zr
Picture shows green car exiting from Villa Road, Brittons Hill to make the left turn on Collymore Rock. The PSV (ZR244) is positioned in the centre lane which is designated to turn right ONLY. The picture shows the ZR about to make a left turn which according to BU family member (thanks!) who submitted the picture resulted in the green car with the right of way having to brake to avoid an accident.

Recently in the news Minister of Education Ronald Jones lamented that despite the government of Barbados spending eleven million dollars to provide free bus rides on the public transportation service for our school children; many of them continue to travel on private transportation system (PSVs). While there is the economic benefit to be derived by parents there is also the benefit of removing our young children from the influence of the ZR-minibus culture referred by the experts as a public good. The Minister’s comment was provoked when a young student was recently accidently injured while travelling on a PSV. The folly of the incident was the fact that the student’s mother admitted to knowing that her daughter travels frequently to school on the PSVs. This is a working class mother mind you!

Prime Minister David Thompson like many of his predecessors have chosen to use punitive tax measures resulting in increased government revenue but equally or more importantly message the PSV sector to toe the line. It is over 30 years since the birth of the PSV sector and we can safely say under successive governments the sector has deteriorated from year to year. The ZR-minibus culture has now firmly taken root. The Prime Minister in his last press conference had indicated that he assessing the PSV sector very closely to discern if there has been a positive response in their behaviour. Based on our observation BU votes a flat NO!

The expected downturn in the economy which has seen the government offering financial assistance to the Barbados Turf Club, Barbados Hotels Association and others has given fodder to the PSV public relations machinery. Barbadians would have gotten use to Dennis Tull who had been the President of the minibus association for many years. Now we have to tolerate the public relations spiel coming from Morris Lee. Mr. Lee seems to think he is being smart by suggesting that the PSV sector directly employees 400 people and contribute several million in taxes to the treasury and therefore the sector should be given financial assistance as well. What about the social cost the society is paying as a result of the thriving ZR-minibus culture Mr. Lee?

We expect  to read the argument that the ZR-minibus culture is a symptom of societal ailments so why focus on the PSVs? BU’s response is that our society has to prioritize those issues which maybe having a significant social impact based on our best judgement here and now. The Zr-minibus culture by all reports is impacting our young minds, congesting our court system, helping to create chaos on the highways etc. In a perfect world if we had model parents we could fight the problem differently, in a perfect world if we had a good public transportation system we could fight the problem differently, in a perfect world if we had all law-abiding government officials we could regulate the PSV sector differently, but we don’t. The result is a PSV sector which has become an embarrassment to the country of Barbados. Why can’t Barbados learn from the Jamaican experience? Recently we have heard reported that the Jamaican government has taken a hardline with music on the PSVs and even on the public airwaves yet in Barbados our authorities continue to entertain the lewdest of the dancehall music on our PSVs. To make matters worse many of the DJs on our respectable radio stations like VOB and 98.1 are responsible for producing the music played on the PSVs.

Some say the police force needs to be more aggressive by reporting the many road traffic offenses as seen in the picture above. The police answerback that the Magistrate Courts are congested with backlog files which have been  know to take years to process. Others say the ownership of many PSVs is concentrated in the hands of the elite of Barbados and the system is manipulated often times to avoid the legal system. In is no secret in little Barbados that successive Ministers of Transportation have sold permits, especially when demitting office. Hopefully Minister John Boyce will buck the trend!

Mr. Prime Minister you have delivered several warnings to the PSV sector to shape or … but most Barbadians will tell you that the ZR-minibus culture is alive and well.

Your move!

1. Tell the truth, this was submitted by Roy Morris? So all is forgiven?

2. @Ian

You are correct, since the departure of Roy the Nation newspaper has forgotten the need to continue coverage of the PSV issue. The time has come to deal swiftly with this matter. Can we have some leadership please?

3. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Let’s deal with the PSVs for what they are, first. Also, let’s not out up a straw man of a perfect world in this issue: it’s the same for everything, so let’s make people responsible as they are now.

