The way how we does talk
And the way how we does sing
This is we culture
This is we style
The way how we does laugh
And the way how we does smile– Gabby
This is ‘we culture’ porn style

169 responses to “This is ‘we culture’ porn style”
-
Brass Tacks spoke today about the flag, pride and culture. Or more specifically the LACK of pride and the ABSENCE of culture.
Clearly by now we know that “we like it so” and our leaders like to “promote it so.”
Will the real leaders please stand up???
Just observing
-
No sir, never in the past, not now and not ever in the future. That may be “Their” culture but sure as hell is not mine by any stretch of the imagination. If this is the best that we can do in our attempt to instill pride in our people, we have arrived at a very sad place.
Now tell me, which one of the following fits the description of “We Culture”?
1. Arts and Intellectual Achievement: The arts and other manifestations of human intellectual achievement regarded collectively, such as literature, music, and painting.
2. Way of Life: The customs, arts, social institutions, and achievements of a particular nation, people, or other social group. For example, Caribbean culture includes unique traditions, music, and cuisine1.
3. Cultivation: The cultivation of bacteria, tissue cells, etc., in a scientific context.
4. Refinement: A refined understanding or appreciation of culture, often associated with education and enlightenment.
In a broader sense, culture encompasses the shared attitudes, values, goals, and practices that characterize an institution, organization, or group. -
What else could we logically expect from brass bowl sheep…?
High quality exemplifications of refined talent?
Unique interpretations of mystical thoughts?
Eloquent exposés of political and public hypocrisy – à la Chalkdust or Shadow?Or just raw, childish, ‘animal-like’, crude, sexual displays of crap?
…designed to excite the uncultured and the uneducated (but expensively eddykated)…What a damned place!!
What a turn-around since the 1980s
What a curse… -
Not a surprise.
A few weeks from today, scantily clad women of all ages will be in the streets twerking. Little boys who still breast feeding will be wukking up behind hard back women.Those two young women are a symptom; they are the canary in the well, an out of season signal of what is to come.
-
We need an expose on sex tourism…
-
-
wuk up lessons.
-
There is old time wukking up – moving your waistline, and there is modern day wukking up
– pooching back pon a jucking ting, no more than dry sex. And then there is twerking – jiggling pooched back behinds. This last one is a black American thing.I have nothing against the old time wukking up, though I go back even further to indulging in a lil wine, probably to real music and witty lyrics. Good physical exercise and good, clean fun. Some of those witty lyrics even exercised the mind.
The rest, if it must exist at all, should be confined to the indoors, out of the view of children. It adds nothing to our development.
As a matter of fact, it reduces women to objects of sex only. Therefore, it retards our development.
There is good culture and there is bad culture. Good culture advances the thought processes of a people. It does not degrade them back to animal instinct level.
-
Regarding “Giving You The Idiots” above, what an extensive vocabulary, such elocution, definitely a Harvard or UWI educated specimen. NOT! …..and this is what we get for millions and millions of education dollars?
-
Although I DON’T CONDONE lewd behaviour or scantily dressed adult women ‘wukking up’ on young boys during Crop Over events, I’ll present ANOTHER perspective to this discussion.
There are traditional dances of some African countries, such as South Africa, for example, where Zulu women parade and perform the reed dance through communities topless, i.e. with their breast exposed……
…… or Swaziland, where thousands of bare-breasted young Swazi women paraded in front of their king to celebrate chastity and unity.
Even if we ‘come closer to home,’ topless dances’ are performed in Guadeloupe, where nudist beaches can also be found.
Unfortunately, the so called ‘civilized world’ frown upon this activity, while more often than not referring to Black people as ‘savages.’
Judging from the comments to this thread, I could reasonably anticipate what ‘albino centric’ comments people would make, if the reed dance was performed in Barbados.
-
Artax,
I recall a Q.C. outing to the National Stadium to watch visiting bare-breasted Africans dance. It was not crude, neither was it lewd. There was no pooching back, bending over, sprawling out nor were there jiggling botsies. There were jiggling breasts but there was no exhibitionist attitude. There were no jucking men.
And there were no male conductors!
-
Africans claim youtube is sexualising their young girls for banning videos of the zulu reed dance which is a celebration of their culture
-
Artax,
Also missing from the African display was the refrain,
“Bad bitches love rough wuk! Bad bitches love rough wuk!”
NO COMPARISON!
-
How can we in all seriousness expect a people who have not been taught in any structured , comprehensive manner or positively exposed to their ancestral cultures, know the difference between what is dance and what is pure vulgarity. And this is so not only in relation to dance but other aspects such as to how they treat their elders and so on.
