The Barbados government recently launched the Little Island Big Barbados campaign and immediately those responsible are having to defend against a torrent of criticism from the public. The thrust of the concern: the campaign is a tired concept several islands have used to promote tourism for which Barbados is whispered to have forked out $700,000.00.

In the blog BLP and DLP Cancer of Adversarial Politics the blogmaster raised concerns that are applicable in this case. 

Yesterday the Reverend Guy Hewitt (also see: Is Guy Hewitt the Way, Truth and Light for the DLP?) was featured in the news in clarion voice calling for the resignation of Minister of Tourism Lisa Cummins. The good Reverend as spokesman for the DLP- our government in waiting- has the right to call for the resignation of Cummins. If we want to promote a culture of high performance built on meritocracy, when mistakes are made or persons perform poorly, there should be consequences. Although the facts of the matter have not been disclosed to the public – pending an internal investigation by Chairman of the BTMI Roseanne Myers – there is enough smoke to the story to suggest public concerns are valid given the large sum allegedly disbursed for the campaign.

Source: DLP St. Andrew Facebook Page

A takeaway from the imbroglio for the blogmaster is the use of the resignation tactic by politicians on both sides of the aisle. It was not too long ago the incumbent Attorney General (AG) Dale Marshall called for the resignation of then AG Adriel Brathwaite. There were calls for the resignation of Michael Carrington to resign as Speaker of the House Assembly the revelation he had to pass around a hat to collect donations to make good on a client’s monies owed. The blogmaster joined strident calls for Denis Lowe to resign after the Cahill Expose. Fast forward to the present there have been calls for Dale Marshall over concerns about crime, before that it was Wilfred Abrahams and the sordid practice by GIS staffers to emotionally and physically abuse detainees at the GIS, whomever is responsible for the fiasco at Barbados Revenue Authority re car registrations and the latest Lisa Cummins to step down or be fired. They all survived the job. No doubt when the dust is settled so too will Lisa Cummins, one of those Mottley has pencilled in on her succession plan.

A critical examination of the way recent governments have operated in Barbados is that firing has not been a go to option. The calls from political talking heads for opposite members to resign is all about generating froth to feed a perception of relevance in the eyes of a disengaged and unsophisticated electorate. One has to go back to Arthur’s obvious firing of George Payne and Elizabeth Thompson to find good examples of ministerial sackings. Some may offer that a reshuffle is a form of demotion given the pecking order of some ministries, it is not a firing.

In the climate of adversarial politics the DLP is doing what the system allows for a political party to seek traction and visibility in the eyes of the public. Especially two years out from a general election.

743 responses to “Little Island Big Cabinet”

1. @angela cox May 27, 2021 3:24 PM

You need to dig a bit deeper into this ‘brandor’ goldmine full of red nuggets of kickbacks.

Why not solicit the help of your No.1 England-based fan with the ‘Bajan Condition’ who has gone AWOL from BU?
    For he is sorely missing in action (MIA) at these most trying times of tribulations and failure; as he so fearfully prophesied.

You might just get lucky and find out that the current red heist is just as big as that carried out by your mates Byer and Carrington which took place under your similarly corrupt blue and yellow administration.

Black politicians in cahoots with their minority ‘crooked’ friends stealing from those Bajan taxpayers-funded entities are nothing more than the moral equivalent of the African kings selling their own to the white slave traders for trinkets, glass beads, ‘raw’ sugar and alcohol.

The thing is that the modern-day slave traders called the Chinese are not interested in buying, even if on the cheap for a Bajan kaiso song, a fast ripening banana republic with no attractive natural resources as collateral to drive their own economy like the English did in turning small Barbados into one Big sugarcane plantation.

2. We should ask after frigging up the hotel industry where is Mr. Chatrani now ?
    Answer:
    He is now a shareholder and Executive Chairman of Apes Hill Development. Once the tourism industry started to sink , he jumped ship. He committed the taxpayers to this shabby slogan . Was not his money. They dont have to account to us. We waiting to be waiters etc

Xxxxxxxxx

I HAVE PLAYED GOLF WITH CHATRANI SEVERAL TIMES WHEN HE AND HIS WIFE OWNED 2 SMALL HOTELS IN ST LAWRENCE GAP.