The PSV are transporters, but they tend to live by rules of their own, with little respect for other road users. Let’s put the social engineering with music into a separate box (in the same way that individuals in their cars listen to similar music but do not act like PSVs) and deal with what PSVs actually do as users of roads.

In no special order, they: (1) repeatedly run red lights; (2) travel off route; (3) stop for passengers as they feel; (4) disregard road signs and directions, eg. wrong way down one way streets, breaking no entry signs. Others can add to the list.

When these points were made to Minister Boyce recently, he agreed (with silence) that many of the problems are simply dealt with by proper supervision. I have witnessed them with police standing by, inactive. That has nothing to do with Dancehall.

My understanding is that the current legislation does not allow putting a PSV off the road for infractions, merely sanctioning the drivers. This is clearly near useless.

Many see the infractions daily, and without turning people into ‘spies’, each infraction should be noted and their details with licence number (as in the picture) submitted to the police and news media constantly. You may want to even open a ‘rogues gallery’ on BU; that’s one way to build evidence. We may find that the real culprits are few.

Thankfully, I have not seen PSV overcrowding and we have not had a major accident. But, like with many things if you wait long enough, they may happen.

Music aside, Jamaica took a tough line with PSV abuses on the road, and few can now be seen on the roads. That may be the price to pay for ‘misbehaviour’: you go out of business.

4. @livinginbarbados

Agree with alot of what you wrote, you shouldn’t worry about about the part of the blog which is using hyperbole:-)

Some people watch blue movies in their bedrooms but CBC the national broadcasting TV station doesn’t, get our point? We should not forget the state of the transportation sector NOW.

5. One has to be realistic of the times.
    In Barbados what little is done is always at a snails’ pace; it is perhaps in the hope that one will forget about it.
    There has been a number of complaints made about the PSV/ZR culture for many years to successive governments; they have failed to respond.
    Here are a few:
    Blocking of the roads to speak to each other; radio and exhaust noise which has now become a nuisance,not only from the PSV/ZR, but from family homes, cars/vans/taxis,motor cycles.
    The inhumane treatment of animals on the Island— you may remember those cows tied up in a field near the airport and recently the tortured dog which was hanging in St. Lucy.
    Litter being discarded all over the Island. Men urinating beside the road in full view of others.
    Those are but a few and those in authority must be aware of it. Have you heard of one prosecution for any of the offences above or are there laws against such?
    Our younger generation will likely carry on the ‘tradition’ because they have been fed this from birth.
    The time has come for the voting public to insist on “CHANGE” now.Firstly by vetting your member of parliament and holding him/her to account on his next term for office.No second chance if he doesn’t live up to expectation.
    It is pointless to say one can police himself. Legislation is needed and implemented urgently, and someone must be held accountable for failure.

6. In a related issue people are starting to ask if the policy of free bus fare for school children is a holistic one by the government.

7. “The time has come for the voting public to insist on “CHANGE” now. Firstly, by vetting your member of parliament and then holding him or her to account on his/her next term for office. No second chance if he/she does not live up to expectation.” – paradox on Barbados Underground, April 5, 2009.

Sorry to say to you – paradox – but we thought you would have really stated something stronger than what we have quoted you as saying.

You see this is one of the many big problems that many of us in this country appear to have whereby we appear to have “all bark and no bite” at the end of the day.

The change that you so rightly talk about must come NOW!! NOW!! And when we say change we mean exactly that with regard to “throwing” both DLP and BLP out of the parliament of this country and replacing them with very people-centered nationalist developmentalist parties like the PDC, the PEP or some other party.

So, the change that we talk about does NOT mean exhanging one unworthy old and intellectually bankrupt party for the other unworthy old and intellectually bankrupt one – which was something that was done in the last election. WE MEAN REAL CHANGE FOR THE BETTER!!

For, the time has surely come for the people of Barbados to once and for all rid the parliament of these DLP and BLP disgraces. Both of them have disgracefully continued to fail the masses and middle classes of people of Barbados on so many many fronts. E.g., the same PSV/ZR problem of ill discipline on the roads has been raging for a very long time unresolved by both DLP and BLP Governments, even though it continues to adversely affect so many Barbadians in this country.

