Edmund Hinkson Picture
Minister Edmund Hinkson

In recent weeks Barbadians have been greeted with the good news our credit rating for local debt was upgraded by two credit rating agencies S&P and CariCRIS.

In recent weeks Barbadians have been greeted with the bad news that violent and gun crime appear to be on the increase.

The question we must answer is whether the solutions to our problems are to be found with our political masters only. The blogmaster shouts NO!

We have the political games being played depending on which side of the fence one sits that credit rating agencies are deemed to be important. There is sufficient evidence to show that not having an investment grade rating does more harm than good as it affects financial decision-making. The previous government was heavily criticized because of the unprecedented number of downgrades Barbados notched during its tenure.  The expectation is that when the foreign debt restructure is completed inyternational credit rating agencies will respond favourably as well. It is important to achieve an investment grade for the financial and intangible benefits it lends to any country.

However one spins it, an inching upwards of the credit rating is good news for a country  gripped in the throes of economic fatigue for more than a decade.

The good news about the northward movement of the credit rating has been tempered by the public perception that crime is on the increase. In recent weeks there has been a spate of gun crime linked to drug activity and a lawlessness element. Some will say to ignore the lawless while they shoot at each other. However commonsense supports the view that a country must maintain law and order to accrue obvious benefits.

dale_marshall
Attorney General Dale Marshall

The rising crime activity has seen minister Edmund Hinkson being demoted with responsibility for the Royal Barbados Police Force, Forensic Services Centre, Criminal Justice Research Unit and the Police Complaints Authority reassigned to Attorney General Dale Marshall. Hinkson’s diminished portfolio he has responsibilty for the Barbados Fire Service, Immigration, Post Office, Government Industrial School, National Council on Substance Abuse and the Prison Service – creates the opportunity to resign from the Cabinet in the coming weeks. It signals to others in the large Cabinet that the prime minister will jettison non performers soon once the ‘opportunity’ appears on the political radar.

The reassignment is an admission by government that it has to improve in the area of law enforcement and delivering justice. Our slothful court system has been a bane for both political parties in government. Coincidentally, the Attorney General has responsibility for Barbados Courts, he now has responsibility for the Police and support units. What should be obvious is that an incrementalist approach has been shown not to be effective over the years.

The blogmaster has been critical of the large Cabinet appointed by the Prime Minister. Her defence of the large Cabinet will not resonate in a climate where workers are being retrenched from the Public and Private sectors.  It does not matter how hard the prime minister and Cabinet are working, commanding the support of the public requires she adopts leadership positions which co-opt the support of the public.

The blogmaster was also critical of the prime minister when videos surfaced on social media during the last political campaign with her ‘styling’ with certain actors. It is important our leaders appreciate the importance of leading by public example.

A word to the wise should be enough!

708 responses to “Crime and Credit Ratings”

1. Located at the bottom of all BU blogs are share buttons, help to share our message by clicking on the share button of choice.For example if you are on WhatsApp, click the button and share with contacts YOU select.

bu-share

2. Look at that picture again people and watch your prime minister grinning as Bounty – the biggest drug lord in Barbados and his henchmen – got she grabble up – hugging she and tugging she closer to them.

What more evidence wunna want huh ?

Then she went further and invite the same Bounty and 4 more to the official opening of Parliament.

People who live in the area says she was always up there visiting Bounty.

But as Prime Minister who has responsibility for National Security – wunna think close friendships with 5 Drug lords is a good thing ?

3. Once again we look at the daily attempts by the One Caribbean Media houses to shield this Mottley government from and Bad Press.

Imagine Edmund Hinkson get demoted with the main portion of the Police Service being removed from his portfolio and that is NOT THE HEADLINE ON THE NATION TODAY – BUT INSTEAD THE HEADLINE IS ABOUT POLICE SEARCHING VEHICLES ETC – AND IN SMALL PRINT BELOW – ‘HINKSON PORTFOLIO CUT’

Think of under the DLP and how that would be a screaming headline along with an article detailing that Minister lackluster performance.

Think about VOB – Stetson Babb would have it as breaking news – and would be rushing in to the studio almost breathless.
    to shout – MINISTER OF HOME AFFAIRS GETS MAJOR PORTFOLIO REDUCTION !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Wunna study wunna heads good hear – these 2 stations which have a large readership and listenership – is bent on pushing and accommodating a Mottley agenda.

There will not be the same scrutiny they gave the last administration – nor the rigorous assessment by Independent voices – nuttin so will be seen in the columns of the Nation newspaper or heard on VOB airwaves.

Find your own information – let these media houses know that you expect professional journalism – and their role as the fourth estate to be carried out ;

Boldly push back when you see them showing their BLP bias or pushing this government talking points.

