The latest in the world of local politics has been the announcement by Prime Minister Mottley of a Cabinet reshuffle that includes the deployment of MP for the City Corey Layne to the Attorney General’s office. Minister of Education Kay McConney continues to enjoy the confidence of the Prime Minister at a time there is public dissatisfaction directed at the Ministry of Education over the IDB Survey.
Before the news of the reshuffle the blogmaster intended to share a thought about the political chaos unfolding in the UK. Particularly the fact members of the cabinet and prime ministers have been routinely resigning. The UK will have 5 prime ministers in a 6 year period with the recent resignation of the Prime Minister Liz Truss holding that office for 44 days.
The way politics is practiced in Britain ministers of government will resign if thought to be failing by civil society or fired by the Prime Minister and if backing is withdrawn by the Parliamentary Group. Although Barbados is promoted as borrowing from the Westminster system of government practiced by Britain, ministers here rarely if ever resign from Cabinet. Case in point, Kay McConney. The IDB Survey fiasco exposed a flawed process governing how the survey was administered to 11 year olds. The Chief Education Officer and Minister of Education admitted mistakes were made. More importantly, parents and citizens weeks later continue to register concerns via social and traditional media – even protest on the streets albeit not in sufficient numbers. However public calls for disciplinary action to be taken continue to be ignored by Prime Minister Mottley.
Not too long ago when a Mottley lead Barbados Labour Party was elected, she promised Barbadians her government would have been transparent managing the affairs of state and members of her Cabinet held to account. It is obvious from the reshuffle Prime Minister Mottley intends to ignore the concerns of Barbadians regarding the embarrassingly flawed execution of the IDB Survey to our children. The blogmaster suspects there will be a political price her government will have to pay for the decision.
Of interest to political pundits was her replacement of low energy member of parliament for St. Michael North West Neil Rowe. In the last 48 hours news about alleged ungentlemanly conduct by the MP has been shared in the social media space. Is the sacking of Rowe confirmation there is currency to what the man has been accused? If what is being shared is correct- the blogmaster has not heard of a denial from the MP up to cobbling this blog- then a question has to be asked, answered and addressed – has Barbados become a ghetto country?
The PM’s excuse (I call it like I see it) for placing Cummins, Walcott, Gooding- Edghill and Symmonds in their new roles was their education and real-world experience in their new postings (for Symmonds it was mentoring by Billie Miller).
Which begs the question wasn’t all that apparent when the Cabinet was named? None of these people are newcomers. Couldn’t that have been done after the last Election?
You could fool all the people all the time.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/10/22/new-cabinet-changes-to-take-effect-on-wednesday/
This article by Peter Laurie cuts through the BS.
#process
#accountability
Source:Nation
I hope y’all like that birdie the micro-manager flipped wunna yesterday.
Keep pretending that the Minister of Education, or any other Minister could authorize the changing of a light-bulb without getting permission from the micro-manager..
Keep pretending that the micro-manager had no knowledge of the survey.
If y’all keep calling for the wrong head, then wunna could expect plenty more birds or to be completely ignored. Ask the nurses if wunna doubt me then.
Put that in wunna pipe and smoke um.
In our system of government like Peter Laurie confirmed the buck stops with the minister in the matter being prosecuted, if McConney was unaware she should resign and say why. Recall Jeffery Bostic indicated he was unaware of a vaccine deal with Radical although his PS signed off. What worked for him is that he had indicated no appetite to continue as minister. Mia will NOT resign over this matter, the people must go for wins that are achievable. Ministers don’t resign in Barbados far less prime ministers.
“and the ‘Hindus more temples, one for each of their gods’.”
Shakti (divine energy)
Per the Vedic texts, there are 33 gods and per the Puranas 330 million or more.
Shiva
God of Destruction
Para Brahman, the Supreme Being
Ultimate Reality, Moksha, Karma, Time, Arts, Dance, Yoga and Meditation, the Destroyer of Evil, Supreme Being in Shaivism
Shiva has many aspects, benevolent as well as fearsome. In benevolent aspects, he is depicted as an omniscient Yogi who lives an ascetic life on Mount Kailash. In his fierce aspects, he is often depicted slaying demons. Shiva is also known as Adiyogi Shiva, regarded as the patron god of dance, yoga, meditation and the arts. Shiva, it’s believed, used marijuana both to relax and to focus better for meditation. It’s scenes like this that made Kathmandu famous among hippies.
The Dance of Shiva
The two most common forms of Shiva’s dance are the Lasya (the gentle form of dance), associated with the creation of the world, and the Ananda Tandava (dance of bliss, the vigorous form of dance), associated with the destruction of weary worldviews—weary perspectives and lifestyles.
Comedy Fest back with a bang.
Effective Wednesday, The Most Honourable Senator Dr Jerome Walcott, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade, and Senior Minister for coordinating Social Sectors and Environmental Policy, will be Minister of Health and Wellness, replacing Ian Gooding-Edghill. Walcott was a former Minister of Health under the Owen Arthur administration.
The Prime Minister said Walcott, a surgeon, had been a Trojan for the party in his position of general secretary, had achieved great things in the health care sector and would be expected to continue in that vein as the new minister.
It’s a good thing I have a poor memory.
https://barbadosunderground.net/2007/08/21/dr-jerome-walcott-is-the-ship-sinking/
The buck stops at the Minister because she is the boss and either she or one of her underlings put diesel in the gas tanks. I get that.
Now pray tell why that same principle doesn’t apply to the Minister’s boss?
No one really expects anyone to resign.
Republics de plantain don’t really operate that way.