Yet, that you – paradox – would want to give this MP and that MP another chance for re-election at this stage is very mind-boggling, deplorable, and makes a mockery of the notions of democracy building and effective citizenship. Who knows you may be or was a supporter of one or both of these older traditional archaic parties.

Finally, we STRONGLY CATEGORICALLY reiterate that both DLP and BLP must NOT be given any more chances to run the affairs of this country at this juncture. Indeed, we in Barbados have enough people with great talents, skills and attitudes in Barbados to choose from – over 140 000 adults in this country – to properly dispense with both these nuisances, which only have a core support base of fewer than 8 000 people. So, down with the DLP and the BLP!!

8. Let me simplify – when there was a Transport Board strike in the 90’s, there were Z-vans operating initially from 8pm, corning a fare here and there, when Govt realised what was happening – a decree was issued that backfired; Z-vans cannot use Bust Stops as those were for Official vehicles only.

During the strike, the vans would practically carry you to ur door and all Bajans LOVED ’em then… Especially on previously “difficult” routes, as the vans grew in importance – everyone wanted to own one as a quick money-earner… This was when even some civil servants tried to cash in on the action.

Z-Vans became ZR-vans and the Silver Sands route was essentially lost from the T’port Bd, while a certain Minister before demitting Office allowed obscenely numerous ZR licenses to be issued in the hopes of a voting side-effect which never happened in their favour.

To increase profits, drivers and conductors were paid a basic wage, then told 2 meet a quota and any surplus is theirs to keep… In the end? It led to the chaos we now have on the roads!

9. In the first submission on this subject there is a reference is to the following”The folly of the incident was that the student’s mother admitted to knowing that her daughter travels frequently to school on the PSVS. This is a working class mother mind” !

I find this offensive. What does this mean? Doesn’t a poor working class mother have a right to choose what mode of transport to allow her daughter to take? Does the Constitution of Barbados allow its citiziens certain freedoms and is free choice one of these privileges?
    Could not the infortunate incident the child of the working class mother suffered not occur on Government owned Transport bus?

Is democracy being threatened? Please oh please think carefully before you speak and write because all classes of mothers have the same right. Simple mothers thank God have education ‘Poor working class mothers mind you ! ‘ can make their own determination .

10. There is only one issue here.

The dlp’s: Costly Free Bus Ride Programme is a failure and cannot be sustained.

The dlp wants to discontinue it and now has the excuse.

It will point to the fact that with the permission of their parents, children still catch ZRs. The simple point is – money does not solve social problems.

With the economy being dangerously mismanaged and things getting worst, the dlp has to cut social services.

It therefore has the excuse it needs: that children are still catching ZRs.

But, there is a reason why even after significantly lowering the bar, the police still cannot find good recruits.

The dlp purports to be sound on social policy, yet cannot figure out why a child would pay rather than catch a TPB bus, free.

Why would a family turn to the drug man than go to a government department for financial assistance.

This issue is evidence that the dlp lacks the capacity to bring about positive change.

The question is, where is the “change”?

11. @SIMPLE

Our reference to working class is in the context of why pay the PSVs when the government has made the same service available for FREE. Should we intellectualize this matter when commonsense may suffice?

12. Not seeking to do that ,but I am only saying that working plass people have equal rights and choices. I dont know who wrote or said . Thanks for the clarification in answering aloud what was being thought.

13. The DLP’s: Costly Free Bus Ride Programme is a failure and cannot be sustained.

————————————————-
    I was too young when it came in to being and benefited therefrom, but I guess in 1962 one could easily have said that “free education” could not be sustained. But 47 years after…………

Why would the DLP want to discontinue a program that it only just started?

It is true that money does not solve social problems, but are you saying that the BLP have a greater propensity to bring about moral change, headed by Mia, Liz and those who were recently ousted from office?

Re there is a reason why even after significantly lowering the bar, the police still cannot find good recruits………..

………….and this is the fault of the DLP exclusively?

———————————————–
    Why would a family turn to the drug man than go to a government department for financial assistance.

Because they are evil and crooked…..simple!

——————————————-
    The dlp purports to be sound on social policy, yet cannot figure out why a child would pay rather than catch a TPB bus, free.

