Read the full document (INDICTMENT)

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Monday, August 6, 2018

Former Member of Barbados Parliament and Minister of Industry Indicted for Money Laundering

Donville Inniss Allegedly Laundered Bribes through a Long Island Company

A three-count indictment was unsealed today in federal court in Brooklyn charging Donville Inniss, a former member of the Parliament of Barbados and the Minister of Industry, International Business, Commerce and Small Business Development of Barbados, with conspiracy to launder money and money laundering.ย  The charges stem from Innissโ€™s acceptance of bribes from a Barbadian insurance company in 2015 and 2016 when he was a public official.ย  Inniss was arrested Friday and was arraigned today before United States Magistrate Judge Julie Sneed in the Middle District of Florida at the federal courthouse in Tampa.ย  Inniss was released on a $50,000 bond.

Richard P. Donoghue, United States Attorney for the Eastern District of New York, Brian A. Benczkowski, Assistant Attorney General of the Justice Departmentโ€™s Criminal Division, and William F. Sweeney, Jr., Assistant Director-in-Charge, Federal Bureau of Investigation, New York Field Office (FBI), announced the indictment.

According to the indictment, between August 2015 and April 2016, Inniss engaged in a scheme to accept approximately $36,000 in bribes from high-level executives of an insurance company headquartered in Barbados (โ€œthe Barbados Companyโ€) and launder that money through the United States.ย  In exchange for the bribes, Inniss leveraged his position as the Minister of Industry to enable the Barbados Company to obtain two government contracts.ย  Inniss concealed the bribes by arranging to receive them through a dental company and a bank located in Elmont, New York.ย  Barbados Company executives transferred the funds to the dental company using an invoice falsely claiming that the payments were for consulting services.ย  During the time of the charged conspiracy, Inniss was a legal permanent resident of the United States residing in Tampa, Florida and Barbados.

โ€œAs charged in the indictment, Inniss abused his position of trust as a government official by taking bribes from a Barbadian company, then laundered the illicit funds through a bank and a dental company located in the Eastern District of New York,โ€ stated United States Attorney Donoghue.ย  โ€œThe Department of Justice will continue to hold accountable corrupt government officials here or abroad who use the U.S. financial system to facilitate their criminal conduct.โ€

โ€œDonville Inniss allegedly used the U.S. financial system to launder bribes he received while serving as a government official in Barbados,โ€ said Assistant Attorney General Benczkowski.ย  โ€œThese charges demonstrate the commitment of the Department and our law enforcement partners to hold accountable anyone who seeks to use our financial system to promote or launder the corrupt proceeds of their crimes.โ€

The charges in the indictment are merely allegations, and the defendant is presumed innocent unless and until proven guilty.

Assistant United States Attorney Sylvia Shweder of the Eastern District of New Yorkโ€™s Business and Securities Fraud Section, and Trial Attorney Gerald M. Moody, Jr., of the Criminal Divisionโ€™s Fraud Section, are in charge of the prosecution.

The Defendant:

DONVILLE INNISS
Barbados

E.D.N.Y. Docket No. 18-CR-134 (KAM)

776 responses to “Former Minister Donville Inniss Indicted for Money Laundering”

1. peterlawrencethompson
    August 6, 2018 10:25 PM

Exactly.

2. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol..they got him good Crusoe..he likes to sell out his people for paper, well this next sell out is to save his own ass, no paper required..I already told them they are worse than those who bought and sold their ancestors because they should know better, but these “educated” negros still dont understand or care for anything but filling their pockets no matter who gets sold out and it it’s always their people getting sold by them..what a colossal waste of taxpayer’s money spent educating these useless former parliamentarians.

We have been warning these exministers and even the current ministers repeatedly, they never listened, we ain’t paying no bribes so we ain’t nobody to listen to,..lol

3. Hal Austin
    August 7, 2018 4:05 AM

Hal, they have a different Canadian running it now. And the parent company is run by a Canadian.

4. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Inniss could really do himself a favor and make amends to the people in Barbados. by bringing down the whole minority Cartel of drugs, guns, money laundering etc, once ya get them, their black workers in the deoressed areas will lose their distributors, bring down that minority Cartel that repeatedly robs the treasury and pension fund like it’s their piggy bank; am sure Inniss knows each and every one of them on a first name basis….time to clean up the island of these human garbage.

