The following was posted as a comment to the Kay McConney, Corey Lane jettisoned blog by Northern Observer.

There was that now infamous press conference on August 25, 2023 when the PM told the nation, from Larboard to Starboard, at least from the time she was a little girl, there always had those two car parks there. Now of course she was referring to Savvy lands. But being older than her, I know the Holetown Police [Station], and associated public use structures have been there just as long? And that I could park my car behind that area and go for a sea bath, the same way persons use Browns Beach. I did so up to my last visit in 2024.

Also recall, the PM told us, those two gentlemen, Ministers Marshall and Duguid, two of the newer sect of Senior Ministers, ‘you have a timeline on these negotiations (with Kinch of Savvy), and if they are not concluded within the next few weeks, there must be a full Ministerial statement to the Parliament‘. You heard one yet? So short of calling the PM a liar, one can definitely conclude she doesn’t keep her word. And somehow, views land on Bay St, differently from land in Holetown?  In fact, there are progressively fewer “paths’, cause that is what most are, north of of Holders Hill to access the beach.

Rather than telling the nation about this St.James property, why not talk about Paradise. That is one big ass piece of land, which got bigger when Clearwater Bay Ltd (CBL) bailed out developers, and those to whom they owed money, and added lands previously owned by Esso. Tell us about the court proceedings and who owns the land. You might begin with the missing Reports for CBL, as Barbados is ‘a country of laws’ and the GoB is breaking those laws, by failing to provide Reports as required by law.

End of February and still no Auditor General Report?

This PM laughing at wunna.

72 responses to “PM Mottley ‘laughing’ at we”

1. @ David
    “The reason for removing the geriatric hospital , is to transform that entire area stretching back to Chelsea Road..”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    It is instructive that the reasons given for selling off NATIONAL ASSETS to foreigners is usually marketed to ‘improve’ our situation – as a spin-off…

– like moving the geriatrics out of a possible tsunami’s path (never mind everything else in Bridgetown)
    – like ‘cleaning up’ the Esplanade stretch (a project that apparently was deemed to be impossible – if undertaken for LOCAL benefits)
    – Like closing EVERY window to the sea (after all, why would a BB Bajan want to see the sea?)

Have we EVER had a government whose VISION was to transform Barbados into a paradise …FOR BAJANS?
    …or is THAT a bridge too far – for slave-minded ‘plantation overseers types’ – now turned politicians..?

It is not WORSE to be screwed by your OWN – who you chose to represent you- than it was by the KNOWN predators…?
    (Well now we know how the Creator must feel about their CHOSEN peoples…)

What a place!
    what a WASTE of eddykashun!!
    What a fall from GRACE…

2. @ Bush Tea

I going ask both of you have you ever seen how full the carpark on the beach side of Bay Street is on a weekend ? That is what Bajans are seen as being only good for. In other words ram as many of them and their cars into the space there and tell them wunna should be grateful. One of the best swiiming beaches that side of the island and wunna hold that cause the ” friends of the country” need the rest. Work you way down the west coast and tell me what the Bajans own and where they can park a car and go for a swim? Now you want to take up Holetown beach and public car park from them and in exchange for what? An access a few feet wide and dem must now park in MASSY car park and cross the road? But again wunna take dat cause em is all you deserve.

I mean them will tell you that you could go to Folkstone but wear shoes in the sea there to avoid the big rocks and Cobblers. Then you wonder why the young people so violent and angry? You educate them and then you tell them hold this while I sell off the rest. I suggest you look at Aruba’s development plan where public aceess to the beach is stipulated by the distance from one carpark and beach access to the next one.

Finally what bout all the other tourist that rent cars and drive to the west coast to swim, what you going tell them? When the sargasum rolling in 2 feet deep on the South Coast for weeks and they take the hired cars and drive to the west for a dip, what you telling them? ” Sorry wunna should of stay at the Holetown Plaza instead.”

This is one of the least thought out and short sighted ideas I have seen made since the dump in St Andrew by this party. Again congrats though!

Yes I vexx as ass bout dis if wunna aint figure it out yet!

3. @Bush Tea,
    Big man, we have seen nothing yet!

