Submitted by Just Observing
26 years ago there was a hue and cry when a then young Minister of Education who managed a group of artists brought school aged students to the Wildey Gymnasium to be “feted” by none other than Mr. Edwin Yearwood, Pic of De Crop winner.
At the time this mass “party” was unheard of but clearly went on to become a staple of B/DLP politics, campaigning and our cultural and sub cultural landscape.
Fast forward 27 years to the present and we have a young Minister of Education who manages a group of artists and uses them for promotional and motivational student videos (covid, back to school, stop the bullying etc.) including the popular Mole, Peter Ram and others.
BUT, here is the rub. The attached video shows the duality of entertainment and the flip side of performance roles.
So, one day it’s go to school, learn well, sanitise and don’t trouble nobody. The next day it’s gunshots showering like storm, high grade, kush, 357’s, AR’s and coffins for informers who get shot.
All coming from the same mouths, with the same faces, in the same spaces.
All managed and seemingly endorsed by a young Minister of Education whose business interests apparently diverge from the broader national, social and values based interests when convenient.
Imagine this at a time when violence, guns, shooting and fear of serious crime continue to climb. This is what far too many of our young people glorify, rejoice in and give praise to.
As one of the same said artists said over 30 years ago…..
“Well boh, I find out doh, uh NOW realise how de yutes get so”
Cuddear…forget it, no one is giving up their guns, talk and hypocrisy are both cheap, if they had to pay for the pleasure ya won’t hear another lie or hypocrisy coming from politicians or anyone else..
@ Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV June 7, 2021 5:12 PM
The video is just reflecting the ‘genuine’ quality of the fabric binding together the full guts of hypocrisy which is permeating the Bajan society called the “Two Barbadoes”.
Did Adonijah’s lyrical interpretation of the two-faced Barbadoes attract similar condemnation for telling the plain truth?
What we would like to hear from you are your views on what Donna is exposing when she wrote @ June 7, 2021 4:42 PM:
The corruption of the powerful is far more deadly than a few bad boys who shoot each other.
It drains the economy of a whole nation, depriving many citizens of opportunity, adequate health care, adequate education and training – all necessary for livelihood and life.
Such deprivation is the breeding ground for the violent crimes of the youth. (Unquote).
@WURA-War-on-U June 7, 2021 10:09 AM “…the elderly who are afraid to take those vans, complain loudly and are cursed or threatened…”
This elder is not afraid of any ZR man. I’ve heard that some are afraid of me. Took 3 on Thursday when I went out to run errands. They all had their radios on VOB. All wore masks. All had hand sanitiser. One even has a van with an automatic door opener and closer so that the entry and exit can be contactless…nice.
Don’t know how long it will last.
Generally speaking right wing are the ones who want to clamp down on music while liberals left are more tolerant.
Does this mean that the new David is a incarnation of a Hal and BU is a set up.
🙂
Cannot understand the squaring off. Tempted to reply. But just buzzing off.
Let’s see how many yardfowls are willing to wear neon orange for corrupt governments, at least Donville will be wearing his for himself.
Understand this – you have a habit of telling me what I should and should not include in my story. It is annoying.
Miller,
One would be tempted to think that the big breed red rooster was sent to articulate what the common breed red rooster was unable to convey.
Still cannot touch the Ambassador Plenibigwordery long known for her musical collaborations with the ganstas of rap!
The Westbury girl is far too generous with the proceeds of her “crimes.”
Music is one of those things that people have no control of, you may want others to sing the same thing that you want but it doesn’t work like that. It’s the same with other people’s views, just ignore them if you don’t agree and carry on with what you want.
Donna you are an airhead and asshole plain and simple.Any body with a modicum of commonsense would have understood what dosgusting and myself was saying to you.You claimed you ate a teacher? No wonder soany studenrs comming out of school who cannot read or write.You are one dumbass nuisance.Keep bigging up young thugs doing foolishness.I hope none attempt to rob you or your son.
Donna…tell the Slave that you don’t have to wait for a street thug to rob you or your son., the pedigree elite THUGS IN THE PARLIAMENT and their thieving minority sidekicks have been robbing everyone by the billions of dollars a nd tiefing the elderly’s land and estates and depriviing their beneficiaries…..without a gun or a knife….and for decades…
what thugs in the streets what, they can’t hold a candle to the aforementioned thugs…
Actually I am more afraid of real-real guns, that I am of gun songs and gu videos. The way I look at it if I am shot by the “licensed” gun of a “respectable” gun owner, or by the rent-a-gun of an over exuberant youngster I am still dead dead dead either way.
