As the blogmaster is typing he is witnessing a scene in the US Capitol akin to what is associated in countries often described as banana republics. It is impossible to find the words to accurately describe events which have caused the ceremonial event of the Electoral College to be suspended as members scatter to preserve life and limb.

1,694 responses to “The USA is Burning”

1. Oh yeah, the second tweet that caused Twitter problems was that Trump said the 75 million plus voters who voted for him have a GIANT voice!!

Twitter took issue with GIANT!!

They are scared shitless of Donald Trump and will do anything to destroy him!!!

Truly a fascist/communist regime in the making!!

It is going to backfire!!

2. Hedonism is the religion. You do know that filing a lawsuit is not the same as winning one.

I am so happy that Hal Austin is going to defend my right to call him a miserable man who should curl up and die instead of informing me that it would be “considered a threat in any proper jurisdiction”.

3. PLT

Stay away from things legal, you are useless!!

I am only half a lawyer.

You gotta be less than 1%!!

4. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Now Trump is not president, expect the lockdowns to end. Vaccines no longer required to open up the country. New York is first, expect more to follow. Expect how case numbers are reported to also change soon from now.

https://www.foxnews.com/politics/cuomo-coronavirus-lockdown-reopen-economy

5. “Twitter claims two tweets incite violence.
    On is that Trump Tweeted he would not be going to the inauguration of the new administration on 2th.
    The other is even more ridiculous.”

the straw that broke the camel’s back had 2,000 straws beneath it

that’s mathematics

Two months of trump’s crap incited the violence

you were hanging onto every word of his nonsense

which makes you one more moron in the American dream

Karma is, you are all a bunch of failures but too stupid to realise

the delayed death touch Dim Mak has inflicted the killer blow on all y’all

the riot is the evidence to impeach the motherfucker

6. Freedom of speech has limitations under the law.

7. DonnaJanuary 11, 2021 8:22 PM

Freedom of speech has limitations under the law.

…. and those limitations are???

The control mechanism is the ability to sue someone who is practicing their freedom of speech for defamation.

8. Is Trump going to get his civil war in the land of the gun nuts.
    States are preparing for more violence as per FBI warnings.
    Michigan is banning rights to open carry guns.

9. THERE WILL ALWAYS BE BLACK SELLOUTS WHETHER IN USA OR ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Black GOP Congressmen who joined the Trump coup must resign

Republican House members Reps. Burgess Owens and Byron Donalds delegitimized the votes of Black Americans and desecrated the blood of our ancestors

Two newly-elected Black Republican congressmen signed up in support of the attempted Trump coup and overturn the 2020 presidential election — now it is time for them to resign.

These men joined a conspiracy to delegitimize the votes of Black Americans and desecrated the blood of our ancestors. And their act of sedition resulted in the White supremacist siege on the Capitol.

The two House members are Rep. Burgess Owens (R-UT), the former NFL player with ties to the QAnon pro-Trump conspiracy cult, and Byron Donalds (R-FL), a Black conservative and former Tea Party activist. Prior to the U.S. Capitol siege, Owens and Donalds joined the more than 100 Republicans who announced they would reject the Electoral College votes of certain states that brought presidential victory to Vice President-elect Joe Biden.

Owens, who calls himself the “anti-Colin Kaepernick” and labeled Black Lives Matter “a Marxist organization” comparable to the Ku Klux Klan, spoke at the Republican National Convention last year, praising Trump’s record on race.

Owens tweeted that he was proud to join his GOP colleagues challenging Biden’s Electoral College certification. “This is not about ‘overturning an election’. This is about protecting the integrity of our elections,” he tweeted. Alliance for a Better Utah, a Utah-based government watchdog group has called for Owens’ resignation.

https://www.yahoo.com/news/black-gop-congressmen-joined-trump-222000691.html

10. What is this gossip I been hearing since last night that Nancy Pelosi was held up at the border and arrested?

I don’t believe it but people are saying it!!

She has handed over the Speaker’s position for the day to Debby Dingle/Dingell!!

I love these Democrat names.

11. Rush canceled his Twitter account!!

There goes 60 million or so!!

12. … actually 89 million gone!!

13. Rush has been on Twitter for 3 months.

89 million is not bad in 3 months!!

14. Rush’s birthday tomorrow, he’ll be 70.

Happy Birthday Rush!!

