The Barbados government recently launched the Little Island Big Barbados campaign and immediately those responsible are having to defend against a torrent of criticism from the public. The thrust of the concern: the campaign is a tired concept several islands have used to promote tourism for which Barbados is whispered to have forked out $700,000.00.

In the blog BLP and DLP Cancer of Adversarial Politics the blogmaster raised concerns that are applicable in this case. 

Yesterday the Reverend Guy Hewitt (also see: Is Guy Hewitt the Way, Truth and Light for the DLP?) was featured in the news in clarion voice calling for the resignation of Minister of Tourism Lisa Cummins. The good Reverend as spokesman for the DLP- our government in waiting- has the right to call for the resignation of Cummins. If we want to promote a culture of high performance built on meritocracy, when mistakes are made or persons perform poorly, there should be consequences. Although the facts of the matter have not been disclosed to the public – pending an internal investigation by Chairman of the BTMI Roseanne Myers – there is enough smoke to the story to suggest public concerns are valid given the large sum allegedly disbursed for the campaign.

Source: DLP St. Andrew Facebook Page

A takeaway from the imbroglio for the blogmaster is the use of the resignation tactic by politicians on both sides of the aisle. It was not too long ago the incumbent Attorney General (AG) Dale Marshall called for the resignation of then AG Adriel Brathwaite. There were calls for the resignation of Michael Carrington to resign as Speaker of the House Assembly the revelation he had to pass around a hat to collect donations to make good on a client’s monies owed. The blogmaster joined strident calls for Denis Lowe to resign after the Cahill Expose. Fast forward to the present there have been calls for Dale Marshall over concerns about crime, before that it was Wilfred Abrahams and the sordid practice by GIS staffers to emotionally and physically abuse detainees at the GIS, whomever is responsible for the fiasco at Barbados Revenue Authority re car registrations and the latest Lisa Cummins to step down or be fired. They all survived the job. No doubt when the dust is settled so too will Lisa Cummins, one of those Mottley has pencilled in on her succession plan.

A critical examination of the way recent governments have operated in Barbados is that firing has not been a go to option. The calls from political talking heads for opposite members to resign is all about generating froth to feed a perception of relevance in the eyes of a disengaged and unsophisticated electorate. One has to go back to Arthur’s obvious firing of George Payne and Elizabeth Thompson to find good examples of ministerial sackings. Some may offer that a reshuffle is a form of demotion given the pecking order of some ministries, it is not a firing.

In the climate of adversarial politics the DLP is doing what the system allows for a political party to seek traction and visibility in the eyes of the public. Especially two years out from a general election.

743 responses to “Little Island Big Cabinet”

1. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    Because for a long time you have been a follower of the work permit situation, why is a max number of work permitted employees per establishment not considered?
    Are hotels treated differently from other businesses? I don’t know.
    20 years ago for example, almost all the senior management at GEL were Bajans. Not today.
    The GM @Sandy Lane is a Bajan.
    It seems from afar the work permit system is a joke. We know there is always likely to be some employees from abroad, so why not give them a limit; above which requires special permission.
    The Cdn Football League (CFL…the poor relative of the NFL) has minimum number of Canadians per team, otherwise the NFL cast offs would fill all team rosters in most cases. Back in the 80s when players from all over the world were descending on English county cricket, the league put a limit on the foreign players per team.

2. Do I sound like I want advice on what to do with my son? Not even his father dares to go there! I have done beautifully so far therefore I see no need to change course now. As always, I will do what I see fit with my son but the decision was his. HE LIKES IT HERE!

We both have friends and relatives who live in the USA. We do not rely only on news media.

For my family, this goes way back to 1963 when my great grandmother told my teenaged father not to join her in the US. She returned shortly after. He has had a good life. Visited the USA many times since. Never thought of staying.

You see, your idea of the good life and our idea of the good life is very different. We are not like most people. We do not think like most people. Maybe it is because we cannot point to a time of desperation. Not even I937 found us deprived and hungry. Apparently, we know how to make things work very nicely right here and most of us choose to do just that.

Think about your situation! If you are in a room with ten white people in the US, how many of them voted for Donald Trump? Look to your left! Look to your right! Who voted for that evil madman even after seeing what he did for four years?

YOU have 74 million VERY SCARY PEOPLE among you! You are sitting on top of a powder keg. ANY country that chooses a creature like Donald Trump as its president is in serious trouble. And he is not done yet! Biden’s success in immediately delivering for your disenchanted masses is the only thing that can stop your country’s descent into totally unhinged madness and evil in the very near future. He has to show that they can prosper among immigrants and people of colour and Jews. He has to take away their fear of demographic changes. But that all depends on Joe Manchin and Kirsten Cinema, so good luck with that!

