It has been more than ten years the Barbados economy has been performing poorly – a situation triggered by the global financial crisis of 2008. Some of us are old enough to remember the oil crisis of the 70s as well as the fiscal challenges of the 90s which negatively affected the cost of living for Barbadians. There was the global economic boom of the 90s that ended in the early 2000s which coincided with the Owen Arthur administration. Although Arthur is credited with overseeing a reduction in unemployment to 7% and creating an unprecedented number of jobs, it is fair to say he had an easy wicket bat on.

There is a generation of Barbadian who has not had to experience the level of economic hardship currently affecting the country. This is exposed by the national conversations being generated daily in the different fora. We have two arguments we should not conflate in the ongoing debate.

There is casting blame on the political leadership AND Barbadians at large for not influencing and implementing effective economic and social models to navigate exogenous shocks which small open economies are most vulnerable.

Now that we have mired in economic and social stagnation for more than a decade with a contracting economy; high unemployment especially in the youth segment, high debt to GDP, crumbling physical infrastructure, National Insurance Scheme in the cross hairs, judicial system operating under the stress of a heavy backlog to name a few – there is the fierce urgency of now that should give wings to policymaking and the execution of projects by the government and other stakeholders in civil society.

There is who to blame AND there is the urgent need to address the problem, NOW.

We are now faced with the fact that tomorrow is today. We are confronted with the fierce urgency of now. In this unfolding conundrum of life and history, there is such a thing as being too late. This is no time for apathy or complacency. This is a time for vigorous and positive action

Martin Luther King Jr

Let us blame who we want for the problems facing us today if we must, although sensible citizens will admit there is enough blame to go around to explain the current state of affairs in the country. It does not change the fact Barbados finds itself staring down the barrel of economic hardship for years to come. With economic hardship there will be the concomitant social challenges. We have already started to see an increase in violent crime, scant regard for traffic laws, increase in the homeless and vagrancy to list a few.

Against this pessimistic background we have the unions making demands, individual citizens making demands, private sector making demands, all comers making demands. It brings to mind the saying ‘a house divided against itself, cannot cannot stand‘.

Barbadians have been labelled an intelligent people. One does not have to be a rocket scientist to appreciate the country is in a pickle which means citizens all are also in the same same pickle. It therefore requires our government, public officials AND the majority of the electorate to sing from the same song sheet to confront an unprecedented challenge. Some will say this it is a naive expectation because it is the state of mind of households feeding the emotions of individuals. How can they be expected to overcome an innate behaviour to survive by willingly feeding in to the macro picture?

A more responsible media will have to play a leadership role to promote awareness of the issues especially of the financial variety. It is regrettable the toxic level of political partisanship that has seeped into how we manage our affairs of late. The death of Patrick Hoyos has expanded the vacuum in traditional media on reporting financial matters. Political parties have not been able to appoint competent players to challenge government’s army of financial actors. Academics from the UWI, Cave Hill expected to interject with independent analysis have been largely ineffective.

There is the reality that even if there is a COVID 19 vaccine found next year the pandemic has hastened the widening of the systemic cracks in the way we have been governing the country. To summarize what the BU intelligentsia has been opining, we have to set realistic objectives, develop smart action plans and EXECUTE with the fierce urgency of now.

223 responses to “A Time to Execute With the Fierce Urgency of NOW!”

1. On the issue of Prescod
    How is it that Mia can create post for do nuttin ministers like Prescod at taxpayers expense
    Also what qualifications does he has to represent Barbados across the global in the call for Reparations
    The guy influence is but neck skin to nuttin in persuading govt to remove Nelson
    His utterances after he was downgraded or kick out from his ministerial post speaks volume of his knee jerk reaction to rejection
    Most will be watching how he handles his new position

2. Apart from the sense of accomplishment, that feel good hormone provides tremendous mental health benefits. The moderate physical exertion provides tremendous health benefits. The lack of pesticides does the same. The early morning and late afternoon sunshine facilitates the production of vitamin D. Fresh produce has a higher nutritional value.

