It has been more than ten years the Barbados economy has been performing poorly – a situation triggered by the global financial crisis of 2008. Some of us are old enough to remember the oil crisis of the 70s as well as the fiscal challenges of the 90s which negatively affected the cost of living for Barbadians. There was the global economic boom of the 90s that ended in the early 2000s which coincided with the Owen Arthur administration. Although Arthur is credited with overseeing a reduction in unemployment to 7% and creating an unprecedented number of jobs, it is fair to say he had an easy wicket bat on.

There is a generation of Barbadian who has not had to experience the level of economic hardship currently affecting the country. This is exposed by the national conversations being generated daily in the different fora. We have two arguments we should not conflate in the ongoing debate.

There is casting blame on the political leadership AND Barbadians at large for not influencing and implementing effective economic and social models to navigate exogenous shocks which small open economies are most vulnerable.

Now that we have mired in economic and social stagnation for more than a decade with a contracting economy; high unemployment especially in the youth segment, high debt to GDP, crumbling physical infrastructure, National Insurance Scheme in the cross hairs, judicial system operating under the stress of a heavy backlog to name a few – there is the fierce urgency of now that should give wings to policymaking and the execution of projects by the government and other stakeholders in civil society.

There is who to blame AND there is the urgent need to address the problem, NOW.

We are now faced with the fact that tomorrow is today. We are confronted with the fierce urgency of now. In this unfolding conundrum of life and history, there is such a thing as being too late. This is no time for apathy or complacency. This is a time for vigorous and positive action

Martin Luther King Jr

Let us blame who we want for the problems facing us today if we must, although sensible citizens will admit there is enough blame to go around to explain the current state of affairs in the country. It does not change the fact Barbados finds itself staring down the barrel of economic hardship for years to come. With economic hardship there will be the concomitant social challenges. We have already started to see an increase in violent crime, scant regard for traffic laws, increase in the homeless and vagrancy to list a few.

Against this pessimistic background we have the unions making demands, individual citizens making demands, private sector making demands, all comers making demands. It brings to mind the saying ‘a house divided against itself, cannot cannot stand‘.

Barbadians have been labelled an intelligent people. One does not have to be a rocket scientist to appreciate the country is in a pickle which means citizens all are also in the same same pickle. It therefore requires our government, public officials AND the majority of the electorate to sing from the same song sheet to confront an unprecedented challenge. Some will say this it is a naive expectation because it is the state of mind of households feeding the emotions of individuals. How can they be expected to overcome an innate behaviour to survive by willingly feeding in to the macro picture?

A more responsible media will have to play a leadership role to promote awareness of the issues especially of the financial variety. It is regrettable the toxic level of political partisanship that has seeped into how we manage our affairs of late. The death of Patrick Hoyos has expanded the vacuum in traditional media on reporting financial matters. Political parties have not been able to appoint competent players to challenge government’s army of financial actors. Academics from the UWI, Cave Hill expected to interject with independent analysis have been largely ineffective.

There is the reality that even if there is a COVID 19 vaccine found next year the pandemic has hastened the widening of the systemic cracks in the way we have been governing the country. To summarize what the BU intelligentsia has been opining, we have to set realistic objectives, develop smart action plans and EXECUTE with the fierce urgency of now.

223 responses to “A Time to Execute With the Fierce Urgency of NOW!”

1. @ David

Good article and it focuses on my concern, which is how will we as a country operate in both the public and private sector with 30% less revenue than we planned for?

I really have no interest in the B or D discussion, just a clearly outlined plan from both the MOF and the private sector of how they plan to tackle operating under such drastic shortfalls. Sinkyuh and his committe have been meeting one can assume, what have they come up with to address our post covid economy? In other words what is the plan for moving us forward and putting the unemployed back to work?

Everyone seems to want to dance around the fire but no one seems capable of outing it. In the meantime we languish in a state of uncertainty.

