Edmund Hinkson Picture
Minister Edmund Hinkson

In recent weeks Barbadians have been greeted with the good news our credit rating for local debt was upgraded by two credit rating agencies S&P and CariCRIS.

In recent weeks Barbadians have been greeted with the bad news that violent and gun crime appear to be on the increase.

The question we must answer is whether the solutions to our problems are to be found with our political masters only. The blogmaster shouts NO!

We have the political games being played depending on which side of the fence one sits that credit rating agencies are deemed to be important. There is sufficient evidence to show that not having an investment grade rating does more harm than good as it affects financial decision-making. The previous government was heavily criticized because of the unprecedented number of downgrades Barbados notched during its tenure.  The expectation is that when the foreign debt restructure is completed inyternational credit rating agencies will respond favourably as well. It is important to achieve an investment grade for the financial and intangible benefits it lends to any country.

However one spins it, an inching upwards of the credit rating is good news for a country  gripped in the throes of economic fatigue for more than a decade.

The good news about the northward movement of the credit rating has been tempered by the public perception that crime is on the increase. In recent weeks there has been a spate of gun crime linked to drug activity and a lawlessness element. Some will say to ignore the lawless while they shoot at each other. However commonsense supports the view that a country must maintain law and order to accrue obvious benefits.

dale_marshall
Attorney General Dale Marshall

The rising crime activity has seen minister Edmund Hinkson being demoted with responsibility for the Royal Barbados Police Force, Forensic Services Centre, Criminal Justice Research Unit and the Police Complaints Authority reassigned to Attorney General Dale Marshall. Hinkson’s diminished portfolio he has responsibilty for the Barbados Fire Service, Immigration, Post Office, Government Industrial School, National Council on Substance Abuse and the Prison Service – creates the opportunity to resign from the Cabinet in the coming weeks. It signals to others in the large Cabinet that the prime minister will jettison non performers soon once the ‘opportunity’ appears on the political radar.

The reassignment is an admission by government that it has to improve in the area of law enforcement and delivering justice. Our slothful court system has been a bane for both political parties in government. Coincidentally, the Attorney General has responsibility for Barbados Courts, he now has responsibility for the Police and support units. What should be obvious is that an incrementalist approach has been shown not to be effective over the years.

The blogmaster has been critical of the large Cabinet appointed by the Prime Minister. Her defence of the large Cabinet will not resonate in a climate where workers are being retrenched from the Public and Private sectors.  It does not matter how hard the prime minister and Cabinet are working, commanding the support of the public requires she adopts leadership positions which co-opt the support of the public.

The blogmaster was also critical of the prime minister when videos surfaced on social media during the last political campaign with her ‘styling’ with certain actors. It is important our leaders appreciate the importance of leading by public example.

A word to the wise should be enough!

708 responses to “Crime and Credit Ratings”

1. @ Mariposa,

Have you noticed that Arthur is calling for de-pegging of the Bajan dollar and fixing it against a basket of currencies? It is nice that after 14 years in government, ten years in Opposition and seven months of a flawed Mottley-led government’s BERT he has come to this conclusion. I wonder who has been calling for this for years?
    He also said Barbados faced a 15 year IMF programme. Surely this cannot be true since the prime minister, in her presidential state of the nation address, said in six months her government had reduced the debt to GDP ratio from 170 per cent to 124 per cent. This is economic magic. She should bottle it and sell it on to raise revenue.
    Are we now going to get a mature debate about the economy, or will the political cowards remain silent in case they are attacked by the economically illiterate keyboard warriors?

2. Arthur is free of the political favours which he owed to the private sector and is free to speak out with truthfulness
    As a politican he had to couch his words and be ever so reminded who had put him.in high office
    Mia now finds herself in a poistion on which she heavily relies on being dishonest about Bert policies
    She would be forever known as the Minister of smoke and mirrors.

3. Mariposa

That is a very serious warning being sounded by Arthur – that this tough economic punishment call BERT will be with us not for the 5 years as stated but for 15 years.

We only have to look to Jamaica to see how that IMF programme decimated their country and they are still struggling after over 25 or more years.

The danger is Mia does not have a clue what is going on .

I have now discerned the reason she has 5 ministers and/or economic consultants as Ministers of Finance.She sees her role as hob nobbing and socialising all over the globe and not staying at home to deal with the hard work of running a country.

