BU Covid Dash – Getting Back to Normal

Attached are charts up to the week ending 11th March 2022. The numbers are generally trending in the right direction but they seem to be slowly levelling off at relatively high levels. The R0 reproductive number needs to be closely monitored even though it is below the 1.0 target – Source: Lyall Small – See BU Covid 19 Updates page

54 thoughts on “BU Covid Dash – Getting Back to Normal

1. Yes to sports fans, leisure activities
    Horse racing and cricket fans got a further ease yesterday as COVID-19 restrictions were relaxed.
    In addition karaoke, pleasure cruises and nightclub activities can resume announced Minister of Health Ian Gooding-Edghill, last night in changes to Directive No. 4.
    The adjustments are against an “optimistic” outlook with COVID-19 infections trending downward and the positivity rate at ten to 12 per cent over the last week, down from a high one month ago of 26 per cent.
    The minister reported that the outbreak at the Geriatric Hospital had been brought to an end and there were only a few new cases reported from Dodds Prison and the Psychiatric Hospital.
    The occupancy at Harrison Point, he said, was approximately 40 per cent of its capacity, while at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, which reported an increase in the numbers and severity of cases of people with non-communicable diseases and their complications, were being monitored.
    Nightclubs, he said, would require vaccine certificates or a negative rapid antigen tests for patrons within a day before entry and notification must be given to the COVID Monitoring Unit (CMU) of the club’s opening.
    In the case of karaoke, said Gooding-Edghill, it would be allowed with three-feet distancing and sanitisation and singers six-feet away from the main group of patrons.
    100 per cent capacity
    In relation to pleasure craft, party cruises and private boats, they would continue to operate at 100 per cent capacity with proof of vaccine status or a negative rapid antigen test. The party cruises would be required to inform the CMU prior to each event and have a member of the unit on board with the cost borne by the organisers.
    On the sporting scene, for outdoor non-contact sports, there would be no requirements for vaccine or rapid antigen test for participants in, for example, cricket, hockey, football and swimming.
    For indoor non-contact sports, vaccination or rapid antigen tests would be required for participants though special consideration would be given to squash and indoor hand-ball. In the case of indoor contact – vaccination and rapid antigen tests would be required for participants. The same obtains for outdoor contact sports.
    The National Primary School Athletic Championships (NAPSAC) and Barbados Secondary Schools Athletic Championships (BSSAC) would be allowed, he said.
    “It should be borne in mind that any sport that requires special approval may only proceed after official permission has been given by the COVID Monitoring Unit or the Chief Medical Officer.
    “Horse racing fans will once again be able to enjoy the pleasure of horse racing in person as spectators, with fans being allowed to return to the Garrison Savannah
    in general. On the matter of cricket, the vaccination only policy for the upcoming test match at the Kensington Oval will apply to all stands. No rapid antigen testing will be required for the Party Stand at Kensington Oval,” Gooding-Edghill stated.
    He said policies intended to redound to the safety, security and overall benefit of the whole society would be instituted but reminded that COVID cases give rise to COVID cases.
    “Therefore, protecting yourself and adhering to existing protocols are still essential together with vaccination, particularly with a booster dose remaining extremely effective in preventing hospitalisation and death.
    “Of course, as human beings, we will have the tendency to be more relaxed in this more liberal situation. But, we will do ourselves and the nation a huge favour of responsibility by not giving into the temptation to play fast and loose in our daily activities,” the minister stated. ( AC)

2. “The numbers are generally trending in the right direction but they seem to be slowly levelling off at relatively high levels.

I have also been observing this compared to other countries who dealt with omicron. In those places the curve took a steep dive at a point to almost negligible numbers. Our positivity for hte past 5-10 days has been consistently in the region o 15-18% and hasn’t moved since.

Also, the reduced numbers being tested and the clear unwillingness of some persons to come forward means that it is very much alive well and still spreading out there.

Statistics are only half the story however and it’s clear that we have decided to treat it like the common cold and move on.

Just observing

3. ENDEMIC stage vs PANDEMIC stage, can expect infection rates/levels to remain significantly high. The metric that now should be used is numbers in hospital and ICU’s to monitor situation.

