here another forty years spinning top in mud.

4. For the conspiracy theorists there is the possibility of power players crashing the markets to create an opportunity for those with deep pockets to buy low knowing the market will bounce back. The result: there is a lot of money to be made by 1% who already own 90%.

5. @William

We find ourselves (Caricom) in a position where there are many big fishes flailing around in small ponds.

6. Every suggestion we make is dismissed as being too small to make a difference. But breaking big, overwhelming tasks down into several small tasks is the recommended approach to getting things done. We were told that kitchen gardens cannot solve our food insecurity problem. But if everybody grew something it would certainly help. Buying local and regional would help. Conserving energy and water and water harvesting would help. I was taught that 1+1 = 2 and 10 – 2 = 8.

I do not understand this defeatest, do nothing attitude.

7. It is more about a lazy mindset. We have bought into a microwave lifestyle. Any initiative which requires brainpower or ‘effort’ is not highly regarded.

8. Barbados will not starve! Right now we can afford the imports. The days the planes and ships cannot come in for a long period then we will see how fast farming come back into being – from the plantations to the bucket farming . Necessity

@ Bu opposition leader

From the pond in st Philip to the land at Wakefield now in the budget provision for 20 verticals farms and wind tunnels on a least to buy option to the farmers

Dry by lears and see what the wind did to a couple of small green houses last year. Wind also took the roof off of the larger one at Redland in St. George a few years ago but that seemed to be all repaired this year

Xxxxxx

Off note. The contract clear the side of the roads are a lot faster the the previous arrangement. They did a good job in most of the dreams I travelled this winter

The sugar canes plantings etc seemed to have taken a step back

9. @John2

Any country that aspires to be democratic needs a political opposition?

10. William Skinner Avatar

We were educated to follow. Critical thinking has not been a classroom favorite. One of our major problems is ignoring the youth and creative thinkers. And then along comes COVID or some other challenge and we are once more scrambling to find our footing. One step forward two steps backward.
    In our case, we have reached the level of heaping praise on politicians and policies that should by now be almost generic. A bus takes five hours to come for donkey years . One morning it takes two hours and Brasstacks is alight with praises for the government.
    That’s where we are in 2025. Realistically , how do we get from here. The only way to save the country is to be honest with those children making their way to primary school. What are we teaching them or what kind of citizen we want to lead us in the next four decades. It’s not their fault that they are being short changed daily. We all have their blood on our hands.

11. Correction – defeatist

12. NorthernObserver Avatar

@David 9.30am
    The Oracle of Omaha struggled to explain to his investors the large cash position of $300B+ in January.
    Not once did he mention tariffs or Trump, in his lengthy letter to shareholders.
    Always follow the money.
    When asked recently about tariffs and their effects, all he quipped was “the tooth fairy isn’t paying ’em”.
    Always be aware of what the Oracle is doing.

13. @NO

Wasn’t it reported that he dumped millions of favoured Apple stock recently.

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

Last November I think.
    Remember why he slammed Trump in 2016?
    Trump wouldn’t Report, he wouldn’t release his tax returns. So Buffet released his. Said Trump wasn’t nearly as successful as he liked to make himself out to be. Trump still hasn’t released his tax returns.

15. @ Northern

Here is another qoute from the Oracle “Berkshire does not or will never own Bitcoin.” Another topic Trump js making provisions for.

Does a fire station wait for a fire to fill the fire truck with water? If the answer is no then how can one suggest We should wait till shortages hit and then we will see food being grown? Wuhloss I deading here!

Look I aint give a rats ass who party you back, you must accept the fact that THIS party has done nothing to diversify the economy away from tourism dependency since covid. Also recognise that in Caricom most of the others have done little better with the exception of Guyana. Only last week we Was busy breking ground for a bank and yes another hotel, while taking up land in Holetown for yet another one. What de ass either of these can do for us when toursim falls off considerably? As Willam said above we missed the covid opportunity to change this and we going pay through we ass now in more ways than one!

Trump will not back down on the tariffs as long as he sees investment returning to the USA. He will weigh the investment gain against and downside and say the tariffs were a succes. Who knows based on the parameters you use for measuring gain he may well have a point. Only time will tell. In the meantime all like we so prepare for the price changes.

