349 responses to “Storm Elsa is Here”

1. “It is irresponsible to cheer on someone WHEN SHE IS OBVIOUSLY MISLEADING THE BLOG.”

“Only the TRUTH can set us free.”

Stubbornly foolish. Definitely.

2. Thanks Elsa have done an excellent job in exposing the weakness in govt policies
    Policies geared to shelter the white business establishment
    While the low and poor left exposed to the elements of nature’s power
    Oh I forget for the poor it comes to down to phases
    While the big business establishment it comes down to power and demands

3. “It is irresponsible to cheer on someone WHEN SHE IS OBVIOUSLY MISLEADING THE BLOG.”

“Only the TRUTH can set us free.”

Apparently not.

After all, we were ‘told,’………..”I like the fact that she is running seven or eight of you ragged. All I can say is “You, go girl”.”

Or, according to her, “The truth lies in govt hiding the truth” and “frustrating the living daylights out of them.”

If they believe continually misrepresenting the truth to purposely mislead the blog achieves those objectives, then ‘truth’ and ‘responsibility’ becomes secondary.

4. David,

This Category One Elsa sprinted through Barbados like Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce. “Nothing to see here,” she said as she slipped on by.

A permaclad sheet on the roof of one of my SHEDS lifted in the final hour of the hurricane. It lifted and flapped but it did not come off.

When my cousin went to fix it, he found no nail holes in the portion of the sheet that had first lifted. There was space for two more nails. It is obvious that two more nails would have stood up against Elsa. But even without them, she failed to blow it off.

A stone’s throw away, an entire house occupied by two cousins of mine was flattened.

Two adult siblings occupying what used to be the best house in that area when their mother built it, flattened.

Why?

The mother died several years ago. Two working siblings, one with neither chick nor child and the other, having grown offspring, if any, not wanting to spend money on a house that benefits the other.

That’s how I figure it.

There are many households where the same frame of mind exists among siblings who occupy their family home. I could name you several off the top of my head.

The problem this time was not in the design of the house but in the lack of maintenance.

There are some genuinely poor people who can do no better. And there are others who cut off their nose to spoil their own features.

Donna is not giving one damn cent to any rebuilding effort unless a means test is done and those who can are made to pay back.

My first order of business is the strengthening and maintenance of my house and the payment of my insurance. I am not paying for mine and theirs voluntarily.

Grenville says it is no more expensive than a damn cell phone to secure one’s roof. A man said he lost his roof and two damn flat screen tvs.

First things first.

5. “Thanks Elsa have done an excellent job in exposing the weakness in govt policies”

that is one set of political spin from a known extremist troll agent …
    … the counter spin is it exposed scavenger bionic rats like Angela “Bukkake” “Gangbang” Cox with the hurricane porn pretending to care about ghetto sufferahs to score political points

Harold Hal Austin would be proud of level of dishonest rightwing news spin bullshit a la racist australian murdoch empire standards of misinformation and lying by his prodigy

6. Artax,

Apparently cheering on someone who is deliberately misleading the blog simply because she has seven or eight of us asking her to speak the truth will help Barbados to do better.

Sometimes Angela Cox hits on a good point. When she does so, I too agree with her.

Reasoned and truthful discourse is what it takes to whip a government into shape. Pure partisan poop will be dismissed and responded to in kind.

Political pimping and yardfowlism is what got us into this mess. I guess in some people’s stubbornly foolish minds, it will get us out of it.

Logic is your strong point. Logic is my strong point.

Some people…. not so much.

Keep on allowing the lies to run you ragged! lol. I will be there with you.

7. Non-Fiction Notification Information
    Your comment is awaiting moderation
    BU is busy expected turnaround time = 1 hour
    please wait and listen to some music
    an extended mix
    or a whole album
    and have good time times

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tpqeJ2iB7-4

8. 124 million hone Haywire
    Now 3.8million about to be blown out the back door and no one must say nothing

9. No. No-one must TELL LIES.

Perhaps you no longer know the difference between saying something and telling lies.

If so, you have my sympathy on the death of your conscience.

10. 3.8 million that you can see work being done. Some poor black men still making a living if they were working on the project for two years and eventually the vendors will be brought in out of the elements

How many or who beniffited from the 124m ?

11. “Perhaps you no longer know the difference between saying something and telling lies. If so, you have my sympathy on the death of your conscience.”

Political lies serve agendas and are the foundation for misinformation and untruths that people want to hear for scripted arguments.
    Did you know that black people are an heathenish, brutish and an uncertain, dangerous kind of people was a preamble that allowed slaves’ owners to do entirely as they wished to their slaves, including mutilating them and burning them alive, without fear of reprisal. For example, if an African person acted violently against an English person the law stipulated that they should be severely whipped, have his or her nose slit and shall be burnt in the face, while the next offence shall be punished by death. This terror kept people who were labelled slaves in their place. I’m not sure if it applied to the white slaves though.

