It is hard to imagine these people pretend to offer themselves to public service and insist on engaging in a porakey demonstration of incompetence. It will be interesting to see how Leader of the Opposition Ralph Thorne responds. Just when the most optimistic started to believe recent events represented a semblance of hope, it descends into a horror show.

Is 90 love on the cards?

First it was the video recording.

Then the voice note.

Voice note of DLP member cussin DLP Paul Gibson.

20 responses to “DLP is imploding”

1. @ David

You said, on another thread, that “Based on what is seen on the video Steve Blackett has got to go.”

To be fair to Blackett, we do not know what occurred prior to the ‘confrontation’ that caused him to give Gibson ‘the silent treatment.’

Or, at what stage thereof Gibson began video recording.
    Hence, a possibility exists the video could’ve been edited to give viewers the impression Blackett was the ‘aggressor.’

Obviously, there had be some prior dispute between both gentlemen that influenced Gibson’s decision to record their subsequent interaction.

Although it is true Gibson ‘hopped’ from ‘Solutions Barbados’…… to Atherley’s ‘People’s Party for Democracy and Development (PdP)’…… and finally the ‘DLP’…… the ‘voice note’ indicates the DEMS are definitely divided.

However, both the video and voice note also indicate a level of immaturity.

2. Your point is understood but knowing that he was being recorded there was a better way to handle Gibson’s request to submit whatever at the annual conference.

3. @Artax

The manufactured co leading of the party between Thorne and Yearwood was a giveaway the party is divided.

4. It seems that there is a gap between the facile expectations of some and the inherent backwardness of parties.

Maybe at the time this video was being recorded worse things were happening within the duopoly.

Seems that the question of recording somebody in solicitation of making him or her a witness against self wrecks with an odor.

Unless the aggressor is a member of the press!

But who is a president to tell anybody that he must speak to GS when the GS might not, for whatever reason, want to talk with him, even criminals like Donville have a right to remain silent.

To conclude that the GS’s reaction makes the political sky of the DLP fall in seems irrational. To further suggest that this encounter speaks to a 90-love scenario appears overblown and does not consider similar circumstances, and maybe worse, within the other half of the duopoly.

Political parties are notorious for having all kinds of internal squabbles and this particular one may not a muchness of a muchness.

Should the president intended to avoid dealing with this matter speaks to the fecklessness written al over his face.

That Ralph Thorne is to referee every spat within a political sandbox must be a product of a mindset which seeks a political perfection unknown to man.

5. Certainly, the dlp is less “imploding” than it has been since and before the socalled “lost decade”.

After all that imploding, natural laws of science prevent much more.

Maybe Gibson should create the conditions within the constitution he seeks to represent which make it impossible for any party to force him to behave like a stalker.

Make it come to you, if yuh think yuh bad enough.

6. How enthusiastic our naive commentators were when they hailed Thorn as their new blue saviour.

Didn’t Tron predict from the beginning that this was our Supreme Leadera´s long-planned move to finally destroy the DLP from within?

Tron, Herald of the New Order

7. God’s Plan experience the joy of our salvation.
    Thorne was guided to DLP by Jesus and his Dad who love the redemption of Bad Boys. When you do bad things God is upset and disappointed but still loves you.

8. @ David

I presented another perspective, but agree with you that, “knowing he was being recorded there was a better way (for Blackett) to handle Gibson’s request to submit whatever at the annual conference.”

The guy behind the voice note said he blamed Verla DePieza for ‘bringing Pedro Shepherd, Ryan Walters and Kemar Stuart into the Democratic Labour Party.’
    Considering how Verla was treated, perhaps he’s articulating the sentiments of ‘the old guard.’

However, Blackett must be commended for the role he played in reorganising the DLP as the party’s interim president, after their first 30-0 defeat, and when prominent members probably decided to ‘keep a low profile.’

Ironically, Thorne created an ‘EXTERNAL family squabble’ when he left the BEES to join the DEMS…… and an ‘INTERNAL family squabble,’ when he joined the DEMS.
    🤣 🤣

9. @Artax

We have an uneasy standoff. Yearwood controls the executive and Thorne the old guard who seem to still control the power structure within the party. An informal canvassing among Barbadians by BU confirm many are sick of the squabbling and disunity being seen in George Street, including DLPites.

10. These things do happen where personalities will clash in a party. Just look back at your posts when George Payne had Edmund Hinkson in court for defamation when the BLP was in Opposition.

11. The comparison is not the same given the low confidence the public has of the DLP reflected in two unprecedented defeats and the ongoing tension around Ronnie Yearwood’s leadership.

12. #mondayrant

Natural selection is oblivious to the DLP and egos fuel the behavior of each human. In every circle natural leaders evolve and it should not take an anthropologist to tell these guys such. Power is a dangerous social currency without maturity and control.