Do you have the answer? Pray tell us, Senor!

14. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

It is de ppl that could least afford it that do those things. every day I see middle class ppl dropping their children at the bus stop and a working class mother would give her child bus fair to get a van . Steeeeeeeeeeeupse.

15. This is not the appropriate topic to highlight this issue but I have to let the BU family know that a new CSME Unit was set up recently.The name is CARICOM Development Fund and it is located on Lower Broad Street in the former Rate & Taxes building located near to Courts Barbados Limited.

That unit has 4 non-nationals workers 3 from Jamaica and I am not too sure where the next person comes from.Two Barbadian workers were sent there this morning to perform clerical officer duties.Those two Barbadians workers were treated with scant respect and literally told we do not want you here.One of the female workerr was given a task below her grade and the other lady was given a task above her grade.It was reported that the non-national workers there treated those two ladies with utter contempt.

It appears those workers will be paid from the central government of Barbados but are govern by the policies established by the unit.It seems the unit has the powers to create & amend its rules as it sees fit.That was told to those two Barbadian female workers today.Those two Barbadian workers are being harass out of their jobs by the non-nationals employed by that unit.

I wonder if this unit could be investigated.

Barbadians being harassout of jobs by non-nationals in Barbados

Well,well,well.

16. Dark night
    You are a real thorough-bred ‘yard fowl’.

17. Living in Barbados wrote “(4) disregard road signs and directions, eg. wrong way down one way streets,”

I’ve taken PSV’s 7 days a week for 10 years and I’ve NEVER seen a PSV go the wrong way down a one-way street. And yes I was driving when Roy Morris was in short pants (and long before David was born)

18. “…chosen to use punitive tax measures resulting in increased government revenue but equally or more importantly message the PSV sector to tow the line.”

I may be wrong but I believe that the correct phrase is toe the line, as in walk on ya tippy toe to keep in line; not tow the line, but hey I ain’t no editor (nor former editor)

I may also be wrong but I believe that the ONLY justification ANY government has for collecting taxes is so that said government can provide services for the overburdened, long-suffering tax payers. Collecting taxes should NEVER be about sending a message to anybody, or punishing anybody. And that is where our policy makers of both parties have got it seriously, seriously, wrong.

BOTH PARTIES when in office have been busy collecting taxes from the PSV owners, crew and passengers, but where the hell the money gone????????

The questions should be:

1. How much of that tax money is spent on training PSV operators?

2. How much of that tax money is spent on cleaning the bus-stands?

3. How much of that tax money is spent on providing covered garbage bins in the bus-stands?

4. How much of that tax money is spent on providing toilets for the operators and passengers?

5. How much of that tax money is spent on providing toilet paper and soap for passengers and crew? (Get it? When a BA or AA or Virgin pilot arrives in Barbados do we expect him to use a dirty toilet or to do his/her private business behind a bush?)

6. How much of that tax money is spent on providing staff, and training them to keep the toilets as spanking fresh as at the airport (wha’ happen you don’t think that we ZR users are decent people who like clean toilets too?)

7. How much of that tax money is spent on providing shelters for passengers in the bus-stands and at bus stops? Maybe one of the REASONS the guys stop all over the place is that they stop at places where passengers seek shelter from the rain and hot sun. How about some decent bus shelters man? Or try getting out of your air-conditioned chariots from time to time to see how the rest of us have to live.

8. How much of that tax money is spent on ridding the bus-stands of rats? The last time I passed through the airport (Friday 3, April 2009 at 5:00 p.m.) I didn’t see any big nasty rats running around the arrival hall. But big nasty rats are in the ZR stands ALL the time.

9. How much of that tax money is spent on providing decent signs and public address systems in the bus-stands?

9. Final question. When human beings are treated worse than hogs why do the authorities, Ronald Jones, Roy Morris, David et. al. expect us to behave like ladies and gentlemen? When people are treated like animals then you WILL GET BEASTLY BEHAVIOUR.

Don’t get me started now.

David today you can sign me ZR loving, Sh*t Disturber.