The first gun death I ever heard of in Barbados was when 2 elementary aged children were playing with the licensed gun of the father of one of them. At the end of what was to be a pleasant afternoon visit, one boy was dead, dead, dead as a doornail.
And how do you prosecute a 5 year old?
And how do you raise a 5 year old from the dead? More than 50 years later that kid is still dead.
So from that day to this I don’t want any guns licensed or not around me.
So David, let us carry out a little survey:
Who on BU is willing to give up their gun?
@ 555 dubstreet June 7, 2021 6:59 PM
Here is one before your time, young Kiki!
“By the rivers of Babylon, there we sat down
Ye-eah we wept, when we remembered Zion
When the wicked
Carried us away in captivity
Required from us a song
Now how shall we sing the Lord’s song in a strange land
Let the words of our mouth and the meditation of our heart
Be acceptable in thy sight here tonight.”
@Lorenzo June 7, 2021 7:00 PM. “You claimed you ate a teacher? No wonder soany studenrs comming out of school who cannot read or write.”
Actually Donna writes very well. She writes far better than you do.
Here is your CORRECTED statement
You claimed you are a teacher? No wonder so many students coming out of school who cannot read or write.
Donna is not a cannibal so I doubt very much that she ate the teacher.
Please put a space between so and many, also please note that many begins with the letter m. Please note that students is spelt students and not studenrs. And finally coming has just one m NOT TWO.
Ga long now.
This is the last time that I am doing your homework for you.
David please do another survey and find out for us who among parliamentarians, pastors, performers, poets, police, politicians, priests, prime ministers, poor black men are willing to give up their guns?
If none. Then aren’t we all just blowing a whole lotta hot air?
Miller
I have about 20 versions of that song. It must be proof that blacks and tribe of israel and slaves are one and same.
It continues…
@ Cuhdear Bajan June 7, 2021 7:26 PM
“Donna is not a cannibal so I doubt very much that she ate the teacher.”
LoL!! There are many interpretations of that word “ate”.
Poor Lorenzo must have had the Mighty Sparrow’s song on his mind: “Congo Man: Never eat a White Meat Yet”.
BTW, how do you know that Donna does like to eat “Salt fish” (like you and 60 million Bajan-French men going by the name “whiteHill”)?
So David Thompson brought in Vibez Kartel….lawd…so he is serving life in prison for killing how many, gotta google that one.. for the death of a promoter called Lizard..
so we can truthfully say that the dancehall violence with guns theme etc is the only genre of music the leaders in Barbados entertain, sponsor and have the minority crooks sponsor too….
but none of them play that in their homes…not one…that was just for capitalist purposes don’t care how it destroyed the youth on the island..
And ya see those indian and other minorities who own the ZRs and yellow buses, along with police and government ministers… they don’t play that music that they bombard young minds with in their homes either…
..when ya hear that music on their buses, get their BT numbers or whatever it’s called this days, their names written inside the buses and throw it all across social media.
..it’s time they stopped pollute young minds for their goddamn GREED….and stop pretending to be so filled with morals when they are the real vehicles for this evil.
Lol ate the teacher Miller, yeh she did …it but insisted on role playing as a 12 year old. The teacher says whats the rush you will be twelve in a couple of months.
I will ignore the speculation and proceed to what interests me.
Lorenzo is too stupid to understand how stupid he is.
I WAS a teacher twenty years ago. My last year I taught Reception and Infants A. TWO CLASSES AT ONCE. As I recall, I had just a couple of pupils with whom I made no progress. I suspect that a special needs teacher may have done better. NONE WAS AVAILABLE.
Erskine Sandiford’s IMF episode deprived me of my contract under LIFO rules. The other teachers were not pleased. They believed I was born to teach. So did the children who rejected their new teacher for weeks as they kept asking for their REAL teacher. She called me in desperation and I assured her that they would eventually come around. I still smile when I think of my teaching experience. Great times!
On the bright side, a few years ago I voluntarily taught a young lady to read the same year that she sat the SCREAMING TEST.