And the smell and taste is amazing!

And as for the time – you could use the wasted BU shite talking session. Speaking only when you have something useful to contribute should save you a bundle.

3. Some people don’t see positives unless their party is in power.

Spending all one’s time searching desperately for the non-existent negative eventually drains a person of his/her life force.

Some productive communing with nature would do such a person much good.

Time spent in the garden instead of at the doctor, hospital and polyclinic is cheaper and more enjoyable.

Nationally, food security saves foreign currency and reduces the anxiety that comes from being dependent on others for one’s food.

4. John 2,

The way my guttering is done, water flows from four points at the back of the house. All I need to do is take the bottom pieces off and switch the spout around and into the barrel.

5. On one hand, the lady is suggesting backyard gardening would be an expensive undertaking, but on the other hand, “from a government perspective, agriculture would be more of a saving.”

Won’t water bills be high and product and materials expensive several fold to farmers as well?

Simply amazing logic.

I have to agree with Donna. I’m amazed at how some people’s ‘mission statement’ seems to be “spending all their time searching desperately for the non-existent negative” every day…….. or their sole purpose coming on BU, is to focus on everything negative and criticize every and anything, “in an attempt to demonstrate how brilliant they are,”………. and repeating silly, childish, nonsense about “the president speaking with hands flaring, fists pumping and eyes staring.”

6. Artax,

Almost all of my spending so far was discretionary. All I needed to buy really was the planting material. Didn’t really need the raised beds or pots, the soil mix or the compost or even the fertilizer. Most of the water came off the roof.

I spent money because I wanted to do it the easy way and pretty way. I expect these to be one time purchases that will benefit me for ages.

Where I have planted makes it really difficult for a thief to steal unnoticed. A sweet lime hedge will soon take care of the rest.

I have a diabetic friend in her early sixties who said she could not afford the necessary diet and she grows EVERYTHING she needs herself. She has a fulltime job as well. She has done it for years and finds it cheaper than the supermarket. She looks damn good and healthy so it seems to be workig for her.

7. How much is the import bill
    Isnt that the crux
    Govt will be exporting as well as selling to households and other buisness locally all which can be added revenue from the products sold and which can help recover funding for water usage and other items including labor cost
    The single household person with limited income buying product to farm along with other items associated for planting and harvesting would be finacially on the losing end
    However i can understand those who have a love for gardening to sow and reap at their end cost doesnt matter
    The bottom line being that they appreciate their work and benefits they attain from farming

8. “Govt will be exporting as well as selling to households and other buisness locally all which can be added revenue from the products sold and which can help recover funding for water usage and other items including labor cost.”

It’s not that simple.

9. Neither is home grown farming
    Yuh need land money and other resources
    Govt can recover losses in other ways but the household farmer would be forever stuck with the bills attached to homegrown farming
    Yes a handful of okra and cucumber
    The bigger the garden the more the cost and labour time

10. You so blasted ignorant! I know people who do it and spend practically nothing! My rasta cousin that is here fixing my lawn has almost everything and does not spend a cent.

Brought me a lovely breadfruit this morning. When he is finished the lawn he will bring me some neem for the pests. Promised me lime trees, guavas, figs and peas. Sheep manure and grey water will be enough for the orchard. My grandmother did not even clean the grey water and you could not beat the size or the taste of her fruits.

Steupse! You are sooooo negative I wonder how somebody could stand to be around you.

11. So i speak from a point a view of cost time and labour
    In your mind your labour does not add into cost of planting and other laborious task
    In my mind all of the above i personally attributes to gardening
    Be it for me to tell u how to spend your time and money
    Happy farming
    Meanwhile i would enjoy my time relaxing and buying produce at cost which is affordable to my pocket without dropping a sweat

12. People of Donna making like to force their experience of reality on to others people lives
    Most often that type personality is bossy and controlling and fail or refuse to realize that all experiences differ
    The fact i challenge her on cost and maintenance and labour of gardening brought out the beast in her with ferocious attitude and name calling
    In all seriuosness i would hate to be in her presence as a a friendcause having to disagree might cause me my life
    I rather be foe and stay far away

13. Come on…….. you’re trying to make a SIMPLE issue difficult, by comparing a farm to a simple ‘kitchen garden,’ to justify a silly argument.