The blogmaster indicated in this blog what is happening in Britain is interesting because of the culture which sees prime ministers and ministers routinely resigning, in Barbados we never developed the same culture. Did Stuart resign when his speaker of the house had to be ordered by the court to pay an old man his money? In fact he was dismissive.
same nasty old faces is not fresh guard, it’s rearranging the same crimes committed against the people for the last hundred years…..into NEW CRIMINAL OPPORTUNITIES..
using the pedophile sex survey as a cover to lure and push sugar plantation slavery on those they reduced socially and financially in the last 100 years so that a greedy, lazy subspecies of minorities can live off Afrikan lives is seen as exactly what it is……cahn cover dat up with anything…
using the latest parliament freak show SCANDAL in the last few days to cover up the pedophile sex survey is seen for EXACTLY WHAT IT IS……that information is spreading everywhere like wildfire in REAL MEDIA….let the whole world know that’s exactly who they are….WITH THEIR FRAUDULENT ways….and both crimes are now tied together on social media…
none of them have any ethics, morals, principles or ancestral respect, they don’t know the meaning of it…there are NOTHING, no good and NOBODIES…they have NO RESPECT for Afrikan parents, children, women, OR MEN, never did, always have been disrespectful to Afrikans once they acquired a colonial slave title.
No matter how they pretend otherwise, even their visual presence gives off an evil TOXIC STENCH…that now have intelligent people feeling to retch…the only people find any of this cute or continue to promote this evil are their fowls and pimps.
“The way politics is practiced in Britain ministers of government will resign if thought to be failing by civil society….”
LMFAO!
@Enuff
You are aware unlike others commenting on the blog is not easily distracted. He has been around long enough to observe pro DLP supporters doing what you are attempting now.
@Enuff
Who uttered the below statement?
“Finally, the Prime Minister said that world leaders must have mature conversations and speak to their people instead of relying on headlines and soundbites, to avoid a disconnect between the government and the governed.
“With those commitments, we can make a difference in this world and let us do so recognizing that a world that reflects an imperialistic order, hypocrisy and lack of transparency will not achieve that mission, but one that gives us freedom transparency and levelled playing field will allow for a difference”.
Good last question. Maybe our PM could answer that one. I am sure everyone remembers how she totally disregarded all the tenets related to the doctrine of the separation of powers and inserted herself into a matter that would be rightly condemned in any civilised society.
It is in the public record that MAM said all big works have to come through her. Would the IDB “pretext” be considered “big work”?
“This article by Peter Laurie cuts through the BS.”
By now some should realize that the blogmaster like ‘authority figures’.
Essentially Peter Laurie rehashes the same BS. He puts a new spin on some of the items but adds nothing new. His suggestion that the buck should stop at the Min of Ed bear no relationship to how things are done in Barbados and by Mia.
TheO’s: same old BS in a new wrapper. Not buying it.
Steuspe
“has Barbados become a ghetto country?
This has been discuss numerous times.
We are clearly in ducks guts when
a Ministry can oversee law breaking (Data Protection Act) and NO ONE be held to account
a Minister/Commission can openly support the lone utility company IN THE MIDDLE of a hearing and also publicly criticise the public for asking questions and standing for their rights
we can have 5 and 3 murders in ONE day despite having 2 Deputies, 1 Commissioner, 1 adviser and now one Minister of State
And there is much much much more that’s more suited for a separate thread.
Those who know know. The sitting PM has a long coat tail and along history. This is what our leadership looks like.
Because of a desire for politics and power Donald Trump came to be
Because of a desire for politics and power Herschell WAlker may very well win
Because of a desire for politics and power Bajan elections were held in January
Because of a desire for politics and power we will reap what we sow in time to come. The chickens have already started coming home.
Just observing.
First of all, Laurie is not a lawyer, he is a product of the same disgusting system..
some people have no close up and personal relationship with independent thinking…..that’s why attacks are enabled at directed against those who display these attributes of thinking rationally and critically for themselves.
“In our system of government like Peter Laurie confirmed the buck stops with the minister in the matter being prosecuted”
*** Because he says so means that it is so? We have a PM who indicated that she is the center of power and focal point of anything big. Here we have a big mess-up and suddenly the buck only stops at the Min Of Ed.
There is truth in the expression ‘shit flow downwards’. What’s next? the Min of Ed finds a poor sacrificial lamb for us?
“Mia will NOT resign over this matter, the people must go for wins that are achievable. Ministers don’t resign in Barbados far less prime ministers.”
****I agree that Mia will not resing in this matter, but I dislike the message being given here .
Since Mia will not resign, we should settle for a lower scalp (the easier win). Does it follow that since the Min of Ed will not resign we should move down to the next lower scalp?
When do we stop? At some unfortunate teacher or principal? Should we grab a parent and accuse him/her of inadequately supervising their child?
What is advocated is not a strategy to follow. It is a path of convenient politics. It is the easy path.
A few days ago a lawyer was against a court case because it would be inconvenient. The easy way is all we know.
To be honest…
I think the cut should be at the Min of Ed level and not at Mia’s level.
What I resent are the false arguments that will give Mia absolute immunity.
“When do we stop? At some unfortunate teacher or principal? Should we grab a parent and accuse him/her of inadequately supervising their child?”
and that’s EXACTLY why i said the principals and teachers who were disrespectfully MISUSED need to cover themselves with good legal advice before they are scapegoated with liars and deceivers now trying a CYA..
AND
why more PROPER legal advice is needed at the international level to take this pedophile sex survey and violation of children’s and parent’s human rights EVEN FURTHER…
“has Barbados become a ghetto country?”
with ghetto rats at the very top for the last 100 years, it’s easy to read those tea leaves..
With a spineless set of ministers, it is easier to shift chairs around on the deck of the Titanic than to change our direction or to tackle the real issues confronting us.
The person who does the printing for GoRoB is probably making a killing as these changes probably requires new letter heads. That is the only real change there is.
Also, I concede that the blog master makes a good point when he mentions our culture.
Conclusion: A mix. Some valid points, but overall message needed tweaking.
Who uttered the below statement?
Sometimes we say things that we don’t really mean.
Sometimes we say things and forgot we ever them.
Sometimes we say things that we think others want to hear.
