The Coronavirus (COVID-19) continues to soak up the resources for both under developed and developed countries. At the time of posting this blog the global medical community has been unable to inform about a vaccine. The blogmaster read the perspective of a leading Australian virologist recently where she opined that the world will have to live with the virus, in fact it will become as accepted as the Flu.

The disruption caused by COVID-19 will impact service based economies like Barbados and others in the reason where it hurts, in the breadbasket. One could rehash old arguments about the folly of putting all our eggs in one basket. If we are to work hard to move from the unsustainable position we find ourselves, we have to do more to shift our over reliance on tourism. Government’s current investment pipeline has signaled there are no immediate or medium term plans to modify the economic engines firing the economy.

If there ever was an opportunity to message our leaders there is an urgent need to reorder how we do business, it is now.

COVID-19
Since this news alert Italy is virtually on lock down. Thanks John A for always feeding the blogmaster with important information.

The local authorities based on public announcements and news coverage have been rolling out awareness campaigns, bumping up screening at ports of entry, building health infrastructure and leading discussions at the regional level to ensure a regional COVID-19 approach. Given the pandemic nature of COVID-19, it seems a matter of time before Barbados reports its first case. The biggest challenge for Barbados and service based economies is the fatalistic impact disruptions to global supply chains will bring.

#lordhearourprayer

951 responses to “Coronavirus (COVID-19) Virus Exposes Service Based Countries”

1. Very little that this govt has done so far to stave off the contracting of the virus is in line with commonsense but mostly in line with catching at the dollar

2. Even if we have to cancel “We Gathering” Barbados still is in the news!!

https://www.cbsnews.com/live/cbsn-local-bos/video/20200314132017-cbs-this-morning/

3. I listened to the call-in program today. There was a lot of gnashing of the teeth when it came to the fact if the situation gets worse, food- security would become a problem locally. Even David Ellis commented on the fact and urge callers not to spread worry among the populace. I remark on this because V.O.B call-in moderator ,Peter Wickham consistently derided callers who suggested that more stress be placed on being as self-sufficient in food as possible. Wickham, whose conceit knows no bound ,belittled any caller who dared mentioned agriculture. According to Wickham, it was best to import all of the food that Barbados needed. The pity about this whole episode is that the ass( that is what she is) has a national stage to peddle her erroneous views. Maybe the virus may result in a re-think on her part.

4. I wonder what Mr. I can’t live without tourism will do when this trend spreads across the Caribbean.

“American Airlines has suspended its service to several destinations, including Guyana.

In a statement, late Saturday, the US-based carrier announced that effective Monday and until May 6, it will be suspending its service to Guyana from both Miami and New York.

According to the airline, flights scheduled for Monday will operate as scheduled but the suspension will take full effect afterwards.”

5. That is what happens when you have useless degrees like political scientists, what the hell is that…and economist…who can never get any economy right, fools with paper degrees who only want to be seen and heard, no substance or actual solutions between any of them to offer the population or to prompt any real change…

6. FYI:

Coronavirus and the Sun: a Lesson from the 1918 Influenza Pandemic

by Richard Hobday

When new, virulent diseases emerge, such SARS and Covid-19, the race begins to find new vaccines and treatments for those affected. As the current crisis unfolds, governments are enforcing quarantine and isolation, and public gatherings are being discouraged. Health officials took the same approach 100 years ago, when influenza was spreading around the world. The results were mixed. But records from the 1918 pandemic suggest one technique for dealing with influenza โ€” little-known today โ€” was effective. Some hard-won experience from the greatest pandemic in recorded history could help us in the weeks and months ahead.

`Open-Airโ€™ Treatment in 1918

During the great pandemic, two of the worst places to be were military barracks and troop-ships. Overcrowding and bad ventilation put soldiers and sailors at high risk of catching influenza and the other infections that often followed it.[2,3] As with the current Covid-19 outbreak, most of the victims of so-called `Spanish fluโ€™ did not die from influenza: they died of pneumonia and other complications.

