Minister of Education Kay McConney

The latest in the world of local politics has been the announcement by Prime Minister Mottley of a Cabinet reshuffle that includes the deployment of MP for the City Corey Layne to the Attorney General’s office. Minister of Education Kay McConney continues to enjoy the confidence of the Prime Minister at a time there is public dissatisfaction directed at the Ministry of Education over the IDB Survey. 

Before the news of the reshuffle the blogmaster intended to share a thought about the political chaos unfolding in the UK. Particularly the fact members of the cabinet and prime ministers have been routinely resigning. The UK will have 5 prime ministers in a 6 year period with the recent resignation of the Prime Minister Liz Truss holding that office for 44 days. 

The way politics is practiced in Britain ministers of government will resign if thought to be failing by civil society or fired by the Prime Minister and if backing is withdrawn by the Parliamentary Group. Although Barbados is promoted as borrowing from the Westminster system of government practiced by Britain, ministers here rarely if ever resign from Cabinet. Case in point, Kay McConney. The IDB Survey fiasco exposed a flawed process governing how the survey was administered to 11 year olds. The Chief Education Officer and Minister of Education admitted mistakes were made. More importantly, parents and citizens weeks later continue to register concerns via social and traditional media – even protest on the streets albeit not in sufficient numbers. However public calls for disciplinary action to be taken continue to be ignored by Prime Minister Mottley.

Not too long ago when a Mottley lead Barbados Labour Party was elected, she promised Barbadians her government would have been transparent managing the affairs of state and members of her Cabinet held to account. It is obvious from the reshuffle Prime Minister Mottley intends to ignore the concerns of Barbadians regarding the embarrassingly flawed execution of the IDB Survey to our children. The blogmaster suspects there will be a political price her government will have to pay for the decision.

Of interest to political pundits was her replacement of low energy member of parliament for St. Michael North West Neil Rowe. In the last 48 hours news about alleged ungentlemanly conduct by the MP has been shared in the social media space. Is the sacking of Rowe confirmation there is currency to what the man has been accused? If what is being shared is correct- the blogmaster has not heard of a denial from the MP up to cobbling this blog- then a question has to be asked, answered and addressed – has Barbados become a ghetto country?

226 responses to “Minister of Education McConney Survives Cabinet Reshuffle”

1. 🌍 Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol [[[ONE LOVE ONE WORLD ♡ ♥ 💕 ❤ 😘 🌍]]] Avatar
    🌍 Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol [[[ONE LOVE ONE WORLD ♡ ♥ 💕 ❤ 😘 🌍]]]

This is a new page
    Hooray!
    This comment is at the bottom of the page
    Boo!

Regardless of your political leaning, you have to admire a leader who won 2 landslides with opposition getting 0 seats.
    Mia said she will not be running again, so is thinking about her legacy and setting up the party to have a new leader in the next 4 years.

2. I forgot to add that 2 x 30-0 wins is more a reflection of the voting public

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…why is there this big confusion about a deputy speaker has to resign before a new one can take their place, to sweeten the pot, them seh dis speaker seh…he int no resigning…and den dem quoting a law that says the governor general has to choose a new speaker….so why we still hearing bout some nonexistent GG while dem modeling as RoB.

that one should perk you up tomorrow….it will be a long day…..i need a break, too much drama, will check in late morning…

4. Curious
    I have seen links to
    Barbadostoday
    The Nation
    Loopnews
    and a variety of other Barbados site.
    Always missing is the Advocate
    Wha going on dey?

5. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

UPDATED: and den dem quoting a law that says the non-existent governor general has to give permission in the choosing of a new deputy speaker.

dah is wuh happen wen ya RUN FRAUD on the public and believe ya being SLICK…

grave stone sign….here lies slick…

6. To the BU intelligentsia, go sit in the Civics classes being taught in primary schools instead of further confirming what people already know about wunna. #wrong&strong

7. “The Attorney General is responsible for law and order. This means the prevention of crime is a very hefty part of his ministerial responsibilities. How is it possible that an Attorney General has his portfolio slashed almost in half and will now find himself literally having to answer another member of cabinet on matters relating to a substantial part of his portfolio.”

