Prime Minister Theresa May suffered an embarrassing defeat to her BREXIT package in parliament yesterday and will likely face a no Confidence motion later today. If she survives the no confidence motion she will have 70 days before the default clause kicks in to boot the UK from the EU.

What are her options? There is the obvious which is to ask for a delay. Another referendum seems silly. What is ominous for the Tories is that the business sector has separated itself from government’s position.

Across the globe there is a common trend; chaos – the inability of the political class to form partnerships, build coalitions to practice conflict resolutions to arrive at compromise positions.

David, blogmaster

It would require a Water Diviner, a top Senegalese Marabout, an Obeah woman from Benin and a Bajan Bushman, acting in unison, for Theresa Mary May to avoid her fate after the Brexit Deal is voted-down, on Tuesday, in the House of ‘Commons’.

We witnessed firsthand, on June 23, 2016, the British peoples in their majority voting to leave the European Union (EU) – approximately 52% to 48%. The referendum, promised by David Cameron, was a response to the overarching and historic dictatorial tendencies emanating from Brussels but also represented a reassertion of Whiteness and innate neo-fascist tendencies. It has now set a series of processes in place the enormity of which are having the unforeseen consequences few could have imagined.

And, we must admit, that the politics are very difficult on all sides. The main actors are the European Union (EU), the Conservative Party and their coalition partner, (the DUP) and the main opposition Labour Party.

May is facing all manner of rebellion within her ranks. The Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) a far-right, terrorist fringe has called for her resignation. In addition, she faces nay-votes from up to 100 of her own conservative colleagues. These include a number of pretenders to the primeministership – Jacob Rees-Mogg, Boris Johnson, el al.

Not even the last-minute suggestion of a second referendum as part of her proposals to parliament is likely to be sufficient to galvanize enough support from a difficult coalition of conservatives, the DUP, the Blairist labour MPs, and others, to save May’s Brexit Deal. These suggest a most likely ‘Brexit without a deal’, given the calendar and assuming all other political forces ‘remain’ equal, no pun intended.

The man who could be British prime minister by Christmas, Jeremy Corbyn, also has long-running discord within the ranks of the Labour Party with Tony Blair loyalists and ‘EU remainers’ like Chuka Umunna continuing to provide Corbyn with all manner of contrived hurdles include the accusation that Corbyn was an anti-Semite. What a canard!

The EU for its part faces growing geopolitical and internal crises which together may suggest its beginning of the end. However, its outward determination presents a stalwartness aimed at keeping the troops (other EU countries) in line by shooting a general, the UK, in a public place. They, the EU, are unyielding. Suggesting that no other Brexit deal than that already negotiated with Theresa May will be possible after a no-vote in the ‘Commons’, as a further constraint to popular perceptions about sovereignty.

Of course, the sub-plots are the issues relating to Scotland, the re-unification of Ireland, the rekindling of relationships with former colonial possessions, international trading arrangements with major countries etc. All of these are casting uncertainty about the future for both ‘little’ and ‘big’ England. Even in May’s Brexit Deal issues pertaining to the Customs Union, borders, nationality and others ‘remain’ unclear.

We present three (3) possible scenarios that are likely to end this crisis in the short term, though politics pretends to be about making the impossible, possible, some say. These are all predicated on the assumption that Theresa May will be defeated in the House of ‘Commons’ tomorrow.

First, that a general election will be called and that Labour will win but that Corbyn would continue to find Brexiting a difficult proposition. This explains his well-known tactic of neither fully supporting nor fully opposing Brexit in principle.

Second, that the coalition led by May will force her resignation and that one of the pretenders mentioned earlier will assume its leadership. In these circumstances, we see no overt determination to leave the EU if staying remains slightest possibility. This will be a win for Brussels.

Third, and this is the most unlikely scenario, that a radical transplantation occurs in British politics. With this, we ‘may’ see Blairist forces within Labour join with EU ‘remainers’ in the Conservative Party and others to form a new ruling bloc.

As the political undertakers plane the wood for May’s coffin the leading pallbearers, on all sides, are marshalling their forces to be the first at body. Still, it remains uncertain who will get to control the carcass, and what it will mean to be British for the peoples of these islands in the North Atlantic.

