Edmund Hinkson Picture
Minister Edmund Hinkson

In recent weeks Barbadians have been greeted with the good news our credit rating for local debt was upgraded by two credit rating agencies S&P and CariCRIS.

In recent weeks Barbadians have been greeted with the bad news that violent and gun crime appear to be on the increase.

The question we must answer is whether the solutions to our problems are to be found with our political masters only. The blogmaster shouts NO!

We have the political games being played depending on which side of the fence one sits that credit rating agencies are deemed to be important. There is sufficient evidence to show that not having an investment grade rating does more harm than good as it affects financial decision-making. The previous government was heavily criticized because of the unprecedented number of downgrades Barbados notched during its tenure.  The expectation is that when the foreign debt restructure is completed inyternational credit rating agencies will respond favourably as well. It is important to achieve an investment grade for the financial and intangible benefits it lends to any country.

However one spins it, an inching upwards of the credit rating is good news for a country  gripped in the throes of economic fatigue for more than a decade.

The good news about the northward movement of the credit rating has been tempered by the public perception that crime is on the increase. In recent weeks there has been a spate of gun crime linked to drug activity and a lawlessness element. Some will say to ignore the lawless while they shoot at each other. However commonsense supports the view that a country must maintain law and order to accrue obvious benefits.

dale_marshall
Attorney General Dale Marshall

The rising crime activity has seen minister Edmund Hinkson being demoted with responsibility for the Royal Barbados Police Force, Forensic Services Centre, Criminal Justice Research Unit and the Police Complaints Authority reassigned to Attorney General Dale Marshall. Hinkson’s diminished portfolio he has responsibilty for the Barbados Fire Service, Immigration, Post Office, Government Industrial School, National Council on Substance Abuse and the Prison Service – creates the opportunity to resign from the Cabinet in the coming weeks. It signals to others in the large Cabinet that the prime minister will jettison non performers soon once the ‘opportunity’ appears on the political radar.

The reassignment is an admission by government that it has to improve in the area of law enforcement and delivering justice. Our slothful court system has been a bane for both political parties in government. Coincidentally, the Attorney General has responsibility for Barbados Courts, he now has responsibility for the Police and support units. What should be obvious is that an incrementalist approach has been shown not to be effective over the years.

The blogmaster has been critical of the large Cabinet appointed by the Prime Minister. Her defence of the large Cabinet will not resonate in a climate where workers are being retrenched from the Public and Private sectors.  It does not matter how hard the prime minister and Cabinet are working, commanding the support of the public requires she adopts leadership positions which co-opt the support of the public.

The blogmaster was also critical of the prime minister when videos surfaced on social media during the last political campaign with her ‘styling’ with certain actors. It is important our leaders appreciate the importance of leading by public example.

A word to the wise should be enough!

708 responses to “Crime and Credit Ratings”

1. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

CORRECTION: rapacious minority

2. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@Donna January 26, 2019 1:22 AM “poor stupid black boys”

I am sad that some of our young men feel so poorly about themselves that they permit themselves to be used by others; but i have to agree with your “poor stupid black boys”

You think that any white man in or out of Barbados could dare to approach me to ask me to do foolishness? Not even when i was a teen would they have dared.

Why do you think that they hate “angry black women” so?

Because we know how to tell them haul wunna asses do.

3. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@HAL Austin at 5:57 a.m. “…Mottley s going to bring a form of autocratic government to Barbados that we have never had before…”

Are you serious?

Have you ever opened a history book?

Have you ever had a real, real conversation with your own grandparents?

My grandmother, born in 1879, died in 1969, did not get to vote until 1951 when she was 72.

Would you have told me grandma, who died when I was 16 that she had lived her whole life in a “liberal democracy” that she lived in a country which was not autocratic?

Maybe, maybe for a brief part of one generation Barbados had a glimmer of liberal democracy, but Barbados has no history of liberal democracy.

It has always been an oppressive place for the majority people. I have seen it with my own eyes. I bear witness for my grandmother who died in “independent” Barbados.

She is dead.

But I am not.

Not yet.

4. Yes miller Charles Herber is foremost in my mind and is an example why our borders need tighter security
    Notice how in the PR stunt Mia will be chasing the criminal element on the ground but the big wigs are allowed to come through the port with limited security

5. @ Silly Simon,

A slave society is not a liberal democracy. What kind of society have we had since Nov 30, 1966? List the forms of governments we have had between 1879 and 1969; define autocracy, or more particularly, your idea of autocracy..