Some of you refuse to take it seriously but I can see clearly that 1963 could look like a very good year in 2023.

For the sake of my family and friends who live in the USA, I sincerely hope that you do not explode.

HINT – Rupert Murdoch has returned to Australia!

P.S. My son is not into IT. For him it is simply a tool.

3. Well,well,well,

We appear to have no.desire or the ambition to diversify our economy from within. The buzz word today is “near shoring”.

Some of the wording used by this lady is insensitive. Most of it is fabrication. She sends out an appeal to foreign organisations to come to Barbados and to “drop their anchors” in the country.

If foreign companies are tempted by this invitation then we should prepare for an influx of migrants.

https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/news/barbados-enviable-place-work-and-live

4. @ David

Is ‘Landor’ the advertising agency responsible for creating the ad and slogan?

5. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Slow Thinking Fowl Slave….so why didn’t you post that you meant the Bellairs Institute of whatever, Barbados does not have the patent for that name…and they told yall it was ok to let 28 cruise liners drop their destructive anchors THAT CLOSE TO SURE RIGHT?

.anyway….all anyone has to do is google certain words in the article and the whole thing will come up, if you knew what INVERTED COMMAS meant, ya would know it shows the words belong to someone else, the article is not hidden, it’s there on the page for EVERYONE except you, to see…were you not taught about inverted commas at school, they taught you about reefs, but not inverted commas..

and the reefs are STILL DAMAGED for at least a hundred years to come
    and yall took SHITE MONEY to damage them
    and yall are still the ones RESPONSIBLE, ya can’t even blame it on ya DLP sidekicks, so what ya wasted ya time typing AND NOTHING IS THE SAME THING,,,cause Bellairs can do NOTHING ABOUT THAT NOW, especially since yall seemed to have NEVER LISTENED TO WHAT THEY SAID BEFORE…

I had dreams last night more useful than the nonsense ya posted
    and you still believe ya are some type of intellectual competition, even AC got a leg up on that now and yall fowls still reside at the bottom.

6. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

and they told yall it was ok to let 28 cruise liners drop their destructive anchors THAT CLOSE TO SHORE(Y) RIGHT?

7. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Say hi to the DUMBEST “pedigrees” ya will ever NOT WANT TO MEET…..this is what happens when ya give the Slaves control of the slave system…pure embarrassment, even though the experiment was a success….that’s what everything has DEVOLVED TO….including when yardfowls and slow thinkers start believing, telling themselves and everyone else that they are intellectual competition.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/05/28/bteditorial-what-11-plus-exam-are-you-talking-about-minister/

“Bradshaw, who was speaking at the Barbados Labour Party’s virtual conference said: “Don’t worry about the 11-plus because I know many people worry about the 11-plus. I told the country we were going to do the assessments on the children and the assessments are underway and I give the assurance that within the next two weeks or sooner we will have a position as far as the 11-plus date is concerned. That is our commitment to you.”

And although there was talk weeks ago of moving ahead with the exam, we were quietly hoping that good sense would prevail.

But is this the same Education Minister who revealed in 2020 that the 11-plus would be no more.

She declared: “We are hoping that this would be the last cohort of students that will participate in the 11-plus examination, and if that is the case, then once we start in March it is intended that we spend a few months in discussion with the entire country and be able to formulate a programme going forward for implementation in 2021.”

The minister, flanked by ministry officials, made this statement in the well of the House of Assembly during debate on the 2020/2021 Estimates.

The most profound and telling statement was when the minister admitted that the current format of the entrance exam had failed our students.”

8. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Gotta give credit, applause and accolades WHERE it’s due….so that the REAL geniuses can take a bow.

.this is what happens when ya give the Slaves control of the slave system…pure embarrassment, even though the experiment was a RESOUNDING and ENVIABLE success….that’s what everything has DEVOLVED TO..though.

….including when yardfowls and slow thinkers start believing, telling themselves and everyone else that they are intellectual competition.

9. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

And that right there friends, is what passes for intelligence amongst government ministers, lawyers etc in the taxpayer funded parliament…some days ya wish they would all disappear like a PUFF OF SMOKE out of the Black population’s lives.

10. Allow me to give a soft response.
    Personal: I hope that I never transfer my prejudices to my son or allow my prejudices to blind me to the possibilities that are out there for him.

Wishing both of you the very best.

11. Back to regular programming.

Have a great day Barbados.
    Looking good where I am. Hope it is the same for you.
    Have a great day Barbados.