When the influenza pandemic reached the East coast of the United States in 1918, the city of Boston was particularly badly hit. So the State Guard set up an emergency hospital. They took in the worst cases among sailors on ships in Boston harbour. The hospitalโ€™s medical officer had noticed the most seriously ill sailors had been in badly-ventilated spaces. So he gave them as much fresh air as possible by putting them in tents. And in good weather they were taken out of their tents and put in the sun. At this time, it was common practice to put sick soldiers outdoors. Open-air therapy, as it was known, was widely used on casualties from the Western Front. And it became the treatment of choice for another common and often deadly respiratory infection of the time; tuberculosis. Patients were put outside in their beds to breathe fresh outdoor air. Or they were nursed in cross-ventilated wards with the windows open day and night. The open-air regimen remained popular until antibiotics replaced it in the 1950s.

Doctors who had first-hand experience of open-air therapy at the hospital in Boston were convinced the regimen was effective. It was adopted elsewhere. If one report is correct, it reduced deaths among hospital patients from 40 per cent to about 13 per cent.[4] According to the Surgeon General of the Massachusetts State Guard:

`The efficacy of open air treatment has been absolutely proven, and one has only to try it to discover its value.โ€™

More: https://medium.com/@ra.hobday/coronavirus-and-the-sun-a-lesson-from-the-1918-influenza-pandemic-509151dc8065

7. No panicking but facing reality would help. As a doctor said, treat everyone as though they are infected.

https://www.facebook.com/BET/videos/1103636496640476/?t=18

8. Dishonest Bajans Avatar
    Dishonest Bajans

wunna too fucking stupid.

On weekend flight LIAT to Trinidad from Guyana a Trinidad resident who broke his 14 day curfew after 7 days in Guyana positive for Corona-virus deplaned in Barbados for at least 30 minutes before re-boarding for connecting flight before being stopped in St, Vincent and you idiots think the virus is not in Barbados YET?????

Also what happened to the Barbadians who got off in Barbados who traveled on the Liat flight for 2 hours and before at Guyana airport with the confirmed coronovirus individual?

How many other people have they also come into contact with in BIM since their return?

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Gonsalves said on Saturday morning, the man boarded a LIAT flight from Guyana to Trinidad, connecting via Barbados and St Vincent.

โ€œBut LIAT only informed us several hours after they began work the morning in Guyana because it takes two hours to go from Guyana to Barbados. You DEPLANE people in Barbados you take on; thatโ€™s a 20 minutes, half an hour activity. Takes half an hour to come to St Vincent.

โ€œAll the passengers, some 40-odd of them deplaned in from St Vincent, left a few on-board-passengers not only deplaned but cleared Immigration and Customs and persons were cleared to go on to the flight and were on the plane.

โ€œItโ€™s only then we found out. That would have been certainly four-and-a-half, five hours after LIAT began work that morning in Guyana. Obviously thatโ€™s unacceptable,โ€ Gonsalves said, adding that Julie Reifer-Jones, LIATโ€™s chief executive, had accepted this.

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/244411/st-vincent-trinidad-resident-quarantine

9. Donovan Mitchell provides update from coronavirus isolation, admits he had to ‘cool off’ toward Rudy Gobert

Utah Jazz star Donovan Mitchell provided another update on his status after testing positive for the coronavirus, this time via an interview with โ€œGood Morning America.โ€

Mitchell, 23, became the second NBA player to test positive for COVID-19, joining Jazz teammate Rudy Gobert. Mitchell, from isolation, told GMAโ€™s Robin Roberts that he feels fine and currently has โ€œno symptoms.โ€

Mitchell said the fact that he has no symptoms is the โ€œscariestโ€ part of COVID-19.

โ€œIโ€™m asymptomatic. I could walk down the street. If it wasnโ€™t public knowledge that I was sick, you wouldnโ€™t know it. Thatโ€™s the scariest part about this virus. You may seem fine, be fine,โ€ Mitchell said.

https://www.yahoo.com/sports/donovan-mitchell-provides-update-from-coronavirus-isolation-admits-he-had-to-cool-off-toward-rudy-gobert-160133903.html

10. This Coronavirus episode should provide food for thought for our leaders. It should be clear that we need more tools in our toolbox.

For quite some time, a number of bloggers have pointed out the weakness of having a ‘one-legged’ economy. I will misquote on blogger when I state that one of his favorite phrase is “We diversified our economy by having one source of income”.