All it took was a computer, a Hooked on Phonics programme and someone willing to supervise and ask questions to ensure that she did more than just string words together.
Girl was not dumb. She simply needed some attention. Her class may have been too large. A remedial teacher would have helped. NONE was available.
Her grandmother told me that she was so excited she tried to read everything in sight.
P.S. MY SON CAN NOT ONLY READ BUT HE HAS TAUGHT HIMSELF TO CODE.
The pea brain will await you congratulations for another job well done.
YOUR congratulations
Love the new tune:
good morning, bow wow wow
how ya doing, bow wow wow
when the, lying tiefing sellout politicians with their snake skins and traitor smiles come to ya door begging for votes so they can rob you and your family billions of dollars and betray you for tiefing minorities….KICK THEM OUTSIDE…literally.
.let ya dogs make a meal of them…but wash out their mouths after so they don’t get poisoned from the snakes..
Dear David:
Has anybody on BU or otherwise agreed to give up their guns yet?
Let me know when you hear from some people willing to give up their gun(s)
@Simple Simon
Licensed firearms holders will not give up guns in the prevailing environment.
We all make mistakes, but it is just as funny today as it was today.
‘You claimed you ate a teacher?’
But it was just a question.
Later all. Have a great day.
But David in Barbados nobody shoots parliamentarians, pastors, performers, poets, politicians, priests, or prime ministers, and only rarely are police shot, so whatdo licensed gun holders need guns since for many, many generations they have lived such safe lives.
I think that the only people in Barbados who need to own guns are poor black men, since poor black men, including poor black policemen are the only ones in Barbados who die by the gun.
If I had the power I would take the guns from everybody else and give one to every poor black man, so that the poor black men can protect themselves.
@Simple Simon
Maybe so but in an environment where there is escalating fear among the public and increase in violent/gun crime it will not happen now.
But we think irrationally, act irrationally, implement irrational policies and then we ask how de yutes get so?
De yutes get so because THEY WANT TO BE JUST LIKE US, GUN OWNERSHIP AND ALL.
Wait! I just reread that fool’s gibberish.
Where did I ever big up thugs?
I said we should seek to understand what brought many of them to thuggery and attempt to prevent young people from making that choice.
I said we should call out the hypocrisy that allows rich and privileged criminals to drain the economy and then demonise those who are the natural results of their crimes.
I said we must call out ALL THE GREEDY CRIMINALS not only the desperate thugs.
Lorenzo was obviously not one of my pupils. Even the girl I taught to read in her SCREAMING TEST year was better at understanding what she read.
best thing a teacher taught me was alcohol is a solution
Best thing life taught me is that alcohol may be a solution but it can also be the problem.
I dont know I find your lucky in life if the cognac your drinking is older than the women your dating
Donna June 7, 2021 4:24 PM
And I too am disappointed that you, despite your vermilion verbosity have not found it possible to answer why it is better to beat up on the tail of the beast rather than bludgeon the head!
Miller June 7, 2021 6:05 PM
What we would like to hear from you are your views on what Donna is exposing when she wrote @ June 7, 2021 4:42 PM:
The corruption of the powerful is far more deadly than a few bad boys who shoot each other.
It drains the economy of a whole nation, depriving many citizens of opportunity, adequate health care, adequate education and training – all necessary for livelihood and life.
Such deprivation is the breeding ground for the violent crimes of the youth. (Unquote).
@Miller I don’t think I have to go further to explain my stance as “espoused” in my reply at June 7, 2021 11:52 AM. To use Donna’s terms I am not following the multitude that want to beat up the “tail” as a convenient scapegoat , I want the whole monster purged and destroyed. Head, body and tail.
The particular topic here is “gun lyrics” in a bashment music video (and the gross insensitivity to release it now if not ever) By extension the focus is on the explicit, violent and vulgar lyrics in songs and their easy access and exposure to the youth. The fanbase mostly don’t listen to or comprehend politicians, political or economic issues or even world events but would usually listen to music or watch tv . So if the “beast” appears in a form trying to indoctrinate vulgar, explicit messages to the youth in a music form\style that they listen to for the past 30 years. I will attack it, just as the “beast” may appear in the form of corruption, money laundering, mismanagement of taxpayers money, economic mismanagement of a government.
