Yuh could say what yuh like
Call me what yuh want
I’s a true true Bajan
And I’m proud to be one
If yuh don’t like my Bajan ways
Well, I sorry fuh you
But I proud to be a Bajan
Cause we culture is true

Chorus:
This is we culture
This is we thing
The way how we does talk
And the way how we does sing
This is we culture
This is we style
The way how we does laugh
And the way how we does smile

Yuh could say what yuh like
And call me what yuh want
I’s a true true Bajan
And I’m proud to be one
If yuh don’t like my Bajan ways
Well, I sorry fuh you
But I proud to be a Bajan
Cause we culture is true

Chorus:
This is we culture
This is we thing
The way how we does talk
This is we culture
This is we style

We have nuff things to be proud of
Cause we is a special breed
In this little island Barbados
We have nuff things we need
From the time yuh born
And yuh take yuh first breath
We culture in yuh soul
Until yuh death

Chorus:
This is we culture
This is we thing
The way how we does talk
This is we culture
This is we style

This is we culture
This is we thing
The way how we does talk
This is we culture
This is we style

– Gabby

169 responses to “This is ‘we culture’ porn style”

1. @ David

Some of those DJs also play music on the airwaves in which certain words are blocked.

They also play Jamaican dub music on a daily basis that promotes gang related violence, herb smoking, drug trafficking and scantily dressed, lewd dancing females, which are often seen in their music videos.
    And, make fete and pleasure cruise promotion CDs that are usually played on mini-buses and ZRs.

This has become the norm for many of our FM radio stations, simply because listening audience statistics is more important to them.
    But, you know what’s the usual retort. That we have a choice to listen to the gospel stations.

Some of those radio stations host competitions such as ‘The People’s Monarch,’ which essentially promotes bashment soca.

And, during political campaigns, political parties hold shows at which those same DJs play dub music and bashment soca artiste play and perform respectively, to attract young people.

The authorities banned the playing of that music in those vehicles, which was met with criticisms from PSV operators, drivers, conductors and the general public.

Yet, this sector has been allowed to flout the law by continuing to play the music.

2. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@The OG July 9, 2024 at 12:08 pm “Would you share the video with your friends/priest.”

Actually I don’t share anything with my priest. The last time I went to confession was before confirmation at 10 years old. We were mandated to go to confession, but I could not think of anything to confess to. A waste of time for me and the priest, so I haven’t gone to confession since.

3. Sadly so Artax.

We come full circle to the accountability aspect which Redguard mentioned. The management of radio stations must be aware but they need the listenership at all cost. Bear in mind the media is a very important stakeholder in our system of governance.

4. Donna

I read your explanation…… and agree with you.

Soon, I will be accused of doing so too often.

And, I’m aware of your comprehension skills. Perhaps we should refrain from using that phrase since it seems to upsetting some people.

However, although I mentioned your name, my comments were not directed at you.

5. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Redguard July 9, 2024 at 1:47 pm “Murders every other day, AG still has a job.”

My question is not why the AG still has a job.

My question is “Where are the fathers of these young murderers and where are the fathers of their victims?”

These young murderers and victims did not drop fully formed out of the sky yesterday.

Any of the bright people on this blog have a sensible answer to my serious question?

6. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Good afternoon David:

In all fairness if you are going to show us videos of scantily clad women wukking-up you must show us some videos of scantily clad men wukking up.

7. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

I think that female sexuality scares men.

We always hear what if it is your mother, wife daughter.

The truth is that the sexuality of your mother, wife daughter does not belong to you.

If a woman wants to wuk-up/twerk whatever, it is her parts, not yours, so mind your own business. She does not need your permission.

She is not your slave. You are not her owner.

8. @Simple Simon

The word demur comes to mind.

9. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

I wonder how many children, those 25 murdered young men have left behind?

And how many children the long imprisoned young men will leave outside of Dodds’ walls?

And who will raise these children?

The fathers who did not raise their sons?

And we wasting time obsessing about adult women wukkin up?

10. @Simple Simon

What does sexuality have to do with concluding women skinning botsies in the air with a string between their cheeks at the behest of a male high as a kite using the vilest language to hype ‘the thing’ is not lewd and vulgar?

Wheel and come back.