16. It is difficult to envisage astute investors and businesses investing in the USA under an erratic decision making administration. However, stranger things have been known to happen.

17. NorthernObserver Avatar

It’s all about money. POTUS has 4 years to leave their mark. The USA remains a large market, with large buying power. Even if they have to provide subsidies and tax breaks to lure the unwilling, they will. The USA (Trump?) only complains about such when it does not work totally to their advantage.
    In all being taken apart, I haven’t heard a peep about the Chips Act, where billions were doled out to Intel and others to build manufacturing in USA. And that was a Biden policy. We haven’t heard about the nasty farmers always wanting more. Instead, we love our farmers (most vote GOP) and by the way, here’s more money to keep you happy and prices down.
    Canada does the same. So does Barbados.
    So it isn’t difficult at all. Money talks.

18. You need to brush up on ur comprehension!
    you are taking away Theo crown this year !!

19. @ David

The problem for us is not if Trump changes his mind and does away with the tariffs down the road, which I see as being highly unlikely, it is will we survive with the increased cost of living until things settle down.

There is still not clarity on how Trump will view intransit or free zoned goods. Yes those goods would technically have landed in the USA, but under the current trade agreements if they entered a free zone area for transhipment they did not attrack duties. Will these goods now be subject to tariffs too even though their final destination is not an American one?

20. @John A

There is great uncertainty in the world. You are correct that has an open economy we are exposed more than others blessed with mineral resources. Now that the US has pivoted from free trade to protectionists policies means the way we do business has to change.

Listen to the PM of Singapore.

21. Yes I listened to the Singapore PM and he spoke bluntly about his concerns. He heads one of the wealthiest countries, so if he is concerned then what should we be?

My concern is the PMs in our region seem more concerned about protecting our tourism sector than ensuring food security and diversification. I mean you are planning to protect a sector you have no control of before you spend some time dealing with what you can control like our agricultural sector and food security? Why I am not hearing about removing duties on agricultural imputs all like now? Why has a plan not been launched to lease 2 acre lots currently lying idle, for say $200 a month? I mean dem only growing bush now anyhow. Why has the ministry of agriculture not started ploughing and preparing arable state land and the lands of Clico for lease to said persons?

There is much we can do by being proactive as opposed to adopting the “let we wait and see wuh happen.”

22. I wonder why inside of caricom that Guyana is the only one that has done anything much to diversify its economy ?

What else can drive our economy at the pace it is going beside tourism / oil ? What? what ?

If it wasn’t trump it may have been / will be a huricane or some other world event ( housing crash / covid etc ). Barbados will survive like it survive the previous events

23. 5 trillion wiped from the US stock market, Asian markets have gone bearish as prices continue to tumble this morning.

An interesting side story is that Tesla stock has taken a big hit, let us see if Musk stays the course.

24. The US has moved massive amounts of military hardware to the Middle East staging area.

Many news sites are speculating on an attack by the USA on Iran’s nuclear capabilities?

Now, what would be the real reason for such an attack?

Consider carefully.

To restrict Iran’s nuclear capability? To further protect Israel?

Side points.

What are we discussing in the other blog post?

The USD as a reserve currency.

Iran is one of the first and foremost to push for a shift. As a major oil producer, it is critical in supporting such a shift.

Take it out of the equation and the probability of a shift is weakened.

Saudi Arabia has increased production, in spite of OPEC already announcing a price reduction.

Why?

To support a short term loss of supply?

By far, the Ace in the pack for the EU etc, is the possibility of supporting a new reserve currency, whether it be the Euro, Chinese renminbi or other new currency.

Because that is what the US admin is fighting to protect.

If the EU, UK, African nations, South American nations, all supported a new reserve currency, it would be a gamechanger.

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

Sound bites.
    If the offshore is within part of Canada’s 22(?) treaties, no change.
    If it is another form of “trust”, unless the money is invested in non taxed fixed equities, the withholding tax on dividends is higher than local taxes, and since they don’t file tax returns, they cannot recover via dividend tax credit. They do dodge the capital gain. At days end, the GoC still collects large taxes on the withholding portion at 20%. Not to mention, Canadian investment managers make good money on these trusts/accounts.
    No party will do one damn thing. All hot air.

26. stock market plunges down again today.

