Internationally competitive European industries wanted to legally exploit the developing Caribbean markets.  To achieve that aim, their governments wanted to negotiate a trade agreement with the Caribbean.  That trade agreement was called the Economic Partnership Agreement.

With the benefit of our FTAA preparations in 2002, Barbados and the rest of the Caribbean were well-positioned to negotiate a favourable trade agreement with Europe.  However, the European’s ‘Aid for Trade’ incentive proved too much of a distraction.

The Europeans would go on to secure an advantageous future for Europe’s children and grandchildren.  We seemed blinded by the short-term benefits of European aid, and squandered it.

For the next five years, European aid money flowed across the Caribbean, chased by consultants who fashionably called themselves trade experts.  Consultants would assemble practitioners from different disciplines in a room, where we seemed to be pitted against each-other.

I attended several of those discussions.  Each discipline’s ‘must-haves’ were diluted to get some sort of comprise, as if we were negotiating among ourselves.  It made no logical sense, but I was reminded that I was not a trade expert and they knew what they were doing.

I tried explaining how important it was to try trading with Europe in order to identify the actual trade barriers, since each European country had different regulations.  When we were trying to trade in the US and Canada in preparation for the FTAA, we were told that there were no trade barriers.  However, we tested that assertion.

We tried to offer our services in the US but learnt that we needed a State License.  To get a State License, we needed to pass that State’s professional examinations.  When we tried to apply to take the examination, there was a small mandatory section on the application form us to insert a Social Security number, which we did not have.  When we applied to get a Social Security number, we learnt that only US citizens and residents could apply.  Therefore, there were hidden barriers that would automatically disqualify all of us from trading in the US.

Whenever I made any suggestions based on our experience with preparing for the FTAA, these trade experts seemed more interested in completing their contracted assignments, so that they could get paid and chase another EPA consultancy.

Five years later in 2007, I learnt that negotiations were being concluded.  I asked our trade negotiators to see a draft of what they were negotiating on our behalf.  I was told that the draft was a secret document so I could not see it.  I was chided for even asking for it, and for being unaware of how trade negotiations worked.

Given the permanent consequences for our children, I said that I would approach the Europeans for a copy.  I was ridiculed for even expressing such a thought.  I visited the European’s web site where they were encouraging their practitioners to download this ‘secret’ document.

While we in the Caribbean were encouraging isolation and secrecy, the Europeans were encouraging transparency and feedback from their practitioners.  Our side, with little knowledge of the industries that they were trading, seemed to be motivated by whatever prestige they thought came with negotiating a trade agreement.  The Europeans seemed to have no such cravings.  They seemed focused on negotiating the most advantageous trade agreement for European industries.

After reading this ‘secret’ document, I was horrified at what we had ‘negotiated’.  I can only imagine that when the European negotiators saw what we were willing to give up, they must have struggled to contain their delight at their good fortune.  The best analogy I can think of is that they found themselves in the favourable position of taking milk from an unsupervised baby.

I literally begged our trade negotiators not to recommend that draft for our politicians to sign.  They were arrogantly dismissive.  I then wrote publicly about the dangers of signing the EPA document in its present form, and recommended that we take another look at it, since I was unaware of any other Caribbean practitioner who had read it.  However, our politicians chose to believe these trade experts, signed it despite published objections, and forced an unsuspecting generation of Caribbean people into the End Game.

The Europeans are willing to wait 25 years before our children are forced to compete against a combined European market.  This will ensure that most of the current generation of internationally competitive practitioners have retired.  Approximately half of that time has now elapsed – and has been squandered by our politicians.

Our FTAA preparations showed that we did not need European Aid, we just needed people who genuinely cared.  After ‘investing’ about BD$200M of Aid, the Europeans publicly expressed their surprise and disappointment at the lack of any meaningful preparation in the Caribbean – but those who received this money probably could not believe their good fortune.

While the Europeans are actively preparing the next generation of Europeans to compete in an EPA market, both DLP and BLP administrations irresponsibly pursued policies that would prevent the next generation from becoming internationally competitive.  They also encouraged our children to believe an illusion, which will leave them unprepared to succeed in the new reality.  To be continued next week.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

208 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – The End Game, Part 3 – Taking Milk from a Baby”

1. Georgie Porgie Avatar

the 166sq miles Barbados under IMF rule is more advanced than the USA IN DAT WE HAVE
    MIA MAO MUGABE MUTTLEY AS OUR PRIMEWICKER

the 166sq miles Barbados under IMF rule is more advanced than the USA IN DAT WE HAVE GRANVILLE PHILLIPS IN THE WINGS WAITING TO BE OUR NEXT PM UH LIE?

MURDAH

2. The USA has accumulated 20 trillion with a T in debt. It is because the greenback is used as the world’s reserve currency the economy has not imploded.

https://www.facebook.com/BarbadosLabourParty/videos/1899260120179131/

3. William Skinner Avatar

@ Shedding Some Light

Let me attempt to explain:
    Less than 300 000 people 166 sq ml limited natural resources. Is considered one of the most literate people on the planet. An educational system that needs reforms but many consider higher than that in USA. One of the few countries where public education is considered more prestigious than what obtains at private secondary level. A health care system that is free to all. A developed national insurance system for all ; a vibrant trade union movement etc
    Now many of the above are under extreme pressure because of poor management(BLPDLP) but the fundamentals to be even greater are there. You should try to compare public housing and the basic treatment of the poor as well. Do you know that the USA has the one of the highest rates of child hunger in the world ? Do you know that millions of Americans still don’t have access to free health care? Do you know in areas such as workers rights that our legislation is far superior to USA. Do you know that USA is still far behind us in terms of things such as sick/maternity leave and so on ? Do you know that millions of USA university graduates are bankrupt before they graduate?
    I could go on but you should get the picture.

