Submitted by Just Observing

26 years ago there was a hue and cry when a then young Minister of Education who managed a group of artists brought school aged students to the Wildey Gymnasium to be “feted” by none other than Mr. Edwin Yearwood, Pic of De Crop winner.

At the time this mass “party” was unheard of but clearly went on to become a staple of B/DLP politics, campaigning and our cultural and sub cultural landscape.

Fast forward 27 years to the present and we have a young Minister of Education who manages a group of artists and uses them for promotional and motivational student videos (covid, back to school, stop the bullying etc.) including the popular Mole, Peter Ram and others.

BUT, here is the rub. The attached video shows the duality of entertainment and the flip side of performance roles.

TROJAN RIDDIM MIX VIDEO

So, one day it’s go to school, learn well, sanitise and don’t trouble nobody. The next day it’s gunshots showering like storm, high grade, kush, 357’s, AR’s and coffins for informers who get shot.

All coming from the same mouths, with the same faces, in the same spaces.

All managed and seemingly endorsed by a young Minister of Education whose business interests apparently diverge from the broader national, social and values based interests when convenient.

Imagine this at a time when violence, guns, shooting and fear of serious crime continue to climb. This is what far too many of our young people glorify, rejoice in and give praise to.

As one of the same said artists said over 30 years ago…..

“Well boh, I find out doh, uh NOW realise how de yutes get so”

506 responses to “How De Yutes Get So?”

1. I have always wondered if these guys are promoting and glorifying the gang culture or if they are simply telling the story of the gang culture.

A murder mystery writer is not seen as promoting or glorifying murder.

Problem is though, that even if they are merely telling the stories from the point of view of the participants or in essence, performing the songs in character the line can be easily blurred when seen through the eyes of an impressionable youth who has no-one to guide them.

As a performing storyteller myself, I have presented such characters but it was always clear what I thought of them.

Unless I am missing something, which is entirely possible, these songs do not.

2. This is an example that tells the story without promoting the lifestyle. In fact, it does quite the contrary.

https://youtu.be/9wncO5AYgw8

3. Choices
    Yup

Ever told on a nigga? (nope)
    Ever squeezed a trigger? (yup)
    Ever set a nigga up? (nope)
    Ever helped a brother out when he was down on his luck? (yup)
    You a sap? (nope)
    You a boss player, you a mack? (yup)
    Let me hold a couple dollars (nope)
    Y’all still be poppin’ y’all collars? (yup)
    Stock rims on a scraper (nope)
    Paint wetter than a lake (yup)
    Poodle in my blood (nope)
    Bitch, I’m a thug (yup)
    You a loser? (nope), Winner? (yup)
    Starving? (nope), Dinner? (yup)
    You still sell dope? (nope)
    Now you cleaner than a bar of Dove soap? (yup)
    Got a little gouda (nope)?
    Got a thumper, got a Ruger? (yup)
    You in love wit’ the ho? (nope)
    She bringin’ you the dough? (yup)
    You gon’ cry if she leave? (nope)
    You gon’ fly overseas? (yup)
    Everybody get choices
    I choose to get money…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JFan4fQXRFU&list=PL3o6jPMu2TZL57h6ClmMK8Vi-pkY-81s2

4. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

DBLP ministers have ALWAYS BEEN LOST, they have NO IDENTITIES, no CULTURE, no real EDUCATION ABOUT THEIR ANCESTORS AND THEMSELVES……it’s been that way since post emancipation….we can’t say it ended in the late 1830s because slave masters remained scummy for another 100 years, so from 1937 when very little changed and later on you have people crawling into the parliament with the above deficiencies and mental disabilities….those call themselves the leaders, so what is going to happen….for the 54 years they have PASSED DOWN all those social handicaps to those with the weakest minds whom they MISLEAD.

leaders with no consciousness of self except for what the colonial system gave them = 2-3 generations of youth with the same social deficiencies and MENTAL HANDICAPS.

they don’t know who they are, THEY ARE LOST socially, culturally and SPIRITUALLY, just like the go nowhere lost ministers whom their parents mimic, not enough info on ancestry, not enough education about their rich and UNBEATABLE African culture and we can go on all day about what they are ALL LACKING…and until the youth find out WHO THEY REALLY ARE and RECLAIM stolen identities, the above is what ya will always get..