But if we are honest, this is a problem where there is no easy fix for our leaders. We. know the answers to some of our problems but we lack the courage to implement them.

The “diversification problem must be a nightmare to our leaders. In truth, they have very little to work with. They are faced with limited land space, limited natural resources, an education system that is geared towards producing mainly doctors and lawyers and not in harnessing new and emerging technology.

I would suggest that Mia calls for a strategy meeting and throw-out those who can only think in the box, throw-out the yes-men, the partisans etc. ” Topic: We must change. Moving our economy and our education system towards 2030.”

So where do we go from here… Waru? PLT? John X and others ..

11. David, I don’t know. An uncle, a brother and some cousins are coming down for the Gathering in April. Don’t know if they will cancel or not.

12. Perish the thought that only the elderly with preexisting condition are vulnerable.

“A 21-year-old Spanish football coach has died of coronavirus after doctors also diagnosed him with leukaemia.

Francisco Garcia, who managed the junior team of Malaga-based club Atletico Portada Alta, was rushed to hospital with severe symptoms of the virus.

But when he arrived doctors also identified the deadly blood cancer. They said he would have survived if he was not suffering from the pre-existing condition.

Spain declared a state of emergency last week as it ramped up efforts to stop the disease spreading. It is the second worst hit European country, having reported more than 8,000 cases and as many as 297 deaths.”

13. @Dame Bajans

If you listen to Boris, Trudeau and US authorities non essential travel is being discouraged.

14. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Artax, you asked a question somewhat rhetorically I suspect about LIAT on this or another blog recently … you likely already have the answer but I came across this quote earlier today which I thought was a propos..

Re well known low cost airline Ryanair it was said : ‘Ryanair (RYAAY), said that it will ground most of its fleet over the next seven to 10 days….”In those countries where the fleet is not grounded, social distancing restrictions may make flying to all intents and purposes, impractical, if not, impossible,” the airline said, adding that it now expected to reduce seat capacity by 80% for April and May, and could not rule out complete grounding of its fleet of 470 planes.’

That was contained in a larger article SENSATIONALLY headlined: Most airlines could be bankrupt by May. Governments will have to help.

How quickly life changes… some of these are the same airlines that had a period over last few years of outstandingly big profits (low fuel costs, fuller travel loads) coming off major merger/consolidation deals in US.

But here we are today.

Anyhow, has LIAT said anything about their flight plans re this pandemic,

15. UK shut shop.

Theo…this is what they should be copying from UK instead of trying to trade and export slaves while they and their parasitic consultants suck on taxpayers wihout any benefits to the people who pay them.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8117911/Boris-Johnson-grilled-experts-warn-lack-coronavirus-testing.html

16. @ Dishonest Bajans March 16, 2020 3:15 PM

I have been consistent in stating that I would be surprise if the virus is not in Barbados. I have been saying so for nearly two months. As I said as a scientist I am curious about the outbreaks in islands surrounding Barbados, some of which have long closed their borders and wonder at how a country with open borders like Barbados has not yet declared one case.

17. REDavid what an affrontโ€ฆ How could you state โ€œClinical trials estimated 1 year to 18 months if all goes well.โ€

How dare you say such a thingโ€ฆ ONE YEARโ€ฆ This new cure vaccine will be ready in about 90 dayโ€ฆ welll about 85 now!

The very effective leader said so!

AND HE IS MAKING PERFECT SENSE!
    IN SUCH THE SITUATION THAT THIS PANDEMIC STATE WHY NOT FOREGO FORMAL Clinical trials?
    WORSE SCENARIO IS THE SAME RESULT AS WITH OUT

18. @Dr. Lucas

Are you saying professional health officials would be complicit in a cover up?

The neighboring islands that have reported cases there has been no explosion in infections. Jamaica leads with 20.

19. Knowing Trump he will probably throw the dice.

20. “But if we are honest, this is a problem where there is no easy fix for our leaders.”

Corruption and tiefing from the people are much, much harder but they have successfully managed to pull that off for decades to benefit themselves and their friends, diversifying from the one horse tourism should be a breeze since they have willfully and with malice refused to do so for decades.