4. Statistics can always be used or misused to support the narratives of the interpreters .In the final analysis the interpreter behaves in accordance with his interpretation.

5. We should finally abolish the stupid testing. No test means no positive diagnosis.

Everyone had the opportunity to be vaccinated.

6. BOTH UNVACCINATED.

On Saturday, March 12, an 87-year-old unvaccinated Barbadian male passed away from COVID-19.

A 77-year-old unvaccinated Barbadian female also succumbed to the virus this morning, Sunday, March 13.

7. @DAvid

Indeed I have. The Gap is no different. Yet we put restrictions everywhere else including schools.

Just observing

8. What is actually amazing here is that intelligent persons such as Observing and David appear to be taking this Covid reporting nonsense seriously. This PR exercise is CLEARLY targeted to the unthinking in our society to justify the idiocy that occurred over the last two years.Those reports should be printed on toilet paper for convenience of disposal.

The ONLY persons who go for official testing are those who have NO CHOICE, or who are hypochondriacs and chronically unhealthy. Furthermore, even if EVERYONE got tested every damn day … what would that tell us?
    Why the hell don’t we test everyone for cancer – that KILLS and MAIMS many more people than covid – and certainly than omicron.

It is as if we have lost the ability to THINK, and have decided to, EN MASSE, follow the dictates of the albino centric demons who have taken control of the international agencies..

Is it only Bushie who have noted the SIGNIFICANT increase in deaths (NOT due to covid) over the past year? It is ONLY Bushie who associates this with the roll-out of vaccines?
    Is it ONLY Bushie who is aware that in the USA, this INCREASE is 40% ABOVE pre vaccine ‘all causes’ deaths.
    Does ONLY Bushie note that BEFORE vaccinations, we had 47 deaths after a FULL year of the most aggressive variant … now with mild omicron, numbers are way up….

Steupsss
    If we are going to publish figures let us publish SENSIBLE facts – not childish PR nonsense.

• @Bush Tea

This is not just a Barbados scenario being played out, managing the pandemic or endemic whatever you want to call it is being driven by economic considerations ‘disproportionate’ to those of health.

9. David
    It is being managed by the GLOBAL agencies who are currently under the CONTROL of evil, albino-centric forces, …whose ONLY motivation is MONEY…..
    Are you saying that this JUSTIFIES intelligent Buhbadus blindly following like sheep…?

Steupsss…
    Bushie just waiting for you to publish that article today on Bizzy Williams calling for an ‘URGENT’ rate increase – so that BL&P can rape consumers, and pass some more of the LOOT his way…
    Classic albino-centric thinking…. Some shiite SERIOUSLY wrong with these people hear..??!!
    He don’t give a shit about the THOUSANDS of consumers who will be unable to afford to operate a fridge or light… or whether we are being RIPPED off by EMERA…as long as his dollars continue to roll in…

10. @ Bush Tea,

Eerybody is not as bright as you, nor as grounded in your BBE as you or as powerful as you.

Some of us just go with the flow and accept the consequences.

I will follow the advice of my doctor and do what she tells me to do even though she is half my age. lol

11. BUSH TEA
    YOU ARE 100% CORRECT
    COVID WAS MIS-MANAGED COMPLETELY BY ALL NATIONS THAT FOLLOWED DIRECTIVES BY THE CORRUPT WHO, CDC DR FALSE ET AL
    DRS WHO ARE TRAINED TO MANAGE MEDICAL PROBLEMS WERE CIRCUMVENTED FOR POLITICAL REASONS, AND SO THAT THE PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRY SHOULD PROFIT ABUNDANTLY
    LOCAL DRS DISPLAYED NO GUTS OR LEADERSHIP IN THE MATTER
    THE STANDARD OF OUR PUBLIC HEALTH DEPARTMENT HAS DESCENDED TO THE ABYSS
    THERE WAS NO PANDEMIC—–THERE WAS A PLANNED–EPIDEMIC

