The latest in the world of local politics has been the announcement by Prime Minister Mottley of a Cabinet reshuffle that includes the deployment of MP for the City Corey Layne to the Attorney General’s office. Minister of Education Kay McConney continues to enjoy the confidence of the Prime Minister at a time there is public dissatisfaction directed at the Ministry of Education over the IDB Survey.
Before the news of the reshuffle the blogmaster intended to share a thought about the political chaos unfolding in the UK. Particularly the fact members of the cabinet and prime ministers have been routinely resigning. The UK will have 5 prime ministers in a 6 year period with the recent resignation of the Prime Minister Liz Truss holding that office for 44 days.
The way politics is practiced in Britain ministers of government will resign if thought to be failing by civil society or fired by the Prime Minister and if backing is withdrawn by the Parliamentary Group. Although Barbados is promoted as borrowing from the Westminster system of government practiced by Britain, ministers here rarely if ever resign from Cabinet. Case in point, Kay McConney. The IDB Survey fiasco exposed a flawed process governing how the survey was administered to 11 year olds. The Chief Education Officer and Minister of Education admitted mistakes were made. More importantly, parents and citizens weeks later continue to register concerns via social and traditional media – even protest on the streets albeit not in sufficient numbers. However public calls for disciplinary action to be taken continue to be ignored by Prime Minister Mottley.
Not too long ago when a Mottley lead Barbados Labour Party was elected, she promised Barbadians her government would have been transparent managing the affairs of state and members of her Cabinet held to account. It is obvious from the reshuffle Prime Minister Mottley intends to ignore the concerns of Barbadians regarding the embarrassingly flawed execution of the IDB Survey to our children. The blogmaster suspects there will be a political price her government will have to pay for the decision.
Of interest to political pundits was her replacement of low energy member of parliament for St. Michael North West Neil Rowe. In the last 48 hours news about alleged ungentlemanly conduct by the MP has been shared in the social media space. Is the sacking of Rowe confirmation there is currency to what the man has been accused? If what is being shared is correct- the blogmaster has not heard of a denial from the MP up to cobbling this blog- then a question has to be asked, answered and addressed – has Barbados become a ghetto country?
A film made by Michelle and Barack Obama’s Production Company now on Netflix
Descendants
Talks about a slave ship of Africans illegally brought into America after slavery was abolished as a bet
who set up an African Community and taught those who were born as slaves about their culture through word of mouth stories that were kept a secret for 100 years as they would have been lynched for telling their truth
@ Artaxerxes,
If I were Blogmaster I would be nicknamed the Banmaster and the blog would probably be a failure. lol
What now?
Yes, I have been too busy on BU. Five days of not having to go anywhere or to do anything is the reason.
Operation ‘less is more’ has started.
Hants, I understand what you’ve ‘said,’ but, let’s be clear that I am NOT in anyway suggesting or recommending the banning of any person from contributing to BU.
Let us try to comment on the issues.
Now Mottley sounds just like Stuart when Stuart advised Carrington to get a lawyer. As she implied : we are a family.
For years the political clowns were told that from Carrington to Rowe ; from Greenland to Cahill, it is family all yuh dealing wid but wunnuh choose to cuss and berate people. Now wunnuh ain’t got nuh place to hide or nuh names to hide behind.
Where isMark Stokes……who kill Pele ?
Drip………drip…….. drip……
More to come
So here is wha a gwaan, the people have DECIDED what they will do about all of these anti-Afrikan CRIMES against themselves and their children going forward……and they KNOW it’s all coming from the Slave master parliament……..they can see very clearly that they are in GRAVE DANGER….
“ a big hardback man is responsible for his own actions”( Author Unknown)
And so was Carrington.
Stuart was not responsible for Carrington and Mottley is not responsible for Rowe.
Drip……drip…..drip……….
More to come
There was also a “same” man who led the DLP in a general election ; spent twenty years criticizing the economic policy of the BLP and even brought a no confidence motion against the BLP. He subsequently ran on a BLP ticket and is now a senior adviser to the BLP.
From Mascoll to Yearwood via Lashley, Kerri , Grant and countless others , even Barrow , it’s the same party.
Drip……drip….. drip……
More to come
Carrington was found guilty
Row is only accused at this point
William…am more than happy to break the good news to them…..
the cover-up is OVER
the sleight of hand,
lying,
deceiving,
tricking to implement the nasty agendas of others against Afrikans when no one is paying attention, are ALL over…
Skinner trust you to make foolish comparisons.The difference is Mr Carrington was found guilty of withholding the old man’s money and ordered to pay the man.In Mr Rowe’ s case he has been charged but not at this point found guilty of anything.Mr Stuart did not remove him but advised him apparently to get a lawyer.On the other hand Ms Mottley removed Mr Rowe from his position while stating to let the law take its course.Two completely different actions taken if you take off your dem blinkers.I gone.