15. @John January 11, 2021 8:50 PM “Rush’s birthday tomorrow, he’ll be 70.”

He look real-real pop down for a 70 year old.

16. @John January 11, 2021 8:43 PM “What is this gossip I been hearing since last night that Nancy Pelosi was held up at the border and arrested?”

Voices in your head maybe?

Those voices are not real you know. You are the only body who ca hear them.

There are many good psychiatric medications on the market which work to quell voices in the head.

Ask you doctor to prescribe some for you.

17. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Cuhdear Bajan January 11, 2021 9:01 PM

Just in case you could not tell, Rush has cancer. He publicized it last year.

18. Just five years ago, conservative radio host Rush Limbaugh went on a pro-tobacco rant on his show, during which he downplayed the risks of smoking, said it’s “a myth” that secondhand smoke causes illness or death and argued that smokers aren’t at any greater risk than people who “eat carrots.”

“Smokers aren’t killing anybody,” the conservative host declared in an April 2015 segment of the “Rush Limbaugh Show,” then argued that tobacco users should be thanked because their purchases generate tax dollars that fund children’s health care programs.

“I’m just saying there ought to be a little appreciation shown for them, instead of having them hated and reviled,” Limbaugh said. “I would like a medal for smoking cigars, is what I’m saying.”

Source: The Denver Post, February 5, 2020

19. I guess that rush got his cancer medal for smoking.

Who am I to argue about him being so honored?

He still look real-real pop-down for a 70 year old.

20. As I said, you do know that filing a law suit and winning a law suit are two different things, don’t you?

I advise you to research the Turd’s record of success in law suits. Not very encouraging!

21. Bill Belichick turns down Presidential Medal of Freedom from Donald Trump, cites Capitol attack

Mon, January 11, 2021, 6:43 PM CST

New England Patriots head coach Bill Belichick won’t accept the Presidential Medal of Freedom he was scheduled to receive from President Donald Trump, he announced Monday.

News broke on Sunday that Trump intended to bestow the honor on the longtime NFL coach. The news was met with criticism in the aftermath of last week’s attack on the U.S. Capitol by a pro-Trump mob.

Belichick cited the attack in his announcement.

“Recently, I was offered the opportunity to receive the Presidential Medal of Freedom, which I was flattered by out of respect for what the honor represents and admiration for prior recipients,” Belichick wrote. “Subsequently, the tragic events of last week occurred and the decision has been made not to move forward with the award.

“Above all, I am an American citizen with great reverence for our nation’s values, freedom and democracy. I know I also represent my family and the New England Patriots team.

“One of the most rewarding things in my professional career took place in 2020 when, through the great leadership within our team, conversations about social justice, equality and human rights moved to the forefront and became actions. Continuing those efforts while remaining true to the people, team and country I love outweigh the benefits of any individual award.”

https://www.yahoo.com/sports/bill-belichick-turning-down-presidential-medal-of-freedom-from-donald-trump-cites-capitol-attack-004322680.html

22. Twitter shares falling.

Market will take care of them!!

23. Exclusive: FBI warns of potential boogaloo violence during Jan. 17 rallies

Federal authorities are warning state and local law enforcement about threats of possible violence by right-wing extremists at a series of protests planned for later this month in Washington and in state capitols, according to an FBI document obtained by Yahoo News.

The situational information report, produced by the Minneapolis field office of the FBI, is based on information provided by what it describes as “collaborative sources,” and was issued the week before a mob of Trump supporters violently stormed the U.S. Capitol. It addresses concerns about rallies that the far-right boogaloo movement plans to hold in cities across the country on Jan. 17.

https://www.yahoo.com/news/exclusive-fbi-warns-of-potential-boogaloo-violence-during-jan-17-rallies-170801569.html

24. I guess John Knox and the orange orangutan have something in common:……never won a lawsuit.

25. Bill Belichick turns down Trump’s Medal of Freedom offer. When yuh down, yuh down. hahaha. He was told to shove his medal….

26. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

“Twitter shares falling.
    Market will take care of them!!”

Actually I suspect that if u are indeed smartly using that God given brain box of yours that you would see this as a buy opportunity …. well or wait for a few more points off the top, if there is still a bottom to go.

Twitter is still the biggest megaphone of its type so until Parler or others on the right get a footing it will be worth its investment .