Medical marijuana comes around and they do not want the same population who pay their salaries to have it, they only want their friends and families involved and all other Black people go to prison…or go to UK to be slaves…

all of that has now returned to haunt them..

let them actually do some work to benefit the people for a change.

21. Does anyone have details of the test that is being done at the ports of entry? What does it entail? How long does it take to get the results back? What happens to the people who have been tested in the period between the test being done and the results returned? What mechanisms are in place to locate individuals whose tests are positive?

22. Knowing Trump he will probably throw the dice.

HEALTH PROFESSIONALS throw the dice EVERYDAY!

RE Are you saying professional health officials would be complicit in a cover up?
    DIDNT THE FDA AND CDC COVER UP THEIR BUNGLING WHEN THEY GOT THE GENOME FOR THE VIRUS?

TRUMP EVENTUALLY FIXED THEIR BURICRATIC BUNGLING MY GETTING THE PRIVATE SECTOR PLAYERS TOGETHER TO WORK ON TESTS AND VACCINES

professional health officials ARE VERY OFTEN complicit in cover upS
    THIS IS VERY WELL KNOWN
    NOTHING NEW

23. Just how he knows this i would like to know, he is a banker not a scientist but hear him.

History shows some plagues and illnesses could last years, or even up to a decade centuries ago when there was less information, but he is acting like he has personal knowledge.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8117437/Coronavirus-permanently-former-Bank-England-deputy-governor-warns.html

“Clearly, COVID-19 is with us now permanently โ€“ that’s something we’ve got to get used to over a period of years โ€“ but when the peak impact on the economy’s going to be, I think that’s still a bit unclear..”

24. Interesting comment.

25. WURA-War-on-U
    March 16, 2020 5:02 PM

Just how he knows this i would like to know, he is a banker not a scientist but hear him.
    History shows some plagues and illnesses could last years, or even up to a decade centuries ago when there was less information, but he is acting like he has personal knowledge.
    https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8117437/Coronavirus-permanently-former-Bank-England-deputy-governor-warns.html
    โ€œClearly, COVID-19 is with us now permanently โ€“ thatโ€™s something weโ€™ve got to get used to over a period of years โ€“ but when the peak impact on the economyโ€™s going to be, I think thatโ€™s still a bit unclear..โ€

Why isn’t the Spanish Flu of 1918 not with us?

26. David
    March 16, 2020 3:45 PM

@Dame Bajans
    If you listen to Boris, Trudeau and US authorities non essential travel is being discouraged.

I had a word with the three of them.

Trump has the Cruise business on hold for a month.

Let’s see how things develop.

27. Donna
    March 16, 2020 12:43 PM

GP March 12, 2020 7:45 PM
    RE POTUS tells us that once it gets hot, the virus will disappear. โ€ฆ
    THAT IS NOT AN UNREASONABLE SUPPOSITION AS INCREASED TEMPERATURE SHOULD DENATURE THE VIRAL PROTEINS, AND MAKE THE VIRUS INEFFECTIVE
    THAT IS FAIRLY BASIC SCIENCE

There you go.

28. https://www.miamiherald.com/news/nation-world/world/americas/haiti/article241212621.html

Haiti, one of the few Caribbean nations with no recorded cases of the new coronavirus, announced Sunday a shutdown of its border with the Dominican Republic, a ban on travel for government officials, and a suspension of flights from Europe, Canada, the Dominican Republic, and Latin America.

29. There is no way around it, everything and everywhere has to shut down. So all those weak Caribbeab leaders with their …I CANT LIVE WITHOUT TOURISM…will have to cry several rivers..

“Coronavirus Live Updates: Trump Says to Limit Gatherings to 10 People

President Trump announced new guidelines and European nations sealed their borders. Bay Area counties were expected to direct millions of residents to stay at home.

Trump released national guidelines to control the virus.
    The Trump administration on Monday released new guidelines for the public to slow the spread of the coronavirus, including closing schools and avoiding groups of more than 10 people, discretionary travel, bars, restaurants and food courts.

Mr. Trump, flanked by task force members, including Dr. Anthony Fauci, the director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, said that the recommendations would be in place for 15 days.”

