Submitted by Heather Cole

General Elections were held in Barbados on January 19th, 2022, and the ruling Administration the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) came away with a resounding victory capturing all 30 seats, leaving all the other opposition parties with zero. Today, 14 days after, now that the dust has settled, it is clear that despite this achievement, the government of Barbados is fighting for power.

The fight relates to the fact that Parliament cannot be seated as the Upper House or the Senate is not constituted. The winning party is like a ship without its rudder as it cannot steer or maneuver at sea. It is in limbo and at the mercy of the waves if caught in a storm. Without Parliament being fully constituted, the administration is unable to amend any law far less create new ones and start its agenda.

Based on the Constitution, two Opposition Senators are required in the make-up of the constituted Senate. Since no members of the opposing parties won any seats, it is left to the President based on the Constitution to act as the Leader of the Opposition and appoint 2 persons who opposed the BLP in the General Election.

The ruling Administration extended an offer to the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) which gained the second most votes to seat two of their Senators. The DLP refused stating that it was not a proper offer since the Prime Minister had no authority to extend the offer. Then the Attorney General walked back on the offer stating that the prime Minister was only seeking to facilitate their entry into Parliament and stating that there must be a meeting with the ruling Administration, the President and the DLP. At writing the DLP has not responded.

Is the Barbados Labour Party in Control?

Clearly the BLP wants to get on with its agenda which perhaps contains vaccine mandates, safe zones, IMF conditionalities and now the contentious issue of seating an 18-year-old in the Senate (even though they had previously opposed seating a 25 year old DLP Senator stating that he was too young). All these are now problematic due to the crisis of there not being a fully constituted Senate. In essence the government is operating in a system that they cannot control the outcome. At present it is powerless except for day-to-day administration. It makes one wonder how long the island can operate without a functioning Parliament. Perhaps there is some pressure based on a commitment to external forces that caused an offer to be extended to the DLP.

Does the Power lie in the Hands of the Democratic Labour Party?

Though it may seem a simple act of benevolence, the offer that was extended to the DLP cannot be construed as such. It was simply to use them to achieve the governmentโ€™s agenda as the DLP simply will not have the numbers to halt any amendment or passing of a bill into law.

It is significant to note that accepting that offer would also set a precedent to exclude smaller parties from the House of Assembly at this time since they may not be the holder of the second highest tally of votes.

However, it is not only the DLP that has the power of choice; all the opposition parties and independent persons who took part in the General Elections have the same power of choice in deciding whether to accept an offer from the President simply because the Constitution does not recognize political parties, only people. If the opposition parties and independents signed an agreement to reject any such offer, the ship is rendered helpless, forced out to sea, or slammed into the rocks by the mighty waves. Clearly, the back of this Administration is against the wall.

Just selecting two Senators will not resolve this constitutional crisis. It is like prolonging agony not just kicking the ball down the road for someone else to correct later.

The System

The system controlled and manipulated Electoral and Boundaries Commission (EBC) based its decision to disenfranchise thousands of Barbadians and blamed it on the State of Emergency Protocols. This is unacceptable as the protocols were easily amended to suit tourists and celebrations for the Republic. It must be noted that the EBC did not disenfranchise its workers, some of whom must have been infected and spreaders of the virus because a few days later it had to close its office.

When the Attorney General lashed out at the DLP to stop playing politics, it came to light that he did not realize that the fight is not against them but against the voracious beast of a system whose actions his own party has taken to a whole new level by paying social media influencers from the public purse, by obtaining campaign funds from local and international financers as well as maintaining a Department of Communications while the Government Information Service still exists.

The system has now taken on a life of its own and as the song by Jah Cure says, โ€œBabylon canโ€™t feed this beastโ€ and there is no mechanism in place to control it. The system is now working in overdrive to maintain the 2 Barbadosesโ€™. One with the rich man in his castle and the poor man destined to remain at his gate. One in which the tourist sees a paradise and the workers go home to pull back the curtain to show the stark reality of their lives. One in which economic enfranchisement will never be given to the poor. The Poverty Alleviation Fund remains empty, yet government can hold a lavish celebration for a meaningless Republic. The system has made sure that justice is not for the poor. That poor black men are paraded like animals and incarcerated for a spliff like the inhumane conditions of slavery.

