Minister of Education Kay McConney

The latest in the world of local politics has been the announcement by Prime Minister Mottley of a Cabinet reshuffle that includes the deployment of MP for the City Corey Layne to the Attorney General’s office. Minister of Education Kay McConney continues to enjoy the confidence of the Prime Minister at a time there is public dissatisfaction directed at the Ministry of Education over the IDB Survey. 

Before the news of the reshuffle the blogmaster intended to share a thought about the political chaos unfolding in the UK. Particularly the fact members of the cabinet and prime ministers have been routinely resigning. The UK will have 5 prime ministers in a 6 year period with the recent resignation of the Prime Minister Liz Truss holding that office for 44 days. 

The way politics is practiced in Britain ministers of government will resign if thought to be failing by civil society or fired by the Prime Minister and if backing is withdrawn by the Parliamentary Group. Although Barbados is promoted as borrowing from the Westminster system of government practiced by Britain, ministers here rarely if ever resign from Cabinet. Case in point, Kay McConney. The IDB Survey fiasco exposed a flawed process governing how the survey was administered to 11 year olds. The Chief Education Officer and Minister of Education admitted mistakes were made. More importantly, parents and citizens weeks later continue to register concerns via social and traditional media – even protest on the streets albeit not in sufficient numbers. However public calls for disciplinary action to be taken continue to be ignored by Prime Minister Mottley.

Not too long ago when a Mottley lead Barbados Labour Party was elected, she promised Barbadians her government would have been transparent managing the affairs of state and members of her Cabinet held to account. It is obvious from the reshuffle Prime Minister Mottley intends to ignore the concerns of Barbadians regarding the embarrassingly flawed execution of the IDB Survey to our children. The blogmaster suspects there will be a political price her government will have to pay for the decision.

Of interest to political pundits was her replacement of low energy member of parliament for St. Michael North West Neil Rowe. In the last 48 hours news about alleged ungentlemanly conduct by the MP has been shared in the social media space. Is the sacking of Rowe confirmation there is currency to what the man has been accused? If what is being shared is correct- the blogmaster has not heard of a denial from the MP up to cobbling this blog- then a question has to be asked, answered and addressed – has Barbados become a ghetto country?

226 responses to “Minister of Education McConney Survives Cabinet Reshuffle”

1. @ Artax,

David is extremely tolerant of bloggers who hog BU. He also forgives those who insult him.

2. “the 2-second distraction/rape accusation was a talking point for the whole of last week on 3 or 4 other platforms…..it’s dead and gone…it was already beaten to death by the time anything was done about the accused yesterday…..”

Bajans have got their values ass backwards again
    ranting about a questionnaire to identify sexual abuse
    and ignoring a real case of sexual abuse

3. “the 2-second distraction/rape accusation was a talking point for the whole of last week on 3 or 4 other platforms…..it’s dead and gone…it was already beaten to death by the time anything was done about the accused yesterday….”

crowds got their values ass backwards again
    A Questionnaire to identify sexual abuse
    is more important than
    an alleged case of real sexual abuse

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

People are sharing this like there is no tomorrow…..lawd…

“ROWE A WINNER SAYS MIA – Neil Rowe will defy all odds and take down incumbent Chris Sinckler in the St Michael North West when the elections are called. This was the rallying cry from his mates in the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) at the launch of his constituency office in Deacons, St Michael, last Saturday evening. Joe Atherley, the BLP St Michael West candidate, said he was confident that Rowe had what it took to bring home the prize. Party leader Mia Mottley, who declared the office open, said she too believed he had the constituency in hand. Stating that Rowe was the opposite of Sinckler in just about every aspect, Mottley said the BLP hopeful had brought a caring to the campaign that was “unique, special and sincere”, and had what the people wanted. Dr Clyde Mascoll, the BLP’s economic advisor, said Sinckler was a “square peg in a round hole” and Rowe was ideal to challenge him because he was the exact opposite to the incumbent. Mascoll’s diagnosis was that Barbados was “comatose” and just surviving. He urged voters to put the country first and understand that its future was in their hands. (DN)”

5. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Hants….no insult was intended…..this information was shared EVERYWHERE LAST WEEK, the WHOLE CLAIM is online, i did not look to see if it was on BU, only on two threads for the last couple days, and did not see it mentioned even once till some people were throwing out questions about it and blog admin was playing coy…or shy or whatever, but just from the comments it was clear no information on this was sent to the blog for whatever reason..and am sure blog admin goes on other sites just like anyone who has a social media presence does…it was difficult to miss…and came WITH SUCH GREAT TERRIFYING DETAILS………since it generated so much interest but not enuff to deter from the human rights violations of children and their parents….thankfully.

it can still be beaten to death, but it’s hours away from being sub judice, so what’s the point, that should have happened last week when it was the 2nd lead story….now it will just slide down the chain of interest, as the first time in 100 years they actually saw it fit to punish one of their own for anything…

6. A short note:
    To whom it may concern
    There is a trait of my countryman that I find disconcerting. They know that an orange is spherical, but if someone with an advanced degree or in authority tell them otherwise they would start to discuss the shape of the orange. They do not realize that when it come to the shape of an orange, an idiot may just be as knowledgeable as a scientist. Facts carry no pedigree.