27. @Hants

The stock markets will goo bear until investors regain confidence in Trump policies. It will not happen overnight. Look out for many committing suicide soon.

28. True leader,

“Donald Trump right now: And don’t let some of these politicians…let me tell you. These countries are calling me, kissing my ass, they are dying to make a [trade] deal…”please please sir let me make a deal, I’ll do anything, I’ll do anything sir.”

https://www.reddit.com/r/wallstreetbet/comments/1jutcsc/donald_trump_right_now_and_dont_let_some_of_these/

29. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

SURFACE-MINDED, NON-CRITICAL THINKERS & THE BEEHIVE OF INSIPID MANIPULATORS WHO REFUSED TO DIG DEEP INTO THE COMPROMISED MINE OF SATAN’S BOWELS – SPINNING YARN, FOMENTING LIES & GRIEVOUS SUBTERFUGE IN ORDER TO PAINT A FALSE PICTURE 2 THE WORLD OF GULLIBLE BELIEVERS WHO LOOK FOR A PEG 2 HANG ANY ‘OLE CRAP UPON, IS ABOUT 2 FACE THEIR WATERLOO

TARIFFS* is just the beginning of a series of actions that will change (NOT ONLY AMERIKKKA) but will move a sluggish, decaying, dying planet into quantum velocity – as it hurtles towards that prophesied apocalypsus, declared in #HolyWRIT*

“AND ALL THE WORLD WONDERED AFTER THE BEAST – FOR WHO CAN MAKE WAR WITH HIM…”

This is the “AXIS” upon which our world currently hangs – a fractured ring of noxious gases that ends in complete cosmic dissipation!!!

1776 is about to have a “CYCLICAL TURN” anytime now – as the world will witness “CIVIL WAR IN AMERIKKKA”, unleashed like a tidal wave – for by “BLOOD” was she “GATHERED” & by “BLOOD” will she go down!!!

The “DARK FORCES” will unleash the “NIHILISTS”, as opined by “33-DEGREE FREEMASON” #AlbertPike, to foment such barbarity that men will believe that “GOD” has forsaken this planet!!!

In every nation, “WAR WILL RAISE ITS UGLY HEAD 2 THE BROW”, bringing a “TIME OF TROUBLE” that has never been seen since “ADAM” was upon the earth!!!

All nature is about to be in an “UPROAR”, as “ECOLOGICAL FALLOUT” deepens with increased “EARTHQUAKE ACTIVITY” (#StayTuned 4 “THE BIG ONE”); “HURRICANES”& “TWISTERS” howling out of season; “FREAKY UNEXPLAINED WEATHER PHENOMENA” unearthing rhyme or reason, & a floating raft cosmological occurrences that will cause men’s hearts 2 fail them for FEAR* – given what is coming upon the earth!!!

PROPHESIED SIGN & WONDERS

Even within “ROTTINGBOWELS of #PoLIEtics – “CANKERED CORRUPTION” is about 2 be “REVEALED” across “NATIONS, CITIES, TOWNS & HAMLETS”!!!

What festered & grew in the “DARK SHADOWY CORRIDORS” of the “BOWELS OF IBLIS” will soon have the “GLORIOUS LIGHT” shown upon it – exposing the “VILE FLAGITIOUS CONCATENATION OF WICKEDNESS” wrought to bear upon docile “HUMANS” by the “SLITHERING SERPENTS OF SATAN” – whose works have borne nothing but “STINKING, ROTTEN FRUIT”!!!

#MeloDrama???

#MadnessWillNotBeGladness

#StayTuned

30. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

GLOBALIZATION IS NOT ONLY DEAD ACCORDING 2 BRITISH PM #HeirStarmer ET AL BUT SINGAPOREAN PM IS NOW BLOWING THE BUGLE TO AWAKEN SLEEPING DOGS WHO OUGHT 2 BE KEEPING WATCH – REFUSING 2 BARK IN A TIME OF MAJOR CRISIS WHILE THE BARBARIANS ARE CLEARLY AT THE GATES

#HistoryIsCyclical as I have often opined…

Man’s rulership of the earth has been nothing short of “ABJECT FAILURES” – from time immemorial, until today!!!

*CURSED* IS ANY MAN WHO PUTS HIS TRUST IN ANOTHER MAN OR IN THE ARM OF FLESH”!!!

