The following comment was posted by local microbiologist Dr. Robert Lucas to another blog – Bajans Jettison Social Distancing for Cheek by Jowl. The blogmaster regards it as one of the most important points shared on Barbados Underground since the status of COVID 19 was elevated by Prime Minister Mia Mottley.

David, Barbados Underground

Let me repeat what I have stated elsewhere on the Blog.

The curfew has to rigorously enforced. Once this is done, there is no need for contact tracing. I will explain.

Those who manifest symptoms are easily managed. It is person Z who comes into contact with a person (asymptomatic or beginning to show signs) and is unaware of the fact, who poses the immediate threat. By having the curfew and rigidly enforcing it, means that person Z is localized to a fixed area.

There will be more than one person who qualifies for the nomenclature Z. Since the curfew is rigidly enforced when the Zs become ill and use the hotline, hot spots are known. There will be a number of these hot spots. There should be isolated and all persons in the vicinity of the Z’ screened and placed into mandatory quarantine. No crap about voluntary quarantine.

For this method to work, it means that very tough enforcement it needed. None of this crap about human rights and individual liberty. Human rights and so on can be dealt with after the situation is under control…

Elsewhere on the Blog, I said that a twenty-eight day curfew was needed. I explain my reasoning as follows: there would be different viral incubation times for different individuals. Twenty-eight days would appear to be time for all individuals to show manifestations of the infection.

688 responses to “Local Microbiologist Calls for Curfew to be Extended to 28 Days”

1. @ PLT

The WhatsApp route is an option but you would have to try and limit the length of the order to say 30 different items per order as you will be doing this manually, so it will be very time consuming. Then you got to factor In the payments as you can’t run a credit card on WhatsApp, so you back to the lap top or smart phone. I paid my car insurance this week via an agent over the phone and it took some time, as I still had to wait on them to email me the paper work. It worked though so that was the important thing!

2. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

First of all …EVERYONE should be MASKED AND GLOVED UP…NO MATTER WHERE THEY ARE GOING…you have to give consideration to those WHO CANNOT SIT ON THEIR BEDS AND ORDER FOOD…then handed a package of expired or inferior quality SHITE…you are not dealing with the nicest people in Barbados, the greediest maybe..

3. @ de

Let’s chat Thursday evening on how it worked then. Proof of the pudding in the eating.

4. John 2 you are correct if you look at the persons calling for the opening of supermarkets whereby the virus could spread even more like Mariposa, John A, Baje,Greene, Austin,Waru and a few others have political agenda hoping to see this government fall.They care little about bajans but their efforts will fail.This is the rrason i care nothing about these non medical overseas armchair expert bloggers.

5. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

But somehow am the illiterati, coming from the corrupt POS..

“BARBADOS 60 CORONAVIRUS CASES AS OF TODAY

280,000+ POPULATION

OPEN AIR AND SEAPORTS, CLOSED SUPERMARKETS AND PHARMACIES.”

SO WHO IS REALLY TREATING THEIR POPULATIONS LIKE IDIOTS COULD ONLY BE DONE BY A DESPOT”

Despots who believe they have CAPTURED SLAVES…

they so want putting in a prison somewhere..

6. A

Have nothing for or against your logistics.

I have a family in Barbados and is away from them. I travel through airports weekly
    I don’t think I have the virus but I am not coming home for obvious reasons. My family have to go through this the same as anyone else on the island.

protecting them is first for me. but I do understand why government made some of their decisions. I doubt they is any government that isn’t getting hit for the way they handle some aspect of this crisis.

7. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Shopping for groceries online is what many people do overseas in the “non-failed” states.”

In places where they are professional and do not have EXPIRED PRODUCTS on their shelves and won’t put it in your bag, i have had to alert top supermarkets in Barbados about expired products still on their shelves and i am not the only one….

… people like to choose their own items it is their money and you negros cannot be trusted, we already know the merchants are greedy have no ethics nor scruples, you are a banana republic with a plantation mentality….that CANNOT BE TRUSTED AT ANY TIME.