What expenses would Donna incur or other resources she may require if, for example, she forked up land in her yard or the lawn at the side of the house, into 5 or 6 ‘kitchen garden beds,’ to plant vegetables, herbs etc for her personal use?

You’re essentially suggesting if I took the cost of buying food items, electricity, water and gas into consideration, it would be more expensive to cook my own meals, than buying meals from Mustor, Chefette or KFC.

14. You too
    As i say all experiences differ
    Once again i tie labour cost into planting and maintenance of the garden which can take up plenty time
    Other additional cost can vary from size of containers and land space
    I knew of a person who loved gardening
    Got up at six and worked until 11pm to keep the garden well maintained
    The crops of beautiful tomatoes and string beans were a beauty to the eyes
    But the work put in for the result
    I would not do

15. I do not know the size of her kitchen garden
    However i would guess it is much bigger than what u have stated as in past she has told enough for one to believe it is a fair side garden enough to produce products which if she choose can be sold or shared with others
    Apparently cost and labour does not matter to her and by which she prefers to relish in the result and her love of gardening

16. ANGELA COLE
    IF YOU DONT WANT TO GARDEN ——DONT GARDEN
    IF DONNA WANTS TO GARDEN, THAT IS HER BUISNESS- NOT YOURS
    BESIDES THE PRODUCE SHE WILL REAP, SHE WILL TONE ALL OF THE MUSCLE GROUPS ALL OVER HER BODY WITHOUT HAVING TO LEAVE HER HOME TO GO TO THE GYM AND PAY A GYM FEE OR EMPLOY A PERSONAL TRAINER.

YOU CONTINUE TO ENGAGE IN CONCENTRATED BOVINE EXCREMENT ON BU–OVER 10 YEARS NOW

17. Where did I mentioned anything to suggest I knew the size of Donna’s garden?

However, if you believe maintaining a ‘kitchen garden’ is far too time consuming and much more expensive than purchasing produce…….. then, so be it.

That is your opinion. Why prolong the discussion?

Time to move on.

18. Don’t know where you got the idea that my garden is big. I believe in starting small until I get the hang of it. I am gradually increasing the size. It takes less than one hour a day to keep things going. Sometimes I add an hour in the evening when transplanting.

Raised beds and pots mean less weeds.

But fyi, breaking a sweat is actually a good thing.

If a simple kitchen garden is expensing somebody it means they don’t know what they are doing. There is so much free stuff or stuff that can be recycled or repurposed that you hardly need to spend a cent.

I’m not bossy, I just hate people talking crap. What do I care if you sit on your backside all day? Just do not discourage anyone else from being productive!

Many a family ate out of kitchen gardens in my grandparents’ days or they didn’t damn well eat! It may very well come to that again for some people. You should not make it seem unworkable when it isn’t. You may not starve but they might.

19. And by the way, my best friend of forty years is an agnostic and we speak on religion without a problem.

20. When he is finished the lawn he will bring me some neem for the pests
    I saw a Neem tree in another Caribbean island are there any in Bim? It reminded me of a tree I used to see as a young boy that we called an Olive tree (not like the ones in Greece or Italy) but they seem to have disappeared from the landscape.

21. WERE’NT THEY A GROVE OF THEM AT LEARS YEARS AGO?

22. Neem trees are all over Barbados. There isn’t anywhere you can go in the island without seeing one, even in front of the General Post Office.