For mankind is so far up “SHLIT STREET” that he could not paddle his way – out even with a 10-ft barge pole!!!

#GetReadyFolks

#NoMoreTime2Waste

#AwakeYouWhoSlumber

31. “You need to brush up on ur comprehension!
    you are taking away Theo crown this year !!”

Thanks. If I understood what you were saying I would add a reply
    🙂 🙂 🙂

32. Those of us in the US have some concerns about where the country going and where this fool is taking us.

I have seen some described his action as the outcome of a master plan by Trump, but I feel that he is just as ignorant as I am on the possible outcome of his actions.

His outright attack on the middle class and senior citizens will backfire. Americans will not stand by and watch their social security and 401Ks disappear. Marches and protest have already begun.

Trump has chosen a path that is difficult to reverse, and I see the following outcome within one year (a) impeachment, (b) resignation, and (c) impeachment and resignation.
    The only thing that may prolong his stay in office, is that his replacement is twice as ignorant as he is.

—-***—
    For Rabbit only
    Of course, my mind can change. Rabbit may yet come and convince me that there is brilliance in this fool’s folly. Rabbit, are you here? Are you there?

33. Trump announces 90 day pause on tariffs. Stock markets soaring.

34. So calling Jah messenger
    You haffi listen dis yah message yah
    The fight is spiritual nuh physical
    And Babylon a do de typical

35. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Trump outplays them and wins again! Where are all the sky is falling economic experts now?

Trump has showed them in one week, they though they never left kindergarten and their worthless economic degrees is not worth the paper they were all printed on.

36. The Emperor’s New Clothes

37. Where are the sky is falling ( economic) expert(s) now?.
    You mean John A. 🙈😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

38. Trump is playing one step forward 2 step backwards. Today now he says he is putting a 90 day hold on the tariffs on all but china who will pay more.

Well China has the greatest chance of affecting the consumer as they produce the largest range of products for export to the USA. So basically he now wants to go toe to toe with China and slug it out. How can any market plan for this on again off again approach? So tariffs are on this week and all major markets fall. Today tariffs are on hold, market rallies 2900 points. With such volatility how can anyone plan? What will tomorrow’s plan be?

39. Critical Analyzer
    April 9, 2025 at 2:55 pm

Trump outplays them and wins again! Where are all the sky is falling economic experts now?

—————-

You really think this is over? On one part, countries have already formed alternate trading alliances. This cannot be reversed, they have already lost trust in the Trump admin trade arrangements and will act accordingly.

On the other hand, China is not backing down and with the wide spread of products that rely on Chinese manufacturing, this continued standoff will hurt US consumers the most.

This is a long way from over.

40. Even the formula Trump used to calculate the tariffs was based on nonsense. I thought I was losing it when I couldn’t grasp the rationale, but it has since been confirmed that it was rubbish. Trade deficits aren’t automatically a bad thing. It depends on the circumstances. This man and his white supremacist cabinet are all incompetent dummies. I can’t believe that after all the craziness you have seen from the DOGE debacles of firing critical staff who looked after the nuclear arsenal, cancelling cancer research, ebola programmes etc. and frantic attempts at rehiring, installing software that crashed the Social Security system, RFK’s vitamin A treatment for measles causing toxicity. Hesgeth & Co. texting war plans to a journalist, the failure of his Ukraine peace plan when he promised to end the war on Day One, the pardoning of violent January 6th insurrectionists who have long criminal records (several have been re-arrested and one died in a police shooting), the illegal deportation to El Salvador’s prisons of non-gang members, seventy percent of whom have no criminal records and many others with non-violent records, there to languish indefinitely without due process, threats to go after law firms for doing their job, you still support this moron/maniac/monster?

What will it take for you to abandon this obviously ridiculous idea that Trump is a sane, rational actor????

Does he have to ethnically “cleanse” Gaza? Retake the Panama Canal? Start a war with Denmark over Greenland? Invade Mexico over drug trafficking when the guns are trafficked from America? How about Canada? Will you abandon Trump if he takes Canada? Or does he have to drop a bomb on your house before you see the light? (Of the explosion before you die, of course.)

I am truly appalled that you are still on the Trump Train of lunacy!

But….how exactly do you come to the conclusion that Trump has won???????? Based on his declaring victory???????