Tell me again WHY WAS THIS TRIP SO IMPORTANT AT A TIME OF NATIONAL CRISIS WITH THESE MURDERS AND WHY COULDN’T ONE OF THE MANY.MANY ,MANY MINISTERS DO THIS TRIP INSTEAD.

BUT YOU SEE MIA UNDERSTANDS THAT SHE WILL NOT BE CRITICISED ON BLP RADIO – VOB – BY ELLIS AND HIS SIDEKICKS – NOR WOULD SHE SEE CRTICAL HEADLINES BLARING FROM THE FRONT PAGE OF THE NATION.SHE ALSO KNOWS THAT SHE WOULD BE HANDLED WITH SOFT GLOVES AT BARBADOS UNDERGROUND – AND THAT THE DLP SEEMS NOT TO UNDERSTAND HOW TO DO FACEBOOK CAMPAIGNS AND NAKED DEPARTURE OR SEND ARTICLES AND POPULATE BU – LIKE CHARLES JONG DID BEFORE MAY 24TH 2018.

PEOPLE WILL SOON REALISE HOW THEY WERE SUCKED IN WITH A SMOOTH PROPOGANDA CAMPAIGN ON SOCIAL MEDIA,ON VOB,IN THE NATION NEWSPAPER AND ON BARBDADOS UNDERGROUND.

Things are not always exactly as they appear.

Notice now how quiet everything is on these fronts.

Hal Austin has been asking for analysis on the BERT PROGRAMME for months – but Mia knows no one will dare discuss that programme in any fair and objective way.

She also knows that CBC which has been sanitized of anything looking like objective reporting,and the paid prostitutes at the radio station and newspaper will not discuss in any critical way – BERT – CRIME & VIOLENCE IN BARBADOS – THE HORROR STORIES COMING OUT OF COMMUTERS WAITING ON TRANSPORT BOARD BUSES,OR FOR GARBAGE PICK UP – OR EVEN THE WASTAGE OF SCARCE NATIONAL FUNDS PAYING MINISTERS WHO ARE DOING NOTHING – like they were busy doing before 24th May 2018 – every day – all day.

That is the state of play in Barbados right now – but one day coming soon the people will wake up.

4. T. Inniss … very informative … it touched all of the areas of concern in Barbados …

5. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

According to VOB, one of the female dead bodies discovered in St. Lucy recently is that of an American biology lecturer at UWI, Cave Hill.

Watch the American Embassy light a fire under the over-sized botsies of officialdom, as well they certainly should.

6. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@David January 24, 2019 10:46 PM “You should be shame to even mention Arthur’s name on the blog.”

Mariposa has no shame, an unrepentant gallus gallus.

7. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@T.Inniss January 25, 2019 7:15 AM “That is a very serious warning being sounded by Arthur – that this tough economic punishment call BERT will be with us…for 15 years.

Debt is debt. Any idiot, including me understands that if one gets into great debt, a mortgage for example that it may well take a lifetime to get out. Intelligent people understand this.

Why do you think that a mort-gage is called mort-gage.

Mort means dead in French.

Debt until you are dead.

I don’t recall Mia saying saying anything about 5 years.

I always understood that the DLP mortgaged our future and that of our children and grandchildren, and that now we and our children and our grandchildren will be paying off the debt for the rest of our lives.

No new news in what Arthur has to say.

Except it may be news to unrepentant gallus gallus such as yourself.

Stupssseee!!!

8. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

Words have meaning.

A mortgage means debt until you are dead.

A common criminal is still a common criminal even if he is called a drug lord.

A yard fowl is still a yard fowl even if he calls himself a political commentator

9. T.innis everbody knows that a 8billon dollar US debt 16billionbds can not be that easily tackled in five years by using a population of about 275thousand mostly edlerly and some unemployed and a miminal wage market to pay the debt
    Borrowing is a form of vodoo economics which was used before by previuos govt to pay bds debt resulting in bds economic darkness as we now see it

10. I am now reading a brief excerpt of Owen Arthur’s analysis of the BERT Programme – and it is blunt and does not contain all the sugar coating – false good news – that we have been hearing from this government and their agents that they send out.

I will return to that response later.

As a public service the Nation newspaper should carry Arthurs analysis in the Sunday Sun and VOB SHOULD AIR IT JUST BEFORE THEIR CALL IN SHOW.

11. Oh, oh! Counsellors not councillors. Senior moment,

12. So…. we dun know that this Bert would do nothing to spur economic growth. It is about cutting expenditure. The downside is reduced economic activity because people have less money to spend. A vicious circle. Vicious circles are NEVER broken without serious creative and sustained interventions. If we continue to do what we have always done we will continue to arrive where we started.