23. Thanks all
    its time I changed my glasses:-)

24. Bank governor confident of economic growth

Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados Cleviston Haynes is optimistic Barbados can meet its international debt obligations and return to sustainable economic growth even in the face of the COVID-19 pandemic.
    “Challenging as it is, I remain confident that we will be able to ride out this crisis and to put our economy back on a sustainable growth path,” Haynes told the Rotary Club of Barbados South at the Hilton Barbados on Wednesday.
    “I do understand, however, that there are those who are concerned about our capacity to honour our future debt obligations.
    They underestimate our resilience as a people,” he said.
    Haynes said mediumterm growth and enabling fiscal and debt sustainability remained the focus of policy under the Extended Financing Facility (FFF) with the International Monetary Fund (IMF).
    He reported the Central Bank Act is to be revised to limit future public financing by the institution.
    With continued support from domestic and international partners, Haynes anticipated a confidence to inspire new investments, accelerate programmes, including renewable energy and “maintain the appropriate buffer for our (foreign exchange) reserves”.
    Haynes said the foreign reserves exceeded $2.1
    billion and continued to rise as a result of measures taken prior to COVID-19 to strengthen public finances and build the island’s buffer of reserves.
    “In addition, the successful completion of our debt restructuring has created room for Government to expand its capital works programme in an effort to generate opportunities for some of the displaced workers,” said the honorary Rotary Club of Barbados South member said.
    ( HH)

25. Not only are u bossy but intolerant also
    I brought to table two concerns of relevancy
    1. Maintenance
    2.Cost
    All of which must be given concern in cultivating a garden
    Rather than adressing both points from a logical point of view you rather use offensive language as a defense which speaks to character which projects you as a person having an intense form singularity of always wanting to right
    To borrow one of Hals quote “a bajan condition”
    Far be it for me to tell people how to spend there money
    However a one sided point of view on any issue does not make a person riight
    Point of views vary and listening to the other side can be helpful for better understanding
    It is obviuos that your understanding of what others have to say is limited to ” My way or the highway”
    Have no suggestions for you but this i say Your views or opinions although there be yours is not the Final word on any subject
    Happy gardening in meanwhile i am off to work where i can break a sweat and be happy doing so
    Have a great day

26. My question to Haynes how will govt repay a 2.1 billion debt in five years
    in a Covid enviroment and only having a one nest basket to rely
    Btw the Dow drop yesterday
    Investors are not in a hurry to put much capital in projects until COVID is reigned in
    Airlines are laying off people in the hundreds
    Impressive as the 2.1billion look on the books
    The reality of having to repay that money is frightening
    All the good feeling talk coming from the gov.would not add up to a hill of beans until govt find the means or political will necessary to stimulate the economy whereby the blood line is activated to push spending power in the hands of the people

27. Proposed plan to put tourism workers back to work – Persaud
    Article by
    Marlon Madden Published on
    September 4, 2020
    The Mia Mottley-led administration is putting together a proposal that would see the Government providing financing for the tourism sector from the international reserves, to help keep thousands of hotel workers employed.

After a lengthy meeting with hotel workers, officials told members of the media late Thursday that they were hoping to start rolling out the plan in another month, once it was approved by Cabinet.

Professor Avinash Persaud, special economic advisor to the Government, is on the team developing the programme. Stating that the Government was fully aware of the challenges facing the sector and its workers, he said the plan being developed was being done through “heavy” consultation with stakeholders.

He said it would be designed to “transform” the sector and “reengage” the workers.

“We are trying to move away from the idea of simply extending unemployment benefits, funding people to stay at home, funding people to do nothing. We don’t want a zombie economy. We want an active economy where people can go back to work.

“We are working on a plan that would give firms a genuine choice – either they go down the severance route or if they wish to re-engage workers, reemploy workers, we will help them do that. So, the plan is around that . . . so that workers will have a choice,” he said.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/09/04/proposed-plan-to-put-tourism-workers-back-to-work-persaud/

https://youtu.be/dkHvUC54G0o

28. The Donville Inniss fallout:

ICBL sold to finance firm in Bermuda
    Article by
    Barbados Today Published on
    September 4, 2020
    The Insurance Corporation of Barbados (ICBL) has been sold by its majority shareowner BF&M in Bermuda, but the terms of the deal have not been disclosed.