Sometimes people give us a sheet of paper, we just read the words on said paper.
Sometimes we get drunk and talk nuff sweet-sounding shite and make nuff promises, but we don’t expect people to hold us to our words the next day.
I mean, like seriously?
Next question.
You are clutching! What makes your comments like “ghetto country” look even worse is the fact that you’ve referenced the UK parliament in the same space. I had to visit Google to make sure my memory wasn’t failing me. You’re starting to sound like de Salemite.
@enuff
Are you aware that this is how many young people are referring to Barbados as we lurch from crisis to crisis, muck up to muck up? Don’t shoot the messenger please.
If Mia has not acknowledged IN ANY WAY the wrong that has been done to our children by this sneaky survey, then she is not fit to be my prime minister.
This is a clear cut case of our most vulnerable having their right to privacy violated by our Government. It matters not at which level the foul up occurred or whether or not it was deliberate.
You cannot expect to ignore that the rights of children and parents have been trampled upon by their Government.
Mental and emotional harm is sometimes more difficult to heal than physical harm.
This was a mental and emotional strip search.
Some of these AMBUSHED children may be worrying who is reading what they wrote and what they intend to do with that knowledge.
It is unfortunate that parents have raised children too afraid to have ripped the bloody survey up as I would have done. These parents must now set about correcting that.
IF IT FEELS LIKE A VIOLATION, IT PROBABLY IS. DO NOT SUBMIT! CALL YOUR PARENTS!
I am surprised that this was, perhaps, the third round of the sneaky survey.
Rise up, you parents! Demand justice and accountability!
However, when you march, make it only about the matter at hand – the Sneaky Survey or Emotional Strip Search, and not about LBGTQ+ or CSE in schools.
Why would the supreme leader address the matter of the survey when:
1 – She CLEARLY is the one who initiated, or at least initially approved, the survey
2 – She probably over-ruled anyone in the ministry who objected initially, and there is probably proof of this…
3 – She has NO IDEA of what is is to be a parent – and so probably don’t get the outrage
4 – Like all despots, she has come to believe her own rhetoric – and that of her mindless minions…thinking that she is above reproach.
To deflect, she has attempted to change the conversation to ‘cabinet changes’ which involve shuffling a bunch of losers around the same damn table.
What difference does it make when SHE will dictate and micro manage the figurehead jokers anyway?
What a damned place….
@Bush Tea
If what you opined is true then it is all the more reason for the Minister to resign.
“4 – Like all despots, she has come to believe her own rhetoric – and that of her mindless minions…thinking that she is above reproach.”
that’s why we have to be very circumspect moving forward, because it’s very clear that many STILL HAVE NO CLUE what is really going on…..the weakest links.
FIRING LINE: The silence is silly
By Shantal Munro-Knight | Sun, June 23, 2013 – 12:00 AM
I am not sure who is advising the current administration or perhaps who are the listened-to people who have the ear of those in leadership but if I knew who they were, I would tell them that they are not worthy to advise my nine-year-old. I would not hire them for anything, not even to read me instructions from a recipe book.
I find the ongoing approach to public engagement by this Government silly, offensive, and it smacks of a lack of understanding of the Barbadian public. It is untenable!
Is this the same person who is now a minister ? Fortunately for her , according to the quote, her son is now twenty two and would have escaped the test.
And we continue to be fooled by the BLPDLP.
More to come
Skinnerisms isms and schisms and rhetorical drama lika a gay diva
‘ I would tell them that they are not worthy to advise my nine-year-old. ‘
you don’t have a 9 year old as you are too old
@Kiki
Sometimes it is better to keep quiet.
“ACCORDING TO THE U.S. CONSTITUTION SLAVERY WAS NEVER ABOLISHED…IT WAS SIMPLY RE-WORDED!”
since the white world have finally publicly acknowledged what many of us have known from since we were children, that slavery never ended, was never abolished, many of us still here, are now in our 60s, 70s, 80s,,,and understand everything so much better as the decades passed….
just don’t expect the slaves, fowls, imps, pimps, the weakest links and minions/supporters/voters of dangerous Judas politicians to understand any of this…
BushTea
Yuh joined Jezebel Baird et al yesterday on the march?
@Enuff
One of the organizers was Ferdinand Nicholls, he use to operate from the bowels of the BLP not too long ago.
Aren’t you the same one who few days ago inferred that it was not only about what the young think? Or their views only matter when it supports your position? The fact is that MPs are accused, some charged and locked up, of “ungentlemanly” behaviour all over the world including the UK, Canada and USA. I guess we’re all ghetto country.
@Enuff
What is being done by this government to enable actors in civil society to address change to undesirable behaviours negatively impacting Barbados society. Enough of the political palaver. We have reached a dangerous place.
Well! I didn’t read Laurie before I commented before but now that I have, I see that he his opinion and mine are EXACTLY the same.
I thank him for adding the full context of the survey, which I never believed was given for nefarious purposes.
This does not in any way absolve our Government for the manner in which this survey was administered.
Laurie should not be the one providing context. Parents should have been called in to discuss BEFOREHAND. CONSENT should have been sought IN WRITING. Children should have been prepared and counselled by professionals. And yes, so many emotional questions could have been draining or overwhelming for children of that age. We should remember that these questions would have caused children with issues not only to think but also to stirr up the FEELINGS, all the negative emotions they would experience when in the actual situation. Feelings they may have worked to suppress.
Therefore, follow up sessions by professionals should also have been conducted.
This was a huge foul up!.
TypOs!
Earlier she spoke about education reform and noted that as far as the Common Entrance Exam was concerned and whether it would be kept or not, a proposal was before Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley.
Move to secondary school
“I will say to you that what we will do to help
move children from primary to secondary right now – the only thing we have is the Common Entrance Exam, that is the way for you to move from one level to the next. However, there is consideration being given as to what else we can do and I’m not being cagey, I’m being very straight with you.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
WAY TOO BACKWARD ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND.
