Submitted by a Concerned Party (updated 1/07/2020 7:33PM)

In the High Court of Judicature CV#333 of 2019 – When losing is winning big

The law.
A dear elderly friend mentioned to me some difficulties he was experiencing at the hands of his children together with their mother, his ex-wife, I realised it was elder abuse immediately but especially flagrant abuses of his civil liberties.
He wanted to get his attorney to conduct or change some business but was being prevented from so doing.  Since I was well known to the household I told him I will inquire for him but would need his permission. I however made an appointment with my attorney and called him saying I’ll pick him up the next day to take him to the attorney.  When I arrived the next day his daughter was there with him and asked what the mission was about. I ignored the question. This was 2017.
I visited the Welfare/Probation Department and complained. They said he has to make the complaint himself. I went to the Police but they said the same thing. Called the US Embassy they said the same thing. They further said that they have to respect the laws in the host country and there were none that empowered them to intervene.
Bound and in disbelief I consulted an attorney who said there were no elder abuse laws in Barbados but I could bring the case under Neglect or  such but advised that unless they get instructions directly or a written authorization they couldn’t take the case.  No attorney would take the case or bring a case unless the elderly give direct instructions.
I continued to monitor the situation. But subsequent visits the daughter was always very in the midst of us so that no personal or private conversation could be conducted. It is unacceptable that there is not one authority in Barbados that can move in and protect the elderly that are being abused either physically or financially or civilly or sexually or psychologically except the elder makes that complaint themselves.
So what was very peculiar in this instance was the hostage effect. The elder was barred from using the telephone he pays for or visiting or being visited by anyone outside those who bought the talk that he is senile or suffers (incurable) from Alzheimer’s. Everyone is warned that he doesn’t know what he is saying so they let sleeping dogs lie.
There is apathy when dealing with the elderly too. Its as though they have passed their “use by date”. While visiting the Probation Department I collected literature on Elder Abuse under the UN Human Rights Convention. I decided that I would bite the bullet and get some action on this elderly’s behalf using this Law.
I filed a case in the High court in March of 2019 with an emergency application seeking among other orders, primarily a Protection Order and Partial-Custodianship.  I was given April 19th (Good Friday) then that was postponed to July 25 which was postponed again and then to year end, 2019. After some outside intervention I finally got a Judge and date: February 27 2020.
1. On that first appearance January 27, 2020
The Judge said she studied the file and is aufait with the case contents and orders sought. She asked if anyone helped me with the Application and I said no but I did speak with an attorney.  She knew it was flawed. But before sharing this with me and giving me the leave to correct it she continued with it as is. She told me that I will get some of the orders but not all. She adjourned for two weeks  to invite the Probation department to guide her, saying that this matter was new to the courts.  I was relieved that I could then leave this burden to the professionals.
2 Second Appearance: February 13, 2020
On that date I appeared and there was no Officer from the Probation Department (PD). Instead the judge told me that she had decided to deal with the matter under the Mental Health Act (MHA) because the PD doesn’t have power under their Act to deal with such aspects of this matter but only economic assistance. She did not consider any other act. She instructed me to serve all the Defendants. I resisted because I requested an Ex Parte Application for a Protection Order on this action and that wasn’t given. She said that is for Magistrates’ courts. She said serve the defendants.  I tried to explain the dangers in these cases (and trafficking) of alerting the perpetrators/defendants of what is happening while the victim/elderly remained in the dwelling and in a vulnerable state. She said,“that’s a chance we will have to take”.  Distressed and overwhelmed I began canvassing the various agencies that are or should be dealing with elderly abuse or care of the elderly or human rights to try to avoid serving and alerting the defendants of the pending actions while the victim remained in the same space.  No one could do anything but the Ministry of People Empowerment advised that there were many legislations that could have been used that authorize the ance of a Protection Order.  They couldn’t do anything since the matter was already occupying the courts’ attention. At a dead-end and with the deadline for minimum service time nearing I went against my better judgment and decided to go ‘like a lamb for the slaughter.  I served the documents.  No time was I told that the case before the court was procedurally wrong.
3 Appearance February 25, 2020

