President Donald Trump delivered on a promise today by announcing tarifs on the world. The objective he believes, to boost domestic production and in the process Make America Great Again (MAGA).

Key tariffs announced by Trump

Time will tell very soon if Trumps strategy of using tariffs and executive orders will achieve the objective. What all the market analysts have suggested is that it is too simplistic an approach. Although the stock market is not an economic indicator, it has been reported 4 trillion has been wiped from the US stock market since Trump’s reelection.

The blogmaster is of the certain view the disruption to the global economy caused by Trump policies will force countries to renegotiate different ways to do business. Trump’s isolations strategy will be challenged given that there are alternatives IF countries commit to forging new strategic relationships.

Of immediate concern is how will Trump policies affect Barbados and the Caribbean. At first read there is a 10% baseline tariff that was imposed on ALL imports to the USA. Although Barbados is not a significant exporter of goods compared to the major players, we have exports like rum, sugar products etc that will be impacted.

Then there is tourism revenue on which Barbados and many Caribbean islands are over reliant. If the price of commodities increase significantly in the USA and Canada which are key source markets, it will reduce disposable income for North Americans. The obvious impact is that many will decide to revisit travel plans to countries like the Caribbean.

The government of Barbados has been nurturing relationships with non traditional partners to mitigate against fallout such as we been witnessing with the reelection of Trump. Our economy is already very fragile made worse by mismanagement by successive DLP and BLP governments. We should also be worried about the fact our economy is wedded to the US economy because of the peg to the dollar.

After years of growing a global economy on the concept of ‘globalisation’ and free trade, we are witnessing a US President deciding to pivot to implementing isolationist economic policies.

162 responses to “Trump tariffs unleashed on the world”

1. Trump cannot predict how investors in the market will react if his policies continue to act as a drag on stock market cap.

2. Critical Analyzer Avatar

With such a simple tariff policy, Trump just showed he is a true genius and why he is a billionaire.

He started the Fair Trade Era and ended the Free Trade Era with his simple formula.

The Free Trade Era destroyed the middle class, consolidating the wealth into fewer and fewer hands creating the super rich by chasing the cheapest products for consumers at all costs.

His tariff formula policy is simply explained in layman terms as this,
    1) USA is going to set the import tax rate charged to your country’s imports based primarily on the net trade balance between the two countries.
    2) The min import tax rate starts at 10% i.e. to cover administration and make some tax revenue and increased based on the trade imbalance.
    3) The more the USA imports from your country without your country accepting US imports, the more you will be taxed.

3. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Trump has simply said, no more freeloading, no begging or getting US dollars for your cheap inferior products to prop up your living above your means lifestyles.

You want our money for your products, you also need to buy from us too or pay the penalty.

And while we at it, we done being the World Police Force too. We 36 trillion in debt with a 2 trillion annual budget deficit and that is unsustainable if we want to remain the world reserve currency.

4. True, in the meantime we have to exist in an interconnected global market that is quickly descending into chaos.

5. In the Spirit of Standing Up

6. What trump is doing is simply trying to break what we know as the global economy in to five separate economies. These will be as follows.

THE US ECONOMY
    THE EURPOEAN ECONOMY
    THE ASIAN ECONOMY
    THE CANADIAN ECONOMY
    OTHERS

He believes the US economy can be self sufficient if manufacturing investments return, as the US has the consumption to fuel it. If others want to trade with him at levels lower than he trades with them, the people of the USA will be asked to subsidise the difference with tariffs causing higher prices to the consumer. How will those in other countries deal with their increase on US products? Can the US Domestic market grow enough to right off the loss of their exports to other countries due to their foreign tariffs?

This will basically mean that you have to buy American or pay through you tail for imports. Sounds like the Russian and Chinese approach to the auto industry.

So how will the markets respond to this new global shift to 5 economies instead of one? Well if current indicators are an example not very good it would seem. Will the Amercan now be willing to pay more for the external products, or will he just do with out? Does this move now mean a global recession and if so where does that leave us? Why are we not hearing from our leaders on the steps they plan to take to try and protect our people from what’s coming ? Will duties on food stuffs be lowered? Will the VAT be completely be removed from ALL food items? Of course not, we running a big ass deficit and looking for more from wunna bajans already!

Like the poor American person will we tail also be in the wind as well!