Will read and digest before commenting further.

13. Finally Mottley has decided to address the Nation on this increase in crime and murders.

Will await that address before giving my response.

14. The only latin american Carribbean country that ran to the aide of a black people was Castro in his fuggt against apartheid in SA
    However most realise what eas his motive
    Maduro selling oil to small island natiins is no big deal since the politics of interference is his motivation to win friends

15. You say finally, was she not out of country on a business trip just returned?

16. Where is the foreign minister?

17. Hal

Exactly ! Doesn’t she have 2 Ministers of International Business.

Mia just does not want to do the hard work of Governing.

The very foreign trips that she criticized Freundel for – well she has increased that by 300 %. Almost every week she is on a plane.

So to discuss with NGOs etc the matter of Climate change and the Enviroment – she must be the one in The NEWS and attending these International Conferences.

For an invitation on something to do with Cricket from the Trinidad Cricket Board – she must go to that

For something to do with CSME – where about only 2 prime Ministers attended – she decides to go to that too;

Then Surinam visit;

Then Miami;

And on an on.

Its like Mottley’s End Game was to just get elected – be the first female Prime Minister – then appoint a bariffle of Ministers and let these neophytes struggle along and do crap – so that every couple of weeks the government had to come back and redo the mistakes;

While she Mottley jet set all over the world.

As Owen Arthur says – there is no plan for growth,or curbing importation,or dealing with food production in any meaningful way – but just witch hunting and firing public servants yuh think are Dems – and replacing them with BLP people who are sometimes not even as qualified as the ones you sent home.

That is what yuh get for giving she de vote and watching she.

18. Mottley cant sau anything to reassure the country
    After ten years of criticism the reality of goverence is way too hard for her to swallow

19. Did Owen actually mention food production? I see he mentioned renewable energy.

And around and around we go and where we’ll stop nobody knows!

T. Inniss, ya sure right. How many days has she spent here since the election??????? Seems like every time somebody mentions her we are told she is on an overseas trip.

But don’t tell anybody I agreed with you. I was threatened by the “Cooped One”. He says he’s coming for me. I hope he will come with the number of days that the PM has spent in Barbados since the election.

FACTS! Like the esteemed Artax!

20. http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/235700/ministry-people-empowerment-elder-affairs-issued-statement-violence

Now we are agreed that we must address the root causes of crime rather than the symptoms, will we actually see some action???????

Let us pray!

21. Is the RSS involved in crime discussions in Barbados? Is this the militarisation of civilian policing in Barbados|? Is it the end of our liberal democracy?

22. A weekend of Prayer?

23. Is the so-called heads of government meeting about crime in the Eastern Caribbean suggesting that the sociological root of the crime is the same, and that there is a CARICOM solution? Or is it that the prime minister does not understand that crime in Barbados is island-specific and the people of Barbados want a Barbados solution from the Barbados government? We need a national debate. It will end in tears.
    Barbados is a failed state.

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Borrowing is a form of vodoo economics which was used before by previuos govt to pay bds debt resulting in bds economic darkness as we now see it”
    you are forgetting the social economy….so you owe me $5, you borrow so you can repay me the $5, and end up owing $15.

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

@TI
    “Its like Mottley’s End Game was to just get elected”
    That is every politican’s end game. Sitting on the sidelines is no sport. You can do whatever, the next judgement day is years away. Plus a few months if you have an FJS gamebook?
    A good dose of the obvious on this frigid Friday.

26. Northern

Some politicians actually have a plan for governing that goes past the week after the victory.

See Owen,See Sandie,See Barrow,See Thompson,See Tom ADAMS.

27. NorthernObserver Avatar

@TI
    as I said its frigid here, so my sight maybe a little blurred.
    What I saw in May 2018 was a MOUNTAIN of debt, a sewage system gone kaput, a public transport system in a mess etc etc
    Every incoming government blames the prior group for the mess they found, but I fear no other incoming group has faced this level of dysfunction.
    MAM is not my favourite, but I wouldn’t envy whomever took over the controls.

28. That’s why she should have had a realistic plan for governing and not just shooting from the hip.

After all she had 10 years to plan and formulate.She spoke about the gigantic mess that she argued the country was in – and she had files dropping off all kinda trucks with information on every thing thie last govt was doing or attempted to do – so she should have had a Plan A, a Plan B and for good measure a Plan C.