The announcement that 51 per cent stake in ICBL had been sold to Paynes Bay Finance, was confirmed by BF&M chairman John Wight in an interview with The Royal Gazette newspaper in Bermuda and in filings with the regulators in that country.

ICBL has been dogged by a scandal that involved two of its former senior executives and former International Business Minister Donville Inniss who was recently convicted of money laundering and bribery charges in the United States.

In a statement Wight, who has been ICBL’s chairman for several years, said: “I can confirm that we have entered into an agreement to sell BF&M Limited’s 51 per cent share of the Barbados-based Insurance Corporation of Barbados Limited to Paynes Bay Finance Inc.

“The BF&M Group has decided that by moving forward with our remaining wholly-owned, cross-jurisdictional subsidiaries, we are better positioned to execute on our long-term strategy. With ICBL’s management and staff, and PBF as the new majority shareholder, the company is in great hands. We wish the very best to all at ICBL.”

BF&M bought the majority stake in ICBL in 2005 for almost US$26 million when the Government sought to divest some of its investments in state corporations. Wight, who is also BF&M’s chairman and chief executive officer, described ICBL as an “excellent investment that had run its course over the past 15 years”.

Hinting that BF&M was not happy with its Barbados investment, Wight told the Bermuda newspaper: “We feel the capital could be better utilised pursuing other opportunities in other jurisdictions that we’re more comfortable with.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/09/04/icbl-sold-to-finance-firm-in-bermuda/

29. seems like the bribery, corruption and general downturn in the economy was too much for BFM. unless it was a condition of the ICBL deal with the US authorities. i am not saying it was tho.

30. Sargeant,

There is one in the gap next to mine. My Rasta cousin is more familiar with the owner. I was more familiar with his sheep that used to frequent my yard. lol There are branches by the roadside hanging over but I prefer to ask even though he owes me for the plants his sheep ate and for cleaning the droppings from my driveway.

31. And happy bitching to you!

32. That was meant for the Ms. Negativity.

33. After weeks of being told by the BU economist that govt cant touch the reserves to help struggling businesses
    Now i am hearing frim tge mouth of Persaud that govt is proposing a plan which will invariably moved forward to use some of the Reserves to stimulate the hotel industry having a focus or goal in mind to slow down employment in that sector
    Hopefully Govt would use that mindset to help struggling businesses in other sections of local economy where jobs are also essential to the livelihoods of the people
    I stand by my sense of reasoning that the local economy is depending on spend coming from the locals pocket and govt would be wise to move with haste to provide a stimulus pkg whereby govt proposed such policy with haste

34. Ha. Ha. Donna everytime you open your mouth you prove me right
    You just cant help yourself proving that you are a controlling freak
    Would not wish you a dime worth of obscenity
    You aint worth even that much
    ole sow

35. I war ned that this unscrupulous government will try to force through controversial policies during the prorogation of parliament, so there will be no debate.
    One minute we are told the foreign reserves are untouchable, that they are there to meet our current account debt, now we are told that some of this warehoused money is to be used to subsidise the private hot el sector.
    This news came from a technocrat, a flunkie employed by the president as her economic adviser. Once again, total disrespect for the Barbadian people by a woman who thinks it more important to give n interview to a young interviewer on CNN than to explain her policies to the people who elected her.
    No talk about equity for debt, no talk about establishing a balance sheet, domiciled bank. All this government, bankrupt of ideas, can do is prop up badly managed hotels with their dysfunctional business models.
    From Hyatt to Persaud, the Father Christmas of taxpayers’ money, this president is showing how contemptuous she feels about ordinary BARBADIANS.

36. The position you have ascribed to the government was argued by some on BU, where was it offered as an official position?