7. NorthernObserver Avatar

@CA
    Very concise.
    One flaw I see is using the term “accepting imports”, versus BUYING imports.
    The price of NA made cars here in Canada are set to rise, while without tariffs, those from EU, Japan and Korea will not change. This a boom to used cars and foreign cars.
    Herein is the mathematical flaw. Using oil. USA refineries are tooled for heavier oils, versus the light, sweet crude the USA produces. Canada is not the only heavy oil supplier, but by far the most economical given several refinery locations. If we cut our oil exports to USA by 50%, this would switch Canada from having an overall trade surplus to a trade deficit. Yet, there is no benefit in running a deficit, (the USA having a surplus). The benefits end (tariffs reduced) when trade is balanced; other than a min 10% rate, which seems to apply regardless ( a duh moment).
    The assumption seems to be, Canada will not want to find other oil buyers, rather buy more from the USA to level the trade imbalance. Yet the math says, the overall benefit is actually in reducing tariffs by selling less.
    The truth is, by pissing off people with 51st State rhetoric, the fecking Canadians stopped buying made in the USA. So even by reducing the sales of steel and aluminum to the USA via tariffs, the damn trade deficit with the USA grew!! So not only does the math say cut oil sales, it says shut off the electricity flow. How else can we get to balanced trade, when the population refuses to buy made in USA. Not because of economics, but because of political bombast.

8. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@John A

The market is a bunch of freeloading rich speculators profiteering that care nothing about supporting hard working rising entrepreneurial businesses innovating and making products because they have the money and media clout to influence and control the market.

If Trump succeeds, the innovators will be back in charge, upending all these freeloaders that never build a real product but bought low, sell high and bet the profits to make their riches.

They see what Trump is doing so they are trying to panic the market into believing the sky is falling we will sell out for them to buy cheap for when the market goes high in a few weeks.

9. @John A

The geopolitical downside is that in the chaos there is opportunity. China and other non Western countries may seize opportunity to be the plank on which new trade and monetary systems are built.

10. @ Critical Analyzer

The question then is what happens If Trump succeeds but cripples the other 4 economies I mentioned? That will devastate our tourism along with the other small tourism dependant countries. Sounds like the battle of the jungle where for the lion to live other species must die.

Trump basically is looking to make the USA an introverted economy that basically feeds its own from its own. The question is at what cost to others, many of which we depend on to exist? His economic plan is one that existed post world War 2 with a bit of window dressing added. Having said that everyman must do what he thinks is best for his country.

Sadly our divine leaders have found it easy to feed off the scraps of others. We have bet our existence on one of the most volatile industries ever, that of course being tourism.

11. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@NorthernObserver

You are still in the Free Trade protectionist mindset. Accepting means the government is playing favorites and letting something in and blocking others as opposed to letting the product sell itself.

What Trump is striving for is using his tariff policy to level the playing field as much as possible.

Right now the game is rigged one way or the other using what ever means countries can get away with. Subsidization, indentured labor, currency manipulation and whatever scheme governments can think of to get their products into other countries which keeping their products out or other schemes they can dream up to keep the money following in.

12. Do not be surprised if Trump does not place a tariff on ALL AIRLINE TICKETS for travel in and out of the USA to non USA LOCATIONS. In other words reward his people for holidaying within the USA, Puerto Rico etc. Once he does that his next move will be to place a smaller tarrif on all intransit flights setting down on US SOIL.

This approach has no end mark my words.

13. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@John A
    If Trump succeeds and the other 4 economies collapse, it means they were failing economy models that were being propped up by protectionist mechanisms.

We had the perfect model, smaller boutique hotels and one or two high end hotels but we are destroying it now when all had to do was localize and improve on the AirBNB concept to be more unique local island experience.

Our new tourism model to pull in millions to build monstrous hotels, destroying the natural driving around the island beauty so the owners outside Barbados making all the profits long term is a failing tourist model.

Who thinks someone wants to travel on vacation to see 10 storey buildings breaking up the skyline. They can say home or got elsewhere for that. We need to be marketing an island experience, not ONLY sunning on the beach at your expensive hotel and driving around inside a fully enclosed air-conditioned bus on a tour you can’t feel the wind in your face.

14. @ Critical Analyzer

I agree with you 100 percent! We can’t compete with mass markets like the Dominican Republic but we have created an industry to try and accommodate that type of toursim. In other words bring plenty heads who spend little when here. That way we brag about arrivals and don’t focus on spend.

On the other hand St Barts has one of the highest spend per visitors in the region. They welcome roughly only 300,000 visitors a year and don’t even have an international airport. You fly into places like St Maarten and then take a small plane over. Yet 300,000 monied people have no problem making the journey. Look here at our premium hotel Sandy Lane. Is that a 10 storey eye sore or a smaller more personal entity? The old hoteliers like Forte and Bugs O’Hara knew exaclty what we needed and catered to it. Anyhow the divine leaders think they know best.

15. @CA

Your characterization the stock market is an oversimplification. You should do some research to understand the various actors who would be affected the current skid.

16. Trump may yet force the world to strike non traditional alliances and strike solutions. History is replete with examples of fallen empires.

17. US ‘Liberation Day’ Tariffs: What impact for the Caribbean?

By caribbeantradelaw on April 4, 2025

Alicia Nicholls

On April 2, 2025, United States (US) President, Donald J. Trump, announced additional ad valorem tariffs of 10% on goods imports from all countries, including Caribbean Community (CARICOM) countries, under his new ‘Reciprocal Tariff Policy’. In addition, some countries like Guyana, which have a merchandise trade surplus with the US, will face even steeper additional tariffs. This article discusses these ‘Liberation Day’ developments and what they might mean for CARICOM countries.