12. There is a woman ranting and raving on Brasstacks.

Dennis Johnson just let her talk uninterrupted.

13. Elsa WAS here. What now.

14. It should never be about me.

Ac is an adult who can do/write as she pleases. She is not my child.
    She does not submit her comments to me for my approval. If she is right, I will support her. If she is wrong, there are others who will let her know she is incorrect.

If further action is required, then take it to those who manages the blog.

I have refused to become personal with anyone (unlike the Englishman). Yet, at some stage, I expect to hear “Ban he. He supporting she. She telling lies”. It is the last tool in the toolbox.

15. A few days ago BL& P spokesman said that 70 % of Barbadian households had electricity restored
    Now I am hearing via a press conference that only 1368 persons have electricity and presently 20thousand are without lights
    Another reason why I do not take much believability in the utterances said during these press conferences
    Which takes my mind back to what have been said by govt officials in reference to the Fairchild Street project
    There are observers on the ground who says differently those are who I belive
    Get it

https://www.facebook.com/270969375988/posts/10157787654485989/?sfnsn=mo

16. Gallery’s don’t hurt you head wrestling with them
    They have their truth and I have mine
    For them if govt say it is so it is so and that is the end of the story
    For me if govt say so I dig a bit deeper and look a lot longer
    Time is longer than twine

17. angela coxJuly 6, 2021 4:06 PM

Theo Gazzerts don’t hurt you head wrestling with them
    They have their truth and I have mine
    For them if govt say it is so it is so and that is the end of the story
    For me if govt say so I dig a bit deeper and look a lot longer
    Time is longer than twine

18. I remember when Mia reference the good name of Barbados as being worst than Haiti
    Sadly she might have got her wish
    Sometimes a person utterances can return to bite them in the arse
    This I must say Mia might have received a double serving of bites by an unknown pit bullcall Elsa

19. GOVERNMENT’S INCLUSION of natural disaster clauses in its restructured bonds could now provide some elbow room as the country increases spending to repair Hurricane Elsa’s damage.

Xxxcccccc
    Did govt take full use of the clause now that Barbados has been hammered by Elsa
    Or is this another case of wait and see topped off by numerous phases which can last as long as finishing the Fairchild street project
    Lol

20. Barbados is probably the least prepared of all the islands within the region to cater for a category one hurricane. Equally worrying, the geography of the island is relatively flat and benign; and ripe for devastation should a stronger hurricane then Elsa decides to pay a visit to the island.

21. TLSNJuly 6, 2021 5:07 PM

Barbados is probably the least prepared of all the islands within the region to cater for a category one hurricane. Equally worrying, the geography of the island is relatively flat and benign; and ripe for devastation should a stronger hurricane then Elsa decides to pay a visit to the island.

Cxcccccc

They can always pretend to be resilient when or if another one pass over the island
    Yuh now it is amazing to the level of dumbfounding how barbadians sit back with an nonchalant attitude while hell breaks loose around them

22. So here is some good news absent of transparency

https://www.facebook.com/270969375988/posts/10157787772595989/?sfnsn=mo

23. https://www.nationnews.com/2021/07/06/update-post-hurricane-elsa/

2 372 – problems reported.
    1 333 – reports of roof damage.
    326 – other house damage.
    533 – households need assistance in terms of accommodation.
    Damage reports and socio-economic assessments being undertaken.

24. Thanks Hants.

25. Uh wonder if Mia planning to plant a million trees
    Uh promise is uh promise

26. If politics is about bullshit
    then AC is an accomplished bullshitter

not even DLP can bullshit like her and get away with it

27. Come on, there isn’t any comparison between you and the pompous, uncouth limey. Unlike him, you seem to be decent guy.

I’m not a member of the ‘banning crew.’

28. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@angela cox July 6, 2021 4:03 PM “A few days ago BL& P spokesman said that 70 % of Barbadian households had electricity restored. Now I am hearing via a press conference that only 1368 persons have electricity.”

And from the Light and Power link which you posted is written 1368 customers restored today.

Which interpreted means that an ADDITIONAL 1368 customers were restored today. Typically there is more that one person in a household or business. So thousands more people had their electricity restored today, up to 80% of customers have had their power restored.

Not that I am a spokesperson for Light and Power. And not that I am happy with how long the restorations are taking.

But the truth is the truth man! Most businesses and homes NOT 1368 persons have had their power restored

29. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@angela cox July 6, 2021 4:03 PM “I am hearing via a press conference that only 1368 persons have electricity and presently 20thousand are without lights”

Using your math am I to believe that 1,368 + 20,000=21,368 people live in Barbados?

30. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Somebody must be paying you to write lies/spread disinformation. Nobody would tell so many lies/sin their souls for nothing.

31. https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/07/06/forde-issues-an-appeal-for-housing-accommodation/

Interested landlords can call the Ministry of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs at 536-4673 (536-HOPE) with details of the location of their property.

The Ministry looks forward to your assistance in this national effort, as it seeks to assist our brothers and sisters in their time of need.

32. @ Cuhdear Bajan

“Don’t hurt your head wrestling with her.”

Perhaps she isn’t being “paid to write lies/spread disinformation.”

REMEMBER, “she has HER TRUTH and we have ours.”

She probably mistook BL&P for BLP, and, you know “for her, if govt said, via a press conference that only 1368 persons have electricity, she dug a bit deeper and looked a lot longer” to give us HER VERSION of the truth.

And, don’t forget, to ask or challenge anything she presents to this forum, according to the limey snob, means we’re “cyber stalking bullies in need of psychiatric help.”

So, be very careful and ‘tread lightly.”

33. All-out effort!
    by BARRY ALLEYNE barryalleyne@nationnews.com
    HUNDREDS OF BARBADIANS who need temporary housing after being displaced by Hurricane Elsa will this week go into special accommodation secured by Government.
    Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams said yesterday that the authorities would leave no stone unturned in their assessment of all the damage done by the Category 1 hurricane, and this would continue all week. He said officials already had a good idea of who the vulnerable were, and they should be in new accommodation from today.
    “We sustained a fair amount of damage to our housing stock and to our infrastructure as well,” Abrahams said during a press conference at the National Emergency Operations Centre in Warrens, St Michael.
    Recovery
    “But the recovery to date has been nothing short of phenomenal. This level of destruction had not been seen in many years.
    “I know some people still have some issues about where we are in terms of electricity. For those still affected, we may feel that nothing else has happened in Barbados, but the fact that the roads have been cleared as quickly as they have been, that persons have been taken out of collapsed structures and provided accommodation is testimony to the amount of hard work done,” he said.
    Director of the Department of Emergency Management (DEM), Kerry Hinds, said the latest assessment showed there were now 2 372 problems reported. These included 1 333 damaged roofs, 326 with other house damage and 145 houses collapsed, the majority of which (38) occurred in Christ Church. Twenty were destroyed in St Michael, and 14 in St John.
    In addition, 533 households have already indicated they will need assistance with alternative accommodation as a result of Elsa’s fury.
    Abrahams said Government had partnered with the Barbados Hotel & Tourism Association through the Intimate Hotels Group, which would be providing 108 rooms for displaced people. “That is over ten hotels and we are trying to add to that. We are trying for selfcontained units so persons can cook their own meals and prepare their own food,” the minister said.
    In addition, he said the Sons of God Spiritual Baptist Church in Ealing Grove, Christ Church, will provide 18 units, and the Barbados Workers Union’s Labour College at Mangrove, St Philip, another 13 rooms for accommodation. “The ones at the Spiritual Baptists are two-, three- and fourbedroom units, so they can accommodate families as well,” Abrahams added.
    He thanked all the critical agencies which sprang into action early Friday morning after Elsa had passed and the all-clear subsequently given by the DEM.
    He said the focus of Government now was to return a level of normalcy to the lives of people affected by Elsa.
    “We want to get you into some degree of comfort as soon as possible. This is now about the people of Barbados. We will get to rebuilding and restoration, but for now the critical concern is for the people. That is priority No. 1.”
    Abrahams said priority would be given to people whose houses had been destroyed after Elsa slammed into Barbados with winds that topped 75 miles per hour and lingered around for two hours before moving on to do more damage in the Eastern Caribbean.
    He noted it was not yet possible to provide a dollar value of the overall damage inflicted, and a report of a $5 million tally was just that of the insurance sector. He added it could be way more, as most of the collapsed houses were uninsured.
    The minister lamented the quality of housing across the island.
    “Our building stock has been shown up to be very fragile. A Category 1 system in the grand scheme of things is at the low end of cyclonic intensity, and yet we sustained some significant impact in Barbados. That alone tells us everything we need to know.
    “Yes, our building code is voluntary and points to best practice, and that is one of the things we are going to have to look at. There are lessons coming out of this event that we cannot possibly ignore, and that is there must be certain minimum legislative standards for building. There is probably very little you can do to existing houses, but going forward there must be some minimum levels that construction must meet . . . . We should not be getting this level of destruction from a Category 1 hurricane.”

34. Artax,

Decent guy for sure but stubbornly foolish and unable to back down.

Neither you nor I have ever called for ANYONE to be banned. That is mostly Lorenzo. Can’t recall who else.

I don’t know where this idea of more than one truth originated from but it makes no sense to me. One can interpret truth differently depending on one’s perspective but there is only one truth.