Man, you just spoiled my day!

41. Oh, and by the way, Trump literally admitted that some people were getting skittish and that’s why he paused the tariffs. How does that amount to victory? Elon Musk was calling Peter Navarro a moron for giving Trump the tariff idea. There was an uncivil war in the camp.

42. @ Donna

You are correct there is utter confusion over tthis. Even if Trump removed ALL tariffs now and left the one on China, the effect would be devastating for the American people and the rest of us. The chinese imput is in nearly every item manufactured so there is no escaping the knock on effect the tariff war with China would cause. He also has painted himself in a corner because if he now backs down on the China tariff, he will look weak in the eyes of everyone.

43. Trump and China are viewing this war completely differently. Trump sees it as China needing the USA and the fact that he buys way more from China than they buy from him, means he has the winning hand. China on the other hand is saying we will win, because you buy so much more from us the effect of 100% plus tariff will be felt everywhere, so you can not as a consumer sustain such an increase. We are in your homes, your cars and even your phone in someway so how can we lose? Even the American cars you want to sell has our input in them in some form.

So same war with two different approaches, where both leaders feel they have the winning hand with us the poor consumer caught in the middle either way!

44. Critical Analyzer Avatar

For the people too blinded by their TDS (Trump Derangement Syndrome) and still seeing red from all the money they lost shorting stock over the last week. Here is the short breakdown of what Trump really did over the last 7 days from a non-economist, non-stockholder, poor working-class thinking man with eyes to see.

As I said in an earlier comment, Trump’s ultimate goal is a Fair Trade Market not Free Trade Market where countries sell their products to the US but keep out US made products via devious strategies such as onerous import regulations.

What Trump did over the last week was to get every single country in the world to show all their cards on their actual trade negotiating policy so he can negotiate fair trade deals with the willing, then isolate and bury the unwilling with a coalition of the willing.

1) He announced a base tariff of 10% on all countries (including ones with zero population) and announced reciprocal tariffs, publishing his formula.
    2) He stated a country having zero percent tax on imports but blocking imports through impossible regulations, subsidization, etc. will still get a higher than 10% tariff because of those protectionist mechanisms.
    3) He sat back a week making his Naughty and Nice Countries List by which ones came running trying to negotiate their tariff rate down.
    4) Countries like China who refused to come to the table and fought back hard are going to either crap themselves for the next 90 days while Trump negotiates fair trade deals with all the other countries or come running to Trump begging for forgiveness.

Trump single-handedly put the Free Trade era on 90 day life support. If he succeeds, they might have to find a spot for him and his hair on Mt Rushmore.

P.S. It also showed up who all the greedy SOB investors are willing to bet against their own country and take advantage of poor people to make a few bucks.

45. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@John A April 10, 2025 at 7:02 am

China is going to ultimately lose the war because
    1) Every country in the world knows China does not play fair. They always load the dice in their favor.
    2) US has the World Reserve Trading Currency
    3) When Trump negotiates new trade deals with all the other manufacturing giant countries (Japan, India, South Korea, etc.) and on shores critical industries like computer chips and pharmaceutical manufacturing, China will have a lesser and lesser hold on the rest of the world faster than you can say Jack Rabbit.

46. Trump crwp himself and CA IS FULL OF CRAP. China owns the USA debt they dumping of the USA papers is what made rump shit himself and back off

China and Japan kicked him wher it hurts

47. I have heard some describe Trump’s action as a reversal. To me a reversal requires getting us back to where we were before Trump imposed his tariffs. I doubt we can get back there, but there are immeasurable(s) that we cannot accurately track.

How do we measure the loss of confidence by the middle class and senior citizens as they watched this buffoon attack their life savings. How do we calculate the erosion of confidence by traditional allies as this fools and his team disparage NATO and Europe. The ridiculousness of his interaction with Greenland, Canada and Panama and his talk of a third term as he destroys the country during the second term

Even nations in the US ‘backyard’ are made to suffer from his folly.

Trump’s policies are making America an isolated fortress and leaving a clear playing field to China. By the US admits the folly of his policy, the sphere of American influence would have shrunk considerably.

–x–
    I see CA is still spouting his nonsense. The other trumpite (Rabbit) has the sense to stay silent and wait until things start to sort themselves.