Submitted by Steven Kaszab

Since the tariffs had been forth coming and finally arrived we have tried to carry on while the ensuing chaos spread like the wild fires of the north. Uncontrolled aggression, unexplained and if so done in an immature manner. Keeping ones promises as Donald Trump takes so much pride in doing has consequences that effect the nation, its neighbors and the world economy. 

My American customers have been gracious and kind while trying to understand the policies behind said mentioned tariffs themselves. Those customers who import from abroad know well the effects of tariffs. Clients who usually work with domestic suppliers not so much. Its a new ineffective weapon used not only against America’s Allies but its own citizens and their businesses. Costs will increase, prices as well. Profits will decrease for importers/distributors but domestic centered manufacturers will have a field day with increased profitable work. Good for them. 

Perhaps you’ll see a hidden gem within all this financial and economic chaos. The “Green sector” should approve of these tariffs as well. Less things will be imported, more items will be manufactured domestically and on a continental basis. If that is not “Green Policy in the making” I do not know what is. Accusing the Trump Administration of being environmentally “Green” is silly, but their policies has indirectly been working to make America “Green” again!

Trumps New Proclamation: Make America Green Again(unintentionally)

Wood from the America’s, with metal, and other natural resources to boot sourced here in our neck of the woods makes sense. Dealing with allies and economic friends makes sense. The trump administration should now take China, India and Russia on economically. It is time to do so, before these nations gather together and form their own economic-political Bloc. Oh yah, the despised anti-democratic AXIS. Stop economically dealing with them America. Preserve, maintain and use your own continental resources while filling our retail stores with domestically made products. Imagine a TV made in North America, or an automobile will parts all made domestically. Remember the lessons of the pandemic my friends.

37 responses to “Has Trump Gone Unintentionally Green?”

1. The US government congratulates Holness on his win.

https://x.com/usembassyja/status/1963604486917636428

2. Trump’s tariffs have been ruled as illegal mainly in the area of :
    following due process such as putting changes through Congress for checks and balances, rationalising justifications, pros and cons versus costs analyses, obtaining expert opinions, soliciting industry input, allowing better project planning for implementation, achieving consensus and putting it to the vote and some such. This may have prevented / mitigated potential fallout from bad decisions although he is asking Supreme Court to overturn ruling.

3. And why shouldn’t non-white, non-Western people form their own economic bloc?

The sense of entitlement of the European and European descended is beyond belief!

Enough of this idiot!

4. I don’t have a problem with the tariffs to be honest as they are basically imoprr duties. Barbados for example has a basic duty rate of 20% on most of its imports from countries outside of caricom.

For years countries have shipped their goods into the USA at practically no duty, while goods made in the USA when exported to the same countries, have been faced with duties from 20% and up in many cases. So yes there is a case there for an even playing feel that none can argue with. As for encouraging people in the USA to buy US made goods, again nothing wrong there as we too have had BUY BAJAN campaigns.

Now where it gets a bit unreasonable is when you use the duty or tariff against countries for political purpose as is the case with Guyana, Jamaica and Trinidad. What I would support is one global duty of say 20% for ALL imports into the USA. This would however be subject to ALL counties allowing USA made goods into their market at 20% as well. If this is not done and some countries charge US imports as a rate higher than 20%, then the USA has every right to then impose a trade tariff on top of the 20% to level the playing field.

Dat is my 10 cents worth

5. No. Trump’s policies will not result in gains for the environment.

Because he has already removed protections on national wildlife parks and fired a substantial amount of the workers who kept those parks in good shape.

No doubt development will follow. Money over environment.

6. I have to admit it. I admire Steven Kaszab. It takes a brilliant mind to pick through the madness and idiocy and calamity of Mr Trump and come up with a positive gem (unintentional or not) for the US monster..

SK touts a green recovery and mostly ignores the hardship caused by the UnGreen monster. Layoffs, rising unemployment, rising cost of food, more expensive electronics and other goods, businesses failing; the insertion of troops into possible flashpoints with the hope of creating a disastrous social event for the purpose of launching a true dictatorship, enriching the rich whilst stripping the poor of benefits; gutting legislation and departments that were geared toward helping citizens, attacking judges, ignoring the law and the constitution …..

Mr Kaszab I have one question for you, when describing the horror of Mussolini, it is CLAIMED that a citizen said “he made the trains run on time”, if true, Mr Kaszab was that person a relative of yours?

7. Mr Kaszab I have one question for you. When describing the horror of Mussolini, it is CLAIMED that a citizen said “he made the trains run on time”; if true, Mr Kaszab, was that person a relative of yours?

