Submitted by Heather Cole

General Elections were held in Barbados on January 19th, 2022, and the ruling Administration the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) came away with a resounding victory capturing all 30 seats, leaving all the other opposition parties with zero. Today, 14 days after, now that the dust has settled, it is clear that despite this achievement, the government of Barbados is fighting for power.

The fight relates to the fact that Parliament cannot be seated as the Upper House or the Senate is not constituted. The winning party is like a ship without its rudder as it cannot steer or maneuver at sea. It is in limbo and at the mercy of the waves if caught in a storm. Without Parliament being fully constituted, the administration is unable to amend any law far less create new ones and start its agenda.

Based on the Constitution, two Opposition Senators are required in the make-up of the constituted Senate. Since no members of the opposing parties won any seats, it is left to the President based on the Constitution to act as the Leader of the Opposition and appoint 2 persons who opposed the BLP in the General Election.

The ruling Administration extended an offer to the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) which gained the second most votes to seat two of their Senators. The DLP refused stating that it was not a proper offer since the Prime Minister had no authority to extend the offer. Then the Attorney General walked back on the offer stating that the prime Minister was only seeking to facilitate their entry into Parliament and stating that there must be a meeting with the ruling Administration, the President and the DLP. At writing the DLP has not responded.

Is the Barbados Labour Party in Control?

Clearly the BLP wants to get on with its agenda which perhaps contains vaccine mandates, safe zones, IMF conditionalities and now the contentious issue of seating an 18-year-old in the Senate (even though they had previously opposed seating a 25 year old DLP Senator stating that he was too young). All these are now problematic due to the crisis of there not being a fully constituted Senate. In essence the government is operating in a system that they cannot control the outcome. At present it is powerless except for day-to-day administration. It makes one wonder how long the island can operate without a functioning Parliament. Perhaps there is some pressure based on a commitment to external forces that caused an offer to be extended to the DLP.

Does the Power lie in the Hands of the Democratic Labour Party?

Though it may seem a simple act of benevolence, the offer that was extended to the DLP cannot be construed as such. It was simply to use them to achieve the government’s agenda as the DLP simply will not have the numbers to halt any amendment or passing of a bill into law.

It is significant to note that accepting that offer would also set a precedent to exclude smaller parties from the House of Assembly at this time since they may not be the holder of the second highest tally of votes.

However, it is not only the DLP that has the power of choice; all the opposition parties and independent persons who took part in the General Elections have the same power of choice in deciding whether to accept an offer from the President simply because the Constitution does not recognize political parties, only people. If the opposition parties and independents signed an agreement to reject any such offer, the ship is rendered helpless, forced out to sea, or slammed into the rocks by the mighty waves. Clearly, the back of this Administration is against the wall.

Just selecting two Senators will not resolve this constitutional crisis. It is like prolonging agony not just kicking the ball down the road for someone else to correct later.

The System

The system controlled and manipulated Electoral and Boundaries Commission (EBC) based its decision to disenfranchise thousands of Barbadians and blamed it on the State of Emergency Protocols. This is unacceptable as the protocols were easily amended to suit tourists and celebrations for the Republic. It must be noted that the EBC did not disenfranchise its workers, some of whom must have been infected and spreaders of the virus because a few days later it had to close its office.

When the Attorney General lashed out at the DLP to stop playing politics, it came to light that he did not realize that the fight is not against them but against the voracious beast of a system whose actions his own party has taken to a whole new level by paying social media influencers from the public purse, by obtaining campaign funds from local and international financers as well as maintaining a Department of Communications while the Government Information Service still exists.

The system has now taken on a life of its own and as the song by Jah Cure says, “Babylon can’t feed this beast” and there is no mechanism in place to control it. The system is now working in overdrive to maintain the 2 Barbadoses’. One with the rich man in his castle and the poor man destined to remain at his gate. One in which the tourist sees a paradise and the workers go home to pull back the curtain to show the stark reality of their lives. One in which economic enfranchisement will never be given to the poor. The Poverty Alleviation Fund remains empty, yet government can hold a lavish celebration for a meaningless Republic. The system has made sure that justice is not for the poor. That poor black men are paraded like animals and incarcerated for a spliff like the inhumane conditions of slavery.

From independence, the system has made a mockery of the franchise with use of bribery through giving corn beef and biscuits to the gullible in exchange for their votes. The bribery has not stopped, the vote is now exchange for far more valuable items.

