It has been more than ten years the Barbados economy has been performing poorly – a situation triggered by the global financial crisis of 2008. Some of us are old enough to remember the oil crisis of the 70s as well as the fiscal challenges of the 90s which negatively affected the cost of living for Barbadians. There was the global economic boom of the 90s that ended in the early 2000s which coincided with the Owen Arthur administration. Although Arthur is credited with overseeing a reduction in unemployment to 7% and creating an unprecedented number of jobs, it is fair to say he had an easy wicket bat on.

There is a generation of Barbadian who has not had to experience the level of economic hardship currently affecting the country. This is exposed by the national conversations being generated daily in the different fora. We have two arguments we should not conflate in the ongoing debate.

There is casting blame on the political leadership AND Barbadians at large for not influencing and implementing effective economic and social models to navigate exogenous shocks which small open economies are most vulnerable.

Now that we have mired in economic and social stagnation for more than a decade with a contracting economy; high unemployment especially in the youth segment, high debt to GDP, crumbling physical infrastructure, National Insurance Scheme in the cross hairs, judicial system operating under the stress of a heavy backlog to name a few – there is the fierce urgency of now that should give wings to policymaking and the execution of projects by the government and other stakeholders in civil society.

There is who to blame AND there is the urgent need to address the problem, NOW.

We are now faced with the fact that tomorrow is today. We are confronted with the fierce urgency of now. In this unfolding conundrum of life and history, there is such a thing as being too late. This is no time for apathy or complacency. This is a time for vigorous and positive action

Martin Luther King Jr

Let us blame who we want for the problems facing us today if we must, although sensible citizens will admit there is enough blame to go around to explain the current state of affairs in the country. It does not change the fact Barbados finds itself staring down the barrel of economic hardship for years to come. With economic hardship there will be the concomitant social challenges. We have already started to see an increase in violent crime, scant regard for traffic laws, increase in the homeless and vagrancy to list a few.

Against this pessimistic background we have the unions making demands, individual citizens making demands, private sector making demands, all comers making demands. It brings to mind the saying ‘a house divided against itself, cannot cannot stand‘.

Barbadians have been labelled an intelligent people. One does not have to be a rocket scientist to appreciate the country is in a pickle which means citizens all are also in the same same pickle. It therefore requires our government, public officials AND the majority of the electorate to sing from the same song sheet to confront an unprecedented challenge. Some will say this it is a naive expectation because it is the state of mind of households feeding the emotions of individuals. How can they be expected to overcome an innate behaviour to survive by willingly feeding in to the macro picture?

A more responsible media will have to play a leadership role to promote awareness of the issues especially of the financial variety. It is regrettable the toxic level of political partisanship that has seeped into how we manage our affairs of late. The death of Patrick Hoyos has expanded the vacuum in traditional media on reporting financial matters. Political parties have not been able to appoint competent players to challenge government’s army of financial actors. Academics from the UWI, Cave Hill expected to interject with independent analysis have been largely ineffective.

There is the reality that even if there is a COVID 19 vaccine found next year the pandemic has hastened the widening of the systemic cracks in the way we have been governing the country. To summarize what the BU intelligentsia has been opining, we have to set realistic objectives, develop smart action plans and EXECUTE with the fierce urgency of now.

223 responses to “A Time to Execute With the Fierce Urgency of NOW!”

1. Prescod mouthing off could have been his last dance to save face after being dumped from Cabinet and the same for George.

2. David,

somehow that doesnt make sense

3. @ William

In a political environment of Lilliputians it is very difficult to talk about heavyweights. I have long lost interest in the quality of the debate in parliament. It is not, and does not deserve to be, our leading debating chamber. Sixth formers do better.
    As to Mr Prescod’s new appointment, until the terms of the appointment have been made publicly clear it is very difficult to express an opinion.
    I have said here and elsewhere that the president’s main political weapon is to compromise her rivals, the most disgraceful of whom was Owen Arthur.
    The president has no intellectual tools, none in terms of policy and depends on seducing those who she perceives as would-be challengers. That disingenuous tactic explains an over-size Cabinet, the co-option of those on the fringes on to non-existent positions and embracing people like David Commissiong in to a a disgraceful silence.
    @William, the kiss has been the greatest act of betrayal from Biblical times. Again, ignore the background noise.

