Edmund Hinkson Picture
Minister Edmund Hinkson

In recent weeks Barbadians have been greeted with the good news our credit rating for local debt was upgraded by two credit rating agencies S&P and CariCRIS.

In recent weeks Barbadians have been greeted with the bad news that violent and gun crime appear to be on the increase.

The question we must answer is whether the solutions to our problems are to be found with our political masters only. The blogmaster shouts NO!

We have the political games being played depending on which side of the fence one sits that credit rating agencies are deemed to be important. There is sufficient evidence to show that not having an investment grade rating does more harm than good as it affects financial decision-making. The previous government was heavily criticized because of the unprecedented number of downgrades Barbados notched during its tenure.  The expectation is that when the foreign debt restructure is completed inyternational credit rating agencies will respond favourably as well. It is important to achieve an investment grade for the financial and intangible benefits it lends to any country.

However one spins it, an inching upwards of the credit rating is good news for a country  gripped in the throes of economic fatigue for more than a decade.

The good news about the northward movement of the credit rating has been tempered by the public perception that crime is on the increase. In recent weeks there has been a spate of gun crime linked to drug activity and a lawlessness element. Some will say to ignore the lawless while they shoot at each other. However commonsense supports the view that a country must maintain law and order to accrue obvious benefits.

dale_marshall
Attorney General Dale Marshall

The rising crime activity has seen minister Edmund Hinkson being demoted with responsibility for the Royal Barbados Police Force, Forensic Services Centre, Criminal Justice Research Unit and the Police Complaints Authority reassigned to Attorney General Dale Marshall. Hinkson’s diminished portfolio he has responsibilty for the Barbados Fire Service, Immigration, Post Office, Government Industrial School, National Council on Substance Abuse and the Prison Service – creates the opportunity to resign from the Cabinet in the coming weeks. It signals to others in the large Cabinet that the prime minister will jettison non performers soon once the ‘opportunity’ appears on the political radar.

The reassignment is an admission by government that it has to improve in the area of law enforcement and delivering justice. Our slothful court system has been a bane for both political parties in government. Coincidentally, the Attorney General has responsibility for Barbados Courts, he now has responsibility for the Police and support units. What should be obvious is that an incrementalist approach has been shown not to be effective over the years.

The blogmaster has been critical of the large Cabinet appointed by the Prime Minister. Her defence of the large Cabinet will not resonate in a climate where workers are being retrenched from the Public and Private sectors.  It does not matter how hard the prime minister and Cabinet are working, commanding the support of the public requires she adopts leadership positions which co-opt the support of the public.

The blogmaster was also critical of the prime minister when videos surfaced on social media during the last political campaign with her ‘styling’ with certain actors. It is important our leaders appreciate the importance of leading by public example.

A word to the wise should be enough!

708 responses to “Crime and Credit Ratings”

1. David,

It does not have to be long. Just clear.

2. What is not clear for you?

3. Not for me, David. I understand your manner of speaking. I can fill in the blanks. We are not all good at comprehension.

You want us to go higher. It will take time and effort to lift us up.

4. I noticed that the blogmaster is drawing some criticisms from a select few,

They are those who believe that he should be the fount of all knowledge
    They are those who believe he does not know what he is talking about
    They are those who feel he shouldn’t state a personal opinion
    Those who criticize him if his opini4on seem to lean towards one side and is full of applause if it leans to the other side

A next BU issue where I don’t have much of an opinion
    ]”Unhappy is the head that wears the crown”

5. I am not criticising David. I just think he is not coming across as he means to. His motives are thus being misconstrued. He shouldn’t make it so easy.

6. Artax

So the newest thing is that I lost my pick as a DLP Consultant ?

Wuh de #& – I guess I must check my bank account because somebody must have been siphoning my money off my bank account.

See how quick you were to jump in with your talking points – and then you get upset when you are labelled BLP stool pigeon .

There are about 3 possibly 4 persons on this site who clearly understand the argument I have been making and the warning signals I have been pointing to – you are obviously not one of them.

I am not perturbed because rational thinking persons who read these blogs can pick sense from nonsense.

