The way how we does talk
And the way how we does sing
This is we culture
This is we style
The way how we does laugh
And the way how we does smile

– Gabby

169 responses to “This is ‘we culture’ porn style”

1. “As we are discussing risque and diviant behaviour there is #26 reported.”

not sure what #26 means.. but presumably the party partakers are of legal age and nothing illegal happened as there were no police raids

strippers in nightclubs are quite common (allegedly)

2. Well isn’t there a moral construct to lying ..stealing ..murder
    Aren’t there laws pass which are legislated to judge mankind
    When those laws are broken
    …….

3. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Re #26

“Police are probing the unnatural death of a woman at Work Hall, St Philip.

According to lawmen, they received a report from ambulance personnel around 3:40 p.m., that a woman was at a residence with multiple injuries and there were no signs of life. Officers went to the scene and confirmed the report.

Police say a person of interest is in custody and investigations are continuing.

This is the island’s 26th homicide for the year.”
    Source: Barbados Today

4. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

And yet we waste time “beating up” [videos of] near naked women.

5. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

David I still waiting for the videos of half naked wukking up men. Surely there are some out there that you can share with us.

6. It appears she was with child.

7. @Simple Simon

Stop boring the blog with your frivolous request.

8. Has Cuhdear Bajan stopped to think that these women who allow themselves to be paraded and commanded by men to expose themselves lewdly, men who publicly portray them as “bad bitches [who] love rough f***, are contributing to the continued degradation of women in the eyes of such men?

We can walk and chew gum, can’t we? We can attempt to connect dots too.

Just as those boys who join gangs are often missing the validation of a father, those who become serial killers of women often seem to have issues with the mothers who raised them. How we present ourselves has a great effect on how men grow up to view and treat women.

Of what use is it to pretend that both sexes do not have responsibility for the social ills with which we are faced?

Yes, men may be more responsible, considering the patriarchy under which most of the world lives, but that does not absolve women. We do have influence. We rock the cradle, for heaven’s sake! The character is said to be mostly formed in the FORMATIVE years.

My son sees women as equals. That was MY doing.

9. Cuhdear Bajan,

Just for the record, I have not suggested that you police or should police the behaviour of your adult children. I simply wondered if you would like to see them behave in such a manner.

You have not wasted your time raising yours. I have not wasted my time raising mine.

What we are doing here is not bashing women, but we are asking our government not to promote vulgar, lewd degradation of women as “we culture”. So far, they have played footsie with it.

Individuals can do as they please within the law.

Sigh!

10. To hear grown folks making excuses for lewd and disguting behavior that they say is ” we culture ” is disgusting and mindboggling
    A society that allows its females to treated like trash makes for the asking in what direction is this society heading

11. What the Hell!!

When the current and future mothers of our children can value themselves so CHEAPLY….

One has to wonder what EXACTLY it will take for us to comprehend the PERILOUSNESS of our current situation …and of our trajectory….

Will we need a direct hit of a cat 5?
    Will it take open gang warfare – which is only an ‘incident’ away as it is..?
    Do we have to actually hit ROCK BOTTOM before there is some kind of National consensus that a CHANGE IN DIRECTION is critical…?

Every shiite is on the WRONG TRACK, and yet we seem intent on just ‘trying harder’ at the SAME brassbowlery ….and somehow, hoping for different results.

God may not be a Bajan, but there ARE adopted children (at least one) who are… and perhaps the many WARNINGS, NEAR-MISSES and SUPER ‘LUCK’ may indeed be special blessings from above after all….

But time is longer than twine, …even when you have a big ‘baller’…. after all…
    God has been known to sacrifice a son previously…..

12. These women are defined as sex workers, even though they’re only dancers without contact like pole dancers who keep their clothes on and strippers who take their clothes off, lap dancers provide contact. They are paid for their performance and are tax payers. In some countries they have to be licensed.
    There are also chair dancers, floor dancers, high heeled dancers, belly dancers and it is a form of exercise workout with group classes becoming popular.