19. @J

Thanks we made the change to toe. Tow and toe are used it seems interchangeably but toe just makes more sense doesn’t it?
    🙂

20. Well put J. Agreed some PSV operators do foolishness however if you treat people like animals they will act as such. Successive governments think fee and tax them into submission will work but that will only make the situation worse

21. @J and M

This issue if it were only about the government being punitive would be straight forward. Remember the convoluted ownership and know corruption in this sector makes it a messy business.

22. Can we agree that if I pay my bus fare and my taxes I have a RIGHT to expect a clean well ordered bus stand from the same government which collects the taxes?

The government collects taxes. ONLY the government can collect taxes.

I believe that I have the RIGHT to expect well trained staff and clean well ordered bus stands and decent bus shelters in return for my tax money.

Is it too much to ask for value in return for my tax money?

I don’t give a sh*te about the convoluted ownership or even more convoluted politics.

I expect that any government which takes my money should serve me.

Don’t get my head hot now.

23. @J

Taxes represent government revenue but can you say that all the responsibilities of government are adequately funded? How could this be? Demand is greater than available resources perhaps?

24. Well David put the squeeze on another sector. Don’t ask me which. I aint’t no economist nor no politician. But we the people who take the PSV’s are sick and tired of getting the squeeze put on us.

And of having the rest of the populace think that we are ignorant slobs who don’t know better or deserve better.

We’s decent hard working, tax paying people too.

Put the squeeze on someone else.

25. @J – I’ve taken PSV’s 7 days a week for 10 years and I’ve NEVER seen a PSV go the wrong way down a one-way street.
    If you have never seen a PSV do that I can only shake my head in amazement.
    PSVs can and will do anything and everything to catch a fare.
    It is past time to deal with the problem and I do not think dealing with the drivers can solve it. I suggest hitting the owners. Take the vehicle off the road for a couple of weeks at least and you will hear them squealing so loud but they will quickly deal with their delinquent drivers. Fines are not the answer, there is evidently too much money floating through the system for that to hurt. But loss of revenue for a while will get the point across. If the law neeeds to be changed then get that done without delay.
    Mr Lee is a bare joker. He wants to say that the Police and Government should bring the system under control. That can’t happen as long as owners allow drivers to do as they like because they bring in big (largely tax free) bucks for them. The owners have to stand up and take the blame. Unfortunately many of them are among the hoi poloi of the island and they also have big money bags which support all kinds of “worthy” causes so they feel themselves beyond the reach of the law. They also have friends with influence who help them skate out of problems.
    Will this Government take the necessary action to bring the sector under control and provide proper service for the public? I hope so but I am concerned that they do not have the will or the determinatiuon to do so.

26. Bajanbat I have never seen a PSV going the wrong way down a one way street either!

27. Any discussion on PSVs at this time is nothing more than a distraction tactic.

Apart from high cost of living; increase taxes; bad governance and “fear” what are the major issues facing Barbados today. Certainly not PSVs which a large number of communities still have more confidence in than the present government.

Here are the major issues facing Barbados today:

1. The cost of living doubled in 2008 over 2007.

2.Unemployment increase by some 12 per cent moving to just about 8% in Barbados.

3. The Nation Debt increased by some $900 million in the last 14 months.

4. The External Current Account deficit down to the end of September worsened by $262 million.

5. There was a smaller Capital Account Surplus in 2008 than it was in 2007 by over $223 million.

6. Private Capital Inflows in this country reduced to $409 million from a high of $920 for the first nine months of 2008.”

7. Worst of all is that the International Reserves in Barbados declined under Thompson by over $700 milling in nine months.

Since 2008 the reserves increased in the first quarter of the year to $2.7 billion.

But then they fell in the last nine months of 2008 from $2.7 billion to $1,990 million or by over $700 million.

You see my point!!!

As Barbados prepares to go back to the IMF, OR:

Let us seriously discuss the issues which are impotant to Barbadians and not wait to be brainwashed when Thompson presents his budget!!!

28. I know that I am wasting my time, but I will try once again to inject some sanity into the closed mindedness surrounding this subject……in the forlorn hope that somebody, anybody, will see reason.