30. HEALTH PROFESSIONALS throw the dice EVERYDAY!

i will give 2 examples
    one of my juniors defied the orders of the consultant and changed the therapy IT WORKED

AS AN INTERN IN EARLY 1981 I ONCE RECEIVED A MAN IN SERIOUS BUT UNUSUAL CARDIAC FAILURE
    HE HAD NO SIGNS IN HIS CHEST OR NECK—–ALL THE SWELLING WAS FROM HIS WAIST DOWN- PENIS INCLUDED

I KNEW HE SHOULD GET LASIX BUT INSTEAD OF GIVING 80 MG IV PUSH, I PUT 320 MG IN THE DRIP TO RUN SLOWLY

HE PEED OUT 33 LITRES OVER NIGHT AND WAS DISCHARGED THE NEXT MORNING!

31. So why did the 1918 flu pandemic end?

โ€ฆ or did it?

https://www.quora.com/Why-did-the-1918-flu-pandemic-end

32. Who says it’s not? There is always some variation of a break out of bird flu from time to time, that is what the Spanish flu was, but there is more information now.

https://r.search.yahoo.com/_ylt=A0geK9ph7m9eSpoAX1RXNyoA;_ylu=X3oDMTEyOWJqdGRkBGNvbG8DYmYxBHBvcwM0BHZ0aWQDQjk1MzVfMQRzZWMDc3I-/RV=2/RE=1584422626/RO=10/RU=https%3a%2f%2fwww.theguardian.com%2fworld%2f2018%2fsep%2f09%2fspanish-flu-pandemic-centenary-first-world-war/RK=2/RS=WqZqqajfbCSj_5_zKSi.Vc_1H0k-

“Using modern molecular techniques, Taubenberger and his colleague, Anne Reid, amplified the fragments and, in 2005, published the virusโ€™s genetic sequence. Their findings were a shock. Previously, epidemiologists had observed that flu pandemics were preceded or followed by outbreaks of influenza-like illnesses in dogs, cats, and horses. It was also known that from time to time flu viruses could infect pigs and, of course, humans, and that wild flu viruses circulated in migratory waterfowl. However, when Taubenberger analysed the genome of the Spanish flu, he found that most of its genes were derived from a bird flu virus. Indeed, Taubenberger considered the H1N1 virus so โ€œavian-likeโ€™โ€ he could not discount the possibility that it had transmitted directly from birds to humans shortly before 1918 โ€“ and perhaps as early as 1916.”

33. DIDNT THE FDA AND CDC COVER UP THEIR BUNGLING WHEN THEY GOT THE GENOME FOR THE VIRUS?

YES THEY DID

THESE ARE REGULATORY BODIES………………ALL THEY DO IS REGULATE AND MOSTLY BLOCK STUFF IF MONEY IS NOT PASSED UNDER THE TABLE

THEY DID NOTHING WITH THE GENOME FOR THE VIRUS
    WE MAY SPECULATE ON THE REASON —BUT I WONT NOW

TRUMP EVENTUALLY FIXED THEIR BURICRATIC BUNGLING MY GETTING THE PRIVATE SECTOR PLAYERS TOGETHER TO WORK ON TESTS AND VACCINES, BECAUSE THESE FELLOWS CAN ACT! THEY CAN DO THINGS!

THINK ABOUT THIS
    DONT DRUGS GO THROUGH “CLINICAL TRIALS FOR 2 YEARS” AND SOON HAVE TO BE RECALLED?

WHY IS THIS?

34. ISIS has also issued a travel advisory for its members.

https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/news/defence/isis-travel-advisory-warns-terrorists-off-coronavirus-hit-europe/articleshow/74638096.cms

I guess they don’t want to infect the virgins after they blow themselves up.

35. https://www.cnn.com/2020/03/16/us/newport-911-toilet-paper-trnd/index.html9

Oregan residents calls police to say they ran out of toilet paper

36. @ David March 16, 2020 4:35 PM

As a scientist I am trained to analyze and question things. I have stated else where on this Blog that a country like Barbados, which is solely dependent on tourism and which is in the clutches of the IMF, given its past history of hiding the truth from the populace, maybe economical with the facts it releases. As a scientist, one would have to conclude that either the other islands have had sloppy screening or that Barbados’ efforts are very exceptional given that open borders are the name of the game locally.. You can take your pick.