SHE DID SAY GIMME DE VOTE AND WATCH MUH.NOT SO ?

29. I just listened to that press conference and I heard a lot of hot air.

I heard that she having the experience (as opposed to verla who I suppose she is saying has none) – knows that the Security Agencies don’t slap down their plans on the table like a hand of dominoes.

But yet this is exactly what she and her sidekick Dale Marshall used to hanrangue the last Attorney General and the last Prime Minister – all the time – on the issue of crime :’Tell us what you intend to do ” – they used to shout.

Now – we are not going to tell you about any plan.

I also heard that her blue eye boy Dottin – of the wiretapping fame – has been brought back – to advise whom – I would really like to know ha ha.

A lot of blustering – that’s all.

As they say in Texas Country – all hat and no cattle.

30. Not a word said abiut tightening and increasing immigration measurres to catch those bringing illegal contraband in the country
    Alot of many hands in the field while the out field is left wide open

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ T.Inniss January 25, 2019 8:09 PM
    I also heard that her blue eye boy Dottin – of the wiretapping fame – has been brought back – to advise whom – I would really like to know ha ha.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The more you blog, T.I. the more your pre May 24th yellow and blue political knickers are showing.

You politically conflicted guys are playing a rather dangerous game with the safety and security of the residents and visitors with the only outcome being the economic failure of the country.

Over the years the Police Force has been turned into a veritable political football.
    The politically tainted Mayers stubbornly refuses to vacate the chair of the PSC so the legs of the chair has to be sawn from under him.

What kind of moral authority or personal integrity and decency is being displayed here? Is timely resignation from politically-appointed positions no longer the decent and honourable thing to do?

Now Dottin is back to spit on a few graves full of political skeletons of revenge.

Inviting perceived drug lords to the opening of the highest Court of the Bajan Land is equivalent to the governor of Chicago or N.Y. inviting Mafia dons to give their views on the decriminalization of gambling, prostitution and drug trafficking. Which turkey would vote for Thanksgiving or Xmas?

Meanwhile the small-time gun toting turf-fighting killing thugs on the block are being blamed for the importation of foreign-made automatic guns along with illegal ‘recreational’ drugs which have to be paid for in hard currency mainly US$.

Clearly these small-fry wannabe petty peddling businessmen cannot import these contraband items in commercial containers destined to the likes of S.Y. Adam & Eve in cahoots with Bhana along with his condemned chicken.

Neither can they buy off their customs contacts or those involved in the State-sponsored protection racket.

These thuggish small boys on the blocks shooting and killing like “Sammy Too Bad” are being made into Public Enemy No. 1 and scapegoats for the real white collar criminals living in the heights and terraces and driving around in the luxury vehicles like the ‘arrested Don’ and his politically-associated henchmen like the one who sat in the chair while he was taking bribes from insurance executives.

32. All you no good Dems go bag your heads.Mia is a boss.Imagine 10 years of wasted time with Stuart who knew nothing of leadership and we end up with having a woman cleaning up behind these mice masquerading as men.Not a thing done in Customs,not a thing done in Forensics,not a thing done in Justice,not a thing done in the Police administration,Prisons,Customs,Immigration,Planning?What the hell you DLP clowns were doing?Drawing salaries by false pretences?Caswell said it and I support him.None of you DLP ministers and parliamentary secretaries should draw a pension from the Treasury.Mia Mottley appears to have matters under control.
    The experience and expertise of Dottin and Durant can only improve the RBPF capacity to respond to the current crime situation with the urgency required.

33. Austin why don’t you help Tresa May sort out Brexit. David Cameron is bringing all pain and sorrow to the once U.K.Whitehall is in disarray.Why don’t you offer your services there.You are so out of touch with Barbados.

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Mariposa January 25, 2019 9:18 PM
    “Not a word said abiut tightening and increasing immigration measurres to catch those bringing illegal contraband in the country..”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++=

Mary pokey, why don’t you shut your “ac” trap? How much more can Barbados ‘tighten’ it immigration measures?

By demanding every visitor from North America, Europe and the UK like the Barmy Army have a visa issued by the Bajan consulates overseas?

It seems you have not travelled recently or you would be well aware that you cannot clear security in the UK or North America with any handgun or AK47 in your luggage or 5 lbs of mary jane in your handbag or 1 kilo of cocaine stashed away in your pokey without bells going off like a police or firefighter siren.