The Public Service Vehicle sector has for some time been the source of much concern to Government and the society in general. It has been accused with justification of uncivil, illegal and offensive behavior and the “minibus culture” has been deemed to have a corrupting and disruptive effect on the nation’s youth. Many have called on the operators to correct this behavior and all right thinking citizens agree that change in the sector is required. This article looks at the background to the issue and puts forward some of what I think, from many conversations with owners and operators of these vehicles, are the underlying reasons for the present situation and proposes some solutions.

Public transportation in Barbados is provided by the Government owned Barbados Transport Board and privately owned Public Service Vehicles (PSV’s). The Route Taxi (ZR) pays road taxes of $4,500 annually for vehicles licensed to carry 14 passengers. The Minibus (B) pays $7,200 annually for vehicles licensed to carry 34 passengers. The Transport Board bus (BM) pays $800 for vehicles licensed to carry 34 passengers and $2,500 for buses licensed to carry 65 passengers.

Hino Rainbow coaches operated by some private owners, have a seating capacity of 31 and standing capacity of about 20, for a total of 51. Under the existing permit structure, the number of passengers allowed on these vehicles is 34 and the Police routinely report the operators for “overloading” if more are on board and remove the excess. The Ministry of Transport has been requested to amend the permits of owners of these vehicles to recognize the larger capacity, but has not seen fit to do so, much to the frustration of these owners.

Transport Board buses carry more passengers than permitted on a daily basis and the Police routinely turn a blind eye, while persistently reporting PSV personnel and ordering as few as one (1) excess passenger off the vehicle. Drivers and conductors feel that they are being unfairly targeted, while Transport Board drivers are allowed to break the same law with impunity. There is no transport system in the world that can accommodate peak period demand without some crowding and PSV’s ought to be given the same leeway as that extended to the Transport Board, in the interest of efficiency in transporting the commuting public.

PSV’s are refused access to the facilities of the country’s three major bus terminals, Fairchild St, the Lower Green and Speightstown, much to the inconvenience of the operators and traveling public, who have no shelter from sun or rain at these locations. The conditions which PSV crews and commuters have to endure, particularly at the River stand, are deplorable and unacceptable in any society aspiring to developed status. The two areas formerly used by the PSV’s at Probyn St and Speightstown are now prohibited and PSV’s are forced to park along the road, an action which many operators feel was taken deliberately to discommode them. In addition, PSV crews and passengers at these locations have no toilet facilities, the lack of which promotes unsanitary conditions.

Bus fares have been fixed by Government at $1.50 since 1991. The cost of vehicles, replacement parts, servicing, mechanical repairs, bodywork, diesel fuel, oil and lubricants has increased out of all recognition in the seventeen intervening years, but Government has consistently refused consideration of a fare increase or a reduction of other imposts and as a result, the profitability of the sector has been steadily eroded over the years almost to the point of non-viability.

The Transport Board has operated at substantial losses over the past forty years and Government has continued to subsidize it at considerable cost to the tax payer rather than increase bus fares. The corollary to this is that Government is forcing private transport providers to operate their businesses at an income level which it knows to be below the economic cost of providing the service and making it extremely difficult for them to survive. The Public Service Vehicle operator is very likely the only entrepreneur in any free enterprise economic system who has had his income base legally restricted, while his operating expenses have been subject to everyday inflationary pressures over a seventeen year period, in addition to the imposition of punitive taxes by government.

For many years up until the beginning of the new school year in September last, Government mandated that students in uniform or students of other educational institutions with identification pay $1 on private or public transport. The Ministry of Education paid the Transport Board a subsidy of .50c for each student carried. The PSV operator could not legally refuse to carry students, but was denied any reimbursement from Government and was in effect being forced to subsidize student travel out of his own pocket.

It is accepted that maintaining low bus fares is a part of Government’s social policy as a way of easing the economic burden on that part of the population with the lowest income levels. While this policy is laudable, it does not take into consideration that private owners constitute a substantial part of the island’s public transportation infrastructure and that their operations are as a result negatively affected, in view of the fact that they receive no subsidy from government.

