The Barbados government recently launched the Little Island Big Barbados campaign and immediately those responsible are having to defend against a torrent of criticism from the public. The thrust of the concern: the campaign is a tired concept several islands have used to promote tourism for which Barbados is whispered to have forked out $700,000.00.

In the blog BLP and DLP Cancer of Adversarial Politics the blogmaster raised concerns that are applicable in this case. 

Yesterday the Reverend Guy Hewitt (also see: Is Guy Hewitt the Way, Truth and Light for the DLP?) was featured in the news in clarion voice calling for the resignation of Minister of Tourism Lisa Cummins. The good Reverend as spokesman for the DLP- our government in waiting- has the right to call for the resignation of Cummins. If we want to promote a culture of high performance built on meritocracy, when mistakes are made or persons perform poorly, there should be consequences. Although the facts of the matter have not been disclosed to the public – pending an internal investigation by Chairman of the BTMI Roseanne Myers – there is enough smoke to the story to suggest public concerns are valid given the large sum allegedly disbursed for the campaign.

Source: DLP St. Andrew Facebook Page

A takeaway from the imbroglio for the blogmaster is the use of the resignation tactic by politicians on both sides of the aisle. It was not too long ago the incumbent Attorney General (AG) Dale Marshall called for the resignation of then AG Adriel Brathwaite. There were calls for the resignation of Michael Carrington to resign as Speaker of the House Assembly the revelation he had to pass around a hat to collect donations to make good on a client’s monies owed. The blogmaster joined strident calls for Denis Lowe to resign after the Cahill Expose. Fast forward to the present there have been calls for Dale Marshall over concerns about crime, before that it was Wilfred Abrahams and the sordid practice by GIS staffers to emotionally and physically abuse detainees at the GIS, whomever is responsible for the fiasco at Barbados Revenue Authority re car registrations and the latest Lisa Cummins to step down or be fired. They all survived the job. No doubt when the dust is settled so too will Lisa Cummins, one of those Mottley has pencilled in on her succession plan.

A critical examination of the way recent governments have operated in Barbados is that firing has not been a go to option. The calls from political talking heads for opposite members to resign is all about generating froth to feed a perception of relevance in the eyes of a disengaged and unsophisticated electorate. One has to go back to Arthur’s obvious firing of George Payne and Elizabeth Thompson to find good examples of ministerial sackings. Some may offer that a reshuffle is a form of demotion given the pecking order of some ministries, it is not a firing.

In the climate of adversarial politics the DLP is doing what the system allows for a political party to seek traction and visibility in the eyes of the public. Especially two years out from a general election.

743 responses to “Little Island Big Cabinet”

1. “the Big republic of little England”

Given that a significant portion of our tourist is from Big England, the Miller has stumbled on the perfect Big Driver.

Surely, he will inform us of his big paycheck from the big government.

2. From Darkness To Light
    Om asatomo satgamaya
    Tamasoma jyotirgamaya
    Mrityorma amritamgamaya

Take us from the false to the truth.
    From darkness to light.
    From death to eternal life.

Inner Tuning: I carry the understanding that
    each moment is a rebirth, and each moment is
    illuminated by that which never changes, never dies.

3. Obviously he targeted Lisa Cummins because she is the MoT and the buck stops with her.

4. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“while trying to re-brand the almost 400 year-old ‘Royal’ English livery from the rewriting of the Constitution to the office of the GG to the Privy Council to Parliament to the Cabinet to the Judiciary to the Civil Service to the Judiciary to the RBPF and BDF in less than 6 months?”

ah already stocking up on all kinds of treats for that one..the entertainment value is worth the cost,

don’t forget the draft legislations wiating for proclaimation…or will it be ratification if there is no UK agent in place anymore…..to LEGITIMIZE and further NORMALIZE CORRUPTION…

5. “They said that the current Minister couldn’t be blamed for the mess since t was conceived prior to her stewardship but neither uld the previous Minister Kerry, I guess the buck stops at you and you and you or the beach bums patrolling the beach”

Do I detect a reluctance of some of you and you and you to accept the blame.

6. @ John2 May 27, 2021 10:38 AM
    “How can he cuddle a convicted criminal
    But try to crucify a sister for something that is not of her making ?

Political or hypocrisy or political hypocrisy ?”

This ONE occasion we can agree with 100%.

William Skinner must be most impressed with you intellectual advancement.

Maybe “he”, your blue-blooded brother called Twiddle Dem, is taking a leaf out of the DBLP red blue and yellow songbook with its signature song being: ‘Maloney the Baloney torn between two lovers’.