To an objective person, the same comments cannot be BS and pure gold at the same time.. Hero-worship after the age of 50 is puerile.

7. True dat Theo! Say it louder for those in the back.🤣🤣

8. Johnson pulls out as he is wrong
    and when you are wrong
    you are really really wrong

9. Firstly, I seem to move in the wrong circles as information about this rape was news to me.

It boggles the mind to see that some consider the changing of the deck chairs and the charges for rape as two independent events. Here, Mia is attempting to kill two stories (the rape and the abuse of children) by creating another story based on using musical chairs.

Now, We are being urged to review resumes and of the wealth of experience these ministers have in their newly appointed areas. Only an incompetent manager would take five or more years to find the right people for different positions. Yet, we are not certain that she has found the correct formula as rotating the deck chairs appears to be nothing more than a distraction or attempted cover-up.

Mia’s lame PR response to the outright failure of her appointees is being touted as making the team more efficient, Almost five years of unbridle power, two elections that decimated the opposing party, dozen of highly paid consultants and Mia’s touch still appears to be. a blight upon the land.

The worse part of her speech at the spectacle was when she pointed out that many hands make light work. I cannot recall her exact example but it was as trivial as having additional persons to turn on a light. I did not find it funny or illuminating.

10. worst

11. breaking news: newly received information about an event that is currently occurring or developing.

I have difficulty with people breaking new on BU after it becomes available on BU. You cannot break it here after everyone here knows.

12. Theo
    Oh shiiite the ink ain’t dry yet on your 5:07 pm contribution and you’re contradicting yourself. Yuh throw FACTS out de window?🤣🤣

13. By the way: Hu Jintao reminds me a lot of OSA. He was also an old, stubborn statesman who did not want to embrace the New Order and the Supreme Leader.

14. Some rambling thoughts

I am having trouble keeping up with the news. We seem to limp from one crisis to two more.

Yesterday it was about the children. Today it is about MPs.

It would appear that we cannot get to the bottom of one story before two others starts.

The fancy footwork, the oratory skills and the political smarts held me entranced for quite some time. But being a meat and potato man, I have reached the point of asking “Where’s the beef?’ There is no beef.

Do you know that you can explain the lack of genuine output from the “many hands” using mathematics? It might take a while to figure this out, but take many zeros (0) and add them all together and tell me what you get.

It is time we move beyond ‘light work’ and start doing the much needed heavy lifting.

15. @enuff
    Are you my new pen pal?
    You have not yet provided us with the following facts: Name/Age/Sex?

16. Enuff do not take Gazzerts to seriously , we know he is the blog comedian.He brought up domething that was said in 2018 concerning Mr Rowe from Ms Mottley.All Ms Mottley and others were doing was endorcing Mr Rowe as the man to beat Mr Sinckler.All leaders do this so that is a non point.How old is Mr Rowe? Is he under 18?I thought he was in his forties.In other words, a big hard back man responsible for his own actions.How is Ms Mottley responsible for his actions?This makes no sense.
    As far as the reshuffle is concern, I have no issues with it especially with replacing Ms Cummins with Mr Gooding_ Edghill as he has worked in that area for years.His replacement in health Mr Walcott is an experieced doctor who i believe was there before so another good choice.My only issue is that i would have replaced Ms McConney as education minister but that is the PM ,s call..Lastly i heard Dr Yearwood saying some nonsense about all the ministers do not add up to one.This is halarious from a leader of a party who got red washed not once but twice and have no voice in the house of assembly.The same man who ran in a face off with Ms Husbands and lost and jumped ship to team up with the dems.Unbelievable.I think Dr Yearwood needs to engage his brain before he speaks in public in my view as he makes himself look even worse than the political nightwatchman he replaced.We all know what happened to her followed by her sudden resignation.I gone.

17. Theo
    Providing my age sex and name would not allow you to tief my identity, just know who I am. But doing so would make the blog boring for me, as I do like the mischaracterisations many like you so often attribute to me. You get up good.