“He brought up domething that was said in 2018 concerning Mr Rowe from Ms Mottley.All Ms Mottley and others were doing was endorcing Mr Rowe as the man to beat Mr Sinckler.”
I think you attributed something to me, but I don’t have a clue what you are talking about. I do not travel with BLP/DLP history. That red bag is empty.
My focus is only on current scams./misdeeds. Almost anything before 2022 is blank and that is without the use of good stuff. Was considering adding ‘imps, pimps, slaves, 100 years and white minorities’ but changed my mind.
Killing false narratives daily operation
A test given to Jamaica and other Caribbean countries implies it was not Barbados Government at fault.
IDB are always providing reports and surveys for Latin America Caribbean.
BLP reshuffling cabinet has nothing to do with the test.
A Q for the BU straights
Q: Why do boring squares talks about herb like smart asses
fucking wankers
And where did the NDP came from? Same party !
I surely won’t want to be as famous as none of them are right now, that’s for sure….worldwide, world stage famous…….
they may as well hang up their judas traitor gloves, they are worn and torn..
..cause they certainly DO NOT WANT TO FACE WHO HAS ENTERED THE RING..
Taking back lyrics from corny motherfuckers
10:15 Saturday Night / The Cure
Saturday night
And the tap drips
Under the strip light
And I’m sitting
In the kitchen sink
And the tap drips
Drip drip drip drip drip drip drip drip
Waiting
Waiting
For the telephone to ring
And I’m wondering
Where she’s been
And I’m crying
For yesterday
And the tap drips
It’s always the same
Warning
Skip video below instead of moaning again about relevance or lack of thereof
The Living End – 10.15 Saturday Night
@Mr Blogmaster , on its face this remark is very compelling re “Mr Stuart did not remove him but advised him apparently to get a lawyer. On the other hand Ms Mottley removed Mr Rowe from his position while stating to let the law take its course”
Eather cute … but a little deeper review shows that in fact Mottley’s reaction is rather self serving and lacks the supposed high integrity which she pretends is directing her actions…
1) Despite the disturbing charge of rape, this man has not been convicted of anything. God forbid for example that evidence is presented at trial to show a different set of facts related to the events!
And more damning …. 2) Ms Mottley also REFUSED to act in a case where one of her minister was clearly shown to have breached many legal boundaries related to the Data Protection Act and showed similar callous disregard (much greater, really) for humanity diginity re that IDB sponsored survey.
On a scale between the judgement against Carrington and the charge against Rowe is marked in bold the very evident actual ‘rape’ of trust, legality and reason of over 700 Bajan familes and yet MAM refused to act.
So as much as I honour the pain of this rape victim it’s amusing (sarcastically so) that our PM could attempt to clumsily deflect with this piece of PR … Anyone (other than party supporters) who buys it must be just as clueless as Stuart!
‘What a damnable place’, is how the griot would label it!
@Dee Word
What is the value of debating if one sun is bigger than the other?
Ooops … Echoing that very old ‘Yellow Pages’ advertising tag line … ‘my fingers did not walk very well‘ in that earlier post…
Excuse the too many typos/omissions!
Seems ridiculous to speak about applying “family” values when faced with an adult accused of rape and whatever else.
When faced with what recently happened with young children all we got is evasion.
Seems to me that is where family values apply, not with the adult who is allowed to act alone and bear the consequences.
“Seems to me that is where family values apply, not with the adult who is allowed to act alone and bear the consequences. When faced with what recently happened with young children all we got is evasion.”
no respect
no ethics
no morals
no integrity
no principles
ya cahn wring blood from stone.
In politics they say your last mistake is always remembered the most
the good work someone does gets overlooked
plans made do get seen through to completion with limited time in office
Hope wunna listening to Brasstacks.
David Ellis vex bout leaks.
One of the COVER UPS from September to October is being exposed…..they deserve everything that’s fall down on their heads….apparently they got more coming…DUCK….
@David, maybe so … but it seems as if MAM and her fans would have us believe that her planet revoles around the sun called Integrity.
It certainly does not of course.
“but it seems as if MAM and her fans would have us believe that her planet revoles around the sun called Integrity.”
I don’t see any corruption except for some hardball politics
winning 30-0 x 2 seems to have silenced opposition like a dominatrix
BU must be the BLP blog!!
Something as juicy as the alleged rape and whatever else and nobody ent saying nuffin.
Comments must be getting tek dung.
Nobody pleads guilty to rape which jams up the Court System
Someone sent me this.
https://www.facebook.com/BarbadosToday/videos/5436609136387895/?extid=WA-UNK-UNK-UNK-AN_GK0T-GK1C&ref=sharing
It is not only the CCJ and Supreme Court that have leaks, seems as though the Police do too
John…if you only knew, but the information will reach you eventually. Island is too small for it not to.
