It has been more than ten years the Barbados economy has been performing poorly – a situation triggered by the global financial crisis of 2008. Some of us are old enough to remember the oil crisis of the 70s as well as the fiscal challenges of the 90s which negatively affected the cost of living for Barbadians. There was the global economic boom of the 90s that ended in the early 2000s which coincided with the Owen Arthur administration. Although Arthur is credited with overseeing a reduction in unemployment to 7% and creating an unprecedented number of jobs, it is fair to say he had an easy wicket bat on.

There is a generation of Barbadian who has not had to experience the level of economic hardship currently affecting the country. This is exposed by the national conversations being generated daily in the different fora. We have two arguments we should not conflate in the ongoing debate.

There is casting blame on the political leadership AND Barbadians at large for not influencing and implementing effective economic and social models to navigate exogenous shocks which small open economies are most vulnerable.

Now that we have mired in economic and social stagnation for more than a decade with a contracting economy; high unemployment especially in the youth segment, high debt to GDP, crumbling physical infrastructure, National Insurance Scheme in the cross hairs, judicial system operating under the stress of a heavy backlog to name a few – there is the fierce urgency of now that should give wings to policymaking and the execution of projects by the government and other stakeholders in civil society.

There is who to blame AND there is the urgent need to address the problem, NOW.

We are now faced with the fact that tomorrow is today. We are confronted with the fierce urgency of now. In this unfolding conundrum of life and history, there is such a thing as being too late. This is no time for apathy or complacency. This is a time for vigorous and positive action

Martin Luther King Jr

Let us blame who we want for the problems facing us today if we must, although sensible citizens will admit there is enough blame to go around to explain the current state of affairs in the country. It does not change the fact Barbados finds itself staring down the barrel of economic hardship for years to come. With economic hardship there will be the concomitant social challenges. We have already started to see an increase in violent crime, scant regard for traffic laws, increase in the homeless and vagrancy to list a few.

Against this pessimistic background we have the unions making demands, individual citizens making demands, private sector making demands, all comers making demands. It brings to mind the saying ‘a house divided against itself, cannot cannot stand‘.

Barbadians have been labelled an intelligent people. One does not have to be a rocket scientist to appreciate the country is in a pickle which means citizens all are also in the same same pickle. It therefore requires our government, public officials AND the majority of the electorate to sing from the same song sheet to confront an unprecedented challenge. Some will say this it is a naive expectation because it is the state of mind of households feeding the emotions of individuals. How can they be expected to overcome an innate behaviour to survive by willingly feeding in to the macro picture?

A more responsible media will have to play a leadership role to promote awareness of the issues especially of the financial variety. It is regrettable the toxic level of political partisanship that has seeped into how we manage our affairs of late. The death of Patrick Hoyos has expanded the vacuum in traditional media on reporting financial matters. Political parties have not been able to appoint competent players to challenge government’s army of financial actors. Academics from the UWI, Cave Hill expected to interject with independent analysis have been largely ineffective.

There is the reality that even if there is a COVID 19 vaccine found next year the pandemic has hastened the widening of the systemic cracks in the way we have been governing the country. To summarize what the BU intelligentsia has been opining, we have to set realistic objectives, develop smart action plans and EXECUTE with the fierce urgency of now.

223 responses to “A Time to Execute With the Fierce Urgency of NOW!”

1. @ Theo

Let me run one more by you. Paying landtax on line could cost the state up to 3% of the tax collected.

Why with nuff post offices we couldnt install the necessary hardware and let this underutilized entity help collect the land tax? No we prefer pay a bank the 3% to collect it for we.

Thats why i say there is $100M out there just wasting away because we either cant be bothered to collect it, or have no urgency to collect it at the lowest cost possible.