HE THEN WENT ON TO LEAD ELEGANT GROUP HOTELS SO APES HILL WILL BE NO SURPRISE AS HE HAS PLENTY MORE TIME TO GOLF.

HE IS A SLY CHARACTER AND WOULD BE INTERESTED WHO GOT THE CONTRACT AND WHO GOT A CUT.

HE IS PART ON THE MINORITY GROUP @ WARU TALKS ABOUT.

AN ASIAN WHO ACTS AND BEHAVES ENTITLED SO WOULDN’T BE SURPRISED AT THIS QUESTINABLE CONTRACT GIVEN FOR THE PLAGUARIZE SLOGAN.

3. QUESTIONABLE

4. The henchman came out swinging trying to be coy in his language
    The crap he speeded today only left people wondering who de hell he was talking too
    The consulting agency took govt money and did not deliver
    That is where the issue lie
    All the long talk he put down he is yet to address how come so much money was laid out from the treasury for nothing

5. “Why not solicit the help of your No.1 England-based fan with the ‘Bajan Condition’ who has gone AWOL from BU?
    For he is sorely missing in action (MIA) at these most trying times of tribulations and failure; as he so fearfully prophesied.”

Hal digs AC
    AC digs Hal
    I smell a rat
    a dirty stinking rat
    Hal digs Hal
    AC digs AC
    AC=Hal
    Hal=AC
    QED
    Dompey is a Hal too
    DLP trolls are legion

6. The Ad Agency would have acted on a brief and delivered based on the instruction from the client, in this case the BTMI.

7. @ David

As the saying goes ‘the wicket taking spin’ or ‘the wicket is a spinner’s paradise.’

So far, Enuff has been able to use the conditions to his advantage, while the other bowlers are struggling and looking to Facebook for answers.

Occasionally, the opposing bowlers may have a excellent spell, during which they bowl some excellent balls. The problem is, the captain doesn’t know when it’s time to take them off, so they end up bowling too long and the batmen become accustomed to the bowling.

Based on Enuff’s ‘short spell’ interventions, it’s clear his captain knows when to take him off.

8. @ angela cox May 27, 2021 5:38 PM
    The henchman came out swinging trying to be coy in his language
    The crap he speeded today only left people wondering who de hell he was talking too
    The consulting agency took govt money and did not deliver
    That is where the issue lie
    All the long talk he put down he is yet to address how come so much money was laid out from the treasury for nothing… (Unquote).

We really have to give the once pedestrian “angela cox” ‘her wings today.

Now that’s what one would describe as punching above one’s weight which the now demoted flagging Barbados used to do as a small island competing among the Big heavyweights as it used to do among the best in the world of Cricket.

You have been voted the MVP or ‘liveliest’ bowler of the match for your stinging contributions to this debate which the match referee cum umpire “The O Gazerts” has duly recognized.

Where is the Value for that Big money paid for a ‘common-class plagiarized’ tagline?

How can it (a two-bit tagline) differentiate ‘Brand Barbados’ from the rest in the pack competing for the same significantly reduced pot of post-Covid visitors seeking not only sun, sea and sand but a wholesome once-in-a lifetime experience of a vacation in the Caribbean way “beyond their imagination” and expectations?

9. “How can it (a two-bit tagline) differentiate ‘Brand Barbados’ from the rest in the pack competing for the same significantly reduced pot of post-Covid visitors seeking not only sun, sea and sand but a wholesome once-in-a lifetime experience of a vacation in the Caribbean way “beyond their imagination” and expectations?”

There is no difference to the outsider visitor
    A Little Island is the summary for the foreign mind
    that’s all they need to know

10. Let me sit back and watch them seek to disparage the agency. Reminds me of the White Oak witch hunt. $500,000 represents 0.02% of what tourism earns annually. Note I said annually, so spread over the life of the campaign that $500,000 is chicken feed. But we paid a man $250k annually, who allegedly sell we gloves at inflated prices through a business he allegedly had an interest. #thisisnotcahill🤣🤣

11. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

i thought it was Brandon…i see nothing for a Brandor…probably a company they cobbled together real quick to tief $750,000….look at who is protesting the loudest and check the origin of the name ….whichever way it works out, $750,000 dollars was stolen from the treasury as usual.