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

wILLIAM

YOU WOULD HAVE THOUGHT THAT Shedding Some Light WOULD HAVE KNOWN THE THINGS YOU MENTIONED, BUT Shedding Some Light IS OBVIOUSLY STILL IN THE DARK

MOCKING MORONIC MOUTHINGS BY JOKERS ON BU IS LIKE………TAKING MILK FROM A BABY. LOL MURDAH MA BELLY

5. @ NextParty246
    @ SSL
    @ Baje

IT MAY BE OF INTEREST TO NOTE THAT THOSE PREACHING FALSE DOCTRINE ON HERE HAVE LITTLE UNDERSTANDING OF THE SUBJECT AT HAND AS IS WELL DOCUMENTED SO THEY GET ALL PUFFED UP AND THEIR EGOS ARE FILLED WITH HOT, PONTIFICATING LIKE PEACOCKS IN HEAT STRUTTING THEIR ERRONEOUS PLUMES BY NAME CALLING AND FALSE ACCUSATIONS BECAUSE THEY HAVE NO SOLID GROUND ON WHICH TO STAND….

WHOSOEVER THE SHOE FITS CLAIM IT!!

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/5e/f3/0a/5ef30a2a88aa55f675760b45f57af12d.jpg

6. CORRECTION…FILLED WITH HOT AIR…

7. Dr. GP, man yuh pun a roll. I here dedding wid laugh. hahaha. This ‘Shedding some Light” who is still in the dark, reminds me of “Common Sense not so Common”, who had none. When he came up against the “pissy old men and old women” he could not take the heat and disappeared. hahaha. It seems some of these new comers think BU started last May 24th. What they do not understand is that it is the “pissy old men and women” that have kept it going for more than ten very interesting years.

8. @ Baje

You are not that good at trying not to be a jackass , you are a jackass. The fiasco that caused a dangerous situation, that can cause a disaster for residents, belong to a British Expat and the MTW Top Technical Officers. For yours and Grenville Phillips information, his professional opinion is wrong in that situation. He jump to conclusions, and failed to reasoning, the action of Heavy Equipment.

9. Correction: ” could not take the heat” should read “could not take the piss”, hahahaha.

10. Here be something else that is filled with hot air

When you click on the Link you and your personification of this demigod on earth Grenville Phillips can go to whichever authority of the Government of Barbados and complain for this item here

Here is the Clause you and he can utilize 3 L.R.O. 2005 Computer Misuse CAP. 124B CHAPTER 124B COMPUTER MISUSE.

Ask them if this “Act to make provision for the protection of computer systems and the information contained in those systems from unauthorised access, from abuse by persons authorised to have access and related matters…” protects the Autocrat Grenville from any such tool being superimposed on his Website which he has not seen fit to update for 2 years

During which period of time you have run helter skelter around behind him sucking his pooch Sand Devil

Have you sought to rectify the exclusion that you subjected the late Angela *** to as yet Sand Devil?

Why wunna doan lef de ole man alone?

Instead of rectifiying his mistake and saying that HE DOES NOT KNOW the Autocrat sought to come here on BU and do his customary I, GRENVILLE PHILLIPS HAVE SPOKEN!!

I as a pissy ole man said, hold on one effing moment, what you are saying IS NOT TRUE and I brought the evidence to prove it!

Because that catspraddled his LIES he sought to return WITH ANOTHER POOCKLICKER IN TOW who claims to be from the US yet, in their ramblings, indicated that they had to utilise the same documents that a bajan would have to use!

SO here is one liar Grenville, aided and abetted by another liar Seeking Light from Grenville’s botsie now being supported by the Sand Devil herself!

I wonder if Grenville knows that you je ent like sand devils of the deep hue type?

Steupseee

@ the Third Party Movement (which Grenville is not)

TO fight Mugabe wunna going need tools to get your messages out there and into the trenches OK

11. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Your assistance please Honourable Blogmaster with an item here thank you kindly

12. @Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right,

nextparty246 wrote ” He is the worst of us, and is generally ignored – except by the authorities for his daily breaches of the Computer Misuse Act

For what its worth I Hants am ” one the worst of us ” so you are in bad company. l will not say what I really think bout de ball head fella who wannabe Primedickhead cause de authorities musse monitoring frens of de rock.

13. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Dame Bajans April 10, 2019 8:17 PM

Correction: ” could not take the heat” should read “could not take the piss”, hahahaha.
    YOU ARE A NAUGHTY OLD LADY
    BUT YA TELL DE TRUTE …………….. it is the “pissy old men and women” that have kept BU going for more than ten very interesting years.

DESTROYING MORONIC MOUTHINGS OF THOSE WHO THINK THEY ARE ENTITLED ID LIKE TAKING MILK FROM A BABY

MANY FOLK DONT UNDERSTAND WHAT PIECE IS SAYING
    BUT THE DLP DONE!
    THE BLP IS NEXT AND THEY SCRAMBLING CAUSE MUDDA WICKER CUPBOARD BARE

THERE IS NO MONEY
    AND THERE ARE NO BRANIACS IN THE PARTY
    MUDDA WICKER CUPBOARD BARE
    SO SHE BOUT DE PLACE BEGGING

AT HOME GRANVILLE AND HIS CRONIES TINK THAT THEY ARE ENTITLED TO TAKE OVER
    BUT HERE COMES THE OLD MAN PIECE TALKING SHITE BOUT A THIRD PARTY THAT IS NOT THE NON SOLUTIONS PARTY

SO ALL HELL BREK LOOSE FROM ROEBUCK ST
    AND GRANVILLES PEA SHOOTERS COME OUT WITH THEIR ASSTIN-ESQUE MORONIC MOUTHINGS

THEY WORSE THAN ENUFF THE PUFF, AND LAUGHABLE LORENZO FROM DE LAZARETTO

BRING VIABLE IDEAS

BRING VIABLE DELIVERABLES IS WHAT the “pissy old men and women” TRYING TO TELL YA

14. @ Brother Hants

That “worst of us…” is “constrained” you can see it in the construct of the sentence.