6. Money owed write off or not got to be paid in some manner or fashion
    Is this form.of political gymnasitic govt way of decreasing debt {quote}

Tell me how you know this?

Did it occur under the former government when they wrote off taxes including the $10 million in taxes the Turf Club owed government that Thompson wrote off?

I always thought when debt was written off the amount is completely taken off the books.

If someone else had written that nonsense, Hal Austin would be on here showering them with insults and telling them they could only discuss things through DLP or BLP lens.

7. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@Hal Austin January 25, 2019 5:01 PM “Is the so-called heads of government meeting about crime in the Eastern Caribbean suggesting that the sociological root of the crime is the same.”

Yes Hal. Sadly the sociological root of crime is the EXACT same all over the Caribbean, and not just in the English speaking Caribbean, but the French and Spanish and Dutch too, and in Brazil, same oppression, same violence, so yes in the Portugese speaking areas of the Americas too, and “yes” in the United States the same. These societies were all born in violence and feasted on the blood of the people.

8. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

And the Minister of Elder Affairs may not know so I forgive her since she was only a very young woman then. But the recent killing at an elder home is NOT the first time this has happened. Ask her to ask anybody who worked at St. Thomas almshouse in the 70-80’s if a woman nicknamed “Love” did not kill one of the other patients there? And ask her as well if it was the people in the community from where “love” came did not beat her own daughter to death in the late 40’s and nothing happened. The life of a black teenaged girl was worth nothing in 1940’s Barbados.

Some of us will end up in elder homes with some of these same violent people.

Barbados a society born in violence and oppression, a society that has been nurtured on the blood of its people.

9. Barbados a society born in violence and oppression, a society that has been nurtured on the blood of its people.(Quote)

Is Barbados a violent society?

10. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@Hal Austin January 26, 2019 7:46 AM “@ Silly Simon,”

No need to cuss me Hal. I am no more nor no less silly than you.

I like to look at the big picture. For me the big picture is from 1879 when my grandmother was born until 2111 when I expect all of my grandchildren to be dead.

I am not a “B” yard fowl nor a “D” yardfowl who likes to look at things in 5 year or 10 year or 15 year segments.

My beloved grandmother’s life was MY business. I knew her. I loved her. To me she is not a political abstraction.

My beloved grandchildren’s lives is MY business. I know them. I love them. To me they are not political abstractions.

11. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

You see if we insist in feeling that crime and violence is a BLP thing or a DLP thing, that it is the BLP’s fault or the DLP’s fault instead of seeing it in its historical context then we will never come up with solutions. We will continue to around and around in circles until we are dizzy, too dizzy to find solutions.

Barbados is a society born in violence, a society which has ALWAYS feasted on the blood of its people.

12. wow look at the Dems tag team Mariposa and T Inniss up at 2 am blogging aa bunch of shite,and throw in the J/A know all Donna.Tell me hyprocrites what was the Dems plan of tackling crime?All I remember is the ex AG talking about the rights of criminals,nothing much done to protect the law abiding citizens,and what about the ex PM nothing but silence and you three along with Hal Austin got the gall to criticize Ms Mottley,s 8 month old Government for attempting to tackle the problem firstly of getting the wannube thugs and their weapons off the streets?The escalation of gun crime started in my view under the do little ex AG,and hence here we are today.Therefore the Dems and ex Dems have no moral authority to speak on crime.Heard some of them speaking about the in my view bullshitter Mr Thompson talk of crime and violence but like everything else that was just a catch phrase he used to catch votes nothing more.While away from here saw Donna spoke about the amout of time Ms Mottley has travelled can you tell how much times this has happened as I know you Dems like to throw out a lot of innuendo and half truths to mislead people,therefore next time you are on here put the number up for us.Before 2023 Ms motley going to send all the tag team members down to the nut house,i believe.

13. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

I don’t owe the DLP anything. I don’t owe the BLP anything. Neither party owes my anything except what I PAY for through my taxes and my sweat and my blood (literally).

The question is.

Am I getting what I PAY for?

14. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

I know people within 232 years of Barbados’ history. 232, not 5 or 10 or 15 or even 20.

Everything that happens within that 232 year span is MY business.

15. Donks

I concur with everything you have posted above.

That press conference showed how deep in the doo doo we are.

It is the truth,the whole truth and nothing but the truth.