The Reciprocal Tariff Policy

Earlier this year, on January 20, 2025, President Trump signed a presidential memorandum outlining the broad contours of his America First Trade Policy 2.0, initiating an investigation into the root causes of the country’s “large and persistent” merchandise trade deficit. This was followed by a second executive order, the Presidential Memorandum on Reciprocal Trade and Tariffs issued on February 13, 2025, which ordered a review of non-reciprocal trade practices and their contribution to the U.S. trade imbalance. On April 1, 2025, the President received the results of these investigations.

The executive order of April 2, 2025 entitled “Regulating Imports with a Reciprocal Tariff to Rectify Trade Practices that contribute to large and persistent annual US goods trade deficits” introduces the so-called Reciprocal Tariff Policy as a response to the national emergency supposedly caused by foreign trade and economic practices.

Using presidential authority pursuant to the International Emergency Economic Powers Act of 1977 (IEEPA), this policy applies an additional ad valorem duty starting at 10% on imports from all pf the US’ trading partners, effective April 5, 2025 at 12:01 am (EDT). For countries in Annex I, these tariffs will increase to the country-specific rates outlined in that annex effective April 9, 2025 (EDT). For Guyana, the only Caribbean Community (CARICOM) country on Annex I, its goods exports to the US will be hit with additional ad valorem tariffs of 38%.

These tariffs are to remain in place indefinitely, until the President determines that the conditions warranting them have been “satisfied, resolved, or mitigated”. Additionally, the President has the authority to increase the tariffs if the countries retaliate. A narrow range of goods listed in Annex II of the Memorandum is exempt from the ad valorem tariffs.

These new ‘reciprocal’ tariffs aim to address what the Trump Administration perceives as chronic non-reciprocity in the US’ trade relationships, hampering U.S. manufacturers’ ability to compete in foreign markets and thereby threatening American jobs, manufacturing capacity, and competitiveness. However, the methodology used to determine these tariffs has faced criticism. If it is to be so-called ‘reciprocal’ tariff, the initial thinking by many of us in the trade policy community was that the US would match the tariffs charged by these countries on US imports. Rather, according to financial journalist James Surowiecki in a post on X and later confirmed by economists and the administration, the formula for calculating the additional tariffs appears to involve simply dividing a country’s trade balance with the U.S. by the value of its exports to the US multiplied by ½ to arrive at the tariff rate. This has led to some of the poorest countries in the world being hit with disproportionately high tariffs based on this dubious formula. Moreover, tariffs have even been imposed on small uninhabited territories like the Heard and MacDonald Islands, reiterating doubts about the logic behind the policy and on the more humorous side, giving rise to a raft of penguin memes on social media.

Possible implications for Caribbean economies and firms

However, this is no laughing matter as all goods exported from CARICOM countries to the U.S. will now face the additional 10% tariff, except for Guyana which faces a country-specific 38% tariff. This makes the costs of Caribbean products more expensive in the US, although there is the argument that they will also be competing with goods from other countries which might be subjected to even higher country-specific rates.

The US has a large trade surplus with the region on a whole, and with most Caribbean countries, with the exceptions of the commodity-exporting countries of Guyana and Trinidad & Tobago. Indeed, the US remains a key market for several important Caribbean exports, including energy products like oil, ammonia and methanol, as well as rum, textiles and other manufactured and agricultural products. Since the 1980s most CARICOM countries’ goods exports to the US are eligible to enter duty-free due to the Caribbean Basin Initiative and its constituent Acts. This is not a negotiated trade agreement, but a unilateral preferences programme which has enjoyed bipartisan US support because it benefits US manufacturing as the biennial US International Trade Commission (USITC) reports on the operation of the CBERA have consistently shown.

In her latest article, noted Caribbean economist Dr. Kari Grenade outlined a variety of ways in which these developments could impact Caribbean economies, including inflation. Indeed, since the Caribbean imports a significant volume of US goods, including essential foodstuffs, this could lead to rising prices on our supermarket shelves. Analysis by Tax Foundation shows that the Trump tariffs amount to an average tax increase of more than $2,100 US per US household in 2025. What does this mean for the Caribbean diaspora in the US? What does this mean for US travel to the region if US consumers will be paying more everyday goods and will have less disposable income ? What does this mean for those countries in the Caribbean which depend on the US as a major tourism source market?