Another reshuffle? Heard West Indies cricket coach, Phil Simmons, resigned. Skerritt, Shallow, Jimmy Adams, Haynes and the other selectors, coaches, support staff and the team manager, should resign as well.
Atty Forde has a point, nuhbody in Barbados can’t keep, they are like an abandoned fridge or as leaky as a strainer.
Seriously @Artax, re “Another reshuffle? Heard West Indies cricket coach, Phil Simmons, resigned. Skerritt, Shallow, Jimmy Adams, Haynes and the other selectors, coaches, support staff and the team manager, should resign as well.”
So wait wha bout de players dem!
You will junk the ENTIRE establishment because the 15 players could not execute their skills when called upon to do so!
I can agree with the Coach and his assistants because their role is to motivate and focus these millionaire level athletes to ensure that they EXECUTE … if they fail then the coaching team has failed …. but the selectors, Dir of Cricket, CEO, Marketing and Communications folks and all-a-dem, really!
Man you harsh tho!😒😎
@David, not hijacking the discussion on MAM’s reshuffle but this WI shuffle and what it delivers to us all is just as problematic!
Pain and suffering all bour de place!
dpD, the ‘system’ always deals with players after every disasterous series. Hence the reason why so many cricketers with ‘short-lived’ careers played for WI. The selectors chose players who did not merit selection and provided supporters with ludicrous reasons for selecting them. Skerrit & Shallow made ‘big promises,’ but delivered ‘very little.’ Their record clearly indicates there hasn’t been any significant development in West Indies cricket at both the regional and international levels during their tenure. We continue to use a mediocre regional FOUR (4) DAY as the basis to select players to play test cricket, against countries such as England, Australia and India where their domestic tounaments and cricket clubs are professionally managed.
And, Jimmy Adams has so far been an ‘abysmal failure’ as Director of Cricket. I’ll repeat for your benefit, dpD. There hasn’t been any signficant development in WI cricket or introduction of fundamental policy initiatives during his tenure as well. Oh, I forgot, we have embraced the ‘modern slang.’ We’re now using the word ‘batter’ instead of ‘batsman.’
Why do men rape?
555dubstreetOctober 24, 2022 6:50 PM
I think he may have fingered her and played with her titties but did not go any further
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
That is not rape.
Women have fingers too but can’t commit rape as it is legally defined.
Skerrit promises enquiry into World Cup debacle
++++++++
The above is a headline from an article in latest edition of BT
Let me save him some time and money
1) Can’t bat
2) Can’t bowl
3) Can’t field
Stick a fork in them, they’re done!
Leh me wax serious for a minute but Mr. Forde does have a point or two, the leaking of the statement is injurious to both parties, the alleged perpetrator, and the complainant, how does the statement from the police blotter makes it way to the social network? I am told that photos of the complainant have also been in circulation, and I am sure that strikes fear into the hearts of women who are victims of sexual assault that the supposed secrecy of their identity will be breached if they complain to the Police so when Mr. Forde says that women “will take a ting” he is right on the ball.
Mr. Forde also said that the details were leaked in advance of a certain event (I am paraphrasing here) but what does he mean? Did the BLP’s conference have anything to the information making its way to the public domain?
Just a detour into a thoughtful mode
It is not only the CCJ and Supreme Court that have leaks, seems as though the Police do too
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
POLICE ON THE 2X3 ISLAND ALSO INVOLVED WITH DRUG TRADE WITH MAJOR DRUG LORDS, GUN RACKET SELLING, HUMAN TRAFFICKING.
BEEN HAPPENING FOR YEARS AND IS WIDESPREAD,
THIS IS JUST THE TIP OF THE ICEBERG.
@Aratx, a venting on our cricket woes is required surely 😀 but other serious matters intrude… so hopefully some time soon there will be an opportunity!
And @SimpleSimon, I presume men rape for the same reason that tepid rhetorical questions are posed: it’s something their naughty persona choses to do!
Why does anyone do evil things or commit crime ??? 🤔
Peace!
“Did the BLP’s conference have anything to the information making its way to the public domain?”
what’s on other forums is that the alleged crime happened in September and despite the best efforts of the party, it was IGNORED…..since these types of predator crimes are seen as a ritual, a rite of passage left over from slave masters and some see it as A GIVEN RIGHT to perp and get away….
so if ya being ignored for something so criminal and dangerous to women, children and men, if ya think a am joking READ THIS:
“‘Predator’ jailed for 22 years after drugging and sexually assaulting two men”
the next best thing is to expose them and watch them scramble….no more cover up…
“Olympic swimmer Mary-Sophie Harvey reveals she was drugged at World Championships”
people are going after these demons…
I was more than amused, when the PM added this gem to her statement
“long enough to know and to respect the spirit and the intent of the Constitution of Barbados”.