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Fair enough at John2, re “I when to HD today. line outside was short so I decide to get inline. When I got inside ans saw the amount of people, although they were well spaced, I hightailed it out. will get my plants and items another time.”

In some states gun shops were open as essentials…one man’s poison is another’s essential need clearly!…And of course one US governor reopened the essential beaches his mayor had closed in her city!

Life is like a box of chocolates…the man said, right!

I’ll put in this way the folks in Washington state, or NJ or NY or California and now even Florida are aggressive on mitigation with their spiralling numbers and have a different appreciation of the simple joy of a waking up to a cup of coffee or tea than let’s say folks in Wyoming or Ohio where the threat seems quite, quite low… the former just savour that taste of life more as many are truly concerned about not having it!

Barbados needs to act like a NY or NJ not a Wyoming!

9. John 2 you are correct if you look at the persons calling for the opening of supermarkets whereby the virus could spread even more like Mariposa, John A, Baje,Greene, Austin,Waru and a few others have political agenda hoping to see this government fall.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I KEEP PROMISING NOT TO RESPOND TO YOU MR BUTTHEAD.

GUYANA WITH TWICE THE POPULATION OF BARBADOS HAS 1/2 THE POSITIVE CASES WITH THEIR SUPERMARKETS AND PHARMACIES REMAINING OPEN.

NO ONE CARES WHETHER THIS GOVERNMENT RISES OR FALL HOWEVER THE PEOPLE WILL CONTINUE TO SUFFER IF LED BY THESE BUFFOONS AND THEIR POLITICALLY CONNECTED CZAR WHO DOESN’T SEEM TO HAVE A CLUE.

10. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

And this below is the reason for closing the supermarkets…it is not about COVID…it’s about the business crooks and their M-Money SCAM..

“All yuh see how useful a facility like M-Money could be and why electronic payments rather than cheques is the way forward? Bdos post-COVID pandemic should hopefully be a more forward-thinking and acting society.”

11. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Baje…they believe they are really speaking to their illiterati SELVES….this is not about the plague, they have spent the last two years and limitless taxpayers money trying to run that M-Money scam, all the thieves are involved, it’s only now they have the opportunity to use a disease to shut down supermarkets to get the scam up and running…..holding the people HOSTAGE.

12. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Ah knew Fowl Enuff would come through for me and tell me what it was all about and what evil shite they were brewing…..lol…she could never have kept that info, too excited, she would have exploded first…

13. Fauci once dismissed concerns about ‘silent carriers’ of coronavirus. Not anymore.

At Sunday’s White House briefing, Dr. Anthony Fauci, the longtime director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, suggested that hundreds of thousands — or even millions — of “silent carriers” may be unwittingly spreading the coronavirus across the United States because they don’t realize they’re infected.

The idea that at least some coronavirus carriers don’t feel sick isn’t new. But the scale of Fauci’s estimate was.

“It’s somewhere between 25 and 50 percent” of the total, Fauci said. But “right now,” he went on, “we’re just guessing.”

Fifty percent is a staggering — and scary — number. To put it in perspective, an asymptomatic rate that high would theoretically double the confirmed U.S. case count to more than 700,000 infections (even though the actual number of infections is likely much larger, given all the issues with testing).

But Fauci has reason to suspect the asymptomatic rate could be as high as 50 percent. Researchers initially assumed the coronavirus would spread much like its notorious sibling, the virus that caused SARS — that is, only from people who were clearly sick with fever and cough. “Even if there’s a rare asymptomatic person that might transmit, an epidemic is not driven by asymptomatic carriers,” Fauci himself said on Jan. 28.

Yet as the deadly pathogen shut down one country after another, evidence began to surface that sick people weren’t the only ones spreading it. Some of the new data came from Wuhan, China, where the pandemic originated. Some of it came from the Diamond Princess cruise ship, where more than 700 captive passengers and crew members tested positive. Some of it came from Iceland, where nearly 5 percent of the total population — sick or not — has been screened for the virus.