The Defendants appeared with an Attorney who said that I had no grounds for bringing a case on behalf of the elderly since I did not seek and obtain the courts’ permission. He moved to strike out my case in place for an application for Custodianship of the elderly by the very Defendants who the elder asked to be protected from the Mental Health Act. claiming I did not have the court’s permission. ​I asked for immunity for any possible damages for bringing the case​ and the Judge seemed shocked at the request. The Attorney ventured that I was asking for immunity only because I didn’t want to pay cost. I said I wasn’t bothered about cost. That went over his head. I informed that there was another child from another relationship. The Judge cautioned that the defendants must be transparent and that all relevant parties must be included in the application. The attorney indicated that the Act allows the patient to say who he wants to be involved in his care. To my mind that is under normal circumstances when the elder is in agreement to and part of that decision but not part of the Claim. The Judge then said if by the adjourned date she does not have the MHA application before her “the issue will have to be kept alive” . that is the case on file. The same case with all the ‘not procedurally sound’ issues.

With this conditionality and know it would take some time to get in touch with the other child, ​and knowing that I did not use the MHA but was guided by the Human Rights Act/Principles for Older Persons resolution 46/91 of December 1991 of which Barbados is a signatory I decided to prepare and file my Submissions.

The 2nd Claimant did not appear because although the Court served Take Notices on all parties, he did not receive his service. The defendants purposely and maliciously withheld all this information from him. The matter was adjourned for March 20. ​The Attorney indicated to me after the hearing that he has never met the 2nd Claimant.

The case was further postponed to March 26 then along came Coronavirus.

4 Appearance Friday 26, June
The Judge indicated that she did have the application under the Mental Health Act in her hands and therefore she will dismiss the original case. I asked why and indicated that I filed submissions for my case which stated the law under which a party could bring a case on behalf of another and gives immunity. The Attorney interjected that I went ahead and filed submissions although I was advised that the application for the MHA would be soon coming. He further stated that I did not have the court’s permission to act as the elder’s friend.  I was shocked.  Only then did the judge say to me that my matter is not procedurally sound. He also stated that the Judge should not even have been entertaining me since I was not a legal party. Four sessions. I asked for leave to get permission.

I asked for leave to get permission but the Judge indicated that she had the MHA application in her hands (as if to say the one overrides the other).​ Not being an Attorney they distracted me. The Judge never reviewed my Submissions, it seems, as she clearly had decided to go with only what she knew and what the defendants’

Attorney proposed: the MHA regardless of my response to the defendants that I did have grounds to bring a case under the Human Rights Act as outlined in the submissions before her (filed before the defendants’ MHA) and ​which​ ​is interpreted to state that I did not need the court’s permission in this instance. The Elder was a part of the Claim.

My application was faulty, yes, covering what could be deemed many cases/issues. The remedy therefore could have been to strike out that part of the case which was in conflict with the Law and retain and ventilate those which were covered by the law as per my submissions.

The Deputy Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs did say that there were several legislations that could have been used to issue a Protection Order. This is mind-boggling. I bowed out. I however asked for the elder to be allowed his independent attorney as in the first instance it was a violation of his civil liberties;that he was held hostage in his own home and secondly denied access to his attorney and appropriate medical care and attention.

The big irony is that the Attorney asked for cost which I instructed that the 2nd Claimant will have to pay since it was his case I was joined with. ​He has to pay the cost for attempting to bring a case against the defendants who used his money to mount the defence against his case. T​ he very defendants who are again now using his money to bring a MHA application without his knowledge or consent to suggest/ inquire into his capacity to manage his own affairs and for them to do so if he is found to be incompetent.

Stephen Lashley missed it all along…that the elder was also listed as Claimant. LMAO

The Law is an Ass. Or the people that work it.

Nothing in my Statement of Case suggests that I intended to be the party applying for Custodianship of the elder.

MISCARRIAGE  OF JUSTICE

223 responses to “The Law and Protecting the Elderly – Managing by Default”

1. Congrats to @ PLT. He now joins: Justice Cumberbatch; Senator Caswell Franklyn , as contributors to BU that PM Mottley takes seriously.