I take it from the silence that none of the BU males want to get corned by the dude Neto or any other like-minded sexual predator anywhere……ah heard Barbados is choc-o-bloc with them, have been for decades and neither children, women or man are safe…
and they believe wholeheartedly that they are untouchable and invincible…
tell us again how yall think the pedophile sex survey was innocent and mean the island and the region’s children well…..and not a deliberate act to destroy children…
1/3
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/10/25/wickham-lane-appointment-to-cabinet-a-major-move/
It would be interesting to know what was said after the reshuffle before this one. Did we have phrases other than ‘interesting’, ‘surprising’, ‘unexpected’, major move’, ‘unorthodox’ ….?
Has anyone hazard a guess into the thinking of Mia or must we just rely on what was said in the speech?
btw…you do know that the alleged victim got a copy of the complaint and could do with it whatever they liked, per instructions from their lawyer, so casting blame on the police as the leak is wicked and malicious…as the shite lawyer for the defendant well knows but trying to distract from the main issue here which is the ritual, the rite of passage inherited from polluted bloodlines and slave masters…..
but wait….is that not the same SHITE LAWYER that lost the Myrie case because of ignorance and arrogance, just like those in the previous government who set up the Jamaican young lady and thought THAT THEY TOO could get away with violating her human rights..
BTW @Artax, I am reminded that this is the time of year when we Bajans can ventilate our collective ‘hate’ for all things related to ‘School Dazes’ and those supposed Mafias bout de place particularly at Waterford!😎😇
So some time this week imagine if fellas from Scotland in de guise of 15 to 18 year old lads beat a WI team (almost) that could comprise Braithwaite (× 2), Justin Greaves, Holder (not Jason), a Reifer, Rawston Chase, Shane Dowrich, Warrican and Chris Jordan (the latter both expats now who played for national teams outside Bim) and more.
Now I know some of them may have problems getting on their flights to the big game (what a ting eh!) but brother knowing how committed to dat place u fellas are I am sure if an invitation was sent they WOULD make de flight dem!🤣😎
Commitment, yes!
So yah think it would be a conniption if de “school boys’ Scotland beat that team of stars!
Just saying.🙏🏿
there is information going around that not even i want any part of, TOO EXPLOSIVE for little old me bozie…lawd….
more to come…
If yall don’t mind am going with the least explosive story…..the nuclear-like armaments are for the big boys and gals of the international orders to explore…not me..
https://epaper.barbadostoday.bb/infinity/article_popover_share.aspx?guid=024c3517-9f80-429c-897d-0065f3309a77
Over the years several men and women have been accused of raping or sexually assaulting men and women.
We know cases of men preying on young boys, such as Allan Woodall, who, ironically, resided in Gays, St. Peter.
But, ‘all of a sudden,’ because a politician has been arrested and charged on suspicion of rape, the usual suspects are proudly ‘feeding BU with their trademark rhetoric’ of ‘cover-ups’ and unsubstantiated information mixed with malicious gossip from other social media platforms.
In their haste to find Rowe guilty, they’re conveniently ignoring a legal principle known as the ‘presumption of innocence,’ which simply means, ANY PERSON (including a politician), who has been accused of committing a crime, remains INNOCENT until he/she is found guilty of that crime by a Court of law.
@Artax
Again, focus on the issues. There will always be people that thrive in drama mode.
you do know that the alleged victim
what’s on other forums is that the alleged crime
it’s clear some of you DON’T UNDERSTAND what the above means, but on here pretending to be lawyers and experts….it’s not me getting laughed at…
“btw…you do know that the alleged victim got a copy of the complaint and could do with it whatever they liked, per instructions from their lawyer, so casting blame on the police as the leak is wicked and malicious…as the shite lawyer for the defendant well knows but trying to distract from the main issue here which is the ritual, the rite of passage inherited from polluted bloodlines and slave masters…..”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The above is an example of the ignorance that passes on social media as ‘explosive information.’ And, the type of nonsense people who often ‘talk’ about ‘critical thinking,’ would describe as “educating the people about what is REALLY HAPPENING on the island and elsewhere.”
According to the Barbados Sexual Offences Act, Section 35 (1), ‘Anonymity of complainant:’
“After a person is accused of an offence under this Act, no matter likely to lead members of the public to identify a person as the complainant (victim) in relation to that accusation shall either be published in Barbados in a written publication available to the public or be broadcast in Barbados except where, on the application of the complainant or the accused, the Court directs that the effect of the restriction is to impose a substantial and unreasonable restriction on the reporting of proceedings and that it is in the public interest to remove the restriction in respect of the applicant.”
Let’s be reasonable and rational.
Taking the above into consideration, what type of lawyer would advise his client, to post her victim statement outlining details of the alleged crime, to social media for the world to read and identify her in the process?
I am “focusing on the issues.”