11. Where are the fathers of these young murderers and where are the fathers of their victims.
    You head can’t be good
    Who had more influence on those young men, the one present or the one absent. The one who raise them or the one who wasn’t there.
    No accountability for the mothers that raise these terrorist, but you want to blame a father that wasn’t there for a child he isn’t even sure is his.
    Those ladies on stage, who influenced them more, mother or father.
    Let me key you on a little something, the ultimate role of women is to defend, communicate and represent the values and ideals of a culture and society (the intangibles). Men are supposed to defend and protect the physical structures of society.
    For Extra Credit. When you look at this country what values and ideals do our women communicate, represent and defend.

12. ‘However, although I mentioned your name, my comments were not directed at you.”

You would be surprise at who passed the comprehension test.

13. Wa Dat
    Music gets the blame for guns drugs crime sex freaks etc
    I want a different stylee

14. There is a video circulating of a woman ‘dancing’ in church. I am trying to share it here but having difficulty.

Things are much worse than folks imagine.

15. Cuhdear Bajan

An Attorney General is basically Government’s chief legal adviser.

The Police is charged with protecting the public by preventing and detecting crime.

Agree with you that, “The truth is that the sexuality of your mother, wife daughter does not belong to you.”

I’ve been seeing several young girls dressed similarly to men, many of them with their pants below their waists, showing their boxer shorts.
    And, in some cases, accompanied by young females, probably of school age, holding hands, hugging and even kissing in public.

The young girls at Bush Hill are now parading naked, which seems to be their new marketing strategy.

How would you react if your daughter introduces a ‘dyke’ to you as her girlfriend or someone told you they saw her ‘up by the Garrison advertising her ‘wares’ for sale.

16. Truth being Barbados is getting closer and closer to having an image somewhat like Sodom and Gomorrah
    The disrespect for law and order is the first step followed closely be immorality

17. William Skinner Avatar

Are we not stuck in the past regarding our views on parenting ? We believe that both parents irrespective of the combination should be equally tasked in raising their children. We are no longer a patriarchal society .
    In many instances, women are surpassing or have surpassed the education levels of men and are doing better professionally . Perhaps, we need to take into account the changing norms in relation to sexual preferences and other lifestyles. There is a school of thought which suggests that the Black man has undergone an brutal level of socio – economic emasculation.
    It is therefore quite possible that boys no longer respect or fear their fathers as in times past. It also possible that women no longer see their roles as exclusively allowing the man to “run” the home.
    As our society continues to grapple with reality and accept that even if we haven’t caught up with the world or bluntly refuse to do so ; the world has caught up with us.
    It is a known fact that some women make it very clear that they want children but they don’t want any man around. As is often the case, our children are caught in the crossfire of a very turbulent change in our social norms.
    Unfortunately we have people graduating with various degrees from UWI and many of these studies are about understanding society however when we hear them pontificating , they seem afraid to deal with the real Barbados and keep drifting into rather mundane positions and usually end up somewhere in the 60s.

18. All well said however when the moral core of a society is disregarded whereby govt can change laws and directives that are not in alignment with morals or the laws of nature
    The end result is what is happening in many broken homes and societies
    As the old folks say can’t plant corn and expect to reap tomatoes

19. “How would you react if your daughter introduces a ‘dyke’ to you as her girlfriend”

Girl empowerment is the new thing.
    Tell her she can be a superhero or a world leader,
    or anything she else wants to be.

20. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@David July 9, 2024 at 3:12 pm “@Simple Simon The word demur comes to mind.”

You are “man enough” to put up a video of Wukking-up women

But not man enough to put up a video of wukking up men?

Why?

Or do you just enjoy facilitating the the misogynists on BU to “beat up” women?

I say let the men hold some licks too.

Fair is fair.

21. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@David July 9, 2024 at 3:16 pm “Simple Simon What does sexuality have to do with concluding women skinning botsies in the air with a string between their cheeks at the behest of a male high as a kite using the vilest language to hype ‘the thing’ is not lewd and vulgar?”

I did not make any comment on what was or was not lewd and vulgar?

22. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@angela cox July 9, 2024 at 4:40 pm “morals or the laws of nature”

What are the morals or laws of nature?

Maybe the government in changing laws has simply acknowledged the reality of human behavior.

We all born and find homosexual people. We will ALL die and leave homosexual people.

No government in any place at any time in human history has been able to change that. No government at any time in any place will ever be able to change that.

The sun will set at 6:29 in Barbados today. You go ahead and change that by even one minute.

Good luck.

23. @Simple Simon

The blogmaster is an old fashion man who loves to put women on a pedestal of traditional values.

24. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Redguard July 9, 2024 at 3:30 pm “You head can’t be good
    Who had more influence on those young men, the one present or the one absent. The one who raise them or the one who wasn’t there.”