Now these artists and their fans want to use in their “defense” the fact that gun violence did not start with their music. This is hardly a new counter argument. So are they using this “fact” to defend their glorifying the shooting of “informers” and “violators? Are they hoping to escape blame for perpetuating violence? Or are they saying they are playing their part in the advancement of mankind. I want them to explain their logic!!!
“Please Sir I didn’t start the concept of aggravated robbery. I have no job. I have 5 children from 6 different women and I have to support them all. I see people being sentenced to jail in the court pages for it. It seems to be an honorable activity. I didn’t mean to shoot the gentleman and the gentlelady. My gun only had in 1 bullet just in case I had to shoot any “informers” that passed by. I observe nepotism and corruption going on among politicians and among the rich in society, My evil is small, please feel for me. Leave me be in my pursuit in spreading terror and killing informers who may want to stop my wholesome endeavors. “
@ Disguising Lies & Propaganda TV
One question: Who fool you that the youth don’t understand politicians and don’t pay attention to such matters ?
One of the biggest mistakes we are making is that all these young people do is smoke weed and impregnate women.
You are way off target. The majority of our youth are extremely creative and law abiding. We seem to quickly forget the alcohol and village rams of our youth. Did that stop us from being engaged in : trade unions, community groups etc ?
Did you not see the youth take on CXC ?
Do you not see the youth getting athletic and sports scholarships everyday?
Don’t you read the papers and see the dozens of young doctors we are producing?
Don’t you see the youth engaged in modern agriculture techniques.
You come here stereo typing black youth and expect that to go unnoticed.
Tell me what progressive , sustainable program has been successfully developed in the last forty years by either party that has seriously contributed to the economic enfranchisement of our young black people.
And I am certainly not speaking of weed wackers.
With all due respect you are seriously out of touch on this topic.
Covid has shown us political and media agenda
Barbados in a shutdown
“You come here stereo typing black youth and expect that to go unnoticed.
Tell me what progressive , sustainable program has been successfully developed in the last forty years by either party that has seriously contributed to the economic enfranchisement of our young black people.”
it’s WICKED minds like that have the NATIONAL STADIUM in its present dilapidated and degraded state…DBLP Slaves trying to impress someone with their uneducated status…..while both trash governments ignore and neglect the same Black youths and only see them as fodder for their scam of a prison system….and to buy and sell the minorities’ guns and drugs..
the youths don’t have to get involved in any colonial political system DERIVED FROM SLAVERY…they can create THEIR OWN SYSTEM….
many on here are too ignorant, backward and slave minded and believe everyone else suffers from the same affliction and mental handicap
“…..while both trash governments ignore and neglect the same Black youths and only see them as fodder for their scam of a prison system….and to buy and sell the minorities’ guns and drugs..
the youths don’t have to get involved in any colonial political system DERIVED FROM SLAVERY…they can create THEIR OWN SYSTEM….”
Youths don’t see or discriminate against colour race or creed as people are people. They operate on a higher vibrational level of enlightenment as God’s children and are little angels sent from heaven above. Big people have devils and angels inside them who work together as a team.
00:00 Just Enough, David Isaacs,
03:05 I Won’t Commit Suicide (Discomix), Harold Holt,
Black Ark Production
Your comment is awaiting moderation.
@David V34.1
William Skinner,
The man has named himself “Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV”.
With that moniker he has declared his political agenda.
Such persons have a hymn sheet. They must sing every note accordingly.
Though both BLP AND DLP have been, in my opinion, CRIMINALLY NEGLECTFUL of our disadvantaged young people, it is THIS ADMINISTRATION that is in the hotseat for its hypocrisy.
You will notice that the hymn sheet has no lyrics to counter the substantive argument but concentrates on a catchy chorus.
Pathetic!
However, they have mashed the people’s corns in these COVID times and they have only just begun to feel the heat.
There must be action on education reform. There must be action on the Government Industrial School. There must be action on corruption among the so-called elite,
We gave her the vote and we are watching her.
We will not allow our eyes to follow the finger pointing in the wrong direction.
No distractions!
What is THIS GOVERNMENT doing to address crime and violence in Barbados?
The answer cannot be, “We have rebuked Lil Rick and Peter Ram for singing songs about it!”