2. @ Vincent

The tool of devaluation is that it will increase the value of import s and reduce the value of exports. That is the basic principle in every kind of economic theory. Barbados does not have a manufacturing industry of any significance.
    If you are dealing with specifics then if you are only adding value, ie an assembly line, then the cost of export will not add significantly to the total value. In the case of Barbados, our imports will increase in cost and our ‘export’, our tourism product, will be reduce in cost, making it more at tractive to tourists from North America and Europe.
    But is absolutely right whatever school of economics you belong to. By the way, let me repeat, I am not recommending devaluation. I am suggesting decoupling from the Greenback, and fixing against a basket of currencies and commodities.
    And, again, instead of warehousing foreign reserves, we should deal in the derivatives market to secure our major imports. We do not because our policymakers and central bankers are not familiar with the derivatives markets. We can always buy in the expertise.
    By the way, how about putting another idea on the table: a CARICOM currency union.

3. @ Hal
    Laurie is a “poor” white Bajan who had an outstanding civil service record. They don’t want people like him. They go to the corporate white rich big boys who sail about on yachts with drugs.
    Peace

4. @ Vincent,

Plse explain, in simple, terms, how devaluation will impact low paid workers more than any other? IN simple language. If possible, plse list one of two of the studies to support your arguments.

5. @ Wily Coyote,

quote] The billionaire did not become a billionaire because he relied on someone to hand over wealth to him, he worked, earned and understood economics and associated risk management.[unquote

what does this mean?

6. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal Austin at 1 :17 PM
    I am happy to learn that you are not promoting devaluation as a tool to solve our present economic problem.
    If you examine our industrial sectors you will find that most of them are assembly industries, including agriculture. Eggs for broilers and layers are imported.Feeds for livestocks are imported etc.
    The levels of imported inputs in manufacturing the same. Tourism the same. An analysis of total imports should reveal that intermediate imports are high.

7. @ William

There are good ideas in Barbados, the problem as you say is that a corrupt professional middle class, mainly lawyers, have captured the political system. The voters are to blame. In May 2018, I said on BU that voters should not vote for lawyers, no matter which party they represent.
    You cannot vote for foxes then wonder why the chickens are being eaten. You get the politicians you vote for. Vote for second-rate politicians, you get a second-rate parliament.

8. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Correction :
    Intermediate “goods” not ” intermediate Imports”

9. @Vincent

No need to go literal with your interpretation of buyin from citizens. There is a reason why governments invest heavily in a PR/Communications machinery to communicate policies and other information.. The government is representative of the people and although elected to govern they must do so in a way that aligns with the expectations of the people. Bear in mind the environment in which we live is always changing.

10. @Green

“what does this mean”

Well this means nothing in life is FREE, you have to earn it. Bajans have to get over the slave day mentality that MASA(plantocract, government etc) is providing and look out and provide for yourself. Don’t rely on others fort hand outs.

11. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal Austin
    Please reread TheO Gazerts’ intervention at 11:59 AM, second paragraph. for an excellent example of the impact of devaluation on a low income maid.

12. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 1:36 PM

Your intervention cited above went over my head. What precisely is the point you meant to convey to me?

13. if devaluing the dollar to at least the EC dollar is bad it means that Bim gained a lot when we unpegged from the EC and pegged to the US dollar.

14. Sovergien Wealth Fund(SWF) is a great idea, however there’s one major missing item “WEALTH” Which is fundamental to such a fund. In Barbados case this element is missing, past & present and four declarations of financial failures in 65 years of independence says this is an impossible goal for Barbados. Just another nice photo op and more gum flapping.

The Laurie article states some facts but is quite superficial in nature and dies not address the underlying issues.

15. @Vincent

Your simple point is noted, Barbados will have to move to a place where exports increase to move the current account needle.

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2020/09/effect-of-devaluation-flow.jpg

16. @Vincent

In simple language a good government must bring the people along. It is not enough that they won an election.