Equally concerning is the illiteracy of voting by Barbadians who stupidly vote without critical thinking of how the casting of their vote helps or hinders the future of Barbados.

I publicly speak to truth respectfully and use my name irrespective of who it may offend for my conscience is not for sale, lease, hire or sublet. Barbados is a corporation and every citizen is a shareholder thus their voice must be heard. Anyone, proxy or Iaw that threatens free speech must be be challenged.

To those entrusted with authority over us cannot do crap to stifle respectful free speech to appease their masters then seek to use the defense of Hitler’s men at The Hague of “we were just civil servants following orders.” GIVE YOUR MASTERS AND BOSSES HONEST TRUTHFUL FEEDBACK. What is your mirror image and are you proud of your contribution towards a better well ordered Barbados?

13. Reggae music > ask
    reggae music

The documents you found on the blog touch on various aspects related to the music scene in Barbados. There is an article discussing Rihanna’s appearance at a reggae concert where she did a cameo during a performance by Beenie Man. The article also mentions concerns about the behavior of some dancehall/reggae artists who visited Barbados and complained about police treatment during the event. Additionally, it questions the involvement of Al Gilkes in promoting Jamaican music events and his decision-making as the post-National Cultural Foundation Chairman.

Another document addresses the issue of Christians being accused of pirating gospel music in Barbados. The article features a response challenging the assumption that Christians are the main supporters of pirated gospel music releases and raises questions about music preferences and piracy.

Moreover, there is an article discussing the need for local music to be given more airplay on Barbadian radio stations. The article highlights the history of music production in Barbados, the importance of promoting local talent, and suggests that radio stations should play more local music to help boost the music industry in the country.

Lastly, there is a piece focusing on The Association of Music Entrepreneurs in Barbados and their efforts to support local musicians in light of the global recession impacting international bookings and performance revenues. The organization aims to promote and export local music, with plans to showcase Barbadian talent at events like The National Association For Campus Activities marketplace to attract new markets for local artists.

These articles provide insights into different facets of the music industry in Barbados, from events and performances to concerns about piracy and the promotion of local talent.

14. Grantley Dobayan Avatar
    Grantley Dobayan

The implosion of the DLP occured immediately after the 2018 election, and they have never recovered.
    The silence and failure to address issues which led to the 2018 electoral devastation, remains. The belief of many “we can’t be that bad” was resoundingly echoed a few years later, just for confirmation.
    “We en need nuhbuddy help, we good” continues to separate those members pre 2018, with those post 2018.
    The opposing Big Red bag has never required opening. Implosion creates a larger crater than anything it can supply.
    Now the two most visible DLP positions, are held by persons who in 2018 were BLP members. Even those newer members who didn’t hold previous party affiliation are shunned. If fact, anybody who suggests anything about addressing party failures is rejected. Cause “we ain’t that bad”. You can’t be one ah we?
    The floors in George St are so splintered, walking in anything but hard soled shoes can cause injury.
    Would the leader please identify yourself?

15. Hamilton Alexander Hill Avatar
    Hamilton Alexander Hill

There’s the midas touch and then there’s the hand of Steve Blackett, the hand responsible for the emergence on a political platform of the gift that kept on giving ,namely Freundel Stuart. ” Ten Glorious Years”. Hal and that bunch that seem to be steeped in obstinance can continue to promote pompous Steve as a major face of the their franchise. The Dems popularity and credibility will continue to melt and dissipate faster than a snowball sold by Grandpa Blackett back in the day. Longevity doesn’t necessarily equal credibility, a lesson the Dems’ old guard would do well to accept as fact.

16. barbados > ask

Barbados is facing economic challenges with rising inflation impacting the cost of living, particularly as the holiday season approaches. The government’s efforts to reduce prices on certain items have faced setbacks as businesses did not adhere to the agreed pricing protocols. Despite record levels of tax revenue, the high cost of living has put pressure on residents’ finances, leading to concerns about affordability. The historical context of Barbados is also significant, with a history of poverty and social reforms aimed at improving living standards for the population.

Additionally, Barbados is known for its picturesque beaches, such as Crane Beach which has been ranked as one of the world’s best beach getaways. The island offers a mix of calm waters on the west coast and surfable waves on the east coast, providing options for all beach lovers. Beyond the beaches, visitors can enjoy activities like rum plantations tours and exploring natural wonders like Harrison’s Cave. The island’s colonial heritage and British influence add a unique charm to the cultural experience in Barbados.

Overall, while Barbados has a rich history and natural beauty that attracts visitors, the current economic challenges reflect a complex situation that requires attention and strategic solutions to support the well-being of its residents.