… the below is a clear indication of legal ignorance, because the other sites are saying the police leaked the information and I KNOW MUCH BETTER THAN TO RUN WITH THAT or even say what i may know…on BU…..since everyone keeps saying it’s the BLP blog…
all the lawyer has to do is say he did not do it, all i said was the alleged victim has a copy of the complaint and could do it herself, per advice from her lawyer, but when yall seeking to discredit any accusations against a questionable government…ya run with any stupid thing….and PROVE what is being said…
@TheoG
It would be interesting to know what was said after the reshuffle before this one. Did we have phrases other than ‘interesting’, ‘surprising’, ‘unexpected’, major move’, ‘unorthodox’ …
++++++++++
Boilerplate! Boilerplate! it’s the usual suspects with their boilerplate lest they upset someone who is a source of revenue.
Amidst all the conversation about who exchanged chairs with whom has anyone noticed that there is a new Minister of State responsible for crime prevention?
One wonders what the former COP (consultant) was being paid to do, Corey how do you like your fatted calf?
Many hands make light work…… Update Too many cooks spoil the broth
@Sargeant
In our system of government a reshuffle is the PM’s prerogative, we can therefore speculate all we want.
AOP has no scandals and are unlikely to have any…
but what i want to know is…HOW THE HELL DID IT REACH TO THIS…
i know they have played fast and loose for decades and believed themselves untouchable and invincible….but, am not speaking of the rape allegations alone, MANY, MANY things are out there about and ON ALL OF THEM….and now people are warning each other everywhere about ALL OF THEM….
how did they get here…..DESPITE DECADES AND years of warnings…where the messengers got cussed and attacked for even saying that THIS WAS BOUND TO HAPPEN one day, now they can only watch in amusement..
can’t pass this off on anyone, can’t use anyone as a distraction anymore, can’t say it’s not happening…..yall ran out of excuses…..and other people to blame….just like they ran out of only one cross section of the population to RoB and now have to face the other cross section who are DETERMINED it will NOT HAPPEN TO THEM…..wuh i get people contacting me about that too…ya should hear what they are saying, of course you will NEVER hear it from me.
Am sure some may have by now seen the photo of an alleged capture of guns at the port by the police..,,the story behind how these guns arrive on the island is so horrifying particularly when we look at the reality that so many Afrikan lives are lost NEARLY daily to this deliberately instigated gun violence….and no, it’s NO SECRET…
am equally sure they still cannot see the END OF THE ROAD ahead of them….and that they have no more brakes to apply..
William…i don’t know what to tell these, they insist on making the shit that is falling on all of them…and have them DRENCHED in the stench ….about me and others who have ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO DO WITH any of this crap that can put people away for a long time…..anything to cover up corruption and crimes against the people on the island….it can’t work, never did, ..but still they are trying, while the names of those they are trying to protect are echoing everywhere about this and that..
they should go searching and see for themselves…the SCANDAL is UGLY…
Sarg
Corey start off with a bang ?
@ WURA
At this point it is now left to the justice system to play out. It is not a pleasant thing to see a young man involved in such trouble but with all the hypocrisy that we have; I am certain that if he were a Dee, the Bees would have reacted the identical way and that’s the problem with our society and politics.
Mr. Rowe and the accuser need to be left alone and we ought to allow justice to take its course. We do have the presumption of innocence until proven guilty.
Personally, I will not immerse myself beyond that as far as this issue is concerned.
There is no rejoicing on my part here.
2. I am still trying to work out why we apparently now have two Attorney Generals. But I guess that’s not a very salacious topic st this time.
Drip…….drip……. drip……,,,
More to come
“We do have the presumption of innocence until proven guilty.
Personally, I will not immerse myself beyond that as far as this issue is concerned.”
that’s the thing, until the process starts and runs its course, everything at this point is ALLEGED…despite ALL THE VOLUMES of information out there on this and that party…we can’t try to use it as a distraction mechanism to direct the other burning UGLY SCANDALS away from public view……and trying to shine a light on me…….they lost that battle years ago and still reaching….
“2. I am still trying to work out why we apparently now have two Attorney Generals. But I guess that’s not a very salacious topic st this time.”
distraction, distraction, distraction, at TAXPAYER’S EXPENSE….the mortar is full, the pestle can’t even fit……that’s why i won’t touch certain topics…let it close in on them until they can’t breathe, they deserve no less….every topic i and others spoke out against over the years is now haunting them…let them throw taxpayer’s at it to see if it will magically disappear….
in our system of government a reshuffle is the PM’s prerogative, we can therefore speculate all we want.
++++++
Who is arguing the contrary? Here’s the deal the usual suspects Wickham, Belle etc. offer nothing new to any examination of the shuffle, if one is going to say that people are being placed where their strengths lie, one should also ask why wouldn’t it done before? Is there a light bulb moment that perhaps there were square pegs in round holes? How about Walcott going back to his 2007 era position as MOH? The AG is recycled from that era, how’s that working out? The appointment of a new Minister in his Department responsible for crime prevention is an admission of failure by the Gov’t in his ability to do the job especially when the former COP was assigned to his Dept. for essentially the same purpose or maybe he was just window dressing.
