Internationally competitive European industries wanted to legally exploit the developing Caribbean markets.  To achieve that aim, their governments wanted to negotiate a trade agreement with the Caribbean.  That trade agreement was called the Economic Partnership Agreement.

With the benefit of our FTAA preparations in 2002, Barbados and the rest of the Caribbean were well-positioned to negotiate a favourable trade agreement with Europe.  However, the European’s ‘Aid for Trade’ incentive proved too much of a distraction.

The Europeans would go on to secure an advantageous future for Europe’s children and grandchildren.  We seemed blinded by the short-term benefits of European aid, and squandered it.

For the next five years, European aid money flowed across the Caribbean, chased by consultants who fashionably called themselves trade experts.  Consultants would assemble practitioners from different disciplines in a room, where we seemed to be pitted against each-other.

I attended several of those discussions.  Each discipline’s ‘must-haves’ were diluted to get some sort of comprise, as if we were negotiating among ourselves.  It made no logical sense, but I was reminded that I was not a trade expert and they knew what they were doing.

I tried explaining how important it was to try trading with Europe in order to identify the actual trade barriers, since each European country had different regulations.  When we were trying to trade in the US and Canada in preparation for the FTAA, we were told that there were no trade barriers.  However, we tested that assertion.

We tried to offer our services in the US but learnt that we needed a State License.  To get a State License, we needed to pass that State’s professional examinations.  When we tried to apply to take the examination, there was a small mandatory section on the application form us to insert a Social Security number, which we did not have.  When we applied to get a Social Security number, we learnt that only US citizens and residents could apply.  Therefore, there were hidden barriers that would automatically disqualify all of us from trading in the US.

Whenever I made any suggestions based on our experience with preparing for the FTAA, these trade experts seemed more interested in completing their contracted assignments, so that they could get paid and chase another EPA consultancy.

Five years later in 2007, I learnt that negotiations were being concluded.  I asked our trade negotiators to see a draft of what they were negotiating on our behalf.  I was told that the draft was a secret document so I could not see it.  I was chided for even asking for it, and for being unaware of how trade negotiations worked.

Given the permanent consequences for our children, I said that I would approach the Europeans for a copy.  I was ridiculed for even expressing such a thought.  I visited the European’s web site where they were encouraging their practitioners to download this ‘secret’ document.

While we in the Caribbean were encouraging isolation and secrecy, the Europeans were encouraging transparency and feedback from their practitioners.  Our side, with little knowledge of the industries that they were trading, seemed to be motivated by whatever prestige they thought came with negotiating a trade agreement.  The Europeans seemed to have no such cravings.  They seemed focused on negotiating the most advantageous trade agreement for European industries.

After reading this ‘secret’ document, I was horrified at what we had ‘negotiated’.  I can only imagine that when the European negotiators saw what we were willing to give up, they must have struggled to contain their delight at their good fortune.  The best analogy I can think of is that they found themselves in the favourable position of taking milk from an unsupervised baby.

I literally begged our trade negotiators not to recommend that draft for our politicians to sign.  They were arrogantly dismissive.  I then wrote publicly about the dangers of signing the EPA document in its present form, and recommended that we take another look at it, since I was unaware of any other Caribbean practitioner who had read it.  However, our politicians chose to believe these trade experts, signed it despite published objections, and forced an unsuspecting generation of Caribbean people into the End Game.

The Europeans are willing to wait 25 years before our children are forced to compete against a combined European market.  This will ensure that most of the current generation of internationally competitive practitioners have retired.  Approximately half of that time has now elapsed – and has been squandered by our politicians.

Our FTAA preparations showed that we did not need European Aid, we just needed people who genuinely cared.  After ‘investing’ about BD$200M of Aid, the Europeans publicly expressed their surprise and disappointment at the lack of any meaningful preparation in the Caribbean – but those who received this money probably could not believe their good fortune.

While the Europeans are actively preparing the next generation of Europeans to compete in an EPA market, both DLP and BLP administrations irresponsibly pursued policies that would prevent the next generation from becoming internationally competitive.  They also encouraged our children to believe an illusion, which will leave them unprepared to succeed in the new reality.  To be continued next week.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

208 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – The End Game, Part 3 – Taking Milk from a Baby”

1. here comes the pedantic dribbler espousing his usual bovine excremental lofty palaver

man I come here pun BU to have fun, and beat bad bowling and hypocrisy to a pulp

asstin here on BU last year February said that he was done working for he was now retired, but wants to criticize me at age 51-67 for “arrogantly refusing s to submit himself to working as a junior doctor or slave in the USA. He suggests that I should be at the top of my game, passing on knowledge as a Professor/Consultant to the next generation

now the pedantic dribbler postures with “yes a gun shot is deadly, but aren’t these wild shots of words just as reflective of a similar vicious demeanor.. NO DUMMY

he continues with ” this site is a most excellent study of our “false-pretensive” Bajan ethos of ‘niceness’!

what a load of cows wallop of asstin-esqe proportions

on the other end you have AC pretending that she is an economist and expert on the IMF

THE BU RUM SHOP IS A SPACE AND PLACE FOR THERAPY!
    WHEN YOU READ SUCH MORONIC MOUTHINGS YOU ARE CONTENT THAT GOD DID NOT MAKE YOU TO BE A DUMMY LIKE SUCH MEN and pseudo and would be intellectuals

uh lie?

murdah

how can you go mad when you can come in the bu BU RUM SHAPE DAILY and read the piffle of enlightened intellectuals like DE DRIBBLER ASSTIN WHO HAS MUSCLE BRAIN and MARIPOSA AC WHO IS OF DERANGED MIND SINCE THE DLP GOT CAT SPRADDLED ALMOST A YEAR AGO

dont go mad come pun BU

2. Mr.Phillips you have seen a Full Display of the Characteristics of Hate, Pride, Self-Aggrandizement, Meanness, Unkindness, Spitefulness, Malice and Wickedness presented here, there is no alternative way to describe the Diabolical Rhetoric. These traits are the Exact opposite to the Commandment to Love one another.