Once those hotels and condominiums have been built who do you think will be patrolling and adding security to these locations? Concessions will be given to these zones which will give them some form of autonomy. This “development” is conceivable because our government is prepared to offer caveats or sweetners to attract those with money. Don’t forget that Mia stated at the beginning of her leadership that she wanted to alter Barbados into becoming Monaco. I have spent a day in Monaco. Trust me, it’s an exclusive enclave whose streets are paved with gold.

Here’s a hint, we will witness an explosion of foreign security contractors. Probably made up from mercenaries and ex-army personnel who will be armed and permitted to shot to kill if they believe that you represent a danger to them or the residents in or nearby the site.

It will no longer be a “stroll” liming or meandering on a beach especially when beefed up men with guns are observing your movements.

Welcome to Mia’s brave new Republic. What say you, Donna and all the other domestic Bajans.

Enjoy the salt water baths along the west coast whilst you have the opportunity. I understand if you have four legs and resemble a horse you will have no problem using the beach for recreational purposes. Lol!!!

4. William Skinner Avatar

We have said repeatedly that we pay so much attention to other places that what has been happening right before our eyes was not taken seriously. We were more concerned with non-productive petty party positions .We wait patiently for the new economic order fashioned by the new imperialists , to come and save us in some brand new world, that will automatically change the color of our skins and lift up the entire region to a new level of economic prosperity.
    That is not going to happen.

5. Here is a video of some horses frolicking on the beach. Such views will soon be restricted to tourists only. What a place

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ayOG69kzGVU

6. If you have a vpn and register with a British postal code you will have access to these Channel 4bprogrammes.

I sent the below link last year. What it highlights is that the Caribbean is been turned into a paradise for the rich for holidaying and for living. Barbados features heavily in this series.

The average domestic Bajan would have little insight into this unseen lifestyle in Barbados.

Do not be surprised if this government creates buffer zones, similar to Israel, that jnsulates Barbados third class citizens from the wealthy and the rich. This will be done with the building of walls, roads and mother nature to keep out the poor.

https://www.channel4.com/programmes/the-caribbean-billionaires-paradise

7. @William

Understand what you mean about our preoccupation with party politics which you deem to be petty, BUT, politics and life, life and politics are intertwined.

8. William Skinner Avatar

You are correct but the archives of BU are riddled with petty party positions on both sides. And this malaise unfortunately has enveloped the country even before BU . It’s about forty years that we have refused to seriously have productive public discourse. We are now so taken up with the rubbish going on elsewhere and tryin desperately to bludgeon opposing positions with nothing but crude regurgitation of globally known facts that it is quite possible we may continue to ignore our own regional circumstance.
    That’s why on every given opportunity we will expose those who want to deem us all backward and ignorant, wherever they are lurking. Their duplicity and complicity in undermining the true forces of those who are genuinely committed to progress will not succeed.

9. Bushtea how yuh? You ain’t tired yet?🤣🤣🤣

10. Required for locals to access Holetown beach in the future. lol

https://www.canadiantire.ca/en/pdp/woods-big-man-neoprene-bootfoot-chest-wader-green-0778451p.html

11. @ Enuff
    It is REALLY good to see that you are still in the BU battlefield, Boss.

Bushie good as shiite yuh.. Thanks!!
    But what else can be expected with the bushman’s BOSS adopted parents
    ..and de bushman is NEVER tired of whacking brassbowlery..

We were begining to worry that circumstances may have overtaken yuh…… cause you done know that enlightened BU bloggers have a lotta confidence in you – to bring some much needed guidance to the fore here in Brassbados…

Don’t let we down hear..?

12. ““We welcome all investment, [as long as] it does not crowd out domestic ownership and investment”, she said. “We need access to foreign capital and investment but . . . it must not be at the expense of our people such that our people become tenants on their own land.”

MIA MOTTLEY

Published
    The Financial Times
    Jan 24 2022,

13. party hearty!

14. DISASTER LOAN

World Bank to consider $60 million in resilience funds for Barbados

By Shawn Cumberbatch shawncumberbatch@nationnews.com

Barbados could be on the verge of strengthening its disaster and climate resilience through $60 million in assistance from the World Bank.

On April 10, the international financial institution’s board of executive directors is expected to consider a Disaster Risk Management Development Policy Loan of that amount, with a Catastrophe Deferred Drawdown Option (Cat DDO).