Does this mean @PLT will now disappear into the ether? Who’s next on BU to get a gig?

2. William Skinner,

Did you even read what I said????

I suggest you do so.

3. And I stand by what I said about the jackass Hal Austin and whoever else the tail fits.

I also recognise your snide dig for the second time about my advice to KK and say that I have given much advice to many many children who took it very well because they knew I had their best interest at heart. And rather than be turned off by my confronting pompous asses and calling them out, they would applaud me for keeping it real and saying what respect for elders prevents them from saying.

Now go back and read what I said because you have totally missed it!

4. @ William (12.02)

We may have to differ on the idea of a Bajan Condition. I fully understand your idea a conditioning, but that is a process. I am talking about an ou8tcome, an acculturated, and predictable, behaviour.
    As I have said before, I am not in a beauty contest and if people are upset or offended that that is their concern. I have no interest in the Barbados professional class or the political elite and certainly do not want to be on their Xmas list.
    I am not sure how closely you read the various contributors to BU, but if you do like me, you would be able to differentiate those who come out shouting, aggressive, looking for a fight.
    Then there are those who refuse to engage in any serious debate simply looking for an opportunity to heckle and throw stones; then we have the cut and paste maniacs, who add nothing to discussions apart from constant racialised abuse; we also have those who if they do not understand what a person is saying simply go on to interpret for them, rather than ask for an explanation, and there are the nutcases. You can count on one hand those on BU you can have a rational discussion with. Our upbringing is not deterministic. There is free will.
    @Wiliam, those collective behaviours are what I call the Barbados Condition, if you do not agree, then fine. We are all ‘victims’ of our upbringing, which is true, but if you are comfortable with the foul language, the verbal thuggery, that is also fine with me.
    I welcome debate, no matter how robust, and like matching ideas against conflicting ones, but not fabrications and outright lying to score juvenile points.
    If the intention is to intimidate, then they are picking on the wrong fella. If people feel insulted if their behaviour is described as the Bajan Condition, tough luck. I can give examples of imbecilic behaviour, but decline to.
    By the way, in my experience, it is unique. I do not find it among other Caribbean people, unless I know the wrong ones.

5. “Who’s next on BU to get a gig?”

Perhaps you meant this in jest, but Mia has shown herself able to neutralize those outside of the “yard”. She finds a way to render impotent those who are possible political threats.
    “Every man has a price.” If necessary, as was repeatedly done with others, she will find the “price”.

This is one of her strengths that is never mentioned.

6. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    I’ll still stick to what I said; all this talk about who on the rock and who off the rock is rubbish.
    But we are all adults and are entitled to behave how we choose. The young people fortunately ignore us most of the time.
    Respectfully I’ll stick to my position. Same as what I said to @Hal above.
    Without BU and Brasstacks, the entire place will be totally barren of any meaningful discourse.
    Once more, we all owe David, a debt of gratitude for keeping BU going.

7. William Skinner Avatar

@ TheOGazerts

Let’s place serious bets on @ Enuff and my pal @ Lorenzo. I think they will be tremendous assets and will do BU proud. Reliable sources report that @Hal is looking at High Commissioner. @Donna: Youth Affairs. I won’t be considered because I once lost my deposit.
    Being lighthearted folks😊
    Happy weekend to all.

8. @ William

Nah. I fancy being the gin and tonic taster in chief. Good for tourism.

9. 🙂 Unable to accept the bet on Enuff and Lorenzo. They are not “outside of the yard” 🙂
    Don’t let them wipe away your smile.

10. If you accept that the individuals mentioned are worthy where is the sense in being critical of involvnthem in government? Do you want competent people in position or not.

11. We love and embrace a simplicity that does not exist. In a short time we will have someone running in here and grouping people who share different opinions ideas and (possibly) values under the D umbrella..

We have discussed how other factors can trump qualifications; the square pegs in round holes, how being a kin or who you know can serve to move a less qualified candidate to the top of the list.

It would be surprising, if being “worthy and competent” and not other extraneous factors tip the scales in the direction of one candidate.

12. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    White rum all the way myBrother. All I want is the rum industry nationalized and white rum price reduced.

13. @ William

We have said on numerous occasions. Rum is our only genuinely world class product, but this government could not organise a booze up in a rum shop. They are so fixated on tourism, they do not even know what the tourists drink.
    Open a rum academy, legally define Bajan (Barbadian) rum and promote it like the Scots do with Scotch Whisky. Let us develop local gin (again).

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

@William ‘Rum Lord’ Skinner
    You need to invest in your own still, and pump out the product yourself. Without a filter it won’t be clear like vodka, but will drink fine. Barrels are fairly easy to find for ageing.

15. William Skinner Avatar

@ Northern Observer
    Thanks for the advice. The only problem is that if I spend my time producing , I wouldn’t have time for drinking. Have a good week end NO 😊

16. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    The last time we produced a locally brand gin, Errol Barrow called it disguised rum or something like that.
    Maybe he was a gin man like you my friend.

17. Not in MB or PLT class. But I do have a few pennies that I can gamble with.
    If you can convince me, me and my money can be parted.
    Tired of 0.1% interest

18. @ William

I am trying to remember some of the gin brands my mother used to sell. Whatever happened to those? As for Barrow, I hope we shared nothing in common. He was from St Lucy and went to Wesley Hall.

19. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    Gordon’s , Gilbeys ,Beefeater. I think White Tavern etc

20. There is aggressive and there is passive aggressive.

You come here every day insulting people and somehow think you should be allowed to get away with it.

There are some people who can insult you and you don’t even realise it for a second. But you are not so skilful. You think because you say it softly and in the queen’ English it doesn’t count as incivility??

Steupse! Jackass! That is the queen’s English too.

21. @William

You want the blogmaster to post a topic on liquor?

22. @ William

Those are all imported brands. I am talking about locally produced gins. I am sure Alleyne Arthur produced one, so did Hanschell

23. William Skinner Avatar

Not really. I know BU is considered a “ rum shop” but sometimes I feel the discussions are way below what obtained in rum shops I once frequented. However, I would advise you and others to not follow @ Hal with the gin. We produce much better rum of all varieties. Lol

24. @William

Have an experiment this weekend. Try a gin and let me know how it felt.

25. @Hal 8:53 a.m
    I read you entire submission an have one bit of advice for you
    ” I am not in a beauty contest”
    🙂 Calculate your chances of winning 🙂

I just figured out why others don’t like my comment. I think I remind them of a son born of Lawson (tries to be funny) and cuhdear (nitpick, make mountains out of molehills)

26. Wuhlaus! I just imagined him in a swimsuit posing.

TheO, you need to stop!

27. Donna
    Pay Hal Austin no mind. Nobody building houses on transport board site.

28. Correction – the young people ignore YOU.

AND you should direct your comments to Hal Austin who without any provocation said yesterday that he avoids interactions with EVERYONE on this rock who has not lived overseas as though we are beneath his fat jackass self. But you did not jump out to correct him but want to put me in my place while you chatter away nicely to him.

Look, be off do!

29. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Dullard July 3, 2020 7:15 AM “Who’s next on BU to get a gig?”

Please, not me.

Too old.

Too tired.

Worked long enough already.

44 years for pay.

All my life since age 4 in the fields.

I don’t want no political pick.

There are enough bright youn Bajans in and out of Barbados. Let them do the work.

I trust them to do the work.

Me?

Taking a nap right now.

30. He is a pompous, lying, deceitful jackass! Hard to ignore that every day.

31. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Cherfleur/Concerned Party mentioned that she is a foreigner living in Barbados. So while this “Good Samaritan” attempts to move heaven and earth for the care of someone else’s daddy, I wonder who has cared for or who is is caring for her mummy and her daddy in a foreign land?

The Gospel according to Saint Matthew, chapter 7, verse 5 advises “You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.”

We all need to spend more time and ‘yes” more MONEY looking after our own elderly parents.