All of it pointed to the same conclusion: Silent carriers are real, and they are most likely infecting others.

Estimates of the asymptomatic rate have been ticking upward for months. That’s one reason why U.S. authorities recently reversed their earlier guidance and started advising all Americans to wear masks in public.

14. @John A

Let us anticipate there will be issues to work through. It will not be smooth, how can it be? So far we should do all to discourage large groups especially as we have seen already a % Barbadians prefer not to ignore social distancing.

15. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

That may explain why the people in China who tested negative months ago are not testing positive in a fresh wave of infection, despite their draconian measures to arrest the spread.

This disease is highly adaptable and at this point, unstoppable..

The supermarkets in Barbados need to be reopened and stop these criminals from holding the whole population hostage just to run a scam, bad Enuff ya using the opportunity of a disease to carry out ya crimes…..against the people..

wearing gloves and masks AT ALL TIMES, is the ONLY WAY to slow it down……until those doing the research learn more about why it adapts to survive so easily…

where we see death and destruction, thieves and parasites see OPPORTUNITIES.

16. Do you understand the context when it is stated that Black people are reported to be dying at a higher rate than Whites? For clarity allow the blogmaster to add the word DISPROPORTIONATELY. Hopefully you get it now.

17. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

That may explain why the people in China who tested negative months ago are NOW testing positive in a fresh wave of infection, despite their draconian measures to arrest the spread.

18. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Don’t know if you know the Black to white ratio of income in Chicago and areas of the US where the disease is more likely to take hold in the more DEPRESSED AREAS where social distancing will be a luxury..

….they are called low income and depressed for a very good reason, these are like the helpless depressed areas in Barbados, they just do not have the winter and other more extreme social factors…

It’s like how they built the ugly low income houses in the Pine and other areas of the island and expect them to socially distance successfully when that would be a breeding ground for the disease to run rampant…

they all live in too close a proximity…they do not have to go to the supermarkets to have the disease spread like wildfire…

19. WARU
    YOU CANT TELL THE TRUTH LIKE THAT ON BU CHILE
    BUT YOU ARE 100% CORRECT ABOUT THE STUPID BLACKS IN THE USA WHO HAVE ALLOWED CERTAIN POLITICIANS TO RULE AND RUIN THEIR LIVES FOR OVER 60 YEARS

20. Lawd people referencing Guyana. The population of Guyana is 600,000+ yes, but it is also 83,000 sq.miles., with a population density of 9.1 per sq.mile. The region with the largest population, which includes Georgetown the capital, is 867 sq.miles with a population density of 54 per sq.mile. This happens to be the centre of economic and all other manner of activity too. The whole of Bdos has a population density of 1,731 per sq.mile. Then look at the differences in the economy, travel patterns etc. How is covid transmitted? By the way Trinidad shut their borders too but their count is 105 cases, 8 deaths and 1 discharged. All restaurants were shut down from today, including curbside pickups. The spaghetti throwing is real.🤣

21. Do you understand the context when it is stated that Black people are reported to be dying at a higher rate than Whites? For clarity allow the blogmaster to add the word DISPROPORTIONATELY. Hopefully you get it now.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Don’t know if you know the Black to white ratio of income in Chicago and areas of the US where the disease is more likely to take hold in the more DEPRESSED AREAS where social distancing will be a luxury..

….they are called low income and depressed for a very good reason, these are like the helpless depressed areas in Barbados

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

@ Waru SOME MUST SEEK TO CONTINUE THEIR PIG HEADED IGNORANCE.

THEY ARE ALLEGED EXPERTS ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND AND WANT TO BE EXPERTS EVERYWHERE.

IGNORANCE KNOWS NO BOUNDS.

22. By the way – is social distance a law?

I am ignorant here

23. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

GP…glad to see you well.

Yes, Black people fell for the scam of politics everywhere, we need look no further than the fowls on BU…it has ruined many generations, their lives in tatters, but yet they persist….socially engineered to be perpetual victims and they like it so..