It followed on the equating of Piece with Judas …”…Please note that like Judas, Piece has his role to play and he is playing it to perfection…”

At least he qualified my effectiveness with the word “perfection” heheheheheheh

Now mind you, this is the same man who constantly encourages us not to use bad language and “sin not” in the most saintly of tones heheheheheh

but den he liken de ole man to the Son of Perdition and in so doing he shows people (and Sheeple) quite clearly that he, Grenville, considers himself to be the Son of God!

Now, let us pause here for a short while to examine this megalomania IN BLACK AND WHITE

Or should that be IN RED & WHITE?

15. hhhhhhhmmmmmmmmm

this is a very strange thing.

De ole man has posted an item twice so far and it is not being posted

Let me see one more time

http://bit.ly/GrenvilleisanAutocrat

16. Here be something else that is filled with hot air

http://bit.ly/GrenvilleisanAutocrat

When you click on the Link you and your personification of this demigod on earth Grenville Phillips can go to whichever authority of the Government of Barbados and complain for this item here

Here is the Clause you and he can utilize 3 L.R.O. 2005 Computer Misuse CAP. 124B CHAPTER 124B COMPUTER MISUSE.

Ask them if this “Act to make provision for the protection of computer systems and the information contained in those systems from unauthorised access, from abuse by persons authorised to have access and related matters…” protects the Autocrat Grenville from any such tool being superimposed on his Website which he has not seen fit to update for 2 years

During which period of time you have run helter skelter around behind him sucking his pooch Sand Devil

Have you sought to rectify the exclusion that you subjected the late Angela *** to as yet Sand Devil?

Why wunna doan lef de ole man alone?

Instead of rectifiying his mistake and saying that HE DOES NOT KNOW the Autocrat sought to come here on BU and do his customary I, GRENVILLE PHILLIPS HAVE SPOKEN!!

I as a pissy ole man said, hold on one effing moment, what you are saying IS NOT TRUE and I brought the evidence to prove it!

Because that catspraddled his LIES he sought to return WITH ANOTHER POOCKLICKER IN TOW who claims to be from the US yet, in their ramblings, indicated that they had to utilise the same documents that a bajan would have to use!

SO here is one liar Grenville, aided and abetted by another liar Seeking Light from Grenville’s botsie now being supported by the Sand Devil herself!

I wonder if Grenville knows that you je ent like sand devils of the deep hue type?

Steupseee

@ the Third Party Movement (which Grenville is not)

TO fight Mugabe wunna going need tools to get your messages out there and into the trenches OK

17. Piece, yuh bad. Nice, nice. Superimposing on Grenville’s site. Maybe he or Shedding Some Light will get the Barbados Authorities to come after ‘the clown”, for misusing the Computer something act. hahaha. Or maybe Shedding will get the ‘mericans to fix you. hahaha.

18. Georgie Porgie Avatar

GRENVILLE SAY PIECE IS LIKE JUDAS the Son of Perdition

GRENVILLE’S PROUD PISSY PUERILE SUPPORTERS SAY THAT GRANVILLE HAS NOT DONE ANY SINS THINKS NO SIN and SPEAKS NO SINS AND THEY HAVE FOUND NO FAULT IN HIM in so doing they are quite clearly saying that he, Grenville, considers himself to be the Son of God!

ya mean he is a FALSE CHRIST! YA MEAN GRENVILLE IS DE ANTICHRIST DEN?

THEN ALL BAJANS SHOULD FEAR THIS PSEUDO CHRIST THIS FALSE MAN EVEN MORE THAN WE FEAR MIA MAO MUGABE AMIN MUTTLEY, OUR NOT SO BELOVED PRIMEWICKER

ALL HAIL MUGABE and

GO UP THOU BALD HEAD GRENVILLE GO UP!

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

MURDAH

PIECE SAYS DAT GRANVILLE IS NOT THE SOLUTION

HE SAYS THAT THE SOLUTION MAN IS NOT DE SOLUTION

BUT I SAY FORGET PIECE MAN …AND

GO UP THOU BALD HEAD GRANVILLE GO UP!

20. @Dr. GP:

Man, Hants just gave Grenville a new moniker: wannabe Primedickhead. hahaha.
    Primewicker, now Primedickhead, holy macaroni. hahaha. Uh got to hold muh belly, wuhloss, hahahaha.

21. Shedding Some Light Avatar
    Shedding Some Light

Less than 300 000 people 166 sq ml limited natural resources. Is considered one of the most literate people on the planet. An educational system that needs reforms but many consider higher than that in USA.

YOU USED THE WORD CONSIDERED BY WHO PEOPLE WHO BELIEVE THEY ARE PUNCHING ABOVE THEIR WEIGHT. I CAN NAME MANY AMERICAN COMPANIES RAN BY AMERICANS WHICH EACH EMPLOY TENS OF THOUSANDS AND OPERATE GLOBALLY, FACEBOOK, DELL, IBM, AMAZON, EBAY, MICROSOFT, VERIZON, NIKE, ADIDAS, HP, WENDYS, BURGER KING, MACDONALDS, KFC ETC.