32. AND you should direct your comments to Hal Austin who without any provocation said yesterday that he avoids interactions with EVERYONE on this rock who has not lived overseas as though we are beneath his fat jackass self…..(Quote)

Plse cut and paste where I said the above. Is it the norm on BU for some contributors to fabricate things for effect?

33. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Donna July 3, 2020 3:30 PM “…fat…”

Cuh dear Donna, ya din hafta to call ‘e fat, even if he is.

Did I tell you that when I went to my doctor after the lockdown that I had lost a pound. Little Johnny told me “ma, you are likely the only person in the world who lost weight during the lockdown”

But all that yard work certainly takes he weight off.

Feeling good.

34. You cut and paste. I am using a phone and haven’t a clue how to do it. My pc is in the shop and my son is on the lap top.

35. I know a lady, a returnee, who told me that she tries to avoid stay at home Bajans, unless she really has to come in to contact in business, shopping etc. Otherwise, all her close friend are fellow returnees….(Quote)

36. AND you should direct your comments to Hal Austin who without any provocation said yesterday that he avoids interactions with EVERYONE on this rock who has not lived overseas as though we are beneath his fat jackass self…..(Quote)

37. Already went back and read. You should post the entirety of what you said because it will show the build up, the reference of your friend to back up your opinion of us and your obvious agreement with the sentiment.

So…. though you may not have said those exact words ( I only skim because they are usually offensive) though you may not have said those exact words, your meaning was clearly implied.

Funny I never used this phrase before but it popped into my mind when I reread your post – a choice Bajan phrase that fits ever so perfectly –

SAME DIFFERENCE!

38. Cuhdear Bajan,

Don’t usually use fat as an insult but it just fit nicely.

Hal tries my patience.

39. AND you should direct your comments to Hal Austin who without any provocation said yesterday that he avoids interactions with EVERYONE on this rock who has not lived overseas as though we are beneath his fat jackass self…..(Quote)

So…. though you may not have said those exact words ( I only skim because they are usually offensive) though you may not have said those exact words, your meaning was clearly implied…(Quote)

The Bajan Condition at play. This is what I think you really wanted to say. These words were in your mind. Is there a resident psychiatrist?

40. And if there is one he should start with you. You get great joy from disparaging the people from whom you came. You ought to get that checked.

Me? I disparage those who disparage me. That is quite normal.

Sick pig!

41. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    Not a chance. Have not touched gin for over twenty five years.Cheers bro’

42. The Overseas Bajan Condition!

Think they know all. Think they are superior. Think when they marry a white woman they have arrived. Behave as though they have cause to pity us because our life is sooooo miserable. Some of you get it and others don’t. We have examples of both here.

Miller lives overseas. Theo lives overseas. Dpd lives overseas. They don’t have it. Neither does Skinner. I can’t remember them all. Your kind is in the minority.

Thank God!

43. @ Donna

I agree with you re: “Many cases of the system not working in USA, CANADA, (UK).” However, we should use those situations as examples to rise above the mediocrity that sometimes surrounds us.

There is usually a collaborative effort between social welfare agencies, such as NAB, NHC, UDC, RDC, Welfare Department, Poverty Alleviation, QEH, Child Care Board and the Disabilities Unit. If a complaint is made to one agency, referrals are made to all the other relevant agencies.

‘Concerned Party’ mentioned going to the police, on behalf of the elderly gentleman, but was told the he would have to make the complaint himself. Why? What did she say to solicit that response? Also, she admitted her “application was faulty,” the Judge said the “matter is not procedurally sound,” and having gone to Elder Affairs, (which she should have done in the first place), to learn they can’t do anything because the matter is before the Court, I was shocked someone actually wrote “the complainant acted correctly.”

The system definitely needs improving. But, until that happens, we have to work with and make the best use of what’s currently in place. That’s one of the reasons why I believe ‘Concerned Party’ should have gone to the Ministry of People’s Empowerment & Elder Affairs or NAB….. first.