12. ThoO

Stump catspraddled Bright and esrly this morning?

I tell you you dont know hos to read or play even a Long hop

13. These are his words Chatrani’s which I copied and
    Which were placed in local news on May 27th

He explained that the process began in 2018 in collaboration with brand consulting agency Brandor in collaboration with officials from the Barbados Tourism Investment Inc. (BTII), Invest Barbados, and the National Cruise Development

Xxxxxx

If there was a correction by govt to the name
    It moves along the same rail track of incompetence
    The same incompetence that drove govt officials to used a copied slogan as a driver to re-energize the tourism industry
    The same govt that gave 350million to the tourist industry and receive nothing helpful or beneficial
    Also of recent the news reel out of the Virgin islands Consortium fb page that revealed govt officials launched a page to expose Barbadian designers but instead which was launched and which was captured on a pron site
    Those are high levels of incompetence which cannot be ignored by attacking those who holds govt feet to the fire

14. Enuff you have again shown up the mad woman Waru to be a liar and a fraud.Shr made four responses to you saying the same thing.Yhis tells you she is rattled and calling out to her sidekivks Miller and Skinner gor help.She sho7ld think more and blog less hogging up every topic with shite abpit theifing lawyers , theifing minorities and the african continent.Why the hell you don, t go back to africa snd stop boring the rest of us everyday.Enuff keep the pressure on them killing them with the facts which they cannot refute..Just a lot of shite talk.

15. William Skinner Avatar

Your position on Black people living in the USA cannot be seriously denied. I myself was shocked to learn that Black Barbadians living here were very strong supporters of that idiot Trump.
    Indeed you are also correct about ones comfort level, coming from a Black Country and realizing that ourAfro American brothers and sisters are treated very badly.
    However, migration is seldom based on one factor. You would note that thousands left for England because of limited opportunities during the 60s etc. it’s very difficult to convince any Caribbean person , who has done reasonably well outside of the region that they should consider returning home.
    It’s unwise to personalize these debates. For example , I have a good friend in the USA, who returns to Bim almost every six months to hang with friends etc. He told me that he would not return to live because he thinks he gets better health care here.
    Also, there are Caribbean people who had all intentions of “ coming back” but the roots are now too deep: grandchildren, etc and the fear of losing all they have sacrificed in order to make a life elsewhere be it :England Canada , USA wherever. And we also hate to admit it but we are a very socially elitist people and sometimes anonymity in a strange land is a very good thing. In other words,nobody cares where yuh come from because they simply don’t know !
    So, while I accept your position, I find it quite difficult to accept that a Barbadian or any other Caribbean person, should always be excommunicated because they have for various reasons dropped anchor somewhere else. Conversely I also find it rather stupid for any of us living elsewhere to constantly belittle our island state on petty grounds.
    As for our young talented people, I would want them to be proud ambassadors of our nation wherever they are or wherever life has put them. I am immensely proud that Rihanna has been able to navigate the pitfalls of the vicious entertainment industry. She embodies what our youth are capable of wherever they may go.
    So, in my book a young entrepreneur navigating the lack of funds but still trying to make it has my admiration. I honestly don’t care if he / she is in Walkers , St Andrew or Brooklyn, London Ontario.
    Like I said personalizing these type of discussions is really self defeating. As the old people say: Yuh never know where you gine end up.
    We are all from one great Nation called the Caribbean and we did not ask to be there in the first place. That alone should convince us that we are resilient enough to survive and strive anywhere.

16. Excellent.
    “If there was a correction by govt to the name
    It moves along the same rail track of incompetence.”.

Brilliant and poetic.

17. @Artax

This is what the blogmaster understands.

18. The US is a big place with a full spectrum of life. I would be among the first to agree that there are many issues, but even in our darkest moments, the flames of hope were not extinguished.

We do not all have the same experience. But I must tell you that, so far, the USA has been very good to me and my family.

If you have it good in Barbados and you choose to stay there, that’s great. If you are not having it good, then explore your many options. The choice is always yours.