Bachata Sensual – How to master a BODY ROLL & BODY WAVE – Lady Styling Dance TUTORIAL by Melitta

13. My son sees women as equals. That was MY doing

You going be looking after that boy the rest of your life. That is your doing.
    You raised him to be one those men that think women should go fifty fifty on finances.
    Let me guess, he got a female best friend.

14. Redguard,

Wrong, wrong and wrong AS HELL! On EVERY FRONT!

A boy who was earning money behind my back at age thirteen, started a business on his own at age sixteen, started earning foreign exchange almost immediately when I was yet to take him seriously, has plan a down to z covered and is making good progress, recently had a breakthrough, turned down my offer to buy him a car because he wants to buy it with his own money, has his eye on a spot of land that he’d like to purchase, close by so he can keep his eye out for ME, (I had him at forty, so I am not a young parent) has a promised girlfriend who agrees that they should focus on making it in life first before they get down to hanky panky business, knew her from schooldays, she asked him out, HE PAID FOR THE DATE OUT OF HIS EARNINGS – you think that I will be taking care of him forever.

Just as I would have if my son had chosen to pursue the academic path, I gave him until the age of twenty-one to sort his future out. He is even now in his office/ studio hard at work (and I dare not interrupt) aiming to meet that deadline. Later tonight he will take his Japanese or Mandarin Chinese class to facilitate his communication with a potentially lucrative market. He has a network of people in the industry that he set up for himself while in his teens.

All this was decided and done WITHOUT MY KNOWLEDGE, when I thought it was a phase he would grow out of.

If I were half as well-organised and diligent and ambitious as he, I would be a bloody multimillionaire.

But you, who know him not, think that you can predict his future. Based on WHAT EXACTLY?

I have very deliberately raised a son who can take care of himself, a wife and children and sees this as his main goal in life.

But he also believes that he must take care of me.

By the way, his best friend is the same wonderful young man who was his friend from primary school.

Insert punctuation as needed. I am too angry to bother.

15. See wuh uh tell yuh? Anxious to wrap up a major project, his own creation, the young man is neglecting to eat on mornings before starting to work. Poor foolish me interrupted to ask what to get him.

You would think I did something terribly wrong.

16. Two points
    @Redguard: I thought that was funny. It made me think I was looking at a site where some American men cry all day.

@Donna,
    I suspect that your values are a lot different from my own. You have knocked my knuckles before for a comment I made that was relkated to your son. I cannot remember the comment but I remember the knock. Get out the ruler again.

“has a promised girlfriend who agrees that they should focus on making it in life first before they get down to hanky panky business”
    I will tell no stories and I will add no comment except “tell him to keep his eyes open. Trust but verify”.

Not only my head, my knuckles hard.

17. They went to the same school. Her slightly older sister was his classmate. He says she was always focused on her studies. She was holding down a fulltime job at a law firm and also studying at college. Fell behind and gave up the job to focus on the studies.

She never played fast and loose at school and only recently got up the nerve to approach my son.

However, my son is the sort who would shrug his shoulders and move on if she fails to live up to her side of the agreement.

THAT is also my doing. I started on him from diaper days. They are like sponges at that age.

18. William Skinner Avatar

@ de pedantic Dribbler
    The use of batters and dugout are no bother. The attempted implication is that as norms change so does language and we pay attention to that as well. The bigger picture here is that Cricket was our major regional unifier and we established ourselves globally as the champions of that game. We have technically lost that and with it a part of our culture.
    However, in the scheme of things, its may not be a big thing because Trinidad , only declared the steel drum its national instrument, last week !
    Our whole region has been permanently culturally penetrated to a considerable degree.

19. Donna stop, you are embarrassing the boy.
    A promised girlfriend, are they 15?
    I’m just going on what you say.
    You have made your son everything that you think should make him desirable to a young lady and yet he had to wait on a nun to approach him so they could be promised for each other. Not adding up. Is he short? is he fat?

20. @Donna

This comment posted on behalf of John A.

First congrats to you on raising an independent focused son and not a parasite like the one in the photo.