We need Independent,honest voices to tell us what is really happening with government policies and anything else.

4. Another thing to consider – now that Hinkson’s portfolio has been drastically reduced – tell muh how many files would he now have to look at ?

Mia mekking bare sport in dis place.

5. What is there to applaud about two lousy credit ratings It is not as if barbados debt has been paid off
    The most these credit ratings offer is to open doors for more govt borrowing
    I reserve my applause for a place and time when barbados finds a need to be driven by a determination of self empowerment and not be driven by a need to borrowers or beggars at the doorsteps of anyone door steps

As for the crime the escalation of crime would continue in an enviroment of joblessness and where hungry mouths need to be satisfied and the only game in town is the drug dealer where a fast buck is quick and easy

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Oh dear oh dear de ole man so sorry about Eddie’s demotion and this TIP of the iceberg

Things are starting to heat up

This is a real embarrassment for Eddie and a public humiliation

It also is an indictment on the competencies of Mugabe and her ability to assign competent people to deal with Crime in Barbados

Now de ole man predicts that we will watch as Teets REALLY EFs up the situation royally.

Watch #1 & #2 sheeps gather to say baaaa

7. @ pieceuhderockyeahright

It’s now Jan 18. Less than 2 weeks for your event to happen. Or is it on p. 5 of the Weekend Rag?

8. “Think about VOB – Stetson Babb would have it as breaking news – and would be rushing in to the studio almost breathless.”

@ T. Inniss

In your usual haste to criticise without having all the facts, you are WRONG.

Yes, Stetson Babb brought the news as a breaking story on Wednesday night on StarCom stations immediately after the statement was released.

Babb is a man who is doing a job he is being paid to do. You should stop implying political motives are behind the man performing his job.

But this anti StarCom thing is popular whipping horse for you DLP yardfowls.

9. “As for the crime the escalation of crime would continue in an enviroment of joblessness and where hungry mouths need to be satisfied….”

Mariposa

Where is the evidence to support your comment?

Many of your comments on issues are politically motivated.

10. If the most these credit ratings offer is to open doors for more govt borrowing, what did the 23 downgrades under your DLP offered?

11. Piece

Don’t worry about the mindless idiots who will be sent to attack every alternative view given which points to the state of play here in this country.

For my one part – I ignore almost all of them because I know they have to be seen to be wukking to get piece of the barbecued beef.

The important thing is some of the things some of us on this blog have been pointing out is now playing out for all to see.So let them continue to talk about tin foil hat and conspiracy theory instead of opening their eyes wide.

Yuh see how Mia Druggie BFF got she hug up tight in that clip above.Lolllll.

12. Wondering if this post will change people opinion about the political stance of the blogmaster. Or will they let this post pass and wait until another post where they can jump on the blogmaster and say “I gotcha”.

Must be hard where people ignore a “body of work” and jump on a few phrases every now and then.

13. RG

The evidence is being demonstrated on the streets and there are statistics which show that joblessness and poverty becomes fertile breeding ground for drug activity
    Instead of you burying yuh big head in the sand you should do a research on drugs and criminal activity

14. This was broascast on the early news this morning.

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Ok..Mr Blogmster and @Pieces same question from other blog still applies…What is going on here?

(And @Hants I see you too want these guys to get the files and give us info).

Interesting point Mr BlogmasterI when you say: ” It signals to others in the large Cabinet that the prime minister will jettison non performers soon once the ‘opportunity’ appears on the political radar.”

1.Why was the police and related forces removed from the AG portfolio in the FIRST place?….was that ever properly explained?
    2.After just under 10 months this minister is non performing based on crime stats which are fundamentally not much different to other previous periods ?
    3.Was there significantly better performance under this current AG when he managed the police portfolio during the Arthur regime?… and if so then REVERT to quest 1…why was it separated from him originally?

This is game playing going on here … a SERIOUS deadly game. Politicians and drug lord’s didnt create a utopia in Jamaiica, nor did the Mafia work harmoniously with politicians in Italy and surely successive Mexican politicians know the perils of cozy crime lord relationships….yet here we are doing the same badword in full sight.

@Pieces…your tin foil cap looks about ready for mass prodution: borrow from his potusness and emblazon it with “Make Bdos Safe Again”.