The system has also turned political campaign meetings into lavish parties with big stages and sound systems and bright lights to entice the youth to have a grand time as they listen to popular artistes. Those feel-good moments lead to a five-year sentence of hardship including lack of representation, high prices of food, constant increases in the cost of gasoline, lack of infrastructural development, lack of opportunities, no jobs and the desires for a better life come to naught.

The privileged few can escape the island for supposedly greener pastures, but the majority have no choice but to remain and face this hard brutish existence, yet they revere politicians more than themselves. The cycle of economic poverty for the lower class is perpetrated by political parties. They pay back their campaign financers with big contracts and titles, but they only provide scraps and promises to the people who elected them.

The actions of this system, expressed in the words of Bob Marley is “Babylon system is a vampire, sucking the blood of the sufferers.” The pervasive corrupt practices that start by ensuring that a party dominates the first pass the post Westminster System has been to the detriment of the social and economic life of ordinary Barbadians.

We must kill this beast. It has outlived its usefulness. But perhaps, the system is turning on itself, decaying from within, just like the Roman Empire and we can no longer choose to ignore this fact. On two consecutive occasions it has produced a winner without power. On the first occasion Mr. Joseph Atherley crossed the floor from the BLP, became the leader of the Opposition and formed his own party, the People’s Democratic Party (PDP). Mr. Atherley’s crossing the floor of the House of Assembly was not a solution, it was just respite. The administration ignored this, and the situation has presented itself again.

What decisions will the President of the Republic make?

The President’s authority rests in the Constitution. She can extend an offer to any of the candidates who took part in the General Election to oppose the government since the Constitution does not recognize political parties. However, if she does this the system remains unchallenged. The Senators will be unable to halt the amendment or passage of any legislation which they deem unsuitable or in the best interest of Barbadians.

The question one must ask is if the President can challenge the system by not siding with the BLP or the Opposition and if she can send the electorate back to the polls. The grounds for this being that the General Election held on January 19th, 2022, was neither free nor fair. The following must occur if the President has the authority and chooses to send the electorate back to the polls.

1. A suitable time frame must be provided that allows the Electoral and Boundaries Commission (EBC) to get its act together to ensure that persons are not disenfranchised.
  2. Provisions be made for persons in isolation and quarantine to vote.
  3. Options be provided for voting such as by mail or online or other means to facilitate those who do not wish to attend a polling station during the pandemic.

In addition, a Referendum be held at the time of the General Elections to implement the Proportional Representation System in the House of Assembly as the best solution to the current constitutional crisis. One may ask, why such a system? The answer is that it will truly allow representation for all the votes cast by the people of Barbados, it allows for inclusion of all political parties and Independents in the Parliament if they meet a certain threshold of votes (1%).

Senators must also be elected. It should not be a privilege to sit in the Senate, it must be a right by achievement.

We also need a monitoring system enacted into law that prevents wealthy campaign financers from determining what happens and what will never happen in Barbados.

824 responses to “Who Will Win The Fight For Power?”

1. Who will win the fight for the most appropriate emoji on this thread
    Me
    That’s Who
    👊👊👊👊👊👊👊👊👊👊👊👊

2. DavidFebruary 6, 2022 8:43 AM

@Artax

Trying to make her understand that any allocation to the DLP allowed to pick 2 requires the government moving an amendment to the constitution which it has and should not be confused with the other argument whether the parliament is legally constituted.

Head like moon rock.
    Xxx
    And I am trying to get you to Understand that until govt is fully constituted it has no power to ammend laws
    The ammendment can be challenged if not done within the legal tenets of the laws of the Constitution where the engagement of the Full house of Parliament is necessary
    My head might be harder than a rock
    But it is my belief a Boulder hit u on your head and your brain was obliterated
    Get facts emotional response does not work

3. You still have not addressed Artax’s observation. At this point we have opinions and as we speak the job of government is moving forward. Have the last word.

4. David bu i believe Ms .ottley should withdraw the offer to the arrogant Mr Blackett amd offer the picks to Atherley, s party.This guy Mr Blackette i understand was one of the cheif cooks in the waterford cuss out of Ms Mottley without any apology.Therefore why she is dealong with him boggles my mind.As earlier stated this guy Mr Patterson was a long time associate of Mr Thompson .Therefore we know the perspective he will come with.The same for Ms Watson in my view.I gone.