2. Nice article David stating REALITY, however I suspect it will generate the SAME OLD SAME OLD DUPLOY responses. There are a few bloggers who occasionally offer constructive ideas and plans, however most fall on DEAF political/Government ears. You’ve always maintained what incident/occassion will stir the BAJAN POPULACE into action mode. Tron and myself have on numerous occasions suggested what this initiative is, DEVALUATION, this is a word similar to MAINTENANCE, unknown in the BAJAN dictionary. If the country does DEVALUATION to 4:1, 5:1, 10:1 It will result in the necessary restructuring and force the country to react and make the necessary adjustments. Tough love for a tough situation.

3. @Wily

Successive governments have anchored policy to the peg. How will devaluation work for a country that imports almost everything we consume?

4. devaluation maybe part of MAM’s Throne Speech. 3-1 would be a start. that would solve our problems right there.

5. @David

The other worrying trend is that the approach most have planned are layoffs and contraction. This will lead to a deeper recession and start a downward spiral in the economy. What we need to be doing is focus our strength on greater efficiency and diversification.

Lets me give you an example of what i mean in the public sector. Lets say government has a $100M shortfall, they can do 1 of 3 things. 1 would be to lay off workers which would further worsten the economy. 2 would be to increase taxation resulting in the same. But then there is 3 which is improve efficiency.

So if went the road of 3 and plugged the tax leaks at the ports of entry, used the post offices as pay windows for all BRA transactions, made the renewal of passports an online transaction, these steps could generate an additional $100M in cash flow and not a fellow would have to go home.

My point is the pre covid approach can not work in the post covid ecomomy its that simple. We will only get out of this by restructuring the way we do business and seriusly diversifying our economy.

Regrettably on both these issues there is a deafening silence.

6. @John A

Is this what the tripartite arrangement is supposed to discuss read map approaches to protect the integrity of the Barbados space ? Has the time come to examine how effective this entity has been? Why are the unions, BCCI, BPSA and others promoting singular positions at a time like now? What about the benefit of a consensus position for the national good? We know our political system is by design adversarial so look for the same old same old, it does not matter we are in unprecedented high waters and need to have be in help mode to protect everyone especially the vulnerable. We should be able to do this, our size is an advantage to execution- or it should be anyway.

7. David

Two things.

One, there will never be an admission that capitalism is fatally flawed and is therefore susceptable to recessions or depressions at least every 5 to 7 years.

Two, the last relative sustained expansion under OSA is all the generation you referred to has known. And to be honest such a mindset is not dissimilar to that of the general population. It is what we have been indoctrinated with for decades.

In the end:

We don’t know how national unity could be mustered without a sense of collective intelligence.

We are unsure that the people of Barbados are or could be made ready to act outside the economic norms as established by people like OSA.

It has not been made clear to this writer that Bajans hold that desire to embrak on another path, much different than previouly, in fundamental ways.

All we hear and see are surface attempts to make the good times role around again. That’s all, regrettably.

8. @ Greene

The Bajan has been losing its value for months now and yet there is no discussion of this by the media, the president’s consultants, or t he BU chatterati. Why is this?
    The Queen’s Speech will be a lot of waffle. She has no new tricks in the bag and her consultants, Greenidge and Persaud, have no new ideas. The two junior ministers are just taking taxpayers’ money.

9. @ David

I agree with you completely here but it requires the recognition and desire for radical change. This is not something we do well. Let me give you one example of what i mean.

All over my old radio now is government people talking about how they have made it possible to pay my drivers license online, in accordance with their 2018 manifesto. So wait it tek wunna 2 years to implement something as simple as an online payment option and wunna bragging bout it too? LOL

My point is we seem incapable of moving in haste on anything. The delay in moving on economic reform though, will come with a massive price tag. I am willing to committ to BU Hansard today the following figure and that is i bet you at the end of August we will be running a year to date deficit of roughly $300M so far. Has anyone spoken on this? Has anyone told us how they will reduce it by the end of the fiscal year in march 2021? No dem too busy bragging bout paying a dam drivers license online !

10. @Pacha

Your comment reaches into the bowels to disturb what affects us at an uncertain time, a time we should be bringing our A game.

To be honest this blogmaster was of a view the haircut delivered by MAM followed by the pandemic would have served as the catalyst for that collective transformation in thought by Bajans you mentioned, six months in from the pandemic there is a fear by this Blogmaster we are not there yet. What more will it take?