What next? Firm and regional responses

The tariffs have not yet come into effect, and it is likely that they could be halted at the last minute given the backlash and stock market volatility the announcement has caused. Nonetheless, it is imperative for firms and Caribbean countries to plan for them. For Caribbean exporters which rely on the CBI concessions, this may necessitate rethinking export strategies, possibly by shifting to non-trade market entry strategies to maintain access to the U.S. market, or by diversifying into new export destinations. For those Caribbean companies which rely on inputs imported from the US, they could face higher costs as US manufacturers pass on their increased costs to intermediate and end consumers. This means this will have to continue to diversify their sourcing. Some firms are already doing this.

Retaliation is not a feasible option for CARICOM countries as we import much of what we consume from the US and already have high tariffs on imported goods. Where feasible, Caribbean countries could lower their applied rates on imported goods to help offset some of the pain consumers would feel. Our other main options are diplomatic, preferably as a grouping. Caribbean governments have been engaging in diplomatic outreach to urge the US to reconsider the policy or at least provide carve-outs for small countries. In a recent article, Antigua & Barbuda’s highly respected Ambassador to the US, Sir Ronald Sanders, has called on the US to revisit these tariffs as they are against the spirit of the CBI and US-Caribbean relations, have human and economic costs and also imperil US strategic interests. Indeed, this policy will make the price of US goods more expensive and further incentivise importers in the region to source more regionally or internationally. Moreover, many Caribbean nationals have customarily gone to the US, especially cities like Miami and New York, to vacation and shop, contributing to the economies of those cities. Caribbean nationals will increasingly go to cheaper destinations like Panama.

The ‘America First Trade Policy 2.0’ reinforces the need for us in CARICOM to accelerate efforts to expand our intra-regional trade and continue our trade diversification efforts. This is nothing novel and it is something we have long recognised. I listened to the speech of EU Commission President, Ursula von der Leyen earlier this week and found it noteworthy that the EU, a market of some 450 million people and with the economic heft to implement meaningful retaliatory measures also saw the salience of deeper integration and economic diversification to helping build its resilience and navigate this period of uncertainty. If deeper integration and diversification are important for the EU, they are doubly vital for us in CARICOM. After all, it is not just these tariffs we must contend with, but also the mooted fees to be placed on vessels which are Chinese made or are part of fleets which have a large number of Chinese-made vessels, which could impact many Caribbean countries.

A broader concern is the pall this beggar thy neighbour trade policy by US as the world’s largest economy casts over the rules-based multilateral trading system and the World Trade Organisation (WTO) which it was critical in establishing. While the multilateral trading rules are far from perfect, they have provided a predictable and rules-based framework where, inter alia, countries agreed to bind their tariffs for tariff lines at specific levels, which ensures some predictability for exporters. However, what the Trump administration is doing is contrary to the spirit of the multilateral trading system and will set off a global trade war as major economic powers react with their own retaliatory measures. As history shows, this will possibly have deleterious implications for the global economy, and just a mere five years after the world was hit by the worst pandemic in 100 years. This latest move heralds a more unpredictable, uncertain, unstable and unilateral era in global trade relations, one in which strategic diplomacy, regional cooperation and diversification will be key for CARICOM countries to navigate.

Alicia Nicholls, B.Sc., M.Sc., LL.B. is an international trade specialist and the founder of the Caribbean Trade Law and Development Blog: http://www.caribbeantradelaw.com.

18. When Trump targets someone he expects them to be compliant and not say anything

“Well, officer, I think you should consider that a rapist might also be capable of lying”

19. What Trump is doing will fail.

20. “The market is a bunch of freeloading rich speculators profiteering that care nothing about supporting hard working rising entrepreneurial businesses innovating and making products because they have the money and media clout to influence and control the market.”

That is much too simple. Millions of hard working and middle class Americans have their 401K and other investment in the market.

I scanned the rest but paid it no real attention as the start was very flawed. Cut back on the rhetoric and add substance.

21. The elephant in the room eludes most of us.
    Most are blindly touching the tail and are perplexed at its size and strength, but perhaps the REAL danger lies in the false illusion created by Richard Nixon, called FIAT Currency.

Until then, money was backed by ACTUAL VALUABLE ASSETS such as gold. But faced with typical albino-centric political greed, the USA was printing more paper than the gold they actually held – and when called to account, Nixon arrogantly declared the US dollar to be the worlds reserve currency – and by various unholy means, like using their military power to lock down global oil sales, and by controlling currency exchange mechanisms (SWIFT), created a situation where they could just ARBITRALLY PRINT WHATEVER CURRENCY THEY NEEDED – and then sold the bonds to foreign countries as debt.
    This has been the single greatest Ponzi scheme of all time.
    It was ALWAYS just a matter of time….

They BARELY escaped the last financial crash – by pumping BILLIONS of printed currency into the system – and managed to extract another decade out of the Ponzi scheme… aided by the three-year COVID plandemic.