THE WHITE PEOPLE WHO INTRODUCED THE 11+ AND COMMON ENTRANCE EXAMS GOT RID BECAUSE THEY SAW THE DAMAGE WAS DOING TO THEIR SOCIETY IN THE UK AND WAS FOR CHILDREN TRYING TO GET INTO BOARDING SCHOOLS OR ELITIST SCHOOLS.
YET THE FOOLISH BLACKS CAN’T SEEM TO THINK FOR THEMSELVES CREATIVELY WHILST MAKING EVERY EXCUSE FOR REMAINING A SET OF BACKWARD THINKERS.
NO WONDER THE SOCIETY FOR BLACKS ON THE 2X3 ISLAND REMAIN BROKEN ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND.
As Britain’s oldest examination, Common Entrance was introduced in the early 1900s to test 12-13-year olds who wanted to study at top UK boarding schools such as Eton College and Harrow School. Back in February of this year, UK Study Centre reported that some schools had already made the decision to phase out these ageing exams.
https://www.ukstudycentre.co.uk/blog/common-entrance-exams-officially-phased-uk-prep-school-curriculums/
The eleven-plus (11+) is a standardized examination administered to some students in England and Northern Ireland in their last year of primary education, which governs admission to grammar schools and other secondary schools which use academic selection. The name derives from the age group for secondary entry: 11–12 years.
The eleven-plus was once used throughout England and Wales, but is now only used in counties and boroughs in England that offer selective schools instead of comprehensive schools. Also known as the transfer test, it is especially associated with the Tripartite System which was in use from 1944 until it was phased out across most of the UK by 1976.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eleven-plus
William…given certain information made available in the reveal, we can appreciate what must now be done moving forward. I am sure both you and Pacha are seeing ahead quite clearly. I already threw some nuggets out there where it will jump start action….
..the good news, there is now an UNBEATABLE and more positive force in play, the negative can never prevail in this new environment…
If the march had been organised by victimised parents and had stuck to the issues of the sneaky survey, I would have attended. I am not marching with any opportunistic political party or bigoted church.
I want to see the parents stand up and demand accountability.
If the Government invades the legally protected privacy of its citizens, the Government must answer. The Government is not above the law.
Is the Government entitled to extract and document our innermost thoughts and feelings under duress?
I suggest that administering this survey to eleven year olds on school premises, during school hours pressures or coerces them into complying.
DOAN MIND DAT DONNA WOULD HAVE TORN UP THE DAMN SURVEY.
Most children would have felt that they could not refuse.
@Donna
The issue as you well know is that the average Barbadian is not of that mindset. It is the church and political parties who have historically marched to push their agenda.
For any protest to be successful it must be anchored in a cause that is just. Against this belief the blogmaster agrees with your position that sone of these protests is about addressing naked self interest.
@Enuff
BushTea
Yuh joined Jezebel Baird et al yesterday on the march?
++++++++++
I have no time for Baird but was she a Jezebel when she supported the Minister in his handling of the GIS issue then, or now that she is marching against the Gov’ts management of the IADB test?
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/04/15/investigations-find-no-evidence-of-abuse-at-gis/
And long time since the damage the stupid English and Maths test is doing to the psyche of our children has been noticed.
But some Bajans want to cling to it, instead of seeking a better way to transition.
The English and Math test ignores all of the other intelligences of our children. It gives the impression of taking the cream off the top and leaving the remnants behind.
When in fact some of “the remnants” have the capabilities and talents we really need to take this country forward.
But we demoralise many of them by labelling them “the rest” as was done at my son’s primary school graduation.
I had to scrap my chair LOUDLY as I walked out and later explain my protest.
Since then, my son has put my Queen’s College ass to shame wrt creativity, technical skills and business acumen,
We are throwing away plenty of cream with this limited labelling SCREAMING TEST!
But doan min’ De Mad Woman! Carry on “smartly”!
When more chickens come home to roost, we can kill them and eat them, I guess.
Well…since some are trying to CHANGE A NARRATIVE……that is ALREADY SET IN STONE with conclusive evidence….these fools can be ignored….while they are at it, they can STAY THE HELL OUT of what intelligent people, with legal skills, with critical thinking skills, and trained in the best of analytical skills KNOW MUST BE DONE…
if ya want to really do something, sit ya know nothing asses down and learn…
in saying that, no one need yall…..there are people on this very site who know what time it is and HOW TO CONTRIBUTE..and they NEVER COMMENT…
I don’t mind foolish people making themselves look foolish, i never pass on a free laugh, but in this instance and given the seriousness of the situation,…. if you DON’T HAVE ANY EVIDENCE or the NECESSARY information that would provide knowledge and a better understanding of what all this entails, it’s best to wait until someone somewhere provides it…instead of running off half cocked to control a narrative outside your skill set and understanding…
but doan mine me am saying that from a position of knowledge.
I was dying to march for this issue. Keep me in the know if a clean march is in the offing. I don’t do the social media rounds.
The Government’s reponse is very disrespectful. Mia’s cabinet reshuffle, leaving Kay ( I am sorry to have to say) in place was a slap in the face to the victims.
At the very least she should have suffered the fate of John King.
I am left to believe that Mia has no regard for the rights of Barbados’ citizens.
Who shall be next?
Changing a mindset and a culture is always difficult.
@ WURA,
Drip……..drip……..drip…….
More to come
Peace
Your knowledge is worth about as much as Lawson’s CLICKING KNOWLEDGE!
Seen Lawson lately? Why do you think that is?
Hit and run time! Me nah look back!
@David, you are being harsh re our scallywag Bajan MPs by comparing their malfeasance to the system in the Commons. Quite harsh😎🤣!
Forget the lack of oppo but even with that there is no internal group of elected MPs who can ‘keep’ a PM and her cabinet ‘honest’!