4. What the hell did I post on his thread 10.53 pm Sept.1?

Baffled?

5. @Hal,

the quality of debate has been atrocious since the mid 90s. there is nothing to learn from listening to present day politicians. most cant put together a sentence or offer any novel or even semi novel (for want of a better phrase) ideas. there is no clever turn of phrase, no sly nuances in their speeches. it is like they are speaking to the boys on the block. arguments in a bajan rum shop are better structured and delivered.

i dont even bother to listen.

6. @ William Skinner September 2, 2020 6:31 AM
    “Like I said if Comrade Prescod according to Mottley’s defenders is a “ lightweight” who got his backside kicked out of the cabinet, why make him your envoy now on reparations etc? You fired a man, who was your biggest supporter ,when everybody else was kicking you to the curb; a man who got up off his sick bed to show allegiance to you and you then repaid him by political humiliation and proceeded to appoint a green senator to your most influential ministry.What the hell makes Senator Cummins a heavyweight? Where was she when Comrade s Prescod was saving Mia’s political backside? Where was heavy weights Toppin and Marshall? I will tell you where: they were under the covers hugging up Owen Arthur.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

An excellent piece of political commentary even if a rather ‘scathingly damning’ indictment on the loyalty of the Queen Bee side of your Duopoly LP. LoL!!

You seem to be rather intimately associated with the past relationship between Pressy the printer man and MAM.

Poor Pressy, a man of steadfast loyalty, was a main confidante and healer of the Queen’s political soul during her stint in the political wilderness caused by a red palace coup.

“Loyalty is a fine quality, but in excess it fills political graveyards.” ⁓ Neil Kinnock

7. Let me start the day on a positive note.

Regardless of your belief or color, I wish everyone of my fellow Bajans a great day.

Hopefully, even with different ideas we resist going personal.

I try to remove all emotions from my posts, but ever so often I may get under someone’s skin or someone gets under my skin (especially if they try to be dismissive or rubbish an idea).

@cuhdear… If I didn’t luv ya, I wouldn’t try to poke at ya. I like how you are able to show the flaw in some arguments with a very short sentence.

Have a great day Barbados.

8. @Greene

Only the fly on the wall knows what makes sense.

9. @ Greene

I am trying not to be unfair, but there is nothing to distinguish most members of parliament. They have the degrees, they are lawyers and economists, but so what? The president preaches and points her fingers, waves hear hands and imagines she is being forceful; the others, both in the House and the Senate, they all behave like Pentecostal pastors.
    We have lost the ancient art of rhetoric. I also look to our print media for outstanding essayists, but none. But, reassuringly, we get the usual braying on BU. Welcome to the new Barbados.

10. @Hal

sooth to say, political debate all over is bad. only few in the Commons i would listen to and none in American politics. years ago i enjoyed listening to American political commentary on shows like Crossfire, The Situation Room, and Evans, Novak, Hunt, & Shields, and Capital Gang. well debated arguments and great use of the English Language.

11. fierce urgency of now.Visiting tourist attractions.
    Go to You Tube and search for NationNews video

“Nation Update: Tour Of Andromeda Botanic Gardens
    907 views•Aug 31, 202 ”

Educated and articulate.

12. “Prescod mouthing off could have been his last dance to save face after being dumped from Cabinet and the same for George.”

@ David BU

It makes sense to me.

People react differently when faced with similar situations. Prescod is a ‘black power man,’ therefore, it didn’t come as any surprise to me when he talked about ‘white shadows.’ Reminded me of Don Blackman. ‘White people are the underlying causes of any difficulties we encounter.’ It’s all ‘part of the script.’

Recall when David Estwick was excluded from David Thompson’s final Cabinet reshuffle? Remember when the parliamentarians met at Government House after the death of Thompson, Estwick, in his robust, ‘pit bull style.’ turned up wearing a red shirt?

13. what about George Payne? as i can see David’s wild claim included George too.

not that what you say about Prescod has any merit. it is guessing based on speculation based on false equivalency

14. time for ” fierce urgency ” and brutal honesty from BU bloggers.

Time to prepare your kitchen garden and plant vegetables.

Time to fish for cavallys and bay snappers.

Thats all I got.

15. @Greene

It was another opinion to add to yours.