YOU ARE ALSO VERY CORRECT ABOUT THE ROLE OF THE SO CALLED VACCINES IN THIS CONUNDRUM
    I HAVE PERHAPS NEVER HAD SO MUCH FUN READING THE CONCENTRATED BOVINE EXCREMENT PERPETUATED ON BU ON THE ENTIRE MATTER

IT IS ALWAYS FUN TO HEAR MEDICAL ILLITERATES SEEK TO PONTIFICATE ON MEDICAL MATTERS WITH OUT A KNOWLEDGE OF THE BASIC MEDICAL SCIENCES.
    WHO COUNTS WITH OUT A KNOWLEDGE OF I 2 3?
    WHO ATTEMPTS TO READ WITH KNOWING THEIR A BC ?
    WHO PONTIFICATES ON IMMUNOLOGY AND MICROBIOLOGY AND PHARMACOLOGY WITHOUT A KNOWLEDGE OF THE RELATED BASIC MEDICAL SCIENCES?
    THE MORONS WHO FREQUENT THE BU RUM SHOP
    AND WE SAY THAT WE ARE EDUCATED.
    HILARIOUS

IF YOU REVIEW ALL THE BOVINE EXCREMENT SPEWED ON BU ABOUT COVID IN THE LIGHT OF SOUND SOLID BASIC SCIENCES, MOST OF IT WAS MORONIC BALDERDASH. BUT VERY ENTERTAINING
    SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED

12. HANTS
    AS AN OLD KOLIJ BOY FROM MY GENERATION, AND YOUR FRIEND, IT IS MY DUTY IN MY PROFESSIONAL CAPACACITY, TO WARN YOU THAT YOU ARE NOT PROCEEDING WITH DUE DILIGENCE IN THE MATTER OF HAVING A FEMALE PHYSICIAN FIDDLING WITH VARIOUS ASPECTS OF YOUR ANATOMY, AS THIS MAY PUT THE PHYSIOLOGICAL PROCESSES OF YOUR 70 PLUS OLD HEART OUT OF WHACK, WITH FATAL CONSEQUENCES.

A WORD TO THE WISE OUGHT TO BE ENOUGH?
    BUT THEN HANTS OLD BOY, I SUPPOSE GOING OUT WITH A BLAZE OF GLORY ON YOUR DRS EXAM TABLE AS SHE STRUMS ON YOUR MUSICAL INSTRUMENT, CAUSING YOU TO SING THE WRONG NOTE AND PLAY THE WRONG CORD ON YOUR HEART STRINGS. .

13. @ Hants
    Bushie is saddened by your resignation into meek compliance with idiocy. But you are JUST like 99.9%. Your position would be understandable from some others who are more challenged when it comes to doing their OWN research.

Bushie has DEEP reservations about trusting his health to someone whose LIVELIHOOD and success DEPENDS on Bushie’s ILL health. That would have to be a REAL SPECIAL doc.
    Now if that doctor was compensated for KEEPING Bushie Healthy until age 85, under penalty of PAYING the cost of any illness before then, THEN your young Doctor would be entertained under those conditions. As it is now, the doctor profits more when things go WRONG for Bushie, and is penalized financially when Bushie is as fit as a horse…. Figure THAT!!

Some time ago Bushie visited a doctor overseas (a requirement for the assignment) and the damn man INSISTED on seeing an ID card because he refuse to accept the age provided.

You need to go a bit easier on the BU bloggers.
    It is NOT easy to swim against the tide – Caswell best demonstrates that fact.
    Bushie is NOT a good example of this difficulty however, BUT ONLY because his Step Father likes him REAL bad….LOL …

If our LEADERS fall so easily for The WHO /PAHO /CDC bullshit, what are the poor sheep to do..?
    Perhaps you should just bring your vast knowledge to the table AND completely IGNORE the pushback.
    It is only natural that the drowning BBs will lash out – even at those trying to throw a lifeline…

14. “AS AN OLD KOLIJ BOY FROM MY GENERATION, AND YOUR FRIEND, IT IS MY DUTY IN MY PROFESSIONAL CAPACACITY, TO WARN YOU THAT YOU ARE NOT PROCEEDING WITH DUE DILIGENCE IN THE MATTER OF HAVING A FEMALE PHYSICIAN FIDDLING WITH VARIOUS ASPECTS OF YOUR ANATOMY, AS THIS MAY PUT THE PHYSIOLOGICAL PROCESSES OF YOUR 70 PLUS OLD HEART OUT OF WHACK, WITH FATAL CONSEQUENCES.”