Hero worship seems to be the name of the game speak no ill of……..
@Sargeant
It was a general comment. Agree with the recycled commentators bit.
Again…i won’t want to be any of them….not with what’s out there and not at any time…….i prefer and like being me without any stench tagging along….
I think the name of the lawyer in the Myrie case was different, don’t sound like the same first name to me, i don’t remember it being that first name at all…
Let me retract that, yes it was the same lawyer person, same first name, got a blurry article reading…re the “leak” they are now trying to DISTRACT EVERYONE WITH..
..and not the fact that the alleged VICTIM was IGNORED for nearly a month….no one paid attention, trying to cover up and sweep under the rug, so the victim gets no day in court or justice..why don’t they touch on THAT TOPIC…
and the same lawyer got a nerve to pretend to care about other victims not coming forward, because of the leak in their warped minds, after what they all did to Ms. Myrie…they have NO SHAME..
William…..have these never heard of Karma and Retribution….i have a feeling like everything else they just DON’T CARE…
i see two, not one, political scientists..again, what the hell are those, weighing in about whether the accused should step down, only in Barbados, no ethics, no integrity, no morals, no respect for taxpayers..anywhere else they would have to preserve any integrity left, but these have none of the above and never will…..
The Attorney General is responsible for law and order. This means the prevention of crime is a very hefty part of his ministerial responsibilities. How is it possible that an Attorney General has his portfolio slashed almost in half and will now find himself literally having to answer another member of cabinet on matters relating to a substantial part of his portfolio.
This is a blatant mockery and sophisticated abuse of power that an alert and non partisan citizenry will see for what it really portends.
We have now put the police in a professional and political vortex because they now have two political masters.
Drip…,, ….drip……..drip…..,,,,
More to come
RE: “all the lawyer has to do is say he did not do it, all i said was the alleged victim has a copy of the complaint and could do it herself, per advice from her lawyer…”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
It’s clearly the author of the above comments is an idiot. More shiite from the ‘fake civil litigator.’
“LEGAL IGNORANCE” is NOT knowing the functions of a civil litigator., while CLAIMING to “have a SPECIALTY in civil litigation.”
Let’s be sensible, reasonable and rational.
Most victims of rape, attempted rape or sexual assault, often suffer from a post-traumatic stress disorder known as ‘rape trauma disorder or syndrome,’ where the victim exhibit emotions such as fear, anxiety, guilt, anger, sadness, depression and shame.
And, we all know the stigma that accompanies rape may contribute significantly to the shame and guilt the victims feel.
It is also a known fact many alleged rape victims fear the Court process, because it entails facing the perpetrator…… and reliving their traumatic experience while being cross examination.
For example, lawyers representing the alleged abuser, may interrogate them about their sexual history.
Under those circumstances, what sense would it make for an alleged rape victim to post a copy of her victim impact statement to social media, where it would remain in ‘cyberspace’ for her to relive the ordeal repeatedly, and give silly people the opportunity to post insensitive comments?
“This is a blatant mockery and sophisticated abuse of power that an alert and non partisan citizenry will see for what it really portends.”
the people are livid…..as they ought to be…their money is being dished out here and there without any benefits to them…..as it has for decades that trapped them firmly in IMF hands……billions still missing from the economy and no one held accountable so is it any surprise that the miseducation ministry committed an illegal act on the island’s children and parents with the blessings of the parliament and are not held accountable…..that is who they are..
“We have now put the police in a professional and political vortex because they now have two political masters.”
the police who are not beholden are not blind…
Let them keep digging their holes, they may come out in China…lol
when ya digging GRAVES for other people ALWAYS DIG 2….
NY supreme court ordered the reinstatement of ALL EMPLOYEES FIRED FOR BEING UNVACCINATED and also ordered back pay , WHY…because being vaccinated DOES NOT STOP THE SPREAD OF THE VIRUS…….all city employees and others have to BE PAID….and given back their jobs.
..i remember the backward idiots in Barbados and how they acted…
these small island copycat clowns were the top bullies for nearly 3 years…showing their handlers how IGNORANT and BRUTAL they are…..hope they know that their TURN IS RIGHT AROUND THE CORNER for vaccine injuries, deaths, ETC…..
All the blood money they took to terrorize people with a questionable vaccine, will now HAUNT THEM….lawd…
and that’s not all, but let this play out…i might get a 4th book out of it…
This is a new page
Hooray!
This comment is at the bottom of the page
Boo!
Regardless of your political leaning, you have to admire a leader who won 2 landslides with opposition getting 0 seats.
Mia said she will not be running again, so is thinking about her legacy and setting up the party to have a new leader in the next 4 years.