5. Their are foot soldiers on BU who wants to be right in face of all the Facts of the law written within the Constitution
    Well u can moved forward and try all u and govt want to.turn the Constitution into.a political play ground
    However it would not work
    There is a silent group.awaiting this outcome if the outcome does not alligned with the laws of the Constitution
    This might end up.with a govt having lesser of a mandate which people intends
    No constituted house of Parliament under the Constitution
    Govt can go nowhere fast

6. Steupse!

7. TheO,

“Tongue an’ teet’ does got words.”

8. All,
    Have a great day.
    –x–
    May the Good Lord bless the blogmaster and give him strength to continue the good work.
    ——x—–
    Have a great day
    C U l8r

9. DavidFebruary 6, 2022 5:38 AM

Dems differ on seat offer

By Colville Mounsey
    colvillemounsey@nationnews.com

“Put pride aside and take the Prime Minister’s offer of the two Senate seats.”
    This admonition to the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) comes from one of its former member of Parliament and advisors, Hamilton Lashley, who said the party need not complicate the issue with the legal nuances but should instead concentrate on the preservation of democracy.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I could have sworn Hammie La in his last incarnation was a BLP!!

The senate seats are two red herrings.

The big cahuna is the lack of an opposition.

From the opposition flows the senate seats.

10. Another fine print observation is govt use of power to push this unconstitutional agenda through by way of the people
    The govt messages filled with lies and deception are not being unnoticed
    Good luck as Barbados govt turns a leaf towards full.state power and control

11. Here we are arguing if a parliament is legally constituted, a state caused by the result of a general election voters rejected all opposition. What a thing!

12. If the law cannot be ammended until the House/Senate is fully constituted? Then there would any space for the two dlp senators because those Seat Will need to becfilled to amend the law

So put two temporary senators to enable the amendment to bf made the those two resigned and the dlp select their two senators

The Constitution is an ass!

13. DavidFebruary 6, 2022 8:15 AM

The blogmaster hereby issues a rescind order on the 2022 general election.

Seriously, as Donna keep commenting – with a rudderless DLP and no alternative the result should another 31-0!

As you rescind the 2022 elections you highlight the unconstitutionality of the last Parliament.

30 out of the 31 will have no option but to resign in shame with a huge black mark against their party as being the party of insurrectionists!!

Solutions will be a shoo in to form the next government with Grenville as the next PM!!

Right now Grenville has offered to help Ms. Mockley and her unconstitutional government.

The only principled stand is coming from the DLP.

Their position since 2018 has been firmly grounded in the Constitution.

The DLP should win easily … although hopefully not 30 – 0.

14. Those with brains Will know that it isnt the Constitution that is the real ass

15. If they were to win 30 – 0 we all know it would be back to the polls till an opposition to form in the House of Assembly and a Parliament to begatted, complete with Senate and 21 senators.

16. … and of course, the GG/President would have to resign for her part in the 2018 insurrection.

No sweat, the CJ should then take over according to the Constitution.

There however would be no backup as there would be no president or deputy president of the senate.

17. DavidFebruary 6, 2022 9:14 AM

Here we are arguing if a parliament is legally constituted, a state caused by the result of a general election voters rejected all opposition. What a thing!

There should be no argument.

No opposition = no parliament.

Anybody with any brain could see that.

18. DavidFebruary 6, 2022 9:14 AM

Here we are arguing if a parliament is legally constituted, a state caused by the result of a general election voters rejected all opposition. What a thing!
    Xxccc
    Answer this question to your comment

And why is this back and forth happening and who is to blame

19. If you haven’t got a ticket you haven’t got a chance!!

20. I do not believe it will happen and I cannot support running elections until you have something other than 31-0. Like it or not, this same situation was made to work for 3.5 years and it will be made to work again.

I believe GP3 is correct in his assessment of the situation, but for me that is not a concern. My concern is the tinkering with the constitution by artificially creating crises that require an immediate fix.

Help. I was looking in Wikipedia at the number of amendments to the Barbados constitution.. I saw no mention of this “One of the first orders of business when Parliament meets next week will be to amend aspects of the Barbados Constitution to allow citizens not resident here to be sworn in as Senators” How was this accomplished?

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, indeed the Dean thought the constitution doc could have been drafted with greater clarity and as u recall he contrasted it to the TnT doc which in its original form (and after revision) was still much more defined on this very issue of a LoO.