A lot – though not all – of what I see posted here – I put down to Piffle.

Some persons genuinely want to see better – but it seems for this site and for most who populate it- especially the BLP operatives sent on a mission – there can only be one modus operandi.

1) You highlight all the negatives of the last government – you better these arguments until there is no life left in them.

2) Then you point to the so – called “wonderful things and achievements” of this Mottley government – like straight off the bat talking about the applause (lol) from CARICOM govts as once more we are seen with respect;

Or about wonderfully the ‘Dear Leader’ is communicating with her subjects – even though it is a set of rambling nonsense she speaks and no clear policy directions are given on the key areas.

3) If the actions of the “Dear Leader” is so egregious that it would prove too embarrassing and humiliating to you – well then you keep silent or you attack persons who criticize as being DLP Yardfowls being partisans.

C’est la Vie in this place !

7. you bash these arguments -* not better

8. Mr. Inniss

As I mentioned in my previous contribution, you have a penchant for misrepresenting the facts and presenting untruths.

YOU ARE A LIAR!!!

You are attributing statements to me which I have NEVER made in any contribution to BU.

I have NEVER submitted any contribution to BU in which I mentioned anything about:

………“pointing to the so – called “wonderful things and achievements” of this Mottley government – like straight off the bat talking about the applause (lol) from CARICOM govts as once more we are seen with respect;

………..Or about wonderfully the ‘Dear Leader’ is communicating with her subjects – even though it is a set of rambling nonsense she speaks and no clear policy directions are given on the key areas.

……..If the actions of the “Dear Leader” is so egregious that it would prove too embarrassing and humiliating to you – well then you keep silent or you attack persons who criticize as being DLP Yardfowls being partisans.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++

Furthermore, I’m CHALLENGING you to present any of my contributions in which definitive statements were written that could be reasonably interpreted or identified as representing your above comments.

9. Artax

In your haste to jump in with a response – you acted like a pure bred nincompoop.

Please re-read the post especially the line #11 – starting with the word “some persons ……..

then see in that sentence – but it seems for this site and for most who populate it ………

Nevertheless I can understand why you felt it was being directed at you as the words that follow then says ….. especially the BLP Operatives sent on a mission ……..

Poor You – I have tried my best within recent times to be civil in my response to you – but ah well smh – sigh .It is what it is – I suppose.

The Red shirt syndrome will ‘out’ no matter how hard it is suppressed.

10. Yesterday Saturday’s Sun carried a very small report on the raw sewage flowing on the street in Worthing next to First Caribbean Bank

Is this true? Say it aint so, I thought this was all under control with all the announcements and mutual backslapping.

Merde

11. I think there MUST BE A REMEDIAL COURSE OFFERED BY UWI – IN READING AND COMPREHENSION FOR ADULTS.

Perhaps this might be a contributing factor to some of the violence out there.People read words or hear words but cannot fully comprehend the meaning of what is being said.

12. Sargeant

Page 4 at the bottom of the page – Saturday Sun dated 26th January 2019.

I quote :

” Passers by reported seeing sewage on the street after 5 p.m.That situation was rectified that same evening,BUT THE STENCH LINGERED IN THE AIR.

13. T. Inniss

Plse do not knock the red shirts. A relative of mine just gave me a Red T shirt. Got to get it framed.

14. Hal

Lol.Good for you.

It is not so much the shirt but the syndrome that is caused by what the shirt is supposed to represent.lol

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ T.Inniss January 27, 2019 12:08 PM
    “I am not perturbed because rational thinking persons who read these blogs can pick sense from nonsense.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

And it precisely why those “rational thinking persons who read these blogs” would tend to ‘side with’ Artax before the hypocritical Johnny-come-lately called T. Inniss who (being the liar and hypocrite that he is) never made a contribution to BU prior 24th May.

Artax has been consistent in his principled position based on well- researched facts and verifiable information.