THERE IS NOT ONE LOCAL OR GLOBAL BARBADOS COMPANY EMPLOYING 5000 THOUSAND BAJANS OUTSIDE OF GOVERNMENT. I AM NOT TALKING ABOUT A CONGLOMERATE OF COMPANIES THE REFERENCE IS TO A SINGLE ENTITY

One of the few countries where public education is considered more prestigious than what obtains at private secondary level. A health care system that is free to all. A developed national insurance system for all ; a vibrant trade union movement etc

MR SKINNER I BELIEVE YOUR BRAIN MUST BE BACK IN THE BARBADOS 1980s anyone with any modicum of sense knows that all structures on the island is failing or has failed, trade unions with the exception of Caswell Franklyn long sold their souls and members to the other side for positions and favours.

Now many of the above are under extreme pressure because of poor management(BLPDLP) but the fundamentals to be even greater are there. You should try to compare public housing and the basic treatment of the poor as well. Do you know that the USA has the one of the highest rates of child hunger in the world?

THE USA IN YOUR ESTIMATION MAY HAVE THE HIGHEST RATES OF HUNGER HOWEVER THIS MAY NOT BE A FACT. LOTS OF CHILDREN GO HUNGRY IN THE USA BECAUSE THE MONEY PROVIDE BY WELFARE GO TOWARDS DRUGS USED BY THEIR PARENT RECEIVING THE BENEFITS ON THE BEHALF OF THE CHILD.

EVEN SINGLE MEN IF THEY ARE NOT WORKING CAN RECEIVE CLOSE TO US$200 TO ASSIST THEM WITH FEEDING THEMSELVES MONTHLY UNDER A PROGRAM CALLED SNAP IF THEY APPLY.

MOTHERS WITH CHILDREN GET A HELL OF A LOT MORE THAN THAT.

I RECENTLY MET A SINGLE BLACK MOTHER 30 YEARS OF AGE WITH 6 CHILDREN AND NO FATHER SHE WAS RECEIVING UNDER GOVERNMENT WELFARE US$1400 MONTHLY TO ASSIST WITH APARTMENT AND US$600 IN SNAP FOOD STAMPS TO FEED THE CHILDREN.

SHE WAS NOT THE EXCEPTION HERS WAS A TYPICAL CASE.

TELL ME WHERE IN BARBADOS CAN THAT HAPPEN THAT BD$4000 MONTHLY TO HOUSE AND FEED HER CHILDREN BY THE GOVERNMENT ON WELFARE.

THE USA PROVIDES FOR ALL CHILDREN SNAP BENEFITS FOR FOOD HOWEVER THEY DON’T HAVE CONTROL OVER WHAT THE PARENT DOES WITH IT AS SOME TRADE THE BENEFIT FOR DISCOUNT FOR CASH TO BUY DRUGS OR OTHER THINGS NOT APPROVED BY THE PROGRAM.

Do you know that millions of Americans still don’t have access to free health care?

THIS ONE I CAN AGREE ON.

HOWEVER WHY IS IT THAT THE ONES IN BARBADOS WITH MONEY WHEN THEY GET SERIOUSLY ILL FLY TO MIAMI FOR ASSISTANCE WHICH IS NOT FREE. THAT ALONE TELLS A DAMING PICTURE OF THE FREE HEALTH CARE AVAILABLE ON THE ISLAND.

Do you know in areas such as workers rights that our legislation is far superior to USA. Do you know that USA is still far behind us in terms of things such as sick/maternity leave and so on?

NOW I KNOW YOU ARE TALKING SHITE I HAVE OWNED A BUSINESS ON THE ISLAND OF BARBADOS EMPLOYING PEOPLE AND BOTH WORKED AS A CONTRACTOR AND A BUSINESS OWNER IN THE USA AND CAN CLEARLY STATE YOU ARE TALKING OFF THE TOP OF YOUR HEAD.

EACH OF THE 50 STATES HAVE THEIR OWN CONTRACT, LABOUR LAWS, AND LAWS AS IT RELATES TO MATERNITY. SO YOU COULD NEVER BE SPEAKING FOR THE USA POLICY AS IT DIFFERS FROM STATE TO STATE.

LOOK AT THE EMPLOYMENT TRIBUNAL LOCALLY HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE ON THE ISLAND HAVE BEEN UNFAIRED AND YET CANT GET REDRESS FROM LABOR DEPARTMENT OR THE EMPLOYMENT TRIBUNAL.

PEOPLE LOCALLY HAVE BEEN DISMISSED FROM JOBS AND CANT RECEIVE SEVERANCE UPTO SEVERAL YEARS THIS IS A CRIME IN THE USA.

Do you know that millions of USA university graduates are bankrupt before they graduate?

BANKRUPT FROM THE FACT THEY TAKE OUT STUDENT LOANS TO FINANCE THEIR EDUCATION AND THEN HAVE TO REPAY OR FILE FOR DEFERRMENT AFTER GRADUATING AND BECOMING EMPLOYED.

IF THAT IS THE CASE THE THOUSANDS IN BARBADOS WHO APPLY AND RECEIVE STUDENT LOANS TO ATTEND UWI OR UNIVERSITY OVERSEAS ARE ALSO BANKRUPT TO USE YOUR INVALID ARGUMENT.

I could go on but you should get the picture.

YOU DONT NEED TO GO ON AS YOU ARE NOT SPOUTING FACTS BUT OPINION.

22. One individual felt he needed to continually disrespect Bush Tea, Hal Austin and others but anyone with a modicum of common sense can see he is a jackass.

No wonder he was ran out of Barbados because he is a self-absorbed bullshitter feeling hurt because someone talked about his wonderful Powerpoint slides bruising his very fragile ego.

Now he is so desperate for attention that he feels he needs to mock everyone whilst proclaiming to be a former Barbados Scholar and a Bible Expert which was written by the white man.

Fool needs to get a life.