If we had that, MAM’s wings would have been clipped at least since that Rhianna nonsense and definitely after Maloney. In Stuart’s case… good grief, he would have been forced out loooong before he called elections. How could the streets in Piccadilly (you get the point) be running full of sewerage with systems totally dysfunctional and yet the PM and his substantive minister remain in power!
Not the same, bro … so our MPs will keep their jobs until the citizens vote them out … if they do!
I was at church this morning so will explore more later!
@Dee Word
The hope is that sensible people will be able to visualize the gap between the two systems even if ours is said to be a parody.
The change we talk about can only be realized if actors in civil society pull their weight. What is the important cog in the system? It is all actors in civil society working in concert notwithstanding the fact no man made system is perfect.
“@ WURA
Drip……..drip……..drip…….
More to come”
tell muh bout it, every day, more and more, i can’t even keep up, trying to work all of it into my second book but the information overload is real, not complaining though, just have to push back my launch date until i can catch up…….it’s definitely going to spill over into a 3rd book..
the one thing we can’t have are people WHO DON’T KNOW SHIT working overtime to insert their know nothing narrative to confuse and muddle the issues when we have reached a juncture that they can’t even understand because they don’t even know we have reached it…….looking for attention, cause i see no other reason for it if you can’t properly contribute anything to make the situation any better….
Bushie…If what you opined is true then it is all the more reason for the Minister to resign.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Boss
People who are willing to resign from high(ly paid) office mostly do so on PRINCIPLE, or because they are PUSHED by others of high principle.
Therefore, NO one resigns in Barbados –
because brass bowls do not have ‘principle’. (don’t even understand the concept),
Even Bostic and Johnny DID NOT RESIGN, but ‘stood down ’instead, and accepted compensatory bribes in the forms of ‘most honorable’ accolades and ‘do-nothing’ picks…..
If you are a lifelong failure who then manages to ‘get a pick’ as a result of mendicant political yardfowlery… and you were to ‘up and resign’ on some matter of ‘principle’ ….
Wuh…
Shiite boss, there would be multiple resignations daily….
@Bush Tea
Food for thought.
In this case, I see no reason why the Prime Minister should resign. The problem here , is that by refusing to remove McConney, she is taking a very interesting risk and it may or may not turn out good for her.
Barbadians, have always seen ministers of Education in a very different light because they tend to emerge: Tudor, Sandiford, Miller , Mottley etc.
You note that both Jones and Bradshaw became deputy prime ministers.
The strength of the BLP and Mottley’s personal strengths , have to some degree weakened the ability to make serious political gains out of this issue.
We should not forget that when Mottley was marching up and down, parliament had a very slim majority government and the opposition had the luxury of several seats in parliament. That in itself would have generated rather successful marches.
And the DLP not being able to even get a single seat in two recent elections certainly left them in a still weak political state.
That being said, this issue has evolved into a major mistrust of the minister and her ministry and she may well find that going forward, the slightest of missteps will be automatically deemed incompetence.
Mottley seems comfortable, for now, with that possibility.
Drip………drip…..,,,drip…..,.
More to come
You note
@William
If you ignore political talking heads about Barbadians have no reason to be concerned about declining voter turnout, rising apathy etc -this recent IDB episode will grow the distrust. One must live in hope that the brazen decision taken by government to further erode public trust in their elected officials by abusing our children is the trigger to move to a new understanding. They were elected to represent us.
“People who are willing to resign from high(ly paid) office mostly do so on PRINCIPLE, or because they are PUSHED by others of high principle.
Therefore, NO one resigns in Barbados –
because brass bowls do not have ‘principle’. (don’t even understand the concept),”
no RESPECT
no PRINCIPLES
no ETHICS
no MORALS
a recipe for the island remaining in its hundred-year-old stangnant doldrums state…indefinitely
Ok @David, fully caught up. Like another blogger (whose name I will not call as I have called it too often on this matter and she may think I am stalking her 😒) I see nothing wrong with Laurie’s piece as far as your remark that it “cuts through the BS”. I interpreted your comment as simply his column excellently summarized ALL that has been said here and other places.
He provided the type of specificity I would expect of someone writing on a matter about which already there are ‘millions’ of words and more importantly from someone of his deep government experience (and contacts)…. He said NOTHING new, true … but he properly defined quite a bit!
I thought the @BushGriot’s remarks were also quite interesting. I have NEVER seen anything remotely similar in Bim to what the Brits have with their rigorous PM questioning session and what the Yankees have with their FOI requests. So when he said that “She probably over-ruled anyone in the ministry who objected initially, and there is probably proof of this…“, I smiled.
The simple fact as the Bushman alluded to is that EVERY sensible Bajan (even @Enuff) knows that not one widget or survey could be moved or approved or INITIATED without the knowledge and clear understanding by our micro managing PM …
Imagine if we could have an FOI request done and completed sometime early next year that VALIDATED that or someone to ask some probing questions of our PM!
Alas, Truss and her good friend and hand-picked now former Chancellor gone through the eddoes but our large-and-in-charge PM and her even longer friend and specially hand-picked now still resident minister phucked up ‘worser’ (as far as trust is concerned) but like Vlad and Xi they are untouchable!
As the griot says : “What a damned place….”
@Dee Word
Your interpretation of the blogmaster’s comment is correct. Some are too easily distracted.
I listening to Brasstacks Sunday.
They bowling top spin.
PMMIA left hand finger. Kevin Greenidge Phd. left hand finger.
https://www.nationnews.com/2022/10/23/blp-taking-fresh-guard/
Barbadians, have always seen ministers of Education in a very different light because they tend to emerge: Tudor, Sandiford, Miller , Mottley etc.
WHAT THEY HAVE IN COMMON ARE ALL FAILURES HOWEVER SEEMS PEOPLE ARE EASILY HOODWINKED AND DUPED THAT THEY CAN’T SEE THROUGH THE BULLSHIT.