That leads me to a fundamental question which may be non-relevant but yet begs enquiry: WHY 21 (and why 2 only)?

Patterson again offers a well defined opinion but I can’t get past WHY this number of 21 MUST (or shall) be selected to the chamber for it to be official … ALTHOUGH only 8 plus Senate Pres is required to discharge official business..

His well enunciated metrics about a’majority’ and a ‘2/3 majority ‘ also beg query.

A segment of 66.6% of 21 is 14 … with 18 its only 12.. so could the govt be embarrassed and not get the duly required 2/3 for Kothdiwala (unlikely right, as this is about ALL youth not just him) … assuming of course the chamber is legally constituted.

But why 21 tho … Belize dwarfs Bdos about 50 to 1 in landsize although with only about 100,000 plus more people…yet they have just 14 Senate seats (three oppo) in the same westminister style legislature.

So back to begin: if this pappy show was truly meaningful the Senate rule changes could also include an increase in Senate seats for the opposition and (a decrease in independents maybe) or simply increase the independent senators as technically that’s the case as the Pres appoints 8 in absence of a LoO!

The point : WHAT damn difference does the designation make anyhow to governance!

Still bare foolisness.

22. Barbados will have a fully functioning parliament and senate.

The DLP can create an opposition / shadow cabinet on social media.

PMMIA ” got this “.wunna gih she de votes ” now watch she.

23. Have we not discussed the appointment of Rawdon Adams, Kay McConney and Althea Wiggins as nauseam?

24. Ah Grasshopper

It’s all about smoke and mirrors, pretense by a bunch of pretenders.

Keep your eye on the sparrow, the leader of the opposition!!

25. @Dee Word

Good that you, Bush Tea et al are enjoying Patterson’s treatises. The blogmaster was vilified by Pacha et al for featuring his pieces on BU when the vaccine scam raised its head.

There seem to be a difference of opinion between lawyers regarding the composition of the parliament to constitute it and what is a quorum.

26. @Hants

Operating outside parliament will not give the DLP or any opposition party a credible profile to build on.

27. Barbadians from my observation must have things their own way
    Not surprising that kicking the bucket till it falls into holes until it accommodates the size of the hole that fits their purpose
    Is the same theory on which govt and foot soldiers resort to reshape and resize the laws of the Constitution willy billy
    Just read the questions of “why” dribbler dribbles within his comments

Xxxxxxxx
    PM looks like a girl in the yard playing hopscotch throwing a piece of coal in every square
    Amendment for what when the President could have form a similar conclusion and choose a member from the Dlp ending with a full constituted Parliament

Blasted nitwits playing govt
    Get out of here
    Long live the Constitution
    Out with political drama and theatre

28. @David
    “Have we not discussed the appointment of Rawdon Adams, Kay McConney and Althea Wiggins as nauseam?”

That illustrate my problem with some of your answers. Here we are, discussing an issue ad nauseam with no real resolution so far and yet you point me to another ad nauseam discussion.

I will continue to google, I did not see the amendment that allowed these senators to be appointed. To all: How was this accomplished.

29. Good, google it.

30. DavidFebruary 6, 2022 10:40 AM

Operating outside parliament will not give the DLP or any opposition party a credible profile to build on

All parties, including the BLP are operating outside of Parliament.

There is no parliament!!

31. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David … why is it so that… -“There seem to be a difference of opinion between lawyers regarding the composition of the parliament to constitute it and what is a quorum”_ … Yah think because legal opinions are a dime a dozen UNTIL and UNLESS the CCJ is asked to adjudicate.

Do u recall that the vote audit in Arizona US cost over $6M … and you recall the firm who did that ‘awesome’ work was a Republican backed firm whose CEO was a leading voice about the alleged fraud.

I say that NOT to impute bad intentions for any of the folks attacking this issue but rather to cynically suggest that for the lack of similair funding it appears that no legal challenge is being made to validate these supposedly serious, nation shaping issues. So why is that!

Patterson opined that “The Constitution, as our supreme law, is the fountain from which the rule of law springs; and that, unlawful creature that was spawned by the appointment of 18 Senators, […] lacks any constitutional legitimacy.”

Those are POWERFUL words… He ends by saying :
    “Its existence, and any purported actions taken by it, […] is repugnant to, and violates the Constitution and the rule of law, […] _we should demand one that is uncompromising in its commitment to the rule of law.[…] As the new Government of our nascent Republic, it must do better than that.”