17. @ Vincent

Nice to know after all these years of repeating myself about devaluation you have now got the message. Let us look at your argument of devaluation impacting the low-paid.
    You talk about assembling industry, including agriculture. What exactly do they assembly in agriculture? Eggs for broilers and layers are imported. If that is the case, then the importers should have to pay an arm and a leg. By the way, how many people work in the industry?
    Feed for livestock are imported. What feed, why and from where? What do you mean by livestock? Cattle, sheep, chickens?
    What do we import, or have to import, for tourists? Meals? If so why? Why would devaluation impact the low-paid in the tourism sector?
    I am familiar with Massy’s at Oistin’s and Emerald City. Why does Massy’s have to import vegetables from Canada and the US and rice from the US?
    @Vincent, I am not keen on the idea of devaluation in itself, but your argument is specious and uneconomic. Our problem as a nation is that we theologise nonsense, such as a PhD in some crap ology as a substitute for knowledge.
    Let us wait for the Queen’s Speech.

18. MAM and her Govt are doing a good job of bringing people along. she began with friends and family. next will be the private sector for those not included in that first group. next will be the people. just wait for it

19. David

Please don’t seem to catch at straws, Barbados has only a marginnal ability to export traditional goods. Maybe technology goods might have been more possible only if another class of people was empowered.

20. @ Wily

‘Wealth’ is not a problem. I am not going to go through it again in the BU merry go round. One gets tired with repeating oneself. But I assume Mr Laurie is aware that a Sovereign Wealth Fund must have wealth to manage.
    The real problem is a lack of political will.

21. I Am a next small island with problems similar to Barbados. Suddenly imports from Barbados got cheaper and flood my market. Suddenly my exports get too expensive for Barbados.
    What do I do? Race to the bottom?

22. (Quote):
    The history of Jamaica ,Guyana and T&T is there for all to read. (Unquote)
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

And Barbados, like the ‘populist’ move to political “Independence”, is next in the queue!

What evidence is there to support the view that the Bajan dollar is worth in real economic terms more than the T&T dollar vis-à-vis the US$?

No one is wishing doom and gloom on Barbados per se but the position taken by Wily Coyote on the ‘pending’ devaluation of the Bajan dollar is devoid of jingoism and reflects mere economic realities in the marketplace.

What is on the horizon to fill the forex-earning void left by the massive loss in tourism business considered the lifeblood of the Bajan economy?

If the Bajan dollar was on the verge of Devaluation in May 2018 -as confirmed by the current political administration as the reason behind the country’s debt default decision despite the ‘reported’ growth in tourist arrivals- why can’t similar threats arise when the foreign reserves will be facing massive hits (with no concomitant replenishments) in the coming months?

Barbados defaulted and survived. Like Jca, it will also survive after Devaluation.

It is the only antidote left in the economic medicine cabinet to wake up Bajans from their slumber in Rip Van Winkle land of conspicuous consumption based on borrowed foreign money.

Time to park the Mercedes Benz and fix the roads for electric vehicles!

23. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 1:52 PM
    I was of the opinion tnat GoB were doing a good job of communication with the public. Communication does not necessarily translate to buy-in, especially when the public sees no benefit to them of the policies. That is how a democracy functions. That is the main reason why original decisions are reversed or are held in abeyance. That is Democracy in practice.

24. @Vincent

We are talking about communication to satisfy its definition, not propaganda.

25. @Pacha

Sadly with our size of market we have to be a niche player.

26. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu 2:15 PM

I am sorry, but I will not be playing semantics with you this afternoon.

27. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu

Thanks for upload of simple chart to explain benefits of Devaluation Economics 101. I am afraid you have to move to rocket science equations. What happens if there is no demand for your cheap exports,the exporter only wants 20 K tons of sugar.Only 700K tourists want to travel or can afford to travel. Other off shore centres have better standards of accommodation at a lower price. Will that translate to increase exports in quantum and income? Your assumptions about the market for your exports may prove unfounded./false. Will there be a growth in real GDP? As you admit the graphics is simple. Real economies are not that simplistic.
    It is a didactic tool. I am glad you understand how a devaluation is supposed to correct BoP deficits.

28. @Vincent

Agree devaluation is not the solution.

29. @Vincent 2:57
    On point.

We have a multivariate problem but our analyses are often one variable at a time.

30. @HAL

“The real problem is a lack of political will.”

