Barbados is reported to have registered north of 120,000 vehicles. We are also reported to have one of the most dense network of roads. Successive governments have struggled to maintain our network of roads. Make it make sense we have to obvious plan to improve public transportation to address the issue.

Barbados continue to see quick penetration of fast food and other food outlets with minimal supervision to monitor dietary content. Successive governments have struggled to manage the rising incident of Non Communicable Diseases (NCDs) especially diabetes and obesity. Make it make sense we do not seem to be prepared to take draconian steps to slow the decline. In the mean time healthcare cost continues to increase with our primary health care institution growing under its weight.

Another case of the emperor is wearing no clothes. We listen daily to the great speeches, the academic analyses, interventions from the various civil society actors; media and what do we hear? There is the challenge of making sense of nonsense.

34 responses to “Making sense of nonsense”

1. “Accompanying Prime Minister Mottley on the trip are Senior Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade, the Hon. Kerrie Symmonds; Barbados’ Ambassador to the United States, H.E. Victor Fernandes; Director-General in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade, H.E. Donna Forde; and Permanent Secretary in the Prime Minister’s Office, the Most Honourable Alies Jordan, FB.”

2. NorthernObserver Avatar

It is Wednesday March 26, 2025.
    The Annual Auditor General Report for 2023, still has not appeared. A “leak” occured recently on a Special Report from that office.
    On December 1, 2023; the former NIS transitioned to the NISSS. For publicly traded companies on the BSE, the production of an Annual Report within 3 months of year end, and an AGM shortly thereafter is standard. We still have not seen anything from the NISSS. (The end of Feb’25 was three months)
    On August 23, 2023; the PM told the Nation several reports for the NIS, I believe 2010-2016, had been completed. The citizen owners of the NIS still haven’t seen one of those Reports.
    There have been mumblings about the old Paradise Beach site. Recall, the Auditor General advised this administration of the GoB, they could not write off $124M associated with CBL, for there was an asset, the lands at Paradise, which was received as collateral for the loan guarantees provided. The matter of the land, we were told was “before the Courts”. What is the status?
    I note Minister Duguid was able to make a Ministerial Statement about the various Holetown projects. Given the massive cost attributed to CBL, and the size and location of the lands at Paradise, this TOWERS above the lands in Holetown and Jemmotts lane combined. Surely a similar statement is required for Paradise? It is now 10 YEARS since CBL received those lands.

3. LOL @ Northern

Boss, your ongoing presumption of ‘good intent’ will lead you down the path of unrighteousness..
    Next thing you will be cussing and carrying on like a bushman….
    Murduh!!

The BIG joke was the ‘righteous indignation’ displayed by the PM when the HOPE leak occurred.
    She even admitted to calling the AG – and no doubt offering words of ‘comfort and commiseration’ on the leakage..

The OFFICIAL explanation being that the Auditor General has to await a ‘response’ from HOPE (REALLY??!!- in which shiite world??? They should have had 30 days to respond)
    It looks like the AG has finally had his cojones lassoed by the shitstem….

..and then we hear that the report has to be ‘laid’ before Cabinet…. whereafter, (hopefully) those who may be GUILTY of doing shiite, will condescend to sharing their GUILT with the public…

ONLY IN BRASSBADOS.!!!
    ANY country of AWAKEN people would have seen through this shiite LONGGGG ago…

…You still looking fuh the CBL report Northern..?

What a cuntree…!!

4. @ Northern

All that report thing we done with now. We have transferred all the people that did these reports to a new department. It is called The Department Of African Investment and Beach Rehabilitation!

You annoying we tail bout reports, that was in years gone by man, the NISSS cheque book got in money so stop bothering you soul over issues from The OLD Barbados. You got to get on the NEW train now man, where them formalities is a thing of the past! We building convention centers and hotels from hither to thither and you annoying we ass bout reports!

I find you dam ungrateful and trapped in the old colonial hinderances that have held back our national expansion. I feel we should also change the name Jemmonts Lane to Republic Boulevard and Lower Bay Street to Mandella Drive.

Boy if you dont laugh you will dead with all that happening!

5. @John A

What it being highlighted is our government lack of appetite to enforce governance best practices.

6. @ David

Yes my friend and my point to you is that such matters are no longer high on the state agenda.

The draft on Hope being released so annoyed the PM, that she pesonally called the AG. Now we are hearing the report on HOPE is dependant on them gettig back to the AG with more information. Talk about cart before the horse. ALL state entities have a deadline to get their info to the AG, so that his report can be published in a timely manner every year. So all are equal BUT some more equal than others clearly.

David if you dont realise that change is upon us and priorities have shifted, I dont know what I can tell you. Does it not surprise you that this thread and the topic prior hardly has any comments? People realise whats the point, after the Mrs Ram issue and Holetown issue and all that has followed, clearly our opinion matters not!

7. @John A

If it isn’t high on the agenda of government should it be on the agenda of the people?

8. The people are powerless with no oppostion and a 4th estate that ain’t worth a $3 bill when it comes to elightenment and eduction of the people. I dont think that enough Bajans genuinely care about such matters and all it takes to distract them is a good fete, or reggae on the hill that wiĺl soon be here.

9. @John A

Unfortunately you are right.

10. @ John2
    Soon,
    ..when the jobby REALLY hits the big fan..
    we will wake up REAL FAST…
    ..just too late.

BTW ..
    How do you explain the FACT – that those insiders who KNOW what is happening, AND whose consciences appear to actually work….
    Simply walk away QUIETLY and disappears into the dark..?
    Agards
    Paynes
    Kings
    Bostics
    Haynes
    Hinksons
    Clarkes
    …just to name the obvious…

For 10 marks…
    Discuss the kind of leadership strategies that produces such results.