How could the streets in Piccadilly (you get the point) be running full of sewerage with systems totally dysfunctional and yet the PM and his substantive minister remain in power!
SHOWS HOW NASTY AND STUPID MAJORITY BLACKS 95 PERCENT ON THE 2X3 ISLAND ARE TO HAVE LET SHIT BE ON THE ROADS ON AN ISLAND DEPENDENT ON TOURISM FOR 2 YEARS AND WANT PEOPLE TO RESPECT THEIR INTELLIGENCE.
NOW THE CURRENT PM FOR AT LEAST 4 YEARS IS A GLOBE TRAVELLER TALKING SEWAGE ON A REGULAR BASIS WHILST BEGGING AND BORROWING.
Once it has been recognized that they will still try every nasty trick in the book to force through their evil agendas for their employers who are NOT the taxpayers who voted then in and pay their salaries…because they CANNOT SERVE TWO MASTERS…all the people need to do is RESIST AND REJECT THEM AT EVERY TURN,,,don’t give an inch…..shut them DOWN…
PARTICULARLY since it’s now DECLARED that slavery never ended, was NEVER ABOLISHED…..it’s up to us to TAKE IT AND THEM ALL DOWN for the survival of OUR future generations so they can live as free people…..
just remember they have:
no RESPECT
no PRINCIPLES
no ETHICS
no MORALS
and
no INTEGRITY…much too late for them to learn any now…too old, wicked and set in their ways…
and
a recipe for the island remaining in its hundred-year-old stagnant doldrums state…indefinitely
This is how human rights laws WHEN BREACHED are supposed to work, if Barbados’ well known tardy, anti-people court don’t take it seriously take it to the CCJ…if they too act like it’s not important take it to A WORLD COURT…
REPEAT…for those who have no knowledge of how to stop replays of these types of human rights criminal acts…..
“Ms. Dujon also argued that some kind of legal precedent had to be set in Barbados to prevent a breach of this magnitude in the future.”
am all for going straight to the world court if the process can skip a step or two…….the seriousness of the situation DEMANDS IT…..
but, legal scholars when they weigh in can make that determination…..it’s only my opinion.
“Philosophy Felicia Dujon stated that a legal wrong had been committed by the government and that parents and other interested parties should seek a legal solution.
Citing sections in the Education Act and the Data Protection Act Ms. Dujon stated that the law had been broken and that parents should take government to task and seek some kind of compensation for the harm that was done to the children affected by the survey. Ms. Dujon was of the opinion that the sensitive nature of the survey demanded prior notice to parents. She added that under the Data Protection Act permission of the parents should have been secured before the survey was administered.
Ms. Dujon also argued that some kind of legal precedent had to be set in Barbados to prevent a breach of this magnitude in the future. The courts were therefore in the best position to set this legal precedent, to curtail the powers of the state going forward and to award compensation to those affected. In concluding Ms. Dujon stated that parental rights must not be abridged since the children are the prime responsibility of the parents.”
I believe it’s futile calling for any resignations from politicians, I can’t recall any Bajan politicians leaving office on a matter of principle and as per Errol Barrow on Civil Servants – they are like asbestos fireproof-. Mia has been given two 30 love majorities and as BLP partisans are wont to boast, a third may be in the offing.
Mia was a fierce critic of blogs when she was in OSA’s cabinet even offering up comments that they should be policed, now not so much that she is buoyed by the massive majorities bestowed on her by the Barbadian public and the ineptitude of the DLP.
The Gov’ts perception of the folks on this blog is that most of the participants are a bunch of retired curmudgeons who sit around all day on their on their computers and gripe about everything. Moreover, the Gov’t has insulated itself with public relations staff beyond the GIS and it goes without saying that the CBC is at its beck and call
If one wants to continue their quixotic quest calling for resignations or firings, they should carry on, but the results will be for naught.
Breaking News on Vob Brasstacks
It is official, Rowe has been charged with rape.
And in the last election His Excellency Dr.Nicholls, as I see him now being called, was a candidate for the Alliance Party for Progress. A party founded by Rev. Atherley and Lynette Eastmond. You’re only proving me right. Get up good.🤣🤣
@Enuff
Agree with you, all from the same branch.
@ Sargeant,
Now that the PM is “respected” on the WORLD STAGE she is not going to attack BU or other blogs.
She is now focused on her status as a world leader.
Hope PM MIA told him to “get a lawyer”. lol
By election?
Sargeant
I’ve been calling Baird a Jezebel for yeeeears ever since I saw her wigged, painted and pearled in the news pre her GIS board stint. If those 2/3 questions about sex/uality weren’t on that survey the Bairds, Evelyns etc would be quiet. I know that and nuff ah wunna do too. Dem complaining bout the alcohol and drug use questions?🤔
“It is official, Rowe has been charged with rape.”
David, proof we are not a “ghetto country”.
@enuff
Not following your logic but you entitled to your opinion.
“SHOWS MIA MOTTLEY PM IS A POOR JUDGEMENT OF CHARACTER HOWEVER THEY SAY BIRDS OF A FEATHER FLOCK TOGETHER.”
Or that you can’t read? This blog is too funny. 🤣🤣🤣
“Now that the PM is “respected” on the WORLD STAGE”
a total myth.
“proof we are not a “ghetto country”.
all in the timing, but still CANNOT DISTRACT from the SUBSTANTIVE VIOLATIONS OF CHILDREN AND THEIR PARENTS human rights….in the pedophile survey….some people are way ahead of the limited in intellect..
epic fail…
Hope PM MIA told him to “get a lawyer”.
++++++
The BLP has lots of lawyers, hope Holder can clear his schedule for his former Deputy
Of all the news last evening I found the elevation of Forde to the Deputy Speaker’s office, the most puzzling, it was as if Mia knew what was coming down the pipe but that can’t be, can it?
Would the folks responsible for prosecuting an individual give a “heads up” to anyone?