12. Agreed Artax Enuff got them on the ropes just waiting to deliver the knock out punch.The list he presented is impressive for 3 years especially with covid around plus the ash fall. I live here and i see the achievements.I wonder what the political nightwatchman and people like AC,Skinner, Baje and the other dem bellyachers can boast of.Ms Depeiza reminds me of Mr Thompson a lot of empty pretty sounding rhetoric.Mr Thompson was a dismal failure as PM and MP in my view.The only difference between Mr Thompson and Ms Depeiza is that Mr Thompson had some appeal which Ms Depeiza does not have.
    The dems seem to believe an election is diue soon since they have reemerged on Brasstacks everyday talking nuff shite loke Alvin, Straker,s and the nuisance Ms Undecided wh o the Admiral put in her place this morning.Others have resurfaced on this blog.They really believe most bajans want see the dems led by a nightwatchman take back over barbados?Bsjans may have short memories but not that short to erase the incompetence of the lost decade.Therefpre Enuff keep killing them with facys which yhey cannot refute.

13. A Hook in advertising is something that gets the listeners or viewers thinking more..

and this one works fine as they are now curious

What is Barbados like?

Shall I visit to find out?

14. The govt helped to disparage Brandor by not giving all details
    This midget size one armed band step right into Barbados treasury and with help of govt took a huge chunk of taxpayers money
    The sad part no one never heard of this agency
    Can’t find nothing of substance about them on the internet expect for a raggy fb page
    Well Enuff yuh think bajans should now settle for the fix it up guy Chatarani explanations

15. WURA-War-on-UMay 27, 2021 6:26 PM

i thought it was Brandon…i see nothing for a Brandor…probably a company they cobbled together real quick to tief $750,000….look at who is protesting the loudest and check the origin of the name ….whichever way it works out, $750,000 dollars was stolen from the treasury as usual

Xxxxx
    Most likely

16. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

A whole GANG OF THIEVES foisted on the people EVERY GENERATION by the honorable Slaves as long as they get their CUT…for selling out like clockwork…the population is never given a chance to catch themselves socially or financially…with billions stolen…..who wants to tolerate that for 2 or 3 more generation it’s up to them, but it’s a highway to nowhere.

17. One thing I can bet is that if David find anything Positive about Brandor he will post it
    Almost fourteen hours and nothing
    This issue not going away
    How about two questions asking ” who dun it” in a course of a week
    One of Murder
    The other of a huge heist from the treasury

18. @ Enuff May 27, 2021 6:20 PM

Even your high-flying firm, as a side attraction, could have done a much better job in offering greater value for money to save your native country’s tourism sorry ass from implosion.

But we forget that your overseas-based business only handles billion contracts denominated in US$.

It certainly boggles the mind how a top dog like you can be so deeply involved in the planned petty policies and programmes of a two-bit administration overseeing the affairs of a small-island in the Eastern Caribbean once described as the “Singular Island”.

How do you find the time to service your demandingly large clientele while having so much extra-time on your lazy lying hands to defend the same small-island administration in its every bleep, blunder and foul-up?

19. A hypnotherapy meditation..

Imagine you are on a beach in a Little Island and your body feels relaxed and your mind feels relaxed and you fall deeper into a state of relaxation. It is good to feel relaxed. When you open your eyes you will feel better and more energised than you did before…

20. The circus clowns can’t even get the RH name right! Wunna lucky I terrorise all yuh fuh fun. Just imagine if I were part of an organised pro-BLP crew sent to catspraddle this blog? The annihilation would be of an even greater scale.☢☢

21. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

I just hope when the arrest warrants and handcuffs are sharing out you get one too…you are just as BIG A THIEF….as those STEALING BILLIONS OF DOLLARS FROM THE ECONOMY and pauperizing the Black population incessantly…you are enabling and applauding the ripping off of the treasury and NIS, when there are people who look just like you suffering for a daily meal on the island WITH THEIR CHILDREN….scum like you always meet your Karma and so do those close to you…

22. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Miller…it’s very clear that they will all continue to STEAL AS MUCH AS THEY CAN until there is NOTHING LEFT….they will steal EVERY DIME of the IMF loans…

am sure they already started, they will never let that opportunity pass them.