18. The0

When u add them together we get ur party

19. The 3 problems or challenges in life
    which are universal and personal
    for which there is no cure
    and no solution
    except for finding a way to work with the problem
    for resolution

(1) Busyness of our minds
    (2) Discomfort of the body
    (3a) Dreams wishes intentions and the gap with reality
    we are experiencing the gap and not real life
    we are somewhere between the wish and reality
    we are not truly experiencing the wish or intention
    we are not truly experiencing the reality

(3b) Another way of understanding the third problem
    is the challenge of desire
    and there are many desires
    we don’t know what to do with our desire
    and more desires keep coming

20. @ Hants

The message was clear. The lady essentially implied BU is a ‘waste of time’…… something she has MENTIONED on SEVERAL OCCASIONS.

I believe people SHOULDN’T use David’s high level of tolerance and that he’s a forgiving guy, as an excuse to misuse BU for their own selfish reasons, or unnecessarily criticise the forum and its contributors.
    And, although many of us may disagree with his opinions from time to time, we must admit the blogmaster isn’t irresponsible in his management of the blog.

Contrary to what the lady ‘said,’ I’ve read comments in which David made references to the allegations against Neil Rowe.
    OBVIOUSLY, people and other social media platforms would’ve SHARED that information with BU.

But, because David isn’t quick to post unsubstantiated information to BU and then comment thereon as though it’s FACT, similarly to sites such as ‘Naked Departure,’ isn’t reason enough to accuse the blog of not being “interested in educating the people about what is REALLY HAPPENING on the island and elsewehere….”

Now the news has been verified, I’m sure the blogmaster will post articles appearing in the media, to this forum.

21. Wow….. seems as though ‘The O Guy’ has essentially TOOK OVER from AC…… but, with a bit MORE REGULARITY.

So, REGULAR that, if he begins to post irrelevant YouTube videos and continually repeats words such as ‘scams, imps, pimps, slaves, 100 years and white minorities,’ I wouldn’t only ask if he’s somking strong ‘Vincy or Jamaican gold,’ but, may have to join Enuff in calling him ‘Salamite’ as well.

🤣🤣🤣

22. A film made by Michelle and Barack Obama’s Production Company now on Netflix
    Descendants
    Talks about a slave ship of Africans illegally brought into America after slavery was abolished as a bet
    who set up an African Community and taught those who were born as slaves about their culture through word of mouth stories that were kept a secret for 100 years as they would have been lynched for telling their truth

23. @ Artaxerxes,

If I were Blogmaster I would be nicknamed the Banmaster and the blog would probably be a failure. lol

24. What now?

25. Yes, I have been too busy on BU. Five days of not having to go anywhere or to do anything is the reason.

Operation ‘less is more’ has started.

26. Hants, I understand what you’ve ‘said,’ but, let’s be clear that I am NOT in anyway suggesting or recommending the banning of any person from contributing to BU.

27. Let us try to comment on the issues.

28. William Skinner Avatar

Now Mottley sounds just like Stuart when Stuart advised Carrington to get a lawyer. As she implied : we are a family.
    For years the political clowns were told that from Carrington to Rowe ; from Greenland to Cahill, it is family all yuh dealing wid but wunnuh choose to cuss and berate people. Now wunnuh ain’t got nuh place to hide or nuh names to hide behind.
    Where isMark Stokes……who kill Pele ?
    Drip………drip…….. drip……
    More to come

29. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

So here is wha a gwaan, the people have DECIDED what they will do about all of these anti-Afrikan CRIMES against themselves and their children going forward……and they KNOW it’s all coming from the Slave master parliament……..they can see very clearly that they are in GRAVE DANGER….

30. William Skinner Avatar

“ a big hardback man is responsible for his own actions”( Author Unknown)
    And so was Carrington.
    Stuart was not responsible for Carrington and Mottley is not responsible for Rowe.
    Drip……drip…..drip……….
    More to come

31. William Skinner Avatar

There was also a “same” man who led the DLP in a general election ; spent twenty years criticizing the economic policy of the BLP and even brought a no confidence motion against the BLP. He subsequently ran on a BLP ticket and is now a senior adviser to the BLP.
    From Mascoll to Yearwood via Lashley, Kerri , Grant and countless others , even Barrow , it’s the same party.
    Drip……drip….. drip……
    More to come

32. Carrington was found guilty

Row is only accused at this point

33. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…am more than happy to break the good news to them…..

the cover-up is OVER

the sleight of hand,

lying,

deceiving,

tricking to implement the nasty agendas of others against Afrikans when no one is paying attention, are ALL over…

34. Skinner trust you to make foolish comparisons.The difference is Mr Carrington was found guilty of withholding the old man’s money and ordered to pay the man.In Mr Rowe’ s case he has been charged but not at this point found guilty of anything.Mr Stuart did not remove him but advised him apparently to get a lawyer.On the other hand Ms Mottley removed Mr Rowe from his position while stating to let the law take its course.Two completely different actions taken if you take off your dem blinkers.I gone.