Here is how to tell the difference in the administration of the Faceless Spirits…

In Paul’s letter to Timothy, he wrote of the conditions of our day: “This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come,” and he described a world filled with people who are proud, disobedient, unholy, traitors, liars, and immoral (see 2 Timothy 3:1–7). Included in Paul’s list of perils is “having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof,” and Paul concludes, “from such turn away” (v. 5). Some may question how perilous “having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof” could really be. To really understand the possible peril of this particular circumstance, we could ask, in what ways do we embrace “forms of godliness” but deny its source of power?

All things which are good come from God, everything which invites to do good, and to persuade to believe in Christ, is sent forth by the power and gift of Christ; wherefore ye may know with a perfect knowledge it is of God.

Characteristics displayed here are anything but Good so they are Definitely not Godly in any form or fashion.

Sir continue to Look unto God with firmness of mind, and pray unto him with exceeding faith against the Power of your enemies … He will send down justice upon those who seek your destruction.

https://primoquotes.s3.amazonaws.com/verses/b/l/blessed-are-you-when-people-hate-you-and-when-they-exclude-you-and-revile-y-esv44584.jpg

3. Mr. Phillips

We are all sinners as you rightly acknowledged but there is one possessed with a lying Spirit above them all… Notice how he is garnering his Troops… @ Dr. GP my fellow myope @ My Brother Hants @ Theophillus Gazerts @ Donna my Sisteren @ my unwilling Salemite ManyPussy @ WARU…

I must say Dr.GP you have been added to the Elite on BU and now he is coming after Hal. Thank God Mariposa who he calls “unwilling (to follow him)…” Mariposa recognises them for what they are “jealous minded nitpickers Leave those who doesnt like your comments to their own imposed maniac oversized ego Sooner or later it bound to explode”.

Notice the Subtlety of the Chief of Snakes and how he caresses persons to follow him…Dr.GP you of all people have fallen Hook, Line & Sinker. Dr.GP if you do not recognise the Devilish Tactics of Pieces you should start learning to read braille you will need it!

Dr.GP… “Tell me who you walk with, and I’ll tell you who you are.”

http://bangladailyverse.com/img/front/verses/en/ecclesiastes-10-12.png

4. Here is an Insight into the Charity the Pure Love of God and Recognising who is Influenced by this Godly Attribute… Paul discusses the high status of charity—Charity, a pure love, excels and exceeds almost all else.

1 Corinthians 13 (KJV)

Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity, I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal.

And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge; and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not charity, I am nothing.

And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, and have not charity, it profiteth me nothing.

http://www.quotemaster.org/images/98/98682446ea51f0811411b7d2164258b2.jpeg

5. RE works when given a pick teaching on offshore nursing courses

IN 2012 WHILE WORKING FULL TIME TEACHING AT AN OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOL IN ST LUCIA,
    I EARNED US$ 3000 ONE MONTH IN a pick teaching on offshore nursing courses FOR LESS THAN AN AVERAGE OF ONE HOUR PER DAY WORK

I USED TO GET HALF THAT AS A DR IN BARBADOS IN 1996 WORKING FULL TIME

I HAVE COLLEAGUES THAT WORK EXCLUSIVELY TEACHING ONLINE AND THEY DO WELL–THEY ARE OFCOURSE WHITE AMERICANS

DO YOU SEE FOLK WHY I ROUTINELY MOCK THE MORONIC MOUTHINGS OF ASSTIN, WHO DOES NOT KNOW MUCH ABOUT WHAT HE SPEAKS

TIME FOR IPL CRICKET

6. There is dignity in work, but for a highly trained professional and Barbados Scholar, in 2012, working fulltime for US$3000 a month, you were decently paid, but not well paid.
    You earned less than half that as a fulltime doctor in Barbados (ie less than US$1500 or Bds$3000 or £1000 a month). What have you done since 2012, seven years ago – you would have been in your late 50s-early 60s then?
    So, unless you have inherited wealth or won the lottery, you are obviously not well off, since you are now retired and at a rather early age. Is this the source of your anger?

7. ASSTIN
    RE for a highly trained professional and Barbados Scholar, in 2012, working fulltime for US$3000 a month, you were decently paid, but not well paid.
    IT IS CLEAR THAT YOU CAN NOT READ VERY WELL OR IS IT THAT THE MUSCLE IN YOUR BRAIN PROHIBITS YOUR COMPREHENSION

THIS IS WHAT I WROTE
    IN 2012 WHILE WORKING FULL TIME TEACHING AT AN OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOL IN ST LUCIA,

I EARNED US$ 3000 ONE MONTH IN a pick teaching on offshore nursing courses FOR LESS THAN AN AVERAGE OF ONE HOUR PER DAY WORK

IN OTHER WORDS I WORKED FOR AN EXTRA S$ 3000 ONE MONTH WHILE WORKING IN a pick teaching on offshore nursing courses ——-SOMETHING THAT YOU SCORNED AND SCOFFED AT

I USED TO GET HALF THAT AS A DR IN BARBADOS IN 1996 WORKING FULL TIME

RE What have you done since 2012,
    STAYED AT HOME
    STUDY THE WORD
    WATCH CRICKET
    ENTERTAIN MYSELF ON BU
    ACCOMPANY MY WIFE ON HER LIGHT HOUSDE CAPERS
    MOCKING MORONIC MOUTHINGS OF THE MUSCLED BRAINED ON BU
    IT IS CALLED RETIREMENT ASSTIN

RE So, unless you have inherited wealth or won the lottery, you are obviously not well off, since you are now retired and at a rather early age. Is this the source of your anger?