The importation of contraband problem lies with the local commercial boys looking to make fast bucks along with their ‘bought’ contacts in the regulatory and enforcement agencies including those in the so-called political class of Tweedle Bee and Twaddle Dem.

How quickly you have forgotten about your most recent flavour of the year 2018 whipping boy Charlie Herbie!

In 2012 it was poor OSA your current harmless blue-eyed boy. Now in 2019 it is MAM who is your whipping girl, your calendar pin-up girl of 2011.

35. Mia is a boss. Is that the reason it took her so long to respond to the problem.of guts and bloodshed on the streets of barbados now appearing once again in full political campagain style flanked by the Police and commissioners as props
    Only thing missing was the red tee shirts of blp yardfowl supporters
    All i heard Mia say in that Press conference was hither dither and yonder.

36. Not a word about the big up facilitators! Not a word about wresting the poor stupid black boys out of their clutches! Are we to continue playing whack a mole? This calls for a serious game of chess!

37. All sort of red herrings and side dish – to say what – that she does not have a clue what to do .

And like you rightly said Miller – wuh she hands tied – she drug pushing buddies that she invited to parliament got she boxed in.Turkeys will not vote for Thanksgiving.

Wunna look at that picture again at the top of this article – with the Don and he henchmen who got she grabble up – and understand wuh we dealing with here.

Imagine at a serious time like this – at a press conference to address the Nation on these murders and Mottley gone back on a political platform – blaming the dems.Well,Well.

To make matters worse she brought back Dottin – a disgraced retired commissioner of police who was found to be complicit in tapping 3 former prime ministers phones – Owen Arthur, DavidThompson and Freundel Stuart – along with other persons.

Where have we ever see a retired Commissioner ( who was a complete failure during his tenure) – brought back to instruct the current holder of the office – as to what he must do ?

Crazy,crazy crazy !!!!!!!!!!

This 30 -0 victory is going to be like a Tsunami or a category 5 hurricane hear.Its like giving a loaded machine gun to a toddler.

Listen to the sound of silence from the media houses and all those other commentators from University,business,columnist,NGOs etc

Meanwhile as Owen Arthur has declared – this BERT programme is pure shyte.

38. T. Inniss,

What happen ya cyan sleep? LOL

39. Donna

Wuh I was just about to ask yuh the same thing.Ha ha.

I hope you not up bothering about 45 govt lol.

40. Donks Gripe and Josh Avatar
    Donks Gripe and Josh

Was the PM’s media event on crime and violence an address to the nation or a press conference? We couldn’t tell because it was so poorly arranged. Her media advisors should be fired. The disorganized set up did not reflect the seriousness of national concern about daily gun violence.

We are in the grip of an unprecedented shooting rage. Never before have we seen so many murders in such a short time. The country is traumatized with fear. Barbados’ relative tranquility has been violently disturbed by gun wielding thugs shooting night and day across the country.

With fear and despair gripping the community we anticipated a stony faced talk to the nation by the PM in a structured format . An address to set out soberly a comprehensive package of measures to reassure us the out of control crime situation would be under control in short order. We instead were treated to words on the run in a crowded corner with a media scrum most unprofessional.

The collection of squeezed up officials looked uncomfortable. The scene did not convey a sense of purpose to ease the alarm in the country. The chaotic sight distracted from plans to tackle the worsening situation of gun violence. Politicizing the crime problems by trying to shift blame onto the last administration was a waste of time. If comparisons are drawn along political lines we were safer during the “lost decade.” Our streets are currently a war zone with people shot or killed nearly everyday. That has never occurred before in the Barbados we cherish.

The press conference/ address was underwhelming it wasn’t reassuring. We pray the actions coming to bring the gunmen and their enablers to justice work fast. Barbados is in the most dangerous passage of its history the PM’s duty is to lead us out safely. What is scary is she is surrounded by inexperienced in some cases incompetent ministers who have shown they are out of their league.