BU Oldies like the BBB BB GP BT have ED and cannot raise their lingam as much as they used to when they went to school where it would jump up every 40 mins and stand to attention, but nobody really has ED and have to get out of their minds and into their body and feel the heat and energy in the sacral region

here is some bio hacks by Sahsha Cobra a Teacher, healer and energy worker with a focus on Spirituality and Sexiuality for you impotent Bu oldies with limp dicks

do it for 15 minutes a day
    you are welcome

THE KING OF THE WORLD – an amazing exercise for boosting your SELF CONFIDENCE
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ADdjk7oi8ws

15. @ DR. GP,

YOUR MEDICAL ADVICE IS GREATLY RESPECTED AS ALWAYS.

I AM SURE THE PULCHRITUDINOUS LADY IS NOT INTERESTED IN A 70 YEAR OLD HAS BEEN, BUT JUST SEEING HER FACE WILL SUFFICE. LOL

16. Vincent Codrington March 13, 2022 9:57 AM
    “Statistics can always be used or misused to support the narratives of the interpreters .In the final analysis the interpreter behaves in accordance with his interpretation.”

Using certain statistics separate from other quantitative and qualitative measures are used to tell half truths. The COVID-19 dash board can be an example. A positivity rate just indicates level of spread but there has been less discussion on the fatality rate. The relevant question now is, “should there be that much concern over a virus that may have high case numbers but a low and continually declining fatality rate?. In my opinion, I think not and no more over the other endemic contagious viruses. My belief is that the Omicron variant has reduced COVID-19 to one of the other coronavirus that causes the cold.

The initial concern with COVID-19 was the high contagiousness and the high number of deaths but the fatality rate was always low. When usual containment measures failed, mankind then resorted to lockdowns. These were always unsustainable as a long term solution. The vaccines gave us a means to reduce the deaths directly and slow the spread indirectly. These offer a far more viable alternative to the lockdowns shortening the time to a “return to normal”

Like the cold and flu viruses though, COVID-19 variants have arisen every 6 months on average so far. To this, in my view vaccine immunity will be close to impractical on a wide scale if vaccinations were required every 6 months.
    As fate would have it, we now have a more contagious but far less virulent variant that is now dominant. The reduced virulence IN MY VIEW allows for natural immunity to now be acceptable. In other words even though I continue to support voluntary vaccinations, vaccination status should now really be superfluous as control measure to prevent COVID-19. I further predict that even with the possibility of slightly more virulent variants arising in the future that the pandemic would be considered at an end in the next 6 – 12 months as long as the fatality rate continues as is.

17. HANTS
    ON THE OTHER HAND
    I WOULD NOT WANT YOU TO SUFFER A PROLONGED SLOW DEMISE
    SO MAYBE IN YOUR GREAT WISDOM YOU HAVE DISCOVERED AND DESIGNED A WAY OF YOUR TIMING AND CHOSING TO GO WITH A FLURRY AND A FLOURISH QUICKLY
    YOU ARE ONE SMART OLD BOY
    BRAVO

18. 18 March travel to England changes
    If you will arrive in England from abroad after 4am, Friday 18 March, you do not need to:

take any COVID-19 tests – before you travel or after you arrive

fill in a UK passenger locator form before you travel

This will apply whether you are vaccinated or not.

You also will not need to quarantine when you arrive, in line with current rules.

Other countries still have COVID-19 entry rules in place. You should check travel advice before you travel abroad from England.

If you will arrive in England before 4am, 18 March, you must follow the current rules as set out in the travel to England guidance.

In theory, our cases may go through the floor for the simple reason that no tests will be done on visitors returning to the UK.

Right now, anyone already vaccinated does not need to be tested when returning to the UK.

In the UK, 72% are fully vaccinated so our tests on visitors will continue to fall.