From independence, the system has made a mockery of the franchise with use of bribery through giving corn beef and biscuits to the gullible in exchange for their votes. The bribery has not stopped, the vote is now exchange for far more valuable items.

The system has also turned political campaign meetings into lavish parties with big stages and sound systems and bright lights to entice the youth to have a grand time as they listen to popular artistes. Those feel-good moments lead to a five-year sentence of hardship including lack of representation, high prices of food, constant increases in the cost of gasoline, lack of infrastructural development, lack of opportunities, no jobs and the desires for a better life come to naught.

The privileged few can escape the island for supposedly greener pastures, but the majority have no choice but to remain and face this hard brutish existence, yet they revere politicians more than themselves. The cycle of economic poverty for the lower class is perpetrated by political parties. They pay back their campaign financers with big contracts and titles, but they only provide scraps and promises to the people who elected them.

The actions of this system, expressed in the words of Bob Marley is โ€œBabylon system is a vampire, sucking the blood of the sufferers.โ€ The pervasive corrupt practices that start by ensuring that a party dominates the first pass the post Westminster System has been to the detriment of the social and economic life of ordinary Barbadians.

We must kill this beast. It has outlived its usefulness. But perhaps, the system is turning on itself, decaying from within, just like the Roman Empire and we can no longer choose to ignore this fact. On two consecutive occasions it has produced a winner without power. On the first occasion Mr. Joseph Atherley crossed the floor from the BLP, became the leader of the Opposition and formed his own party, the Peopleโ€™s Democratic Party (PDP). Mr. Atherleyโ€™s crossing the floor of the House of Assembly was not a solution, it was just respite. The administration ignored this, and the situation has presented itself again.

What decisions will the President of the Republic make?

The Presidentโ€™s authority rests in the Constitution. She can extend an offer to any of the candidates who took part in the General Election to oppose the government since the Constitution does not recognize political parties. However, if she does this the system remains unchallenged. The Senators will be unable to halt the amendment or passage of any legislation which they deem unsuitable or in the best interest of Barbadians.

The question one must ask is if the President can challenge the system by not siding with the BLP or the Opposition and if she can send the electorate back to the polls. The grounds for this being that the General Election held on January 19th, 2022, was neither free nor fair. The following must occur if the President has the authority and chooses to send the electorate back to the polls.

1. A suitable time frame must be provided that allows the Electoral and Boundaries Commission (EBC) to get its act together to ensure that persons are not disenfranchised.
  2. Provisions be made for persons in isolation and quarantine to vote.
  3. Options be provided for voting such as by mail or online or other means to facilitate those who do not wish to attend a polling station during the pandemic.

In addition, a Referendum be held at the time of the General Elections to implement the Proportional Representation System in the House of Assembly as the best solution to the current constitutional crisis. One may ask, why such a system? The answer is that it will truly allow representation for all the votes cast by the people of Barbados, it allows for inclusion of all political parties and Independents in the Parliament if they meet a certain threshold of votes (1%).

Senators must also be elected. It should not be a privilege to sit in the Senate, it must be a right by achievement.

We also need a monitoring system enacted into law that prevents wealthy campaign financers from determining what happens and what will never happen in Barbados.

824 responses to “Who Will Win The Fight For Power?”

1. @David
    An wxolanation would help your last comment.

2. Dub,

Who hates Bajans abroad? Who, who, WHO???????

People dislike OBNOXIOUS Bajans abroad and OBNOXIOUS Bajans at home.

The key word here is not “abroad” but “obnoxious”.

These Bajans abroad are our mothers, fathers, daughters, sons, aunts, uncles, grandmothers, grandfathers, grand-daughters, grandsons, cousins and friends.

I read their stories as they are featured and swell with pride at their accomplishments. I comb biographies of successful people for the slightest mention of Bajan blood and say, “Aha!”

My blood boiled at the injustice meted out to Windrushers.

There is always excitement in the households across Barbados when,
    ” We got relatives coming in from overseas!”

For me, I loved hearing my aunts’ crazy stories and the outings and small and large reunions, visiting and being visited – happy times!

3. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, your remark that “unless citizens of high integrity step forward to serve in public office do not expect significant change.” is VERY damning.