508 responses to “The Rise And Fall of Brexit”

1. The wheels are coming off and Mueller still has his powder dry………

2. Bushie likes Trump …because the Bush man knows that the USA has great reparations to pay …and time is short.
    Trump seems like just the kind of leader to put them in the place for their just deserts.

HOWEVER Bushie also tends to judge trees by their fruit.
    It is not at all difficult to judge the Trump (Drumpf) tree.
    – an unashamed, pathological liar
    – a sexual pervert
    – a dishonest businessman
    – a bully
    – a semi-literate moron

History shows us that the Western World has been severely impacted in the past by such trees…
    Kaiser Wilhelm II
    Adolph Hitler
    …and now
    Donald Drumpf.. seems like a natural ‘tree’ for phase three….

What is actually quite amazing, is the type of persons who have come out to actively promote and defend such a tree
    …with such well established shiite fruit.
    …TRULY amazing!!!

But then we have already established that yard fowls have to defend their masters…
    Wuh…
    Even Bushie is bound to defend his master and whacker-supplier…here on BU

but know this …
    Bushie does NOT make sport with shiite fruit…
    WHACK!!!!

3. Hallelujah! What a saviour! is of course the punch line of PP BLISS’ MARVELLOUS HYMN “MAN OF SORROWS WHAT A NAME.

NO TRUMP IS NOT THE SAVIOUR. THE LORD JESUS CHRIST IS THE SAVIOUR, AND HE IS COMING SOON TO FIX EVERYWHERE, WHERE THE WHEELS ARE FALLING OFF

AND YES The show must go on WITH OR WITHOUT MATTIS !

THERE ARE SEVERAL OTHER GENERALS WHO DISAGREE WITH MATTIS.

MATTIS DID HIS JOB FOR TWO YEARS, NOW THAT HE THINKS HE MUST NOT DO AS HE IS TOLD HE HAS GONE OFF UNTO THE SUNSET.

MATTIS WAS NOT ELECTED TO LEAD HE WAS CONSCRIPTED TO FOLLOW
    THATS WHAT HAVING A JOB MEANS

YA DO WUH THE PEOPLE WANT OR YA LEAVE OR YOU ARE ASKED TO LEAVE ah lie?

4. re Trump
    – an unashamed, pathological liar
    – a sexual pervert
    – a dishonest businessman
    – a bully
    – a semi-literate moron
    BUT YET POTUS AND CALLING THE SHOTS!

LOL HA HA

MURDAH
    THE MAN IS A BOSS
    HE JUST GETS THE BU AND OTHER MORONS RILED UP AND THUS PROVIDES ME WITH MUCH GLEE!

RE The wheels are coming off and Mueller still has his powder dry………

YES DAT FELLA MULLING MULLER THAT DID NOT LEARN CERTAIN BASICS AT SCHOOL

IF IT IS THERE…………IT WILL REACT
    IF IT AINT THERE ……IT CANT REACT

RE Mueller still has his powder dry…… YOU MEAN JOHNSON & JOHNSON BABY POWDER?

5. The Congress will make things difficult and in cases where he needs 60 votes in the Senate it maybe problematic.

One has to operate on a bipartisan basis sometimes, it can’t be about conflict all the time.

6. @David

60 votes not 69

7. @Sargeant

It was amended, thanks,

8. The wheels are coming off, will Trump keep his Mar A Lago golf dates over the holidays? Will Nero fiddle while Rome burns?

9. Another opinion!!

“All of these attacks — on the Trump charities, the Trump inauguration committee, and by the two angry (and greedy) women — is piffle. The president can’t lose this match politically, and as his opponents have descended beneath him, he has already won morally.”

https://www.nationalreview.com/2018/12/trump-victory-assured-robert-mueller-investigation/

10. @Sargeant

To be fair to Trump he will have access to make decisions 24/7.

11. Georgie Porgie

“No Mattis isn’t God”

But you ought to know my scholarly friend that a lot of people whom have voted for Trump are now questioning his judgment and whether they made the right choice with Republican support now faltering?