Besides which, the topic at hand is – “How de Yutes get so?”
This obviously does not confine us to discussing Riddims. Not if we want to answer the question.
Joker!
watch them all FALL TO THE GROUND…
those corrupt traitors, their fellow minority criminals and their bottom feeding supporting Slaves are not to be presented to our grandchildren and great grandchildren going forward…not going to happen, will drag their identities across the earth before that is allowed to happen again..over half century of these crimes committed against Black people IS NOW OVER…
https://www.haywireweekend.com/destinations/barbados/
https://www.nationnews.com/2021/06/09/cummins-barbados-safe-open-business-tourism/
@William it is you you are seriously out of touch with my last post and Donna you are just clueless. I never inferred that all the youth do is smoke weed, impregnate women or endorse gun violence. That is so absurd it is hilarious and sad at the same time. That is just as absurd as saying that all people that aspire to be politicians only have a corrupt agenda. You need to re read and reinterpret my previous post.
Didn’t I previously post a reaction video by a YOUNGSTER who likes the MUSIC but pokes fun of the LYRICS? My experience is that most youth do not internalize these lyrics even though they may sing them and “vibe” to the music. Kidsite’s reaction is similar in that he admires that the artists “sits down on the riddim” but does not like the themes. My problem is that these songs are creating a growing fraction of people (including the youth) who will internalize the message and want to make it their “truth”. I previously stated that after 25-30 years of this “indoctrination” this is what is happening as evidenced by the age group of those perpetrators.
The sarcasm in my previous post is directed to Donna and those diehard fans of these LYRICS who say that gunning down “informers” is a reflection of some sort of reality of an ENTIRE group( e.g. all youth or all poor people). That they should be blameless in perpetuating violence as it had already existed and the rich and politicians do not get persecute as harshly when perpetuating corruption or crime in general. These LYRICS are hardly a reflection of any truth, it is a statement of intent by a terrorist in music form. When gangsta rappers sing F__ the police, it is not a TRUTH, that is THEIR opinion on the law and hopes to share that with their fanbase. That is FAR different from the same rapper who releases songs about the harsh realities of growing up poor, black and around gun violence and the exploitation of the poor by the rich. This is what some people (including Donna) is not properly discerning and comprehending!!!!!. Are we saying that F___ the police and shooting informers is a positive message we should be re-enforcing?!?!?!?
BTW Donna you seem to have some sort of “Bee in your bonnet” about my moniker!!!. That is YOUR PROBLEM!!!! LIKE IT OR LUMP IT!!!!!
My objection is to the “GUNMAN LYRICS” and not so much to the music STYLE\FORM or to the YOUTH in general. I find it sad that this is so hard to understand. You have to think why after 25 – 30 years of the “normalizing of these lyrics” in Bashment\ Gangsta music, why one video mix is drawing such a strong reaction. PART of the reason is that some of the artists in THAT video, who have been held up as “role models” who have been widely supported singing other music is now “regressing” back to these songs with the “gun lyrics”.
Pingback: Mia’s Blunders | Barbados Underground
Disgusting lies i agree with you 100%.You will notice how the air head peabrain always praising up herself.She probably never heard the saying self praise ain,t no praise.Far from seeking to understand these lawless youths as these wimpy apologists wishes i suggest this government does the following as a solution.Firstly distance itself from any previous agreements with agencies like Amnesty International and resume hanging in Barbados or as the old people would say start popping some necks.This would cause some of these wannabe thugs to think twice about their actions as most of them do not want to lose their lives.Obviously they would not be able to kill anyone else like the unfortunate police officer..I remember back in 1984 when about three of them were hanged murders dropped for a while .In Trinidad when chaddee and his goons were hanged the same thing happened.Secondly any artist found to be singing songs inciting gun violence should be charged if found guilty of so doing.Time to get tough with these wanabe thugs.
Don’t care how hard the yardfowls/Slaves try….they can’t make it make sense.
still waiting to hear why the NATIONAL STADIUM to help the youth become well rounded etc is STILL in a dilapidated state…despite ALL THE BILLIONS OF DOLLARS MISSING FROM THE ECONOMY and being hurriedly written off….
where is the people’s money yall THIEVES AND PARASITES……yall can’t bring nothing to distract away from that…yall are now world renowned as common class thieves..