1.Are u suggesting that a) no persons of integrity are in public positions to impact Bajan society or b) that unless the maxim leader him/herself is of high integrity we are doomed?

2.That despite ALL the MPs we have available to govern our society that none of them or rather a majority of them are not men/women of integrity!

I believe there are and have been public figures who appeared to have integrity but then things falter …

Reflect on the US or UK where to show integrity of your conviction can result in being ostracized from your political party, fired from your health care role because you are prescribing hydrox or other medications not promoted by the establishment and so on and so forth.

The former supervisor of insurance in Bim who was placed on long term leave when she showed integrity in that CLICO cessation of underwriting affair was doomed by that same political prescription… this one patented in Bim.

So yes we do have people of integrity but we have a culture (all over) that DISMISSES and DESTROYS them quickly. Thus u are depressingly right “do not expect significant change!”

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Re “Yardfowl u have exceeded your political spewing of nonsense
    U are excused”

And YOU HAVE NOT.

That is just INSANE coming from your keyboard !

Upside-down world! SMH.๐Ÿคฆ๐Ÿพโ€โ™‚๏ธ

5. @angela cox February 5, 2022 5:32 AM “As to the Predident those big hats ought to be taken into consideration…the raging fire storm called Opposition Rescue 911.”

A. What the hell does the President’s hats got to do with anything?

B. And exactly what is the raging fire storm called Opposition Rescue 911

P.S1. I am not a hat person myself.
    P.S2. Did you know that USA Congress people male, female or transgender are not permitted to wear hats during the sitting of Congress. If it is hot or cold and they wear a hat while outdoors they have to put it on a hat-rack outside of the meeting room.
    P.S. 3 I like trivia

6. de pedantic DribblerFebruary 5, 2022 1:36 PM

Re โ€œYardfowl u have exceeded your political spewing of nonsense
    U are excusedโ€

And YOU HAVE NOT.

That is just INSANE coming from your keyboard !

Upside-down world! SMH

Xxxx
    Oh oh
    What have I done to rattle your cage
    Did not even mention the word Dribble
    Ok.i said Dribble now yuh have a free pass to Dribble all over the key board
    As an extension of my generosity I have sent u two napkins to clean up your mess
    Bye jac.ass

7. @angela cox February 5, 2022 5:42 AM “However the dlp missed the pivotal point that is one of taking it to the CCJ.”

So the DLP wanted to say “NO”
    They said “NO.” Nobody, nobody on earth has the power to prevent them from saying “NO”
    So exactly what would they take to the CCJ?

I don’t understand. Would you kindly explain for me? Thanks.

8. There is a proverbial phrase that goes โ€œwhen life gives you lemons make lemonadeโ€. The DLP is in the unenviable position of a two-time loser at the polls, not only losing the election but having been shut out of the Parliament in consecutive elections. So now it must decide on whether to accept the offer by the Govโ€™t (forget the President) to appoint two Senators to the Upper House, no doubt the Party is licking its wounds and loathe to accept any offer from its rival that looks like pity while the victorious PM will be lauded for her magnanimity.

How do you rebuild a Party? Choose two young potential leaders, let them get exposure to the cut and thrust of political debate; the Govโ€™t will provide many opportunities for them to offer criticism; if one Senator (C Franklyn) could cause the leadership of the BLP sleepless nights think of what two could do; if they are effective the Press will be camping on their doorstep to obtain their positions on various issues. They could get the Party more exposure than the speeches at the tedious luncheons that are a staple of the Party

Just the musings of a snow bound Bajan in the frozen North

9. Cuhdear BajanFebruary 5, 2022 2:02 PM

@angela cox February 5, 2022 5:42 AM โ€œHowever the dlp missed the pivotal point that is one of taking it to the CCJ.โ€

So the DLP wanted to say โ€œNOโ€
    They said โ€œNO.โ€ Nobody, nobody on earth has the power to prevent them from saying โ€œNOโ€
    So exactly what would they take to the CCJ?

I donโ€™t understand. Would you kindly explain for me? Thank

Xxxx
    Just stick to planting seeds or whatever
    That is my final answer

10. de pedantic DribblerFebruary 5, 2022 1:24 PM

@David, your remark that โ€œunless citizens of high integrity step forward to serve in public office do not expect significant change.โ€ is VERY damning.