23. William Skinner Avatar

@Shedding Some Light

You seem to forget that the population of America is over 300 million therefore companies employing thousands is to be expected.
    If you had read my submission carefully, you would have noted that I said that mismanagement by the BLPDLP has put several of these positives under pressure. I also emphatically stated that we can do even better.
    Proper management of our country would have made it the most advanced post slavery society in the world.
    In spite of all the warts Barbados is still a country that lifted its people from the pits of slavery and if it has failed or is failing it’s because its leaders who think like you, did not recognise its greatness but looked to Uncle Sam as their saviour.
    Barbados never failed anybody-we collectively failed Barbados.
    That is why I can maintain that in many ways our country in several areas is far more advanced than the USA. While you pontificate about Microsoft ; I speak of James Tudor.

24. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

https://www.ssa.gov/ssnumber/ss5doc.htm
    If you do not have permission to work: Lawfully admitted noncitizens can get many benefits and services without a Social Security number. You do not need a number to conduct business with a bank, register for school, apply for educational tests, obtain private health insurance, apply for school lunch programs or apply for subsidized housing. You cannot get a Social Security number for the sole purpose of obtaining a driver’s license.

Government benefits or services: If you do not have permission to work, you may apply for a Social Security number only if:

A federal law requires you to provide your Social Security number to get a particular benefit or service; or
    A state or local law requires you to provide your Social Security number to get general assistance benefits for which you already have qualified.
    If you need a number to meet these state or local requirements, you must bring us a letter from the government agency. It must be on letterhead stationery (no form letters or photocopies) and:

Specifically identify you as the applicant;
    Cite the law requiring you to have a Social Security number;
    Indicate that you meet all the agency’s requirements, except having the number; and
    Contain an agency contact name and telephone number.
    Taxes: If you need a number for tax purposes and you are not authorized to work in the United States, you can apply for an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). Visit IRS in person or call the IRS toll-free number, 1-800-TAXFORM (1-800-829-3676), and request Form W-7 (Application for IRS Individual Taxpayer Identification Number).

If you are assigned a number for non-work purposes, you cannot use it to work. If you use it to work, we will inform DHS.

You must present your foreign birth certificate if you have it or can get it within 10 days. If not, we will consider other documents such as your passport or a document issued by DHS as evidence of your age.

Anyone age 12 or older requesting an original Social Security number MUST be interviewed by Social Security. We will ask for evidence to show you do not have a Social Security number. If you lived outside the United States for an extended period, a current or previous passport, school and/or employment records, and any other record that would show long-term residence outside the United States could be used to show you do not have a Social Security number.

Identity

Social Security will ask to see a current DHS document. Acceptable documents include:

I-551 Permanent Resident Card;
    I-94 Arrival/Departure Record with unexpired foreign passport or admission stamp in the unexpired foreign passport; or
    I-766 Employment Authorization Document, (EAD, work permit) from DHS.
    Note

We may use one document for two purposes. For example, we may use a DHS work permit as proof of both immigration status and identity. However, you must provide at least two separate documents.

25. Attention monitors Hants misbehaving

26. Shedding Some Light Avatar
    Shedding Some Light

if it has failed or is failing it’s because its leaders who think like you, did not recognise its greatness but looked to Uncle Sam as their saviour.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Man, you got me really confounded.

Was I elected after fooling the local people with pretty talk and they catching hell through a foreign entity the IMF?

Was I involved in the corruption and fleecing of the local Treasury as a leader on the island which has brought it begging to the IMF for rescue?

So how could I be lumped with the leaders who have benefitted off the fatted calf of over 5o years of independence?

I have nothing against my country of birth and would love to see it succeed.

However, my education, knowledge and wealth have been 1000 fold because of the USA.

I am a realist who doesn’t believe in spreading propaganda to win an argument.

27. @ Dr. GP my fellow myope
    @ My Brother Hants
    @ Theophillus Gazerts
    @ Donna my Sisteren
    @ my unwilling Salemite ManyPussy
    @ WARU
    @ other PickaNoises and i forget wat else dem does call we?

Let me shed some light heheheheheh on the attention seeking pissy ole man strategy that I am utilizing

“…Indian election commission bans Modi biopic until after polls

Electoral body says the Bollywood biopic has the potential to ‘disturb the level playing field during the elections.

A biopic about Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi described by his opponents as propaganda has been barred from release during the national elections, a government body overseeing the polls said.

India’s election commission said on Wednesday any biopic “which has the potential to disturb the level playing field during the elections should not be displayed…”

If you doubt me take a read of

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/04/india-election-commission-bans-modi-biopic-poll-190410092908487.html [credit: Donna]

Dr. GP my fellow myope!

Eureka!!! I have found it!!

From this day, forward de ole man shall no longer be calling these images that have the Royal Barbados Baygon Police and Charles me Love you Long Time Jung, pun de Barbados Underground every day collecting Computer Misuse Infractions “Stoopid Cartoons”

I have now elevated them to “Political Biopics!!!”

Tell me effin wunna likes dat name!

In fact i can personalize the Biopic by calling it a “Mugabe Biopic” or a “Grenville Biopic” or an “Autocratic Biopic”

What wunna tink?

Do use a different handle when wunna responding since de site is being monitored for the Computer Misuse Act (like ef I give a really bad word steupseeeee)

28. William Skinner Avatar

Shedding Some Light

No offense intended. That’s my last word.

29. “. You do not need a number to conduct business with a bank, register for school, apply for educational tests, obtain private health insurance, apply for school lunch programs or apply for subsidized housing”

Please tell me the bank that does not want a social security number.
    Please tell me the school that does not want a social security number.

Even when I came to the US as a graduate student, I was given a temporary social security number.
    Reading a lot of stuff about the US here and am wondering if I am in an alternate US.
    Hopefully, folk in Barbados use a strainer for some of the stuff here.

Shedding some shight need to stop.