This time, the game looks to be up… since their last schemes to block BRICS, has clearly backfired. At some point soon, (and likely overnight,) the $US will (LIKE ALL PONZI DEALS) come crashing down…

What Trump is doing is designed to MASK this real and imminent REALITY, by blaming trade imbalances, unfair trade, and illegal immigrants, …instead of the FACT that for the last fifty years, USA prosperity has been built on the ability to print paper currency at will – RATHER than on productivity or natural resources…. and to ENFORCE global compliance by force and arms.

THE END OF THAT RIDE IS HERE…

So while wunna here worrying “about price increases and shortages” due to tariffs, over the coming MONTHS…
    PERHAPS the real danger lies in the OVERNIGHT collapse of the DOLLAR BILL into a useless peice of paper – not even suitable to replace toilet paper….
    NOTE… $US dollar = $Barbados = toilet paper….

Overnight…
    Foreign exchange – gone
    Savings accounts – worthless
    Food – unaffordable
    Healthcare – non existent

…dog dead!!!

22. The American people will face a double wammy in all of this. They will have to deal with inflated prices due to tariffs while watching their portfolios fall. It will affect pensioners the worst probably as they are on fixed incomes, but the working generation will not escape either.

While some may dismiss the markets as a group of wealthy power brokers, the markets represent the savings of all Americans either directly or indirectly. They are also thousands of non Americans invested in the markets so they too will feel the pain. It is not as simple as some want to make it out as being, as all markets globally are intertwined. They are European companies invested in the US markets, while many American companies are also invested in the Asian and European markets for example. In other words in simple terms, there is no escaping the effect of tariffs regardless of who you are, as investments in things like mutual funds are too diversified not to be affected in some way.

23. NorthernObserver Avatar

@CA
    I will suggest, so called ‘free trade’ never existed, and the similarly named agreement, was actually a specific PREFERENTIAL trade agreement.
    Protectionism refers to several measures, including tariffs, (quotas, subsidies etc) to PROTECT or shield domestic industries, from foreign competition.
    The current tariff policy is protectionist.

However, in general, I care less about numeric, easily changed, tariff calculations, to Trump’s assault on Canadian sovereignty. Largely because he didn’t like Trudeau personally. How childish is that? Now we have an internal uproar, that Trump should not be allowed on Canadian soil, a) he is a convicted criminal b) his threats of annexation make him a National security risk. (We are to host the G7)

US made products are being boycotted in droves. My family related trucking entity, is returning goods by the truckloads to the US, because they can’t sell them here. But many big retailers Wal-Mart, Costco etc have USA outlets who can. Why? Because he hated Trudeau? Not covered by tariffs, but leisure travel to the US is grinding to a halt. You cannot find a bottle of US Wine or Spirits on the shelf. My annual golf outing to Myrtle, run by an Upstate NY company, cancelled because of the 300 bookings, 278 cancelled (I wasn’t one) Why? Trump threatened to erase the line (border). But he did cross a line. The USA needs eggs, bird flu. Donnie announces he finds them in Turkey. Canada had them. The same retailers above are buying them by the truckloads, shipping south, and making a fortune. But Trump already said he didn’t need anything from Canada!!

Totally avoidable craziness.

24. “Trump may yet force the world to strike non traditional alliances and strike solutions. History is replete with examples of fallen empires.”

Trump provides a clear awakening of realisation why people don’t like or trust Americans, and when you look at his apologist sycophantic fan base it provides another awakening moment why people don’t like or trust white people.

Like Sharpesville, Selma, Church Bombing in Birmingham Alabama, Little Rock Nine there are events which awaken people about the repugnant status quo of racism

There are liberals who’s spirit may stand up and speak out against clear wrongs such as War in Israel, but there are fake liberals like Starmer and Biden who are part of the problem and not the solution and condone their actions which gives way and leads to more extreme terror by the next worse man in power, proving the nations like USA and UK are biggest hypocrites in the so called rules based order of the free world

You could say creeps like Trump and Judas serve a purpose and are doing God’s work as the spirit of God manifests to for man to fight against the Devil’s finest works of persecution inna Babylon

Kick It Inna Africa, Dub it inna Africa

25. Mottley: Brace for tariffs impact

While hoping that “cooler heads will prevail” and world leaders will come together to protect the poor and vulnerable, Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley told the people of the Caribbean to prepare for the impact of the United States (US) trade tariffs.

In a statement yesterday in her capacity as chairman of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM), she said there was no sugar-coating the fact that the world was in crisis, including one on the cost of living that has persisted since COVID-19 shut down the world and disrupted supply chains.

On Wednesday, US President Donald Trump announced various amounts of tariffs on “all countries” selling goods to the US. There will be higher reciprocal rates on countries with which it has the largest trade deficits.

Ten per cent

Barbados was among those slapped with a ten per cent tariff on its exports to the US which take effect today.

Mottley urged everyone to disabuse themselves of the notion that the tariffs would not affect them.