While The Transport Board imports its buses duty free and other operators in the transportation industry, tour coaches and taxis receive duty free concessions from Government, PSV’s are subject to normal import duties on vehicles and parts.

In circumstances where they can get no increase in income or relief from other taxes and duties and in the face of ever increasing operating costs, the only means of survival for the PSV operators is in maximizing the numbers of fares collected, hence the constant competition among themselves for passengers, resulting in complaints of overloading, the breaking of traffic laws and general lack of consideration for other road users.

The official setting of an artificially low bus fare has other unrecognized or unacknowledged negative implications. The first of these is that the earning capacity of workers in this sector has been similarly limited for the past seventeen years. Their wages have been limited by the fact that their employers’ income base has been set by Government mandate, whereas workers in the competing Transport Board have had increases in wages over the same period, increases which have been funded from the public purse and not solely from income generation.

A worker who has not had a wage increase in seventeen years and who has to work a fifteen hour day on average to maintain a basic level of income is a disgruntled worker.

This situation has led to an extremely high turnover rate in employees in the sector and indeed some of these employees make their way into the Barbados Transport Board, where they find better wages and relief from what they perceive to be unfair police treatment, but carrying with them some of their bad “PSV” habits.

The second implication of the seventeen year old $1.50 fare is that the low wages available in the PSV sector attract only a certain level of employee. The inability of owners to offer a decent wage affects their ability to attract a higher level worker and as a result, we are seeing the type of indiscipline and indeed hostility being exhibited.

None of the above is intended to defend or excuse loutish behavior or condone the breaking of traffic laws, but to offer an explanation of some of the reasons why they occur. It needs to be recognized that the PSV sector provides an indispensable service to local commuters and is a critical component of the productive sectors of the economy of Barbados, transporting, as the records will show, a larger section of the work force daily than the Transport Board. They, however, perceive that they are being discriminated against, subjected to unfair competition and marginalized by the Government.

The playing field needs to be leveled and a more realistic approach to the pricing of transportation needs to be taken or conversely, the private owner should be subsidized at some level from the Government purse, if low cost public transportation is deemed to be an essential component of its social policy.

When the PSV operator does not have to fight tooth and nail and compete under adverse conditions for each passenger just to survive, is not subjected to blatant official discrimination and can earn a decent wage while working reasonable hours, then we can expect him to feel more a part of society and conform to its rules, rather than a pariah and behave as such.

The onus has been placed on the sector to be self regulating. This is extremely difficult, if not impossible, given current circumstances. The Association of Public Transport Operators, (APTO), the “regulating” body, is technically non functional and will continue to be non functional as long as it has no authority over those it is supposed to regulate. The Association at present has no capability to organize, regulate or discipline PSV owners or operators. It has no authority and no teeth. There are over four hundred PSV owners on record, but fewer than one hundred are members of APTO. If the goal of regulation of PSV’s is to be achieved, Government must give the Association the tools it needs to do the job. I suggest that this be accomplished by the following:

1) All owners, drivers and conductors must become members of the Association and carry valid accreditation.
    2) The annual renewal of permits of owners should be made conditional on paid up membership of APTO.
    3) Only members of the Association should qualify for the reduced diesel price being offered by Government at Transport Board depots.
    4) Only members of the Association should qualify for any other concessions granted by Government.

In this way the Association will have the means whereby it could exert control over the sector and

1) Set and enforce a dress code for operators,
    2) Establish standards of behavior,
    3) Establish a disciplinary committee to handle complaints,
    4) Institute a program of training for operators and
    5) Eliminate the loud playing of music.

The Association of Public Transport Operators can and should become a body working in co-operation with the new Transport Authority to regulate the operation of PSV’s. The Association needs to be in a financial position to establish a permanent office to enable it to carry out its administrative function in an organized manner and in particular to respond to concerns or complaints from the public. A subvention from Government for this purpose might be considered appropriate to supplement proposed membership fees.