Oops! My, how time flies when you’re having fun! I was a teacher THIRTY YEARS AGO not twenty!
Oh dear! I guess the pea brain is NOT getting her congratulations. Never mind! It comes from numerous other sources whose opinion I actually respect.
Add to the pea brain’s accomplishments, the beautiful and productive kitchen garden that is saving her from crying out about the increasing prices. Getting compliments almost every day and remarks about how “lucky” I am.
Not bad for a pea brain!
😎😎😎😎😎😎😎😎😎😎😎😎
Yall want ya NECKS POPPING for torturing children FOR DECADES using 1800s Slave laws ….don’t think that Amnesty International didn’t hear about yall child human rights violating scum…and that’s only when ya ain’t violating BLACK RIGHTS EVERY DAY….despite being signatory to declarations, treaties and charters that is against those violations..
THIEVES…
WURA,
Don’t mind them! Two poor rakey yardfowls cannot catch all the worms that have escaped from this can.
If I were Lil Rick I would make a deal with them. I would offer to take down my video when they pass integrity legislation, whistleblower’s protection, freedom of information legislation and arrest and charge ONE of the Mr. BIGs behind the drug and gun trade.
“and arrest and charge ONE of the Mr. BIGs behind the drug and gun trade.”
in this type of standoff, ya DEMAND THAT ALL BE ARRESTED and CHARGED, they have poisoned the island with drugs and guns since the 1970s, they all know who they are, they have ALL TAKEN THEIR BRIBES to allow the drugs and guns to run..
.. ya can’t leave any behind to continue their crimes against pauperized, depressed neighborhoods…all have to BE TAKEN DOWN..
HARD BARGAIN…
Sigh, more piss from Donna!!!!! . So according to Donna’s “logic” the promotion of aggravated robberies and gun crime can continue as a bargaining chip to force govts to bring whistleblower and integrity in public life legislation. As if govts have not be CHASTIZED for their failure to do so ALREADY. The message that we ADULTS should be promoting is that both corruption and gun crime is WRONG and if a youngster wants to get into politics in the future we would like THEM to help US eliminate both. The only thing that is poor rakey is your logic. The more you comment the further down the logic hole you go.
@ Donna,
“.Firstly distance itself from any previous agreements with agencies like Amnesty International and resume hanging in Barbados or as the old people would say start popping some necks.”
My Paul Revere moment.
The Republic is coming. The Republic is coming.
If you are a staunch defender of the ‘Republic’ and a foot soldier then you should not advance any policy for the Republic.
Is it just a response or something heard passing by a big-up door.
Uh-oh! The civilised veneer is slipping. The hoity-toity language is gone!
Yardfowl, we are back at square one! Did Lil Rick’s video cause anybody to take to drug dealing and murder?
Name the person or persons please! Bring the proof! No speculation!
One thing I know is that drug dealing and murder were going on long before the video.
But if they want to play stupid then I would too!
🙃🙃🙃🙃🙃
yep…advocating for popping necks is so different to singing about guns….lol
the dumb yardfowl in full swing……should be at the end of a rope..
https://epaper.barbadostoday.bb/html5/reader/production/default.aspx?pubname=&pubid=87ad6005-1972-4d63-92b0-8927eda53c7a
Uh-oh!
The pisser pisseth good piss!
https://www.haywireweekend.com/tour-item/barbados/
Hants,
Dealings WITH feelings!
https://youtu.be/kE0pwJ5PMDg
My son was brought up listening to this. We still have fun screeching the whistle register parts.
Hants,
These songs were my drugs. Still get goosebumps.
https://youtu.be/jbh-So2eMhs
My Commodores play list. Sweet Love, Just To Be Close To You, Three Times A Lady.
I will it to your imagination as to what is likely to happen after the third song.
and I am 69 years old. lol
Hants,
You’re not dead yet!
Pingback: Four Seasons Project: Public Servants Must Serve Taxpayers NOT Politicians | Barbados Underground
De yutes cultcha on de guvmen station
Yesterday Sunday School wid lil ric
Featured in live performance
The mighty Grynner
Gabby
Shirley Stuart
People got to me a living
Govt and hand to mouth blp supporters not gonna help people pay their bills and keep roof over there head
Glad lil ric had the commonsense to know who is who from who isn’t worth a fart hole