Nah, not bout hay
@Sargeant
To your inquiry to self it is well known this guy is a lout. The flipside is that there seems to be a challenge across the globe attracting politicians of high moral standards. However we know man made systems are not perfect.
@enuff
Not following your logic but you entitled to your opinion
++++++++++
“Baje”‘ has mixed up Corey Lane and Neil Rowe
Thanks Sargeant, will flush it.
“Baje”‘ has mixed up Corey Lane and Neil Rowe
SHOWS MIA MOTTLEY PM IS A POOR JUDGEMENT OF CHARACTER HOWEVER THEY SAY BIRDS OF A FEATHER FLOCK TOGETHER.”
“Would the folks responsible for prosecuting an individual give a “heads up” to anyone?”
since ALL OF US KNEW, saw the claim since last week and were sitting for the last 3 or 4 DAYS WAITING for the outcome………wuh dem would have to be both dumb and blind…but yet managed to prepare under the guise of a cabinet reshuffle and tink dey foolin sumbody….
yes, we already got it from REAL social media news, since last week, blogs that are interested in educating the people about what is REALLY HAPPENING on the island and elsewehere, and got a real kick outta the amateur fowl running up and down the blog with its version of damage control….laughed ourselves silly.
so…now that we are all caught up with the 2-second distraction now headed to the law courts on a rape charge…..back to the violation of the children and their parent’s human rights, the longer lasting episode…
Politix is a spectator sport to subdue the masses.
Everyone assumes the manager changed the football team due to the crowd chanting about the miseducation of the youths.
But, she has not addressed that issue and still needs her scapegoat.
“yes, we already got it from REAL social media news, since last week, blogs that are interested in educating the people about what is REALLY HAPPENING on the island and elsewehere….”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~
In my opinion, the above comments are not only DISRESPECTFUL to you, as the blogmaster, but to BU and its contributors as well, especially when one takes into consideration the author is ALLOWED to posts MORE contributions to EVERY thread, than any other BU contributor, which, more often than not, are usually IRRELEVANT to the SUBSTANTIVE TOPIC.
If she truly believes BU ‘is a waste of time,’ then, why visit the forum on such a regular basis?
What is next for the children and parents whose human rights were maliciously violated…
the 2-second distraction/rape accusation was a talking point for the whole of last week on 3 or 4 other platforms…..it’s dead and gone…it was already beaten to death by the time anything was done about the accused yesterday…..
Our Supreme Leader proves her ability to act at the right time. While Frundel “Sleepy” Stuart did not reshuffle his cabinet during all the horror years of DLP injustice, our Supreme Leader permanently adapts her cabinet to the demands and wishes of the people. Personally, I am impressed that she is holding on to the honourable Minister of Education and creating a new ministerial post in the field of justice. This demonstrates quite powerfully that our Supreme Leader values loyalty and wants to eradicate crime.
Without any doubt, our Supreme Leader is even more popular with the people than the Supreme Leader of the Chinese people.
@ Artax,
David is extremely tolerant of bloggers who hog BU. He also forgives those who insult him.
“the 2-second distraction/rape accusation was a talking point for the whole of last week on 3 or 4 other platforms…..it’s dead and gone…it was already beaten to death by the time anything was done about the accused yesterday…..”
Bajans have got their values ass backwards again
ranting about a questionnaire to identify sexual abuse
and ignoring a real case of sexual abuse
“the 2-second distraction/rape accusation was a talking point for the whole of last week on 3 or 4 other platforms…..it’s dead and gone…it was already beaten to death by the time anything was done about the accused yesterday….”
crowds got their values ass backwards again
A Questionnaire to identify sexual abuse
is more important than
an alleged case of real sexual abuse
People are sharing this like there is no tomorrow…..lawd…
“ROWE A WINNER SAYS MIA – Neil Rowe will defy all odds and take down incumbent Chris Sinckler in the St Michael North West when the elections are called. This was the rallying cry from his mates in the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) at the launch of his constituency office in Deacons, St Michael, last Saturday evening. Joe Atherley, the BLP St Michael West candidate, said he was confident that Rowe had what it took to bring home the prize. Party leader Mia Mottley, who declared the office open, said she too believed he had the constituency in hand. Stating that Rowe was the opposite of Sinckler in just about every aspect, Mottley said the BLP hopeful had brought a caring to the campaign that was “unique, special and sincere”, and had what the people wanted. Dr Clyde Mascoll, the BLP’s economic advisor, said Sinckler was a “square peg in a round hole” and Rowe was ideal to challenge him because he was the exact opposite to the incumbent. Mascoll’s diagnosis was that Barbados was “comatose” and just surviving. He urged voters to put the country first and understand that its future was in their hands. (DN)”
Hants….no insult was intended…..this information was shared EVERYWHERE LAST WEEK, the WHOLE CLAIM is online, i did not look to see if it was on BU, only on two threads for the last couple days, and did not see it mentioned even once till some people were throwing out questions about it and blog admin was playing coy…or shy or whatever, but just from the comments it was clear no information on this was sent to the blog for whatever reason..and am sure blog admin goes on other sites just like anyone who has a social media presence does…it was difficult to miss…and came WITH SUCH GREAT TERRIFYING DETAILS………since it generated so much interest but not enuff to deter from the human rights violations of children and their parents….thankfully.
it can still be beaten to death, but it’s hours away from being sub judice, so what’s the point, that should have happened last week when it was the 2nd lead story….now it will just slide down the chain of interest, as the first time in 100 years they actually saw it fit to punish one of their own for anything…
A short note:
To whom it may concern
There is a trait of my countryman that I find disconcerting. They know that an orange is spherical, but if someone with an advanced degree or in authority tell them otherwise they would start to discuss the shape of the orange. They do not realize that when it come to the shape of an orange, an idiot may just be as knowledgeable as a scientist. Facts carry no pedigree.
