The Barbados government recently launched the Little Island Big Barbados campaign and immediately those responsible are having to defend against a torrent of criticism from the public. The thrust of the concern: the campaign is a tired concept several islands have used to promote tourism for which Barbados is whispered to have forked out $700,000.00.

In the blog BLP and DLP Cancer of Adversarial Politics the blogmaster raised concerns that are applicable in this case. 

Yesterday the Reverend Guy Hewitt (also see: Is Guy Hewitt the Way, Truth and Light for the DLP?) was featured in the news in clarion voice calling for the resignation of Minister of Tourism Lisa Cummins. The good Reverend as spokesman for the DLP- our government in waiting- has the right to call for the resignation of Cummins. If we want to promote a culture of high performance built on meritocracy, when mistakes are made or persons perform poorly, there should be consequences. Although the facts of the matter have not been disclosed to the public – pending an internal investigation by Chairman of the BTMI Roseanne Myers – there is enough smoke to the story to suggest public concerns are valid given the large sum allegedly disbursed for the campaign.

Source: DLP St. Andrew Facebook Page

A takeaway from the imbroglio for the blogmaster is the use of the resignation tactic by politicians on both sides of the aisle. It was not too long ago the incumbent Attorney General (AG) Dale Marshall called for the resignation of then AG Adriel Brathwaite. There were calls for the resignation of Michael Carrington to resign as Speaker of the House Assembly the revelation he had to pass around a hat to collect donations to make good on a client’s monies owed. The blogmaster joined strident calls for Denis Lowe to resign after the Cahill Expose. Fast forward to the present there have been calls for Dale Marshall over concerns about crime, before that it was Wilfred Abrahams and the sordid practice by GIS staffers to emotionally and physically abuse detainees at the GIS, whomever is responsible for the fiasco at Barbados Revenue Authority re car registrations and the latest Lisa Cummins to step down or be fired. They all survived the job. No doubt when the dust is settled so too will Lisa Cummins, one of those Mottley has pencilled in on her succession plan.

A critical examination of the way recent governments have operated in Barbados is that firing has not been a go to option. The calls from political talking heads for opposite members to resign is all about generating froth to feed a perception of relevance in the eyes of a disengaged and unsophisticated electorate. One has to go back to Arthur’s obvious firing of George Payne and Elizabeth Thompson to find good examples of ministerial sackings. Some may offer that a reshuffle is a form of demotion given the pecking order of some ministries, it is not a firing.

In the climate of adversarial politics the DLP is doing what the system allows for a political party to seek traction and visibility in the eyes of the public. Especially two years out from a general election.

743 responses to “Little Island Big Cabinet”

1. @ David

Boss open a new thread please let we discuss how vaccines could be getting left to expire and not administered. What are the facts around this? How many thousand vaccines going in the dump Tuesday morning? If the MOH can’t get the job do why they don’t call in BARP to help like this humble shopkeeper suggested weeks ago? They ain’t no shame in saying fellows we got X thousand vaccines coming close to expiry help us administer them. Asking for help could never be a sign of weakness when it is a matter of such great importance.

Lord how we going get off the Amber with this foolishness going on? As Eric Fly used to say ” de people want to know.” LOL

SMALL ISLAND BIG SCREW UP

2. Sorry I meant BAMP but dem could call BARP too they got retired nurses in there glad to help.

Stop wasting time talking bout a plagiarised ad and focus on something like saving lives and getting the island going again.
    I waiting to hear from the Colonel on this cause I always admire his straight talk and open way of speaking. I said that from the beginning of the Covid issue too, so wunna could check BU files for that if wunna want.

3. “Who is the dlp operative that hck the website?”

@ John2

You mean ‘Pornville’……. oh, sorry…..uh mean Donville?

4. John A

Why u alway shouting fire fire ?

Se Got 100 000 doses from india
    We give away some. There are over 50+ thousands fully vaccinated. And abort another 20k on the first

If vaccines git to g’et thrown away it Winther be because of the lack og peoplevto administer them – ni nede for BAMP y’et/ at this point

Hetmeyer

Do the math

5. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

No due diligence, no diversifying, now we can add NO RESEARCH..

maybe the know it all slow thinking yardfowls can tell us what went wrong…they know all the ins and outs, they should know how a porn website got there….steupse..

6. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“When you are a beggar this kind of thing will follow..”

not exactly, it’s when you WANT TO REMAIN A BEGGAR…to collect bribes and SKIM from the treasury after 54 years of Black mismanagement of the island, is the problem.

7. If u believe In bistik so Much them why dont u wait till the expiration date and his straight forward explainatiin as always. Instead of Running In here In the attack to male urself look good?

U undercover dems cant hide
    Throw a pebble over the fence and u all attack it thunking it’s corn

8. @John A

These are 2nd dose vaccines. Some maybe people who cannot be bothered. In the US same thing occurred. Cannot be that many.

9. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

dumping expired vaccines is happening in many countries, Malawi i think it was dumped some this week.

10. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

US had to start giving them away like candy, people were inviting others to travel to US to be vaccinated…these things have a short shelf life….this is one no one can blame the government for.

11. @ david.

Then they should of started those waiting on their first dose earlier. We can’t afford to be throwing way vaccines when we only got 35% of our people fully vaccinated. The second round of first shots is to start next week, all they had to do was move that up to May 5th and use the dam vaccines on the new first dosers. Lord wunna got 10 polyclinics all you had to do was designate 5 for the next round of first doses and send them newbies there! Em ain’t rocket science.

Don’t mind the USA they got millions of vaccines stock pile and anybody can walk in and get vaccinated now. It ain’t no sending in no email and waiting for an appointment there. I said 2 weeks ago or whenever, we moving too dam slow on this. Seem not even the vaccines could wait on us neither they expired waiting!

12. @John A

As you know we experienced some logically issues at the start. Let us hope the number tossed will be negligible.

13. Also you can not compare the USA and other countries who have vaccinated all those wishing to come forward. We got close to $150,000 here waiting on a first dose. Its about planning. When a supermarket got stock coming to expiry soon what they do? They expand the offering, they offer it at 3 or 4 places in the store and not just on the aisle its usually on. You mean we could do that for chocolates only?

When ever done they are going to be thrown away because of poor planning by the vaccination division.

This is not a blame game either, as this issue would not normally be a concern of the minister. This is a planning and implementation failure. Yes the buck will stop at the minister, but to be fair this matter fell apart way before it got to him.

Plus who tell you it is only a few doses, you best go and check the amount before you guess at it.

14. john A

Can you use the 2nd dose on the first timers? you should look into that.

If it was that way wouldnt you think that is what would have been done?

Boy you dont like to give up !

15. the first dose is a primer only. the second dose is the second coat. same color but different workings

16. stop attacking and think sometimes

17. chech said that there are the same for both doses

18. @ John 2

Could christ you name John too but Lord don’t make the name look so bad I beg yuh!

You feel astra make 2 different vaccines one for the first dose and one for the second dose? LOL

Boy you will try anything to defend you party for sure 😆😆😆
    Let me help you dear namesake. The only time a difference in formulation will come into play is if a booster shot is required. That so far is not the case. If you doubt me you can read the Newcastle medical study for yourself. It in a blue binder though not red, but still pretend it is a manifesto and read it. LOL

Lord I deading here.

19. 1st shot primer second shot booster was my thinking. 3 shot booster 4 shot booster. at least i can admit i was wrong.
    and not dress it up. something you should try doing .

not defending no party would have said the samething id ur party was still in power.

Still no need for the extra help

20. “The second does is just a booster shot, it’s exactly the same thing as what was in the first dose, same vial, there’s no difference.

21. Bajans ….screw with us…. and we will wuk you up

22. 58 888 fully vaccinated x 2 doses = 117 776 jabs in arms ( fully vaccinated only)

100 000 from india and a few thousands given away

Why should one expect a few thousands to expire and not just a few?

23. Barbados is the henry ford of politics you can have any color politician you want as long as they are black

24. 117 776 + 18 606 single dosers = 126 382 shots in arms

why would one expect a thousands to expire and not just a few

25. @ John 2

The second dose is NOT a booster shot. You need to go and read the article I told you about.

The full vaccination is made up of 2 identical doses. The first dose is given and then 12 weeks later the second identical dose is given. Its like antibiotics for example, you don’t take all one time but spread the same bottle of capsules over a period.

As of today NO company either Astra or JJ or the others are making a booster. As they have said if a booster is made it will mean a REFORMULATION of the original product. The thought is that maybe an annual booster shot will be the next step but the jury is still out on that.