5. how long does it take to become a legal permanent resident, they only lost the election.

6. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley.

De ole man would wish to offer another bit of advice.

The world of finance is a very small world because of the internet.

The old bajanism about “you can hide and buy land but you cannot hide and wuk um” shold be instructive to all persons, especially ingrunt bajans, in light of the Panama Papers fiasco.

Nothing is sacrosanct any more and people will sell you out for money OR FAME or both and sometimes because of “Come to Jesus” moments

What i am saying in my usual roundabout way is that AT ANY TIME THAT YOU SEE ONE OF THOSE 25 MINISTERS DOING FOOLISHNESS, be the first person to throw them under the bus so to speak

From all this commess that you are seeing every single day, YOU CANNOT AFFORD TO BE AT THE CENTRE OF ANY STUPIDNESS if you want to last for 5 years at least.

And here is an item that my grandson sent to remind you of one of your tasks for Barbados

https://i.imgur.com/u1k8rPn.png

7. Mariposa
    Only last week you were calling Mottley a liar who fooled the Bajan electorate into believing that then members of the DLP Cabinet were corrupt. This week one of its former senior ministers is arrested for money laundering resulting from bribery at a state board. The false invoicing reminds me of the $3.3M invoice.๐Ÿค”
    All yuh sure it’s ICBL?๐Ÿค

8. the overwhelming majority here seem to think that Donville and other DLP ministers are guilty of M/L and or theft but last week the said majority was extolling the virtues of Herbert to somehow show that Herbert would not have involved himself in drug running/possession. Nobody or v few went on to say that others in the company Herbert is the president of and on whose yacht he was caught were complicit.

i saw a poster say the DLP ministers stole billions. how do you steal billions and where do you put it? does that poster understand the M/L regime around the world especially for PEP from shithole countries?

i hate to say this but i think black people are socialised to think Whites are innocent or even if they arent, we never transfer their guilt to the larger white population or even to a group but when it comes to black people it is a different story.

that is not to say that Donville is innocent or that Herbert, Rogers and GEL and all the whites in Bim arent

9. Mafia USA has a weird system of Justice where you can snitch like a bitch and do a deal which the will Courts approve of.
    Assuming he wasn’t operating alone then he can sing.

10. Isn’t Mr. Inniss innocent until proven guilty? Just like the fellows on the drug boat?
    How come there was no front page spread for the fellows on the drug boat?
    There has to be more to this story that we don’t know about, right?

Didn’t Mr Inniss attend Harsun Kolij? Where are his advocates? PLT , Quaker John, etc.

11. Couldn’t comment yesterday because I had more than a few wuk-ups to do on Spring Garden. Nice festival. Prepare to come and enjoy next year.

Donville of course enjoys the presumption of innocence, and as an American permanent resident, he has the right to plead the 5th Amendment, the right not to incriminate himself

But this morning I am not sure whether to say to David the blog-master “Cuhdear” or “Ya lie.” However what I will not say is ‘lock them up” but I will say is “people who live in glass houses should not throw stones”

This morning I am wondering how much less the insurance contract would have cost BIDC [that is us, the tax-payers] if as alleged by the Americans bribery was not involved. And was this not the same BIDC that under the leadership of Donville’s ministry was sending home 60 year old long serving female employees, knowing full well that none of them can claim their full National Insurance pensions until they are 65 or 67 years old, and that if they claimed their pensions at 60 they would have to have their pensions permanently discounted by 30% or 42%. And knowing full well that some of these employees may still have had born late in life dependent children, perhaps still at university?

Our poorest pensioners only now receive $900 Barbados per month [$450], i know some of these people including a cousin with severe Down syndrome who has never been able to go to work. he has no speech etc. but he is human and still has to eat, use utilities and have a roof over his head like anybody else.

And here we have recently, not one, but 2 HC “boys”, our high flyers arrested, men who have enjoyed the benefits of excellent tax funded educations. I wonder if these fellas even think about how do people who have to survive on $600 to $900 BDS [$300 to $450 USD] per month get by?

Hal likes to say that Barbados is a failed state. Our old people were foolish enough to believe that ‘a little bit with content is great gain,” we mau not be a failed state, but our moral moorings have certainly shifted.

12. Are we sure the Barbados authorities had anything to do with this arrest? What I want to know is if the criminal justice authorities in Barbados has taken any initiatives: freezing his bank account; putting a lien on his properties; auditing his local bank accounts?