19. BUSH TEA
    You need to go a bit easier on the BU bloggers.
    It is NOT easy to swim against the tide – Caswell best demonstrates that fact.

YOU ARE OFF COURSE AGAIN 100@ CORRECT SIR IN THIS REGARD

It is INDEED NOT easy to swim against the tide – AS Caswell HAS WELL DEMONSTRATED.
    HOWEVER, WHEN YOU KNOW WHAT IS RIGHT—–IT OUGHT TO BE THE RIGHT THING TO DO BY SHARING THE TRUTH YOU KNOW DESPITE THE BS THAT WILL BE SPEWED IN RESPONSE—-EVEN THOUGH THIS MAY NOT BE CONVENIENT OR EXPEDIENT

ONE NEEDS TO HAVE A GREAT SENSE OF HUMOUR ALSO TO BE ABLE TO LAUGH WHEN YOU POST THE TRUTH ON BU AND YOUR POST IS TAKEN DOWN BECAUSE IT DOES NOT SUIT THE PREVAILING NARRATIVE

BUT WHEN THE PREVAILING NARRATIVE IS INCORRECT……..IT IS INCORRECT DESPITE WHO BELIEVES IT AND WHO SEEKS TO PROPAGATE IT

I WAS TAUGHT AT HOME TO DO RIGHT AND FEAR NO MAN
    AND AT SUNDAY SCHOOL TO DO RIGHT EVEN IF THE STARS FALL

I HAVE OFTEN FAILED TO CARRY OUT THESE INSTRUCTIONS PERFECTLY , BUT I HAVE REMAINED STEADFAST IN ENDEAVOURING SO TO DO

WE OFTEN HARP AND SAY THAT OUR EDUCATIONAL SYSTEM IS FLAWED, BUT IS IT?

A VERY RESPECTED AND EXPERIENCED TEACHER RECENTLY TOLD ME THIS, SIR

“SOME PUPILS JUST CAN NOT BE HELPED”

PERUSAL OF THE PAGES OF BU FROM 2008 INDICATES, THAT LIKE YOU, SHE IS ALSO 100% CORRECT

20. Bumper crowd for Test
    by MIKE KING mikeking@nationnews.com
    INTEREST IN TEST CRICKET is at fever pitch in Barbados, with more than 8 000 spectators expected to flock to Kensington Oval both today and tomorrow, the first two days of the West Indies clash with England.
    Barbados Cricket Association (BCA) manager of marketing and communications Steven Leslie said the first two days were sold out and ticket sales were going “extremely well” well for days three, four and five.
    “I believe we are going to have very sizeable crowds; certainly, on the first two days it could be 8 000-plus. Test cricket is major in the Caribbean and Barbados is one of the most popular venues, so it is always pleasing to have this kind of support,” he said.
    Leslie said with the BCA being given the green light to have 100 per cent capacity for the venue, this should pave the way for heavy fan attendance in the popular Greenidge & Haynes Stand, Three Ws Stand and the Party Stand.
    “Having 100 per cent capacity is welcome news in addition to the fact that there will be no testing required for those who are going into the Party Stand,” he said.
    Leslie made it clear that COVID-19 protocols such as the wearing of masks and adequate distancing will be adhered to, adding that there will still be no entry for those who are unvaccinated.
    “Only those who are fully vaccinated will be allowed to come into the stands but the rapid antigen tests will no longer be required.”
    Delight
    BCA president Conde Riley expressed delight at the tourism spin-off, noting that several hotels were full and restaurants “well booked”.
    “An England tour usually has a major tourism component and this is no different. We are on track for bumper crowds throughout the five days,” he added.
    Riley said a huge percentage of the ticket sales were online, adding that about 80 per cent of the fans will be the renowned English Barmy Army supporters.
    “It is always great having the English here. They love the weather, the beaches and the cricket.
    I am sure the rum shop owners and hired car owners will benefit from their visit.”
    The England tour marks the return of fans to Test cricket at the historic venue for the first time since the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic.
    England Test teams have been touring the Caribbean since 1930, with Kensington Oval the venue for the West Indies’ first home Test. West Indies have dominated most of the contests, winning nine of the 16 series.
    Last October, Cricket West Indies (CWI) chief executive officer Johnny Grave said the region was likely to benefit to the tune of US$100 million in revenue from the tour.
    According to CWI’s independent research, each England Test creates an economic impact of between US$20 million and US$25 million for host countries, with T20 Internationals generating around $4 million per game.