8. @John A

Is it that simple? There are many countries running trade surplus with the USAbut have to pay tariffs. How is that fair?

9. The writer of this article says it was unintentional but Pres. Trump is going green with the tariffs. Did he not listen when the tariffs were announced it was to ensure that Americans bought more items MADE IN THE US?

10. @ David

If both countries are running the same 20% duty and one is running a surplus then it means their country exports more than they import from the USA. The issue of penalising a country by dollar based surplus is wrong. Just look at the 2 market sizes and you will see the folly of it. Then you have average incomes, GDP and a host of other issues at play here including the comparative values of currencies.

So lets look at the main culprit here who is China. Massive trade surplus against the USA. But when you break it down a good part is US companies manufacturing under license for the said US market. Or Chinese companies using US Imput, how should one view these? Yes they are Chinese made but what happens when they have a large percentage of US based input? Trump’s logic is to bring that manufacturing home. Can China exist without sales to the US market? Can the US exist without inporting from the USA? Some say the USA is the largest consumer globally of most major products, if that is so where does that leave exporters to the US who may lose that market?

I think Trump has the cards to win this tariff battle, but it needs to have a base rate for all countries who both import and export to the US market. I think in time this is where it will end up. Hopefully we will have one global import duty that is below 20% ensuring all can function.

What I don’t agree with is consumers paying 180% to protect Say a T shirt sector, when all other import duties in their tariff book is 20%. Just using this as a theoretical example. Truth is the US consumer has enjoyed decades of close to duty free imports, while their exports have been subjected to duties in the double digits. Do you really think this is sustainable in the new economy post 2008 for the US? Our average duty rate here is 20% with a 17.5% Vat added at the cash register, without this revenue our economy would collapse.

11. @John A

The blogmaster has an unscientific view that the US tariffs will create alternative supply chains and trading blocs. Making global markets less reliant on US goods and services.

12. @ David

Truth is at this stage it could go any way. I don’t think any country no matter how large, can exist in a vacuum.

13. @ David

I think you meant trade deficit not surplus.

Barbados trade deficit with the USA is so great and because we rely on on imports it ok for Barbados to make revenue off the import duties . However any tariffs on our very few / limited export to USA will make it harder for us.

14. Yes, deficit @John2

15. The US has a TRADE SURPLUS with Brazil, yet Trump imposed tariffs on that country……

….. more so, for POLITICAL reasons.

According to the US president’s executive order, he imposed the additional 40% tariff on Brazil, “to address recent policies, practices, and actions by the Brazilian government that constitute an unusual and extraordinary threat to the national security, foreign policy, and economy of the United States.”

The case against former Brazilian president Jair Bolsonaro was described by Trump, as “persecution, intimidation, harassment, and censorship.”

That Supreme Federal Court (STF) Justice Alexandre de Moraes “ABUSED his judicial authority to THREATEN, TARGET, and INTIMIDATE thousands of his POLITICAL OPPONENTS.”

IRONICALLY, Trump took certain actions that ignored or violated the US Constitution, federal laws, and regulations……

…… thereby weaponizing the government to THREATEN, TARGET, and INTIMIDATE his political opponents and critics as well.

Since Trump is also guilty of threatening, targeting and intimidating his opponents……

…… would the government of any other country, for example, be WITHIN ITS RIGHTS to impose retaliatory tariffs on the US, for REASONS SIMILAR to why Trump imposed the 40% tariff on Brazil?

16. People like this Kaszab are painful to read. There was a school teacher who once argued that if one does not read, writing serves no purpose. She meant the likes of a Kaszab.

Kaszab cannot know, for example, that for the last 2000 years Asían countries, particularly China and India, where the global economic hegemons for more than 1700 years of the last two mellenia.

Indeed, the rise of the poorest people on earth, the people with an absence of natural resources, those from socalled Europe, merely represented a departure from that dominant norm which was characterised by heightened forms of barbarism, stealing other peoples and their things.

Should weee go back further, then we’ll have to insert the people from the richest continent on earth – Afrika! But then again a suggestion about “nostalgia” could be then trotted out.

All that is currently happening is a return to central tendency. This eurocentric deviation can never defeat the mode, mean nor median.

17. @ Pacha

I think you nailed it
    Kaszab is a moron
    like 99.99% of writers with their stupid opinions
    White liberals are fakes and not much different to white right wingers
    in the real world you learn to ignore cxnts

18. What we are witnessing in the white world is similar to going back to school in the 50s 60s 70s 80s etc

You can join the racists or not

Brits and Canadians were shocked and surprised that the racist Trump was picking on them for being too liberal as they have always been good friends with racists

19. For decades we’ve been arguing that the so-called West was nothing but a set of fascist states.

The classical definition of fascism is the conjoining of corporate and political elites as seen in Germany and Italy under Hitler and Mussolini.