NOT ANGRY AT ALL for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content. I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.

NOT ANGRY AT ALL for I have learned TO RUN WITH PATIENCE THE RACE THAT IS SET BEFORE ME

NOT ANGRY AT ALL for I have learned TO Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

8. Notice how the blp yardfowls who frquent BU has all but disappeared
    Govt trying to hid all the negative news via media seems to have run aground as more and more negative economic news is being revealed
    Blp yard birds what do u have to say
    We have Mascoll telling barbados not to worry cause they have more disposable income than they have ever had
    His asinine statement lose sight of the fact that the lousy income tax returns before hitting the mail was eroded by the ongoing prices in food and taxes

9. the blp yardfowls who frquent BU have disappeared BECAUSE PRESSURE DOES BURST PIPE
    AND YOU CAN NOT REFUTE THE TRUTH
    THE TRUTH IS CONVICTING THEM
    THE TRUTH IS CONVINCING THEM
    THAT THE PRIMEWICKER DOES NOT HAVE A CLUE
    THAT THE PRIMEWICKER DOING BARE DO DO
    HER FAILURE IS WORSE THAN HAVING THE ASIAN FLU

10. Shedding Some Light Avatar
    Shedding Some Light

@Mariposa,

Thank you Mariposa. I am a kind and compassionate person, but you must never let bullies win.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

@Hal SPOT ON.

11. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BUT HAL ASSTIN IS A LIGHT WEIGHT WHO WANTS TO CONTRADICT INTELLECTUALS
    HE HAS TO BE PUT IN HIS PLACE AND TAUGHT THAT THERE IS NO MUSCLE IN BRAIN TISSUE

HE SPOT ON FUH TRUTE HE ON DE SPOT TO HAVE HIS LIKKLE LOLIPOPS SMASHED OUT DE PARK

12. @Hal:

I retired in 2004 at the young age of 57. Never looked back, never wanted for anything, never lifted a stroke to do any type of work since. I garden in summer, travel and read in winter. I pay to have my drive shovelled and if I don’t feel like mowing the lawn, I pay to have that done too. I am now looking for a char for house work. When I worked I had a cleaning company who came in every two weeks. I have been doing it myself but half heartedly. It is called retirement, so you get to retire from many things.

@Dr. GP:

You don’t have to respond to every thing people post on BU. It starts a chain.

13. Georgie Porgie Avatar

FREEDOM CRIER
    RE
    Mr.Phillips you have seen a Full Display of the Characteristics of Hate, Pride, Self-Aggrandizement, Meanness, Unkindness, Spitefulness, Malice and Wickedness presented here, there is no alternative way to describe the Diabolical Rhetoric. These traits are the Exact opposite to the Commandment to Love one another.

FREEDOM CRIER I HAVE EXPERIENCED ALL THIS ON BU FOR TEN YEARS EXCEPT THAT I HAD NO ONE TO SPEAK FOR ME

I HAD TO CONTEND WITH SATAN’S SLANDERING SON BUSH TEA

FREEDOM CRIER YOU ARE POSTING BOVINE EXCREMENT AND IMPLYING THAT IF ONE DOES NOT FOLLOW GRANVILLE PHILIPS AND TOE HIS LINE THAT THEY ARE UNGODLY

YOU ARE JUDGING PIECE JUST LIKE HOW MANY AMERICANS JUDGED THE UNGODLY TRUMP IN 2016.

SINCE HE OPOSES THE APPLE OF YOUR EYE HE IS WORTHLESS…………BUT IS HE AND ME NOT BRANDS TO BE PLUCKED FROM THE FIRE? LOL AFTER ALL We are all sinners

RE I must say Dr.GP you have been added to the Elite on BU

I HAVE NEVER BEEN IN THE ELITE ON BU OR ANY WHERE ELSE

RE and now he is coming after Hal. ARE YOU BOTH AN IDIOT AND BLIND

HAVE YOU NOT SEEN HAL COME AFTER ME MY MOTHER AND MY ANCESTRY BECAUSE I TRIED TO TEACH HIM THAT THERE IS NO MUSCLE TISSUE IN THE BRAIN?

RE Mariposa recognises them for what they are “jealous minded nitpickers
    ACTUALLY MARIPOSA ONLY HAVE THE SENSE TO PERPETUALLY GO AFTER THE BLP

RE Leave those who doesnt like your comments to their own imposed maniac oversized ego Sooner or later it bound to explode”. THAT IS ANATOMICAL AND PHYSIOLOGICAL BOVINE EXCREMENT . NOTHING GOING TO EXPLODE IN AN EGO, DUMMY.

RE Notice the Subtlety of the Chief of Snakes
    THE ONLY SNAKE I HAVE EVER SEEN ON BU IS SATAN’S SON, BUSHTEA. BUT YOU DID NOT RECOGNIZE HIM

RE Dr.GP you of all people have fallen Hook, Line & Sinker.
    I HAVE NOT FALLEN FOR ANYTHING.
    I INTEND TO HAVE SOME FUN AND RUN SOME PEOPLE RAGGED
    AND YOU CAN PREACH LIKE PAUL BUT I AM NOT ON YOU AND GRANVILLE’S SIDE

RE I Dr.GP if you do not recognise the Devilish Tactics of Pieces you should start learning to read braille you will need it!
    SO YOU ARE NOW AN OPTHALMOLOGIST?

PIECE HAS A SIMPLE MESSAGE
    LET US HAVE A THIRD PARTY BUT NOT GRANVILLE PHILIPS SOLUTIONS
    PIECE HAS EVERY RIGHT TO HIS OPINION

RE Dr.GP… “Tell me who you walk with, and I’ll tell you who you are.” I NOT WALKING WITH A SOUL, I HEY SITTING DOWN WATCHING CRICKET AND MOCKING AND ROCKING ON BU
    COOL IT DO

AND STOP WORSHIPPING GRANVILLE PHILIPS HE IS A MAN NOT GOD

14. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE @Dr. GP:

You don’t have to respond to every thing people post on BU. It starts a chain.