We have new car dealers lobbying government to ‘level the playing field’ between them and used car dealers; LGBT for equal rights; and women empowerment groups against sexual abuse. Similarly, proposals could be developed collaboratively between special interest groups, such as Men’s Education and Support Association (MESA), National Organisation of Women (NOW), Barbados Council for the Disabled (BCD) and ESPECIALLY Barbados Association of Retired Persons (BARP), and use them as a basis to lobby ‘government’ for favourable public policy changes and the enactment of legislation to protect the elderly from all forms of abuse.

In this regard, rather than being seen as elitist groups catering to retired professionals and ‘well to do’ middle class people, organisations such as BARP would have a significant and important role to play. Surely if they are “dedicated to improving the quality of life of older persons throughout the island,” then addressing the issue of elder abuse should be a PRIORITY. I’m sure among its membership are retired lawyers who could advise and assist in drafting proposals.

44. NorthernObserver Avatar

@WS
    It takes far less time than you think. You have a good July 4th.

@Blogmaster
    why not a Rum blog lol?

45. Artax,

Good ideas. Unfortunately BARP seems to have morphed into a fairly useless club. Ran into a lady brimming with ideas and energy while standing in line at the credit union. I asked her why she didn’t attend meetings and pass her ideas on. She said she had done so on many occasions and was dismissed. She wasn’t of their ilk from what I could tell. But she was far more intelligent and useful.

46. AND you should direct your comments to Hal Austin who without any provocation said yesterday that he avoids interactions with EVERYONE on this rock who has not lived overseas as though we are beneath his fat jackass self…..(Quote)

Plse cut and paste where I said the above. Is it the norm on BU for some contributors to fabricate things for effect?

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

@ Hal

YOUR FRIEND MAY BE GOING THROUGH MENOPAUSE.

NO DIFFERENT TO @Lorenzo who have the same Bajan Condition.

SHE WAS NOT BORN IN BARBADOS YET SHE IS MORE BAJAN THAN YOU AND I BOTH BIRTHED ON THE 2 x 3 ROCK.

SOMEHOW SHE FEELS SHE HAS THE RIGHT TO FEEL HER OPINION AND FEELINGS ARE MORE IMPORTANT.

IGNORE HER SHE WILL WILL CONTINUE HER SPURIOUS SILLY ATTACKS.

YOU CAN’T ARGUE WITH A WOMAN WHO IS SO DELUSIONAL THAT SHE BELIEVES SHE IS AMONG THE RICHEST 10% OF THE PEOPLE ON THE GLOBE.

MIND YOU SHE DIDN’T SAY BARBADOS WHICH MIGHT HAVE BEEN MORE BELIEVABLE.

THAT IS WHY THEIR LOCAL POLITICIANS TRICK AND FOOL THEM BECAUSE MANY DON’T SEEM TO BE IN TOUCH WITH REALITY AND TRUTH ON THE ISLAND.

47. Just imagine Austin as a returning national.🤣🤣🤣

48. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Enuff. Now I will have nightmares once I go to bed.

49. Born in England. CONCEIVED RIGHT HERE IN BARBADOS.

NOW… how many billionaires are there? How many millionaires are there? How many people are there? Look it up!

The billionaires and the millionaires make up less than two percent of the world’s population.

That means that one can be in the top three percent with less than a million dollars net worth. US dollars of course.

Do the math! Most people are poor, working poor or middle class with less than a thousand in the bank and huge mortgages, car loans and multiple maxed out credit cards. The things they buy depreciate in value while the interest they pay on the purchases increases. They pay minimum balance.
    All except the mortgage where you pay for years mostly towards interest before acquiring any real equity in the property. Do you understand how to calculate net worth ?

What do you think all the unrest in the world is about????? Over the last couple of decades the money has increasingly been transfered to the Bernie Sanders favourite one percent.

I ask you again – you don’t know me so how do you know my net worth? STRANGE THAT I HAVE NEVER QUESTIONED YOUR QUALIFICATIONS OR YOUR SALARY AS SOME DO. NEVER CALLED YOU A LIAR BUT YOU SPEW SUCH VENOM AT ME TEKKING UP HAL FIRE RAGE.

PS. Is there something called male menopause? If not what is your excuse.

Have a good night! I intend to.

50. Enuff and Cuhdear,

Noooooooooo!

😬😬😬😬😬😬