Dont be so stupid to catch at this Trump straw … the POTUS ac will be turned over to Biden in a few days anyhow thus many of that 70 plus million will drop off until Biden gets his cheering section replacement … we dont know how Biden will use the service but definitely NOT like this man, so its overall popularity may decline.

Regardless, ‘TWTR’ has much investment interest left yet!

Get out of your la la land!

27. de pedantic DribblerJanuary 11, 2021 11:38 PM

“Twitter shares falling.
    Market will take care of them!!”

Actually I suspect that if u are indeed smartly using that God given brain box of yours that you would see this as a buy opportunity …. well or wait for a few more points off the top, if there is still a bottom to go.

Junior, Junior Junior

Bad idea.

Twitter been losing $$ for a while!!

28. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Apart from the NY Bar looking to remove lying lawyers… they should be sanctioned and lose their licences generally.

An officer of the court is duty bound to present info with integrity and when you edit a video that shows legitimate ballots being securely stored for the night and re-issue a version which you purport shows illegitimate and previous unknown ballots being newly introduced to the ballot count you SHOULD be disbarred or censured with suspension .

Additionally when the US Justice Dept and FBI report that they are increasing sanctions to associates of a Ukraine politician Andrii Derkach who they allege is now KNOWN as a Russian asset for many years and who they report fabricated “malicious narratives that U.S. Government officials have engaged in corrupt dealings in Ukraine” one wonders why the PRIVATE lawyer of the POTUS who was one of those persons who associated closely with this man’s false data is still not sanctioned.

One also has to wonder again about Manchurian candidates and why RUSSIA continues to be a major nexus for this administration.

The most depressing irony is to consider that one of these mob ‘patriots’ type may be the same protagonist to bring Trump his final act when the truth of his ‘friendship’ to the russian mother country is exposed!

Such is life.

29. Stupid John Knox,

Don’t you think Twitter factored that into their decision????

Meanwhile two Capitol Hill police offices are suspended – one for taking selfies with the rioters and the other for letting them in.

“LAW AND ORDER!”

30. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

What is losing money in this tech world, oh smart man!

Looka, I am not going to get I to a balance sheet debate with a man of your delusional rantings so let’s leave it here.

Uber, Lyft, as examples were been ‘losing money’ for a while yet their IPOs were off the charts and they have continued to bubble along ok thus far… Twitter is not that much different in that general sense.

I simply wanted to highlight that your Twitter remark was devoid of solid reasoning… so I dun wid u and dat!

31. Between Trump and Rush, Twitter may lose over 100 million in audience.

Its revenues are probably from advertisers wanting to access that 100 million.

The idea was to separate Trump from his supporters but that is not possible!!

Twitters revenues will fall, probably like a rock and through the floor!!

The Democrats expected the voters to repudiate Trump. the opposite happened.

Trump is real, Twitter etc are imaginary.

Twitter needs Trump et al more than Trump et al need Twitter.

Twitter probably lost 60% plus of its audience!!

Trump will make a killing, if he wants to!!

The advertisers will come to him because what’s left on Twitter like freeness and don’t spend money!!

The market will adjust.

32. de pedantic DribblerJanuary 12, 2021 12:21 AM

What is losing money in this tech world, oh smart man!

What’s the national debt of China?

… America???!!

33. JohnJanuary 11, 2021 8:50 PM

Limbaugh? You post all kind of videos from this right wing nut. If he is the epitome of guidance to you, well, speaks for itself, you are so far down the rabbit hole, you do not know how to get out.

You do know that no one here (or any rational people) take Limbaugh seriously?

34. BAJEJanuary 11, 2021 8:41 PM

A lesson for the young readers here and anywhere actually. Just because a person has some intelligence, or is able to qualify and practice successfully in a chosen field, does not necessarily correlate with global intelligence or rational behaviour.

Whether due to personal or environmentally driven bias, or simply due to lack of emotional intelligence, or just a very narrow minded ability to truly understand only one area, there are many examples of people, such as Ben Carson, who have excelled in one narrow field, but shown abysmal judgement in other areas.

Of course, taking Carson, one knee jerk is simply to see him as a typical Uncle Tom. But really, it shows that brilliance in one area can be matched by idiocy in another.

So, young people should use this as cautionary, in understanding who to follow, who to use as role models.