12. RE will Trump keep his Mar A Lago golf dates over the holidays?MOST CERTAINLY

Will Nero fiddle while Rome burns? THIS IS ANCIENT HISTORY

NERO IS LONG DEAD AND THE REVISED ROMAN EMPIRE’S RESURGENCE IS IMMINENT IN FULFILLMENT OF DANIEL 2 &7

RE To be fair to Trump he will have access to make decisions 24/7.
    I AM SURPRISED THAT YOU UNDERSTAND THIS. WOW!

13. Will Marie Antoinette play golf while the Gov’t is shut down? The people have no services “Let them wait until I hear from Faux News or Rush”

The wheels are coming off

14. Judge Wiped The Smile Off Barack Obama’s Face With This Jaw Dropping Ruling
    Barack Obama
    barack Obama spent the last two years gloating.

The former President believed Donald Trump had failed to fulfill one of his signature promises.

But then a judge wiped the smile off Barack Obama’s face in a jaw-dropping ruling.

On the campaign trail, Donald Trump pledged to get rid of Obamacare.

Once in office, he tried to make good on his word.

But he found that the establishment Republicans who had spent the last six years mouthing words about repealing Obamacare were liars.

At first, the House Republicans could not scrounge up the 218 votes necessary to move the bill through the chamber.

Finally, in May they passed a repeal and replace piece of legislation.

The Senate was expected to approve this bill—until the late John McCain strode down the Senate floor and stabbed Trump in the back with his thumbs-down vote.

From that point on, the GOP’s Obamacare repeal efforts looked dead.

Barack Obama and his cheering section in the fake news media celebrated the GOP’s failure because the crown jewel of his socialist agenda appeared entrenched.

But they ignored one case making its way through the courts.

As part of the 2017 Tax Cuts and Jobs Act, Congress reduced the individual mandate penalty to zero.

This penalty was the thin reed Chief Justice John Roberts clung to in 2012 when he wrote that the individual mandate passed constitutional muster because of Congress’ taxing authority.

But now that the tax is zero, conservative activists are once again suing to strike down the mandate as unconstitutional.

15. Chuck Schumer And The Democrats Got Some Bad News From The Last Place They Expected
    schumer

Chuck Schumer and the Democrats were setting the table for 2018 to be dominated by one issue.

The left was waiting for Robert Mueller to drop his report so Schumer and Nancy Pelosi could immediately move to impeach Donald Trump.

But then Schumer and the rest of the Democrats got some really bad news from the last place they ever expected.

Yahoo news reporter Michael Isikoff was one of the go-to journalists for Deep State operatives looking to spread the Russian collusion fake news hoax.

In fact, Christopher Steele was the source for a September 2016 Yahoo article—which the FBI used as corroborating evidence for the Steel dossier in their FISA warrant application.

But two years later, Isikoff’s perspective underwent a sharp reversal.

Isikoff no longer believes in the fairy tale his Deep State sources fed to him during the 2016 campaign.

Anti-Trump radio host John Zeigler interviewed Isikoff expecting him to confirm the Trump-Russia collusion story based on his reporting.

However, Isikoff instead threw cold water all over the credibility of the Steele dossier.

“When you actually get into the details of the Steele dossier, the specific allegations, we have not seen the evidence to support them, and in fact, there is good grounds to think that some of the more sensational allegations will never be proven and are likely false,” Isikoff stated.

Isikoff also noted that Michael Cohen was never charged with lying to Congress when he denied traveling to Prague during Trump’s campaign to facilitate collusion with the Russians.

This was a sign to Isikoff that Steele’s dossier – as well as Mueller’s investigation – were going to come up empty on proving the collusion story.

“Why wasn’t he charged with lying about it? That would have been as serious a lie as the lie he told about the Trump Tower Moscow project,” Isikoff told Zeigler. “All the signs to me are that Mueller is reaching his end game, and we may see less than many people want him to find.”

This makes Isikoff one of the few reporters to do an honest evaluation of this story based on where the facts actually lead.

And it’s terrible news for Democrats.

Nancy Pelosi told her caucus to hold off on impeachment proceedings until they saw what Mueller produced.

Schumer also needs Mueller to deliver the goods because a party-line House impeachment vote is doomed in the Senate.