Are the behavoiurs of Trump and most European leaders not similar to these their forebears.

Trump has taken up to a 15 percent stake in AMD, Nividia and now Intel. These are marginal examples of capitalism’s chronic need for government help to pretend to be viable. And while Trump dispenses corporate welfare to protect American corporates against Chinese competition like Wauwei, a workers’ owned cooperative, he sees nothing wrong with killing eleven people on a boat under specious reasoning.

In Europe, war with Russia, as based on racism, is paramount to their own economic well-being and the basic needs of their populations. Could there be any better representation of fascism? So human needs must now give way to the remilitarisation of Europe, as America military corps profit handsomely.

The Europeans having now forgotten the global warming misguidances, even as China now leads this area too, and are now committed to a death march as the hatred for Russian occupies their absence of brains.

Several of these European leaders now burnish their familial ties with Adolf Hitler and Benito Mussolini. Ursula von der Leyen’s grandfather was a senior member of the Third Reich and so was the grandfather current Chancellor Merc.

Capitalism cannot resist its general tendencies towards fascism. Even as the world faces should an end state the trite remains central.

20. @ Pacha
    Boss, you can like it or lump it…
    But THERE IS A COMMON DENOMINATOR in all this, …and that demonic spiritual force is clearly defined and described in a book that you abhor.

Do you REALLY think that it is just a statistical coincidence that such blatant IDIOCY prevails, …among such high levels of ‘educated’ leaders, …and across the WHOLE world…?

The IDENTICAL forces that drove Hitler and Mussolini are currently motivating Ursula von der Leyen, Trump … and obviously our own local jokers in Brassbados.

The battle is NOT against flesh and blood, but REALLY is against dark, evil, spiritual forces in HIGH places.

Unfortunately, the ONLY workable defense remains – the full armor of God that we are called to put on. This comprises the Belt of Truth, the Breastplate of Righteousness, the Gospel of Peace, the Shield of Faith, the Helmet of Salvation, and the Sword of the Spirit.

…or as Bushie would put it, …stopping wid the lotta brassbowlery….

What a time to be alive nuh!!!

21. It’s a Wrap Rap Jazz and Soul Pranic Expansion
    Now that we have reached some consensus on who the evil devils are who want to rule in dominion, we should all call on all the deities, enlightened masters, angels and souls from the heavens stars galaxies and universes above and channel the electric light pranic energy into our 3rd Eye Ajna Chakra as we inhale and hold our breath to concentrate and focus it between our eyebrows and then direct the healing pranic energy around the world to destroy all the bad people diseases cells and demons and heal the world and keep repeating the process until humanity and planet earth is is fully healed

Siva Jesus Buddha Selassie Ancestors Good Friends who have departed
    and Disciples versus the puffed up idiot racists in politics, slavemasters hypocrites and all other trash and send them to their deserved afterlife eternal hell to catch a fire

22. Bushie

There is nothing unique about your book. Common sense, history, oral traditions, archeology, folklore and more tell us that these conditions were imagined long before your god was created, your bible written, your lies told.

What makes it worse. And you, oh Bushie, a co-biligerant to the deeds of these devils is that you will not relent on the factuous insistence that somehow your primary way of seeing the world is fatally predicated on falsehoods even as lived realities put the lie to your deeply held acili.

Case in point is, even by your own admission, that the jewish criminals in Palestine, are illegitamate, have been the enemy to your own god, are currently conducting a christian-sponsored crusade – helped by the fascists in the West – fascists all who once found these demonic jews to be themselves worthy of genocide – now as partners.

Seems never to occur to you that these lived realities, which to Pacha, and given an Afrikan orientation, should make it clear that the person in whom your acili is primarily based, and the people which he’s alledged to have come from, by Christendom, are internal contradictions which are impossible to reconcile.

It is irrational to forever seek comfort within a mythology of escapism. For there are no sets of evil forces on this earth which humans ourselves have not created. And if we’ve had the ability to create such we can also destroy them too. Without the tired reliance on a book of pure propaganda.

The Scholfield bible was writer by the British and implanted into the minds of White Americans from the south thus giving us an unrelenting racist current. The Bahai religion was started by the British MI6 and implanted into Irán to disrupt the country and steal their oil. Indeed, it is from the Egyptian coptics, the criminals who sold out Kemet, from whence these christian lies have their genesis.

These are but a few data points.