Does the author of the above care to tell us what duties have been assigned to Mr.Layne as Minister of State for Crime Prevention? What is the role of Senior Minister/AG in relation to a Minister of State i.e. who in charge of who? This is what passes for intellectual discussion on BU? 🤣🤣🤣

8. 3/4
    My thoughts on the cabinet reshuffle
    You (not me) will be duped again

9. https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/10/26/severe-deficits/

Are we focusing on the wrong things? You can call it anything you want 11+, ‘screaming test’, ‘academies of excellence” and ‘junior academies’ but if you feed in students with the same shocking deficiencies, we are just failing parents and students.

Focus on the bread and butter issues, the things that matter..

From BT
    “President of the union Rudy Lovell told Barbados TODAY that there was a “vast” number of students entering secondary school with “shocking” deficiencies, including inability to spell their names and even form letters properly.

President of the union Rudy Lovell told Barbados TODAY that there was a “vast” number of students entering secondary school with “shocking” deficiencies, including inability to spell their names and even form letters properly.

And he insisted that the Ministry of Education should seek to fix these issues before changing the method used to transition students from primary to secondary school.”

10. The BUT President don’t seem to be too sharp. Firstly, who teaching these children that at 11 are unable to do what he’s saying? Not his members? Secondly, aren’t these children entering via the 11+ and therefore it would be sensible to revamp the entry process? Thirdly, who says the junior academies won’t be structured to include remedial classes? Fourthly, is reform just about temoving the 11+ or just part of a comprehensive programme? What does it take to head some ah these unions tho? The depth of thought from too many of them is as deep as a teaspoon. 🤣🤣

11. @enuff
    Can see that you struggle to the right thing, but that is after you have donned your party boots, which influences your actions.
    “The BUT President don’t seem to be too sharp. Firstly, who teaching these children that at 11 are unable to do what he’s saying? Not his members”

Should he therefore keep quiet, because it is union members doing the bulk of the teaching?

Didn’t you see this sentence
    “And he insisted that the Ministry of Education should seek to fix these issues before changing the method used to transition students from primary to secondary school”

or this one
    ““.Focus on the primary schools first, resolve the issues in the primary school and then we can look to implement anything after that . . . . When you are building a house you start with the foundation. We believe that the primary school system is the foundation of education in Barbados. So, if you want to strengthen the house, you should start by strengthening the foundation so there are no cracks,” the union leader said.

Please read to understand and not to respond (Do you remember that gem of a phrase?)

12. Theo
    I read to understand and I sticking to my point-,as much depth as a teaspoon. For example, “focus on the primary schools first”. The 11+ is where, UWI? May be you need to stop looking at me and focus on the party boot wearer looking back at you in the mirror. I said what I said. Wuh I ain’t the first BUer to say so bout union leaders in Bim. Rest muh do!

13. I see that you read to understand, but understanding in not one of your strengths.

“For example, “focus on the primary schools first”. The 11+ is where, UWI?”

You missed the point completely. What the union leader is saying is this… It is good to have all these downstream plans, but before we go there let us fix the source. Let us make our primary schools stronger so that children can write their names or even letters of the alphabet. Then we can implement these ideas

You are not going to say it, but I will still reply.

You are welcome. 😁

14. https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/10/27/best-men/I read the article. From what I read a bread-and-butter guy.
    Given the opportunity and space, he should perform. Hope he was not planted there to cover-up Dale’s incompetence Hope Dale Marshal has the sense to keep on doing what he is doing (nothing) and let the young man cobtribute.

TheO’s vote (currently) Corey Lane 👍 (subject to change)

15. 4/4
    epaper BT _good reading
    page 26/47 – Assets going one by one
    **Read it and weep

page 27/48 – Not Chilling with Laurie —
    ** I’ve always like Ralph Jemmott. Read and see why. At least he didn’t call it BS, but he cuts through. whatever it is.

page37/47 US$43M. IDB loan builds 4 schools + more… That’s in Guyana
    **an interesting approach. IDB starts to repair the damage to regional reputation by loaning Guyana a little money. Then they will give Barbados a few measly dollars and we forget that we have children.