16. The blog master must have had to fight the new owners tooth and nail to post this article
    Btw It was a long time in coming.i duly remember the daily repetitive articles and comments about crime posted on Bu in the past ten years
    Lets see if the blog master commitment to be fair and unbaised remains a truth

17. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Do they even realize that don’t care how high credit ratings go or how good they are projected…

loans have to be REPAID….

and credit ratings only mean ya can BORROW…EVEN MORE…and stay in DEBT..

but don’t mind me…read the moniker…

18. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“Must be hard where people ignore a “body of work” and jump on a few phrases every now and then.”

welcome to the land of CRABS…where they ALWAYS MISS…the substantive issues sitting right in front their faces…

19. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“Some will say to ignore the lawless while they shoot at each other.”

while the silly who say that…along with the innocent, get caught in the crossfire of STRAY bullets…

20. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

In another topic i mention that in the cabinet room there probably have to areas. The Big boys/girls table and the likkle boys/girls table.

Cabinet maybe just be some form of adult daycare for those not taken(their portfolios) seriously so sit them down at the likkle boys and likkle girls table and give them something to distract them for example a pretend ministry(half day wuk minister)?

My question is has Min Hinkson MP for St James North been asked to relocate himself with the others at the likkle/juniors table(pretend ministers) or was he force-ably removed from the big boys/girls table?

just asking

21. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

if MAM is serious. Do a minor reshuffle. Incorporate whatever is left in the portfolio of the MP fof St James North into the Atty Gen. portfolio and then name Mr Hinkson as Deputy(not the BHL lager) Atty Gen. Problem solved, two men will still be doing one man’s work. and the public humiliation of Mr Hinkson would be total and complete without sending him to the backbench if he has failed thus far?

22. “The evidence is being demonstrated on the streets and there are statistics which show that joblessness and poverty becomes fertile breeding ground for drug activity. Instead of you burying yuh big head in the sand you should do a research on drugs and criminal activity..”

Hmmmmm……….

Have YOU done any “RESEARCH on drugs and criminal activity”…….or are you mentioning this because it’s easy to do so? And if did research, why don’t you present the stats for our perusal and discussion?

The stats indicate there hasn’t been any significant increase in crime in Barbados. If you want to argue that “joblessness and poverty becomes fertile breeding ground for drug activity,”….. hasn’t this always been the case?

What makes the difference is because you are anti BLP……… and it is with them that you would want to lay the blame for the recent shooting incidents.

Statistics are not prepared based on “politically motivated emotionalism.”

Since you have been implying the recent public sector lay-offs (joblessness) is one of the reasons responsible for an apparent increase in crime…………

…………..if you want to be FAIR, what you should do is compare the crime situation with the period January 15 to March 31, 2014…….which is during the period of the former inept DLP administration’s public sector retrenchment program…..

………..with the period of this current arrogant BLP administration’s retrenchment program.

If you want to use the shootings as your basis……then you will have to ascertain the reasons behind them before making a definitive association with drugs, robbery or revenge.

23. DRUGS GUNS AND GANGS.

The CEOs of these criminal enterprises must be identified and investigated. Cut off the head of the snake.

Within 48 hours of a Police stop and search operation criminals could spread the word to hide their guns and drugs.

The Prime Minister could have instructed Hinkson to meet with the Police commissioner and demand action be taken to hunt down the drug lords, gun smugglers and gang leaders.

24. What a great oportunity for Mia to stab Edmund Hinckson in the back
    One coukd only imagine how much Mia wad awaiting this day
    Payback in the political world is as ruthless as in the drug world
    Cant imagine how Hinckson could count himself as being a team player after disparaging remarks about Mia to the point of public humiliation
    All docked in the court system

25. Artax humbug go away in the meanwhile start by digging your head out of the sand
    Btw making mention of past govt shortcomings does not correct the problem of the escalation of gun violence on the streets of barbados most of which is attrubted to joblessnessss and drug activity

26. @Artax

You read what former government criminologist Yoland Forde predicted in 2017 about the crime situation then and what would happen in the future if approaches were not changed?

The future is now the present.

27. RG

And Crime Facts
    Drug use and crime
    At the time of the offense | Prior drug use by offenders

At the time of the offense
    Drug-related crime
    Offenders under the influence at the time of the offense
    Drug-related crime
    In 2004, 17% of state prisoners and 18% of federal inmates said they committed their current offense to obtain money for drugs. These percentages represent a slight increase for federal prisoners (16% in 1997) and a slight decrease for state prisoners (19% in 1997).

Source: BJS, Drug Use and Dependence, State and Federal Prisoners, 2004, NCJ 213530, October 2006 and Substance Abuse and Treatment, State and Federal Prisoners, 1997, NCJ 172871, January 1999.
    In 2002 about a quarter of convicted property and drug offenders in local jails had committed their crimes to get money for drugs, compared to 5% of violent and public order offenders. Among state prisoners in 2004 the pattern was similar, with property (30%) and drug offenders (26%) more likely to commit their crimes for drug money than violent (10%) and public-order offenders (7%). In federal prisons property offenders (11%) were less than half as likely as drug offenders (25%) to report drug money as a motive in their offenses.