To an objective person, the same comments cannot be BS and pure gold at the same time.. Hero-worship after the age of 50 is puerile.
True dat Theo! Say it louder for those in the back.🤣🤣
Johnson pulls out as he is wrong
and when you are wrong
you are really really wrong
Firstly, I seem to move in the wrong circles as information about this rape was news to me.
It boggles the mind to see that some consider the changing of the deck chairs and the charges for rape as two independent events. Here, Mia is attempting to kill two stories (the rape and the abuse of children) by creating another story based on using musical chairs.
Now, We are being urged to review resumes and of the wealth of experience these ministers have in their newly appointed areas. Only an incompetent manager would take five or more years to find the right people for different positions. Yet, we are not certain that she has found the correct formula as rotating the deck chairs appears to be nothing more than a distraction or attempted cover-up.
Mia’s lame PR response to the outright failure of her appointees is being touted as making the team more efficient, Almost five years of unbridle power, two elections that decimated the opposing party, dozen of highly paid consultants and Mia’s touch still appears to be. a blight upon the land.
The worse part of her speech at the spectacle was when she pointed out that many hands make light work. I cannot recall her exact example but it was as trivial as having additional persons to turn on a light. I did not find it funny or illuminating.
worst
breaking news: newly received information about an event that is currently occurring or developing.
I have difficulty with people breaking new on BU after it becomes available on BU. You cannot break it here after everyone here knows.
Theo
Oh shiiite the ink ain’t dry yet on your 5:07 pm contribution and you’re contradicting yourself. Yuh throw FACTS out de window?🤣🤣
By the way: Hu Jintao reminds me a lot of OSA. He was also an old, stubborn statesman who did not want to embrace the New Order and the Supreme Leader.
Some rambling thoughts
I am having trouble keeping up with the news. We seem to limp from one crisis to two more.
Yesterday it was about the children. Today it is about MPs.
It would appear that we cannot get to the bottom of one story before two others starts.
The fancy footwork, the oratory skills and the political smarts held me entranced for quite some time. But being a meat and potato man, I have reached the point of asking “Where’s the beef?’ There is no beef.
Do you know that you can explain the lack of genuine output from the “many hands” using mathematics? It might take a while to figure this out, but take many zeros (0) and add them all together and tell me what you get.
It is time we move beyond ‘light work’ and start doing the much needed heavy lifting.
@enuff
Are you my new pen pal?
You have not yet provided us with the following facts: Name/Age/Sex?
Enuff do not take Gazzerts to seriously , we know he is the blog comedian.He brought up domething that was said in 2018 concerning Mr Rowe from Ms Mottley.All Ms Mottley and others were doing was endorcing Mr Rowe as the man to beat Mr Sinckler.All leaders do this so that is a non point.How old is Mr Rowe? Is he under 18?I thought he was in his forties.In other words, a big hard back man responsible for his own actions.How is Ms Mottley responsible for his actions?This makes no sense.
As far as the reshuffle is concern, I have no issues with it especially with replacing Ms Cummins with Mr Gooding_ Edghill as he has worked in that area for years.His replacement in health Mr Walcott is an experieced doctor who i believe was there before so another good choice.My only issue is that i would have replaced Ms McConney as education minister but that is the PM ,s call..Lastly i heard Dr Yearwood saying some nonsense about all the ministers do not add up to one.This is halarious from a leader of a party who got red washed not once but twice and have no voice in the house of assembly.The same man who ran in a face off with Ms Husbands and lost and jumped ship to team up with the dems.Unbelievable.I think Dr Yearwood needs to engage his brain before he speaks in public in my view as he makes himself look even worse than the political nightwatchman he replaced.We all know what happened to her followed by her sudden resignation.I gone.
Theo
Providing my age sex and name would not allow you to tief my identity, just know who I am. But doing so would make the blog boring for me, as I do like the mischaracterisations many like you so often attribute to me. You get up good.
The0
When u add them together we get ur party
The 3 problems or challenges in life
which are universal and personal
for which there is no cure
and no solution
except for finding a way to work with the problem
for resolution
(1) Busyness of our minds
(2) Discomfort of the body
(3a) Dreams wishes intentions and the gap with reality
we are experiencing the gap and not real life
we are somewhere between the wish and reality
we are not truly experiencing the wish or intention
we are not truly experiencing the reality
(3b) Another way of understanding the third problem
is the challenge of desire
and there are many desires
we don’t know what to do with our desire
and more desires keep coming
@ Hants
The message was clear. The lady essentially implied BU is a ‘waste of time’…… something she has MENTIONED on SEVERAL OCCASIONS.
I believe people SHOULDN’T use David’s high level of tolerance and that he’s a forgiving guy, as an excuse to misuse BU for their own selfish reasons, or unnecessarily criticise the forum and its contributors.
And, although many of us may disagree with his opinions from time to time, we must admit the blogmaster isn’t irresponsible in his management of the blog.
Contrary to what the lady ‘said,’ I’ve read comments in which David made references to the allegations against Neil Rowe.
OBVIOUSLY, people and other social media platforms would’ve SHARED that information with BU.
But, because David isn’t quick to post unsubstantiated information to BU and then comment thereon as though it’s FACT, similarly to sites such as ‘Naked Departure,’ isn’t reason enough to accuse the blog of not being “interested in educating the people about what is REALLY HAPPENING on the island and elsewehere….”
Now the news has been verified, I’m sure the blogmaster will post articles appearing in the media, to this forum.
Wow….. seems as though ‘The O Guy’ has essentially TOOK OVER from AC…… but, with a bit MORE REGULARITY.
So, REGULAR that, if he begins to post irrelevant YouTube videos and continually repeats words such as ‘scams, imps, pimps, slaves, 100 years and white minorities,’ I wouldn’t only ask if he’s somking strong ‘Vincy or Jamaican gold,’ but, may have to join Enuff in calling him ‘Salamite’ as well.
🤣🤣🤣