16. @Hants September 2, 2020 11:34 AM “Time to prepare your kitchen garden and plant vegetables.”

Working on it Hants, working on it since the middle of March. As in rural communities, I got 2 free breadfruits and 2 avocados already this week. I already have a surplus of spinach and okras from my garden at home, and am giving the surplus to neighbors. I don’t sell anything that I grow at home, but I do sell surpluses from the “plantation” The cassava planted on a hope and a prayer in January and February survived the drought [cassava is an indigenous crop and extremely drought resistant] and the leaves at the bottom of some of the cassava plants are beginning to turn yellow, a sure sign that the plant is near maturity. Looking forward to eating that soon. I still have some frozen cassava, and some dried cassava left over from last season. Counted a dozen pumpkins oon the vines yesterday, three different kinds. Replanted a 200 feet of okra yesterday. I have been planting the okras in stages so that i will have a longer harvesting season. Still losing weight, not because I lack food [at least not yet] but because I am doing such hard physical labor. I did three hours yesterday and plan to do another 3 hours today. Keeping the weeds down without pesticides gives me an excellent workout.

17. A kitchen garden in barbados well prepared along with a security fence to stop thieves would cost more to harvest one cucumber than buying the cumcumber from the store
    The electric bill plus water and all them other cost associated in cultivating the garden is astronomical
    Unless yuh have a well to draw water
    Fuhget it

18. catch water from the roof when it rains. use grey water as in water from the shower, face basin and kitchen and washing machine. must be careful not to use bleach and you should have some kind of cleaning apparatus before directing towards plants. these may be difficult as some homes may have to be retro fitted but at most home one can catch water from the roof in barrels and use later on plants. better than piped water people say.

you can also do heavy mulching which allows for better moisturerretention and keeps plants cool during v hot weather

19. It’s amazing that Dennis Lowest is running for vice president of the Blue. Very good. Now we still need Donville “Chain” Inniss and Chris “Decimal” Sinck on the team.

The people will then vote for the Noble Reds out of fear that this trio infernale will continue to enslave the black masses, fill the streets with shit and sell the country to foreign white investors.

20. Grey water used to do well in ny grandmother’s orchard.

I haven’t used pipe water much at all and not any for weeks. It’s been raining almost every day. Didn’t even use the water from the roof. It is truly amazing how much water one can catch off the roof in one short, sharp shower. Gonna get more barrels and break the guttering at points to catch for the dry times.

Mulching also works well and one can water before it gets hot or make your own drip system.

My handyman is going to make me a shade house with pvc pipe and a retractable covering. Shouldn’t cost much. Some shelves for comfort and gardening will be easy. Composting scraps and sheep manure for fertilizer reduces costs.

Don’t know why Mariposa thinks kitchen gardens are so expensive.

Eventually I will see the savings.

And why would electricity be necessary?

21. What am u gaining when time and energy is included in cultivating the garden
    Unless i am selling the product as wholesale to a supermarket i gain nothing but a self satisfaction of cultivating a garden for friends and self to enjoy
    Furthermore a single person going to all the trouble of cultivating a garden in the end in my estimation would have spent more than if they had brought enough of the same item in the grocery store

22. I am here trying to figure out what is the opposite of “spot on”.

What would motivate a person to try to convince another that growing your own food is a waste of time and energy.

23. TheOGazertsSeptember 2, 2020 5:13 PM I am here trying to figure out what is the opposite of “spot on”. That would be ”sprayed wide of the mark”. What would motivate a person to try to convince another that growing your own food is a waste of time and energy.

Profits, for the one encouraging the other to do nonsense. $$$$$.

Remember the saying, teach a man to fish and you are a fool; you fish, sell him the fish at exorbitant prices and bank the profits, makes you smart?

Or something like that.

24. MariposaSeptember 2, 2020 12:55 PM

Or shoot the monkey stealing. If you happen to shoot someone by accident, can always get a good lawyer to prove that you were shooting monkeys.

25. @ Crusoe

You say that in jest. That was Swaine’s defence. And in the 1990s a plantation owner, I think it was in St John, shot a man who was stealing his ground produce and claimed he thought it was a monkey. Not a word was said by the Barbadian public. The man was snot arrested or charged. I was gobsmacked.
    I will tell you a similar one. In the winter of 968/69, a white motorist in north west London knocked over a young black woman on a pedestrian crossing in the early evening and his excuse was he did not see her. The coroner ruled it was accidental.