Isikoff covered this story from the word ‘go’.

He had bought it hook, line, and sinker.

And now he does not believe the dossier’s central thesis – that the Trump campaign worked hand-in-glove with the Russians to steal the 2016 election from Hillary Clinton.

If Mueller strikes out on Russian collusion, it will cast doubt on his entire probe.

That will only add fuel to President Trump’s claims that it was a Democrat hoax and a politically motivated witch hunt.

And it means Schumer and Pelosi’s dreams of impeaching the President will be dealt a major blow.

We will keep you up to date on any new developments in this ongoing story.

THE WHEELS ARE COMING OFF INDEED

16. Michael Cohen makes adamant denial to Mueller team: I’ve ‘never been to Prague’
    December 19, 2018 by Jerry McCormick

Democrats in support of Special Counsel Robert Mueller have long claimed that former Trump lawyer Michael Cohen went to Prague to meet with Russian operatives.

Unfortunately, at least for Democrats and liberals, Cohen has adamantly denied these allegations, claiming that he’s “never been to Prague.”

Sorry Democrats Cohen has found himself in quite a pickle as a result of the Mueller investigation but although he is set to spend the next three years behind bars, it isn’t for alleged collusion between the Trump campaign and the Kremlin.

Indeed, despite pleading guilty to other charges, Cohen maintains his innocence on that front — including that he has never been to Prague, and especially not to meet with Russian operatives.

This is despite allegations on the contrary that were listed in the infamous dossier provided by Christopher Steele to obtain a warrant under the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act (FISA) to surveil a Trump campaign staffer.

Indeed, Cohen and his attorney, Lanny Davis, have been adamant in recent interviews that Cohen hasn’t even been anywhere near the capital of the Czech Republic.

But what makes this even more interesting is that Davis is not exactly a fan of Trump.

He is actually known as a big ally and supporter of Bill and Hillary Clinton.

During the interview, he mentioned that Cohen instructed him to stop answering the questions about Prague, because his answer is never going to change.

This pokes another major hole in the Steele dossier.

Considering how much weight has been put on that dossier during this investigation, Mueller should be very concerned about this.

Mueller is already coming under fire for losing important evidence and creating possible bogus forms during his probe into former national security adviser Michael Flynn.

If Cohen is telling the truth here — and he has no reason to lie about this — Mueller may find himself in front of a Senate committee trying to explain himself.

We can’t wait to see that.

MULLER AND HIS DRY JOHNSON BABY POWDER

17. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Sargeant…yes the wheels are coming off but really from which train…

This shutdown mess is tied up (couldn’t resist) rather badly politically for both POTUS and Dems.

As it stands the Dems will not back down but they absolute need to get the narrative across that they are strongly in favor or extensive border security and not a wasteful physical wall across the entire length of the border.

This will be very interesting.

18. @Dee Word

Have you seen the number of Trump people who have resigned or been fired? There is a saying twenty million Frenchmen…

19. MULLER AND HIS DRY JOHNSON BABY POWDER

++++++++++++++++++

He just needs make sure he applies it properly as it is alleged it can cause cancer!!

20. Desperation has set in, looking for articles critical of Obama, Mueller, Pelosi and Schumer, BTW Obama is no longer President and the Republicans are/were in control of Congress, The Senate and the Presidency for the past two years yet Obamacare is still the law of the land. The Republican House voted at least 54 times to get rid of it when Obama was President but yet they couldn’t come up with a replacement with Trump as President. The orange clown promised that on his first day he would repeal and replace Obamacare with “such great health care at a fraction of the cost” and the gullible are still waiting. In the mid-term the Repubs campaigned for keeping it but their State Atty Gens had already “judge shopped” and found a patsy who was willing to overturn the law now they are like a dog chasing his tail.

Yuh notice that I didn’t cut and paste articles to support the above?

A family that runs a charity like a slush fund and now they are forbidden to be on the board on any charity in the State of NY.