Agree 100%. POLITICAL reluctance comes why? Is it a reluctance to address the fall out, lack of intelligence to formulate a plan, try to survive until pension age and siphone off enough $’s to replace lack of NIS Pension or all of the above.

“Agree devaluation is not the solution.”

What is your solution ?
    DEVALUATION will defenetly bring about your always wanted preached national awakening occurrence to initiate change. Like other bloggers state, Barbados will survive DEVALUATION, adjust and move on with a more sustained economy.

31. @ Wily

It is a fear of the unknown. Any innovative policies outside their experience scares them. That is why they repeat nonsense about foreign reserves and growth and offshoring etc.
    Barbados has it in it to be a leading nation, but first we have to abandon nonsense about economic growth and talk about progress, improvements in the quality of life.
    But first we need another cohort of politicians.

32. Like Covid-19, Barbados will survive devaluation. However, I am doubtful if it will be just dust yourself off, pick yourself up and move on.

There are several levels of survivAl. Whilst we should hope for the best, our eyes should be open to all possibilities.

33. For General Information:
    Pinnacle Feeds produces almost all the animal feed in the country. It’s located at Lower Estate and forms part of Roberts Manufacturing. The company is now owned by the Massy Group. Roberts Manufacturing remains one of the country’s oldest and most successful manufacturing enterprises.
    It’s entire history also showed how easy it was for white privilege to effectively sideline blacks who actually started businesses back then.
    Those who are interested should find reading the history of Roberts Manufacturing very interesting.

34. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@TtheOGazerts at 4:43 PM

Barbados has a higher Bayesian probability of surviving COVID – 19 than a devaluation of its currency. There are some crucial areas of the financial system that need urgent attention. I read nowhere that these are being addressed. I hope that they are being attended to behind the scene.

35. It is good to see that there are more and more followers of “currency optimization” (or as the common people say: currency devaluation) on BU.

In fact, “currency optimization” is not a remedy, but simply the result of decades of mismanagement. Like the IMF. LOL.

It is also clear that the middle class will suffer most. The poor less, because the government will issue food stamps. The rich have invested their money abroad, so they are not affected either. The middle class, however, deserves this kind of punishment, because they sit in air-conditioned offices and create no value at all (apart from the few people in offshore business).

So the harmful effects of “currency optimization” could be reduced by food stamps and additionally by abolishing or radically reducing import duties.

In the end, I would like to point out a major political advantage: if we maintain the current peg to the USD, our beloved government will at some point have to reform the public sector and radically reduce the workforce. If the currency devalues, our government might continue to employ a large surplus of people in the public sector, and even grant substantial wage increases every year. If necessary, the government will simply devalue the Barbados dollar further.

Hence my recommendation to our leader: currency devaluation now with Corona as the scapegoat. Half a year before the election, a strong wage increase in the public sector and food stamps. After the election more devaluation.

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Wily
    The natural forces of devaluation, when the demand for Fx exceeds the supply, a.k.a inability to defend the peg; are not present. Even the former PM got this.
    A forced or strategic devaluation has few benefits. A major one rarely mentioned, is that public sector pensions are funded solely from the current account.
    But this can be fixed. This non contributory system where a pension is based solely on the final years earnings, is unheard of. And a growing liability.
    Going the other way, dollarization is also unpalatable. Just see Ecuador, it demands fiscal balance, which is beyond the capability of most elected governments.
    Barbados needs fiscal tweeks. They have many of the rules, but enforcement is an issue. And political interference is a challenge.

37. Skinner if i have to choose between listening to Hal Austin, Greene , you or Dr Greenidge it is a no brainer. I AM GOING WITH DR GREENIDGE as most of you overseas critics have never probably run a bread shop never mind a country.

38. It would be nice for Walter to comment on this issue of a burgeoning public sector pension. The fact it is funded from current account read no segregated fund, no escrow account, no nothing. What should taxpayers be lobbying for to protect punlic finances.