26. May I suggest that what some are seeing as a dearth of quality in political debate is due to the decline of civilisation as we have known it?

This is supported by the rampant polarisation of political views among the populace, the success of divide and rule in the USA, the misplaced complicity between specific western leaders and the Kremlin, the lack of any humanity in political policy, policy that puts profits over humanity.

All of this signals the end of political systems that governed for the last century. Turbulence cometh and with turbulence, comes change.

A warning, those who open the gates of change need to understand that a wild animal can attack its ‘handler’.

Woe betide. The Ides of March may be of March no more, but upon our doorstep.

27. Gazzert don’t act the fool
    I am weighing every aspect and conditions that are conducive to growing one’s food in a water starve country like barbados
    Where water bills are high and product and material is expensive when undergoing a project such as planting
    Yes time and energy included
    If it is going to take me a insurmountable amount of time to dig and mulch and water and plant and fertilize for myself
    All that put together is worthless
    Now from a govt perspective agriculture would be more of a saving

28. @ Crusoe who wrote “teach a man to fish and you are a fool;”

Where I grew up in Barbados we were taught to fish by the elders. I started when I was about 5 years old and got hooked. lol

29. Some people love gardening and i can understand that
    But for me hell no
    Sun too hot and not going pay high water bill to harvest a handful of tomatoes
    I will shop around till i find a suitable price

30. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Mariposa
    Spoken like someone being factious or never planted a single thing in their life, not even peas in a cup.

Nothing compares to having something planted, going outside, picking and putting it straight on the plate or straight in your mouth. You can’t buy that flavour from any shop, supermarket or restaurant.

Preferring a supermarket over your own garden is like calling beer champagne. They both foam when poured in a glass but the difference in quality is where the value is.

The same justification you are making for not planting our own food is the same economic arguments made for not doing certain things as if cost is everything.

31. @ Mariposa September 2, 2020 5:56 PM

Is this the same ‘lying’ butterfly called “ac” who used to brag about how much of a small farmer she was when compared to OSA?

Now that you have given up your hobby-farming activities how about running for the President of the incapacitated DLP?

If there was ever a party in need of a political blood transfusion it has to be that once great organization almost destroyed by a fumbling johnny called Fiendel and a set of educated a**sholes who believe the way to get rich quick is through politics.

Aren’t you guys ashamed of the current dilapidated state- both physically and organizationally- of Errol Barrow’s legacy and the pride and industry of the DLP ancestors?

32. I won’t trust not one of them in that parliament.., since none of them thought it important to tell the BLACK MAJORITY anything about their plan to request funding for the repatriation to Africa for African descendants, neither did they ask the people what they thought about the idea…….the people had to learn about the 10 point plan from a Facebook post…outside of the institutions like Lloyd’s and some universities, has anyone else actually said reparations will be paid,….waiting for that one…the way Boris is going on and on, waiting to see is a good thing.

“This leads me to speculate on whether or not this is “hush money”.

Which leads me to wonder if there was really something to expose.

Which leads me to wonder if Prescod is operating in our interest or in his.

Which leads me to wonder if there is really a position that needs to be filled and if there is would Prescod and the position be a good fit.

One thing about which I do NOT wonder is whether or not Prescod will be delivering on the threats to put meat on the bones of his outburst.

I guess he will argue that being back on the inside and in his current role, he is in the best position to make progress in the fight for reparations to the benefit of the black masses.”

33. @ Critical Analyzer September 2, 2020 6:24 PM
    “Nothing compares to having something planted, going outside, picking and putting it straight on the plate or straight in your mouth. You can’t buy that flavour from any shop, supermarket or restaurant.Nothing compares to having something planted, going outside, picking and putting it straight on the plate or straight in your mouth. You can’t buy that flavour from any shop, supermarket or restaurant.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Spoken like a true connoisseur and a person of exquisite taste!

One of the finest joys of life is to savour the natural taste of herbs, vegetables and fruits picked straight from your own garden.
    Even the aroma is mind-blowing once grown under organic conditions.

A real taste of the garden of Eden in its original sense.