What is seen in the video is nothing more than personal expression in a public place. Those who deem it “our” culture are a bit overboard. What we have here are some females , who have decided to dance /wuk up in in a style of panties that are more revealing than the norm.
Many dances in Africa are done nude but they all have some cultural/traditional meaning. However, if African females decide to do what is in the video, it certainly would not be termed culture. In some African cultures women never cover their breasts and men are not known to wear underwear but cover their privates.
So, if some of our Bajan men decide to go on stage and dance/wukup in the nude that should not be deemed culture. We suspect the police will arrest them for public nudity. However, there are similar underwear available for men and they can do the same thing.
We once heard a call in program moderator say that “beating women ” is a part of “we culture”. That certainly is not our culture by any stretch of the imagination.
Crop Over still retains and displays some aspects of our culture but unfortunately it lost it way a couple of decades ago. -
You are correct. But it gets worse. We now have a food and rum festival. We were amazed to note that some of the “creative” local dishes were almost carbon copies of Mexican dishes with the names in Spanish. Not saying there wasn’t creativity but….
In cricket these days we talk about “batters” and players in the “dug out” . If we are not eating pasta ; we haven’t arrived and we now enjoy our coffee at Starbucks.
Cultural penetration is rampant and we are quickly rejecting our culture and we don’t think the horse will reenter the stable, at this point. -
II have not joined that debate. Somehow, I cannot play that game. As usual, it would appear that I start from/hold a different position to others,
I will not even mention Africa, for that is an apple and oranges comparison. A comparison of the acts of those who would deny their relationship to Africa with acts that reflect history and hundreds of years of tradition.
I can tell you that am even hesitant to use the word culture. It seems to me that we drag in the worst bits from everywhere, adopt it and then label it as our culture. A Frankenstein monster designed to snare a few dollars from a passing tourist. It must be sexual, because this is a part of the ugly beast that we call tourism; never mentioned but always present.
To be honest, my idea of Barbados is firmly rooted in years prior to 1981 and much of what I see passing as our culture was not present then. I reject it and will never embrace this sham; this self-degradation and sexual exploitation of ourselves and our young.
Now someone will tell me that ‘culture’ evolves; that Barbados has changed in the past 40 years and in reply I will ask questions… ”
Does this make Barbados better?
Is it authentic?
Does the older generation accept it?
Is it in line with our traditional values?
Whose culture is it?I cannot play that game.
-
I see the approximation to what I say. Nice, more palatable and more polite. Catching flies with honey…
-
Donna
Please indicate where in my comment I made any comparisons between African traditional dances and ‘wukking up.’
If you had READ my comments CAREFULLY, you would’ve noticed I mentioned NOT CONDONING lewd behaviour, nor did I COMPARED ‘wukking up’ lewdly with African traditional dances.
All I’m ‘saying’ is that I assume the types of comments that would follow the performance of a topless dance in Barbados.
Therein lies the intricacies of comprehension.
Unfortunately, there are those persons among us who believe they have more knowledge of African culture, and, by extension, any topic discussed in this forum, than the average BU contributor.
Hence the reason why they come out ‘boxing wild’ before reading and understanding some comments posted, especially if authored by specific people.
-
No one can come here and try to approve the behaviour of the women on stage AND THE MALE DJ. Yes he too got to hold some licks for promoting and enticing the beviour.
Now I going brek this down real simple by asking 3 questions.
Any women that approve of this would you like your son married to any of them?
Any men out there that approve would you like your daughter or wife on that stage?
Finally would either of you want any of them as the mother of your grand child?
Those both male and female on that stage will be raising children. If they don’t already have that is. Do you really have to wonder why our society is in the position it’s in? Do you still wonder why in our society important issues hardly get noticed? We are doomed as long as this is what we accept as “culture.” Also for God sake don’t compare that crap to the African dancers or the Latin dancers who perform cultural dances well over 100 years old.
-
Donna
I’ll give you an example.
During Crop Over/CARIFESTA 1981, a troupe of Guadeloupean dancers performed topless traditional dances at UWI, Cave Hill Campus, which was criticised by some members of the public.
-
And my ears deceived me. What I thought was…bad bitches love rough fuck…is apparently…bad bitches love rough wuk.
Were these females coerced, forced or chemically induced, or was it by choice. -
A lot a wunna are hypocrites.
-
😀
Is it my imagination or do I always get a slap around my head and called ‘silly boy’.
Waiting for the second slap.Commander Hants
I know your position on this matter.😀 -
Would you like to see your daughter dancing like this on stage?
Would you share the video with your friends/priest.Now that is real hypocrisy
-
I remember when those silly, nonsensical calypsos, often composed with lewd lyrical content, called ‘bashment soca,’ were first performed by youngsters during Crop Over, the rhythms of which encourage ‘wukking up.’