At least you are beginning to see the light, if only out of one ‘red’ eye.

7. Maybe if she was MOT back then and still is now

The people that should have resigned over that incident are no longer in position

8. Davidoff of BU
    FYI I got a thing again
    (“Your comment is awaiting moderation.”)

I’m Audi 5000
    (hip hop slang for I’m outta here)
    when something or someone is bad for your soul
    they have to get out the car or get thrown out the limo window
    and are left behind to look at through the rear view mirror
    as they get smaller
    and you get further
    they eventually disappear into a little nothing

9. “I know Hewitt don’t have any office to resign for .- I was just playing”.

😊 I knew you were just playing as there is no room in adversarial cricket for long-,hops and no-balls 😀

However, I hope you take my suggestion seriously. Watch AC.

10. David
    Nope! He had bad information. 🤣

11. Miller

I could care less what you or your other cry baby duopoly brother think about me

12. TheO

I see Mari deliveries every day and you described her well

From your description I visualize her ball either too far down offstunp one moment then far down leg side the next
    Poor wicket diving al around and can only get a glove to deflect the ball and another fielder have to run around to stop it from going over the ropes

13. 10:44-11:28
    Your comment is awaiting moderation.
    You got me waiting, contemplating,
    you’ve got me hangin’ on a string now

Take us from the untruth to the truth
    truth is the reality
    untruth is illusion falseness also deception
    lead me from illusion to reality

second line is
    From darkness to light.
    which means lead me from darkness to light
    and the darkness is the darkness of ignorance
    it’s the darkness of not knowing who we are
    and the light is the true knowing of our essence

The third line
    From death to eternal life
    immortality eternity
    it’s a journey from illusion of death
    to the realisation we never die
    we are never born we never die
    that the essence always remains
    and with practise by going deeper
    we can find that place within us that doesn’t change
    that doesn’t have the mood swings
    that doesn’t get affected by life and death
    it’s a silent deep clear centre
    that will always remain
    whether we are in our physical bodies
    or move onto other realms
    that are a mystery to us

14. I am here for you.

! place the phrases “brand driver”,
    “A brand driver is used to influence the development of a brand’s identity and image in the marketplace. It is an internal understanding of what the brand represents, not a consumer-facing tagline or slogan”
    “fully integrated, 360-degree campaign”,
    “There is no doubt that the ethos of our brand sits in the spirit of our people, a spirit imbued by the Almighty with a bold sense that this little island has the ability to punch above its weight,”,
    “This in itself is a differentiating deployment of a tagline and hence a unique marketing tool that will allow us to connect to multiple passions and themes of culinary, adventure, heritage and leisure. Our taglines speak to both our passion and the passion”of our visitors. It serves to excite them to come and visit us”

in my verbal analyzer and was surprised at the summary. Horse manure; a few people went to school too long. They are trying to dazzle you with BS. But as I said, I am here for you. I got this.

Let me add, that they have added more fuel to the fire with the phrase “I will not give you the number, but what I will tell you is that that is significantly exaggerated.”

How much is a gross exaggeration? Thousands? Tens of thousands? Fifty thousand? Hundreds of thousands?
    Given the stage of this story, withholding this critical piece of information is nothing more than a coverup.
    Why is there a discrepancy?
    Could this discrepancy be explained by portion of the payment being under the table and off the books?

As a member of you and you and you and who must carry the blame, I want this information

15. You know why nobody plays chest with a pigeon? Its because regardless of how bad you beat him he behaves the same way. He will strut around the board knock over the men and crap on the board anyway. The same applies to all other manner of feathered fowl it would appear!

16. Have a great day.
    I believe Mariposa should be on later in the day.
    New ball or old ball, fireworks are guaranteed.
    I am just sitting and waiting.
    :-)I does kill myself. My own family hates me because I laugh at my own jokes 🙂

17. @ John2 May 27, 2021 11:14 AM
    “I could care less what you or your other cry baby duopoly brother think about me..”

D’accord!!

Why should you care?

But what we all know for certain is that there isn’t a scintilla of difference between Twiddle Bee the ‘john’ No.2 and the Twiddle Dem angela cox the ac side of the ac/dc coin both spinning like a blue yellow and red tot in mud on the BU playground for purebred political yardfowls.

Why not design a ‘”brand driver” to differentiate yourself from the common breed fowls in the political yard by explaining the presence of the much maligned former MoF Sinckler in your MAM’s cabinet of economic advisors merely regurgitating the same brand of BS?