41. @Donks,
    It was a press conference and not a very good one. First, to have former police commissioners at the press conference in effect was to undermine the incumbent. If she takes advice from former office holders in private, that is great, but to do so in public is to undermine the office holder.
    Second, somehow we have elevated street crime in to a national security issue, not only that, it is now a regional issue. In case she does not understand, crime in Barbados is a national issue to be dealt with by the government.
    The narrative of a regional (Eastern Caribbean) crime wave is one perpetuated by the US, UK and Canada and it s rooted in the notion of the Caribbean sea as a route for drug smugglers. This narrative misses out the point that the point of destination for the smugglers is not the Caribbean (too much poverty) but the US in particular, and failing that Europe.
    Further, the attorney general and the prime minister both made the erroneous statement that they cannot make public law enforcement policy. Wrong. Operational issues are for the police, not the politicians, and should remain private. But policy is a public issue and must be spelt out in parliament and to the society.
    We also had Hinkson and Marshall at the press conference, when law enforcement was removed from Hinkson’s portfolio. Why was he there?
    I have been warning for years about the involvement of the RSS in civilian crime fighting. This is not a policy promoted by the Mottley-led government, it is one forced on the Caribbean by the US, Canadians and Brits.
    Finally, seven months after coming to power, she is still blaming the DLP for her lack of initiative. Barbados is staring in to the dark. Mottley s going to bring a form of autocratic government to Barbados that we have never had before. Have readers heard the excuse that the reason she could not deal with the crime epidemic was because he was focussing on the economy? How likely? Crime did not just suddenly happened; this has been steadily growing for 50 years..
    Already presidential, she has now warned that she would not hesitate to put the military on the streets (not only the BDF, but the RSS), it will get very much worse and will end in tears.
    Barbados is a failed state.

42. @T. Inniss,

Am I right in believing that Dottin is a qualified lawyer and criminologist? Ask Dottin if he has ever done a work attachment in North West London and, if so, if he enjoyed the experience?

43. Yeap i heard that press conference and i yawned
    Yes yawned because govt did not say anthing about the root /starting point of this problem.
    Nothing about increased measures at points of entry whete drugs and guns are smuggled into the country
    Not so long ago there was a discussion on placing more security cameras in areas of immigration
    That discussion went up in smoke as unions were the first to fire a warning shot to govt saying Hell No
    Yesterday PR stunt was another deployment of Mia abilty to send smoke in the air to blind the foolish and gullible

44. Question
    Why is govt using the people money as play things
    When govt writes off the milliln of dollars owed to NIS who repays the debt
    Money owed write off or not got to be paid in some manner or fashion
    Is this form.of political gymnasitic govt way of decreasing debt
    Govt has now resorted to a Monopoly economic policy to hide and tranfer the books look to make them look good
    Mean while the bajan household must be told that writes off is just another form of vodoo economics by which govt plans to reduce debt short term while rolling over the debt into the hands of barbadian households to be paid

45. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@Donks Gripe and Josh January 26, 2019 2:39 AM “…she is surrounded by inexperienced in some cases incompetent ministers who have shown they are out of their league.”

Can you please name the experienced and competent ministers from the last administration. You need not name all, just 3 or 4 will do. Thanks.

46. WARU

from her second month in office it was seen that despite what she promised on the political platform to bring DLP thieves to justice…she is the one who has since then blocked every attempt to bring in outside help to investigate the thefts from the people…I was hoping it was not true, but just the suggestion of outside help by a reporter in that video …sent her into a panic, a tailspin….what a thing

Now she is the one doing the thiefing of pensioners funds to make govt books look good
    A form of vodoo economics which will bite bajans in the arsee
    What a thing
    I say lock her up

47. All the “flanking”of ole hands on deck not going to solve the crime problems
    With all the law enforcement on the grounds the criminal plan to bypass police activity was demonstrated on Thursday when one loan gunman eased his way through a crowded street not far from the justice building and assassinate a rival

48. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@Hal Austin January 25, 2019 4:45 PM “Is this the militarisation of civilian policing in Barbados|? Is it the end of our liberal democracy?”

When has Barbados ever been a liberal democracy?

Was that liberal democracy between 1627 and 1838, when Barbados was one of the most heavily fortified, militarised places in the world?

Was it between 1838 and 1937 when the same continued?

For the majority of people Barbados has always been one of the most oppressive places in the world. A place where the majority of the people were oppressed by a rapacious majority. If as many people believe the same rapacious minority and more recent arrivals are importting automatic weapons and cocaine in their commercial containers, and if a a result of this members of the majority population are becoming drug addicted and are killing each other in the streets can you kindly show me the liberal democracy part?

And we must not forget the psychological damage which has been done to our people. Isn’t it still true that there is nothing Bajans like to boast about more is that such and such white person is my friend, and isn’t it true that if a Bajan man marries a white woman he feels as though he has won the social and economic lottery, ever though said woman is an economic burden on him has never gone to work a day in her life?

if we don’t know the problem, then we will never find the solution.

If we insist on believing that Barbados has some glorious history as a liberal democracy, well then…