The aggressive politicizing of the Royal Barbados Police Force by bringing back a failed Commissioner and one who was found to be guilty of spying on the phone conversations of Prime Minister at the time Owen Arthur,Opposition Leader David Thompson,DLP MP Freundel Stuart,Magistrate Faith Marshall Harris,the Police Officer who was the driver for then Opposition Leader Thompson – along with others – this should be a cause for great alarm.

In addition the other policemen like Barry Hunte,Antonio Forte etc – all Evil Dottin’s men – she is now hinting at promoting – those who were not promoted.This matter I thought was already dealt with in court.

Wunna people – open up wunna eyes.

As an aside Donks I have found that it is very useful to ignore the shit stirrer and ignoramuses that populate the blog.

I see that you appear to be doing the same.

Well done.

16. Agree with the politicization of the police structure, especially with the appointment of the present GS of the DLP Guyson Mayer’s.

You partisans!

17. Sir Simple l

“These societies were all born in violence and feastered on the blood of the people”

And even though you were born and bred in a society where violence was a common occurs that does not mean that you have to be a participant of that violence.

I was born and bred in very close proximity to the District A Police Station, the Prison and what was considered the most violent area in Barbados (Bush Hall) in the 1980s, and yet I have never got in trouble with the law neither have I victimized anyone.

So in essence, it all boils down to one’s personal choices … If you choose to do good then you will do good, and if you choose to do bad then you will bad no matter how you were raised, or what you were exposed the to.

18. Last night PM Mia Mottley spoke very convincingly of the current state of affairs in the administration of key public service units.The AG was equally convincing in his turn at the microphone.The COP appears not comfortable with the microphone and was not up to the task of generating the confidence the public demands at this particular time.I hope he doesn’t feel uncomfortable around the brainiacs among the Bee camp If so he is in for a very rough ride.Down to the least among the MP’s these Bees are very articulate and confident in their delivery at the dispatch box.

19. David

What nonsense am I hearing.

You are comparing the wholesale intervention of a Prime Minister who has ALL the seats in Parliament – which enables her to CHANGE THE CONSTITUTION TO WHAT EVER SHE WANTS –

Add to that the intervention of this same prime minister Mottley – to bring back a disgraced retired Commissioner to dictate to the substantive Commissioner of Police – how he should run the Police force

AND YOU COMPARE THAT TO THE APPOINTMENT OF A DLP MEMBER (1 VOTE) AS THE CHAIRMAN OF THE POLICE SERVICE COMMISSION.

MAN GIMME A BREAK DO.

BY THE WAY DID YOU VOICE ON THIS BLOG ANY LOUD OBJECTIONS TO A SITTING MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT – IN THE PERSON OF IAN GOODING EDGEHILL – BEING APPOINTED AS THE CHAIRMAN OF THE NIS – AND NOW WE ARE SEEING HIM PUSHING THROUGH GOVERNMENT FLAWED AND DANGEROUS POLICIES ACCORDING TO ECONOMIST AND FORMER PRIME MINISTER OWEN ARTHUR ?

I did not hear any objections from you then.

You should note that never to my recollection have we had a elected Member of Parliament of the governing party sitting as Chairman of the NIS – and to add to the horror of that – you had your point people in snake oil salesman – cum govt financial advisor Avinash Persaud as the Deputy Chairman – and all your other lackeys as Board Member.

For sure it will always be :’ Aye,Aye Mam’

No Nays in that Chamber at all – and of course no more leaking of files by those who opposed the last government and sat on that board as representatives of Organisations (who are all pro -BLP) .

20. You reinforce the point, political partisans (like you) will never understand that where we are here today because of what started yesterday.

21. Unconfirmed reports suggest that Sutrina was one of the female bodies discovered in St Lucy on Monday.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/235881/lecturer-death-shock

22. @ David,

Forgive my cynicism but I wonder if the discovery of a WHITE AMERICAN BODY is the catalyst of MIA’s ” not bout hay “.

23. @Hants

We will have to see.