I JUST HAVING FUN MA DEAR IN MA RETIREMENT

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

KEEP MODERATING AND ELIMINATING POSTS BY THOSE YOU HATE

VALUEMD USED TO DO THAT TOO

16. I believe you can measure how smart a fellow is by his sense of humor or how he ‘beats bad bowling’.

17. Dr.GP Re… “AND STOP WORSHIPPING GRANVILLE PHILIPS HE IS A MAN NOT GOD”

There is No God but the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob …. There is no god besides Him who atoned for the sins of mankind on Condition of repentance! There is only one name given whereby mankind may be saved…

It is because of His Light within that I am able to Discern the Spirits here on BU.

I stood with you many times against those who opposed what was right, just and true and you did likewise with me…I remember very well.…And now look at what you are doing, unleashing the Pits of Hell on Freedom… Georgie Porgie April 11, 2019 2:33 PM …https://barbadosunderground.net/2019/04/11/is-abusing-the-computer-abuse-act-2005/

With a friend like you GP who needs an Enemy?

Re “PIECE HAS EVERY RIGHT TO HIS OPINION” That he does but you Condone his Intolerable behavior!

According to you “PIECE HE HAS A SIMPLE PROPHETIC MESSAGE”… Maybe you should re-examine who you Revere as the Light Bearer!

Why I support Mr.Phillips is because of All the Political Parties he has Moral Clarity, Clear Understanding, and is Experienced Accomplished Businessman with the Discipline of a Professional and he is Not a Lawyer. We keep electing lawyers and Expect Prosperity. A Lawyer gives us laws that Binds Men’s Spirits we need Practical people if we ever one day to have some kind of Prosperity.

Matthew 12:36 (KJV)
    But I say unto you, That every idle word that men shall speak, they shall give account thereof in the day of judgment.

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/61/31/dd/6131dd3facfd9d725aa222124416691b.jpg

18. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Why I support Mr.Phillips is because of All the Political Parties he has Moral Clarity, Clear Understanding, and is Experienced Accomplished Businessman with the Discipline of a Professional and he is Not a Lawyer. We keep electing lawyers and Expect Prosperity. A Lawyer gives us laws that Binds Men’s Spirits we need Practical people if we ever one day to have some kind of Prosperity.

GREAT!
    MAYBE WE CAN HAVE BU DAVID! OR A CARPENTER OR A PLUMBER OR AN ARCHITECT OR EVEN A DOCTOR! LOL –NOT ME THOUGH.

WE DONT NEED OR HAVE TO GET OR FOLLOW GRANVILLE PHILLIPS
    WHY CANT WE CHOOSE SOME ONE OTHER THAN YOUR FAVOURITE?
    WE CAN INDEED CHOOSE AN Experienced Accomplished Businessman with the Discipline of a Professional BUT IT DOES NOT HAVE TO BE GRANVILLE PHILLIPS.

According to you “PIECE HE HAS A SIMPLE PROPHETIC MESSAGE”… Maybe you should re-examine who you Revere as the Light Bearer!

IF YOU DONT LIKE THE WORD PROPHETIC SUBSTITUTE PREDICTIVE OR PRESUMPTIVE
    BUT I CAN PICK SENSE OUT OF WHAT HE IS SAYING

I WAS MOCKED WHEN I PREDICTED THAT TRUMP WILL SERVE IN THE USA AS KING JOSIAH DID………..LONG BEFORE THE 2016 ELECTION

..BUT HE HAS PROVED TO BE HEAD AND SHOULDERS ABOVE EVERYONE ELSE IN THE USA FOR THIS TIME

19. Looks like GP is on a mission to destroy BU
    His insistence by his repeating and intolerable cussing of those who dislike his comments bodes well to say that he has found a formula by which when offending commentators he figures most would retreat from coming on BU
    Boy David BU you have a loose cannon ball on your hand
    You can have the last word which in probability might happen if GP keeps up his vile onslaught of offending the BU household and most rather not have to deal with him

20. Re…”I WAS MOCKED WHEN I PREDICTED THAT TRUMP WILL SERVE IN THE USA AS KING JOSIAH DID………..LONG BEFORE THE 2016 ELECTION

..BUT HE HAS PROVED TO BE HEAD AND SHOULDERS ABOVE EVERYONE ELSE IN THE USA FOR THIS TIME”

Trump was an Accomplished business man with 500 successful Businesses.

All the people you called do not have the Entrepreneurial Experience.

Mr.Phillips not only has leadership skills…”I led from the front by becoming the first person to qualify as a Chartered Structural Engineer in 15 years in Barbados. I then trained others to successfully achieve the same international qualification.

Our firm became the first service company in the Caribbean to attain the ISO 9001 quality management standard, and won the BIDC’s Exceptional Quality award. I subsequently worked on projects worth over $500,000,000 over the next 5 years, and earned foreign currency in 10 Caribbean countries.

The plan has been continuously improved to the point where if it is followed, it is difficult to lose even if one tried. For several years, over 80% of my earnings were in foreign currency. It was principally due to that plan that I was the 2014 winner of the National Innovation Competition, and president of Walbrent College.”

Why do you and Pieces continue to Discredit Mr.Phillips? Because he does not match up to your Choice…and who would that be Pray tell? Pieces Choice of a Socialist Unionist?

https://www.facebook.com/TheHorseMafia/photos/a.484149404951135/2508951809137541/?type=3&theater

21. @ Mariposa

I am having more and more respect for you and Hal Austin.

Hal Austin clean bowled the ignoramous when he left his stumps wide open in his arrogance.