1.Are u suggesting that a) no persons of integrity are in public positions to impact Bajan society or b) that unless the maxim leader him/herself is of high integrity we are doomed?

2.That despite ALL the MPs we have available to govern our society that none of them or rather a majority of them are not men/women of integrity!

Is it only integrity or is it also vision, and more so vision?

Which of the various politicians that you have seen in your life have impressed you with their vision of what they wanted Barbados to be?

What is your vision of what you want Barbados to be?

Sure we get a lot of words in manifestos, but we know they are just words.

If you were to pick up any of the manifestos of the past, how well would you expect to find performance matched promises?

There is really only one politician in this world that I have seen in my lifetime who delivered most if not all (or more) than he said he would deliver …. Donald Trump!!

Ultimately, people vote by party regardless of whether the candidate is from their constituency or not and usually sight unseen.

That’s how people have been trained since Adult Suffrage in 1951.

So they/we get the Government they deserve.

This constitutional impasse is a learning experience and could well graduate people to a higher level of consciousness.

All we need is for people of vision to step forward.

11. Dear ac:

The people have given the DLP a decree absolute, but a decree absolute is NOT a death certificate. The DLP can, must and should reform itself into winning political party.

P.S. and they need to reset the membership fee from the $3 BDS per month that is has been for perhaps the last 50 years. I am NOT talking about vote buying, but even to rent or maintain an office, hire an admin person, pay electricity, water, telephone, buy stationery, buy soap and toilet paper, pay a web master/social media expert etc. has to cost the membership more than $3 BDS per month.

Those who love the DLP, those who have benefited from their association with the DLP, those who have been Prime Ministers, Cabinet Members, members of Parliament and all those who have benefited from their association with the once great party, as well as “ordinary” members have to pull their pockets for more, far more than $3 per month.

We talk about campaign finance reform??

Campaign finance reform needs to start right here, right now.

12. @Cuhdear BajanFebruary 5, 2022 2:14 PM

I doubt very much that the impoverished riffraff called DLP supporters can afford to spend more than $3 per month.

Until now, it has been the White Shadows, not the members, who have financed the election campaign. Why should that change when Barbados remains a giant plantation? Those who determine the policy of this island should also pay for it.

13. Proportional representation automatically reforms campaign finance.

No one knows if spending alot of money in an constituency will result in a seat.

14. Blackett please!!!

15. The reintroduction of the Integrity In Public Life Bill, setting up a dedicated Family Court, forming a commission to reform Parliament and abolishing the Common Entrance are among the priorities of the new Mia Amor Mottley administration.

Integrity In Public Life Bill, Integrity In Public Life Bill, Integrity In Public Life Bill,

https://www.nationnews.com/2022/02/05/integrity-bill-high-agenda/

16. All those against the amendment, tell BU who should be the Opposition senators and why?

17. @Dee Wors

Context, the comment was about politicians of good fibre stepping forward to serve. Many who step forward do it to earn a salary first. The good people their first inclination is to not get involved in politics.

18. @Dee Word

Some comments are best ignored. Do you believe anybody takes ac seriously referring to anybody as a yardfowl?

19. @Sargeant

Instead the DLP has become mired in process. Before the president can offer the DLP as a party that gained the second most votes the PM must be involved in the change process which as already started.

20. For all those who still do not believe that we are a model democracy:

https://freedomhouse.org/country/barbados/freedom-world/2021

Thank you very much, Supreme Leader, for protecting our liberty!

21. Oh dear! “Stick to planting seeds” . This is not the first time I have heard that being used as a put down on BU.

I think people who do that must live on the Star Ship Enterprise, complete with food replicater.

I think the sweeter, more nutritious food that Cuhdear Bajan reaps from “planting seeds” is doing her much more good than whatever it is some others are eating.

I remember one person’s discouragement and disparagement of my little efforts in that regard and her expressed preference for supermarket activities.

Way to go! You go, girl! Teach the children!

22. According to BT two of the islandโ€™s labour organisations are unhappy because the President didnโ€™t include a Trade Unionist among the Senators allotted to her.

They are proposing a Constitutional amendment that would include provision for a Senator from a labour organisation.
    But labour already has representation in the H of A on the Govโ€™t side in Toni Moore isnโ€™t she an adequate rep of labour? Yuh canโ€™t get much higher in the labour movement than Toni and she has the ear of the PMโ€ฆ.. Toni! Toni! Toni!