23. @ Enuff May 27, 2021 6:55 PM

This is not the same ‘foul’ pen full of DLP yard-birds like ac, Fractured BLP and Carson C Cadogan you are up against this time.

Should we hold a séance to interrogate the Bush Tea man about your CV?

Do you think he would be impressed with your nauseatingly dogged subservience to a red criminal gang of equally-corrupt politicians as you were barking at the previous lot wearing blue and yellow overalls up to May 2018 when you were muzzled and turned into a toothless ‘fairy’?

24. @Enuff
    Can you tell me what the $500,000 bought? Can you tell me what are the usual rates? Can you tell me the success or failure rate of the recently launched slogan/brand driver/motto? Then on what basis am I to make an informed and robust decision about the value or efficacy of the campaign?
    You know the answer to the first two questions, but as to the success/failure of a just launched campaign, you are whistling in the wind and basically stalling for time. How much time do you want? Enuff time for it to blow over and then we are off to some other eff up?
    BTW I will let the people who asked for the Minister’s resignation or firing to respond, they too are whistling in the wind.

25. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Now we see why maloney the corrupt (their words) is now back en vogue…when it comes to lifting millions from the treasury….a whole billion dollars in fake contracts (their words) that’s their favorite crook…..ask Lashley…

and they actually believe they will get away with it…..maybe they will for a time..

$500K
    $750K

what’s the difference to them, they probably invoiced for double or triple that amount…that’s what they do, wholesale rip off of the treasury, it’s been going on for DECADES…

ya remember the Trini dude they hired at $20,000 per month, not sure if it’s US, to make phone calls to US to order parts for the Transport Board buses, did he not get a house and transportation too…..and yet, the buses dwindled until there were just a few on the road, a few of them even disappeared, big able buses no one could find….now they are pretending to hold hearings on all the money missing from the transport board….steupse, they all want JAILING..

26. a good detective detects truths not false leads
    what kind of crimes are these people perpepetrating

27. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Landor seems to be an American company….so they did not know that what they plagiarized? was used by a ton of other countries and if it’s the same company, they are supposedly an award winning company and upmarket, so $500k is not what they would charge for that type of service realistically steupse…were they the ones who created the slogan in the first place, don’t see them wanting their name tied to plagiarizing anything, something still stinks….only an audit will tell us how many millions is really missing from that clear FRAUD.

btw…it was DBLP stripped the transport board entity to the bone….not one without the other, they operate as a ONE PACK of wolves..

28. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

that’s what they do, wholesale rip off of the treasury, it’s been going on for DECADES…

why yall think both the treasury and the NIS pension fund are BROKE…..decades of stealing from both.

29. I have examined Enuff’s 4:15 contribution. I always knew he/she was capable of this type of delivery but it took about 3 years to get him to deliver one good ball. Next good ball in 2023.

Most consistent bowler: AC
    Most improved bowler: Lorenzo
    Bowler with great potential but can’t be relied on: Enuff
    Bowler who takes the ball when others are in hiding: blogmaster.
    🙂 Bowler who should go to a bowling alley: John2 🙂

30. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

And when the Apes Hill frauds who finally got kicked out of there a couple years now ripped off the pension fund, they hired an accounting firm to put together a bunch of lies to get the money they never repaid tens of millions of dollars…..the documents were posted to this blog, all of them LINED UP in a LONG LINE those thieving minorities and took a share that is NOT THEIRS..

..well the notorious maloney took control of the fraud contracts to get into the treasury….because he goes for the billions with help from sellouts..

there is a reason why there are SO MANY depressed areas on the island, there is a reason why the infrastructure in many parishes are dilapidated.
    there is a reason why young Black people have had NO OPPORTUNITIES worth talking about from the 70s..and it only got worse in the 90s and went all downhill from there…

they all RIPPED OFF THE TREASURY..and pension fund and spent decades doing it…

that’s why the idiot Enuff is happy, but if i had my way, i would make sure the clown is investigated in US to see if it laundered any of those stolen billions there..

