The United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) was formed in 1964 to help developing countries access the benefits of a globalized economy more fairly and effectively. Approximately 30 years later (1995), the World Trade Organisation (WTO) was established to: (i) set rules for and regulate global trade and (ii) help developing countries improve their capacity to trade.

Ten years later in 2005, UNCTAD held a 3-day Expert Meeting on ‘Trade and Development Aspects of Professional Services and Regulatory Frameworks’ in Geneva. Barbados had two representatives at that meeting – one represented the Government and I represented the private sector. At the close of the meeting, Barbados received a special commendation for our contributions.

BEING PREPARED.

Our contributions to the meeting were due to our unique preparedness. In 2002, I was the Chairman of the Barbados Professional Services Export Committee, where about 25 national professional organisations tried trading in Canada, the USA and Mexico to identify the actual barriers to trade. On paper, those countries claimed they had no barriers, but in practice, several of their barriers made it impossible for us to trade in their countries. This exercise was done in preparation for the Free-Trade Area of the Americas (FTAA) trade agreement which Barbados was expected to sign.

The result was a study worth $500,000 of our time (but freely donated) identifying: (i) the actual barriers to trade in those countries, (ii) the steps that each professional body needed to take for their members to be internationally competitive, and (iii) the recommended immediate, short and medium-term actions the Government needed to take to facilitate the export of Barbadian professional services in those countries.

THE BARBADOS FRAMEWORK.

For the next two years as President of the newly formed Barbados Coalition of Service Industries, we encouraged and supported all Barbadian stakeholders to become internationally competitive. By 2004, Barbados had perhaps the most comprehensive framework for negotiating trade agreements with other countries and were well prepared to meaningfully contribute to UNCTAD’s Expert Meeting.

The FTAA negotiations failed in 2005 because they could not reach agreement. If unfair trade barriers are allowed to remain, no deal is a lot better than a bad deal. Coincidently, the European Partnership Agreement was being negotiated in 2005. However, rather than use the proven Barbados framework, the Government chose perhaps the worst possible option for negotiating a trade agreement and generally ignored the recommendations of the Export Committee.

Twenty years later, in his maiden speech in the senate on 18 March 2025, the new Minister of Innovation, Science and Technology, Jonathan Reid, reportedly wants to make the Government internationally competitive – confirming that we essentially squandered the past 20 years.

FAIR AND UNFAIR TRADE.

Evidence of people trading is described in the earliest known writings in Sumer (4,000 BC) where quantities and costs of different materials and services were described. For thousands of years, fair trade between nations was the aim. That changed around 1,400 AD with the ‘European Age of Discovery’, where Europeans traded garbage for treasure in Africa, South Asia, the Caribbean and the Americas.

The treasure was gold, crafts and people. The garbage was the shells of sea snails. Europeans were able to exploit the ignorance of leaders of their ‘Discovered’ nations as they flooded the market with these shells in this unfair trade. When a neighbouring leader raised objections, the Europeans tended to destabilise relationships between those leaders by trading guns and garbage for treasure. The Europeans then colonised those weakened countries.

PROTECTING WEAKER ECONOMIES.

When European colonies became independent after World War 2, they were allowed to sell their products in the former coloniser’s country at higher-than-normal costs. This allowed them some certainty of foreign-currency income as they learnt to trade internationally. To protect weaker local companies from competing with stronger foreign companies, the WTO temporarily allowed developing countries to: (i) prevent and limit the access of foreign companies in the local market and (ii) add tariffs or taxes on foreign goods so that they were more expensive than the local products.

Strong foreign companies in developed countries want to access markets in less developed countries, since that is where many new opportunities exist. Such opportunities include: (i) building new infrastructure (air and sea ports, hospitals, sky-scrapers, road and utility networks, etc), (ii) extracting natural resources (metals, minerals, oil, gas, etc), (iii) competing with weaker companies, and (iv) finding additional consumers for their products.

TIME TO PREPARE.

The World Trade Organisation’s rules allow developing countries time to become internationally competitive. Barbados signed the European Partnership Agreement in 2008 – despite my dire warnings that it was an extremely unfair trade agreement. Essentially, we gave away our entire local market for ‘trinkets’ and allowed Europe to keep us out of their most lucrative markets with impossible trade barriers. Entertainers willing to sing for their supper were let in, but services that could feed many for years were cleverly kept out. To comply with the WTO’s rules, the EPA gave us 25 years to prepare – before we awaken to the nightmare.

We have squandered so much of this time that European Union representatives publicly and repeatedly expressed alarm at how little we have achieved. It seems that they want it on public-record that our non-preparation is entirely our fault – and it is. The Europeans seem to have used the same playbook they used during their Age of Discovery – only negotiate with leaders who shamelessly marvel at, and are distracted by their ‘trinkets’.