“We are working and will continue to work to become more self-sufficient, but I want every Caribbean man and every Caribbean woman to hear me. This trade war and the possibility of a US$1 million to $1.5 million levy on all Chinese-made ships entering US harbours will mean higher prices for all of us at the corner shop, higher prices at the supermarket, higher prices at the electronic store, higher prices for us at the shop, higher prices for us at the restaurant, higher prices for us at the current dealership and beyond,” she said.

The Prime Minister stressed that regional economies were small and at the mercy of larger countries.

“If Europe and China and the US and Canada and Mexico are all putting tariffs on each other, that is going to disrupt supply chains. That is going to raise the cost of producing everything – from the food you eat, to the clothes on your back, to the phone in your pocket, to the car you drive down the road, to the spare parts that you need for critical infrastructure. That means higher prices for all of us to pay, and sadly, yes, this will impact all of us, regardless of what any of our Caribbean governments will do,” she explained.

She outlined a four-point plan which included engagement with the current leadership of the US, presenting a united front to the world and not fighting among each other for political gain, boosting CARICOM manufacturing and strengthening the ties with Africa.

Mottley noted from as far back as the Ronald Reagan presidency in the 1980s, the US “went to great lengths to assist us in promoting our abilities to sell in the United States under the Caribbean Basin Initiative”. She said the region now had to wait to see how that would function.

Spillover effects

She warned that as the spending power of people in the source markets was affected, they would opt not to travel and the spillover effects would be on the region’s tourism sector. She told Caribbean leaders and private sector bodies to “collaborate for an immediate tourism strategy to ensure that we maintain market share numbers as a region”.

Mottley also had a message for Trump.

“Our economies are not doing your economy any harm in any way; they are too small to have any negative or distorted impact on your country.

“So, I ask you to consider your decades-long friendship between your country and ours. And look to the Caribbean, recognising that the family ties, yes, are strong. Let us talk, I hope, and let us work together to keep prices down for all of our people.” ( PR/SAT)

26. Barbados has a pre-kindergarden economy. I’m at a loss as to why we are getting upset with the yellow peril’s decision to impose a tariff of 10% on Barbados.

If we had any common sense as a nation we should address the issue of self-sufficiency first before we exhaust our voices meandering down the wrong path.

Please check the link below. Barbados must fix its roof first. Toddlers should learn to walk first before firing broadsides into the ample frame of Trump.

@ Bush Tea, I’m glad you were able to look beyond the headline raising “tariff” controversy.

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cvg1ez63ndvo

27. “Barbados has a pre-kindergarden economy.
    I’m at a loss as to why we are getting upset
    with the yellow peril’s …”

Things That Make You Go Hmmmm….
    I used to think that the UK based TLSN was Harold
    but then his financial awareness is so poor he might not be Harold after all
    but then Harold was not much of an expert either
    probably a diversity hire and a yes man who did what he was told by his bossman

I am loathe to spoon feed some people who are missing the answers to the problems, but I shall explain it for the cater for the caterpillars who are willing to raise their awareness to release the butterflies

Low income people (and low income nations) will be hit hardest by tariffs
    and will be hit even harder by several multiples when inflation rises exponentially
    (as is the plight of the third world poor and the poor man story)

throwing some concepts terminology in the mix for financial wars
    is ‘collateral damage’
    and ‘airline price wars’
    where businesses fail and richest pick up the pieces for pennies on the dollar

The System, Pressure Busspipe, Akae Beka, The System Dub, Zion I Kings

28. @000
    That was quite good.
    I see your mind is clear… a clean, crisp and funny attack.

Seriously, I think this imposition of tariffs is making Barbadians realize that they are very small fishes in the big sea, but they will be carried along by the wave. I was listening to some of the talk and comments and the impotence is beginning to manifest itself.

29. Meanwhile, the hunt continues for the elusive Rabbit. Folks like me are here waiting for him to make an appearance and explain away what seem like utter madness.
    Rabbit, are you out there

30. How ignorant and/or stupid do you have to be to believe that the most of the world has taken advantage of an empire???!!! As if the pale powers that be would care more about us than their own poor pale poppets. It is not our fault if nothing has trickled down.

31. @555dubstreet,
    My fellow cockney ryhming brother.

Good leadership is rare. Without vision its inevitable the poor will perish. Donald Trump does not owe Barbados a free lunch.

Mia has had sufficient time in office to recalibrate the economy. Her response to this crisis is classic Mia:

“….She warned that as the spending power of people in the source markets was affected, they would opt not to travel and the spillover effects would be on the region’s tourism sector. She told Caribbean leaders and private sector bodies to “collaborate for an immediate tourism strategy to ensure that we maintain market share numbers as a region”.

A leader with vision would have restructed our economy from the outset. The country appears to be defined solely on its dependance on others. I presume that Barbados has a local economy?

32. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David, greetings. This International Trade & Economics class is quite interesting … there are the practical, rational presenters and then the ideologues who find favor despite what can only be reasonably described a la @Northern as “Totally avoidable craziness”.