35. It is well known that law enforcement agencies have long been penetrated by these extremists groups.

Expect a purge come after January 21, after suitable investigations. And no, it will not be a witchhunt. It will be getting rid of unsuitable people who should never have been in the force to begin with.

Is it any wonder that black people are shot and beaten by police, when some of them are actually extremists in sheep clothing?

Those police in the Capitol should not just be fired, they should be locked up for a minimum of ten years, for violating their oath. They risked the lives of both Congressmen and Senators.

Any House or Senate member who does not support a full cleanup of police agencies would have ti be an extremist themselves.

36. JohnJanuary 12, 2021 1:36 AM The Democrats expected the voters to repudiate Trump. the opposite happened.

What do you think happened in November?? Stop writing, you are just making yourself seem even more insane.

All you are doing is confirming what most readers would suspect. That you have totally lost it.

37. @ Quaker John

W£e are going down the wrong path when a private company such as Twitter can ban anyone from speaking out, even if we disagree with what that person has to say. It is worse when that person is the titular most powerful person in the world. What is the message being sent?
    Facebook, Twitter, Google and all the leading social media companies must be controlled. Today it is Trump, but who will be next?

38. Is he being banned without cause?

39. “Black power man desperately seeking white supremacist for friendly chat.”

Pathetic!

40. What ignorance. People can be banned for saying coghhhhh blind yuh or raaaasssoul – under the rubric of unclean words

But a criminal who breaks every law, norm, tradition known to God and man has some right to execute an insurrection from a seat of power. What ignorance.

Donald John Trump should have been dragged out of Casa Blanca and executed on Thursday morning last.

This is where a socalled enlightenment ethos has led us.

41. Why those cunts turning an insurrection into a rights issue have never advocated that the 2.5 million prisoners in America’s dungeons have twitter and facebooks accounts as well.

Right under their rassssoooul nose, in the Tower of London, Julian Assange has been rottening in a British jail of some type for nearly a decade but not a fucking word from them.

All of a sudden a fascist dictator has some exclusive tight to communication devices as instruments to mislead hordes of ignoramus es.

42. Right

43. What about obvious voter suppression that affected minority (black) vote in the last US election? We love to cherrypick issues that are soaked in narrow personal interest.

44. Black John is a waste of oxygen, i remember posting a youtube video a youngster calling himself mr.ghanababy posts and the BU public nuisance immediately started to critize the dude, turns out mrghanababy gave up his job as an AEROSPACE ENGINEER to educate Black people across the diaspora about Africa to debunk all the lies told by the piece of shit himself and others who get on BU and try to denigrate black people because he so hates his black self, he cant even step into the young African man’s shoes.

45. West Virginia legislator resigns after arrest for storming the Capitol.

It is sad and scary but also hilarious watching these right wing nuts crash and burn.

Even though I have never had any real respect for America, even though I saw this coming, even though I expected a white supremacist last desperate stand, it is hard to keep my head from spinning.

Why? I don’t know. There are people still living who had vicious dogs released on them and raging policeman beating them with batons simply for trying to vote!

As I keep telling impatient Bajans – fifty years is not a long time. There are people still alive who remember the 1937 uprising.

46. A private company can ban who it likes. The US courts supported that when the cake company refused to served the gay couple.

It is called precedent, case dismissed.

47. David

These misguided attempts to protect the socalled rights of Donald Trump for in doing so secures the liberties of us all has little merit.

People of colour, indigenous peoples, others, have NEVER known the full benefits of socalled Enlightenment.

In any event it has come to a dead end

48. (Quote):
    W£e are going down the wrong path when a private company such as Twitter can ban anyone from speaking out, even if we disagree with what that person has to say. It is worse when that person is the titular most powerful person in the world. What is the message being sent?
    Facebook, Twitter, Google and all the leading social media companies must be controlled. Today it is Trump, but who will be next? (Unquote.)
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Is that the same position you take when the contributions from our own ‘enlightened’ Pachamama are seen as ‘heretical’ (in your eyes only) with you constantly asking for him, Pacha, to be treated as persona non grata on BU?

It’s a good thing the BU Blogmaster is not of similar mindset. Otherwise, there would be no longer any ‘Notes from the [Bajan] Native Son aka the make-believe Limey shade thrower from the Ivy.

‘Those who live in glass houses should not throw stones (at window shades)’.⁓
    From a congregant in the temple of Free Speech in memory of Martin Niemöller.