5. Politicians are the leaders who receive the highest visibility in society. What about the other leaders in our communities? The teachers, social workers, policemen, NGOs et al?

6. Trouble in Paradise
    What uh story
    What uh life style
    There is gun shot trouble in Paradise

7. We are too reactive, Now we have to listen to the politicians and former station manager Ellis bleating about this atrocious compilation, it is not new. Has the government been funding and promoting some of these artistes with tax dollars? Do the radio stations employ some of these artists as DJs? What are the PTAs saying? What are the owners of PSVs doing? It is a problem like crime where leadership must come from ALL areas. Many of the artistes featured peddle this filth in the underground market. We say turn a blind eye. How easy it is to go with the flow.

Cut it out!
    Govt slams ‘gun violence’ release by artistes
    by TRE GREAVES
    tregreaves@nationnews.com
    GOVERNMENT last night slammed a number of Barbadian artistes who have released a music video said to be promoting gun violence.
    Minister of Home Affairs, Information and Public Affairs Wilfred Abrahams joined an earlier condemnation by veteran radio broadcaster David Ellis of the Trojan Riddim Mix, which features Lil Rick, Peter Ram, Mole, Screwface, Mallis, Lead Pipe, Brutal Crankstar, Chiief Diin and Quan De Artist.
    Songs on the project are Chiief Diin’s Smith & Wesson, Chief Diin x Quan The Artist’s
    Start War, Peter Ram’s Roll Out, Screwface with Badman, Lead Pipe’s Thugs Out, Brutal Crankstar’s Informer, Mole De Chief’s Coffin and Lil Rick’s Aliens (Pull Up).
    The video was uploaded on April 6 on Lil Rick’s YouTube page and up to last night had received about 44 448 views.
    During Aliens (Pull Up), Lil Rick sings: “So when them violate just know what we pulling up wid. The 357 with de firm rubber grip, the big XLR with de red light pon it, the old rusty rifle with knife pon the tip and fifth-generation Glock pon me hip and pull up.”
    In Smith & Wesson Chiief Diin chants: “When you ready you could start war. Heavy relief feel dat my heart small, 3.57 compact, AR and pon the off is an unmarked car.” Similar lyrics could be heard throughout the entire project.
    As Barbados experiences a surge in gun-related and other crimes, Abrahams, in a statement, condemned the message being sent by the artistes.
    “This Government does not promote or support gun violence or retribution killings against anybody. The position of this Government cannot and will not be to support any artiste who is involved in promoting gun violence. There is a place for artistic expression but then there is a time that that crosses over into irresponsibility, especially when you are considering what Barbados is going through at this particular point in time.
    “As the Minister of Home Affairs, the parliamentary representative for Christ Church East, I would be recommending the Government sends the strongest possible signal to the artistes and the population of Barbados so that people understand this is not okay. This is irresponsibility at its highest level and it must stop,” Abrahams said.
    Earlier, during Starcom Network’s Down To Brass Tacks radio call-in programme, moderator Ellis stressed that Government should not be funding artistes who used their talents to promote gun violence.
    “This video is clearly promoting gun violence in Barbados and I would like to know if any of the artistes getting money ultimately through the taxpayers are featured in this
    Trojan Riddim Mix. I want you to tell me whether you think any of them should be getting money in that way if they are out there in the community promoting that kind of behaviour,” he declared.
    “When everyone else is trying to reduce the incidents of crime and violence in Barbados, they are promoting something that could take the life of anybody, not just a policeman,” he added.
    Ellis also said the double standards adopted by politicians who voiced their concerns about certain issues but remained silent about others just to retain votes had to be addressed.
    “The nexus between the politicians and the entertainers is part of the big problem we have in this country and why things can’t be solved. So I think authorities need to take a serious look at not only this particular matter, but we need to send a strong message to these entertainers.”
    While some Barbadians praised the artistes for their lyrics in comments under the video, others asked how one artiste was allowed to produce school jingles but also promote such a message.
    Both Mole and Peter Ram were a part of the Ministry of Education’s 2020 campaign We’re Stronger Together to encourage students to wear their masks properly and follow COVID-19 guidelines.
    Calls to Lil Rick went unanswered.
    Barbados Association of Calypsonians and Artistes president Sean Apache Carter described the project as irresponsible.
    “I think it is most unfortunate and irresponsible of any artiste to be promoting gun violence – and for what? More likes? More views? Popularity? Really? In these times? These artists definitely need to be more responsible. Then you have antibullying ads and back to school jingles with some of these same artistes. That’s hypocrisy and double standards, to say the least,” he told the DAILY NATION.
    One of the well-known artistes who was a part of the project, who asked not to be identified, said they were not the first artistes to sing “gun songs”.
    “I ain’t saying people got a right to sing gun tunes but gun tunes ain’t new. If we delete the Trojan Riddim there still got a million more, so don’t point and look for somebody to blame on. But they have to blame the people who bring in the guns – that is who is to blame.
    “And if a man could sit down and listen to a song and then go and react, he got to be stupid. I don’t think that listening to songs could make you do things,” the dancehall and soca artiste said.