21. DL& P at
    Good analysis of the data . I concur. You seem to understand the behaviour of viruses fairly well. We always must interpret statistics within a model. The Model makes sense out of nonsense.

22. @ David Bu.
    Does a model for a house, a bridge ,hotel depend on historical data? I think not. Although we can copy some somebody’s model and fit them into our landscape with major adjustments. In this particular case under discussion there was no specific historical data ,but due to the theoretical models of how viruses mutate the particular epidemiological models were designed or employed.

23. @ David BU
    Theory/ hypothesis > Model > Testing of model by available data . Some models do not lend themselves to computation. Most variables in biological and social sciences behave according to changes in the environment and very often attempt to change the environment. It is an iterative process.

24. Toronto Public Health (TPH) monitors COVID-19 activity in the community using a number of different data sources. With recent changes to the provincial testing strategy, TPH has been reviewing the use of additional sources of data to better understand the changes in COVID-19 activity. Wastewater surveillance involves testing for the virus in wastewater and looking at changes over time, helping us understand the true presence of COVID-19 in a community regardless of the testing strategy that is in place.

Ontario’s wastewater surveillance initiative is coordinated by the Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks (MECP). Ryerson University and University of Toronto complete laboratory analyses on wastewater samples collected by the City of Toronto.

https://www.toronto.ca/home/covid-19/covid-19-pandemic-data/covid-19-wastewater-surveillance/

25. @Hants
    Wastewater testing is a con game trying to justify the draconian COVID measures by performing mass testing on the cheap to ratchet up the fear.

The only true measure of prevalence is tracking hospital admissions, GP doctor visits, and doing random population serology surveys.

26. @John
    We may see tests and cases fall dramatically … or we may not
    +++++++
    Isn’t prediction on the spread of the virus part of your shtick? Way to go out on a limb covering all the bases “we may see cases fall dramatically, or we may not”. Heads I win Tails I win more, Nostradamus yuh aint, in fact he would be chagrined.

27. I predicted that response to my response!!!

By early next week you will find out if the removal of the requirement for testing returning nationals to the UK will cause the number of tests to fall here!!!

We’ve observed already that when the requirement to test those vaccinated was removed, the number of tests fell!!

As the number of tests fell, the number of cases fell.

What is there to predict?

28. HantsMarch 19, 2022 7:52 PM

Friday, March 18, from the 755 tests conducted 112 test positive

TheOGazertsMarch 19, 2022 10:47 PM

The daily percentage positive is around 15%.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I don’t think we are at a point where people who go to get tested go only because they are not feeling well and want to know if they have it and not because they have to get tested to travel.

There are other countries unlike Britain which do require testing but the bulk of our visitors are from Britain which does not.

I would expect the number of tests to continue to fall as testing for travel becomes more relaxed.

That 755 is the lowest number I’ve seen for a while.

The percentage positive in the data may rise if those tested choose to be tested because they suspect they have it.

In our local population it may be far less than the 15% but if most of the tests are of visitors returning home, then the characteristics of their population will dominate.

However, I know of some people who tested negative several times and yet they had all the symptoms of other members of their household had who tested positive.

One thing that is pretty obvious to me and it is that ohmigod is not nearly as contagious as was said, I never believed the hype.

The visitors arriving here have serious problems with the water supplies in their own countries and are more likely to have it develop a couple of days after they arrive.

When they are tested to return the test picks it up.

29. It would be interesting to compare the positive percentage in the UK vs Barbados.

Is it higher or lower?

Does it matter?

30. 589 tests, another drop.

Nothing to predict, bound to happen once the UK removed the testing requirements.

I’ll bet the 589 tests are still not all Bajans.

We are beginning to see what COVID in the Barbadian population looks like.

MOH can’t continue to hide it.

Leave a comment, join the discussion.