My Dear Redguard: I am trying to think of a reason why a man would absent himself from the life of his baby son, his toddler son, his elementary aged son, his teenage son, and honestly I can’t think of any reason.

The parent who voluntarily absents himself or herself from the life of their children is undeserving of being called father or mother, especially since we are all intelligent enough to know that the loss of a parent is the most devastating thing a human being can suffer.

So save your nonsense talk for somebody else.

And if you have absented yourself from the life of your children, do whatever is necessary, beg forgiveness, so that you can continuing raising your children.

Parental absence dramatically increases the likelihood that a young man will end up in an early grave or in prison.

I say so.

25. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

David I still waiting to see the video of half naked twerking/wukkin up MEN.

26. Cuhdear Bajan,

I said ANIMAL INSTINCT. By that I meant that if you feel like it, do it….in public, with no restraint.

Artax,

I will stop commenting on comprehension skills when people stop repeatedly misrepresenting my clearly articulated positions.

Not meaning you.

27. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

CORRECTION:

the loss of a parent is the most devastating thing a human CHILD can suffer.

28. William Skinner July 9, 2024 at 4:33 pm

@ Mr. Skinner

Excellent contribution.

According to the idiom, you ‘hit the nail on the head.’

29. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Donna July 9, 2024 at 5:28 pm “Cuhdear Bajan, I said ANIMAL INSTINCT. By that I meant that if you feel like it, do it….in public, with no restraint.”

Leave the innocent animals outta dis.

As wunna know I have spent most of my adult life living and working near to the gullies in northern Barbados, and in my 70+ years I have only seen a monkey pair “doing it” once. And the monkeys are primates just as we are.

The monkeys probably retreat to a cave to do their monkey business.

Leave the innocent animals outta dis.

30. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@ David and @Skinner, gentlemen culture can’t be desired as only the integral/integrated part of our structural roots when society has morphed and adapted so many influences over these many years!

Vulgarity is vulgarity … and we know it based on our sensibilities and moral expectations.

If a woman or man is similulating sexual jamming … some will see vulgarity… some won’t.

So there is no ” disconnect” to debate “whether supposedly “vulgar and lewd behaviour is ‘we culture’”.

Our Mother-Sally character does roll de bambsie provocatively … but we hardly see that as vulgarity! Female dancers performing artful renditions with breasts fully exposed are never considered lewd!

So my brother the mirror image depends on who is looking in … the reflection can be very different based on age, to what the person is exposed and the person’s foundational moral base.

31. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

This behaviour is strictly HUMAN behavior.

This is who we are. Lol!

Like it or lump it.

32. ” We will ALL die”

Youth have the most energy
    the youth eventually take over and lead to define the future new culture
    this changing effect has already happened during the years we wasted on Bu

Barbados now has one of the highest proportions of older persons, with 17 percent of the population aged 55 and over and nearly 11 percent having reached or surpassed age 65.

Time, time, time is what we need, so they say
    Give me little more time
    But you see, time is runnin’ an’ passin’ an’ passin’ an’ runnin’
    An’ runnin’ an’ passin’
    So you all better get it right at this time
    ‘Cause there might be no next time, ya

33. Cuhdear Bajan,

You seem to just be commenting for the sake of it.

I doubt very much that you would want a daughter of yours to behave like a “bad bitch” dat “love rough wuk” on stage for all to see.

34. Cuhdear Bajan
    July 9, 2024 at 5:16 pm

@angela cox July 9, 2024 at 4:40 pm “morals or the laws of nature

Xxxxxc
    Spin all you want
    But they are truths that are in alignment with morals and the laws of nature that man cannot change
    Man influence treading in such direction has brought division and upheaval in society
    Nature put everything in its right place and with good reason
    The reality Nature doesn’t change but mankind has so done over the years

35. @Dee Word

Yours is a very wishy washy comment. The reaction in this forum and elsewhere to what is perceived by many is part of a process of influencing values and by extension our culture. Allow the debate to continue, individuals and planners will be guided.

36. Damn, I have listened again! Not sure if it’s rough wuk or the other thing now.

37. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Donna July 9, 2024 at 5:37 pm “Cuhdear Bajan, You seem to just be commenting for the sake of it.”

Maybe so.

@Donna July 9, 2024 at 5:37 pm :” doubt very much that you would want a daughter of yours to behave like a “bad bitch” dat “love rough wuk” on stage for all to see.”