What we are now seeing is the result of a hard working society in the 60s and 70s raising children who had it made easier on them.  As a result some of them in turn raised SOME children who now believe the dollar is justified at any cost.

So let’s take 2 children from 2 different families the children I will call child A and B.

So child A for pocket money must work half day on Saturday in a relatives shop for $50.

Child B is a spoilt child who simply has to ask mummy and daddy for $50 and they give him or her.

Which child you think will know the value of $50 the most?

Which Child on reaching adulthood would seek financial independence the most?

Which child would become a financial parasite to the parents or look for easy money without hard work?

The point is we are now seeing the result of a society that did not falter today, but did so 20 or 25 years ago. Yes these young adults are to blame for the shite we see now from the wutless dancing to the shooting over drug money. The question these parents should ask themselves though is “why dem turn out so?”

Finally it’s not just black bajans with this problem. The entitled spreads through many other races as well. Many of the parents of these kids are to blame.  The reason is too many say ” I had it hard so I going mek sure my child got em easy.”

You think any of these young boys on the block going go and become a mason, when they could make 4 times more selling weed on the block? It’s all about one’s self worth and where you place the dollar as opposed to your good name, if indeed that even matters anymore.

https://barbadosunderground.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/07/Todays-World-384×480.png

21. Stupid Ass Redguard,

For your information, my son has already had a girlfriend. And has turned down offers from many others from school days, even strange girls in Bridgetown who “want to have his babies”. He told them both that he is a church boy.

“Mummy,” he said, “They understand rejection on principle. “Otherwise they think something is wrong with them.”

At one point in time one girl was stalking him both at school and at home. The teachers were concerned enough to warn me that ” we don’t like her for him”. She was too fast and furious. I assured them that I was already on the case. I finally banned him from associating with her for two months, after she stole her mother’s three hundred dollar perfume to give him as a Valentine’s Day gift. Stole her teddy bear for me too. He lost interest when he found out that she had stolen them from her mother. He had no idea they were expensive and that she did not buy them herself.

This new young lady is not a nun, but a nineteen year old, decent, young woman who knows what she wants out of life and has the self-control to deny herself instant gratification.

But you say she is a nun. So…if you are nineteen and a virgin you are a nun to be made fun of. Are you a teenage bully? Grow the hell up!

My son has made a decision to delay becoming involved because, “girls need attention and when I’m working, I just cannot give it to them on demand. I cannot take the complaining and the sulking, and the ” you must have another girl” drama, mom”

She agreed that she too needs to catch up on her studies and thinks he is well worth the wait. She is right.

Sooo…. I guarantee you that you could never embarrass my son, because he couldn’t care less what assholes think. His response would be one big, long steupse.

“Mom, I am a workaholic now so that I don’t need to be one when I marry and have my children. I want to be available and involved!”

He who laughs last laughs best. And when he is a successful young man, happily married, with a lovely wife and well-adjusted children – and, as he likes to remind me – STD free, he’ll be laughing, not only all the way to the bank, but all the way home as well!

So, you and the assholes who agree with you can piss off!

22. David,

Thank you.

John A,

Thank you.

We have just seen without question ” how de yute get so”.

Being responsible, focused and capable of controlling self for long enough to delay gratification in order to avoid STIs and unwanted pregnancies, ensuring that you have the means to support any children that may result from your sexual activity, is something to be mocked.

Cuhdear Bajan was right. It is definitely the old men’s fault. They admire irresponsible young men who cannot control their willies and strangely enough, hot-me-crutch young women who don’t care if the young men deserve their attentions.

Look at where that has taken us!

23. My son my son my son.

Blah Blah Blah

24. Be careful. Some can go on and on with just a little bit of information. They are not ‘involved’ (emotionally, mentally ..) in any way, they are just trolling.

They mine each of your response for new material; they feed off of what you write.

25. We were discussing how the yutes get so, who is responsible, mothers or fathers or both. How young men view women, what leads them to kill their partners or former partners? All I said was that my son views women as equals because that is what I taught him. That attitude makes it highly unlikely that he would act like he owns his partner.