And Mueller waiting in the wings

21. Note Trump was adamant Mexico pays for the Wall, the oooge Wall.

22. Desperation has set in shite

i not , looking for articles critical of Obama, Mueller, Pelosi and Schumer
    i post some of what comes into my inbox when i feel like

I JUST LAUGHING AT WUNNA HATERS
    I HAVE NEVER SEEN AN ARTICLE ON BU THAT IS POSITIVE ABOUT ANYTHING TRUMP DOES, BUT EVERYTIME SOMETHING HAPPENS THAT WUNNA THINK WILL CAUSE THE END OF THE WORLD….THE SAME SET OF WUNNA JUMP UP TALKING SHITE ……..THE WHEELS DROPPING OFF

AND I HEAR LAFFING CAUSE WHAT EVER HAPPEN HEY DEY OR ANYWARE I KNOW THIS

God is working his purpose out,
    as year succeeds to year,
    God is working his purpose out,
    and the time is drawing near;
    nearer and nearer draws the time,
    the time that shall surely be,
    when the earth shall be filled with the glory of God
    as the waters cover the sea.

All we can do is nothing worth
    unless God blesses the deed;
    vainly we hope for the harvest-tide
    till God gives life to the seed;
    yet nearer and nearer draws the time,
    the time that shall surely be,

NOW LET ME HEAR SOME MORE ABOUT THE DROPPING OF WHEELS

23. NOW HERE IS A WOMAN WHO SAYS SHE WONT STEP DOWN BECAUSE TRUMP WILL NEVER CHOSE HER SUCCESSOR

IS HER WHEELS DROPPING OF NOW?

Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg has undergone surgery for a cancerous growth in her lungs according to reports.

According to CNBC:
    Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg, 85, underwent a lung procedure to remove a cancerous growth on Friday, the Supreme Court said in a release.

THIS SILLY OLD WOMAN THINKS SHE IS GREATER THAN GOD
    IS HER WHEELS DROPPING OF NOW?
    CAN SHE REPLACE THE WHEELS ON HER OWN?

24. How come you only post the information (according to you) from your inbox that is anti- Democrat? Did you receive anything about the NRA playing footsies with the Russians? How about Zinke under so many investigations that he got out before the Democrats took over? Do you receive anything about the woman married to the Amway heir who moonlights as Sec. of Education whom everyone agrees is over her head? Nothing about Scott Pruitt who tried to use his influence to get his wife a Chic Fil A franchise? Tom Price and his expensive private jets? The Mooch? Rob Porter (domestic abuser)?

25. @ Sargeant
    What wheels coming off what??!!
    Don’t these people ride on brooms…?

26. RE Did you receive anything about the NRA playing footsies with the Russians? How about Zinke under so many investigations that he got out before the Democrats took over? Do you receive anything about the woman married to the Amway heir who moonlights as Sec. of Education whom everyone agrees is over her head? Nothing about Scott Pruitt who tried to use his influence to get his wife a Chic Fil A franchise? Tom Price and his expensive private jets? The Mooch? Rob Porter (domestic abuser)?

NO AND I DONT NEED TO RECEIVE SUCH
    I JUST NEED TO RECEIVE STUFF TO POKE FUN AT YOU HATERS
    ALL THE STUFF YOU TALKING ABOUT IS IN THE MAIN STREAM MEDIA, ISNT IT. VERY AVAILABLE. WAS SURE YOU HAD IT

27. @GP
    Hate is a strong word, I don’t hate anyone. I may have political or philosophical differences with folks but “hate”? Life is too short and I don’t have the time or energy to waste time hating people.

Bad things happen when people hate other people as we have seen all too often.

Having said that “the wheels are coming off”.

28. Is it only good and right to be an Obama hater????? Quote me the Bible verse for that.

I can tell you what I hate. I hate the stupidity that gave us the term “haters” as meaning someone who criticises the actions of those whose actions are worthy of criticism. I have never used the term because it strikes me as juvenile to say the least and in your case HYPOCRITICAL.

29. All the world needs is love sweet love.

30. if trump could give all of wunnah gastric and peptic ulcers and piles I would be very happy

This apparently is what Christians do whilst waiting to be Raptured.

31. DONNA

RE if trump could give all of wunnah gastric and peptic ulcers and piles I would be very happy

This apparently is what Christians do whilst waiting to be Raptured.