He admitted being paid U$1500 monthly as a Doctor while being in Barbados and BRAGGING he is an island scholar.

Even guys selling coconuts on the highways and byways was making much more money then.

His arrogance and pride to this day was his downfall.

No wonder he comes on a Barbados blog to let out his frustration and inadequacy after he was put in his place and left Barbados years ago.

Still after these years as a 67 year old man who has not accomplished much he wants to belittle others locally and abroad.

I salute you @Hal for exposing one of Barbados biggest scholarship winners as said by him as we have no way of verifying his real identity and he may be a QUACK DOCTOR POSING AS A REAL ONE.

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE He admitted being paid U$1500 monthly as a Doctor while being in Barbados and BRAGGING he is an island scholar.

THAT IS WHAT THE BARBADOS GOVERNMENT PAID POLYCLINIC DRS IN 1996 AFTER TAX
    I WAS QUITE SATISFIED WITH IT AND DID A LOT WITH IT—WAS ABLE TO BUY A FEW PROPERTIES AND FIXED THEM UP, AND SOLD THEM

BUILT AND OWN SIX APARTMENTS BEING MANAGED BY ONE OF MY SONS

I AM HAPPY TO KNOW THAT guys selling coconuts on the highways and byways was making much more money then. . BRAVO FOR THEM !

RE No wonder he comes on a Barbados blog to let out his frustration and inadequacy after he was put in his place and left Barbados years ago.

NOT FRUSTRATED OR INADEQUATE AT ALL AND NO ONE PUT ME IN MY PLACE
    I LEFT BARBADOS AND GOT MARRIED TO A VERY LOVING AND KIND WIFE AND I HAVE HAD THE PLEASURE TO TEACH IN OFF SHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS IN A FEW ISLANDS AND ALSO IN THE COOK ISLANDS AND MEXICO.

RE we have no way of verifying his real identity and he may be a QUACK DOCTOR POSING AS A REAL ONE.

I HAVE SAID SO MUCH ON BU THAT THOSE IN BARBADOS WHO KNOW ME CAN EASILY IDENTIFY ME AS BEING GENUINE.

RUN IN AND BOWL AGAIN SIR. LOL LOL

23. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Mariposa (you note I call you by your chosen name when you speak truths)

“…Notice how the blp yardfowls who frquent BU has all but disappeared

Govt trying to hid(e) all the negative news via media (and) seems to have run aground as more and more negative economic news is being revealed…”

It is called “DO NOT ENGAGE”

Rather, “Observe but do not engage.”

Their previous strategy was

(1) look how we beat de DLP. But after a while they realized that outside of you and a few others, the people here aren’t really DLP supporters

(2) then came the look what we’ve done so far crew. And they talked about sewerage, and a few more things and then that petered out

(3) then came the borrowed money crew with their chant that the IMF money had solved the problem

(4) then came the hit team who sought to dissemble.

These were the explainers who were sent to cuss and shout and explain away the 30 ministers, the self raise, the $21 million cunsultants, the MyMoney scam, the savings bonds scam, the Constitutional Changes

Now reality hits them and they realise that while they can Force bajans to take a haircut on saving DEM CANT FORCE THE INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS COMMUNITY and they have to pay their debts.

And suddenly they get frightened because now the reality of running an economy with vision less ministers has hit them.

They are running on IMF and IDB funds AND THEY WONT LAST A YEAR.

So suddenly they start panicking because wunna continuing a relentless campaign WHICH SUDDENLY IS NOT POLITICAL AS MUCH AS IT HIGHLIGHTS THEIR POLITICS.

Their practices of firing poor black people, raising busfares, granting tax exemptions and annulments to daddy and friends, and LIVING LARGE ON THE HOG!!

And just so they realize that they cant hide the state of inaction in the economy.

So they poached a University but that does not do must to pay the monthly Forex overhead does it?

Suddenly there is talk about destabilization and sedition and the penalties of sedition.

And with that the subliminal threats of Lasange purportedly being sold out by Ecuador’s new Lenin Moreno administration, you start to understand what the new strategy is going to be.

“Leave them alone and let them INFIGHT”

Now generally that would work IF THEY WERE BEING SUCCESSFUL IN THEIR PROGRAMMING but the challenges that they face are that they are not meeting their international debt debt obligations AND EVERYTHING THAT THEY CAN THINK OF IS TOO FAR OUT ON THE HORIZON TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE

THE GATHERING 2020 IS 8 MONGHS AWAY & NO LIFEBOAT IS IN SIGHT.

So what they are going to do is keep a low profile and not ENGAGE WITH WUNNA RABBLE MONGERS AND PICK A NOISE CREW.

Work slowly but surely on the Social Media Constraining Laws and penalties

Try in the meantime to either appease or arrest some of you Enemies of the State or ERADICATE YOUR DONKEYS!

ALL HAIL MUGABE!!!

The thing that you need to understand is

“How to Kill a Vibrant Blog”

24. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BAJE

RESPONDING TO FOLK LIKE YOU AND ASSTIN IS LIKE TAKING MILK FROM A BABY. LOL LOL ONE ONLY HAS TO TELL THE TRUTH IN REFUTING AND CONFOUNDING YOUR PUERILE POSTS.