Another circumstance which severely compromises the ability of the sector to control its employees is as follows. Insurance companies in Barbados insist that drivers of vehicles covered by their policies be interviewed and approved by them. They insist however, that to qualify, the applicant must have been the holder of a driver’s license for a minimum of five years and the holder of a hackney license for a minimum of three years. The effect of this stipulation is that no new drivers can enter the system. Owners therefore have no choice but to recycle drivers who have bad records or suspend the operation of their business if they can find no approved driver, an extremely unattractive option. The issuance of a hackney license to a driver by the Ministry of Transport and Works is meaningless if the insurance companies refuse to accept it and some accommodation needs to be arrived at with the insurance providers to change this no-win situation. I suggest that MTW conduct a meaningful course in the driving of PSV’s prior to issuing the license, thus assuring the insurance companies that the driver is qualified to drive a PSV.

There are some bad apples among the drivers and conductors and there are some owners who tolerate their irresponsible behavior, mainly because they have little choice. The industry must be able to rely on the Police and the judicial system to control or remove these individuals. Owners cannot reasonably be blamed if the system allows drivers with large numbers of convictions for traffic offenses to continue to hold hackney licenses and operate PSV’s, and they need to be assured that the Court system will do its part in cleaning up this aspect of the industry. In the great majority of cases, fines imposed on offending operators by the Courts come indirectly out of the pockets of the owners, exacerbating their financial position.

The months since April this year have been particularly distressing for PSV owners. Before the removal of the Government subsidy, diesel cost $1.46 per liter, having arrived at this level by a series of increments over the years. Owners at that point had been unsuccessfully lobbying Government for an increase in fares or a reduction in other costs for several years. Then came the increase in the cost of diesel by 77% to $2.57, impacting even more disastrously on the bottom line of the sector. The recent reductions, while welcome, have gone little towards improving the finances of the sector. Since April several owners have been forced out of business because of an unsustainable level of losses.

The provision of free travel for school children in uniform by the Transport Board
    from September this year is accepted as a positive development for which the
    Government should be lauded. However, even at the fare of $1.00, revenue
    formerly generated by the PSV sector from this source was important and its loss
    has had an additional negative impact on profitability.

It is unreasonable to expect the privately owned PSV sector to absorb seventeen years of increases in operational costs without an increase in revenue. It is unfair not only to the owners, who for the most part are locked into the industry financially, but also to the workers, of which there are approximately one thousand, who have been unable over the years to earn an income with any reasonable relationship to the increasing cost of living. In my view, these circumstances are in large part responsible for the illegal and anti social behavior that is the cause of current complaint against PSV operators.

It is also impractical to expect self regulation among such a disparate group of individuals who comprise the owners in the sector (over four hundred), in the absence of some formal organization with the power to regulate.

The sector, in view of all the circumstances outlined above, is appealing for a change in Government’s approach to its problems, relief from state imposed financial hardship and for empowerment with the tools to self regulate.

29. […] April 8, 2009 · No Comments Submitted as a comment by BU family member Inkwell in response to BU Blog It Is Business As Usual In The PSV Sector Prime Minister […]

30. Well put Inkwell. Maybe someone in the government will see your in depth analysis and try to improve the sector

31. busdriver/owner Avatar
    busdriver/owner

this message is specifically for bajanbat. psvs dont make no big bucks operators who boast of making big bucks steal from the owner pay in less than adequate money and eventually if the owner ain’t got money they go bankrupt bus gets sold and the trend goes on owners continually put themselves into debt to stay above the water. lets do some maths 400 passengers = $600 diesel $130. average( some routes use up to $200. ) 600-130 =470 470-141 (salaries)=329.then subtract nis contributions $22. leaving u with 307. providing they are not stealing. lets say an operator has to also repay a loan his daily take has to be over $200. so then he could possibly make 100 a day profit. that is if he dosent do any weekly maintenance, repair seats (which passengers for some reason deliberately damage), have to buy any parts, change any tires, paint and clean up the vehicle, clean it daily or pay any income taxes.but i guess you would be lining tax free but that would happen if you AINT MAKING ANY SUBSTANTIAL PROFITS.

32. dis government sucks.dem giv de school children free bus rides but d school children too like d bus culture,dem a pay for entertainment.while d transport board operating at greater losses dat d dlp cant tell we wat losses dey mekkin on d buses.