This idea that I believe whatever this administration tells me is ridiculous. I didn’t even believe everything my mother said, my teacher said, my textbooks said, my doctor said, the priest said, the bible said…… not since I was a pre-teen. I question EVERYTHING and EVERYONE.

Angela Cox digs deeper, she says, meaning she digs deeper down every White Rabbit hole some Facebooker starts for her and ends up in Wonderland with the Mad Hatter.

ALMOST EVERYBODY HAS BACK THEIR ELECTRICITY!

35. Are the planting of a million trees still one of Mia great proposals
    That idea was laid out by Mia about two years ago
    Haven’t heard much about it since

36. Btw what business is that of anyone in this forum as to who shows any level of support towards any individual or individuals
    Some of wunna arrogant as RH Stupse

37. Bl&P sending restoration PR messages
    What about the incompetence on their part
    The various stories of rotten poles which came about because of aging and termite infestation should be on concern of the PR dept of BL&P
    Five days without electricity is unacceptable
    People being thrown into darkness after a cat 1 is unacceptable because of the internal handlings and preference level concerns bl& p gave to the managing of their infrastructure
    Many have lost all perishable
    Bl&p should be held accountable for some of these people looses
    After all … months before the hurricane many have laid complaints to bl&p management in the manner and way many poles were vulnerable to nature’s wrath if a hurricane struck the island

38. Any situation, at any time, some people always have something negative to say about it. They are hellbent on constantly looking for the in every positive situation, just to give themselves something to complain about or criticize, because it is politically expedient for them to do so.

Those persons are ‘damp clouds walking over every sunshine situation,’ hoping to drench other people with their miserable, distorted comments.

Because they have a disagreeable inclination to stress faults and raise petty objections, I believe ‘captious critics’ or ‘miserable curmudgeons’ appropriately describes them.

39. Artax

Time we hit the ignore button

Some people seem to be lonely and find solace in social media.

Negativity is getting our attention and that’s is the sole intention to stroke ego

As from today I am ignoring the ignorant attention seeking one.

40. That is not it, it is how some people remain relevant on the blog. You have been told many time yet you feel happy following.

41. @ John2

I agree.

BU should be a forum where we could seriously discuss ideas and opinions rationally and reasonably.

At one stage, BU was becoming a very toxic environment with all the insults, person abuse and derogatory remarks. Now, it’s becoming a political playground for idiots who prefer to misrepresent the truth.

I was a bit more interested in seeking the truth and placing issues in their proper perspective……. while probably ignoring contributors are quite capable of separating ‘fact from fiction.’

You are correct. Perhaps the time has come to “ignore the ignorant attention seeking one.”

42. In all the PR “good messages” yet to hear a set policy on price gouging
    However I did hear govt had place soldiers across Barbados to stop criminality involving looters
    Meanwhile the uppity business class is left alone to gouge out the people’s eyes

43. Now, there ìs one thing I have to say about B L & P. They obviously do not maintain their poles. Some of them had to be rotten. They also do not trim the trees besieged by wires as promised.. That I know because after numerous calls and promises, I ended up paying somebody to trim mine. He said he knew what he was doing but I was still afraid. Eventually, I cut the whole damn thing down to ensure it did not slip by me again. Planted a tree elsewhere to replace it

44. David

Not even you took your own advice

45. The bligmaster has license based on his judgement. Commenters have the opportunity add value to the blog by dissecting issues. Where is the value trying to debate a person being deliberately malicious?

46. Interesting but never heard anythIng about the outcome of the investigation

Read ePaper
    Home / Top Featured Article / Man falls to his death after being electrocuted

Man falls to his death after being electrocuted – by Barbados Today July 11, 2020
    Police are investigating the unnatural death of a 21-year-old man from Baywoods, St James.

About 10:26 a.m. on Saturday, police in Holetown received a report that a man had fallen from a tree whilst he was picking breadfruits. He was described as seriously injured at the time. On arrival police were informed by ambulance personnel who were on the scene that there was no sign of life. He was later pronounced dead at the scene by a medical doctor.

A tender from the Barbados Fire Service also responded to put out a fire, which was coming from the tree.

It is alleged that the young man was picking breadfruit with a rod, which came in contact with power lines. He was shocked and fell from the tree to the ground

47. Here is another truth I found to be of interest
    Not my truth nonetheless a truth all by itself
    Sad especially at a time when people have no jobs

I had my first price gouging experience to day. Six weeks ago i bought some plastic jars. Went back for some more price gone up! I wickedly asked if the price went up.

Response this is what i seeing in the system.

My response. I know the price gone up

When i took the commodity to the person i bough them for, I asked what was the last price again. Our price matched and hence a sizable increase!

How sad. Naturally the small business owner cannot absorb such cost. Where do we go from here.