11. @Bush Tea

That is easy #bigworks is an intimidating actor.

12. LOL
    Wrong answer Boss…
    Some of those ‘now quiet ones’ are no sweet breads either….

A question for you @ David

Have you noticed how many FIRST WORLD (so called) countries – with transparent leadership, solid financial reserves, big-ass armies and sensible decision-making systems … ARE URGING THEIR CITIZENS TO STOCKPILE EMERGENCY SUPPLIES in preparation for unforseen circumstances…??? …like war and climatic catastrophies..

…while we (broke, indebted, in shambles with utilities, garbage, sewerage, roads, food security, water etc etc..) are focused on facilitating tourists who are looking to frolic and have some fun? …and selling off state assets to pay outstanding loans…?

We were WARNED….
    “Like a thief in the night…”
    But brass bowls are too focused on the next fete to be bothered…

What a SPECIAL time…

13. What is the correct answer Bush Tea?

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

@BT JohnA
    The request is only seeking that required by law. I didn’t write the Acts.
    On the one hand “we” are a Nation of laws, on the other “we” do not comply with the laws.

15. I wonder if Sir Richard Branson could do a better job than the lady in the photograph. Perhaps we should offer him the island for free.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=G8kqWY1eaDA&pp=0gcJCdgAo7VqN5tD

16. @ Northern like you the lack of reports is a major concern to me as well, especially the NISSS. The fact that we had a budget based on such shortages of audit data left me referring to the exercise as the GUESTIMATES.

In the meantime I only having a laugh above on our reality.

17. NorthernObserver Avatar

Did you see that Ansa, who quite correctly need to be called to answer for their role in CBL loan guarantees, just announced a Dividend cessation for 3 years!!!!

18. @NO

As a shareholder you must be concerned?

19. NorthernObserver Avatar

I am not a shareholder. But this news, on the heels of GEL not declaring a Q1 dividend, ICBL several dividend cycles behind, is not positive news.

20. How does the opening of a Courts store make it to the front page? Stuespe.

21. @ David,
    Perhaps it was a quiet day for news on the rock!

Why confuse your mind with making sense of nonsense. This is how these small caribbean islands function. They are not a serious people.

Anyway Carnival soon come. “Perrier Jouet Champagne VXE Daylight — The Bottle Party at Sandalwood Estate”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2025/03/27/vida-by-esquire-sets-new-standard-with-groundbreaking-daytime-band-launch/

22. “How does the opening of a Courts store make it to the front page? Stuespe.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    LOL @ de Boss!!

Wuh you lucky that the front page did not feature the Crap Over band launch – with the tasteless, practically naked, specimens of brass- calling themselves ‘models’…

Tired of the “fourth estate”…
    …but can we make a silk purse out of a sow’s ear?

23. @Bush Tea

We have to prioritize forex earning projects.

24. “We have to prioritize forex earning projects.”
    ~~~~~~
    YOU SERIOUS!!?? LOL!!

Do you mean like ..
    WORKING HARD?
    PRODUCTIVITY?
    CREATIVITY?
    COOPERATION?
    MERITOCRACY?

So who would vote for THAT shiite over..
    Increased welfare – including paying for peace
    Housing Every Last Person (HELP)
    Home Ownership Providing Energy (HOPE)
    Stop Taking Enuff And Lorenzo seriously (STEAL)
    Plenty high faluting PROMISES…

..and NUFF fetes like peas – We Gatherin fuh Vybz Kartel and Crap Over
    …all funded by EASY loans – to be repaid by our children (except that VERY few of us seem to be getting pregnant…)
    So the future for Bim may well be mandarin….

25. @Bush Tea

Did you observe the reaction of Trisha Tannis when Daniel Best, newly minted President of the CDB called for the need to pivot from our over reliance on the retail and distributed sectors to boost the economy at last month’s BCCI luncheon? That was you sitting in the back struggling to suppress a smirk?

26. “….That was you sitting in the back struggling to suppress a smirk?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    No comment!!
    You and Hants are two dangerous gallows baits…

27. @NO
    The stock market here is up one day and down the next. I am not into market timing, but a big hit may be on its way. Would you look to Caribbean as a place to park a few dollars—- Jamaica and Trinidad???

28. Invest in gold. You can’t go wrong.

29. NorthernObserver Avatar

Theo
    I stayed in too long, largely because my shorts were doing well, something I dislike doing but what the hell I knew Tesla would bomb. Now I’m out save the fixed investments I’d made in past years, and a single bet on a falling star.
    Since you can, I’d be inclined to park in the fixed USA market, of financials. i don’t follow the short term fixed market in the Caribbean.
    I note a number of retailers have already begun the gouge. It feels like ‘I’m nervous so I’ll protect myself, rather than reflecting actual costs’. They learned in COVID several sectors bore large increases so they’ll try again.

30. NorthernObserver Avatar

The lot at Landsdown sent bells ringing. Just yesterday I got a notification (I don’t know all the technical terms) for a 6 acre lot in the same general location, with a few hundred feet of oceanfront, for $7M asking.
    It was odd, as Afrexim lot was similar in size with water views, versus waterfront, valued at double+. Town location?
    Anyways, I quickly searched Paradise, and note “valuations” in the day had placed that land and improvements (now called eye sores) at $100M+, yet it was reportedly sold in 2014 for much much less.
    Value is always subjective.

31. […] – NorthernObserver […]