8. Answer this question

Who was/is the most influential person in Barbados that invited person of know illegal activity to the Barbados Parliament
    Xxxxxxx
    Peeps if the head is sick the whole body is sick
    We allow this kind of behaviour from the top then we look to the bottom for answers
    Get real the bottom takes messages and clues from the top
    Example friends example

9. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Angela …….are you talking about the above Trojan Riddim Mix with local artistes posing with guns, am listening to a voice clip now where people are wondering if government took up taxpayers money to promote those entertainers who are promoting gun violence…the clip is being shared everywhere.

wuh they elevate and promote those ,minorities who bring in the guns by the boat loads and container loads, they even take up taxpayers money by the BILLIONS and hand to them and leave the youths SUFFERING for opportunities, a daily bread, basic necessities etc…..it can only go downhill from there.

10. No difference to when Michale Lashley hired Bounty Killa at the NHC. You political hacks are sickening.

11. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    Now the crocodile tears. It’s garbage in garbage out. Like you often say: “ They were warned”. This decline goes directly back to bashing teachers and police in the mid-seventies. The collective Bajan mantra: Dah can’ happen hey. Now modified to : Not ‘bout hey.
    There is a very thin line between censure and artistic license. Even here on BU, people successfully get others censored.And they delight in it too.
    The response will soon come:” It ain’t as bad as Jamaica or it is dat dance hall music we copying from Jamaica.”
    Oh well leaders on speed dial……….
    The question remains : Does the video represent a true picture of what’s happening in the society ?
    I already know the answer : “A man just killed eight people in your “ neck of the woods, so shut to hell up.” America got gun problems too a lot worse den ‘ bout hey.
    Thanks.

12. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

That is DBLPs legacy for the Black population on the island…

they won’t fix the education system
    they SUPPRESS creatives
    they REFUSE TO EMPOWER the Black population FINANCIALLY…with their OWN MONEY
    they REFUSE to take care of those who elected them for the last 54 years….

this is the end result, the MANIFESTATION after decades of RUBBERSTAMPING the importation and trafficking of guns and drugs into depressed areas nonstop
    this is what they and the minorities created for Black people’s children

they were WARNED for years…now it has manifested as it was bound to.

13. @William

The crime trending has been leaping up right across the Caribbean. Many of us have been preaching about it for years whether the deportees by the big countries, the cultural penetration, degradation in morals/values, change in community structures, lack of opportunities via emigration. This is an issue for many countries/societies in the region. Like the so-called virus jumping from bats to humans so too the line has become blurred between criminal and non criminal elements.

14. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

William,,,they can cry rivers, it’s too late for all of that, it’s their handiwork, now they have to own it, it’s theirs…..people are rightfully appalled, but that’s the only way the world will know the shit for leadership that the population has had to contend with for 54 years..

they brought the Public Order Act in the 70s to suppress Black consciousness, Africanness, Spirituality and allowed/forced the destruction of the social fabric in its place to enrich minorities and themselves…they all have a hand in it…and of course the artistes unwittingly EXPOSED IT…

hope they are proud of themselves…

15. NINJA MI NINJA
    [Intro]
    Now hear this!
    Phenomenon one…

[Bridge]
    True dem say, me easy, mi bubble dem fi burst
    Tell dem say mi birthday anuh April 1st
    Ninja Man a ninja, me no Honda, me no Yamaha
    Ninja man a ninja, no Suzuki, no Katana
    Ninja man a ninja, me anuh police, me anuh soldier
    Me a the general, me anuh no push over

[Verse 1]
    Well, man a sprinter stayer like the runner dem a Kenya
    Dehyah from the start, to the biz me a the mayor
    Man anuh Zoro, nor Buffy the Vampire Slayer
    Take the experience weh me got under mi banner
    Nuff of dem a chat, and man a bend dem like a collar
    Nuff of dem a flip up like a acrobat or burger
    Me true to the game, man no new to the game
    Some bwoy a run dung irie and dem cyaan get no fame

[Chorus]
    A ninja mi ninja
    Nah drop out like no punk caw me skill like a Shaolin monk
    Ninja mi ninja
    Longtime me buss, but man anuh bump
    Me rooted like a tree stump
    A ninja mi ninja
    Nah drop out like no punk caw me skill like a Shaolin monk
    Ninja mi ninja
    Baddest DJ ever
    The Gorgon dem cyaan confront

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qju9-9F0is0

16. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Wasn’t the Attorney General not seen modeling a Brandy & Punnany shirt and smiling like a certified idiot, well i understand those bus crawls are no different to what the video is projecting and those crawls are said to be FUNDED by the same hypocrites now RUNNING FOR COVER..

so they only now saw or knew about the video although it’s been on Youtube since April 6….they are monitoring people for the malicious factor but don’t know that video was out when am sure THEY ALL HAVE PERSONAL COPIES, so now there is the PRETEND OUTRAGE since it now reflects ON THEM worldwide…

all i can tell them is SAVE IT…everyone already knows how scummy they all are…stop pretending, it don’t suit ya….all of them have a hand in it.

17. Gunman lyrics are for a Sound System Clash

18. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“This Government does not promote or support gun violence or retribution killings against anybody.”

but they supported the TORTURING OF BLACK CHILDREN using 1800s slave laws for DECADES…until recently CAUGHT….HYPOCRITES and LIARS….they still SUPPORT violating Black human rights AND STEALING from the population every opportunity they get..

so meet KARMA and RETRIBUTION.

19. @Just Observing

Getting back to your central point, the MOE must be a lead in the fight. Going back to that decision when Mottley brought in Edwin and troop to message school children it was controversial for some. The question for you, was the message and image of entertainers then what it is now?

20. A well executed well presented video worthy of an Academy award
    Chock full of clues and info and messages for govt to access and worked with
    Those who have ears and eyes to see will see and hear

21. This old BU blog from 2014 is starting to bounce around social media. Fuel Ward is in leadership role at Pyramid Entertainment.

http://barbadosunderground.net/2014/10/11/the-sagicor-thieves-and-the-bca-fraudster-ruel-ward-and-jefferson-miller-create-a-wtf-moment/

22. Afrobeat Choreography Dance Class
    I see House Negroes everywhere on BU who don’t understand African (aka Black) (aka Dance) Music
    David V34.1 is a Hal
    Angela Cox/AC/Mariposa is a Hal
    Dompey is a Hal

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DvzDRyIYyvI

23. William Skinner Avatar

If you see your Neighbour’s house burning would you go for your hose or frigging gasoline. Come off the crap please. We are hear talking about how to solve dangerous trends in OUR country.
    We saw these damn signs going back to the days when the then AG Maurice King ( DLP) said there were no gangs in Barbados only “ wayward youth”. While he was spouting such nonsense , everybody on the “ ground knew there were gangs springing up all over the damn place.

2 When David Thompson run a campaign on Crime and violence the BLP tore into his backside declaring that was no issue in Barbados, in the meantime everybody on the “ ground” knew that the drug pushing was escalating.