I forgot to add that 2 x 30-0 wins is more a reflection of the voting public
William…why is there this big confusion about a deputy speaker has to resign before a new one can take their place, to sweeten the pot, them seh dis speaker seh…he int no resigning…and den dem quoting a law that says the governor general has to choose a new speaker….so why we still hearing bout some nonexistent GG while dem modeling as RoB.
that one should perk you up tomorrow….it will be a long day…..i need a break, too much drama, will check in late morning…
Curious
I have seen links to
Barbadostoday
The Nation
Loopnews
and a variety of other Barbados site.
Always missing is the Advocate
Wha going on dey?
UPDATED: and den dem quoting a law that says the non-existent governor general has to give permission in the choosing of a new deputy speaker.
dah is wuh happen wen ya RUN FRAUD on the public and believe ya being SLICK…
grave stone sign….here lies slick…
To the BU intelligentsia, go sit in the Civics classes being taught in primary schools instead of further confirming what people already know about wunna. #wrong&strong
“The Attorney General is responsible for law and order. This means the prevention of crime is a very hefty part of his ministerial responsibilities. How is it possible that an Attorney General has his portfolio slashed almost in half and will now find himself literally having to answer another member of cabinet on matters relating to a substantial part of his portfolio.”
Does the author of the above care to tell us what duties have been assigned to Mr.Layne as Minister of State for Crime Prevention? What is the role of Senior Minister/AG in relation to a Minister of State i.e. who in charge of who? This is what passes for intellectual discussion on BU? 🤣🤣🤣
3/4
My thoughts on the cabinet reshuffle
You (not me) will be duped again
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/10/26/severe-deficits/
Are we focusing on the wrong things? You can call it anything you want 11+, ‘screaming test’, ‘academies of excellence” and ‘junior academies’ but if you feed in students with the same shocking deficiencies, we are just failing parents and students.
Focus on the bread and butter issues, the things that matter..
From BT
“President of the union Rudy Lovell told Barbados TODAY that there was a “vast” number of students entering secondary school with “shocking” deficiencies, including inability to spell their names and even form letters properly.
President of the union Rudy Lovell told Barbados TODAY that there was a “vast” number of students entering secondary school with “shocking” deficiencies, including inability to spell their names and even form letters properly.
And he insisted that the Ministry of Education should seek to fix these issues before changing the method used to transition students from primary to secondary school.”
The BUT President don’t seem to be too sharp. Firstly, who teaching these children that at 11 are unable to do what he’s saying? Not his members? Secondly, aren’t these children entering via the 11+ and therefore it would be sensible to revamp the entry process? Thirdly, who says the junior academies won’t be structured to include remedial classes? Fourthly, is reform just about temoving the 11+ or just part of a comprehensive programme? What does it take to head some ah these unions tho? The depth of thought from too many of them is as deep as a teaspoon. 🤣🤣
@enuff
Can see that you struggle to the right thing, but that is after you have donned your party boots, which influences your actions.
“The BUT President don’t seem to be too sharp. Firstly, who teaching these children that at 11 are unable to do what he’s saying? Not his members”
Should he therefore keep quiet, because it is union members doing the bulk of the teaching?
Didn’t you see this sentence
“And he insisted that the Ministry of Education should seek to fix these issues before changing the method used to transition students from primary to secondary school”
or this one
““.Focus on the primary schools first, resolve the issues in the primary school and then we can look to implement anything after that . . . . When you are building a house you start with the foundation. We believe that the primary school system is the foundation of education in Barbados. So, if you want to strengthen the house, you should start by strengthening the foundation so there are no cracks,” the union leader said.
Please read to understand and not to respond (Do you remember that gem of a phrase?)
Theo
I read to understand and I sticking to my point-,as much depth as a teaspoon. For example, “focus on the primary schools first”. The 11+ is where, UWI? May be you need to stop looking at me and focus on the party boot wearer looking back at you in the mirror. I said what I said. Wuh I ain’t the first BUer to say so bout union leaders in Bim. Rest muh do!
I see that you read to understand, but understanding in not one of your strengths.
“For example, “focus on the primary schools first”. The 11+ is where, UWI?”
You missed the point completely. What the union leader is saying is this… It is good to have all these downstream plans, but before we go there let us fix the source. Let us make our primary schools stronger so that children can write their names or even letters of the alphabet. Then we can implement these ideas
You are not going to say it, but I will still reply.
You are welcome. 😁
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/10/27/best-men/I read the article. From what I read a bread-and-butter guy.
Given the opportunity and space, he should perform. Hope he was not planted there to cover-up Dale’s incompetence Hope Dale Marshal has the sense to keep on doing what he is doing (nothing) and let the young man cobtribute.