It shocks sensibilities that the US is railing against so called “free trade” and heralding this protectionist tariff regime.

This is the same nation that has :
    ** maintained a SIGNIFICANT financial/other services surplus with most major economies for many, many years.

Services are far more profitable generally.

**also sugnificnatly subsidized their farming products for many, many years.

And of course they absolutely printed money at will to run their extraordinary deficit.

POTUS’ dislike on ‘free trade’ is well known but his motivations and intentions here are horribly misguided and CANNOT achieve the stated goal of re-growing massive manufacturing in US.

As aptly stated by Robinson above the automated AI revolution will not facilitate that.

POTUS surely has an eye on the BRICKS et al push for an alternative trading currency, as well and in patented “scorched-earth” style he has firmly set his threats in play there too.

We will all suffer some great pain economically … but I remain astounded that this man can both batter the stock market and bamboozle main street citizens with these higher out-of-pockets costs and STILL remain so insulated from MAJOR criticism.

As one fan above railed about the supposedly shrinking middle class over years of free trade although this man is simply eroding that and those below even more, as he explodes the wealth-class.

Amazing !

Peace out to sunny Bim.

33. What is most worrying is when the PM speaks of restructing the economy she thinks only of tourism.

Why does she not think of starting a greenhouse project through the NCC and renting to small growers? You mean all wunna can see is tourism. If they don’t come we Bajans still don’t need to eat?

The fact that all the Caribbean leaders see as a challenge from Trump is ” how will it affect we tourism” should this not be a major concern to us as a people?

We learnt nothing from covid and it appears we will learn nothing from Trump either. Our economy will always be seen as being good only for tourism by our divine leaders. All energy will be spent on protecting that sector. Why don’t we spend time on truly diversifying this economy and feeding ourselves? Why not take the opportunity to adopt a DIFFERENT approach to foreign exchange and start A USD SAVE IS A USD EARNED PROGRAM? This would mean every head of lettuce, every tomato we grow and don’t import is worth the same as 6 bears a visitor would buy at Oistins.

Stop doing the same dam thing over and over and expecting a different result !

34. @John A

The theory of economics applied to the current environment ‘calculates’ that it is cheaper to import.

Go figure!

35. @Dee Word

Can Trump be characterized as a reincarnated Jim Jones given his cult like followers?

36. Black Carbon

My son your son mi son
    This is our place under the sun
    The whole thing our designated solar system
    There’s a little humor inna the equation
    What is your root overstanding of relevance
    Of how this life become

As predominantly here are the hydrocarbons
    Every living organism is made of carbon
    That’s the hue mentioned in the word human

Jah Jah show we seh humanity celestial
    Six protons, six neutrons and six electrons
    So don’t make them split you mentally to go win election
    Each nation have to rise up lifting the next one
    Cause all the way forward from the same carbon

Some will see them from a place of non-existence
    While they carry out a purge of planet reduction yes
    A mindset of a process of elimination
    Involving psychology, tanks, bombs and guns
    The heaviest weapons is information
    Deadliest weapon is information

Same carbon some try fi demonize your land
    Like they’re doing to Isis and everything that is African
    What them show up on TV station
    Incite fear and drive more division
    Poison the youth and talk bout a natural selection
    Nano technology software injection
    Bio warfare
    Psychological warfare
    Yeah
    Oh Jah Rastafari could you be my peace of mind
    Yeah
    Bio warfare
    Psychological warfare
    Yeah
    Oh Jah Rastafari could you be my peace of mind
    Rastafari

Organic life
    Organic architecture
    Organic farm
    And that is who we are
    Hydrocarbon

37. @ David

The problem with that theory is what happens when major upsets and shortages in imports occur either from a result of nature or Trump? We also are using borrowed USD to feed our people, so the costs does not only include the cost of the USD but also the cost of borrowing it. Why is it that wealthy countries subsidise their agricultural sectors? Part is economics but the other is food security.

Once again we have been caught with our pants around our ankles because all our divine leaders can see is ” A hotel corridor stretching from one end of Bay Street to the other.” Well eat concrete blocks and wash it down with wet cement. Every country needs to look out for its people FIRST. If food security is not high on a leaders list, then they are opening their people up to suffering. Of course the opinion of people like us will fall on deaf ears and we will all blame Trump. Not one of us will blame ourselves for not being more self sufficient and prepared for such disruptions having experienced covid.

38. Here’s one blaming ourselves. We can do better. No matter what Pachamama says about external forces, we can do better.

39. 04/04/25 Trump tariffs wipe $5 trillion off Wall Street..

Barbados is ahead of the curve declaring financial difficulties in 2018
    and is on it’s debt management program already

40. @ Donna

Of course we can do better. Look at Monaco one of the wealthiest places on the planet and read about their roof top garden operations. On their roof tops alone this little country with little arable land, can grow a large percentage of its vegetables. So if then can you going tell me with hundreds of acres of arable land growing bush we can’t do better?