I don’t attempt to police the behaviour of my adult daughters. If I had to do so it would mean that the 18-20 years I spent parenting them in my home would have been in vain.

They are adults. They do as they please. If they break the law, the State, not me will deal with it, and I have told them as much.

38. Cuhdear Bajan

I was wondering how “govt can change laws and directives that are not in alignment with morals or the laws of nature…”

Can any ‘government’ legislate morals or pass laws to stop the process of photosynthesis in trees?

But, then again, you must forgive Ms Cox.

She has a penchant for politicising every issue and blaming “govt” for everything that happens in the society.

39. @ Cuhdear

Truth is what I would like many to do is this, take a look at carnival in T&T or Rio and tell me what you see that is different. Look at Mardigras in “Nor Leans” as they say it there and tell me what’s missing when compared to this Video. Watch carnival in Antigua or Grenada and tell me what you see missing.

My point is we have taken it into the gutter here with this type of behaviour. I have see women in Mardigras come into Bourbon Street during Mardigras with only body paint on and not a man there try to touch them or wukup behind them. Reason being you would not last long before a police or fellow party person down hand in them.

Look at these young ones and ask yourself where is the self worth that this island was built on gone? Does the dollar now take its place at ALL LEVELS of society?

40. @John A

The thing is it is all connected. The deviance, the crime, the lawlessness.

41. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

I ask again who is raising the children of those hundreds of young men who have gone to an early grave, or who have spent decades in prison?

And we surprised at the violence and dysfunction in our society?

And we spend hours worrying about adult women wukkin up?

42. @Simple Simon

You are being obtuse. We exist in an ecosystem that is influenced by everything in it. Although we will never achieve a utopian state, we have to understand we are managing a complex social system.

43. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

So @ Skinner re your point about ‘batters’ and ‘dugout’ in the broader frame of cultural penetration … you must place that in context.

As much as we may want to see it as a US baseball intrusion isn’t it more simply the ease of the idiom or use of words that are more effective descriptors.

Why batsman when we are commentating on so much women’s cricket as well … isn’t batter more colloquially all inclusive!

And hasn’t T20 taken us from the clubhouse or long-room a la Lords to an area hatched just off the boundary!

So just as T20 has changed the dynamics of cricket so COMPLETELY from the game we grew up playing, so too have there been other massive intrusions to the customs we knew and loved.

Those who adore their traditions can hold on to batsman or pavillion but then they become a bit of an anachronism … yes!

Or we can hold on to de graceful belly-whining in lovely flowing dresses and dismiss this naked-backside pouching-back public sexual display as vulgar and be gladly labelled old-fashioned.

44. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Gotta cook and eat dinner, no fast food for me. See wunna later., ’bout 9.

45. There is no point criticising night life and night clubs unless you go to them.
    In fact most kids don’t go to them either nowadays and many are closing down.
    Videos of people partying with camera phones is new, it’s a shame there are not much records of dances in the old days.

46. @ David

Yes I agree with you, it seems as if the dollar makes everything acceptable.

Although I will say that there is a sector of young women who are moving on with their lives without a man in it. They are buying homes, cars and many are not having children. This is true in many races too. So what will that mean to society ? Will the useless men and wutless women then get together and have children? What then would this mean to society and the economic future of the island? Is it already too late based on the murders and behaviour we are seeing?

These are the things no one wants to touch on for fear of criticism. Feel free to cuss me all wunna want though cause it like water off a duck back with me. Seriously though what will our future be if we don’t try to turn this trend around?

47. @John A

As we are discussing risque and diviant behaviour there is #26 reported.

48. @John A

It is a flawed position to compare with other societies. Economic opportunity or not will create different conditions to breed social dysfunction.

49. @ Simple Simon
    “My Dear Redguard: I am trying to think of a reason why a man would absent himself from the life of his baby son, his toddler son, his elementary aged son, his teenage son, and honestly I can’t think of any reason.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Perhaps …to escape an associated female of your ilk…?!!

..the Bible advises that “it is better to go live in a desert, than in a house with a female of such ilk”.

Just a short ps, to note that your contributions have improved greatly since you went to make supper….
    LOL ha ha ha

50. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    Thank you. Your comment re: young ladies dressing like men and publicly displaying physical affection for the same sex , is very representative of the changing norms.
    Just yesterday on Brasstacks, a lady involved in teaching young ladies etiquette, said that one of her students told her that she doesn’t wear high heel shoes because she considers herself a boy.
    So, we have to start recognizing the changes.
    Parenting will now depend on : honest conversation, less judgement and acceptance of such things.