24. this is a repost of a submission i made earlier in this thread before Marshall did his PR bit and before MAM conducted that rambling ineffectual press. the RSS is a regional nonsense. it does nothing but collect information which is not written down so it cannot be collated or dissemination. it is a place where Ralph send his lackeys to collect money and bash bajans. it tells me that MAM is misinformed or ignorant about crime and crime fighting techniques in the region. this is reinforced by that laughable pressie introducing Dottin as a crime consultant. Dottin is a BLP lackey who was elevated to the CoP by MAM’s political gymnastics. he is not respected by the larger police service or by the present CoP who was so uncomfortable he lost his tongue. Dottin knows nothing about the nuts and bolts of crime fighting- he was a paper pusher.

i see some praising MAM for speaking. Dont make me laugh. she had no choice.

here is the repost

i said earlier in this thread even before the Marshall announcement that the BLP will use the BDF to supplement the police or replace police patrol in some instances.

i made that call base on my knowledge of Bim’s politics. we always seem to solve for the symptoms and never look for a holistic solution which would include solving for symptoms in the short term and for the aetiology of the malady in the long term.

the BDF cannot be a long term solution and lets hope it is not. if not it is a slippery slope. those calling for the army to shoot offenders are myopic and those who think the BDF will perform better than the police are equally so.

the government has no clue how to solve this matter and the advice tabled by the Police Command will not be taken up by Government because it calls for money and long term commitment. that advice is to increase police pay so that the RBPF could recruit better and could either forestall or stop the temptation of accepting bribery, increase police budget for intelligence led policing which means increasing the number of detectives in the intelligence and investigative departments, reform of the justice system and community policing

government has signalled, i am informed, that the first two are impossible to meet at this time, hence the use of the BDF. this, if it is a long term measure, is a huge mistake.

crime as a legal construct is a delimiting device that seeks to maintain particular actions within certain defined boundaries. some scholars in the field argue that social aspirations may lead to alienation for those who cannot compete, creating a society of haves and havenots- the ideal environment for crime. the focus therefore should be on social justice more so than on criminal law sanctions. although in the short term criminal law has its function, the root cause of murders and thefts is so diverse that a criminal law application from a social standpoint would not really address the matter. that is why scholars advocate an all encompassing approach to crime solving, which involves social, victim, offender, economic and moral considerations.

even so crime particularly by the young can reflect the frustrations of their struggle against the social status. this notion ties crime to class. lower social classes, replete with substandard education and little prospect of meaningful employment, rebel by indulging in criminal activity to the chagrin of the middle class. what emerges is a class differential paradoxically perpetuated by and perpetuating the division between the rich and the poor.

other factors include plain greed and breakdown of the family

25. “UWI EXPRESSES GRIEF AND SHOCK AT RETIRED SENIOR LECTURER’S MURDER”

http://vob929.com/news/uwi-expresses-grief-and-shock-at-retired-senior-lecturers-murder/

26. here is another post from to Hal about us copying crime techniques for UK, US and Canada

Hal

you are correct, mate.

the way police conduct business in the UK regarding blacks is different than how it is done in Bim. especially in the 70s and 80s and nowadays where it is done not so subtle, police in the UK used to ruck up on young black men going about their business to create a response that would hopefully lead to an arrest. it is the BS afro caribbean people as they called us had to put up with.

importing laws like stop and search etc to the Caribbean is stupidity topped only by disdain for our people. yes laws, policies and police actions have to be enacted and enforced but we must tailor such imports to our island’s taste.

the British Police sell a police culture across the world especially to its former colonies. if it is the not the latest police management system, it is some new investigative technique or disclosure rules. this is accompanied by a certain policy language and a few British cops to show the natives how it is done.

what we dont understand is that it is a business. it is the globalisation of policing whereby developed nations looking for business opportunities and cultivating romantic notions of assisting the advancement of former colonies or lesser developed nations as they are called sometimes, export social policy including policing models, assuming similarities across societies and cultures. A condescending and one size fits all mentality referred to as orientalism and occidentalism which has led to what some experts call the criminal justice cringe; an assumption that developing countries ought to copy Anglo-American policing and criminal justice methods.

scholars in the field argue that it is nothing more than a coordinated effort to influence social change via policing.

we in Bim should know by now how to police our people- whilst criminal law sanctions are necessary and should be enforced across the board other factors must also be taken into consideration and be put in place. in other words a broad base approach to the problem. and the Army is not the answer. Britain doesnt routinely deploy its army to assist in police actions. any policing models we import should cater to local sensibilities and realities.