If they are going to make all of these Constitutional changes, could I propose an amendment to allow Geriatrics or someone from BARP in the Senate ? Whatโ€™s that you say? They got them already ๐Ÿ˜Š

23. DonnaFebruary 5, 2022 2:56 PM

Oh dear! โ€œStick to planting seedsโ€ . This is not the first time I have heard that being used as a put down on BU.

Xxxxxx
    Every little bean sprout u jump on

Cuh dear

24. @Sarge 2:07
    I agree wholly with you.
    Given that all of the opposition parties have 0 seats, the DLP should make the most of every opportunity that comes it way and separate itself from the others.

A good spin doctor can explain away any acceptance of offers from Mia
    National interest
    Protecting democracy
    Giving the people a voice in government

25. DavidFebruary 5, 2022 2:54 PM

@Sargeant

Instead the DLP has become mired in process. Before the president can offer the DLP as a party that gained the second most votes the PM must be involved in the change process which as already started

Xxxx
    U just wouldn’t give up
    Time fuh u to close them umbrellas
    High wind on its way to blow them right out of your hand
    Seriously

26. Y’all better lay off Angela or them big girl panties going get drag up so high, they’ll look like a thong. She is obviously feeling them today ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

27. David
    Aftuh jumpin out he whole skin Blackett gine eat crow and Ronnie+1 gine be DLP senators. Tek it light ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

28. Blackett should not be anywhere near the DLP leadership at this time. He will always be remembered as one of the DLP men who get on low class at the Waterford political meeting.

29. I find it interesting to see in 1951, 9 independents ran and 3 got seats.

http://www.caribbeanelections.com/bb/elections/bb_results_1951.asp

30. People wrongly look at UK and USA as good examples of democracy parliament and electoral processes
    but with the populism racism of Brexit Johnson Trump people have no faith in the past system
    and with past history of white supremacy racism and colonialism the evil committed against non-whites were manifest
    the games they play in parliament are just for show and people switch off
    the natural way of life is to live a long peaceful life not fighting each other

31. should read
    but with the populism racism of Brexit Johnson Trump people have no faith in the current system

32. In 1956, two independents got seat, Edwy Talma and Frank Walcott.

In 1961, Edwy Talma teamed up with the DLP but Frank Walcott stayed Independent in St. Peter.

Looks like one of the strategies the DLP used back then was to attract all the successful independents and some BLP’s.

The problem today is all the BLP candidates are tainted so the DLP cannot get a jump start and has to actually work its way back up.

The easiest way is to fight on the Constitutional issue.

After all, the Constitution is their baby.

33. If I were in the DLP leadership I would start holding public meetings on the breaches in the Constitution.

34. Sound off
    Making it make sense

Itโ€™s either right or wrong
    Your newspaper is doing a disservice to the development of critical legal assessment when one of your reporters can publish the views of one lawyer criticising another lawyer in terms such as โ€œRUBBISHโ€!
    In addition, I do not understand what is being achieved by the continual description of โ€œconstitutional law expertโ€; a legal position is either sound or it is not sound even if it comes from a non-lawyer.
    Section 35 is written in very unambiguous ENGLISHโ€ฆ โ€œthere shall be a Parliament of Barbados which SHALL consist ofโ€ฆโ€ฆ.โ€
    There cannot therefore be an โ€œopeningโ€ of something that does not yet exist!
    I am advised that Section 50 (2) is being invoked in the process of supporting this action; for the avoidance of doubt, Section 50 deals with โ€œthe regulation of proceedings in Parliamentโ€, that section is only operative where there IS a Parliament that has been legally constituted!
    This country has really lost its way when that advice can be given to a Government; it is perverse!
    Patrick Gittens

35. At those public meetings I would invite the various lawyers who have proffered their opinions in the press to come and explain to the ignorant masses.

36. The universe is a harsh like a bitch when it rejects and excludes the bad to teach important lessons in life.

There is some merit when some say that the presence of DLP will add no value to the nation as they have nothing of any significance to contribute in any discussion.

37. This country has really lost its way when that advice can be given to a Government; it is perverse!

No parliament, no government.