30. Read carefully SSS
    “If you do not have permission to work: Lawfully admitted noncitizens can get many benefits and services without a Social Security number. You do not need a number to conduct business with a bank, register for school, apply for educational tests, obtain private health insurance, apply for school lunch programs or apply for subsidized housing. You cannot get a Social Security number for the sole purpose of obtaining a driver’s license.”

If you are not working, then there is nothing for Uncle SAM to tax… yo do not need a social security number.

Read carefully SSS
    Some of the cases where you do not require a social security number is if you are receiving benefits from the state (sounds like welfare)’

“Taxes: If you need a number for tax purposes and you are not authorized to work in the United States, you can apply for an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). ”

Again this person is not working in the US. No need for a SS# but Uncle SAam will give you a TIN (in case you owe him money in some way) – perhaps you have a large account earning US interest. – not your average Bajan migrant

I don’t think the average Bajan wants to be in a situation where the/she don’t need a social security number.

31. @ Theophillus

When I saw dat SSN lie i start laughing so bad dat i pee myself!

I truly became a pissy ole man!!!

Looka doan expose youself and you profession and you bonafides

I cyan respond to dat bat cause de ole man promise dat as long as she pun BU i will nevah talk to dat dingbat again, de ole man sorry but I jes cyan abide a fool.

You realize dat dem got a tag team fuh de ole man?

Whu boahsie effing it was not fuh Dr. GP and Hants and you and Donna and WARU and the Salemite ManyPussy dem AND DE ROYAL BAYGON POLICE FORCE would got de ole man catspraddle for de Cuntputer Misuse Act 2005!

I like how you call he Spreading Some Shyte doah, looka wunna only going get dem cussing de ole man black is blue again.

I Judas take full responsibility for laying off 5000 civil servants

I judas take full responsibility for hiring 30 ministers and the Cuntsultants White Hoax that getting paid $85,000 a month

I JUDAS take responsibility for making her father a night overnight

I JUDAS TEK FURTHER RESPONSIBILITY so that Sir Elliot can come through Immigration officials without being checked because he gots a diplomatic passport.

I JUDAS tek responsibility for the way that certain DLP employees get terminated and BLP supporters get hired.

I JUDAS tek responsibility how former Commissioner Dottin, a man whom the DLP accused of WIRETAPPING and fired him get back he pick

I JUDAS TEK RESPONSIBILITY FOR writing off tax defaulters (OF WHOM SIR ELIOT SHE FADDER IS ONE) I tek responsibility for annulling the millions owed.

I JUDAS TEK RESPONSIBILITY FOR REFUSING to publish the names of these defaulters

I JUDAS TEK RESPONSIBILITY FOR CANCELLING OUT ALL THE COURT CASES OLDER THAN 10 YEARS

& I JUDAS TEK RESPONSIBILITY FOR DE 25 MURDERS IN BARBADOS and DE 50 DAT BERNIE PROJECT GOING DEAD BY YEAR END.[credit to My Dearest SSS]

32. @ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you

33. BIOPICS IS THE WORD PIECE LOL

34. Shedding Some Light Avatar
    Shedding Some Light

@ TheoGazarts

Are you another joker?

Have you travelled and lived in different parts of the USA to make you an expert of all 50 States?

I can’t speak to your experience and you to mine.

Highlight where I have put false or misleading information about the USA.

Again I will repeat you can’t speak to my experiences and the reality I know.

If you hate the USA after all these years living here take your ass back to BIM to live and gave us your opinion after you have been there for several years.

I was there up to 3 years ago as a Professional so not much positive would have changed since the island is now in the hands of the IMF.

The grass is always green on the other side.

35. @ Dame Bajans,

It is not funny. The man is either an alcoholic or mentally deranged. Read all his contributions and you will see they are all hostile to contributors who try to have serious discussions on BU. Never a good word.
    Then look at the man: raised in a home in which English (Bajan) was a second language, where Patwa was the language in which he communicated with his maternal family; studied medicine until his late 20s at Bajan taxpayers’ expense and s still ungrateful; worked at a variety of jobs, including polyclinics and teaching in off shore medical schools, all of which he is highly critical of; left Barbados at about age 50 ( I suspect because he had come to the end of his career) and has been in the US for over 16 years; is not licensed to work as a doctor in the US because he arrogantly refuses to submit himself to working as a junior; works when given a pick teaching on offshore nursing courses. People do not migrate in their late middle age unless offered a good job.
    In short, a history of professional failure. This is the period when he should be at the top of his game, passing on his knowledge as a Professor/Consultant to the next generation. Instead he spends all day, every day, on BU, Fox News and watching cricket in far away lands.
    He should have his Barbados passport taken away, he is not Barbadian. Another mistake by Barrow; because he was born in Barbados (allegedly) does not mean he is Barbadian..
    Pity this man and do not treat him as funny. He is sad. He needs treatment.

36. Is there a reason why some of you prefer to inject invective into your comments at the expense of being civil??

37. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE ASSTINS HILARIOUS MORNING RANT

The man is either an alcoholic or mentally deranged.
    I HAVE NEVER TAKEN ALCOHOL OR DRUGS AND I AM IN FULL CONTROL OF MY MENTAL CAPACITY, THANK GOD

look at the man: ECCE VIR!
    raised in a home in which English (Bajan) was a second language, where Patwa was the language in which he communicated with his maternal family;
    WHEREAS THAT IS NOT TRUE, WOULD IT BE SINFUL IF IT WAS?
    WOULD THAT HAVE BEEN CONTRARY TO THE LAWS OF GOD OR OF THE NATION?