Case in point: you found it partisan politically useful to mention the appointment of ex Commisioner Dottin as a “consultant” – whether paid or unpaid- to the lend his experience and expertise in the futile fight against the current spate of gang violence over the control of the illegal drug trade but failed, purposely and politically conveniently, to mention the role another ex-Commissioner, Orville Durant, has been asked to play.

Why can’t you just be like Mariposa formerly “ac” aka “Dye-in-the wool DLP yard-fowl Angela skeete” and confess you are just another sorry-ass DLP backer who ought to be totally pissed off with the 30-0 drubbing meted out by the electorate?

You ought to be blaming the electorate -especially the people of St. John who like R.I.P Van Winkle have finally awaken from over 20 years of political torpor- for putting the BLP back in power after (according to Mariposa) 14 long years of maladministration, economic mismanagement and blatant corruption which led to Barbados becoming a “failed state” today.

The corrupt and inept BLP had to wait 10 years in the wilderness of opposition to reincarnate its old evil self.

We don’t think your DLP would have to wait that long to have as its epitaph “R.I.P. Barrow ‘Labouring’ Party”.

Yours truly,
    Miller another BLP yard-duck.

16. One BLP yard duck Miller agreeing with another BLP Yard duck Artax.

What’s new.

Quack,Quack.

Wunna too love BU pre 24th May – when there were no dissenting voices – but all singing from the same hymn from the same hymn book – and that song was – “How horrible the last government is – and what a breath of fresh air and what wondeful change the new Mottley govt would be”

That Mottley breath of fresh air now smelling like that scent of raw sewage by CIBC Worthing

And the voices in the choir sounding horribly off key lol

How wunna would long for the good ole days on BU before 24th May – when in here was like an echo chamber – and the Mutual Admiration society was wukking. ha ha

And here was I thinking that variety (of opinions) was the spice of life.Well,well

17. T. Inniss,

You do remember what I said to you months ago. Your manner does come across as partisan no matter how much you protest. I remember yuh cuss me but nuh hard feelings. lol.

I say to you as I said to David – if you are not partisan you are not being clear about it. On this blog I have been called partisan by Mariposa (who at least had the good sense to recognise her mistake long before the election), Lorenzo and Bane of Common Sense only. Fractured BLP used to cuss me but never called me a yard fowl to my recollection. Most people just refute my submissions if they see them as faulty. Those who are not partisan themselves recognize that I have had enough of the DLP and am wary of this incarnation of the BLP. As well I should be. They did not just drop down from heaven and many of them bear the stains of their last term in office.

Once bitten….. twice shy.

Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me.

So like you I note the hypocrisy. I do it with increasing suspicion. But I do it with the track record of having posted before May 24th. That is something you don’t have and cannot fix.

So for you It is a matter of how you present your facts. What you say and what you neglect to say. If you acknowledge when you stand corrected that lends credence to your profile. If you are not partisan you should want that.

Artax,

In correcting T. Inniss and Mariposa all the time without acknowledging when they are in no need of correction you too will appear partisan.

I know what you are doing but it will leave room for labelling. I find your facts too valuable and would hate to see your contribution trapped in that political box. Others NEED to trust your facts. You are one of the few who always have them at their fingertips. Very impressive. Very powerful. Too valuable to be brought into disrepute

My apologies for preaching. I truly mean no offence. Just trying to help. Your opinion on my submissions is welcome because we know what we wish to say but we don’t always succeed in saying it.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ T.Inniss January 27, 2019 2:28 PM
    “Wunna too love BU pre 24th May – when there were no dissenting voices – but all singing from the same hymn from the same hymn book – and that song was – “How horrible the last government is – and what a breath of fresh air and what wondeful change the new Mottley govt would be”…”

You clearly lack an appreciation of the use of sarcasm, don’t you, T.I., the consummate hypocrite?

Since you were following BU why didn’t you chime in as the lone dissenting voice like the mock the pokey ac or “Fractured BLP” or “NationNewspaperBLP” or the “Bajanfuhlife” aka “waiting” now posing as “Donks Gripe” or more appropriately Bajan Sour Grapes called Gooseberries?

Or were you hiding behind another non de plume called ‘Anonymous(e)’ in the anti-MAM brigade much maligned by your new-found pal Hal Austin?