25. Georgie Porgie Avatar

PIECE

THEY CANT LIKE YOU CAUSE YOU UNDERSTAND WHAT HAPPENING AND YOU TELLING THE TRUTH

THE DLP DONE!
    NONE OF THE OTHER PARTIES DONT HAVE ANY SOLUTIONS
    AND YOU COME TALKING ABOUT A THIRD (OR ANOTHER) POSSIBLY VIBRANT PARTY

AND YOU COME TELLING PEOPLE ABOUT ASKING PROSPECTIVE CANDIDATES ABOUT ASKING FOR DELIVERABLES

SO NOW YOU ARE A SNAKE AND A DEVIL AND TO BE CONSIDERED ANATHEMA AND PERSONA NON GRATA

MURDA

26. Been noticing how one of barbados local medias who have been towing the govt line ..in past few days have made a sizeable shift in reporting govt performance via economist articles whose articles are shedding light in opposition to what govt is telling the people
    Any one who has managed their finances knows that borrowing to pay bills and not having a job can only take one out of a short term debt for a short period of time
    The underlying factor which would sustain an individual to paying debt is relying on susbtanial income from a source other than having to borrow
    Economist knows that this govt pursuit of relying on the IMf gift basket and austerity measures to pay debt is likened to a character in the Alice in wonderland story
    I inevitably the economy would hit bedrock and everything would simply spiral out of control
    It behooves to think that a govt which was in opposition and highlited with hubris crticism of taxation on the people as unbearable and unconcscienable would resort to a formula more draconian and drastic for the people to bear
    Where are all the drum majors of a call for the better are hiding

27. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Sooooo….

Continuing on in the Previous Thread on the Issue of INFIGHTING

Observe and determine if de ole man is lying…

“…@ Mariposa

I am having more and more respect for you and Hal Austin…” blogged at 9.03 PM!

I realize that many of you are not trained in this

In the military, certain specialties, there is actually a sub module for Applied Behavioral Science where not only do you observe why people behave a certain way, but you proactively forced them to do so.

If you know what you have been trained to do, you understand what you are looking for in your enemy.

“…The supreme art of war is to subdue the enemy without fighting.
    Sun Tzu…”

The newest style of their team is based on a minimal effort where, with little or no effort on their part, they set us at each others throats.

How do they close down a blog and its bloggers’ message?

Get the fighters fighting against themselves.

“…And Saul and all the people that were with him assembled themselves, and they came to the battle: and, behold, every man’s sword was against his fellow, and there was a very great discomfiture…”

We are embarked on a great battle against Enemies of the Nation and Citizens of Barbados

Our enemy realizes that while we are few, WE ARE MANY, and they have sent their best to put this Dissent Down.

We have shown them that we understand how to fight in the trenches, and hand to hand we understand Krav Maga and that a few of us know “one shot, one kill”

Our calm in the face of their hordes and their whores has unsettled them.

They are discombulated.

Either we stay focused and rout them from their previously unassailable perches, by exposing their corruption and their fixedness to continue to teif, to the people, or we keep fighting among ourselves.

And then their strategy to pick us off one by one WILL WORK

Dr. GP watch this fellow Baje.

You have seen his type before and you have and will continue to put him down.

They are fortunate since they are allowed to post using different monikers but that is not important

The Barbados Underground site is increasing in its viewership locally and further afield

Watch when 2 blogs of the late Veoma Ali, one of which is closed for comments, gets inserted in the Most Popular list!

Why is that? If not to push other content out of the blogs that are viewed when people come.

Keep focused

28. So Mia and her million dollar cuntsultants suggest poor people including unemployed buy a bus pass for 84 dollars to save five dollars
    So where would a person who is unemployed find 84 dollars
    Btw unemployed people need bus service to look for jobs

29. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Mariposa

It is called the Jackassery of Inferior Superiors

This is no different to the tens of thousands of dollars John Boyce spent each month on A GPS shy$e system for buses which, AFTER BEING INSTALLED IN THE BUSES, registered those that were on routes in St Lucy, parked in Weymouth at the Transport Board s yard on Roebuck Street

Nor the almost $7 million that was spent on the Wayfarer payment system for bus fares that was to give realtime cashless transactions but would only provide transaction reports WHEN THE BUSES WERE PARKED AT ROEBUCK STREET BUS STATION ON A NIGHT.

So the ones at Speightstown never reported their transactions.

John Whisper and Michael lashes should be tarred and feathered and made to walk down Broad Street in the noonday sun, barefoot

There are certain subjects here on Barbados Underground that you should have the common sense NOT TO TALK ABOUT THOUGH

You really cant be silly all the time

30. Is this the kinda bad news the government is hiding from the people and why the BLP “yardfowls” are absent?

,$41M Paid Out In Domestic Debt Restructuring

Government recently paid out BDS$41 million to pensioners 60 years and over under the domestic debt restructuring programme.

This disclosure has come from Minister in the Ministry of Finance, Ryan Straughn, who said $7 million of that amount was interest. He explained that the pensioners each received a cash payment of up to $30,000.

“This recent payment has delivered financial relief to 377 pensioners who were fully paid out in March 2019, while an additional 1,123 received $30,000. As a government, we have fulfilled our promise to those pensioners who otherwise would have been left financially exposed,” he stated.

Government amended the repayment terms for those individuals 60 years and over in receipt of pension benefits as of September 1, 2018. As a result, pensioners received a cash payment of up to $20,000 in mid-November, and the second lump sum of $30,000 last week.

Mr. Straughn added that pensioners with $200,000 or less would receive 42 equal payments of the principal from April 30, 2019, and those with over $250,000 would be paid over the remaining 11 years.

31. More bad news!!

Court Improvements Receive “Thumbs Up”

Improvements in environmental conditions at the Supreme Court Complex have received the “thumbs up” from representatives of the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) and the Bar Association, as operations there resumed on Monday.

The High Court (for civil cases) and the Registry have returned to the White Park Road, St. Michael complex, after being temporarily relocated to Manor Lodge last year, following environmental conditions at the White Park Road facility.

Registrar of the Supreme Court, Barbara Cooke-Alleyne said: “It is really good to be back at home base. We have been away almost a year, and we are glad to come back to an environment that is healthier for all the users, staff, the Bar [and the] public.”

She was speaking following a tour of the complex, accompanied by her deputy, Joyann Clarke; Chief Justice Sir Marston Gibson; shop stewards; President of the NUPW, Akanni McDowall; Acting General Secretary, Delcia Burke; and President of the Bar Association, Liesel Weekes.