How brother @David, HOW thrn can this be allowed to go unchallenged in a court of law by those guardians we ask to lead us!!!

So as your hero @Bushie opines so well: “Patterson’s analysis is correct. Where he is completely wrong however, is in thinking that Bajans give a shit about ‘right and wrong’.

That brother has a way of making issues so absolutely pellucid… love him or not😇!

32. DavidFebruary 6, 2022 10:34 AM

Have we not discussed the appointment of Rawdon Adams, Kay McConney and Althea Wiggins as nauseam?

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Appointment to what?

We will only get it resolved in our minds when we realise there has been no senate in existence since Froon prorogued Parliament in 2018.

It is real simple.

33. @Dee Word

Patterson and Nicholls are on radio this morning debating same matter.

34. Froon’s parliament from 2018 was the last constitutional parliament in Barbados and Froon was the last constitutional Prime Minister.

35. @Heather
    I was about to compliment you on a strong and well written submission when I saw the following “Senators must also be elected. It should not be a privilege to sit in the Senate, it must be a right by achievement”.

Instinctively, I reached for my red-marker but my one-year experience as a teacher prompted me to ask you to expand on that sentence. In order to encourage a response from you I will be harsh in my criticism. My aunt married a whose way of dealing with his in-laws was “Sometimes you have to be cruel to be kind”.

Balderdash! Poppycock! Ah, I see the influence of the brilliant Englishman in what I am about to say?
    How many senators? When should this election be held? Should it be based on party affiliation or a general free for all? More questions than your answer provided.

*1 We already know that we are scraping the barrel when we field more than 60 candidates on an election. Expanding this field to 100 or 104 will not improve the quality of the candidates. In fact, I see the reverse where some ‘ugly candidates’ may just enter hoping that with such a large field, the votes may be so fragment the votes that they might just eke out a win.

if it is based on affiliation with a political party, then a 51-0 would leave us in a much worse position than where we are currently. This might be satisfying to a Lorenzo type, but all it has done is further strengthen the hands of the PM. I do not have the mistaken notion that this group of elected senators will be of better moral fiber or more principled than Mama Mia and her 30 thieves. (@Cuhdear: unlike twenty–nine, thirty rhymes with 40. I love that line).

For those two reasons, I think the current system of electing senators if we can get it to work is superior to your proposal. Please expand…

36. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, the ample evidence across the world does NOT support your thesis that “Operating outside parliament will not give the DLP or any opposition party a credible profile to build on”.

THIS era of social media COMPLETELY upends that thinking.

One can argue that those in the legiatures have to respond and adapt to the major outside influencers…

Come now .. even before the powerf advent of the net, in its current guise, recall how group like the Green activists, LGBT, Abortion Rights and so on galvanized massive support …

Naturally the goal is to influence legislatures and eventually some of those same folks will seek to be elected and some have established a “beach head’ in the legislative chambers… but outside influencers remains massive.

A well oiled DLP can achieve great work outside parliament… the fact is that too many of them may have your mindset and in effect doom themselves but they better make that lemonade works as if its champagne .

One needs look no further that Trump (yes different set up there but quite similar nuances) who propelled his way to election stardom from a position of bombast and outside public acclaim on political issues (and other of course). Look now at the OathKeepers or a QAnon and such where protagonists used them to be top of mind of any US political discourse and also propelled folks to election victory!

Of course Bim is different but your thinking is still dated brother.

@Theo, really not sure exactly what amendment u speak of… however, in last parliament two senators (Williams and Bradshaw, I believe) were appointed initially to fill the breach and duly stepped aside accordingly to script.

In this case nothing so has been done as the circumstances could not be as seamlessly scripted.

37. @Dee Word

Is is really that clearcut?

38. @Dee Word

You make a dangerous analogy to how social media is used in developed countries to what is possible in Barbados given its penetration and also how info received via that medium is received and distilled.