We think you should be cussing the Master “Piece uh de rock” for working obeah on you guys.
    Remember his prediction since 2016? “Not one effing seat” for you purebred incompetent mules!

Why not ask the other soothsayer Bush Tea who ‘read up’ the DLP Devil by placing his pitchfork on the Garrison?

19. By the way, where is my cup of Bush Tea? I’m having to watch Trevor Noah for my daily dose of laughter! Bout here getting too depressing. I find myself missing GP mocking in the rumshop!

20. Donna My Friend.

My purpose on this blog as I said earlier is neither to defend the last government nor to speak on their behalf.

And whether persons accept that or not they can kiss my green, green gr -ass lol.

I believe that God in his sovereign wisdom allowed us to see certain pointers before and immediately after the Mottley ascension to power – to indicate to us what can lie in store.

I came on here early after the election pointing out the dangers of that 30 -0 win with a bought and paid media toadies.

I also felt it was necessary to point out the open and brazen hypocrisy of many on this blog who remained silent as the double standards were being displayed by the newly elected Mottley and the very things that they criticized before the election as it concerned the last govt – they now have no problems with by Mottley – and they either seek to excuse it or for a few well known on this blogs – they no longer see the need to criticize it.

I have been told over and over again – It is only politics – but double standards again – funny how they were not saying so before 24th May.

No one can say how I felt about all or some of the actions of the last government – so to say anything otherwise is hogwash.

Almost everything I have raised red flags on have been shown to be valid.

Have you ever asked your self why the Blog Moderator single out only Mariposa and Inniss as partisans .

You mean well my dear Donna but save your strength – unlike you I recognise Artax for what he is – and I have more sympathy for his conflicted soul.

I have always been one prepared to swim against the tide and that is why I appreciate Hal Austin and Dr Georgie Porgie so much.

They just don’t give a damn – they will tell it like they see it.The only difference with me is while they respond to all the shyte stirrers – I choose very carefully who or what I would give a response to.

It takes a lot to not join in with the crowd and get the applause like quite a few do here who thinking sucking up to the blog moderator is the better route.

However I will always try my utmost to be civil and respectful to him – although he does not always reciprocate.

He however has his mission and so I end by saying : God help us all in this blessed land.

21. @ T. Inniss

It takes a lot to not join in with the crowd and get the applause like quite a few do here who thinking sucking up to the blog moderator is the better route.(Quote)

The mob in history, dangerous people. The irony is that people who post their opinions under pseudonyms spend all their time trying to uncover who you and Mariposa are. Must be a Bajan thing. Why not compel people to publish under their real names, given they do not bring anything confidential under their bogus names.. It is just a cover to be foul-mouthed and abusive.

22. It will be a sad tale for many who hinge their star on this Mottley led government.

Hal

Keep swimming against the tide my friend.Do your thing – and do it your way.

Haven’t you found it strange that until recently most persons agreed with the postings of the BLP mafia on this site.

But now I have appeared giving another view – its like all hell break loose.Hey,hey looka dis ting.

23. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@Hants January 27, 2019 12:55 AM “I sat back and watched a photo op.where ” they ” talked primarily about guns ,gangs and turf wars but nothing about DRUGS.”

So exactly whom are the CONSUMERS of these drugs?

Who consumes the marijuana?

Who consumes the cocaine?

Is it us?

And if so does it mean that we are culpable in the killings?

What would happen in we did not consume drugs?

24. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster with appropriate edits herein is the everlasting ode to political speak from yardfowls and particularly their political masters:

“In Trump world [Bajan politics] , everybody lies. Everybody doesn’t tell the truth. At the end of the day, they are all lying. I don’t know how Mueller [the public] can believe anybody.”

It’s the perfect response to any investigation… do we believe the PM who says he is fighting for policy holders of a company actually facilitated an illegal multi million$ cheque via his named law firm to the sanctioned CEO of that same company; do we believe the PM who denied knowing about a major business deal or believe that that was his signature on the document letter of intent; or do we believe that a supposed crime fighting PM received alleged drug lords at inauguration events or believe that she hobnobs with alleged drug barons from the ‘hood… who and what can we believe in the midst of all these lies and more lies!

25. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@T.Inniss January 27, 2019 8:47 AM “I am no DLP agent.”

Liar, liar, pants on fire.

26. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@Mariposa January 26, 2019 7:35 AM “Yes miller Charles Herber is foremost in my mind and is an example why our borders need tighter security.”

And how would “tighter security at our borders” have kept a Bajan out of Barbados?

Dear Mariposa: Home is the place where when you go they have to take you in. When Bajans arrive in Barbados Barbados has to take them in. It has to take them in if they have committed murder, rape, stealing, fraud, or all of these. There is no way to keep criminal Bajans out of Barbados.

The DLP didn’t seem to understand this. They seemed to think that they could refuse entry to criminal Bajans. That we could “deport” them to elsewhere. We can’t. We have to keep them. They are own own-own criminal sons and daughters.

Sadly.

27. Are we going to roll into 2023 doing the B thing and the D thing?

It is obvious that given over 50 years of independence, both parties do not have a solution for any of our problems.
    Basically, we are digging ourselves into a deep hole and just selecting the diggers. We need
    Integrity legislation
    FoI/Sunshine laws
    A working court system
    A commission to study how laws are applied to the poor and rich
    An effective internal affairs for the Police department
    Follow up on the auditor general reports

BERT/IMF/upgrades/downgrades are just a pappyshow for some….

28. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@pieceuhderockyeahright January 27, 2019 12:00 AM “Sometimes it is good to sit back and watch.”

No. it is NOT good to sit back and watch our sons and daughters kill each other.

And the people are NOT sheeple.

29. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@T.Inniss January 27, 2019 6:57 AM

10 years in government, and wunna didn’t manage to make any friends in the media?

I wonder why?

30. Did any one read the blp manifesto where it is stated that on becoming govt they will make our streets safer by reducing the number of fire arrms in tge hands of civilian and communities etc.
    Wuh happen

31. T.Inniss ,you come to BU without a pre 2018 memory card, return to George Street .

32. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@Hal Austin January 27, 20194:06 PM “The irony is that people who post their opinions under pseudonyms spend all their time trying to uncover who you and Mariposa are.”

I have no interest in knowing the identities of T.Inniss or Mariposa, or of anybody else on this blog.

In fact i prefer not to know.

33. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

They are DLP partisans, and that is fine. If they were BLP partisans that would also be fine.

People have a right to support a party of their choice.

I support T.Inniss’ right to support the DLP.

I support Mariposa’s right to support the DLP.

Diversity is the spice of life.

34. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@Hal Austin January 27, 20194:06 PM “Why not compel people”

Barbados is a post slavery society, where people too love to compel others.

It must be a Bajan thing.

35. Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

You responded appropriately.

36. I recognise Inniss for what he is – and I have more sympathy for his conflicted soul.

37. Artax whatever you recognize in T Inniss is also much a part of you
    Maybe it is time u buy a huge mirror
    It takes one to know one

38. You should know, my friend.

As the saying goes birds of a (yellow) feather flock together.

39. Mariposa

I was going to leave this alone.

But I just want to show you how retarded and a first class idiot Artax is.I wrote that post about ‘ME HAVING SYMPATHY FOR HIS CON FLICTED SOUL’ yesterday (Sunday) at 3:56 p.m. in the afternoon.

Yuh know like Artax could not fully grasp what was being said or he did not know how to respond – so he posted other stuff on this same thread – and then returns this morning to repeat back to me – what I said to him.

Now if this isn’t childish juvenile behavior – well I don’t know what is.This is about the 3rd or 4th time he has done a similar thing.

Big men behaving like little boys on this site.Steupes.

Important things to consider and discuss and like you Artax could not wait for morning to come so you can parrot back to me – a comment made to you.That is the best you can do big man ?

You have the last word .

40. Inniss

You definitely need help. You had to respond and I knew you would have responded in the manner which you did.