All the women are doing is enacting what the song describes.
There was talk about banning those calypsos, many of which are not appropriate to be publicly broadcasted on the radio or television.
We were told by people such as NCF’s CEO, Carol Roberts, ‘that although they concerned that the lyrics and themes in bashment soca “are not as wholesome, or not as inclusive, or as tolerant as we would like.” it has some merit.’
“We could regulate it, we could ban it. But, again, if you are a student of history, you would know that anytime popular culture is suppressed or banned, it goes underground, it festers, and it fosters even more expressions in that genre or sub-genre.”Additionally, this genre of music was defended by none other than Barbados’ Cultural Ambassador, His Excellency Dr. The Most Honourable Anthony ‘Gabby’ Carter.
He expressed his disapproval with NCF’s decision to remove bashment soca as a genre in the 2022 Scotiabank Junior Monarch Competition.
He said, “I don’t understand the big fuss some people are making about it because it caused NCF to drop it. I didn’t think that that was the right thing to do but in time we will see.”
‘Gabby’ also argued that since persons are able accept other genres, namely dancehall and rap they should be able to accept bashment soca.When people of this ilk speak, we often remain silent.
-
No holds barred.
I love Gabby. His Emerton is untouchable, a classic and probably one of the best piece of music originating from Barbados…The introductory poem/song or whatever it is that is given above needs som polishing.
I said it.
-
Old hypocrite men 🤣
-
We ask the obivous questions to hold them acountable but at the highest levels of our society why are we not demanding accountability
Minister OKs an illegal IDB suvery, no accountability
Murders every other day, AG still has a job, no accountability
PS goes behind the back of the minister to broker a scam vaccine deal that blows up, and gets a national award to boot, no accountability
BTMI team waste possibly millions on a Cayman islands route that they promoted as a game changer, no accountability
I can go on.So yes, those young ladies are wuffless, but the people running this country are way more wuffless. What we see here is the end result of trickle down wufflessness
-
Artax,
Show me where I accused you of such! I was simply making it clear that I was not one of the Eurocentric commenters who would take issue with African dance like the one you presented and explaining why I would not.
-
The public railing against them is not the issue. The issue is none of them took personal responsibility, or faced consequences, or apologised, they did not feel they were accountable. That is wuffless and it is facilitated by our government. If that is present at the highest levels of our society, who are we to judge it when it manifests at the lowests levels
-
Sorry to interrupt your passive-aggressive victory lap. My comprehension skills were not at fault.
I think Artax is too used to being a centipede under attack. I will have to take that into consideration next time.
-
@Bush Tea “July 8, 2024 at 9:36 pm “…childish, ‘animal-like’, crude, sexual displays.”
“Childish” Wha’ you blaming the children for? Children NEVER initiate sex. Sex is ALWAYS initiated by adults.
“animal-like” Wha’ you blaming the animals for? Animals NEVER engage in sex for fun, but only for reproducing life. The only animal which engages in sex for fun/entertainment is the HUMAN animal.
-
A culture is never either true or false.
Culture is just the enactments, belief systems, etc of a people. It is therefore a dialectical even a materialistic mistake in philosophy to consider such things to be. -
I think that people are using this type of activity just like how they use alcohol and drugs – as a distraction. Facing life full on can be daunting.
-
@The OG July 8, 2024 at 9:57 pm “Scantily clad women of all ages will be in the streets twerking. Little boys who still breast feeding will be wukking up behind hard back women.”
It is wukking-up, NOT twerking. Bajans wuk-up. Americans twerk.
Breast feeders are those up to 2 or 3 years old. I am on the road every Kadooment Day. I’ve never seen a toddler wukking up behind hard back women.
-
Dolphins have sex for fun, it is well documented
-
@Donna July 9, 2024 at 6:15 am. “It does not degrade them back to animal instinct level.”
Stop blaming the animals. STOP IT.
This behavior is NOT animal-like. It is ENTIRELY HUMAN.
Only humans engage in sex for entertainment.
-
@William Skinner July 9, 2024 at 10:06 am “If we are not eating pasta ; we haven’t arrived and we now enjoy our coffee at Starbucks.”
I hate pasta. Why would anybody eat that over processed muck?
I had a nice breadfruit cou-cou and steamed fish today.
As for coffee. The best coffee I have ever had was Cuban coffee made by a real-real Cuban. No Starbucks for me. I had Starbucks once and I swear never, never again.
I mostly make my own coffee at home, as my grandmother taught me.
-
@John A July 9, 2024 at 10:55 am “Any women that approve of this would you like your son married to any of them?”
If my son was the typical village ram/horner men, then my answer is “yes.”