The registrar said the criminal high courts presently operating from Cane Garden, St. Thomas, would relocate by the end of the week, to start work officially at White Park Road, St. Michael, from Monday, April 15.

She added that two new courts, one for civil and the other for criminal cases, were also being constructed to assist with the backlog.

In addition, persons visiting the Registry for records and certificates will now have access to a public bathroom, as officials used the closure to make improvements to the existing plant.

Mrs. Cooke-Alleyne also gave those present the assurance that a maintenance plan would be in place for the facility going forward.

“We are looking to get a facilities management team in place in the next three months. We will go to tender shortly, so we would have somebody familiar with the needs of a building this size and the capacity,” she said, noting that this would ensure that everything continued to function as it should.

Chief Justice Sir Marston Gibson echoed this view, noting that all efforts were being made to ensure that the issues relating to air quality and ventilation did not reoccur.

Ms. Weekes stated: “Having completed the tour, post the environmental issues that presented themselves in April last year, we are quite pleased with the developments that have taken place. It is a much better use of the space that should lend to better efficiency in how we do things in the courts.”

Meanwhile, Mr. McDowall commended the swift action of the management of the Supreme Court to address the existing problems. “We are here today quite pleased at the progress that management has made in resolving some of those issues,” he said.

However, he noted that the union wanted to see the post report so that it could compare pre and post conditions.

Both the bar and union presidents expressed kudos to the registrar, commending her dedication to taking corrective action at the judicial centre.

32. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Yes go long wid you bad self heheheheh you piece uh liar yuh..

Advertise the bond repayments but dull down the commensurste reneging on debt obligations that may be valued at as much as $250 million heheheheh

Do run back and get the amount and post it here snap snap.

It is a good thing you ent a proximate poocklicker heheheheh

http://imgur.com/eH3bIxY

33. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

A question for you poochlicker # 1.

During the cleaning of the courts DID THE FIND ANY OF THE OVER 20,000 CASES WHOSE FILES ARE MISSING OR CONVENIENTLY INCOMPLETE???

34. Who are the people responsible for removing files from the Registry?

35. This one is a favourite of mine. Certain mouttas should pay close attention to para 4.

Austerity ‘pays’

Officials of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) are banking on a return to growth for the Barbados economy as a result of Government’s austerity measures. In fact, Chief of the World Economic Studies Division in the Research Department of the IMF Oya Celasun is predicting that confidence will return to the local economy in the coming months as a result of the four-year austerity IMF-backed programme.

Responding to a question from Barbados TODAY at the 2019 World Economic Outlook media conference in Washington this morning, Celasun also pointed out that in coming months tourism dependent economies in the Caribbean should experience higher growth than commodity dependent ones. She explained that this was due mainly to the prospects for these economies being tied to those that are more advanced. “There has been some softening, but generally growth is stronger (in tourism-dependent economies). The commodity-dependent ones are still in the process of adjusting to the lower commodity prices and some of them, oil prices,” said Celasun.

In relation to the struggling Barbados economy, the economist said once Government remained disciplined in implementing and meeting its targets, confidence should return, resulting in a strengthening of economic activity. “For Barbados, we have an IMF programme so the prospects are that activity will strengthen somewhat with the build up of confidence as the programme is implemented,” she said.“It is essential for that to happen to return to positive growth in 2020 – that the targets are met and the reforms are steadily implemented,” she added.

The Barbados economy declined by 0.6 per cent last year and has averaged a disappointing -0.7 per cent growth over the last decade

Faced with a massive debt of approximately 150 per cent of gross domestic product (GDP) and an unsustainably high fiscal deficit of around six per cent, the Mia Mottley-led administration took the decision to enter into an IMF programme. Following initial meetings in June, officials signed off on a US$290 million Extended Fund Facility programme with the IMF in October last year, and the country has received its first passing grade in December 2018. The austerity measures, which included public sector layoffs, introduction and increases in some user fees and restructuring of public enterprises, are ongoing. According to the World Economic Outlook: Growth Slowdown, Precarious Recovery, an IMF publication released this morning – the Caribbean should experience a decline in growth to reach 3.6 per cent this year, following the 4.7 per cent last year.

In relation to the global economy, Chief Economist of the IMF Gita Gopinath said growth is expected to weaken this year as a result of a slowdown of growth in 70 per cent of the world economy. Following softened growth of 3.6 per cent last year, it is projected to further slow in the first half of 2019 to reach 3.3 per cent, representing a downward growth projection of 0.2 per cent. This, she said, was as a result of a negative revision for several major economies such as the US, Canada, Australia the Euro area, Latin America and the UK.

“With improved prospects for the second half of 2019 global growth in 2020 is projected to return to 3.6 per cent. This recovery is precarious and predicated on the rebound in emerging market and developing economies where growth is projected to increase from 4.4 per cent in 2019 to 4.8 per cent in 2020,” she said.

However, she said the world economy remained in a precarious and delicate state, adding that several economies still faced a range of challenges. She warned of some significant factors that were weighing heavily on growth including ongoing trade tensions between the US and China, changes in international oil prices and uncertainty surrounding Brexit. Gopinath also warned of the need for countries to “avoid costly policy mistakes”. She said policymakers should “work cooperatively” to ensure strong monetary and fiscal policies and financial sector policies to address specific country issues. She also pointed out that economies were facing risks associated with climate change. “Across all economies, the imperative is to take actions that boost potential output and boost inclusiveness and strengthen resilience,” said Gopinath. “This is a delicate moment for the global economy. If the downside risks do not materialise, and policy support put in place is effective, global growth should rebound. If, however, any of the major risks materialise then expected recoveries in stressed economies, high debt economies, in export-dependent economies, maybe derailed,” she warned.