31. @ WURA-War-on-U May 27, 2021 7:48 PM

What’s the purpose of having such a high-cost BTMI reporting to a high-profile MOT if deliverables such as the one in question have to be outsourced to a consultant / third party contractor?

Doesn’t the same BTMI have highly qualified promotion and marketing personnel already ‘engaged’ and highly remunerated at its HQ and in the many overseas sub-offices along with a bevy of highly-paid consultants feeding from the repainted red trough?

Don’t worry, the IMF will soon put an end to this profligate waste of already scarce financial resources when it removes the figurative cheque book from the country’s MOF as it did under the Sandy regime.

32. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Then we will see how much energy it has left to laugh…

33. Batsman who cannot read any of those bowling not even the one in the bowling alley TheO

34. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Something has to be done about them Miller…there are highly skilled young people on the island who can come up with slogans or designs or whatever is needed in a flash, but these crooks in the parliament and taxpayer funded state enterprises ALWAYS have to involve the crooked minorities or some foreign firm..

.i remember when Walter Blackman as an actuary was on the island and could have been given the job to look at the finances i think of the same NIS…..these clowns, no different to the current clowns hired a Canadian firm belonging to a minister in the Canadian parliament and paid a ton of money because they did not want anyone Black to get the job….or the money

these are the same criminals believe after all of that they will slither into Africa without the continent being put on notice about their evil antiblack activities to undermine the Black population.

had a young designer from the island put together something for me last year, it was world class, good enough to cross borders….that one had to leave the island before the crooks started stealing his work…

another youngster at BIDC put together another really good set of designs for me years ago, but circumstances caused me to never use it….that too was so good i had planned to use it in North America..

they always go hunting for those who could help them rob the treasury, they do not need to go looking for talented or qualified people or overpriced companies, but it’s for the element of greedy, corruption and TIEFING from the people..

right now the only people i can see doing my artistic work are the young people on the island…they are that good.

35. In 23 the score will be another 3o – 0

Consistently bowling’s wides ?

36. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

What is really heartbreaking is that the young people are afraid to display their work anywhere, they are afraid it’s stolen from them, it’s only now it’s coming to light what they have been doing to the young on the island for decades, destroying their self-confidence and shattering their spirits.

37. Here to explain the spin
    This story carries a picture of Charles Herbert
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/05/27/gel-pins-recovery-on-vaccines-tourism/

This is a PR move. What you are seeing is the repair of the reputation of CH.

The title should have been… The Rehabilitation of CH.

38. In 23 the score will be another 3o – 0

Consistently bowling’s wides ?

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I TRULY HOPE SO BECAUSE IT WILL CLEARLY SHOW:

LITTLE ISLAND, LITTLE BRAINS

39. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

One things for sure, they will be exposed everywhere from now on for stealing from creatives, that game is also up…hope they enjoyed their last thefts.

40. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    Note the silence on BU re: Sandy Lane applying for a work permit for : Assistant Director Food & Beverage.
    Sandy Lane : “ Having received no suitable applications.
    Note the word “ suitable”
    Not one Barbadian is “ suitable” ?
    It’s high time that governments implement a policy that all hotels must have Barbadians in positions and being trained to fill these vacancies when they come about, so that this nefarious often racist crap is permanently stopped.

41. @ WURA
    Note the silence on BU re: Sandy Lane applying for a work permit for : Assistant Director Food & Beverage.
    Sandy Lane : “ Having received no suitable applications.
    Note the word “ suitable”
    Not one Barbadian is “ suitable” ?
    It’s high time that governments implement a policy that all hotels must have Barbadians in positions and being trained to fill these vacancies when they come about, so that this nefarious often racist crap is permanently stopped.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

SEEMS NOW A DAYS THE LOCALS ARE ONLY GOOD FOR PICKING UP ASH ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND.