11. @John A

What you have identified is an inherent flaw in the style of government we practice, a party system which requires a constant effort to stoke popularity, always with an eye on the next general election in the rear view mirror. How do we force politicians and governments to give national imperiives a priority one rating? Your guess is as good as mine.

12. David

We have spent hundreds of years establishing certain ecomomic relationships. Relationships which act together to lead us where we currently are. Haircuts and pandemics are no solutions, for in the end resources and decisions about resource allocation still follow the established patterns, reinforcing that same thing you thought was undesireable to begin with.

We are unserious!

13. I will take the collapse of the economy before govt pull self up by the boot straps
    Local business can only hold employees hands for so long and asking people to spend what they dont have is an exercise in futility

14. even the paying drivers licence on line is a joke. i got my UK licence converted to a bajan licence last May, which took about 5 hours. they gave me a year and when i asked to pay for 5 years they say they only accept a year for the first time. i asked what difference a year or 5 would mean and the woman leggo one long steeuups and said that is the way it is.

fast forward to this year when Covid struck and every thing shut down. so i could not get back to renew. i did the on line thing getting someone to go and drop off the paper work. only to be told that i dropped out of the system (whatever that means) and i will have to return to get a new photo but they accepted the renewal payment. so much for paying on line. Bim is a real joke place in trute

15. @Pacha

What do you see as the triggers needed to disrupt established approaches? We are a nation consumed with focusing on the outcomes always forgetting to look for causal factors to inform solutions hunting.

16. @ Greene

It is incompetence, not corruption. The teeth sucking is just a form of defeat. Ignore it. I once told a woman in the land tax department that her colleague at the land registry gave me some instructions. If you saw the way she reacted you would have thought I was rude to her.
    She just did not understand that as a civil servant all civil servants were her colleagues. And to work in a government office she must have had a basic education.

17. David

Look at what we’ve done in the past. Systems and people who were rewarded, reward systems.

Who are the people controlling the heights of the economy. Why should they be central to financial flows based on repeated failures.

If we think that the systems we’ve had led us to this place why keep digging?

Maybe instead of making the hard decisions to focus elsewhere, as a nation, there will be a determination to suck up all the hardships hoping to re-emerge some years down the road with the status quo in tact.

Real capitalists are supposed to lead countries, economically, away from hardships like these.

18. @ Greene

Exactly my point why should you have to go through that crap when you are looking to pay money to the state? Why shouldnt we be able to pay land tax and all other BRA related bills at any post office? So them can take we water bill and we stv bill both of which is government, but they cant take we land tax bill? If the state depends on collecting revenue from the populace should they not make it easy to do?

19. @ David September 1, 2020 6:51 AM

“Successive governments have anchored policy to the peg. How will devaluation work for a country that imports almost everything we consume?”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

And what is going to stop this Devaluation from taking place?

If Barbados can default on its debt obligations, why not a currency devaluation to reflect the ‘real’ value of its Mickey mouse dollar compared to other Caricom member states and its other trading partners?

Isn’t this a ‘predicted’ case of the economic chickens coming home to roost?

The economic goose which used to lay the golden eggs of conspicuous consumption in a bed of ‘relative’ social and economic stability has been injected, and cripplingly so, in the buttocks with the financial fallout from Covid-19.

Barbados has run out of ammunition to defend effectively the pegging of its dollar to the greenback.

It can no longer borrow on the open market like in the good ole OSA days of squandermania.

Neither is the country earning any significant amounts of forex to justify its still large ‘imports’ bill (especially food, oil and medicines).

Don’t be surprised if the Privatization of the BWA becomes a matter high on the government’s economic restructuring agenda along with other state-owned commercial entities (as should have been done since 2014).

20. Wait forgive me i forget my pet peeve.

Why the hell in 2020 i got to go down the harbour and stand up outside in the blasted hot sun to renew my passport? After all as a Bajan citizen wunna cant refuse to give me one.

Why cant I upload my pictures and fill out the form online and email wunna the info? I could even print off the last page and sign and scan it and send it back to you all too. It good enough for the bank why not wunna? Then for $20 you could contract any of the small package delivery firms to call me on my cell and deliver it to my door. Yes the new form i planning will have on my cell number and a box to tick if i want courier delivery. If them is money to pay the driver could get the $20 in cash from me. If i got money for wunna i will pay it online like I do everybody else, including my drivers license now too apparently.