But this response from you is exactly what I predicted earlier this morning.
    Are you aware that the police force is understaffed ? Are you aware why ? Well let let me tell you: Dozens who apply just can’t make the grade because research shows traces of connection with unsavory elements.
    BTW please don’t tell me that I live in a place where I can buy a gun at a supermarket. I know that. And I also know that in the USA there is some kind of crime every six seconds. Thanks.
    I also visit Jamaica and Trinidad at least six times every year.
    So I know they got real bad crime there too. Spear me the details. Let’s talk about solving and understanding crime in Bim.

24. @ David

Yuh know I’m a bit slow. What is the real message in this article?

25. @David
    Simple answer is no. And even so, if our leaders push or use people to push “values” publicly then they should make sure that their other public appearances and utterances do not directly contradict same said “values”

@Artax
    “What is the real message in this article?”

Read my above sentence, add it to an impressionable independent and potentially wayward young minds, multiply it by the amount of guns, drugs, blocks, trap houses and stashes in Barbados and it may make sense to you.

Just observing

26. Secret Formula is = Listen to the Songs + Learn the Dance Moves

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wZZVk_oHUho

27. @William

Step off the soap box if you can. The challenges Barbados is struggling with are affecting the region. This is the point. A hit man can get on a plane from Jamaica or Trinidad and commit a crime in Barbados in a very seamless way. This analogy can extend to other areas. Not sure if you appreciate point being made here.

28. What’s coming over to me from the discourse is that whether intentionally or not ‘the tone on top’ is sending the wrong message. That societal issues result from the vacuum left by slavery and not filled by a credible and vibrant culture. That successive political parties have fraternized with undesirables and that their actions do not justify so doing. That explaining away crime by comparing it to US mass shootings is nonsense and irresponsible because we are dealing with human loss plus 9 mass deaths in a 330 million population cannot be compared to 1 in a 300000 population. That to often we replay the same record ‘the blame game’ & rarely identify an approach leading to positive change

29. @Groslyn

A dispassionate summary of the issue at hand.

30. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Standard Operating Procedure.

how will they prosecute any criminal minority who traffic guns and drugs into the island and distribute them in all the oppressed and depressed areas.

“PachamamaOctober 12, 2014 10:51 AM

@ Caswell
    The DPP what! Is this the same DPP who walked into a court room and brought the prosecution of a big drug dealer to an end by telling the court that his department had no interest in the prosecution so that a man caught with a tonne of drugs could just walked out free? Embarrassing the prosecution Sargent and so on. We don’t know if the accuse was a DEA agent or wha but we never see such before or after. Get real bro!”

31. “How quickly we have forgotten”

Now it is no doubt that the gun violence and drug culture of Jamaica, has inundated practically all of the islands of the Caribbean, and it is transmitted through the Jamaican dancehall lyrics, but in the early 1980s, Barbadians politicians had enough foresight to understand this emerging trend, and they went as far as to attempted to criminalized anyone who were caught playing Jamaican Dance Hall Music, which promoted violence, and glorified killing, but unfortunately, this hopeful endeavour never came to fruition.

32. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

William…we can now stop wasting our energy, they are on a FAST TRACK TO THE BOTTOM….can’t carry me or mine with them though..,,they are on their own..

all i can say is happy landing and try not to implode on impact.

33. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

I want to see them blame everyone else for how DISRESPECTFUL those artistes are to SENIOR CITIZENS….grandmothers, in describing their private parts….let’s see their excuse for the further DISRESPECT shown to women and girls by lil rick.

but it’s a manifestation of daily life for those on the island considered “nobody” sequestered in suppressed area with no future or opportunities and created by 2 despicable nobody governments, that’s the extent of their creativity….

.so the artistes are INDIRECTLY exposing REALITIES…,,and both administrations for what they have supported and enabled for decades…

blame US and everyone else, blame Jamaica and everyone else, let’s see how far that gets them…

34. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

Caption should be : “How the society got so ? ” It would be all embracing. It would include the Bystanders and the Noise Makers who would have nothing to rant about.Everybody distancing himself as if that is a Nobel Prize.