13. Look what it took to bring back mine and Vivek’s buddy Enuff.

To upstage this money laundering and bribery bust, the retaliation better be damn good..lol

14. Oh Well
    Enuff. my words remain as is Mia is a liar
    She has demonstrated such many times over
    Donville Innis problems does not remove that stench that would linger over her because of her past history
    And least we forget Four Seasons and her collusion
    Now if you want to speak ill of Donville Inniss go right ahead
    But becareful how you tread
    Mine today yours tomorrow
    It aint over till the fat lady sings

15. “However what I will not say is โ€˜lock them upโ€

but Dumbville sent around a voice note to the blog just about 10 days saying “lock then to fck up” re the Herbert drug bust, so he is now better off taking his own advice and lock them all to fck up…if he wants to save his own ass and get it out of that vice grip he himself put it in….

….the US operates much differently to anything his shallow little mind can conjure up..he better be good and lock up all who has destroyed the island, at least give his sons something they can look up to…by making amends..

16. @David August 6, 2018 7:46 PM “Interesting this old charge got laid on Inniss at this time.”

Sitting Cabinet Ministers enjoy diplomatic immunity, but once the people of St. James ousted Donville Inniss on May 24th his diplomatic immunity was ripped away from him, whether or not he had returned his Barbados passport to the Barbados government.

So in fact the power of the people’s “X” made Donville simply Mr. X down the road, a political and diplomatic nobody.

I am not sure if all the fellas understand that a diplomatic passport is only good for as long as you hold the diplomatic/Parliamentary pick.

Once your government or your people dismisses you, the diplomatic passport dead, dead, dead. Ya may as well throw it out with the dirty diapers, left over food and dog doo-doo. But it is better simply to return it to the Immigration Department.

17. “I am not sure if all the fellas understand that a diplomatic passport is only good for as long as you hold the diplomatic/Parliamentary pick.”

Only good for as long as the PEOPLE who elected you keep you in the parliament..the ones now enjoying that status in parliament should take note if they are not sure…

18. @Hal

the question about the Bajan authorities seizing assets etc is a nonsense. not even in the UK can you engage in that unless an investigation is being conducted and certain information at hand, enough to satisfy a Judge. there is no evidence that such an investigation is being conducted in Barbados or at least to that extent.

altho it may be a case of Bajan authorities passing on the matter of the ML to the USA as it occurred there.

the bribery or corruption took place in Bim and it is now up to Bim authorities to mount an investigation. but why waste money and time when the US seems to handling the matter?

19. @David August 6, 2018 8:07 PM “Where are the DEMS?”

David you got me here wondering if you ban our friend Mariposa.

20. They waste money and time on all the other crap..it’s time to send a message to local politicians and government ministers that bribery and corruption using public contracts, public funds etc will no longer be tolerated..by black bajans in parliament…

why should US and Canada be left to do all the work and no one is held accountable in Barbados..why???..that is a warped, lazy and dangerous mentality and the main reason why corruption and theft of public funds and contracts flourishes on the island…between government ministers and business people.

21. for those who keep thinking that law enforcement in USA is somehow better than law enforcement anywhere else, you know nothing or nothing about the US. the system is piss poor on the city, state and national level. like everywhere in the world it depends on who you are and how rich you are.

on the national level they go for quick convictions where they turn some high level crock who then gives up someone higher or whom the DOJ is after. sometimes that person make up stuff and attribute his actions to the targetted person. so we ought to be careful when praising these systems of which we know little and have some romantic virtuous views of.

22. @Ping Pong August 6, 2018 8:18 PM “…the fatted calf may be off limits?”

Too many of our political class already too fat and whoopsy. I am sure that their doctors, as has mine, lol!!! have advised them to stay away from all kinds of fat, whether from calves, pigs, insurance executives, whatever.

23. Well well
    I never left, and I am still not making any direct comments in relation to the innocence/guilt of the white men or the black boy from the Gardens. Not a CSI or FIU specialist.๐Ÿคฃ

24. I ask again, are you sure it’s ICBL? Is ICBL domiciled in Bermuda or St.Lucia?๐Ÿค

25. James Greene,

You are right. We make the automatic assumption that because the US is the largest economy in the world, it is first in everything else. Its legal system stinks. Just look at plea bargaining.
    But this should not distract us from the Donville Inniss allegations. It appears to me these are charges that should have been brought in Barbados. It is aa vote of lack of confidence in the local system by the Yanks. All this information came out of the embassy. That is why they have so many law enforcement officers posing as diplomats.