19. Those were the words of the BT reporter.

20. DavidMay 29, 2021 7:42 AM

Those were the words of the BT reporter
    Xxxx
    Awaiting govt truth
    The lack of transparency is what is causing govt to fall into so much controversy
    Xxxxxxx
    Landor has been around for 41years
    and having to find its good name tarnish because of govt incompetence is mind boggling
    A company with a good name and reputation caught up in the whirlwind of small minded politicians trying to swim in big ponds
    Landor best interest is to correct damage done by the controversy surrounding the slogan

21. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

The LEAST intelligent of the fowl Slaves…those two words are not supposed to got together…just had to come out AND PROVE IT…

22. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“If foreign companies are tempted by this invitation then we should prepare for an influx of migrants.”

an influx of slave masters, none of them have the requisite intellect, skills or gifts to DO ANYTHING ON THEIR OWN…they are not from any creative bloodline….they are the 11 plus slaves who always rush to the front to represent and have nothing to offer.

ya never going to find a perfect country, but despite its centuries old demons, the US still has much more to offer than the Caribbean islands in terms of opportunities for ANYONE to uplift themselves, advance and progress..

African Americans who are violated the most will tell you themselves and admit all the wrongs but then say, in comparison to most other countries, they have this and that..

23. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Landor needs to clear its name and remove itself from that mess created by crooks who have a track record of presenting INFLATED quadrupled invoices to the treasury and then claiming another price for services, all they need is a crooked accountant.

such an award winning and ESTABLISHED company, i don’t see them charging less than 3 million for a unique stand alone slogan.

24. If it brandor it rip off government

But if it’s landor it gettibg it good reputation tarbushed?

BT u’s famous for bigger mistakes than typos

25. The “investigative reporter’s research skills” have evidently led “to many of them being lost,” because they were on Facebook chasing a ‘ghost company’ named ‘Brandon or Brandor.’

Bear in mind several companies do not use Facebook. What type of “skilled investigative reporter” would use two unverified company names that were being ‘bandied about’ on social media platforms, as the basis to search Facebook for information on a company he/she does not know exists, and then says the company is bogus when the research was unsuccessful?

This is what usually happens when in haste to ‘score cheap political points,’ yard-fowls copy and paste ‘hear say’ from other social media sites, without first substantiating the information and verifying the credibility of its source.

Now, the name of the company has been revealed, she is blaming ‘government’ for her incompetence, especially when there isn’t anything to suggest ‘government’ was responsible for divulging the ‘fake names ‘in the first place.’

I’m curious as to whether or not “The title of ‘Investigative Reporter’ is (still) well deserved?”

26. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Stop electing mediocre leadership who then have to HIRE AT YOUR EXPENSE consultants and slave masters….because they are NOT creative and DON’T KNOW what to do..

27. One of the good things about being an old man, you remember stories from long ago. During the Watergate scandal one of the renown investigative reporters Bob Woodward made a number of mistakes.

I cannot put AC in the same class as Bob Woodward, but will admit that her keen nose for the story and her eagerness to break the story will lead to a few mistakes.

Allow to compliment the blogmaster. He may lack the nose and investigative skills but he manages to stumble on the correct answer. He reminds me of the saying. As a reporter “I rather be lucky than good”😀. Good work, blogmaster.

28. For the past few days the “lead bowler” has been bowling her new ‘Brandon and Brandor’ balls, celebrating them as two ‘good wicket taking deliveries.’

She had good spells during the first and second sessions…..bowling a few good balls and running down the pitch in celebration of taking a wicket, only turning to see the umpire signalling ‘no ball.’

The opposing team thought her bowling action looked suspicious and complained to the umpires. They requested a review, which revealed she was ‘chucking.’ And all those ‘Brandon and Brandor’ deliveries have now been determined to be ‘illegal.’

The blogmaster bowled his ‘Landor’ ball and ‘catspraddled’ the batsmen, with ‘bowling figures’ that topped those of the “lead bowler.”

Apparently, the “leader bowler” decided to bowl ‘OFF SPIN’ in the second innings. When the company was thought to be named ‘Brandon or Brandor,’ she was suggesting they ‘ripped off government’ and the fees should be returned.

Now, the actual company’s name has been revealed, she ‘saying’ “Landor has been around for 41years and having to find its good name tarnish because of govt incompetence is mind boggling.”

Remember, we’re ‘talking about the SAME JOB…….. the ONLY DIFFERENCE is the actual name of the company.

So, ‘Brandon or Brandor’ ripping off ‘government,’ HAS CHANGED to “government’s incompetence tarnishing the good name of Landor.”

Simply “mind boggling.”

29. Stop electing mediocre leadership who then have to HIRE AT YOUR EXPENSE consultants and slave masters….because they are NOT creative and DON’T KNOW what to do..

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXxx

WW

i dont vote but not everyone like me. who should those that vote elect?

30. @Artax

It is surprising to the blogmaster that a government only 3 years removed from office would not have access to relevant contact in and outside government to very the matter. Wonder if Verla consulted with Richard Sealy.