We are sure a former blogger called the “Bajan Gal” and Ms Simple Simon the Silly Woman now Ms Cud Dear Bajan or even Donna would agree with the miller on this one, for once.

34. Not impressed
    Barbados is in need of a PM not a celebrity hound
    What she ought to be doing is travelling the length and breadth of barbados and see how many household are crying out in agonzing pain because of having no job and unable to collect their NIS

35. Miller The dlp is not will not be the first or last party in barbados that ever had internal problems
    Think on those things before yuh come here mashing yuh gums

36. Thanks for the share at 6:26 p.m.
    MM
    A+
    Message was well delivered.
    All items on the checklist were mentioned.
    Represented herself and country well.

Gi Jack he jacket

37. @Mariposa,
    The job has several parts.

I will not get into a discussion of if her policies are a failure, but on the international TV she has represented the island well. Her presentation should help our tourism efforts.

Being a PM is a multidimensional job.

38. Gazzert
    Not impressed
    She has a minister of Tourism but not surprising that she would prefer to take spotlight
    Not impressed
    What did she say that Lisa couldnt have said

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

Reading that the new blood in the D’s is coming from former candidates of Solutions Barbados. Maybe you could beg the Bishop to assume the leadership.

40. Let me give you a parallel that might make it obvious to understand.

To CNN, Mia is a much bigger fish, more name recognition and better ratings than having the Minister of Tourism. Given a choice of trump or Theo, CNN would choose trump.

Also, Mia was on CNN before and did well. You don’t change a winning team in the middle of the game.

I admire your decision to quit beating that COVID-19 dead horse, but it looks as if you picked another loser. The PR/celebrity hound schtick of your sidekick passed its expiration date

41. In the I’m not a crook voice of Nixon “I am not a fan of Mia”.

In the “I did not have sexual relations with that woman” voice of Clinton
    “I did not vote for that woman”

42. To CNN commercial bucks is big money which made me wonder if all the barbados commercial attached to the interview was free or paid for by barbados govt

43. I will be impressed when i see policies put in place to help barbadian households from going down the dreaded hell hole of poverty
    All the CNN talk does not to move the economy a long
    The slow initiative plan of having people from other counties come to live in barbados is one that would get off the ground in talk only
    Nothing much here to gain
    As for COVID notice that the better part of the interview was about COVID and govt policies
    The word small stamp initiative was barely uttered

44. Donna

Do not break up you gutters
    Run an overflow pipe from Ine barrel to the next. After one is filled the water will overflow and start filling the other

45. My last post for the night.

Your focus is on the short and immediate game, but Mia must not only play the short game, she must think about the long game.

I like this phrase… You are using 2020 vision, but Mia has 2023 vision.

She has to think of resuscitation/restoration of the tourist industry. She has to think of what would encourage someone to visit Barbados.

Proper management of COVID-19 is a strong selling point.

46. Great news!

Emperor Trump orders the issue of the miracle vaccine against Corona for November.

Possibly the Americans and British will come back to us already in January 2021. Then Barbadians will finally be allowed to scrub the floors again in the hotel plantations after having rested since March at the taxpayers’ expense.

47. HantsSeptember 2, 2020 5:55 PM

Apologies, you obviously did not understand my twist on the famous line.

48. “not that what you say about Prescod has any merit. it is guessing based on speculation based on false equivalency..”

If the above comment is a response to my contribution, please explain why what I mentioned about Prescod does not have any merit?

There isn’t anyone of us who knows exactly what happened ‘behind the scenes.’ So, as such, all comments on this issue are “guessing based on speculation based on false equivalency,” as well. Hence, under these circumstances, anything ‘said’ about the ‘comrade’ does not have any merit.

But, I know as along as the phrase “white shadows” is used, it gives credence to a ‘myth’ created by the DLP that the BLP is the ‘party for the white people.’ Rational thinking individuals know this is an obvious exaggeration. There aren’t any significant political, philosophical or ideological differences between both parties.

However, I’m a bit disappointed that, for an intelligent man, your perspective on politics is sometimes naive and based on the rhetorical political diatribe heard on election campaign platforms. But, after all, you admitted to being a “sucker for great political rhetoric.”

Hmmmmm…….. I noticed, as I anticipated, you’ve purposely ignored the Estwick scenario.