26. The real joke is that wunna needed to have people from over and away arrest and charge someone before wunna could see that bribery was a way of life for local politicians.??!!
    Bushie has been saying so for YEARS….

What the Hell!!
    -These people have been OPENLY giving and taking bribes now for decades.
    -We had businessmen go on TV to explain that they give bribes ROUTINELY to politicians
    -ACTUAL cheques were bandied about on TV ..and at mass meetings…
    -People brazenly show off property that they could NEVER justify – and not only politicians
    -things happen that CLEARLY point to bribery having been used – things like Sandals,
    -Business people OPENLY complain of requests for bribes in order to get routine approvals

……and we suddenly jumping and shouting because the Americans (the masters of all bribery and greed) decides to put some screws on perhaps the dumbest moron among the DLP house of idiots.???!!

Wait….
    Do we have a DPP?
    Is there a CoP?
    Will the various AG’s be now charged for negligence /complicity?

If these shiitehounds are now allowed to continue as usual, we may as well shut up shop, and enjoy the last moments of HMS Titanic as she sinks below the waves….

What kind of people are so completely helpless and blind as to sit meekly like chickens while being physically plucked…?
    …until someone else points out to them that they are now practically featherless yardfowls…
    Steupsss…
    Hal may be right after all …about the failed state thing.

27. @Bush Tea

Refer to comments made publicly by Bizzy about the need to grease the palms of the PIP.

28. @well well
    the difficulty in investigating this type of crime is

1- it is a specialist type of crime and not much investigator are familiar with it and want to do it- even in the US
    2-it is particularly difficult in small jurisdictions like Bim where executives will not give a statement to police or even talk to police without some court order.
    3- there is no appetite to investigate such matter by Government/ police
    4-it is difficult to get information from government departments and private sector
    5-the police in Bim cannot offer immunity to witnesses like the FEDS can do in the US
    6- the FEDS have a myriad of laws especially tax laws that they used. In Bim that would be difficult
    7- charging and court trials are quicker in the US with their plea bargaining laws

for all those reasons it is best to have the US authorities handle these matter when it occurs in their jurisdiction

29. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

I will presume Mr. Inniss to be innocent until proven guilty, but I am shocked and saddened by this indictment. I knew from the Cahill affair that there was deep corruption in the DLP administration; I was told that the preceding BLP administration was equally compromised. What is startling in this case is that the allegations concern such a minuscule amount of money… yes I know that US$16k to US$20k amount to a whole year’s wages for most Barbadians, but for Mr. Inniss it was just a couple of month’s ministerial salary. I understand that temptation would be significant if there was a chance to scam several million and set a person up for a comfortable retirement as is the hearsay in the case of the Minister who is alleged to have made such a multi million deposit to his mother’s bank account. But US$36k??

Am I to accept that he took such enormous risk for such a piddling reward? Am I to assume that he took a 1.75% or more in kickbacks for every contact no matter how insignificant if it lay within the purview of his ministry?

Several of you in recent weeks have sought to educate me out of assumption that smart people do not do extremely stupid things. Now I left Kolij before he arrived so I never knew him as a schoolboy, and I had only a couple of conversations with Mr. Innis when he was Minister of Industry but he did not seem at all stupid to me.

So if tiefin’ is so ingrained in our business and political culture as all the pessimists on BU are insisting, how do we change our culture?

30. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ James Greene

Your post of 7.41 a.m. has an element of truth to it as it relates to the loop holes in the US rather cosmopolitan city justice systems as was eloquently pointed out here by the Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch in his post.

But here is the thing.

Dese fellers teif hundreds of millions of dollars and waste several millions more pun dem friends.

Some fellers “trail” of evidence going take a while to unravel and others theirs going lead to dead ends.

But there are a few whose financial transactions are very clear and are known.

So right now, throughout the government departments, the forensics are being done.

Some people are taking early retirements and others are still holding on to their jobs HOPING THAT THEY ARE NOT CAUGHT OUT.

What would you want me to do IF YOU IS MY FRIEND but I got to do someting bout you and de other fellers?

It does not make sense to get up in the HoA and tell you “I know dat you teif de $$$ Holiday or Menses or whatever fictitious name de ole man jes mek up to mek a point to you.