studied medicine until his late 20s at Bajan taxpayers’ expense and s still ungrateful;
    VERY TRUE I WAS A SECOND AND DESERVING AND INDEED GRATEFUL

worked at a variety of jobs, including polyclinics TRUE

teaching in off shore medical schools, all of which he is highly critical of; YES INDEED. HAVING BEEN TRAINED WELL AT UWI I FOUND off shore medical schools LACKING

left Barbados at about age 50 ( I suspect because he had come to the end of his career) and has been in the US for over 16 years; is not licensed to work as a doctor in the US because he arrogantly refuses to submit himself to working as a junior; works when given a pick teaching on offshore nursing courses.
    YOU SEEM TO HAVE MORE PROBLEMS WITH THESE THINGS THAN MY WIFE OR CHILDREN OR DEAR DOMINICAN PATOIS SPEAKING MOTHER

People do not migrate in their late middle age unless offered a good job.
    PEOPLE MIGRATE FOR MANY OTHER REASONS

In short, a history of professional failure. This is the period when he should be at the top of his game, passing on his knowledge as a Professor/Consultant to the next generation.

SO VERY VERY TRUE ASSTIN I AM A FAILURE BECAUSE I FAILED THE LORD!
    BUT THE LORD HAS TAUGHT ME TO RUN WITH PATIENCE THE RACE THAT IS RUN BEFORE ME AS TAUGHT IN HEBREWS 12

HE HAS TAUGHT ME TO LOOK UNTO JESUS THE AUTHOR AND FINISHER OF MY FAITH

HE HAS TAUGHT ME ALSO TO “consider him that endured such contradiction of sinners against himself”

HE HAS TAUGHT ME ALSO TO 4 Rejoice in the Lord always
    AND TO Let your moderation be known unto all men. The Lord is at hand.
    AND TO Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

DO YOU HAVE THE peace of God, which passeth all understanding ASSTIN?

Instead he spends all day, every day, on BU, Fox News and watching cricket in far away lands.
    YES INDEED ASSTIN

watching cricket in far away lands IS MOST ENJOYABLE AND NOT AT ALL SINFUL ASSTIN NOR IS WATCHING FOX AT NIGHT
    I LOVE CRICKET. AND WHILE WATCHING I DO A FEW THINGS LIKE EXPLAINING THE CONCEPT OF DYSPLASIA ON BU, AND ALSO ENTERTAINING MYSELF IMMENSELY AS A BU BRIMBLER, BARKER AND BRAYER LOL

I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO WATCHING THE UPCOMING CRICKET WORLD CUP IN THE UK

He should have his Barbados passport taken away,
    MR ASSTIN SIR, PLEASE KINDLY LET ME KNOW WHERE I SHOULD TURN IT IN AND I WILL COMPLY

he is not Barbadian. REALLY
    because he was born in Barbados (allegedly) does not mean he is Barbadian.
    WE HAVE HAD FOLK DEFINITELY NOT BORN IN BARBADOS AT ALL WHO ASSUMED HIGH OFFICE, UH LIE?

Pity this man and do not treat him as funny.
    ACTUALLY I AM VERY FUNNY EVERY BODY WHO KNOWS ME KNOW THAT

He is sad. He needs treatment. INDEED MY TREATMENT IS FOUND IN HEBREWS 12 & PHILLIPIANS 4 AND OTHER SCRIPTURES LIKE 1 THESSALONIANS 4:14-18 AND PSALM 23:6.

YOU MUST TRY THIS THERAPY ASSTIN FOR IT IS VERY SATISFYING

38. @GP et al

Why must we personalize the comments? Where is the value in it? We are all thought to be intelligent people, we not concentrate on being thought leaders on the blog?

Just asking.

39. This is all highly unnecessary but the dame is right. It is somehow very funny.

40. Georgie Porgie Avatar

dAVID

IF YOU READ MY RESPONSE TO ASSTIN’S RANT YOU WILL SEE SOME VERY POWERFUL THOUGHTS FROM HEBREWS 12 & PHILIPPIANS 4 THAT HAVE IMPACTED MY LIFE TREMENDOUSLY

SEE IT AGAIN

I AM A FAILURE BECAUSE I FAILED THE LORD!

BUT THE LORD HAS TAUGHT ME TO RUN WITH PATIENCE THE RACE THAT IS SET BEFORE ME AS TAUGHT IN HEBREWS 12

HE HAS TAUGHT ME TO LOOK UNTO JESUS THE AUTHOR AND FINISHER OF MY FAITH

HE HAS TAUGHT ME ALSO TO “consider him that endured such contradiction of sinners against himself”

HE HAS TAUGHT ME ALSO TO 4 Rejoice in the Lord always
    AND TO Let your moderation be known unto all men. The Lord is at hand.
    AND TO Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

41. Hal why do you waste your time answering these jealous minded nitpickers
    Leave those who doesnt like your comments to their own imposed maniac oversized ego
    Sooner or later it bound to explode
    Please continue with your comments there are those who appreciate them

42. @GP

You will see from the blogmaster lead who takes a lot of abuse on this blog that 90% of the time comments are ignored.

43. @Mariposa,

Thank you Mariposa. I am a kind and compassionate person, but you must never let bullies win.

44. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Hal Austin

HAL.

I am disappointed with you.

If you are unable to “see” who is who and what is what then we are truly lost.

I am of the unsubstantiated opinion that something happened that caused a variance with BU’s BORG but whatever it was you, a son of the soil continue to forge on here

NOT BECAUSE YOU CANNOT DO BETTER BUT BECAUSE, LIKE SOME OF US, YOU BELIEVE THAT IT IS THE RIGHT THING TO DO.

And why, at any age, should skilled men and women not take their Georgie Bundle and move on?

Why live in the absolute stress of inferior superiors ALL THE REST OF YOUR LIFE, when you can dust off your shoes ALL LEAVE THE FVCKERS?