41. Barbados to become a major transportation hub.
    No need for Florida. #wegotthis
    The island which struggles with a few autos ensconced in its Port, is seeking to be a major transshipment point.

42. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

TLSN at 12:15 PM “The country appears to be defined solely on its dependance on others.”

What does dependence on others mean?

Aren’t all businesses all economies “dependent on others” to buy their goods or services?
    Educate me please.

43. Clearly he is referring to the fact Barbados and several Caribbean islands economies are over dependent on tourism and services. We have discussed this reality in this space many times. It is a relative term.

44. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@John A April 4, 2025 at 3:24 pm “Sounds like the battle of the jungle where for the lion to live other species must die.”

But if all the other species die, the lion too will die. The lion cannot survive without the other species.

45. A pucked up world.

46. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

BARBADOS IS NOT THE ONLY CUNTRY UP SHYTE CREEK WITHOUT A PADDLE! DEVELOPING NATIONS WILL BE IN A SIMILAR BIND WITH DEVELOPED ONES SUFFERING TERRIBLY FROM AFFLUENZA* & THE COMORBIDITIES ASSOCIATED WITH LACK – SO EXPECT SOCIAL TENSIONS THE LIKE OF WHICH HAS NOT EXISTED SINCE THE GREAT DEPRESSION

So what can we expect:

Social conditions marked by widespread unemployment, economic hardship, & social unrest!!!

Unemployment rates could easily reach as high as 25% in some place – even more, depending how under-developed economies are, with many families facing untold financial hardship, instability or in many cases, possible ruin!!!

A deep economic downturn will lead to significant changes in modern daily life – where families will be forced to adopt frugal lifestyles – for gone will be the “EXCESSES” we have seen so rampant across most Western societies!!!

So-called status-symbol like having 4 cars to 1 family will be replaced by having either #OneCar or “NONE AT ALL” due to spiralling cost of maintenance, petrol, insurance etc.,

Many will have 2 grow kitchen gardens, “REUSE” or patch clothing, reduced leisure activities that will incur cost (EXCEPT THE BEACH OF COURSE) in order to conserve resources needed to pay bills, etc.,

The stress of financial strain will take a psychological toll on many families, particularly on men who were once able to provide for their families but are now reduced to being jobless, “SCRUNTING”, broke, busted & disgusted!!!

Some families will be forced to leave their homes due to mounting financial difficulties, as monthly mortgages becomes “UNAFFORDABLE” – as the cost of living goes “UP” & the chances of living goes “DOWN”!!!

GOV* welfare programs will be stymied by the “DEMAND” – incapable of meeting such profound needs, resulting in social unrest & possible “ANARCHY” – bringing many societies to their knees!!!

THE LIST IS ENDLESS

Let’s hope & “PRAY” that it will not come to this but if the historical past is a gauge of the future – “WHAT HAS BEEN, WILL BE AGAIN & THERE IS NOTHING NEW UNDER THE SUN”!!!

#BuckleUpFolks – it’s gonna’ be some ride through 2025 & on!!!

47. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

WHEN YOUR HUMBLE SERVANT WARNED THAT EVERYTHING WAS GOING 2 HELL IN A PANCART – MY AVOWED PESSIMISM STOOD NAKED IN THE DOCK WAITING 2 BE BLATANTLY OUTLAWED BY FORCES THAT BELIEVED THAT INCITING DOOM & GLOOM SHOULD BE SWEPT UNDER THE CARPET & THE AUDACITY 2 CITE THE OBVIOUSLY INEVITABLE WAS A STONE THROW 2 FAR

Well, here is the so-called leader of the “MOTTLEY-CREW-GOV*” – judging from the “TONE, TENURE & TEXTURE” of the VT* knows that the inevitable has finally arrived on the shores of BIM*, like an ancient galleon, carrying “PIRATES”, DEVILS* & “MAURADERS” that spells uncomfortably (HER DAYZ NUMBERED) & that the handwriting is on the wall, as it was for “BELSHAZZAR” in the dayz of Daniel – the prophet: “MENE MENE TEKEL UPHARSIN”!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

#ShiverMeTimbers, look like someone got the “MEMO” that the “CRAP IS ABOUT 2 HIT THE FAN” & the fallout will not be pretty – “GUESS WHO WILL GET THE BLAME”>>>>

#StayTuned – it’s gonna’ be interesting 2 see how the “POLYTRICKS” unfold & what manner of “LEADERSHIP” ensues from here on in, or will it be as it has always been: “EVERY MAN 4 HIMSELF & GOD 4 ALL”!!!

Can’t wait 2 see the debacle UNFURL!!!

48. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

LET’S SEE HOW IMPORTANT FOOD BECOMES AS 2025 MOVES INTO 2026 – WHO EATS & WHO STARVES

#StayTuned