Perhaps what you may mean is … “those who would present themselves as capable of forming a Government.!!

38. NorthernObserver Avatar

“when one of your reporters can publish the views of one lawyer criticising another lawyer in terms such as โ€œRUBBISHโ€!”
    Reminds me of the rubbishing of international credit rating agencies. Maybe the reporter should have said “it is just an opinion”
    Both from a former PM during his glorious years

39. Dont let DEM take the two seats
    Mia Got DEM In a head lock and going put DEM to sleep if DEM refuse

It SHALL be generations before they recover .

You all Think You hurting mia. But You killing urselves

40. Little sprouts grow into big trees.

We are attempting to convince young people that farming is a respectable profession or enterprise, while at the same time disparaging those who currently engage in it.

But what else should we expect from a person who thinks that it takes a murderer to know a murderer or, I suppose, a rapist to know a rapist?

41. Perverse indeed
    But most note worthy is a govt having a barrage of lawyers yet don’t know which way is up.or down

42. DonnaFebruary 5, 2022 4:31 PM

Little sprouts grow into big tree
    .xxxx
    Oops my bad I was thinking of bean sprouts

But what else should we expect from a person who thinks that it takes a murderer to know a murderer or, I suppose, a rapist to know a rapist

Xxxxxx
    Who said that certainty not me

43. Dodo Labour Party
    DLP is extinct now
    a specious species
    with no relevance

44. @ David February 5, 2022 2:54 PM
    Instead the DLP has become mired in process. Before the president can offer the DLP as a party that gained the second most votes the PM must be involved in the change process which as already started.
    (Unquote).

But Blogmaster, why this focus on the DLP having some kind of representation as the voice of Opposition in the Senate if there is none in the peopleโ€™s House of Representation?

Did that party have such a presence in the last Parliament when a BLP turncoat recommended two non-DLP candidates to sit as the Opposition’s representatives in the Senate; and with good effect?

Isnโ€™t the current DLP still carrying the label as the most corrupt and incompetent administration ever to disgrace the good name of Barbados?

What has become of that big red bag of evidence destined to put members of the previous corrupt regime behinds bars like Donville?

Is MAM looking, as she did during the recent general elections, for a hand-picked readymade scapegoat of an Opposition to blame for the challenges ahead by referring to any representational presence of the DLP still held responsible for the financial and economic ills facing Barbados?

Who tell MAM she can amend the existing Constitution to achieve this end without a concomitant amendment to reflect the necessary recognition of political parties in the electoral process?

Didnโ€™t Caswell do a fantastic job to keeping the last administration on its toes?
    Whatโ€™s wrong with reappointing him along with another person recommended to the President by any party which contested the last set of elections?

The miller recommends Dr. Yearwood as Caswell’s second man!

45. MillerFebruary 5, 2022 5:37 PM

@ David February 5, 2022 2:54 PM
    (Unquote).

But Blogmaster, why this focus on the DLP having some kind of representation as the voice of Opposition in the Senate if there is none in the peopleโ€™s House of Representation?

Agree, the last “Parliament” was unconstitutional.

Caswell, Crystal Drakes and the Reverent were imposters.

46. The miller recommends Dr. Yearwood as Caswellโ€™s second man!

JK again recommends you go and speak with the Leader of the Opposition and make the suggestion.

47. @TheOGazerts February 5, 2022 10:24 AM “Where was guy during the election period?
    Did he campaign for anyone? Did he take up his bat and ball and go home?”

My questions exactly.

48. It is time for our Supreme Leader to put an end to this Caribbean tragedy! Supreme Leader command, the State Notary Sandra and the Senate follow you!

If the Senate is not complete by Monday, our Supreme Leader should rule by emergency decrees. In other countries, this is a proven means of saving the people and the state.

49. @TLSN “…she has become the state. Arthurโ€™s condemnation of Mia has stood the test of time.”

Because you and dead Owen say so?

50. Cuhdear BajanFebruary 5, 2022 6:50 PM

@TheOGazerts February 5, 2022 10:24 AM โ€œWhere was guy during the election period?
    Did he campaign for anyone? Did he take up his bat and ball and go home?โ€

My questions exactly.

… or did the DLP hold him back for the longer term?

Time will tell