35. Vincent Codrington Avatar

We should ask : “What can I do to arrest this deterioration in my concept of “Who we are”.

36. Crime is Crime
    and
    Music is Music

Youths love to carry News
    Oldies love to spin and twist News for their MO political agendas

Crime is part of life all over everywhere and is here to stay

Oldies live in fear and want to push back against changes
    but
    Youths are the future and the real teachers

See Mary See Jesus

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ct6LYEaj-_s

37. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

William…check out the Auditor General’s assessment on the Honeymoon Money is REALLY OVER….thread….

38. @Vincent

It is implied.

39. 555dubstreet

Oldies, like to push back against what kind of change though Dred?
    If you characterized living in violence, fear and intimidation, changed then my friend, you are obviously lost in the backwash of disillusionment.

40. 555dubstreet

the Oldies, remember the time when they lived in peace, harmony and a common love and respect for one another, but this has been replaced by violence,crime, fear and intimidation.

41. @Dompey

You have made the point, no need to bore the blog.

42. “If you characterized living in violence, fear and intimidation, changed then my friend, you are obviously lost in the backwash of disillusionment.”

You must be the dumbest negro in the class Hal Dompey
    Fuckwits cannot be philosophers in life

43. Further comments of this type will be deleted:

44. @ Observing

I read and agreed wholeheartedly with your comments. But, aren’t they equally applicable to ALL leaders in society such as police officers, members of the clergy, teachers, heads of special interest groups, etc who engage in a similar practice?

If so, then, why give two examples of two education ministers from a specific political party and apparently implying they are somehow responsible for ‘how the yutes get so?’
    You’ve ignored the fact there are several other people among the so called ‘leaders’ in the society that ‘do not practice what they preach.’ And, by doing so, you’ve essentially politicised the issue by narrowing it down into focusing primarily on politicians.

‘Just the other day,’ for example, many of us expressed our disgust at Dompey’s stories of policemen having sex with school girls after school sports. The same police officers who are charge with ‘protecting and serving’ the public…… the same officers who would arrest and charge someone for doing similar.

When the entertainers you mentioned in your article hold fetes, shows and boat cruises singing the same songs in the ‘Trojan Riddim Mix’ video that “many of our young people glorify, rejoice in and give praise to,”…………. security is often provided by OFF DUTY POLICE and PRISON OFFICERS who ‘moon light’ as security guards at these events.

What about the fact some law enforcement officers are involved in the ‘underground economy?’ “Add (this) to impressionable independent and potentially wayward young minds, multiply it by the amount of guns, drugs, blocks, trap houses and stashes in Barbados and it may (also) make sense to you.”

Surely these people’s “business interests apparently diverge from the broader national, social and values based interests when convenient” as well.

45. Pro-gangster track features Lil Rick, Peter Ram in praise of gunplay
    Sandy Deane

Article by Sandy Deane

Published on
    June 1, 2021

A viral music video featuring prominent entertainers Lil Rick and Peter Ram whose pro-gangster explicit lyrics deliver death threats to gangland informants on Monday night drew public outrage and condemnation by Home Affairs Minister Wilfred Abrahams.

“Irresponsible to the highest order,” Abrahams told Barbados TODAY as shocked viewers took to social media to blast the video, an apparent local copycat of

gangster rap styles in Jamaican dancehall and American hip-hop that was released a month ago. The song is produced by Dwain “Dwaingerous” Antrobus.

The leading artistes featured in the 16-minute video called the Trojan Riddim Barbados Dancehall Mix also includes Mole, Reigning Bashment Soca King SK, Brutal Cranstar, Leadpipe of Sometimes fame, Chef Din, among others.

While the video contains violent and obscene language, images of guns, hearses and the word murder, it is the unmistakable declaration of death on informants and the glorification of guns and gun violence in a supposed war that has gripped the attention of viewers.