My final point is that poor planning and implementation has resulted in a scarce commodity being discarded instead of finding its way into the arms of Bajans. Oh and before you say it is only a few doses, I suggest you go and check the amount it may jump you !

26. john i dont net to read it. i said that was my thinking and i posted where other consider it as a booster but said its the exact samething. my head is not that hard i accept its the same thing in both shots.

27. if you know the amount then why not post it. i going by the numbers that were published in the news.

Seem like u got the inside track

28. or tell me where my calculations are wrong

29. i would assume the doses from india would be used up first and from the number published – the doses given away i would expect the if any get to expiration that there would be another reason why

30. plus – the article in BT did not seem that urgent to me. if there are thousands like you said then i would have expected a more urgent to “come and get it”

31. @ John 2

Let me tell you why it is not fair to blame Minister Bostic for this. The government received vaccines from India and from other suppliers as well. I don’t want to go into all the numbers as that is the press job. What went wrong is the the inventory was not properly managed. In cases like this from my experience with short shelf life items, the inventory is distributed based on expiry date. So the vaccines with the earliest expiry date are used first then the ones with the second shortest date next etc. This did not happen and hence vaccines with later expiry dates were used first leaving behind the ones with the earlier dates which have now expired.

It is called inventory rotation based on shelf life. Had this of happened we would not now be discarding the Indian gift vaccines as they would have been used first.

Now don’t anyone come along and try to say this didn’t happen, cause that could prove embarrassing when the facts come out. The point is all of this could have been avoided and none lost regardless of whether they were 8 or 8000.

32. let me put it this way

If you are correct then i will say Bostic should go – plain and simple

33. Angela Cox,
    Once again breaking news.
    The title of ‘Investgative Reporter’ is well deserved.

Interesting that this project like the slogan is two years old. People were sleeping in 2028?

34. as i said u got the inside track i go by the numbers published

i repeat if what you said is true then i wont blame bostic but he still need to go.

this would be the second incident following the letting out of the tourist after 2/3 day after arrival.

35. mari

people were busy getting out of the lost decade in 2018 too much damage that need correcting

36. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

That is why i don’t like giving these asses for ministers/politicians and their underlings the benefit of the doubt….so they did not look at the expiry dates on the vaccines…and i actually told myself they would….stupppees..

“In cases like this from my experience with short shelf life items, the inventory is distributed based on expiry date. So the vaccines with the earliest expiry date are used first then the ones with the second shortest date next etc. This did not happen and hence vaccines with later expiry dates were used first leaving behind the ones with the earlier dates which have now expired.”

37. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Interesting that this project like the slogan is two years old..”

tiefing Wills and Estates from the elderly and their beneficiaries gets ya good back dating skills.

38. Thos is not a minister mistanke
    Bit he isxresponsible Sibirien he Cannon fire those Thatcher are responsivle he should resign / be removed.

Some one needs to go

If it’s true

Any idiot would know the FIFO should rule

39. TheOGazertsMay 28, 2021 6:49 PM

Angela Cox,
    Once again breaking news.
    The title of ‘Investgative Reporter’ is well deserved.

Interesting that this project like the slogan is two years old. People were sleeping in 2028?
    Xxc

But that is only the beginning
    I wonder how Rhianna would feel having her name mentioned in that story as a side issue

40. Theo

That news brokke eversince

I read it this morning or last night

41. Sorry

I did not read it
    It was mentioned In the video

I guess Mari was on her slowmotion run up
    Or it now hit her

42. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Saw some beautiful creations from the kids now doing exams, if i hear any one of them complain that alyuh tief their inventions and sell it out to a bunch of sandy lane racists and others and don’t give these kids their due… am telling EVERYBODY….from east to west.

and that is no joke, yall will be shocked at the amount of people i know who know millions more and can spread the word quicker than ya can say the word PORN..

43. You can’t blame minister Bostic on this. This is a management issue that should have been dealt with way down the food chain. He can not micro manage an entire ministry but must depend on basic common sense and inventory management to be practiced. Problem is who watches the watchman?

44. Little island Big ROB

Republic Of Barbados.

45. So if you know all of that and all of the inside story and pretend you like him so bad why come on BU and call him out?

46. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Little Island, Big Idiots

was it one of the Slow Thinking Fowls had talk for me on this subject recently….they better grab their calculator.

Actions towards achieving “a safer, cleaner environment” were not reflected in the Government’s welcoming of the cruise ship industry with open arms to drop anchor off Barbados during the COVID-19 pandemic. This came at a catastrophic cost to our marine environment; not just for us but for our children and our children’s children. They were pennywise and pound-foolish.

The UWI Centre for Resource Management & Environmental Studies (CERMES) Technical Report No 101, “Assessing anchoring impacts of cruise ships in Barbados during the COVID-19 pandemic of 2020” presents damning findings of the destruction to our coral reefs.

In an excoriatingly honest manner, the report states, “Given the recognised value of coral reefs as indicated by the stated fines in the Coastal Zone Management Act for damaging reefs (USD$150 per m2), this equates to millions of dollars in actual damage and far exceeds any short-term financial gains from permitting visiting cruise ships to anchor for a nominal fee.” The research also “…highlights policy failures in the management of coral reefs in Barbados that allowed cruise ships to anchor in coral rich areas…” Policy failures is diplomatic speak for “them do bare foolishness.”

For a cost benefit analysis CERMES highlighted: “Assuming that the fees were collected, this would have netted around BBD$275,000 (USD$137,500) for the 550 days of anchored time by the 28 ships.”

They noted the “Intangible benefits” which included “the international media and social media coverage of Barbados” which they note “was quite extensive and very positive… although very hard to quantify.”

However, they calculated costs based on the Coastal Zone Management Act (1998) which states that “any person who damages any coral reef, fish or other coastal resources ‘is guilty of an offence and is liable on summary conviction to a fine of $300 for every square metre of coral reef damaged or to imprisonment for five years or to both’. They suggested coral damage valued at “BBD$2.1 million (USD$1.05 million) occurred from just three anchoring events.”

They also highlighted that “these severely damaged reef sites are part of the bank reef system in Barbados, which is considered the most healthy of all Barbados’ reefs.”

Do the math. Netting around BBD$275,000 for the 550 days of anchored time by the 28 ships at a cost of BBD$2.1million from just three anchoring events. The report concludes, “The damage caused to coral reef habitat in Barbados by the anchoring of cruise ships during the early stages of the COVID- 19 pandemic in 2020 is clearly extensive and yet could have been avoided.” Could have been avoided! Dare I say again: pennywise and pound-foolish. What a motley crew!

Answer me this. Why after three years with a ‘blue economy’ focus, including a full ministerial infrastructure, are anchoring areas for cruise ships not assigned in such a manner that protects the environment? Why do they follow the money and not the science?

Answer me this. Despite both the Port Authority which is in charge of berthing and the Coast Zone Management Unit which is in charge of our reefs and marine environment falling under the same Ministry, why didn’t the Port and the CZMU not collaborate effectively? Why do they follow the money and not the science?

Answer me this. Why wasn’t the Coast Zone Management Unit centrally involved in an update and enforcement of the anchoring areas when the ‘buriffle’ of cruise ships descended on our coastline like locusts? Why do they follow the money and not the science?”

47. The numbers show that if administered correctly / by dates the vaccine should have been used up before expiration date therefore no need for additional jabbers.

48. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

I saw where they said it’s only the indian astrazenica has to be dumped..

Miller….the fowls will probably tell ya so what, they made money from the cruise ships damaging the reefs for decades to come, so that means nothing…it happens everywhere….

the reef is tangible

they are banking on intangibles.

no end in sight to the mindless stupidity

49. WURA de Salemite Abigail

When you cut and paste part of people’s articles you should at least credit the author. Remember you were not too long ago talking about plagiarism. The irony, however, about your usual chest-thumping is that it further exposes your ignorance. CERMES is upfront and centre in the article but you had to go to a museum in Queens to learn about coral reefs and behaved as though your visit made you anymore exposed than Bajans. That is the talk I had for you, Remember I mentioned Bellairs etc and coral reef education in schools? If I were you I’d stay away from trying to test me on certain subject matters, especially where you can only cut and paste. Then again that is everythin besides tief, slave, fowl, bribe and large missing sums of money out the air.🤣🤣

50. “or tell me where my calculations are wrong”
    Two words for the wise…bowling alley.