This is a tough one and it actually hurts me to write it.
    40/47. No confidence. Barbados Table Tennis clubs want to see their sport’s administrators gone
    ** To be fair. I did not read the article. But I see people wanting changes in cricket, soccer and now in the BTTA.
    If I search, I am certain i can find other sport areas with disgruntled people. Perhaps, it is not the coaches or administrators, but just that our sportsmen/women are not good enough. What do you think?

16. From BT
    “President of the union Rudy Lovell told Barbados TODAY that there was a “vast” number of students entering secondary school with “shocking” deficiencies, including inability to spell their names and even form letters properly.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

THIS MEANS MANY TEACHERS HAVE BEEN SCAMMING THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION AT THE DETRIMENT OF THE YOUNGSTERS.

WHEN IT RAINS ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND IT POURS FOR THE BLACK AGAINST BLACK DEPRIVATION AND CRIME.

17. William Skinner Avatar

@ Baje
    No teachers were not “ scamming” the ministry . This is a result of not putting the required interest in the primary school education system. This news is nothing new, but it has been swept under the carpet for donkey years.
    Since the mid- seventies, the BUT has been asking to do more diagnostic assessments testing to identify students’ weaknesses to determine deficiencies that may be impeding their progress but nothing was really done.

18. @ Baje
    No teachers were not “ scamming” the ministry . This is a result of not putting the required interest in the primary school education system. This news is nothing new, but it has been swept under the carpet for donkey years.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

I RESPECTFULLY BEG TO DIFFER SINCE I HAVE TAUGHT MYSELF HOWEVER AT A HIGHER LEVEL.

THESE STUDENTS OVER THE YEARS WOULD HAVE PASSED THROUGH SEVERAL HANDS PRIMARILY BEING THE TEACHERS WHOSE JOB WAS TO GET THEM ABLE TO DO THE BASICS OF READING AND WRITING.

THEY FAILED MANY STUDENTS WHO HAVE FELL THROUGH THE CRACKS WITH MANY LATER BECOMING SOCIETY’S PROBLEMS. THEY SHOWED UP AND COLLECTED FREE MONEY WITH NO PRIDE, CARE OR CONCERN OF GETTING THE RESULTS FOR WHICH THEY WERE PAID TO DO.

SO, THESE SAME TEACHERS SCAMMED THE SYSTEM AND ROB THOSE CHILDREN OF A BRIGHTER FUTURE AND THE LOCAL SOCIETY AS A WHOLE.

YES, THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION WHO HEADS IT ALL ALSO FAILED THE SAME STUDENTS.

HOWEVER MAINLY THE TEACHERS THEY PASSED THROUGH HAD TO KNOW THAT THEY WERE FAILING TO DELIVER WHAT THEY WERE PAID TO DO.

I HAVE A SISTER ON THE 2X3 ISLAND WHO IS A SPECIAL ED TEACHER IN THE SYSTEM WITH A DEGREE FROM A CHICAGO UNIVERSITY I CAN ASSURE YOU KNOWING HER NO STUDENT UNDER HER TUTELAGE FELL THROUGH THE CRACKS BECAUSE SHE HAS PRIDE AND CARE FOR THE RESULTS OF HER LABOUR PAID FOR THROUGH THE SAME MINISTRY OF EDUCATION.

19. Anyone else having problems reading BU on their phone? Are they due to the recent tweaks/fixed?

I suspect the old format had all the bugs ironed out and then changes were made. If it isn’t broken, don’t fix it.

20. TheOGazerts,

There is a problem even on my 15″ laptop screen.

21. Problem solved.

22. The Ministry of Education, Technological and Vocational Training (METVT) has advised that there will be no school on Thursday, November 3 and Friday, November 4, as there is a scheduled a midterm break for teachers and students.

School will resume on Monday, November 7

23. https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/11/02/old-and-outdated/

Is it possible that this questionnaire is just a symptom of the problems with what we call primary school education. It is interesting to note that BUT is floating out a number of important issues after news of this questionable questionnaire broke.

Perhaps one of the problems with our system is that people speak until they get what they want. When that happens, they pull up the stakes of their tents and move on even if the problem remains unsolved.

‘Relief’ not ‘solutions’ is our maxim.