42. Little Island L̶i̶t̶t̶l̶e̶ ̶E̶n̶g̶l̶a̶n̶d̶ ̶Little Afrika

43. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“It’s high time that governments implement a policy that all hotels must have Barbadians in positions and being trained to fill these vacancies when they come about, so that this nefarious often racist crap is permanently stopped.”

they take million dollar BRIBES not to…it’s been said continually over many years that the policy should be in place, never going to happen as long as million dollar bribes are flowing into greedy hands so they can get in the newpapers and boast about it..

it’s a way of making sure there are NO OPPORTUNITIES for the people on the island, especially the young, we have seen what government suppression of opportunities for young Black people has done to the island from the 70s, from Barrow days, all we have to do is look around and see the SAME communities are in the same state of disrepair and decay or in even worse condition, that is the result of NEGLECT and THEFTS from the treasury.

What i would like to see are all DBLP supporters like fowl Enuff who live off island investigated to see how many millions out of the stolen billions over the decades they laundered in UK, US, Canada or wherever they have been hiding and laughing at those thefts from the Black population and boasting about being billion dollar projects manager and this and that, it’s clear they use their supporters to launder all over the place.

a relative of those in the parliament was boasting and laughing because the Black population was not cut any slack and would still go to prison for the marijuana plant, don’t hear the creep laughing and boasting so much now…nothing to boast about anymore. The rug got pulled from under their feet with the marijuana, catspraddle their evil, thieving asses.

these are the worse types of criminals:
    stealing opportunities from the young,
    stealing inventions and the work of creatives for decades and selling it for their own benefit,
    stealing from generations of the unborn,

a very nasty and savage GANG OF THIEVES in the parliament and minority community..and they got away for decades because there was no one to fight on behalf of their victims.
    not anymore, they have their own vehicle to expose them now.
    just hope David Weekes gets to see it.

44. Theo
    Consistently bowling wiiiiides and no balls is still consistency!🤣🤣🤣

45. Do any of you even try to respond to what I write? Imagine a “slow learner” like me keeps a whole coven busy. Abigail aka WURA de Salemite hopes I get arrested. Well mi dear, only way that’s possible is if one can be charged with respiring. Your contributions are the kind of shyte celebrated on BU. Void of facts, full of inflated tales and plain lies, which says a lot about ye so-called defenders of integrity blah, blah. You find the pictures of the houses in Coverley you took yet?🤭

46. Milluh + nuff words = 0

“How do you find the time to service your demandingly large clientele while having so much extra-time on your lazy lying hands to defend the same small-island administration in its every bleep, blunder and foul-up?”

Simple! I am not a “slow learner” and when one’s contribution is rooted in an awareness of existing FACTS and logic, one need not trawl comments sections for responses or conjure stories. That’s why you’re stuck attacking me and not the message. Bye🖐🏾🖐🏾

47. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Pictures of the Coverley drug hole DOG KENNELS that people in the US who were targeted REJECTED…so you don’t know what dog kennels look like….just drive pass the highway to the airport and see them, ya can’t miss them, even tourists laugh at them and ask “what are those colored boxes?”

you are a FRAUD, every post you make on BU confirms that….keep trying to empower a SINKING corrupt government to ROB the Black population and see how far it gets ya…

ah know yall been busy searching all over cyberspace these days, keep on searching.

48. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Just understand that i can go places where thieves, sellouts, fowl slaves and criminals….CANNOT ENTER…yall are NOT WELCOMED…ya are being ISOLATED…

enjoy ya new status…THIEVES….and money launderers..

49. Enuff give them a break.They cannot refute nothing you have stated.The madwoman does not even know the name of the company she is speaking about and rehadjes the same cold stale warm ovrr soup everyday .Theiving lawyers thieving minorites blah blah blah..The wordsith talks repeatedly about Hyatt and the red bag seems afraid to ask Ms Mottley directly.The undercover dem duopoly specialist speaks out of both sided of his mouth regularly.One pretends he is a comedian a very poor one and AC is just lost hoping to hold on upon something to catch some traction with for the political nightwatchman
    My conclusion a very poor bunch.