39. Skinner if i have to choose between listening to Hal Austin, Greene , you or Dr Greenidge it is a no brainer. I AM GOING WITH DR GREENIDGE as most of you overseas critics have never probably run a bread shop never mind a country.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHICH BREAD SHOP OR COUNTRY DR GREENIDGE THE IMF HOUSE SLAVE HAS EVER RAN.

THE MORE THINGS CHANGE THE MORE THEY REMAIN THE SAME.

40. @ Baje
    You must know when they cannot answer certain questions they go back to their standard fare. That’s all they have .The only trained economist that has ever been MOF or PM of our country was Owen Arthur.
    My current PM is not a trained economist. I asked a very simple question: If Greenidge , Mascoll or Persuad contradicts or disagrees with the PM we elect, should I dismiss my PM because she is not a trained economist and listen to the “ trained economists.”
    If the argument is that trained economists have the answers why don’t we get one to run the country?
    I repeat: I did not go in a polling booth and vote for Greenidge , Mascoll or Persuad. The country needs to know what they are being paid to do
    as well. I heard a lot about transparency before yet we learnt that the COVID Czar left the job via some town hall meeting. His departure and why he left has not been officially stated. His salary if there was one was never stated. The man was doing a superb job and just so he done!
    We also want to know if Comrade Prescod’s new position comes with a salary and what it is. Further more if as was stated he is “ lightweight” why was he made a special envoy to the PM? Was George Payne a lightweight too? Was Hinkson a lightweight? When did Cummins and Gooding – Edgehill become heavyweights ?
    We voted for good governance and transparency and that is all I want.
    I am waiting on the throne speech and my PM to hear where we going.?

41. @ William

May I confess to being able to bake, although I have never ran a bread shop. My mother sold bread along with all the other stuff a rum shop sells. I am also flattered that I am included among the highly educated Bajans, given I can just about write my name, far less be highly qualified.
    @William, have you ever noticed that the hecklers and BU predators shoot and scream and object but never point out where I have made errors in my assessments? It is a Bajan thing. Fortunately I have had another experience and know what a civilised debate is all about.
    By the way, Robert’s Manufacturing has been going since the early 1950s in Government Hill. As some people will say, Roberts was a poor white man with a black partner and mixed race children. I grew up with his sons, who lived in Rogers Road. It takes me back to a discussion about young lads getting jobs in Broad Street. The Jackmans (Lionel, Michael and Jeffrey) are decent lads.
    I am still waiting for the evidence of how devaluation of the Barbadian currency would impact low-paid people, either in tourism or the wider society.
    There used to be a saying in London: what do you call a black man with a PhD? A (n-word) with a PhD. We had PhDs driving buses and working as bus conductors until the explosion of black studies in the US created space for them to get jobs.

42. Every time yuh look around Mia use tax payers money to quiet the wagging tongues of her critics
    She did it with OSA
    She did it with Chris Sinckler
    Now Trevor Prescod
    All the above have said demeaning things about Mia
    The latest Prescod has shown his true colors of what it is like to be a Bee
    No wonder the state of this country affairs are replica of the managers
    Phew

43. @William, have you ever noticed that the hecklers and BU predators shoot and scream and object but never point out where I have made errors in my assessments? It is a Bajan thing. Fortunately I have had another experience and know what a civilised debate is all about. {Quote}

Hal Austin said that one of the bus companies the government take over in 1955 to form the Transport Board was ELITE BUS COMPANY. Two people prove that he was WRONG and he never come back on BU and say he make a mistake.

Calling people some fool, predators, savages, wild barking dogs, wild beast that should be in the jungle, morons, appallingly ignorant, semi-literate, brain dead buffoons that learn by rote, just because dey ain’t agree wid his opinions is knowing what a civilised debate is all about?

You know that calling people them types uh names is HECKLING too, and it don’t mek he no different from the same people he does call hecklers. It gots to be a Bajan thing fuh trute.

44. I am still waiting for the evidence of how devaluation of the Barbadian currency would impact low-paid people, either in tourism or the wider society. {Quote}

And I still waiting for the evidence that Elite was one of the bus companies the government take over to form the Transport Board.