So….you think insulting people and using pejorative terms to describe them is a sign of maturity?

Misrepresenting facts and using untruths and innuendo to make political points does not make you a mature individual,….it’s DISHONESTY……. it gives us an insight into the type of individual you are.

You’re a WOMAN in denial…..coming to this forum trying to convince contributors that you’re NOT a DLP yard-fowl, when your contributions clearly indicate otherwise.

I won’t describe you as juvenile or a first class idiot…..I would leave an assessment of you to the contributors…..and judging from their contributions…….they know exactly who and what you are.

I await the arrival of your god-father.

Have a blessed and wonderful week.

41. A wonderful morning to all of Barbados:
    friend or foe;
    koolaid or champagne;
    free range, limited range :-), or on the fence.;
    suffering from Pre-May 24 amnesia or not ……….

Have a great day…..

I once watched a Star Trek with two men fighting each other through time and space; one determined to destroy the universe and one determined to preserve it. I am convinced a similar struggle is going on in Barbados, but it seems as if both parties (knowingly or unknowingly) are fighting to destroy the island.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Artax January 28, 2019 7:47 AM

“[Inniss]:You’re a WOMAN in denial…..coming to this forum trying to convince contributors that you’re NOT a DLP yard-fowl, when your contributions clearly indicate otherwise.
    I won’t describe you as juvenile or a first class idiot…..I would leave an assessment of you to the contributors…..and judging from their contributions…….they know exactly who and what you are.
    I await the arrival of your god-father.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

What a thing, though!

Poor conflicted T.I! It seems he cannot tell the difference between his DLP yellow bird elbow and his anti-BLP blue ass.

We have more respect for the pure-bred DLP yard-fowl called Mariposa the “ac” with her unwavering ‘honest’ subservience to the DLP brand of incompetence and corruption than to the hypocrite called Thieving Inniss who ‘pretends’ to sit on some imaginary political fence.

Can you imagine T.I. sleeping in the same bed as Hal Austin who has sworn previously (and repeatedly) that he would never lower his journalistic integrity by ever making “friends” with keyboard warriors and members of the anonymous brigade?

The completely conflicted and confused Hal has really gone to the mad English stray dogs wandering on the Canary Wharf.

No one on this blog (except Hal) wants to know the identity of the DLP yard-ducks Mariposa and T.Inniss like we know of the missing Alvin “Boots’ Cummins.

What we want of them, simply, is a commitment to intellectual honesty and a measurable reduction in their patent hypocrisy.

43. I guess wuhnuh like it so.

Enjoy!

44. Wouldn’t that be nice! Not available in your country!

45. But instead ……….

46. Dangerous to humans!

47. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

Mariposa/angela skeete/ac did great harm to the DLP in the run-up to the May 24th election, and now T.Inniss has joined her. If the DLP wants to regain a few seats in the 2023 election these two must start telling us what positives they intend to do for the people of Barbados. Cussing the 70,000+ people who voted for the BLP is NOT going to cut it.

But nobody listens to a Simple Simon.

48. So I en nobody??????

49. Can you imagine T.I. sleeping in the same bed as Hal Austin who has sworn previously (and repeatedly) that he would never lower his journalistic integrity by ever making “friends” with keyboard warriors and members of the anonymous brigade?(Qote)

?????????”…sworn previously (and repeatedly)….”?????

50. An MP has become the first sitting politician to be jailed for 30 years after she lied to police when she was issued with a speeding ticket.
    Fiona Onasanya had denied being behind the wheel when her car was spotted being driven at 41mph in a 30mph zone in Cambridgeshire, last July.
    The Peterborough MP was later thrown out of the Labour Party before being convicted of perverting the course.
    She has been jailed for three months after a re-trial at the Old Bailey.
    Her brother Festus was jailed for 10 months for his involvement.
    Onasanya was elected as Labour MP for Peterborough in June 2017, six weeks before the offence.
    She had ousted Conservative Stewart Jackson, who had held the seat for 12 years.
    Onasanya was expelled from the party in December – and a recall petition is now expected to be raised in her absence.(Quote)