Look how easily those banana republic leaders were able to fool those who are quick to believe in them, look how easily they will implement their M-Money scam if the population don’t protest and DEMAND THEY OPEN THE SUPERMARKETS..

….people are more likely to be INFECTED AT HOME AND IN THEIR OWN NEIGHBORHOODS…because that is their comfort zone and they are LESS LIKELY TO BE VIGILANT ENOUGH TO WEAR MASKS AND GLOVES…..unlike those who glove up and mask up to go everywhere..

A whole family mother and 3 sons just passed away from the disease in US>

https://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=https%3A%2F%2Ftrib.al%2FXjD1xX3%3Ffbclid%3DIwAR0VSKsBhbRiDzwEfLGtEJVx2WtAw0BCBqKWELx2nSmC0KaLyKOvReQbON0&h=AT1vtOTpxl5rlgM-rVfUO_v88LOGgv_TcLg40terBMlrASQU5h8tAWV39ZP-WAErDGpC_-_2vlCIC7u5ngrRWyoo9ir7p7NGpx12pz2lyVmgvfL0k7InphkgmeCczB6t-nPNhXmX4JPPoI8THQ0Wj33iIqgWODrjufUesJFwEe58aTc

24. WW

the front line health workers does wear gloves and mask and I sure they probably wash and sanitize more than the average person yet…….

25. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Look how soon we forget, it was the Bitcoin scam and when the government was elected they morphed it into the M-Money scam and forgot to tell the people it had been renamed, Rawdone and Dukeran were all over the radio trying to fool the public and they had to be reminded of certain things..

……now that opportunity knocks in the form of a PLAGUE they have just dragged out the scam dusted it off and are ready to implement….but first they had to shut down the supermarkets…only idiots in the world to do so…which means they are up to no damn good as usual and it will be the people who will pay the HEAVY price…

26. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

They are also unlike those who are at home , apparently exposed to more lethal doses of the plague than everyone else, these people see more than likely hundreds of patients within hours, that is why they are called frontline workers…i believe the danger lies in the super spreaders, people who have no symptoms whatsoever but are spreading around very lethal doses…..that can be anyone..

Myself have been going to supermarkets heavily masked and gloved and so far no problems, house heavily sanitized and all is good…no visitors and even if, they can hang out 6 ft from the front door until they leave and that is family..

the opened supermarkets once everyone follows the safety distance…is not the problem..people still go to doctor’s offices on the island, has anyone visiting those offices been infected…they should not be staying as long as it take to pick up some items at a supermarket…

27. I believe that it was the UK based commentator Hal Austin who raised the spectrum of race amongst the victims of covid-19 in the USA. Aljazeera have reported something similar occurring within the UK.

GP why are you spending so much time on your religious blog when it is evident to all that your expertise is required here on these medical blogs. Just asking.

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2020/04/critically-ill-covid-19-uk-patients-bme-backgrounds-200407143303604.html

28. THOSE THAT ARE CLAIMING THAT THE PORTS ARE STILL OPENED. CAN ANY OF YOU TELL US HOW MANY PASSENGER PASSED THROUGH TODAY OR YESTERDAY……. not including the medical VISITORS from cuba?

29. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

The same high rate of low income households in depressed areas coupled with NCDs that can be found in NY, Chicago, Missouri and every part of US can also be found in Barbados and those are the people more at risk just like those with other underlying ailments, if you are reckless then you also put yourself at a high risk of becoming infected…

‘I want the world to know if it happened to the Franklin family it could happen to any family,’ Jacqueline Franklin, wife of Anthony Franklin Sr., told WDSU.

‘Let’s take this serious. My children have to bury their father, their precious grandmother and their uncles.’

New Orleans has emerged as one of the early U.S. hot spots for the coronavirus.

The death rate in New Orleans is almost twice that of New York, with doctors and public health officials blaming the Big Easy’s high levels of obesity and related ailments.