In the opening, Lil Rick sings: “Shoot straight like Messi from Argentina, with a big f**** gun singing sweet like Selena. Gunshot clap out and skin you out like Sabrina ‘cause you like to inform and run chat pon social media. Ya idiot, nobody ain’t ‘fraid for you, me neither. We shot you up to pieces, lef’ your body ‘pon de freezer like meat so when them violate, just know wha’ we pulling up with…”

The chorus goes on to list popular gangland weapons, even “the old rusty rife with the knife ‘pon the tip”, as he promises “gunshot like a storm” in tit-for-tat retribution for past slayings.

Among outraged viewers was the Minister of Home Affairs who declared Monday night: “I accept there is artistic expression but it must not be irresponsible, it is irresponsible to the highest order.

Abrahams said he was prepared to recommend to ministers that Government send the strongest possible message to artistes and the people of Barbados that this is not okay.

He was adamant that Government’s priority is to stamp out gun violence and made clear that “Government does not condone the use of illegal firearms in any form or fashion”.

Voice of Barbados talkshow host David Ellis drew attention to the video on Monday’s edition of Down to Brasstacks, insisting it was unacceptable.

“When you look at the video they have the guns showing off,” the retired journalist said. “While other people ‘bout here fighting hard to reduce the incidence of violence in Barbados, they are promoting violence that can take the life of anybody, not just a policeman.

“If we are not careful somebody at a much higher level will get taken out, because of what is going on around here, but it is a double standard.”

Ellis further questioned whether any Barbadian artistes who have been getting financial support from Government to cope with COVID-19 challenges performed in the viral video. If this was the case, he said public funding should be immediately cut.

“The Government of Barbados should not be putting any money behind any artistes in Barbados in this country who is encouraging gun violence in Barbados. It is unacceptable,” he declared.

Another major bone of contention for many is the fact that both Peter Ram and Mole are part of the Ministry of Education’s Anti-Violence and Peace campaign which was launched in public schools back in 2018 following an incident at Princess Margaret School.

The video has also provoked a firestorm on social media with many commenters contending it was out of line.

“So what do we do as a nation when our artists are promoting gun violence especially in this climate of escalating crime? I will ask the question since some people are afraid to,” said one commenter.

“To all DJs, artistes and producers who promote violence of any kind, you should be ashamed.”

“Children need proper role models! Stop the gun violence,” said another.

The mounting homicide death toll of the last three years has featured gang warfare over turf or control of the illegal drug and weapons trade and predatory attacks by armed individuals and groups followed by reprisals. Eight people were slain for the first five months of the year, among them Police Sargeant Newton Lewis who was gunned down as he was responding to an armed robbery in his Rose Hill, St Peter neighbourhood.

So far, none of the alleged three gunmen has been apprehended.
    (sandydeane@barbadostoday.bb)

46. Again I ask, are these guys promoting the lifestyle or merely telling the tale of the gansta mentality and life, as most creative artists do.

I would tend to look at their own lifestyles for the answer.

The only children who would be influenced into gansta life by such music are those lacking the appropriate guidance and opportunity.

P.S. Good luck to David in getting William Skinner off his soap box. Sadly, he will continue to misrepresent our position.

For those who WISH to understand – the reason some of us respond with stories of American, Canadian and English woes is because some of our overseas contingent speak as though they are fortunate to have escaped to heaven while we, the unfortunates, live in hell. Some of them cannot address Barbados’ problems without comparing us to and singing the praises of America, Canada, England or anywhere that is not Barbados. And the praises sometimes include Jamaica even though the criminal element is more vicious than it is here. They cannot find one good thing to say about Barbadian life but some of them can find much to praise about many other Caribbean islands.

Strangely, William Skinner is not among the culprits yet he brings it up almost every post. What makes it ridiculous is that he has taken to responding to something NOBODY HAS SAID.

Why he continues to ignore the context of our response when we do respond is beyond me.

It is disingenuous and misleading and serves no good purpose.

And yet, he persists!

47. 555,

Perhaps you could enlighten us wrt the music since we do not understand it.

I ask because I am interested.

48. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

A public service, this from my Jamaican son in law. Keep blaming Jamaica for your own copycat stupidity and lack of real leaders.

“If only they Knew what they were doing.
    When Jamaica trying to make the turn away from gangster music others picking it up.”