18. BTW: I saw a video about Jabez House in Barbados.
    Check it out.
    Donate
    On the founder: Little woman, Big heart.

19. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Little island, Evolving story..

how many years have we said that DBLP, their taxpayer sucking employees, and their hangerson, fowls etc, DO NOT DO DUE DILIGENCE…to them those two words are like the word DIVERSIFY…don’t compute, foreign and alien.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/05/27/bteditorial-surviving-another-blunder/

“Thousands of tourism workers have been laid off and unlikely to find permanent positions any time soon; many hotels, guest houses and apartments are virtually empty.

Barbados is currently operating on borrowed foreign reserves.

We cannot, at this stage, afford to make such amateur mistakes. As Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados, Cleviston Haynes, outlined in his last review of the economy, it is not a pretty picture.”

20. “I believe Mariposa should be on later in the day.
    New ball or old ball, fireworks are guaranteed.
    I am just sitting and waiting”

Mariposa 2.0 seems to be a new model
    Mariposa 1.0 used to make disposable comments
    like used and soiled tissue or toilet paper to be discarded

the new release seems to have the essence of a presence
    of the murdered reporter who criticised BU comment policy

with the psyops lies and spin of a pro

you can spot the similarities of traits in personalities
    who may bat for the same side
    or may be the same player
    reincarnated in a rebirth after previous life and death

I will put this out there for people to ponder
    and speak aloud their own thoughts like this

21. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

William…despite evidence and reality STARING RIGHT AT THEM…they are still FOOLING THE ELECTORATE…that there will be some kinda miraculous tourism recovery, which in reality CANNOT happen any time soon……just as they fooled and deceived them to be elected in 2018..

while they refuse to do anything useful, progressive and advancing…..except for attempting to repackage corrupt maloney (their words) as some building savior…

as the Times article that PLT posted revealed, the people are indeed being endangered ..

and stuffed with LIES…..by lying politicians/ministers/honorable Slaves (my words).

22. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Miller…what do you expect…not one of them have a CREATIVE BONE in their yardfowl bodies, they don’t even know the definition of the word…unless it relates to TIEFING the creations, painting, inventions of creatives…and not one creative is about to help them either…let them SINK…

creatives will help people individually or as a group….no colonial/agent titled clowns and their Slaves need apply..

23. John A

if it appears to you that the ” same applies to all” birds then why single out the pigeon mr peacock?

24. now dont come back and say you didnt cherry pick the pigeon that you said all birds and i am the cherry picker

25. Lord what a thing I ain’t mention a fellow name and just so look you fly in! Lol

26. TheO

you got a link or other directions? if you not playing

27. u in a public forum sir

28. explain your logic of beating up on the pigeon when the peacock does the samething.

29. A video was shared in a group.
    However, I found the May 21 video by searching Jabez House on FB.
    Put aside the politics. Beautiful men and women in Barbados.

30. Brandon consulting agency the name given that help put this ad together
    So far only name reference found is a fb page having little detail

31. I will get my girl on the ground to check it out

32. John the FB post of a few days ago is worth watching.
    —-x—-
    First ball delivered and batsmen in hiding already.
    Seated and waiting on a few more balls from Mariposa. With this lively wicket, it may be best to hide.

33. Beautiful barbados …where dogs are never on the menu

34. Govt sent a henchman to play out field David can u find out who is this Brandon agency which the henchman let slip out his mouth which able Mariposa to catch while squatting. In deep cover

35. This is the only available info

https://m.facebook.com/brandor.ro/

36. This might be another embarrassing moment if this company was selected via FB book
    Can’t find anything else on the internet about Brandor consulting agency

https://m.facebook.com/brandor.ro/

37. TheO

I see Mari know about as much cricket as u

She taking a catch while squatting in deep cover . Interesting 🤔

38. @Enuff
    Chatrani got wunna stammering. I said from the get go that Myers need not be defensive.
    Got who stammering? Have you read the same thing that all of us have been reading?

Let me refresh you from the article

“I served as Chairman of the Board of the BTMI from July 2018 to December 2020. At the time of my departure, under my chairmanship, our board signed off on Little Island Big. A brand driver is used to influence the development of a brand’s identity and image in the marketplace. It is an internal understanding of what the brand represents, not a consumer-facing tagline or slogan.”
    Why then would the current Chair say that the slogan would be reviewed? Shouldn’t she have rubber stamped it and damn the torpedoes? BTW Chatrani and Chase (Director of Marketing BTMI) avoided the elephant in the room i.e. that the slogan or facsimile was well used by other countries.