37. @Dishonest Bajans March 15, 2020 10:32 PM “How many people passed through the Airport and the Port in Barbados in the last 6 weeks ? How many had their temperature checked or were tested for covid 19?”

Close relative passed through the airport on March 7, passed through Miami airport coming form a country where covid is not yet present. Relative observed that everybody within relative’s sight was being temperature screened.

38. @WURA-War-on-U March 16, 2020 5:02 PM

“Just how he knows this i would like to know, he is a banker not a scientist but hear him.”

I just came off the Daily Mail site and saw the article by this banker. As you said the man is a joker. According to him, the flu virus from 1918 should still be around, but it is not. These bankers have messed up in 2008 and now ,here ,we have one of them expounding on microbiology.

39. @Mariposa March 16, 2020 8:28 AM “Isnt there data which states that the virus cannot live in hot temperature.”

No such data exists…yet.

40. @ GP March 16, 2020 5:29 PM

It is obvious that you are speaking way above the level of most people on this Blog. They do not understand how testing to judge efficacy of vaccines and other drugs are conducted.

41. ROBERT
    YOU ARE 100% CORRECT BUT THAT DOES NOT STOP THEM FROM MOCKING AND SCOFFING

YOU OFF COURSE KNOW THAT VERY OFTEN A SCIENTIST IS STUMPED BECAUSE (AS IN THE CURRENT SITUATION) HE MEETS SOMETHING HE HAS NEVER MET BEFORE EITHER IN PRACTICE OR IN THE LITERATURE.

THE SCIENTIST CAN NOT FOLD AND ADJOURN, BECAUSE USUALLY MANY ARE DEPENDING ON HIM, HE MUST SIT CALMLY AND GO BACK TO FIRST PRINCIPLES, THINK AND THEN ACT IN A WAY THAT SOME MAY THINK IS ACTING BLINDLY.

42. RE โ€œIsnt there data which states that the virus cannot live in hot temperature.โ€

No such data existsโ€ฆyet.

WHY DO WE NEED THIS DATA WHEN IT IS KNOWN THAT THIS IS THE NORM?
    ARE WE DEALING WITH A MUTANT STRAIN?

43. @John March 16, 2020 11:16 AM

Thanks John for the link from the [U.S.] National Library of Medicine. A very reputable source.

My father, mother, and both my grandmothers, and at least one grandfather were all alive in 1918 and for long after, until 1957 to 2006. One grandfather died early, but i don’t think as early as 1918.

i never asked about the 1918 flu. My parents would have been too young to remember. I had never heard about this flu until it was too late to ask the grandma who died in the late 60’s. She was middle aged wife and mother in 1918.

44. As we have always known, you can hide and buy land but ya can’t hide and wuk um, the UK papers never stopped saying that Bolsonaro was infected, they got it from Brazilian media who spoke directly to CNN days ago.

“ON FRIDAY MORNING, at roughly 9:30 a.m. EST, a columnist with the large Rio de Janeiro newspaper O Dia published an article reporting that sources inside Brazilโ€™s presidential palace had confirmed that the first coronavirus test administered to Brazilian President Jair Bolsonaro had been returned and indicated the president tested positive for the virus.

In Fox News studios in both New York and Washington, producers, reporters and on-air talent paid rapt attention to this story, in large part because Bolsonaro and his entourage โ€” including a close aide who had already manifested symptoms and tested positive โ€” had met days earlier at Mar-a-Lago with President Donald Trump, key Trump aides (including Vice President Mike Pence and Ivanka Trump), and Fox Newsโ€™ prime-time anchor Tucker Carlson.

But Fox was unwilling to report something as significant as a positive coronavirus test for the Brazilian president without further confirmation. As a result, according to employees inside Fox News with first-hand knowledge of the episode but who are unauthorized to speak publicly about the matter, they decided they needed first-hand confirmation from either Bolsonaro or one of his three politician-sons. To obtain it, they quickly reached out to Alex Phares, the son of Trump confidant and Fox News analyst Walid Phares.

At roughly 10:00 a.m. ET on Friday morning โ€” roughly 40 minutes after the O Dia column appeared โ€” Phares, first by text and then by voice, confirmed to Fox News that Eduardo, that morning, had told him that his fatherโ€™s first test had indeed returned positive. But Fox was still unwilling to report this without speaking to one of the Bolsonaros directly. They asked Phraes if he could arrange both a telephone and on-air interview with Eduardo.