35. “He brought up domething that was said in 2018 concerning Mr Rowe from Ms Mottley.All Ms Mottley and others were doing was endorcing Mr Rowe as the man to beat Mr Sinckler.”

I think you attributed something to me, but I don’t have a clue what you are talking about. I do not travel with BLP/DLP history. That red bag is empty.

My focus is only on current scams./misdeeds. Almost anything before 2022 is blank and that is without the use of good stuff. Was considering adding ‘imps, pimps, slaves, 100 years and white minorities’ but changed my mind.

36. Killing false narratives daily operation
    A test given to Jamaica and other Caribbean countries implies it was not Barbados Government at fault.
    IDB are always providing reports and surveys for Latin America Caribbean.
    BLP reshuffling cabinet has nothing to do with the test.

37. A Q for the BU straights
    Q: Why do boring squares talks about herb like smart asses

fucking wankers

38. And where did the NDP came from? Same party !

39. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I surely won’t want to be as famous as none of them are right now, that’s for sure….worldwide, world stage famous…….

they may as well hang up their judas traitor gloves, they are worn and torn..

..cause they certainly DO NOT WANT TO FACE WHO HAS ENTERED THE RING..

40. Taking back lyrics from corny motherfuckers

10:15 Saturday Night / The Cure
    Saturday night
    And the tap drips
    Under the strip light
    And I’m sitting
    In the kitchen sink
    And the tap drips
    Drip drip drip drip drip drip drip drip

Waiting
    Waiting
    For the telephone to ring
    And I’m wondering
    Where she’s been
    And I’m crying
    For yesterday
    And the tap drips

It’s always the same

Warning
    Skip video below instead of moaning again about relevance or lack of thereof
    The Living End – 10.15 Saturday Night

41. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Mr Blogmaster , on its face this remark is very compelling re “Mr Stuart did not remove him but advised him apparently to get a lawyer. On the other hand Ms Mottley removed Mr Rowe from his position while stating to let the law take its course”

Eather cute … but a little deeper review shows that in fact Mottley’s reaction is rather self serving and lacks the supposed high integrity which she pretends is directing her actions…

1) Despite the disturbing charge of rape, this man has not been convicted of anything. God forbid for example that evidence is presented at trial to show a different set of facts related to the events!

And more damning …. 2) Ms Mottley also REFUSED to act in a case where one of her minister was clearly shown to have breached many legal boundaries related to the Data Protection Act and showed similar callous disregard (much greater, really) for humanity diginity re that IDB sponsored survey.

On a scale between the judgement against Carrington and the charge against Rowe is marked in bold the very evident actual ‘rape’ of trust, legality and reason of over 700 Bajan familes and yet MAM refused to act.

So as much as I honour the pain of this rape victim it’s amusing (sarcastically so) that our PM could attempt to clumsily deflect with this piece of PR … Anyone (other than party supporters) who buys it must be just as clueless as Stuart!

‘What a damnable place’, is how the griot would label it!

42. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Ooops … Echoing that very old ‘Yellow Pages’ advertising tag line … ‘my fingers did not walk very well‘ in that earlier post…

Excuse the too many typos/omissions!

43. Seems ridiculous to speak about applying “family” values when faced with an adult accused of rape and whatever else.

When faced with what recently happened with young children all we got is evasion.

Seems to me that is where family values apply, not with the adult who is allowed to act alone and bear the consequences.

44. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Seems to me that is where family values apply, not with the adult who is allowed to act alone and bear the consequences. When faced with what recently happened with young children all we got is evasion.”

no respect
    no ethics
    no morals
    no integrity
    no principles

ya cahn wring blood from stone.

45. @Dee Word

What is the value of debating if one sun is bigger than the other?

46. In politics they say your last mistake is always remembered the most
    the good work someone does gets overlooked
    plans made do get seen through to completion with limited time in office

47. Hope wunna listening to Brasstacks.

David Ellis vex bout leaks.

48. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

One of the COVER UPS from September to October is being exposed…..they deserve everything that’s fall down on their heads….apparently they got more coming…DUCK….

49. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, maybe so … but it seems as if MAM and her fans would have us believe that her planet revoles around the sun called Integrity.

It certainly does not of course.

50. “but it seems as if MAM and her fans would have us believe that her planet revoles around the sun called Integrity.”

I don’t see any corruption except for some hardball politics

winning 30-0 x 2 seems to have silenced opposition like a dominatrix