When the Europeans, US and Canada negotiate trade agreements, their negotiators are supported by their private sector on whose behalf the trade agreement is being negotiated. When we negotiate unfair trade agreements, we seem to treat our non-political private sector with disdain. When our negotiators appear at negotiation meetings without the critical private sector support, the foreign negotiators likely find it difficult to contain their good fortune.

TIME IS UP.

US President Trump has essentially decided that the preparation time given to developing countries is up. We were allowed decades to become internationally competitive and must now remove our ‘training wheels’ and demonstrate that we can ride in the global trading system.

Those countries who used the generous preparation time to make their governments and private sectors internationally competitive will likely do well. Those who politicised their public services by promoting people on party affiliation rather than merit, and who harmed their private sector by awarding corrupting no-bid contracts to party supporters, will likely struggle to keep up.

Grenville Phillips II is a Doctor of Engineering and a Chartered Structural Engineer. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

14 responses to “Keeping Up With Trump”

1. “No ease outside, you have to find it inside
    No groove pon no string that dun bust pon yuh harp
    What’s the closest feeling of experiencing heights?
    Purest interaction, you can nostalgia-lize
    Something pass along with the love and the thought-

Dem kinda heights
    Dem kinda rights

They send dem, dressed in resplendent garment
    What is the word that they send dem to tell?
    Never want fi honour how Jahovia inna Moses
    Same human nature that is erratic of content
    Say is not your awestruck when di ages groove dem
    Inna di follow chapter out, di Lion overcome dem
    When quantum physics take pop culture and reset dem
    Riding on di gadgets weh ah access every movement
    LYRICS WEH INNA DI YOUTH DEM MIND, NOW IS A DOCUMENT
    Oversaw di whole earth ah drop it now – commandment”

2. Walter Rodney, of Guyana rote a Brilliant Doctoral Theseis; How Europe Undeveloped Africa. I invite all to read this document. I also draw attention of all “conscious” Black People to read and study The Berkin Treaty of 1871, And the earlier Treaty of 1837 which allowed European governments to carve up and divide Africa among themselves, governed the rules and activities of eternal trade, assumed control of all the valuable minerals of Africa and destined the African content to be the fruit of the continents’ natural resources. Now that African leaders are demanding their rights these former colonists are demanding reciprocity. Let them all guzzle in their own troughs.

3. “Barbados is moving closer to establishing a long-discussed heart failure service at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH)as the country grapples with what Head of Cardiology Dr Dawn Scantlebury has described as an epidemic of the condition.”

4. Well when the ISO suite of management systems is available basically free to use but we instead decide we want our own home grown standards and run around creating useless government entities like NISE, Productivity council, Accreditation council (I exclude BNSI because they actually do produce important work) this is the result.
    The ISO suite is basically a blueprint for how to be internationally competitive but we decided to reinvent the square.
    Entitlement on its own is bad, incompetence on its own is bad, but when you put the two together you get a special brand of stupidity. The kind that want to reform education but can’t decide on a grooming policy. The kind that have school infrastructure crumbling but think a facelift competition is a brilliant idea. The kind that think building a science centre will lead to innovation but the BCC and SJPI are grossly underfunded.

5. Well, it’s only three quarters a bullshit load this week.

I agree that we could and should have done better. I maintain, unlike Pachamama, that despite the rigged systems, we have neglected to do what we can do to improve our lot somewhat. However, we are not especially deficient. In reality, this little dot would need to be several times better than the former colonisers to achieve half of the success. And look at the condition they are in, with all the free labour they extracted from us and the natural resources they looted from our African family!

Unfortunately, again we see on which side this Grenville always falls! In his mind, the former colonisers and the USA have been most benevolent to us and we have squandered it!

And therein lies the bullshit! He knows NOTHING of the international system that has been set up for the White White West to grab the international loaf, while dropping the crumbs for us!

And now it should be clear that he argued against the republic, not just because of process! In Grenville’s mind, the white man has been very good to us! And Nelson is, in fact, our hero!

I am no Mia lover, but imagine Grenville grovelling on the international stage, thanking the white man for all he has done for us.

I would rather live in a shack made from palm leaves. But thankfully, we aren’t there yet.

I learnt a new term yesterday. It is “sambo soldier”. Seems highly appropriate here.

Good grief!

6. Donna:

As always, these accusations of yours are always false – which you already know, but which your malice will not prevent you from making regardless of the number of times you are corrected. Wise up.

1. Singapore started behind us and chose to professionalise their public service and address corruption. We did neither – even after seeing that it was possible. Also, Singapore are not reaping crumbs.

2. Twenty-five years is adequate time to promote persons in the public service on merit and stop the corrupting no-bid contracts. Actually, both of those things can be done within one year.

3. On the Republic, I wrote three recent articles on how Barbados became a Republic – since I had a ring side seat. You already know that I am in favour of Barbados being a Republic – but not in an end-justifies-the-dishonest-means way. However, you simply cannot help your self. Why not ask God to help rid you of your hatred?