Policymakers, economists, financial experts and other stakeholders are meeting in Washington this week for the annual IMF/World Bank Spring Meetings as they discuss challenges facing economies around the world, and come up with possible solutions to spur growth.

marlonmadden@barbadostoday.bb

36. ‘Routemaster’

The Transport Board is in the early stages of developing a new and improved “master plan” for its future operations, which could see Government’s role reduced to a mere regulator of a privately-owned, public route network. Chairman Gregory Nicholls in an interview with Barbados TODAY indicated that it is still “early days yet”, but predicted that the new structure would significantly reduce the financial burden currently placed on Government. “All the buses will be painted the same, the drivers will continue to wear the same uniforms, but the Transport Board, instead of being an operator of 300 plus buses, will instead be a route manager,” said Nicholls.

“Instead of sinking $60 million of taxpayers’ money into the Transport Board, we will be trying to create a platform for the public transport sector to operate on a much more regulated and orderly basis but without the requirement of being subsidised to that extent by the public purse. “We’re talking about a system where the Transport Board is not the owner of 300 plus buses, but more the regulator of a route network which will have much more private sector participation in the delivery of those services. That is the Government’s plan going forward,” revealed Nicholls. He added that the new, profit-making endeavour would afford drivers at least a 20 per cent stake in the new entities to create opportunities for current drivers and operators to have an ownership in the business.

On Wednesday, Nicholls revealed that Government had awarded a tender for the provision of electric buses, adding that the Transport Board was well on the way to having the buses in the country by year-end. “First of all, we have to sit down and negotiate a contract that is beneficial to the Government and people of Barbados while ensuring that the entity which won the bid is happy with the arrangement as well. So we have to make those determinations during negotiations,” he said.

Approximately two weeks ago, 85 workers, mostly bus drivers, accepted voluntary separation and early retirement packages as the Transport Board intensified restructuring efforts. With further reform on the horizon, Nicholls said the Transport Board was engaged with trade unions on the structure of the entity amid numerous operational challenges, reduced subvention and a significantly depleted fleet. “No one is anticipating that the Transport Board will have to own in excess of 300 buses again in order to service the network,” he said, adding that the plans could only be rolled out, when all stakeholders were on the same page.

“We have designed a master plan which we have submitted to Cabinet for approval. The unions have responded to a number of things that concern them and we have to continue those discussions and negotiations,” said Nicholls.

kareemsmith@barbadostoday.bb

37. @Enuff

Do you care to comment on the fact increasing revenues from tourism will not be enough to float the economy?

38. @ Enuff,
    The global economy across all regions is slowing down. Where will growth in Barbados come from?

39. the UK and the back ivy

40. Enuff now that you were sent to be the burden bearer of ” good news”
    Can u asked Mia and her bevy of cuntsultants how and when will givt lay out a growth plan sufficient and enough to take the draconian tax burdens off the peoples back

41. I said I am done with casting pearls to swines. I cutting and pasting, nothing I posted is MINE. #nocomments

42. @ Georgie Porgie,

Plse say that in Patwa. You know English is your second language.

43. I guess Enuff you did not read the message sent to govt coming from an IMF official warning that govt has to do more in order to reach its required IMF targets
    News of that kind should make u shudder and recoiled as to what measures govt would have in store to implement especially after 12months of more unsustainable borrowing which would result placing more burden on the barbados house hold

44. Georgie Porgie Avatar

at ASSTIN

SOMETIMES YOU Answer not a fool according to his folly, lest thou also be like unto him.

SOMETIMES YOU Answer a fool according to his folly, lest he be wise in his own conceit.

A whip for the horse, a bridle for the ass, and a rod for the fool’s back.

YOU GET THE LAST TWO
    BET YOU CANT WORK OUT WHY?

45. @ Georgie Porgie,

Plse say that in Patwa. You are not very good at English as a second language. Did you get special tuition at Harrison College?

46. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ACTUALLY I WAS FIRST IN CLASS IN ENGLISH ALL THROUGH HC
    NEVER WENT TO LESSONS EITHER

47. @ the Honourable Blogmaster, your assistance pleease for an ithem here for the Nameless Ones #1 thank you

48. @ the Nameless Ones #1

I had sent this already but it did not post so I am sending it again.

I will cut and paste from the article which Poochlicker is claiming to be another cut and paste

The item is called “Slavemaster”

He says and I quote

“…The Transport Board is in the early stages of developing a new and improved “master plan” for its future operations, which could see Government’s role reduced to a mere regulator of a privately-owned, public route network.

Chairman Gregory Nicholls in an interview with Barbados TODAY indicated that it is still “early days yet”, but predicted that the new structure would significantly reduce the financial burden currently placed on Government…”

What the report to Barbados Today DOES NOT SAY IS THAT the Chairman and his team HAVE BEEN CALLING THE OWNERS OF PSVs and TELLING THEM individually that

“…as of such and such a date YOU SHALL DRIVE YOUR PSV VEHICLE on such and such a route OR YOUR PSV license WILL BE FORFEIT!!!…”

Now de ole man wants wunna to understand the gravity of this unilateral action.

Imagine the following

I am a PSV owner who, because of the requirements of my business have mortgaged my house to secure a loan for my PSV vehicle.

Having researched the financials of the route i sought and was approved that mortgage based on a Silver Sands travelling public metric.

My life, my family’s expenditure, everything is based on this route.

Without any rationalization of the route the new draconian chairman of the Transport Board WHILE PRETENDING TO THE BARBADOS TODAY ALL IS WELL, has unilaterally revoked my livelyhood and put my home at risk while farming out the routes to overseas providers WITH WHOM THEY HAVE ESTABLISHED “TRANSPARENT” CONTRACTS

I am tempted to submit this to the Barbados Underground as an Article for consideration but de ole man does not want to deluge BU with drivel

heheheheheh

ALL HAIL MUGABE!!