Carry on smartly defending everything the Gov’t does even when it becomes the butt of jokes on the social network

39. From Darkness To Light
    Om asatomo satgamaya
    Tamasoma jyotirgamaya
    Mrityorma amritamgamaya

From darkness to light.

40. From Darkness To Light
    Om asatomo satgamaya
    Tamasoma jyotirgamaya
    Mrityorma amritamgamaya

From darkness to light.

41. From Darkness To Light

From darkness to light.

42. John2
    The lady in the nets, by herself and still struggling. She can’t even get the name of the agency right…..or deliberately being dishonest to spread lies. I bet you that same ‘slogan’ shame Dem? Earlier she bowled a wiiiide talking about government giving away land but who provided 40 acres of land at Bath, St.John for the rastafarian community and reinstalled electricity and water at Temple Yard after both were disconnected under the Dems? Who is about to redevelop the same Temple Yard through the UDC? Who about to give 50 acres to youth at Wakefield for farming?When your opponent is in your strongest seat racking up achievements and with zero seats in parliament your leader runs away, you’re in a bad state. More frightening is the leader in trying to get a foothold in St.Lucy is reported as saying “there is really a lot that needs to be done in St Lucy”, this is after the parish was represented in Parliament by a DLP member for 32 unbroken years starting in 1986, 18 of which the party was the government. Added to this are the topics she focused on water and buses when the BWA busy laying mains in St Lucy, a desal plant is in the works, more buses are coming and a mass transit franework. So that platform dead in the waatuh! The fact is that Dems can’t handle the government’s performance and know that with 2 years still to go another beating awaits. QEH upgraded A&E opening early next month. More HOPE housing coming, including St.Lucy and St.John. Vending legislation coming, National digital ID, licensing authority sorted (asycuda caused a lot of early noise too), new ways to pay and receive money, new mechanics and bodywork clusters, scotland district rehab, more buses, more road improvements, new recycling and garbage collection, Vineyard project, new reservoirs, more water from Ionics, IL (the legislation for the commission has already been passed), whstleblower legislation etc etc all before the next election. KLM and Aer Lingus starting flights later in the year. Yuh remember empty Gol from Brazil? The Dems would do better to send a bowling machine.🤣🤣🤣

43. Sargeant
    Can you tell me what the $500,000 bought? Can you tell me what are the usual rates? Can you tell me the success or failure rate of the recently launched slogan/brand driver/motto? Then on what basis am I to make an informed and robust decision about the value or efficacy of the campaign? I said Chatrani got wunna stammering because the talk was to fire the Minister. By the way it is my right to defend who or what I choose. Just like others have the right to talk shyte and tell lies. Plus I enjoy stirring wunna up but I don’t spin.😭

44. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

An agency from UK…..

a gifted teenager from any of the schools would have done a better job, and they would not have had to pay 750,000 dollars…50,000 dollars would have been a windfall..for any teenager and they would have done a superb job…getting one to do some work for me now..

.but the frauds like to commission those who don’t need the money and leave their people without opportunities.

45. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Little Island, BIG Filing Cabinet Filled with Evidence….lawd..

46. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Someone just asked me if i was crazy, if i still wanted to give them the benefit of the doubt, am i forgetting that they would TIEF the teenager’s creation, like they steal their paintings created for CXC grading and sell it to crooks like themselves, instead of returning to the children…. AND DON’T PAY THE KIDS A DIME then, they would still TIEF $750,000 from the treasury and claimed that’s how much they paid for the slogan…

not even crabs would want anything to do with those lowlifes.

problem for them, they did not take Donville’s conviction seriously…a bunch of dummies.

47. ‘All the talk,’ Enuff just bowled two good overs of steady spin, good line and length, one or two in-swingers, a few reverse swing…………… and took 5 wickets in the process.

48. Ok before I am accused if spreading fake news
    Let me get the facts right concerning the name of the consultant agency

Xxxxxxxx
    Straight from the horses mouth

He explained that the process began in 2018 in collaboration with brand consulting agency Brandor in collaboration with officials from the Barbados Tourism Investment Inc. (BTII), Invest Barbados, and the National Cruise Development Commission.
    Xccccccccccc
    What would be of interest and for the better interest of the country and people if u spoke towards accountability being open and transparent giving more details about this Brandor consulting agency location and cost
    Many would have sympathize with Lisa if the truth was being told
    Instead in today’s paper a henchman made entry to give barbadians a bundle of crap wrapped in gift paper expecting that the crap would suffice and quell the wagging tongues most of whom has lost respect for this govt

49. @Artax

Enuff’s returns will be based on the prevailing conditions?