TheO’s vote (currently) Corey Lane 👍 (subject to change)
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/10/27/best-men/
4/4
epaper BT _good reading
page 26/47 – Assets going one by one
**Read it and weep
page 27/48 – Not Chilling with Laurie —
** I’ve always like Ralph Jemmott. Read and see why. At least he didn’t call it BS, but he cuts through. whatever it is.
page37/47 US$43M. IDB loan builds 4 schools + more… That’s in Guyana
**an interesting approach. IDB starts to repair the damage to regional reputation by loaning Guyana a little money. Then they will give Barbados a few measly dollars and we forget that we have children.
This is a tough one and it actually hurts me to write it.
40/47. No confidence. Barbados Table Tennis clubs want to see their sport’s administrators gone
** To be fair. I did not read the article. But I see people wanting changes in cricket, soccer and now in the BTTA.
If I search, I am certain i can find other sport areas with disgruntled people. Perhaps, it is not the coaches or administrators, but just that our sportsmen/women are not good enough. What do you think?
From BT
“President of the union Rudy Lovell told Barbados TODAY that there was a “vast” number of students entering secondary school with “shocking” deficiencies, including inability to spell their names and even form letters properly.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
THIS MEANS MANY TEACHERS HAVE BEEN SCAMMING THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION AT THE DETRIMENT OF THE YOUNGSTERS.
WHEN IT RAINS ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND IT POURS FOR THE BLACK AGAINST BLACK DEPRIVATION AND CRIME.
@ Baje
No teachers were not “ scamming” the ministry . This is a result of not putting the required interest in the primary school education system. This news is nothing new, but it has been swept under the carpet for donkey years.
Since the mid- seventies, the BUT has been asking to do more diagnostic assessments testing to identify students’ weaknesses to determine deficiencies that may be impeding their progress but nothing was really done.
@ Baje
No teachers were not “ scamming” the ministry . This is a result of not putting the required interest in the primary school education system. This news is nothing new, but it has been swept under the carpet for donkey years.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
I RESPECTFULLY BEG TO DIFFER SINCE I HAVE TAUGHT MYSELF HOWEVER AT A HIGHER LEVEL.
THESE STUDENTS OVER THE YEARS WOULD HAVE PASSED THROUGH SEVERAL HANDS PRIMARILY BEING THE TEACHERS WHOSE JOB WAS TO GET THEM ABLE TO DO THE BASICS OF READING AND WRITING.
THEY FAILED MANY STUDENTS WHO HAVE FELL THROUGH THE CRACKS WITH MANY LATER BECOMING SOCIETY’S PROBLEMS. THEY SHOWED UP AND COLLECTED FREE MONEY WITH NO PRIDE, CARE OR CONCERN OF GETTING THE RESULTS FOR WHICH THEY WERE PAID TO DO.
SO, THESE SAME TEACHERS SCAMMED THE SYSTEM AND ROB THOSE CHILDREN OF A BRIGHTER FUTURE AND THE LOCAL SOCIETY AS A WHOLE.
YES, THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION WHO HEADS IT ALL ALSO FAILED THE SAME STUDENTS.
HOWEVER MAINLY THE TEACHERS THEY PASSED THROUGH HAD TO KNOW THAT THEY WERE FAILING TO DELIVER WHAT THEY WERE PAID TO DO.
I HAVE A SISTER ON THE 2X3 ISLAND WHO IS A SPECIAL ED TEACHER IN THE SYSTEM WITH A DEGREE FROM A CHICAGO UNIVERSITY I CAN ASSURE YOU KNOWING HER NO STUDENT UNDER HER TUTELAGE FELL THROUGH THE CRACKS BECAUSE SHE HAS PRIDE AND CARE FOR THE RESULTS OF HER LABOUR PAID FOR THROUGH THE SAME MINISTRY OF EDUCATION.
Anyone else having problems reading BU on their phone? Are they due to the recent tweaks/fixed?
I suspect the old format had all the bugs ironed out and then changes were made. If it isn’t broken, don’t fix it.
TheOGazerts,
There is a problem even on my 15″ laptop screen.
Problem solved.
The Ministry of Education, Technological and Vocational Training (METVT) has advised that there will be no school on Thursday, November 3 and Friday, November 4, as there is a scheduled a midterm break for teachers and students.
School will resume on Monday, November 7
Pingback: West Indies Cricket on the Skids | Barbados Underground
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/11/02/old-and-outdated/
Is it possible that this questionnaire is just a symptom of the problems with what we call primary school education. It is interesting to note that BUT is floating out a number of important issues after news of this questionable questionnaire broke.
Perhaps one of the problems with our system is that people speak until they get what they want. When that happens, they pull up the stakes of their tents and move on even if the problem remains unsolved.
‘Relief’ not ‘solutions’ is our maxim.
Pingback: West Indies Cricket on the SkidsWest Indies Cricket on the SkidsBringing News and Opinions to the PeopleBarbados Underground