Roughly thirty minutes later, Fox spoke directly to Eduardo, who, Fox sources insist, stated unequivocally that his father had received the results of his first coronavirus test and it was positive; the presidentโ€™s son said that they were awaiting the results of a second test. Eduardo and Fox agreed that he would be interviewed about the coronavirus test on-air via Skype at 11:30 a.m. EsT.”

45. Dishonest Bajans Avatar
    Dishonest Bajans

@Dishonest Bajans March 15, 2020 10:32 PM โ€œHow many people passed through the Airport and the Port in Barbados in the last 6 weeks ? How many had their temperature checked or were tested for covid 19?โ€

Close relative passed through the airport on March 7, passed through Miami airport coming form a country where covid is not yet present. Relative observed that everybody within relativeโ€™s sight was being temperature screened.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Barbadians are used to being mislead like sheep to slaughter.

What is currently happening is the ongoing norm on island.

Grabbing at money and status quo and not reality.

I am convinced that Bajans loves lies more than truth.

However these lies will surely kill some of them

46. @ WURA-War-on-U March 16, 2020 4:40 PM
    โ€œMedical marijuana comes around and they do not want the same population who pay their salaries to have it, they only want their friends and families involved and all other Black people go to prisonโ€ฆor go to UK to be slavesโ€ฆ
    all of that has now returned to haunt them..

let them actually do some work to benefit the people for a change.โ€

In your โ€˜gutturalโ€™ passion to see the righting of economic wrongs committed against black people you can sometimes spew forth nuggets of wisdom befitting only those who are blessed with a spiritual understanding into the functioning of the Pachamama and Her relationship with her children.

Maybe the pharmaceutical substance needed to contain this Corona virus lies in the healing properties of Lady Mary Jane who has come in from the cold and now seen as the elixir of all human ailments but only if controlled and dispensed by a favoured few.

Why not ingest the prophylactic and therapeutic properties of that goddess-given plant of โ€˜Goodโ€™ use and โ€˜badโ€™ abuse by way of a(n) herbal infusion (or even the less potent tea)?

There will be NO need to put your pulmonary system at greater risk by inhaling it in its smoky form and turn your mouth and nose into a chimney.

If it is going to be used as a โ€˜burnt offeringโ€™- the vegetable equivalent to what is recommended in the Book of Leviticus- then burn the herb as a natural fumigant or gaseous disinfectant.

Just use the herb in measured doses and see if the herb- used in its culinary and beverage form as prescribed by Hygia- can be the key to the unlocking of the Pandoraโ€™s box containing the mystery to this virulent enemy and reveal its Achilles heel.

You can bet if your experiment turns out to be the cannonball that killed king Covid in Barbados you might just become an instant billionaire and be crowned the new hero to save Barbados taking pride of place instead of Lord Nelson.

Waru, you have the millerโ€™s permission to patent your antidote to cure the โ€˜coldโ€™ Covid!

47. Forget the virus
    The way the stock market going we will soon have suicides.

48. It would be just like him to say he caught it in the crowd this weekend after breaking isolation and touching and infecting hundreds of gullible people. That lie could never hold up so something had to be done.

“But then yesterday, during nationwide anti-democracy protests originally encouraged by Bolsonaro aimed at the Congress and Supreme Court, but which Bolsonaro ultimately discouraged on the grounds that it would be dangerous in a pandemic, the Brazilian President shocked everyone by leaving the palace โ€” and the medical isolation he was supposed to be in โ€” to join a crowd of supporters. He proceeded to touch at least 272 of them, including shaking hands, fist bumping and taking their telephones to snap selfies before handing them back. Prior to that on Twitter, Bolsonaro had implicitly encouraged his supporters to attend the mass street gatherings โ€” in direct contradiction of the urgings of his own Health Minister โ€” by posting photos of the protests in various cities.”

49. WURA-War-on-UMarch 16, 2020 3:38 PM

Perish the thought that only the elderly with preexisting condition are vulnerable.

I have always understood it to be the elderly and people of ANY age with preexisting conditions.