31. I agree “eagerness to break the story will lead to a few mistakes,” but not in every instance, as is the case of the particular reporter in question. It is the “eagerness” that has led to her being proven wrong on SEVERAL occasions.

It’s similar to a mathematics exam in which students are given a number of quadratic and simultaneous equations to solve. A student provides the examiner with lots of ‘working,’ perhaps indicating he/she may understand the concepts, but gets the wrong answers.

I believe he/she would be awarded ‘marks for the working.’

32. Artax AC is a fraud.She rushes in like Waru after looking through facebook to claim they have nreaking news often found to be false.Yet one comedian claiming she is a lead bowler.In what shite talk? Lesson no 1 get your facts straight then come to the forum.If you are the best Ms Depeiza can send to BU she should cal for an iediate refund as you are doing the dems more harm than good.

33. The BLP supporters are baying early on a Saturday morning. Whither the DLP supporters?

34. What you call prejudices some of us call plain facts.

Plain fact – you had a violent attempted insurrection.

Plain fact- it has switched to legislative mode.

Plain fact – your democracy is under serious attack.

Plain fact- one of your major parties is extremist, armed and dangerous.

Plain fact- unless Biden can get Joe Manchin and Kristen Sinema to do away with the filibuster you are on your way to The Banana Republic of America.

You will have lunatics RULING you for the forceable future, unleashing legislative and policy hell on people of colour, women, transgenders, gays.

And the tens of millions of people who voted for them will be free to terrorise you as they please.

Checked with my son again in the early hours of this morning. I repeat for your hard ears self – he likes it here, has no desire to leave, especially for America.

You would be surprised to know that anything I tell him regarding America he already has seen on the news and discussed with his friends both here and abroad.

It was my duty to teach my child how to use his brain for thinking and I did just that. His brain is very much engaged and thinking for itself.

He knows what time it is. This conflict is coming to a head.

So buzz to RH off!

35. 😀
    I am over here now. I buzzed long time.

36. donna = Deandre dotting

Thoe boling like a girl!

37. I wish our top investigative reporter (IR) was here to explain the role of
    an investigative reporter.

My idea of an investigative reporter is one who takes the lead, the person who takes a piece of string and follows it wherever it leads. He/she is like a bloodhound following a scent and, at times may go down the wrong path.

Investigative reporting is not like mathematics. Some mistakes must be allowed for. If an IR waits until the story is 100% correct, it may never be printed

However, such a reporter would not work alone. Behind them would be the plodders. A solid team, but lacking the intuition, originality or imagination of the lead IR. The plodder has the time to meticulously examine and follow each piece of string provided by the IR.

What may appear to be a failure to the untrained eyes, provides inspiration to the plodder. It is the spark that ignites his search for the truth. It allows him to shine.

I am now beginning to understand the collaboration between the blogmaster and AC. It would not surprise me to hear him publicly say “AC, thanks for the inspiring me.

38. @John2,
    I leave the bowling and heavy lifting to AC.

39. A IR does also makes correction when he/she pubiish(it) un truth – which feature is lacking in mari

40. AS FAR as connecting my account of the story and the name of the consulting agency
    I can say the name was not made up be me
    A retired govt official close to the planning came out with bat in hand to clean bowl what was being (said )within his comments the name Brandor was stated as the consulting placed inside newspaper reporting
    I therefore stand by his comments
    Yet to read where the newspaper made a retraction by way of an apology for the “mistake” which can be stated as not to be an error on their part in the comments
    Nor have I heard Chatarani dispute what name he previously mentioned as the consulting agency
    However I saw of recent where the newspaper replace Brandor with Landor
    ALL In all the story remains an embarrassment for govt even with the official stating the name incorrectly and leaving more overflowing evidence that govt officials can’t lead a horse to water

Await govt investigation to clear Brandor name a consulting agency

41. to many untrues plus to many lack of facts

42. how do you know the official stated the name wrong?

43. @ac
    All you have to do is to provide one link with the name “brandor” in it.
    Four wickets in one ball.

44. what the investagative reported should have done from the beginning is contact BT and find out if it was a typo.

NO BALLLLLLLLL!

45. I was distracted. We should not be debating the name but the slogan and it’s cost.
    “ALL In all the story remains an embarrassment for govt even with the official stating the name incorrectly and leaving more overflowing evidence that govt officials can’t lead a horse to water”

46. the opening over the score is six+ runs without lost yet not an official ball registered to the opening boler.

47. legal – not official ball

48. @John2
    “contact BT and find out if it was a typo.’
    Careful, you will be the first bowler to take his own wicket.

Have a great day. Don’t lose the laugh.