‘We’re just sicker,’ said Rebekah Gee, to the Wall Street Journal, who until January was the health secretary for Louisiana and now heads Louisiana State University’s healthcare services division.

New Orleans residents suffer from obesity, diabetes and hypertension at rates higher than the national average, conditions that doctors and public health officials say can make patients more vulnerable to COVID-19, the highly contagious respiratory disease.”

30. Q. GP why are you spending so much time on your religious blog when it is evident to all that your expertise is required here on these medical blogs. Just asking.

A. I DONT SPEND AS MUCH TIME ON MY BIBLE BLOG. I SIMPLY POST PDFS OF POWER POINTS OF SERMONS THAT I HAVE GIVEN IN CENTRAL FLORIDA IN THE LAST COUPLE OF YEARS.
    I HAVE STUDIED THE WORD WELL FOR OVER 50 YEARS, AND WHAT I LIKE ABOUT IT, IS THAT IT DOES NOT CHANGE.

I HAVE, NOT OPINED ON MY VIEW OF THE PANDEMIC IN THE LIGHT OF THE OLIVET DISCOURCE

WHEREAS I UNDERSTAND AND HAVE TAUGHT AND STILL TEACH MANY OF THE BASIC MEDICAL SCIENCES AND CAN EXPLAIN THESE THINGS WELL. I DO NOT CONSIDER THAT I HAVE ANY REAL EXPERTISE OR EXPERIENCE ON THE COVID VIRUS. SO I STICK TO MY PRINCIPLE OF PONTIFICATING ON WHAT I KNOW WELL.

I DO CHECK IN WHEN REALLY BORED TO AMUSE MYSELF ON THE RUBBISH POSTED BY THE EQUALLY INEXPERIENCED. AND TO READ THE STELLAR CONTRIBUTIONS OF DR LUCAS, FOR WHOM I HAVE GREAT RESPECT

31. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

This clear disparity in salaries, healthcare and basic access to many social services which also causes EXTREME GENERATIONAL POVERTY even when no plague is around will cause extremely high levels of death anywhere the disease is rampaging…..including in Barbados.

“A 2017 report by the Joseph Rowntree Charitable Trust on race and poverty found that the UK poverty rate was twice as high for BME communities than for white groups, citing rising levels of unemployment amongst African, mixed-race and Caribbean groups especially, and low-paid work as driving factors.

“BME groups in the UK are amongst the poorest of socioeconomic groups. There are extremely high rates of child poverty and they’re much more likely to be employed in low-paid, precarious work. They’re also much more likely to be living in multigenerational households, which makes BME elderly people more at risk of severe illness from COVID-19,” Haque said.

“BME women are particularly vulnerable as they are more likely to be in precarious work than their white counterparts,” she added.”

32. @ Enuff April 7, 2020 6:57 PM

Far more harmful than Corona is a brain bug called panic. I advocate shutting down WhatsApp in Barbados for the duration of the crisis.

Given the constant panic attacks, I wonder if WARU, our keyboard warrior, is actually writing from the South or not from New York City, where mountains of corpses are now piling up so high that the authorities internally are even thinking of cremating the deceased in the waste incinerator.

From a medical point of view, we will weather the crisis far better than many failed states such as the USA or UK. Corona´s spread in the tropics is only linear and is therefore much easier to control than in the north. We will talk about the economic consequences and the implications for the lazy civil service another time.

33. WW

the family of three that died got infected from staying in their house?

34. The same people condemning the government’s decision not to close down the borders are promoting the re-opening of supermarkets. Clown show!

35. the opened supermarkets once everyone follows the safety distance…is not the problem..people still go to doctor’s offices on the island, 8has anyone visiting those offices been infected…they should not be staying as long as it take to pick up some items at a supermarket…

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

can you answer the question that you asked (in highlight) after talking so much about the super spreaders?

36. when you go out with you gloves and your mask who do you do with them when you return home?

I hope you know the technique/procedure for putting on and taking off PPE to avoid contamination

37. but wait WW why you going in the supermarkets and supporting the elite/ house negros? buy your food from the local farmers .