That was all it took to bring out the insults. I reserve the right to respond.

I draw from my life experience to illustrate my points. I speak of the good and the bad. This is my way. If it bothers you then that is your problem. You should not let my son be a problem to you. He is not a problem to me or to anyone else. He is one of the good parts.

Have a good night! And piss off!

26. Another homicide! This is getting ridiculous! What the hell is wrong with these people? What can be done to arrest this descent into madness???

Redguard is not a troll. He believes what he is saying. It is not the first time he has said it. He refuses to believe otherwise. I am a poor parent who has raised a useless mother’s boy.
    Now my son is undesirable. Maybe gay. He’s wrong on every count, but this is what he wants to believe.

This other idiot is probably not a troll either. Just someone with a bad mind. They are irritated by the fact that I am extremely happy with my son. Note the name “Pinocchio”, inferring that I am telling lies. I know the type. They can feed as much as they like. Have you never heard what happens to those who eat with a bad mind? According to the saying, they are never nourished. 😊

27. My son my son my son.

Like to critize others with her dirty mouth yet raised the perfect son that all Bajans youngsters should emulate.

Maybe talking to the plants on BU.

28. Allow me to add my two pennies. You may not believe it, but I am a quiet and very private person. The persona that you see here is quite different than my offline persona. In real life 000 (my hero) and Rabbit would be greeted with just a nod or ‘Good Morning’ and I would be on my way.

But I am a happy man and one of the sources of joy is my son. He is not exactly how I would want him to be, but I love him as he is. Do you know that when he was learning to ride and disliked using training wheels that he never fell off of his bike. Why? This old fool held on to that saddle and ran after him. I was determined that he would hurt himself on my watch. I was probably at the peak of fitness back then.

I think that we ate at every McDonald, Burger King and Wendy within a 7 mile radius and a few more on the many excursion that we had. And toys, especially trains and leggo. Sometimes, I think of the money spent, but then I remember the joy of sitting and building things and of hearing the choo-choo train going around the track. Whenever, I would leave him alone and he wanted me to play with him he would say something like “uh oh”. I knew it was a false alarm, but what parent can sit comfortably in a next room and with peace of mind when he/she hears an expression of danger or a possible calamity?

Do you know that despite the amount of fast food we ate, he did not put on any weight and became the butt of my corny jokes.. My two favorites:
    “Hey, are you a pirate? I see that you buried your chest”
    “Some folks have calves, but you have halves.”

There much more that I could say but I will not add more. He is my pride, my delight and my joy. I (a non-believer) thank God or whatever for bringing this source of joy into my life. I know how a proud parent feels. It is a sweet thing when a child brings peace and not trouble.

29. I was determined that he would NOT hurt himself on my watch. 🙂
    I am not a bad guy.

30. Oh well
    From crime to a hundred thousand foot ball tournament sponsored by taxpayers money and a tournament that the Private sector would have no financial part( of) crying “empty pockets “

31. @ac

One does not have to be critical government does, a football tournament which will see many bloc boys participating is a good initiative. Let us hope for a good tournament.

32. William Skinner Avatar

Why does a football tournament paid for by the state has to be played for the Prime Minister’s Cup.
    Why not a former distinguished football administrator or player.
    And if one could not be found , why could it not have been for the President’s Cup.
    How many primary school children ever heard or know about Victor “ Gas” Clarke ?

33. Wondered the same but as you know PM Mottley is a media hogger. Agree the tournament could have been branded differently but we live in an era every rh is politicalized.

34. At this stage we have to give thanks some bloc youts will benefit.

35. Warning! More blah, blah, blah ahead!

Hold yuh nose, Pinocchio!

If you think assholes are dirty, get rid of yours!

Miracles do happen, sweetie! Despite the few “cusswords” in anger.

But do you know – MY SON does not cuss???!!!!!!
    Not even to call you an asshole!

We have serious business to discuss! There has been another shooting incident in St. Michael.

36. David,

What are we going to do?