39. Worth taking a look at the preamble to Constitution!!

Whereas the love of free institutions and of independence has
    always strongly characterised the inhabitants of Barbados:

And Whereas the Governor and the said inhabitants settled a
    Parliament in the year 1639:

And Whereas as early as 18th February, 1651 those inhabitants, in
    their determination to safeguard the freedom, safety and well-being of
    the Island, declared, through their Governor, Lords of the Council and
    members of the Assembly, their independence of the Commonwealth
    of England:

And Whereas the rights and privileges of the said inhabitants were
    confirmed by articles of agreement, commonly known as the Charter
    of Barbados, had, made and concluded on 11th January, 1652 by and
    between the Commissioners of the Right Honourable the Lord
    Willoughby of Parham, Governor, of the one part, and the
    Commissioners on behalf of the Commonwealth of England, of the
    other part, in order to the rendition to the Commonwealth of England
    of the said Island of Barbados:

And Whereas with the broadening down of freedom the people of
    Barbados have ever since then not only successfully resisted any
    attempt to impugn or diminish those rights and privileges so confirmed,
    but have consistently enlarged and extended them:

Now, therefore, the people of Barbados

(a) proclaim that they are a sovereign nation founded upon principles that acknowledge the supremacy of God, the dignity of the human person, their unshakeable faith in fundamental human rights and freedoms and the position of the family in a society of free men and free institutions.

(b) affirm their belief that men and institutions remain free only when freedom is founded upon respect for moral and spiritual values and the rule of law;

(c) declare their intention to establish and maintain a society in which all persons may, to the full extent of their capacity, play a due part in the institutions of the national life;

(d) resolve that the operation of the economic system shall promote the general welfare by the equitable distribution of
    the material resources of the community, by the human conditions under which all men shall labour and by the undeviating recognition of ability, integrity and merit;

(e) desire that the following provisions shall have effect as the Constitution of Barbados—

40. DavidFebruary 6, 2022 11:54 AM

@Dee Word

You make a dangerous analogy to how social media is used in developed countries to what is possible in Barbados given its penetration and also how info received via that medium is received and distilled.

The problem is that there has been no parliament since Froon and the GG dissolved it in 2018 so people want to have their voices heard on social media.

41. I googled, but came away with the opinion is that despite the lot of talk, an amendment was not made and the two senators were appointed using Section 36.2. I suspect the same/some wiggling will be done and KK admitted without an amendment.

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF – The Honourable The Senate
    The Senate met in the Senate Chamber, Parliament Buildings on Wednesday, the 27th day of June, 2018 at 11.00 o’clock a.m.

Her Excellency the Governor-General has the honour to inform The Honourable The Senate that:-
    (a) in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister under Section 39 (1) (f) of the Constitution, the seats in the Senate held by Mr. John Ellis David Williams and Mr. DeLisle Othniel Bradshaw were declared vacant with effect from 18th June, 2018;
    (b) in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister, Ms. Kay Sharon McConney and Mr. Rawdon John Herbert Adams have been appointed under Section 36 (2) of the Constitution as Senators, with effect from 18th June, 2018.

42. It is an interesting day when leading lawyers et al on island are split on the interpretation of the Barbados Constitution.

43. Many, many of the Bajans I know care very much about right and wrong.

I care about right and wrong.

Pure piffle!

44. Garth Patterson is a man. He has a legal opinion. And that is ALL it is.

We declare him to be right because he does not come from Barbados and pronounce Bajans as not caring about right or wrong.

STEUPSE!

45. @ David,

I guess you been listening to Brasstacks Sunday.

Another hot topic just started.

46. @Hants

It was started since 2018 but the red Bishop saved the day.

47. @Donna
    Interesting… He is not from Barbados?
    I believe there are other avenues where non-Barbadians are taking a leading role and should be commended.
    Hopefully we can move to a good discussion and reasonable positions instead of attaching labels based on party, color or location.

It is only by ventilating issues that we can fully understand them.

48. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, an entire court log of cases are based surely on “…leading lawyers et al on island are split on the interpretation of the Barbados Constitution”… nothing new there boss!

Re “You make a dangerous analogy to how social media is used in developed countries to what is possible in Barbados given its penetration and also how info received via that medium is received and distilled.”

Let’s agree to disagree on that one.

My point is that social media can be a powerful point of the spear.

Re BrassTacks… I thought the argument from Nicholls that the segment on a vacancy of Parliament re dissolution allows appointments to the Senate now in context of having less than the 21 seats is a very NOVEL argument.

Its simple logic that Parliament DIES at dissolution so I find his position amazing.

49. @Dee Word

Do you agree how the parliament is legally constituted should be contentious because of the turgid nature of how our constitution is scribed?

Are you aware that discussion in social media is considered White noise and is still generally regarded as a less preferred option although changing it must be stated.

Of course social media is powerful but in the Barbados space it is under construction.