38. Enuff
    Govt leaving the borders open is what caused the problem
    Now a whole country must suffer because of that ill adviced decision
    Opening the supermarkets with certain restrictions would take care of the problem of social distancing
    You will find that in America in areas where there are hot spots large chain supermarkets are open but with restrictions applied
    Barbadian 26 cabinet is not fit for purpose
    This idea of 3 prepkg bags is a typical policy for rationing food
    Why is it that supermarkets in america can remain opened and havev no problem with social distancing

39. You will find that in America in areas where there are hot spots large chain supermarkets are open but with restrictions applied

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

can you say that no one contacted the virus from going into one of these supermarkets?

Does Barbados have access to the resources that USA have?

40. John2
    April 7, 2020 8:21 PM

Does Barbados have access to the resources that USA have?
    Xxccccvcvvvvvvvvvvvvbbbbbnn

Enough reason why govt should have closed their borders
    This longwinded song and dance about nationals has run its course
    What is transpiring are deaths and rise in infections some of which are visitors that govt gave access to the island ports and with the access brought the virus

41. yes mari

the returning national will be a song and dance and run it course for you now, just to suit your purposes but we on BU already got you view on it …….

You cant be for the trini taking their nationals and be against Barbados taking theirs. unless you are a hypocrite…….oh well…..

42. by the way – I am still waiting for one of you that want to ports to be close to tell me/ BU how many tourist came into the island today, yesterday, day before and last week.

AA rep told me to ask you that mari but I placing it for all the others

43. Mariposa
    If they had closed the borders from day one you would have opposed it. If they had left nationals stranded, you would have ranted. They closed the supermarkets, yuh complained people need food. They are re-opening so people can get food, yuh calling it communism. I don’t pay you any mind because airport staff ain’t even working but you’re claiming tourists still coming. The spaghetti isn’t sticking, this is a global issue–731 people died in NYC today, not tested positive…DIED. So rest me and your politcking.

44. They cannot leave nationals stranded
    However if the borders were closed
    The airlines would be notified and no tickets would be issued to this destinations
    Meaning that no nationals or visitors would be arriving
    By leaving the borders open ran a high risk
    Having said all the above govt only main reason as said by PM was to keep thousands of people working mainly in the tourism industry
    She even made mention of taxi and shuttle services
    Who could have ran the risk of accommodating people who came from high risk areas

45. Enuff u can.call my comments politicking
    I call them a look through the eyes of reality
    People are dying and people have been infected ..fact ..real.
    Any one who is being political are the foot soldiers whose eyes are closed to reality

46. Mari

Are you aware that most airline tickets are bought well in advance?
    Are you aware that they were still visitors on the island that need to get back to their countries?

Are you now saying that the by closing the borders the bajan national should remain in the countries they visited and the tourist that were on the island should have remained here?
    or
    The bajan nationals remain in the countries they visited (indefinitely) and the planes come to Barbados empty just to take back the visitors that were still on the island?

put yourself in the boot of a bajan national that had visited another country for one reason or another – all didn’t travel just for pleasure.

what was your proposal?
    oh, you now have to think about it!

47. Is there something with wanting to keep those in the tourism industry working? don’t they have to eat and feed etc their families also, just like the government workers who bread will be butter (at least in the short term) even if there are now at home?

48. Personally, I would have like the country to be closed down (as in 24 hrs curfew) earlier then when government did it. but I do understand that government has it advisors and many constituents and cannot please all of us at the sametime. whatever it does some will complain. this goes for all goverments not just Barbados and if DEM were in power they would be getting hit for some decision that they made. I for one don’t think the DEM would have closed the borders so early and it would have been the same reasons as the BEES.

49. Mariposa,

Fact 1: The virus came from China.

Fact 2: The DLP government concluded numerous contracts with China between 2008 and 2018, including a contract allowing Chinese to enter Barbados unhindered.

Conclusion: DLP is solely responsible for the corona deaths in Barbados.