7. Malice towards someone I have never met?? It is damned hard for me to sustain malice towards those I have met and who have done me personal harm!

But see, those who do me harm do damage to one person. Your sambo soldiering can do much more damage to many more people.

Hatred of people is not natural to me, but anger is, when I see stupid being given a national platform. You annoy me because somehow in this day and age when we are seeking to heal our minds from the evil of white supremacy, you seek to whitewash history, even recent history, with your simpering honkey love. Perhaps you are the one who is lying to yourself. I am not the only one who can see where you are coming from.

Cyah yuh preachy ass to people who are stupid enough to fall for your bullshit. I know which God I am serving and it’s not the same one you serve. My God HATES injustice, and so do I!

8. Grenville self indulgently overthinks with the front of his brain and should use the back of his subconscious brain instead. Mia addresses the collective trauma of Barbados and Caribbean from the past and turns it into a source of strength similar to the African American struggle. BU is social media for oldies, school children bully each other on different platforms with emojis which can turn into gang warfare / stabbings and shootings.

Inspiration, Dub Inspiration

9. Donna:

You responded as expected – you just cannot help yourself.

10. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

ANYONE WHO TRIES 2 KEEP UP WITH TRUMP* NEEDS 2 GET A LIFE OR HAVE THEIR HEADS EXAMINED & CLEARLY THE WHOLE WORLD SOMEHOW BELIEVES THAT HE HAS THE LEVERS 2 CONTROL IF THEY EAT, DRINK, BUY & LIVE

#WhoHasFooledYou_OGalatians

Trump is an ‘ole man waiting at the #GatesOfHELL* for “IBLIS” 2 drag him in – putting it in the most #HollwoodesqueManner construed with a #WordPicture!!!

MEN ARE NOT #gods – NOT EVEN WITH A SMALL #g – THEY ARE WEAK, FLACCID, ANAEMIC MORTALS WHO AS SCRIPTURE OPINES IS LIKE THE GRASS IN THE FIELD – HERE TODAY; DRIED UP TOMORROW (SOMETIMES EVEN TODAY)

Rulers have come & go – “DISAPPEARED” like a puff of smoke in a high wind!!!

Nations have risen & “FALLEN” – like the impregnable walls of “JERICHO” that were 64ft deep in girth yet “FRACTURED, FELL & FLAKED OUT” like “WAFERS” at the “BLOWING OF THE TRUMPETS” & the “TOUCH” of the “ANGEL ARMIES OF HEAVEN”!!!

Nothing is “PERMANENT” – not even “DEATH” (no matter how long one lumbers & slumbers in the land of the dead)!!!

HUMAN WORSHIP; HUMAN FEARS ARE FRAGILE CORDS OF SAND USED BY MEN 2 HOGTIE OTHER MEN 2 FIND THAT TOO IS FLEETING

Things are about 2 occur in 2025 that will be outside of the realm of DJT’s et al control – as men will finally realize that they are #JustDUST* (some not even #GoodDIRT*) when the “SIGNS & WONDERS” in the “SUN”, “MOON”, “STARS” & on the earth (DIS)STRESS brings a level of foreboding that will be unexplainable to human faculties!!!

#Time2WageWar against the “MADNESS” & put these “SO-CALLED LEADERS” in the “BOX” they came out of or according to #UnholyWEIRD* (THE GENIE BACK IN THE BOTTLE)!!!

11. Terence Blackett
    April 17, 2025 at 4:07 am

Well said, men are certainly not gods and little egoists like Chump and Putty will be only remembered as fools who tried to lord their will over others.

However long they live, what they leave will be blown away by the wind as if it never existed.

Crazy that some seem to think that they can rule existence itself.

12. William Skinner Avatar

Interesting how the “ white man” continues to divide us. We Bajans have never felt comfortable saying anything about the white race and or racism.
    However, we need to get a real Cooperative Republic going before it’s too late. The quickest way to regain that community force is to advance toward a Democratic Socialist Cooperative Republic, similar to the one envisaged by Forbes Burnham that unfortunately fell apart.
    This certainly should be where our vision should be. But, realistically , neither Mottley and the Broken Labour Party nor Thorne and the Dysfunctional Labour Party , has the ability or vision to attempt such a task.
    Like it or lump it, we are politically barren.

13. Happy Easter to all, especially to our great government team!

It’s good to know that we are not ruled by a radical populist on the island, but by a liberal, enlightened leader from among the people.

Nor do we have an idiotic constitutional rule that forbids a third or fourth term in office. Goddess Bim alone decides how long her High Priestess protects us.

If America had a unity party without separation of powers like we do, they wouldn’t be in this mess.

Tron
    year 8 SL

14. @William

We can agree the model is broken in many pieces and we are clueless how to fix it.