YES VERY MUCH SO!

QUID DIXI, DIXI NO APOLOGIES

Having said that “the wheels are coming off” ALL OVER THE WORLD. AND I AM ENJOYING IT
    YOU SEE
    God is working his purpose out, as year succeeds to year,
    God is working his purpose out, and the time is drawing near;
    nearer and nearer draws the time, the time that shall surely be,

SO LET “the wheels are coming off” ALL OVER THE WORLD. HATERS

32. A top adviser for President Trump, Stephen Miller, destroyed CNN host Wolf Blitzer over the host’s claims that Democrats support border security.

According to The Daily Wire:
    “The Democrats support border security,” Blitzer interjected. “They don’t support $5 billion for a wall.”

“Could you identify Wolf for me, some of the kinds of border security you’re saying the Democrats support?” Miller fired back.

Blitzer couldn’t come up with any examples.

“With all due respect Wolf, they voted against Kate’s law, they voted against ending sanctuary cities, they voted against deporting MS-13 gang members, they voted against deporting violent criminals, they voted time and time again against a physical border wall to stop illegal entry,” Miller fired back.

Miller made clear that the Democrats need to support border security to keep the government funded but they choose not to. Blitzer cut off Miller after being presented the facts and moved on to another issue.

WHAT ELSE COULD THE HATER DO

33. Didn’t this Stephen Miller craft the asylum policy for Trump that the US SC just blocked from being implemented?
    So much winning

34. RE Is it only good and right to be an Obama hater?????
    I dont hate him JUST THINK HE IS SHIT!

THE SHITTY BOY RUNNING AROUND THE USA TRYING TO GET NOTICE BUT NO BODY REALLY GOING TO HIS SHOWS

IT SEEMS THAT HIS WHEELS FELL OFF

Quote me the Bible verse for that.

A GOOD VERSE WOULD BE HOW THE ONE WHO THOUGHT HE IS MIGHTY HAS FALLEN AND HIS WHEELS HAS FALLEN OFF
    QUID DIXI, DIXI NO APOLOGIES

ITS TIME THAT WUNNAH HAVE A SENSE OF BALANCE, WUNNAH TRUMP HATERS

35. The wheels are coming off
    INDEED!
    THE WHEELS CAME OFF IN JUDAH WHEN JOSIAH DIED TOO
    LET THE WHEELS COME OFF

36. The Dow’s worst week in a decade

Nasdaq in a tailspin

Stocks on pace for the worst December since the Depression

Ten good years (eight with Obama) and the stock market/ economy is circling the drain

37. The wheels are coming off
    GOOD LET THEM COME OFF
    THEY COMING OFF HERE THERE AND EVERYWHERE
    LET THEM COME OFF

38. Drumpf passed himself off as Swedish because of anti-German sentiment.

39. Georgie Porgie

“I don’t hate him just think he is shit”

But your opinion only matters if someone values is and in my estimation the BU readership thinks very little of your opinion, so rather than worship the ignorant megalomaniac Trump… you ought to find sometime more useful to do with the short time you have life on earth ….now who cares how stupid, ignorant and imbecilic Trump is? And to spend your precious time worrying about what Trump does and doesn’t do and what Obama does and doesn’t do speak to a man who has a lot of time on his hand and does not know how to use it productively…

40. Neither do I hate Trump. I just think he is double shit!

HATER!

41. good
    so the wheels are coming off lol

42. Trump wants a beautiful fence now, not a oooge wall.

43. This one looks even more like him.

44. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Yes Mr Blogmaster…I do note the many EXCELLENT people, the best and brightest is how they were touted as I recall, have resigned/been fired !

Has anyone noticed that POTUS is prouy shuttering govt because of the biggest lie of the century…

Did he not say – as you noted – that MEXICO was paying for this wall… How does that work then that US federal system is closed as a result of the missing Mexico peso payment .

What a dastardly con artist ! 😂

But heh the dude is such a great fella.

45. It is not a wall, it is a fence, a beautiful fence!

46. @Dee Word & Sargeant

How does one explain Chief Justice John Roberts vote today?

47. Not all judges are created equal. Some are interested in justice rather than politics.