But no I must lock up de one door shop, chase the cat outside, catch 3 buses from up here in de bush, then come and stand up in the blasted hot sun where I might faint way!

Dat is progress for yuh!

21. @David

DEVALUATION will FORCE government and populace to make adjustments to their overall LIFESTYLE and bring the socialistic plan into the REALITY realm. It will FORCE the country into a LIVE WITHIN YOUR MEANS economy.

Granted there will be SIGNIFICANT IMPACTS, some known, others unknown, however it will FORCE the populace and government to react to these impacts. The REACTIONS will determine if the country makes positive adjustments and survives or takes their usual attitude to sit back and let BAJAN GOD take care of things and ultimately join Haitia.

TOUGH LOVE

22. John
    “Making it easy” cost money if you want bodies to do the heavy handling and overload
    The very thing thing u have objected referring to public workers as an uncivilized army of unproductive workers

23. @John A
    “So if went the road of 3 and plugged the tax leaks at the ports of entry, used the post offices as pay windows for all BRA transactions, made the renewal of passports an online transaction, these steps could generate an additional $100M in cash flow and not a fellow would have to go home.”

For a person looking through the window, please explain to why the push for greater efficiency will not lead to some going home. Efficiency should encompass more than convenience to the customer.

The government has to thread carefully for trying to fix one problem could create another.

24. Vincent Codrington Avatar

David Bu

Wuh Loss! Wuh Loss! Same old. Same Old.

25. not only that John A, why do you have to provide all those documents to have a passport renewed? why cant a passport be renewed on the strength of an existing one? always wondered about that. but no one has yet to provide a satisfactory answer.

and then to pay for the annual registration fee for a company. you have to go to that building in warrens and wait for one of the numerous people flirting around to attend to you then wait in the one clerk line to pay. and payment is only accepted for one year and at a certain time of year.

when they had the amnesty i paid for 3 years prior and wanted to pay for 3 in advance. again i was told no you can only pay for a year and payment only accepted from Jan – March or something so. and it was December. Bim is a real joke place for trute

26. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Greene September 1, 2020 6:55 AM
    “devaluation maybe part of MAM’s Throne Speech. 3-1 would be a start. that would solve our problems right there.”
    ++++++++++++++++++
    The notion that devaluation would solve economic problems in Barbados is unadulterated idiocy. Ask Jamaicans how devaluation has worked for them… they have tried it multiple times since 1971. So far it adds up to a 194-1 devaluation; what it has mainly accomplished is the further impoverishment of the broad mass of Jamaicans, and the growth of violence born of economic deprivation.

The only people who benefit from devaluation are those who have income and/or assets in foreign currency.

So Greene, are you drawing a UK pension? Are you intending to exploit devaluation to enrich yourself at your neighbours’ expense because you have assets in foreign currency? Why exactly are you personally hoping for devaluation??

27. @ Theo

Increased revenue will not send home people but will keep them employed. In government so far only a drop in revenue sends home people historically. Improving revenue collection will in fact secure jobs.

What are you suggesting that we remain inefficient to keep a bloated civil service employed? Make who wuking or drawing salary produce. How many times you went in a post office and seen the person behind the counter reading a book? That is a blatant case of badly utilised labour. Its not the person isnt at work either, its that they have no work to do.

Post covid economy aint got room for nothing so now.

28. @ Hal
    I read Keith Laurie’s column in today’s edition of Barbados Today. He is also recommending a Sovereign Wealth Fund. You should give it a read.

29. John A September 1, 2020 9:15 AM #: “Why the hell in 2020 i got to go down the harbour and stand up outside in the blasted hot sun to renew my passport? After all as a Bajan citizen wunna cant refuse to give me one.”

@ John A

Are you suggesting we have to wait on politicians to implement innovative policies to improve the inefficiencies in the public sector? Or do we adore in making simple situations difficult?

I’m sure you’re aware of government’s Data Processing Department (DPD)……… the mandate of which is “To be the Primary source of Information and Communication Technology (ICT) solutions for Government, through the efficient and innovative use of Technology and the provision of an environment through which information technology is monitored and the ICT activities of agencies coordinated.”