Additional resources:

Alternate Views – Put Barbados first

Well Done Barbados
    Barbados in the BIG Picture
    Barbados – Detroit
    Review of Fuel Prices In Barbados for 2018

17. RE: Awaiting Mia’s Next Move
    DLP are heading towards self destruction
    it’s the same old story which never ends in glory
    it only leads to another dance story
    call it “the black man’s curse”

why is supporting BLP not allowed?

18. No words.

“ Thorne calls for DLP unity to fight ‘enemy’
    Democratic Labour Party political leader Ralph Thorne has urged the opposition party to unify in order to “rescue poor people from an oppressive” government.
    The unity plea came as talk of a party divide surfaced yet again with the emergence of a viral video on social media.
    Speaking Sunday night at a DLP St Peter branch meeting, Thorne told Dems that it was time to focus their energies and efforts on saving the country from the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) administration, referring to the government he was a member of until last month as an “enemy”.
    Now opposition leader after an abrupt crossing of the floor of the House of Assembly last month, the Christ Church South MP told a packed meeting at the All Saints Centre, Mile and a Quarter, St Peter, that supporters must act in defence of the people.
    He said: “There is an enemy lurking in the halls of government. It has to be our mission to remove that enemy from places of power.
    They only understand power but they don’t understand the word responsibility. The government has a responsibility to protect the most vulnerable, not to protect the rich alone.
    This is not a government that is compassionate.
    “Let us not do it in defence of low office in this party. Let us not do it in defence of low office in this party. Let us do it in defence of the people of this country. It is our duty to the people of this country.”
    Thorne encouraged both supporters of himself and DLP President Dr Ronnie Yearwood to work hand in hand.
    “Don’t come to me about fractions. Don’t come to me about old guard and new guard.
    Come to me and tell me we are taking fresh guard. Wherever the fractions reside, there is a wicked government in place. Wherever the fractions meet when they come out of those meetings, there is a government that is oppressing the people of this country. It must be our mission to rescue the people of this country,” he said.
    The opposition leader charged that millions of dollars are being spent annually on wasted trips while Bajans are suffering.
    “I want to raise my voice in defence of the poor people of this country. Thousands of them were sent home and the money that could have paid them is paying the airlines. It is paying consultants, some of them making as much as $15 000 and $20 000 a month.
    “Do you have a voice in defence of the poor people in this country? Do you put a child to bed at night hungry? Are you the parents of one of those children who go to school and fall asleep at 10 o’clock because they are hungry? Bright children who are not being given a chance like the children of those who literally fly high.”
    Thorne punctuated his remarks by acknowledging the presence of key members of the party and repeatedly urging them to work as a unit.
    The comments follow indications of persisting party fracture at the highest levels of the party, which has returned to the House of Assembly after two general election defeats that locked them out of Parliament.
    In a viral video that surfaced over the weekend, DLP member Paul Gibson was trying to speak to General Secretary Steve Blackett.
    In the under three-minute video, Gibson said the president had directed him to speak to Blackett. Repeated attempts by Gibson to speak to Blackett proved futile as he was not acknowledged.
    Gibson addressed the video at the meeting, saying that in many ways, he regrets doing the recording which was created months ago.
    At Thorne’s invitation, Pastor David Durant called on key members of the party in a prayer for healing and unity. He also asked that there be no disrespect shown to either leader.
    Former agriculture minister and DLP candidate for St Peter, Haynesley Benn told an emotional gathering that it was now time to move forward.
    “If we can swallow our pride and hold hands and go forward we can make it. I want you to come with me out of the past called yesterday and walk with me to the future. Tomorrow is waiting, let us journey there together.”
    The other speaker for the night was Kemar Stuart. The meeting was attended by present and past officers and candidates: Senator Ryan Walters, Yearwood, Blackett, Neil Marshall, Pedro Shepherd, Walter Maloney, James Paul and Randall Rouse, Felicia Dujon and Tyra Trotman. (IMC)”

19. David Bu
    Nothing surprising about this scenario by the dems.All the pretense of talking about unity it is clear to a blind man that they are factions in the DLP.There is the old guard most of whom appear to be anti Dr Yearwood and then the ones who support Dr Yearwood.If they cannot settle on a leader how can they lead a country with all of its problems?
    On another note heard host Barry Wilkinson who i am convinced is a dem with his in my view bosom buddy Dr Yearwood getting the opportunity to talk his in my view bunch of nonsence.Added to this the usual dems like rawle talking nonsenseabout mayhem in Barbados and the government unpopular without being chslleged to produce the evidence by Mr Wilkinson.However when a caller called in support of the government Mr Wilkinson wants to question him talking about balance.Realy? Where is the balance when Rawle,Alvin,Strakers,Ms decided are speaking Mr Wilkinson?The same applies to Mr Ellis and Dr Hinds and Mr Blackman.There is little or no balance on Brasstacks anymore.It seems to me in my view all of these moderators except Tahir comes to Brasstacks with a political agenda.Igone.