37. @Donna
    Don’t you consider the sheep droppings payment? He was doing you a favour by providing manure for your garden they could be used as fertilizer for both of your gardens 😊

Seriously I am always looking at flora and fauna when I come home and development has reduced some of the plants I used to see but I can’t remember the Neem, lately I discovered through a Nation video that there are “Hares” in Barbados.

38. Yes Hal i was hammered knees placed in my neck because i dare said that govt can use some of the reserves to stimulate the economy
    I am not an economist but if one house is in dire need of repair one does not hored money saved and boast
    Commonsense gets action done with a forceful application of using the savings and fix the house
    All else can wait
    I

39. @MariposaSeptember 4, 2020 8:06 AM

Mariposa,

Don´t you understand? Are you Big Sinck?

There are no FX reserves, but FX debts.

40. Sargeant,

So the sheep ate the plants and paid me with droppings! Good one! Fair exchange. The cycle continues. No need for payment from the owner. I never even asked anyway.

I only recently discovered that there are hares as well. My cosmetologist cousin watches them and the monkeys from her salon window. Their frolicking keeps her happy when there are no clients. Last time I was there she tried to show me them but her eyes are better than mine.

Our other cousin owns the animal sanctuary a short distance away from the salon. People illegally import foreign animals and let them loose when they become difficult to manage. He collects them, cares for them and opens the sanctuary to the public for viewing.

As you can tell, I am surrounded by many useful, self-employed cousins. We keep the money circulating in the family. This morning another diving cousin dropped off some seafood.

Get my eggs and poultry from another cousin, some of my vegetables from two other cousins. Get my pharmaceuticals from another cousin. Another cousin does my sewing and yet another my upholstery.

I love my neighbourhood!

41. Watching Al Jazeera. UN is warning about the rising deaths from hunger due to unemployment caused by COVID.

People don’t mind the naysayers. Start planting! Any fool, including me, can do it!

42. Boy, my grammar is suffering from listening to others!

Less weeds instead of fewer weeds etc. I need to get back to reading the classics.

43. @ Mariposa

You were absolutely right. Don’t be intimidated by so-called economists with PhDs. Stick to your common sense. I had a higher opinion of Persaud, mainly because of some of his associates in London. But, if he is responsible for the policy advice given to the president, I suspend that opinion.

44. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Sergeabt

I may be wrong,but the Neem tree was introduced into Barbados about two decades ago. It grows quickly and appears to be part of the local landscape.
    The olive tree of which you speak seems to have disappeared. I have not seen a Barbados olive tree since I was ten years old. It was used by older ladies of my grandmother’s generation to healing “head colds”.

45. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Correction:
    “for” healing ,not “to”.

46. 2 decades? that long? i seem to remember they were planted along the highways in one of th beautification projects. along with olive trees, elder berry or elder bush and others seemed to have disappeared too or are far and few between.

Bim is ill served by the Min of Agriculture. there is no culture there. that Ministry should have made efforts years ago to preserve and catalogued the trees we have and introduce other that are compatible with our climate and environment. instead they make it v difficult to import trees yet they dont want to do it.

where is the likes of Robert Lucas when we need them

i am big into fruit trees. i collect, exchange, graft them and what i dont want i plant on bare land in the country side.

47. The natives are flexing their Constitutional right for Transparency by this govt
    The long awaited buses are mired in controversy
    The people are asking questions as to Who are whom are the owners of these buses
    Are they leased or are they fully paid by govt as right to ownership
    But what a ting doah a govt who promised Transparency is getting a tongue lashing from the natives and ordered to take a bush bathe

48. @Donna
    You and your family have discovered one of the ways to success, keep on doing what you are doing.
    The hares must have been introduced in recent years I don’t believe I could have missed them.

@VC
    If those trees were only introduced 2 decades ago no wonder I wasn’t familiar with them locally as I departed those shores prior to that time, as to the Olive trees I also remember they were used for medicinal purposes I can’t believe that they aren’t around any longer I hope they are still around in some neglected corner of the island.