I’m sure you’re also aware several government departments and SOEs have information technology managers. Could Permanent Secretaries, heads of departments, CEOs, Directors and IT managers of central and quasi government departments ‘use their initiative’ and meet with the DPD to discuss developing or sourcing the appropriate e-commerce platforms to facilitate on-line payments………. or do they need permission from politicians?

30. @ Greene

You are right. Let us go back to basics. I am not suggesting a devaluation, but I will come to that. With a devaluation, imports will become more expensive and exports cheaper.
    In other words, tourist coming from North America or Europe (if there are any) will find holidaying in Barbados cheaper, therefore more attractive.
    What I prefer, however, is decoupling from the Greenback and fixing against a basket of currencies and commodities. Dr Worrell’s suggestion of dollarisation is uneconomic, since it will destroy our monetary sovereignty and turn us in to an effective colony of the US.

31. @ William

Thanks. It is economics ABC.

32. PLT,

i do draw a nice UK pension and have some dosh set aside. i do hope to take advantage of land and house sales that will come up. but i do give back. so it all works out. i am told that devaluation was handled badly by Ja and we should look to TT to see how we would shape ours so to speak.

33. PLT

But it might well be done in a desperate attempt to claim that a modicum of control rest with policymakers.

A devaluation would only further suppress the population, true.

34. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Greene
    Devaluation in TT has also been an economic disaster. It has never worker anywhere that it has been tried in the Caribbean basin. Hal’s suggestion of “decoupling from the Greenback and fixing against a basket of currencies and commodities” makes a lot of sense because it decouples us more from the failing American empire, but it should be done at day one parity.

The best economic policies are those that bring benefits to your neighbours, not ones that give you an opportunity to take advantage of them.

35. @ William

I have now read Mr Laurie’s article and it is rather interesting. I wonder why the president has to go all the way to London for Mr Persaud and to Washington for Mr Greenidge when she could get the same economic common sense from a local person? All his recommendations make sense, including the way we avoid talking about social justice in Barbadian politics. Should make interesting reading on BU.

36. Hal,

could you please post a link to Laurie’s piece?

37. PLT,

besides decoupling from the greenback etc., what do you suggest that could get us out of this fix in the short term? it seems to me that devaluation at 3-1 ticks a lot of economic boxes

38. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Greene
    There are no quick fixes. The deficiencies in our economy are structural and they require robust solutions. Band aids are not going to work.

The problem with devaluation is that it is a blunt weapon that does the most damage to the most disadvantaged in society. People say “imports will become more expensive and exports cheaper” and this is true, but we need to look at the details. It is not just a bottle of Hennessy that triples in price, it is that a simple cheese cutter suddenly becomes unaffordable to the working class: we don’t grow wheat to make flour and we don’t make cheese. Simple staples like rice will soar in price. Don’t tell me that local substitutes will fill the gap… they never did in Jamaica or Trinidad or anywhere else. Don’t talk to me of making tourism cheaper… tourism has been dealt a fatal blow by COVID. Even if we get past this pandemic, cheap tourism just puts us into competition with places like the Dominican Republic where it causes environmental devastation and huge social dislocation through widespread prostitution. In 2019 we hosted a little fewer than a million tourists and that was too many. The only people that devaluation benefits is those with foreign exchange to invest, and that is completely exploitative of the local population.

The economic policy framework that Barbados needs has been well established by many here on BU. Its objectives are earning or saving foreign exchange, providing good jobs, providing economic justice/opportunity, and environmental protection. The main planks of the policy are:
    + rapid investment in and deployment of solar power generation and other renewable energy,
    + intensive redevelopment of our agricultural and fisheries sectors using information technologies,
    + establishment of a Sovereign Wealth Fund,
    + investment in public infrastructure for water distribution and waste treatment,
    + investment in public road infrastructure,
    + investment & policies to transition all new cars, trucks and busses to electric power within 2 years,
    + making our public services fit for purpose using information technologies,
    + making our education system fit for purpose using information technologies.

39. It is worth repeating that the best plans and approaches tabled by government – if it happens – will require a separate strategy to gain the support and of civil society. The prevailing environment is too contentious although there is nothing wrong with offering constructive feedback/commentary.

40. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal Austin

With a devaluation the costs of producing exports will rise because inputs are imported. So exports will not be cheaper. This is the missing element in your 101 economics argument. As was pointed out the failure of this tool is evidenced in all small open economies. I know this error will be repeated 6 months sometime in the future on this blog. Learning by rote in deed.

41. PLT,

those measures you outlined whilst commendable are more medium / long term. we need a solution now. devaluation to the ECC dollar where we we once pegged can be a start for the short term whilst we implement medium and long term solutions

42. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Greene
    But devaluation will NOT help in the short term (or the medium or long term either).

43. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu
    Around and around the mulberry bush we go.
    As PLT stated, there are no quick fixes. You will not get buy-in from all citizens either.The citizens elected a GoB to make sensible decisions on their behalf after consultation with their competent technocrats.

44. @John A
    Here is where I am having difficulty
    (1) I realize the $100 M is hypothetical. Do you believe the government can introduce policies that can save anywhere in that vicinity.

(2) “What are you suggesting that we remain inefficient to keep a bloated civil service employed? ”

I expect that efficiency would reduce the ‘bloated public service’. Jobs would have to be found for those that are displaced.

I hope we are brainstorming as our answers may not fix the problems. I do not envy those who have to solve the problems.

Have a nice day.

45. @ Artax

I agree with you that none of what i suggested needs a minister to implement. But could dear you expect they would waste that opportunity? Look at how the beating their chest over implementimg a simple online drivers license payment that take 2 years to do.

Truth is in Barbados i doubt any department head will introduce anything without running it by the minister first. Is it sad that its so? Of course it is.

46. This fool is way behind.
    What and how much do we export?
    With cheaper exports, can devaluation move us to a state where we become a net exporter. Note that an automatic outcome of devaluation is that the cost of imports increase.
    In simple language, can someone explain to me how devaluation will help a maid. Her salary will not automatically increase, but the cost of feeding her family will.

I am really lagging today.

47. @Theo

The $100m i speak about is not coming from increase taxation or nothing so, just improved efficiency. Let me run it by you with a simple example.

You have 2000 people at a party who want to buy drinks, but you got 1 bar with 1 eighty year old barman with Parkinsons. Now before wunna cuss me i aint saying no politician got Parkinsons!

My point is with 4 bars and 4 barman at each bar, you will collect pissing more money. Enough to pay the 16 barman and make nuff more than the 1 bar with the 80 year old barman. Its the ” funnel effect” basically. When money can not be collected because of poor systems even though you have a multitude of costumers willing to pay.

It is time to retire the 80 year old barman in Bim and replace him with progressive change and efficiency.

48. @PLT

“+ rapid investment in and deployment of solar power generation and other renewable energy,
    + intensive redevelopment of our agricultural and fisheries sectors using information technologies,
    + establishment of a Sovereign Wealth Fund,
    + investment in public infrastructure for water distribution and waste treatment,
    + investment in public road infrastructure,
    + investment & policies to transition all new cars, trucks and busses to electric power within 2 years,
    + making our public services fit for purpose using information technologies,
    + making our education system fit for purpose using information technologies.”

EXCELLENT IDEAS, please explain to RED NECK WILY, why over the last 5, 10, 15, 20 years erc why non of these initiatives have been implimented. Lots of photo ops and gum flapping proclamations have been made and that’s about all. Barbados has to remove itself from the mentality that masa is looking after him/her and start looking after ones self. Understand what a SOCIALISTIC and CAPITALISTIC lifestyle involves and whats necessary to support this tyoe of society. As the saying goes NOTHING IN LIFE IS FREE. The billionaire did not become a billionaire because he relied on someone to hand over wealth to him, he worked, earned and understood economics and associated risk management.

49. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ TheOGazerts
    You are not lagging. You are ahead of the pack. Devaluation is austerity with a vengeance that will impact the lower income groups more heavily. Some of us do not think things through to their ultimate outcomes.
    Of course workers who are members of strong unions will attempt to recover their real income predevaluation. If they succeed it will trigger another devaluation. The history of Jamaica ,Guyana and T&T is there for all to read.