27. RG

If u understood the meaning of the word “debt” you would not be heading at the front line to make yuh srkf look foolish
    The NIS money that the govt propsed to write off is contributions from the working stifff which govts borrowed
    Are u now telling me with a depletion of those funds by the stroke of pen the money simply disappears and a method for make up for the loss is not necessary

28. @ James Greene,

Again your analysis is spot on. The old trick was that police would stop a young lad and say something offensive, the youngster would react and would be arrested for resisting arrest etc. Magistrates never look at the substantive points, was the lad topped legitimately, but the process, resisting arrest or breach of the peace.
    I remember one of the leading accused in the Broadwater Farm riots had his first encounter with the police for riding a bicycle on the pavement. OK, it is against the law. But what about the officer shouting at the youngster and telling him to ride in the roads? Where I live now Eastern Europeans, who obviously do not know it is illegal, ride on the pavements every day.
    @James The other way of transferring cultural knowledge is through formal education. That is the damaging effect of learning by rote, which some people object to when I mention it. Just look at our academic economists, who can all recite economic theory like they are poems, but f ask when an original interpretation, become silent.
    We send officers officer on a military course in Canada or the US, they are taught about how they can intervene in politics, and, more important, how to perceive their people as enemies (SWAT policing) , and they return home and want to overthrow the government. Look at Central America in the 1979s and 80s.

29. Although the death of the white American may be suicide, the US will move in and take over: FB, forensics, etc. The US protect s its citizens.

30. Her body with several wounds was found at Northumberland, St. Lucy next to her vehicle, two days after the body of another woman was found at North Point, St. Lucy.

31. Lorenzo,
    I gently chided you before.

Will you please use line breaks and paragraphs in your contributions…

I suspect that we may be able to navigate through nuggets and glean some sense from what you wrote , instead of sidestepping a whole pile.

I gently chided you before. Will you please use line breaks and paragraph in your contributions. I suspect that we may be able to navigate through nuggets and glean some sense from what you wrote, instead of sidestepping a whole pile.

32. James Greene

The fact of the matter is the BDF have been patrolling with the RBPF for many decades now, so I don’t know why this new turn of events comes as a surprise to you?

33. Word to Mia “de Election dun”, the DLP used their 10 years to highlight the shortcomings of the former BLP Gov’t and we aint even complete years one of the BLP reign and Mia continuing the trend. I suppose we can expect at least 9 more years of the same.

As for the “Press conference” I have seen and heard Press Conferences and that aint no Press Conference but it follows in the footsteps of the announcement of the cut backs where the PM just spoke freely on any thought that came out of her head without any regard to accuracy. The domino analogy was laughable surely Gov’ts are not obliged to disclose the nuts and bolts of operational programs but they could let the public know of an overall plan to tackle the current crisis.

In keeping with the “many hands make light work” approach to Gov’t the former COP is back to hold the hands of the current COP ah wonder what the incumbent feels about that, yuh know the former COP was unsuccessful in getting his job back but he will surely earn some extra bucks for his “consulting” role, “throw another pig tail in the pot boss”.

I’m sure the Bajan public went to bed secure in the knowledge that “we got this” or at least an entity to look after Police promotions.

34. lexi,

please take this in the kindest way- you are an idiot.

i didnt say it is a surprise. as a matter of fact it is unsurprising as it is always the fall back solution because the soldiers are there, they are doing nothing, so why not use them?

nevertheless what i am saying is that it is not a long term solution.

35. Good morning

This ‘upsurge’ in crime does no good to Barbados. It is nothing for any of the two parties to do finger pointing about. We cannot continue to see national issues through partisan eyes.

We placed all our eggs in the tourism basket and though I think it is a flawed policy, we must do everything to protect the citizens, tourists and the industry (and in that order).

@Lorenzo:
    It is not about the success or failure of Mia, it is not about how smart she is, her eloquence or her leadership skills. The concern is ‘can she get us off the path of a failed state’. Every Barbadian should be rooting for her, wishing her well, and contributing ideas,. And if it appears she want to continue on the failed path of the BDLP, we should give her hell. Wisen up

36. Warm greetings to the visionary

I noticed that you are not as productive as you were previously.

I hope this is not a signal of health problems or a compromised computer, but merely an indication that your “schedule” is a bit busy, or just a heavy application of “in moderation 🙂 “.

Anyhow, I wish you well brother.

37. Gazzerts what are you rambling on about?I stated that in the short term the police have to get the guns and thugs off the street ,what don,t you understand about that?Then again you are easily impressed by the tag team shite talkers ,therefore, why am I surprised?In case you have not noticed it was the tag team of T Inniss and Mariposa who were politicizing crime with shite talk when the Dems did nothing of substance to reduce crime for 10 years ,but of course you would not comment on your tag team partners but zero in on me.No problem I can take on a hundred like you and the shitte tag team ,so carry on smartly,as once you or any of the tag team call my name I will respond ,count on it.Most of you seem to have nothing to do but blog all day,but once I have time I will answer,but I work for a living.