Percent of prison and jail inmates who committed offense to get money for drugs

Local jail inmates  State prisoners Federal prisoners

Offense 2002 2004 2004
    Total 16.4 % 16.6 % 18.4 %
    Violent 8.0 9.8 14.8
    Property 26.9 30.3 10.6
    Drugs 24.8 26.4 25.3
    Public-order 5.2 6.9 6.8

Source: BJS, Substance Dependence, Abuse, and Treatment of Jail Inmates, 2002, NCJ 209588, July 2005 and Drug Use and Dependence, State and Federal Prisoners, 2004, NCJ 213530, October 2006.

The Uniform Crime Reporting Program (UCR) of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) reported that in 2007, 3.9% of the 14,831 homicides in which circumstances were known were narcotics related. Murders that occurred specifically during a narcotics felony, such as drug trafficking or manufacturing, are considered drug related.

Drug-related homicides

Year Number of homicides Percent drug related
    1987 17,963 4.9 %
    1988 17,971 5.6
    1989 18,954 7.4
    1990 20,273 6.7
    1991 21,676 6.2
    1992 22,716 5.7
    1993 23,180 5.5
    1994 22,084 5.6
    1995 20,232 5.1
    1996 16,967 5.0
    1997 15,837 5.1
    1998 14,276 4.8
    1999 13,011 4.5
    2000 13,230 4.5
    2001 14,061 4.1
    2002 14,263 4.7
    2003 14,465 4.7
    2004 14,210 3.9
    2005 14,965 4.0
    2006 15.087 5.3
    2007 14,831 3.9

Note: The percentages are based on data from the Supplementary Homicide Reports (SHR) while the totals are from the Uniform Crime Reports (UCR). Not all homicides in the UCR result in reports in the SHR.
    Source: Table constructed by ONDCP Drug Policy Information Clearinghouse

To all and sundry burying head in the sand is not the answer

28. Vincent Codrington Avatar

There is a feedback loop between economic performance and the level of crime. What is cause and which is effect is hard to discern.

29. @ David,

As long as no VIPs or tourists are caught in the crossfire….nuh problem.

30. “Btw making mention of past govt shortcomings does not correct the problem of the escalation of gun violence on the streets of barbados most of which is attrubted to joblessness and drug activity…”

Are you suggesting “joblessness and drug activity”………..or “the escalation of gun violence on the streets of Barbados”……. BEGAN on May 25, 2018?

If you’re AGAINST anyone mentioning “past govt shortcomings,”…….

……..why do you ALWAYS MENTION to the period of Owen Arthur’s tenure……1994 – 2008?

Or is “making mention of past govt shortcomings” RESERVED ONLY FOR YOU?

For the “burying head in the sand” MYTH……….and BRING the crime stats for us to peruse and discuss.

31. Create more jobs.

Create more organized activities for young people.

32. Crime & Credit Rating!

Since Sunday we have been following the abduction, by the US government, of Press TV’s host Marzieh Hashemi, formerly known as Melanie Franklyn born in Louisiana. She is also a producer of documentaries, now living in Tehran.

Of course, the crimes of the US government in arresting and imprisoning Afrikan-Americans is a long story. Up to now hundreds of Afrikan-American political prisoners still rot in America’s dungeons. Some for as many as 50 years!

Hashemi’s only apparent crime is that she is a journalist living in the IRI and a devout Muslim woman. But the Apartheid regime of the USA has no compunction in arresting her under the specious rubric that she is a witness in a crime none but the FBI knows. Her children have also been ensnared into this official crime with subpoenas, ‘material warrants’, sealed indictments.

Up to now, six day since her arrest, has she been charged. Showing the limitation of the much vaunted American citizenship as it relates to Afrikan peoples.

Of course, she has been denied her basic rights – no lawyers, no Halal meals, no Hijab.

She appears in court today, for the first time. We are betting that the stinking FBI. The same FBI which spied on MLK. The FBI which bulling ‘progressives’ now seek to act against Trump within some internal deep-state disagreement. An FBI which continues to destroy all Afrikan-American liberation organizations.

As we, like lap dogs, are transfixed by the trivia of credit ratings there are big and tectonic crimes taking place which are changing the very world we believe to exist.

33. Come on, Mariposa

Exactly what you’re trying to prove by presenting US crime stats?