Bushie, you are not dissimilar to a fellow traveler who once argued that it was your god’s will, that your bible prophesied, that your god was a real estate agent, who gave the land of others to them. Now that he has seen the wickedness of these Zionists, instead of questioning the entire belief edifice he now wants to change the argument and climb under an intellectual rock by arguing the primacy of Afrika and Ethiopia for Christianity and your bible.

This is the problem with believing in lies. Certainty, Pacha will prefer to wipe the slate clean and rebuild a new world. A world where claims unprovable are not able to capture the imagination of mankind, or any kind.

Finally, your god, your bible, your church, your present view of the world, the systems built around you, are all part of this wickedness of which you speak. Unfortunate, there is only one means by which this matter could be settled, once and for all!

23. when we go to church they say let us pray

when they go on barbados underground they say let us talk talk

but we can not do nuttin bout nuttin

after all none of the talkers are ZORRO uh lie

24. Is this the real Georgie Porgie? AH LiE!!!!

25. Poor ole Trump is suffering with Chronic cerebrospinal venous insufficiency
    the venous outflow disturbance exists is turning his bloody brain into a clogged toilet causing a cascade of neuro-catastrophic symptoms making him insane in the membrane with pain, oh what a shame

JD Vance is zipping ip his boots to atep in and become the first hillbilly PotUS continuing the long line of white trash leaders in cowboy land

26. What sickness! A man who for years came here defending his criminal god, the criminal Jews, Jews who supposedly gave us his Jesus, a Jesús who purports to give us his stinking religion, his gutter religion …….

Comes here at a time when his chosen people have been committing genocide, wantonly killing defenseless women and children for years – the amulet, committing genocide on tv, a time and about an article when Trump has proven to be the most inept president his demonic god and religion have ever thrown up …….

And within all this, what would be to any decent humanoid, reason to resist Christendom, he comes here like the genuine White man’s asswipe so born, has not a word to say about the wickedness of his belief system of things.

27. https://youtu.be/wtO49mfyStg?si=CqXfkzbbKXgJD1g7

A jew from north Afrika – Misrahi!

28. THANKS TRUMP. KEEP IT GOING.

MASSIVE ICE RAID!! Hyundai. 475 MIGRANTS ARRESTED!! Georgia.

29. CORRECTION

30. Here’s What Trump’s Rollback on Car Regulations Means for Your Wallet

https://finance.yahoo.com/news/trump-rollback-car-regulations-means-181243891.html

31. With the bunch of vehicles both PSV and private belching black smoke all day here in Barbados, to a whole set of motor bikes and cars with altered exhaust I got my own issues here to worry bout! Why can’t these vehicles be pulled off the road by police Subject to inspection from the licensing authority? Wait don’t tell me there is no law at present that permits this. STUPES!

32. @John A

This is something that would have to be regulated at annual inspection according to the Barbados Road Traffic Act which based on regs is on 10 year vehicles and older.

Section 32 – “The Licensing Authority may cancel the registration number of a motor vehicle if it is satisfied that the vehicle is improperly constructed or adapted for use on roads.”

33. “…Certainty, Pacha will prefer to wipe the slate clean and rebuild a new world. A world where claims unprovable are not able to capture the imagination of mankind, or any kind.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~
    Boss, even when you write a roll of shiite, Bushie has to admit that it sounds sweet as BB… even as it smells to high heaven.

So…
    What you actually mean is that, since you can’t get through with the homework, you want to tear out the leaves from your workbook, pretend that you did NOT get that particular question, …and instead answer another question of your own concoction…

Well go long den!!

34. @georgie porgie September 6, 2025 at 1:08 pm “when we go to church they say let us pray”

I honesty thought that you were dead.

35. Re: The Trump Chump’s poetry
    The Snapshots on the net do not transcribe the poems text except for the last line
    but here are the full lyrics for people to copy and paste
    Reading between the lines it appears to be reminiscing of shared erotic experiences indulging in enjoyable recollection of explicit and lewd past events
    possibly involving power dynamics or rich men’s sexual exploitation of young women under 18 or over 18

Voice Over:
    There must be more to life than having everything.

Donald
    Yes, there is but I won’t tell you what it is.

Jeffrey
    Nor will I, since I know what it is.

Donald
    We have certain things in common, Jeffrey.

Jeffrey
    Yes, we do, come ti think of it.

Donald
    Enigmas never age, have you noticed that?

Jeffrey
    As a matter of fact, it was clear to me the last time I saw you.

Donald
    A pal is a wonderful thing. Happy Birthday — and may every day be another wonderful secret

Donald*
    (*) Signature representing a bush pie**,

(**) AI Overview
    The parts of a vagina include the external structures of the vulva
    (mon pubis, labia minora, clitoris, urethra and clitoral hood)
    and the internal vaginal canal