38. @#Lorenzo
    Gazzerts what are you rambling on about? I stated that in the short term the police have to get the guns and thugs off the street ,what don,t you understand about that?

Then again you are easily impressed by the tag team shite talkers, therefore, why am I surprised?I n case you have not noticed it was the tag team of T Inniss and Mariposa who were politicizing crime with shite talk when the Dems did nothing of substance to reduce crime for 10 years , but of course you would not comment on your tag team partners but zero in on me.

No problem I can take on a hundred like you and the shitte tag team ,so carry on smartly,as once you or any of the tag team call my name I will respond ,count on it.

Most of you seem to have nothing to do but blog all day,but once I have time I will answer,but I work for a living.

39. James Greene

I am not offended at all by your opinion of me …because to me your opinion only matters if I value your opinion … and since we aren’t sleeping in the same bed go to right ahead and characterize me in whatever manner you choose or so desire … because it doesn’t matter one way or the next..

Now my question to you is this: what is the problem with soldiers and police patrolling jointly?

40. Lorenzo when past govt was implementing policy to stop the importation of drugs and guns at the border via fingerprinting yuh all and the courts said Hell No
    Now between u the courts Commisiong and govt your job is to find a solution
    Oh btw yuh all should have had a solution after ten years of crticizing
    It is amazing how present govt knew where all the problems were and how to solve but now the shit has hit the fan they roll out a plan that even the dumbest criminal can bypass
    Again e.g the lone gun man who pumped multiple bullets in his victim in broadaylight not too far from the justice building

41. Question Lexicon
    Why should Barbados streets (now) look like Baghdad
    Why did this govt after sitting ten years in the wilderness not have a well thought out plan to bring to public
    Now we see a half a.ss policy to be realised as an attack on citizens rights starting with profiling search and seizures and yes public right to congregate during certain times of the day
    But whose watching
    Where is my boy Commisiong

42. James Greene

The primary aim is to deter criminal activity, so therefore; government has the right to employ whatever means necessarily to address this antisocial behaviour..

43. @Lexiicon,

Check out Zimbabwe.

44. Mariposa

Firstly, look at the times we are living in? The criminal element has gotten more violent and the which such violence I think the government was on the right course when it deployed the BDF.

Now the practice of combining the military with law enforcement has been going on in Jamaica, Trinidad and Guyana for decades, so what makes Barbados anymore different than these islands?

45. Hal Austin

My best friend who happened to be a White guy is from Zimbabwe …and he tells me that his entire family was forced to leave Zimbabwe in the 80s … Now what it is about Zimbabwe you wish for me to know? That Mugabe took the land away from the White folks and gave it to the Black folks which resulted in more suffering for Zimbabwean people?

46. @ Lexcon,,
    Soldiers are trained to kill, police to arrest and keep the peace.

47. Elevating the status of gangsters.?

” Concerned parliamentary representative for the City of Bridgetown Lieutenant Colonel Jeffrey Bostic has offered to broker a truce between suspected warring factions in his constituency ”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/01/24/intervention-coming/

48. Mariposa

With the increased gun violence in the Barbados … you don’t see the need for stop and frisk?

Then what response should law enforcement have taken?

49. lexi,

nothing wrong with joint patrols as a short term plan under v strict guidlines.

armies engage enemies to kill not to subdue for court appearances.

what is crime situation in Guyana, Ja and TT with joint patrols as long term measure if it is a long term measure in those place you cited?

the point is, and it is one that seems to be escaping you, is that this should not be a long term solution. the police is 2-250 men short and the Govt should look at solving that equation even if it means recruiting suitable candidates from the BDF.

the issue there is that in order to better recruit the police sought to be better paid. that is a no no at this stage with this govt hence the BDF.

do you understand?

did you ever ask your white friend how his family got the farm land in Zimbabwe in the first place?

50. Mariposa

During the summer months here in America with the increased in gun violence in the inner-cities, the governor deploys the State Police who primary job is to safeguard the State Highways to work with local police to addressed the problem.

And consequently, during 9/11 the governor deployed the National Guard to secure Airports, Reservoirs and State Buildings etc … this isn’t the typical work the State Police and National Guard do/does, but in times of national crisis a leader has to do whatever it takes …within the prescription of the law of course, to maintain the safe and security of the citizenry.