34. We all saw this coming from about twenty-five years at least. The causes have been studied, identified and reported. There has been no real action to ameliorate the underlying problems. BOTH parties have been delinquent. The thing is that crime prevention is less expensive than the cure. ALL prevention is less expensive than the cure in the long run.

But….. we built a bigger prison and now we are probably back at square one. Bursting at the seams

35. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

A PICTURE (VIDEO) IS WORTH A THOUSAND WORDS.

36. Firstly, you need to get pass the folly of ostriches “burying their heads in the sand,” it’s a silly myth.

Secondly, you would made a more compelling argument if you had presented Barbados’ crime stats, which would have defined the reality in the island.

What percentage of homicides here “in which circumstances were known were narcotics related?”

37. Pacha,

We are well aware that the dark forces are reorganising and strengthening. I think most people believe there is not much that they can do. It is overwhelming for them to think of it.

What do you suggest we do?

38. Donna

Work for the total destruction of all these systems around us.

39. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

@ Hants
    The Prime Minister could have instructed Hinkson to meet with the Police commissioner and demand action be taken to hunt down the drug lords, gun smugglers and gang leaders
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

WHO IS GOING TO ARREST THE MANY POLICE WHO ARE INVOLVED IN CRIMINAL ACTIVITY?

ALL EXISTING DRUG LORDS, GUN SMUGGLERS ETC HAVE POLICE ON THEIR PAYROLLS.

THE FOX GUARDING THE CHICKEN PEN.

40. As I said before the drug lords need to be engaged if any change is going to come but I am very suspicious of the method.

What really is the plan?????

41. Before we tear down we also have to have a replacement system ready. This calls for great thought, re-education and leadership. It cannot be done overnight. This is a long term process.

Unless we wish to resort to violence. And violence breeds violence as far as I can tell. One coup leads to another.

Besides which we are outgunned.

42. Pacha
    We too have been keeping an eye on this travesty.

Of course there is little to no outcry from any so-called rights/ womens/ other groups in the USA.

Don’t expect any of the educated slaves on this blog to be interested in these kinds of issues.

43. Donna

We have started a go-funding-me page. The government of the IRI will offer assistance. We expect to raise 500K in a legal defense fund.

As we see it, if they could come for her, they can come for us too, this writer, and maybe more easily so.

44. “We all saw this coming from about twenty-five years at least. The causes have been studied, identified and reported. There has been no real action to ameliorate the underlying problems. BOTH parties have been delinquent.”

Donna

You are “absolutely correct!!!”

And Barbados’ first criminologist, Yolande Forde, was at the forefront of compiling this information, which was continued by former police sergeant and Director of the Criminal Justice Research and Planning Unit, Cheryl Willoughby and her team.

Don’t pay any attention to the yard-fowls who would want to place the blame on one administration.

Members of both the BLP & DLP are known to have been fraternizing with known drug traffickers over the years. These guys have provided campaign financing and vehicles for the politicians when they are on the campaign trail.

The difference here is that Mottley about this fraternizing with a brazen assurance…….having invited these drug men to the opening of parliament.

45. A. Dullard

You are not at all a ‘dullard’

Thanks for your interest. Please promote the go-fund-me site in social media.

46. NorthernObserver Avatar

“The rising crime activity has seen minister Edmund Hinkson being demoted”…..hmmmm….I was told prior to this there was tension between what EH wished to do and certain party big-ups. Since with so many ministers, many of whom have a minuscule portfolio, the move to DM may confirm this. As he and the PM are certainly ‘close’, much closer than another, potentially independent minded minister.

47. Artax,

Did seminars with both these impressive ladies when I was totally immersed in youth work. These young people just need some attention and opportunities.

They do not need hunting down and locking up. We need to make interventions at a very early age.

48. Pacha,

I guess that is a start.

But that is like playing whack a mole. What is the chess game plan?

49. The first thing to do is list the countries where the war on drugs is making any progress at all. The only one that comes to mind is Indonesia where government policy is to execute offenders.
    In the so-called advanced nations we have elevated the drug business to a vast national business conglomerate with thousands of law enforcement (hah!!) lawyers, judges, psychiatrists, and sundry dependents living high off the hog in this lucrative industry. Who is going to send them home if the only sane course, legalisation, is implemented? Won’t happen – turkeys don’t vote for Christmas, and no politicians are going to vote for anything sensible, despite the glaring example of Prohibition.
    TAKE AWAY THE MONEY, THE PROBLEM WILL FOLLOW.

50. Indonesia is carrying out extra-judicial killings of the poor drug pushers who are a dime a dozen and considered expendable. More young desperate men will take their places. And the rich and powerful men who are behind the scenes will continue to be shielded and get richer and richer.

WE are NOT fooled.