An act which while virtual YOU HAVE ALSO DO, FOR REASONS YOU, NOR THE BLOGMASTER, WILL SHARE WITH US.

And this is your prerogative to do what you want to do.

To maintain sanity AND REFUSE TO SPEND THE LITTLE TIME YOU HAVE REMAINING AMONG THOSE SHEEPLE WHO ARE VEXATIONS TO THE SPIRIT.

THE ENEMY THAT IS BEING FOUGHT HERE, is a faceless one, and does not care about us individual people.

She, in this case it has taken the form of a female, because it can do so, she wishes one thing, to destroy us through its evil machinations

Therefore while your tools are to try to engage with her agents in debate about policy, a quest which you rarely ever are able to succeed in, there are other fighters here, who, while we are technically on the same team, have other styles of engagement.

Step back a little and try to understand that while your scholarly discourse may have its place among scholars, Barbados IS NOT A THINK TANK COMPOSED OF THE ACADEMICALLY ADEPT.

And consequently the tools to bring out the very best requires something different.

Watch and learn.

45. There are so many issues being laid out all having to do with the barbados economy and how they will effect the barbados worker and their households in the future
    Yet here on BU a so called intellectual class prefer to fight among themselves like children in a sand box
    A look at today’s news an IMF official sends a message to govt stating more must be done in order for govt to meet the required IMF targets
    Harsh but a reality which would include more bitter medicine for workers and households
    In the meanwhile govt has no growth plan
    In meanwhile PM goes begging once again
    In meanwhile govt once again brings a plan hoisted on a Big Mout extravaganza of smoke and mirrors Called Stay the Course to fool the people
    Peeps barbados is in deeper doo and yet here on BU the socalled intellectual fights amongst themselves
    Is this what free education brought us.

46. Georgie Porgie Avatar

david
    re You will see from the blogmaster lead who takes a lot of abuse on this blog that 90% of the time comments are ignored.
    BUT I LIKE TO BEAT BAD ERRATIC BOWLING LIKE THAT IN ASSTIN’S MORNING RANT
    I JUST LAUGH AND BEAT THAT LOLIPOP BOWLING OUT DE PARK

PIECE
    ASSTIN IS NO SCHOLAR AND HE CERTAINLY DOES NOT ENGAGE IN scholarly discourse NOR IS HE ACADEMICALLY ADEPT.. HE IS A LONG HOP BOWLER

HE IS A kind and compassionate person, WHO LIKES TO DERIDE BAJANS OF MIXED PARENTAGE

47. An International Monetary Fund (IMF) official is warning that Barbados’ ambitious target of a fiscal surplus of six per cent of gross domestic product (GDP) at the end of the current financial year will not be an easy goal to achieve.

In fact, Assistant Director in the Fiscal Affairs Department of the IMF Cathy Pattillo said while the Mia Mottley-led Government has been implementing important measures to achieve this, it must be prepared to take even more steps if needed.

“The overarching objective of the Barbados programme is obviously to restore debt sustainability and in our view, the proposed adjustment mix, which includes upfront fiscal consolidation, meaningful debt reduction, including a hurricane clause and structural reforms to boost growth, is appropriate,” Pattillo told Barbados TODAY on the sidelines of the IMF/World Bank Spring Meetings in Washington on Wednesday.

“Now, the budget for 2019/2020 does provide a solid basis for reaching the targeted primary surplus, but the Government will need to stand ready to take additional measures if needed,” she warned.

48. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster may I borrow your 8:27 to opine on one of your favorite screeds re education of yesteryear and comparing today’s youthful/social behaviour negatively with that of the generation of the key actors here!

In short, the words and unnecessarily ego driven personal assaults and often harsh language of these actors reflects a sad truth of many of our nation: they were vexed and chomping at the bit to impose their will (as leaders) often pompesetting (hypocritically it seems) with all manners and graces assumed of the humble.

Reading these types of broadsides daily claerly reflects the similar sense of self serving, arrogant behaviour of our elected officials, govt and corporate execs which several of them adapted to corruptly enrich themselves.

We condemn our youth but WE behave like this … yes a gun shot is deadly, but aren’t these wild shots of words just as reflective of a similar vicious demeanor.

I note to you again senor this site for all it’s awesome revelations of malfeasance is a most excellent study of our “false-pretensive” Bajan ethos of ‘niceness’!

Screed done…😎

Incidentally why do we perceive that ANYTHING written here or ANYWHERE should be accepted as gospel UNLESS validated from other INDEPENDENT sources!

If someone says that a SSN is needed or not needed then good heavens validate the claim… On a daily basis folks make preposterous claims here… And you ACCEPT BS at your own peril…VALIDATE if you need to!

I gone do!

49. @ Mariposa,

The government, with an army of economic consultants and emissaries, still cannot tell us the economic theories underpinning their monetary and fiscal policy. We have to play catch up.
    All we know is that as a matter of urgency the government defaulted on all its debt obligations This has still not been fully explained. I have sympathy with defaulting on the dollar-denominated debt, t was a tad short of theft, but why default on domestic retail bond obligations? That still has not been explained either.
    Why sign a contract with White Oaks in US dollars under the law of England and Wales? This too has not been explained. This government is mixing and matching, gambling with the future of the nation. There are some rather interesting new financial economic theories emerging. Let us discuss them or say why we reject them.
    in the meantime, the IMF tells us the global economy is slowing down. Is Barbados part of the world? Where is our growth going to come from?

50. @Donna:

I beg you please, Dame with a CAPITAL D. I decided if Mia Amor Mottley can give she fada a ‘Sir” just months after election, I, who paid all my land taxes on time, paid taxes on the few coppers in the Bajan bank dey, can make meself a DAME. I never get no absolution from nuh body. Me not smart like you so uuh hope uh use da big word absolution correctly.