45. @ Hal
    What they cannot understand is that the honeymoon is over and that they can’t get a free pass. The simple truth is that COVID came along and those of us who are rational decided to be less critical of an administration that wants to run the country on political PR and fancy optics.
    All I am saying is we have to run the country differently and so far the only original idea has come from @ PLT. An idea that was stolen by the administration and to this day, he has not even been given passing mention.
    Everybody agrees that the handling of the COVID has been quite impressive. However the public has not been officially informed why the Czar has quit and he was the front man during the most difficult period. Where is the transparency?
    Apparently, it was alright to hammer Stuart and company all day and night but now we are to sing in Mottley’s choir and praise her all day and night.
    I am apparently allowed to say that the crippled DLP is quite useless right now and seems unable to find its footing after the well deserved flogging in 2018 but I am not allowed to say that for all of the antics and pretty talk , I really cannot understand how we still have consultants when whatever they were brought into do is now history. As you have correctly stated, if you brought them in to do a job and the environment was, through no fault of their own, changed almost overnight and rapidly, what are their terms of reference now. What are we paying Greenidge ,Persuad and Mascoll
    for now? And what is it costing the taxpayers?
    Like I said if Comrade Prescod according to Mottley’s defenders is a “ lightweight” who got his backside kicked out of the cabinet, why make him your envoy now on reparations etc? You fired a man, who was your biggest supporter ,when everybody else was kicking you to the curb; a man who got up off his sick bed to show allegiance to you and you then repaid him by political humiliation and proceeded to appoint a green senator to your most influential ministry.What the hell makes Senator Cummins a heavyweight? Where was she when Comrade s Prescod was saving Mia’s political backside? Where was heavy weights Toppin and Marshall? I will tell you where: they were under the covers hugging up Owen Arthur.
    Well the same way the Dems cuss me the Bees on BU can continue their useless and senseless innuendos. I have been commenting on current affairs in my country long before I entered electoral politics; I was in the forefront of trade unionism long before there was a BU littered with cowards who dare not put their names to what they write!
    I hope the Throne Speech clearly shows where we heading or else we going all be living in a completely different place soon and no amount of ignorance and stupid heckling will or can change that simple fact.
    It’s high time we put Barbados and poor Black people first and give our poor black youth hope. Anything else is s a waste of time .
    We await the Throne speech.

46. RE SargeantSeptember 1, 2020 10:53 PM
    MAYBE SHE DID THE HARRIS MANOUEVRE

RE I have been commenting on current affairs in my country long before I entered electoral politics; I was in the forefront of trade unionism long before there was a BU littered with cowards who dare not put their names to what they write!

WHERE HAS IT GOT YOU?

47. DELETE SargeantSeptember 1, 2020 10:53 PM PLEASE

48. Q What the hell makes Senator Cummins a heavyweight?
    A MAYBE SHE DID THE HARRIS MANOUEVRE

49. What I find baffling is why, if Ms. Mottley had this role in mind for Prescod, she wouldn’t have discussed it with him before he was removed as minister. Then we would not have had the grievance aired and threats of exposure issued.

This leads me to speculate on whether or not this is “hush money”.

Which leads me to wonder if there was really something to expose.

Which leads me to wonder if Prescod is operating in our interest or in his.

Which leads me to wonder if there is really a position that needs to be filled and if there is would Prescod and the position be a good fit.

One thing about which I do NOT wonder is whether or not Prescod will be delivering on the threats to put meat on the bones of his outburst.

I guess he will argue that being back on the inside and in his current role, he is in the best position to make progress in the fight for reparations to the benefit of the black masses.

No lol!

P.S. I also wonder what has been gained and by whom during all these shenanigans.

The PM looks like she bungled a simple shuffle and deal. Prescod looks like he is wheeling and dealing on his own behalf and the white shadows seem to have cemented their existence in our minds, flexed some muscles, won one battle and lost another.

50. And Gooding-Edghill? Did he do the “Harris” manoeuvre?