37. “From crime to a hundred thousand foot ball tournament sponsored by taxpayers money……”

🫨🫨🫨🫨

I can’t believe that is the same individual who spent years in this forum DEFENDING the ‘David Thompson Memorial Constituency Council Football Classic,’ which was SIMILARLY “sponsored by taxpayers money,” and two of her reasons being it showcased young upcoming footballers and provided income for vendors?

‘Political hypocrisy.’

38. @Donna

Our system of government requires citizen participation and advocacy. We have to continue to be as strident as possible articulating what we perceive to be issues that affect us via all three channels available to us.

39. @Artax

You have identified that some people distill all issue through a political lens. Why then are you surprised?

40. Listen up
    My focus was that of pointing out that the Private Sector benevolence is always lacking in times when govt needs help
    However since all wants to put there own spin as to what is said
    No one can tell the PM how to spend taxpayers money it is evident in how Beryl was able to sink the fishing industry because of govt incompetence
    Also PM prioties in spending has been placed in parks monuments and the Oval and mill and pave
    Electric buses that cannot be repaired in haste because of one problem or another

41. @ Mr. Skinner

Have to agree with you.

The proposed format is simply politicising the game. Therefore, I also believe the tournament should’ve been dedicated to a former footballer.

And, I’ll go a bit further to ‘say’ some proceeds from the tournament, if any, should be used to help ‘down and out’ former players, such as Jerry Goddard or Philip ‘Wham’ Blagrove and persons who dedicated their lives to Barbados football.

Keith ‘Grell’ Griffith immediately comes to mind.

42. @ David

I’m NOT surprised.

It’s a known fact Ms Cox has a penchant for politicising EVERY issue presented to this forum for discussion.

We’ve now learnt “govt incompetence” was responsible for the passage of ‘Hurricane Beryl’ and its aftermath.

43. Artax
    July 11, 2024 at 10:31 am

I’m NOT surprised.

It’s a known fact Ms Cox has a penchant for politicising EVERY issue presented to this forum for discussion.

We’ve now learnt “govt incompetence” was responsible for the passage of ‘Hurricane Beryl’ and its aftermath

Bold face lying spin doctor you are Artax
    Govt incompetence lies in the fact that govt did not have a reliable plan of action to take the boats to safer ground knowing that many met offices were stating that Beryl was a dangerous hurricane

44. Oh, sorry.

“Govt incompetence” was responsible for fishermen not insuring and safeguarding their boats.

“Govt incompetence” was responsible for 90% of boats being uninsured.

“Govt” should’ve also had “a reliable plan of action to” take PVS or farmers’ crops “to safer ground knowing that many met offices were stating that Beryl was a dangerous hurricane.”

Okay, ‘got you.’

45. Given the level of skills displayed in international soccer competitions, I think they did Victor “Gas” Clarke a favor by not mentioning his name.

46. Disclaimer: it is not my intention to stir shit up more..

… But in these times each generation is more conscious than their parent’s generation and their parents parents generation. These conscious youths should already know what they should be doing without guidance or instruction.

The way they turn out either good or bad is their choice not their parents.

Jah Guide Dub, Discipline Child, Computer Car

47. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    We cannot go forward unless we connect the dots. We are seeing a very healthy interest in sports at the primary school level in virtually all disciplines. We are quite aware that sports is one of the best ways to dissuade young people from errant behaviour but we simply don’t have comprehensive programs and we are constantly taking one step forward and two steps backward.
    There could be a whole social studies lecture on Gas Clarke or any of the others you mentioned. Before the tournament that week at all schools , especially primary, people ,sports commentators and so on would have been invited to the schools to talk about them. Those who are still alive , we could have invited them to meet the children .We would have followed up with other media. Make the youth excited and want to become like these folks.
    We recall sitting in the hall of Bay Primary Boys School. There was a picture of Sir Garry, where he is standing there, bat in hand and all three stumps exposed. We still carry that image in our mind.
    We had heroes back then and we looked up to them and respected them; wanted to play like them. We are lamenting 27 murders if we all looked at our hands we will see the blood. We all pulling those triggers .

48. I have absolutely no blood on my hands. I have always tried my best for the youth of this country.