This would be separate financing from the $108 million Beryl Emergency Response and Recovery Project which the World Bank’s hierarchy approved on November 21 last year “to support Barbados’ recovery from the impacts of Hurricane Beryl”.

The proposed loan with Cat DDO, which is to be implemented by the Ministry of Finance, Economic Affairs and Investment, “is to enhance the Government of Barbados’ institutional, technical and financial capacity to manage risk, resulting from the occurrence of natural or health-related hazards, including the adverse effects of climate change and disease outbreaks”.

Details are shared in a programme information document prepared by World Bank senior disaster risk management specialist Doekle Geert Wielinga and senior economist Anton Dobronogov.

It stated that the planned loan arrangement “is a stand-alone operation designed to strengthen Barbados’ disaster and climate resilience”.

“The proposed [loan] with Cat DDO operations aligns with and directly supports the Government’s efforts to enhance disaster risk management and resilience, as articulated in the Barbados National Comprehensive Disaster Management (CDM) Policy 2022 and the CDM Country Work Programme 2019-2023,” the document explained.

“These key policy frameworks establish a strategic vision for managing disaster risks and building resilience to natural hazards, climate change and public health emergencies.

“The Cat DDO strengthens the Government’s capacity to implement these frameworks by providing timely and predictable financing, ensuring fiscal resilience in the face of disasters while incentivising the continued implementation of disaster risk reduction reforms.”

The World Bank document added that “the operation’s expected key results are designed to enhance Barbados’ disaster resilience in key sectors and financial preparedness, in alignment with the country’s strategic priorities for addressing natural and climate-driven hazards and their fiscal impacts”.

The expected “key results” from the loan programme include an increase in the percentage of fiscal instruments available for immediate disaster response, ensuring timely financial mobilisation during emergencies; a reduction in the time required to disburse emergency funds after a disaster declaration, enabling more rapid recovery and response; and enhanced resilience in the fisheries sector, combined with an improved coastal zone and storm water management, which will contribute to sustainable development and disaster risk reduction.

The document further outlined that the Cat DDO operation supports two pillars.

The first one is strengthening financial resilience against natural hazards and climate change.

This programme “is expected to improve financial preparedness, enabling Barbados to quickly mobilise resources and mitigate the economic impacts of disasters and public health emergencies; support fiscal resilience against natural hazards and climate change; and strengthen the institutional framework to better manage public assets and post-disaster expenditures”.

The second pillar is integrating climate and disaster resilience into sector development, which includes “sectoral reforms to reduce disaster risks and promote sustainable development aims to enhance the resilience of Barbados’s blue economy, particularly by safeguarding tourism, fisheries, and coastal resources”.

The World Bank document said the [loan] with Cat DDO operation was aligned with the priorities outlined in the institutions new country engagement note for Barbados.

On February 11, the World Bank Group announced its endorsement of the new country engagement note for Barbados, “formally marking a new phase of engagement with Barbados and the country’s return to the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (the World Bank Group’s lending arm).

“The new Country Engagement Note will focus on knowledge and analytics, pipeline programmes, and partnerships on two key objectives – strengthening climate resilience through disaster mitigation and greening the energy and water sectors [and] improving conditions for growth by attracting more private investments and improving education and skills,” the World Bank said.

15. NorthernObserver Avatar

They need a FILA (Financially Incompetent Loan Addicted) Program to cater to 90% of the globe’s governments. With CAT D9, that Bushie promised us, things will improve. In keeping with ISO 9247, and using the IFRS, oh shirt, that R=Reporting and you know Reporting has been banned as being Colonial, we need to employ, IAS 7, which gives guidance on how to present cash flows. That’s what we need, guidance, cause you know we’ll do as we please, it just sounds better if we attribute it to International Accounting Standards (IAS).
    We also need to ban the word LOAN, because that suggests borrowing and repayment. Instead, we need FAP, Financial Assistance Protocol, with numbers like FAP 2, to confuse the shite outta all.

16. The average Bajan can barely afford the inflated prices of Barbados predominantly imported food.
    Yet, this woman appears more concerned with reducing the high prices of luxury goods for the wealthy. What sort of foolishness is this.