For some of them the US Money laundering route is going to be a perfect legal route.

All dat big money dem sen way to America and England via traceable Central Bank transfers going be the same money that going incriminate them and Charles Herbert too, IF HE GUILTY.

But here is another ting.

For de politicians and SOE heads. who mek up a company online, or email dem friends and tell dem to invoice them, or den mek up a contract, and den was ingrunt enough to lef a paper trail to those friends or make wire transfers to those companies MIA IS EITHER GOING FOR THEM HERSELF or use proxies to go for them.

As should it be.

Let me ask you, what is your position on the blatant teifing that the Auditor General has highlighted for all these years?

Do you feel the teives should be prosecuted?

31. @Hal A
    What I want to know is if the criminal justice authorities in Barbados has taken any initiatives: freezing his bank account; putting a lien on his properties; auditing his local bank accounts?
    Wait a minute, he hasnโ€™t been charged in Barbados ( as far as I know) so how could the Govโ€™t proceed to do this without a Court Order?

32. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Peter Lawrence Thompson

It is alot more money than this but to tell you more would be to expose ***

33. @PLT

listen, mate. bribery is to politics as white is to rice. why do we want to bury our heads in the sand? in fact many business people have told me so. it cuts thru the red tape and it is something they understand. they pay money and they get things done.

that is not to say it is right. that is why i like Singapore laws where everything turns on anti public corruption laws. there is no more corrupt government department in Bim than customs and yet no one talks about that

34. Maybe this is an example of Greed; Sloppiness on Inniss’ behalf or a Set Up. Maybe it a Combo? Whatever combination it happens to be; Ex Min Inniss is in some deep bovine excrement.

35. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Your assistance please with 2 items thank you

36. “and I had only a couple of conversations with Mr. Innis when he was Minister of Industry but he did not seem at all stupid to me.”

and that is despite me warning repeatedly how Dumbville he is..

It’s the greed and covetousness culture which has to be eliminated…once elected by the people, none of the ministers are content with 17,000 dollars a month anymore, just listen to that greedy clown in the Mia government Clarke..

..they no longer want one car, that is nt satisfying, they want 6 to 8 cars..one mansion or two in Dumbville’s case is not sufficient, he must build 6 mansions…not including the condo in Tampa and other places..they are greedy, envious, avaricious with eyes bigger than their stomachs..

They do not enter the parliament to help the people who elected them, they enter to help themselves.

Fix that and everything else will fall into place.

37. Is this a case of Uncle Sam to the rescue? Until it is proven different I believe the DEA is behind the tipoff of the Ecstasy, any local/regional song birds would have been arbitrarily dismissed because of the principals/Corporation of ownership but to ignore the DEA would be a whole other issue.

Can we outsource the policing of our nation to the US? Just joking! they have a whole lotta problems too.

38. On such small amounts and given the resources required for the investigation and any trial….Feds must be after a bigger fish to fry. Donville is going to sing and end up in witness protection….but this is just the beginning.

39. Do we know if the arrest of Donville is a standalone operation or was it a sting.

40. @James Greene August 7, 2018 8:11 AM

When we had the chance to neuter this monster(corruption et al) when is was much younger/smaller we did nothing. Now the big monster(s) are running(ruining) things and we are all afraid that the monster(s) will not us like or will eat us alive.

Morale of the story. Don’t let the genie(corruption) out of the bottle unless u know how to put him/her back in. Pixies dust only does good in the movies on the big screen. In the real world it doesn’t do a bit of good.

41. “Am I to accept that he took such enormous risk for such a piddling reward? Am I to assume that he took a 1.75% or more in kickbacks for every contact no matter how insignificant if it lay within the purview of his ministry?”

Taking US36,000 in bribes from at least 50 business people over a 10 year period ain’t too shabby….would like to hear who bribed him as minister of health…he had to be removed from that ministry he was about to sell the whole hospital and health care system.. to another insurance company.

so let’s see

$36,000 x 50 people. = 1,800,000 US

along with other bribes larger ones and legal activities including apartment buildings rental ..not shabby at all.

42. Corruption is always present, it will never be eliminated. It is like arguing man is without sin. What we need is a framework that encourages whistleblowing and civic mindedness by the citizenry. This is where social media will help to prod things along the correct path. We do not always get it right but speaking for the BU household, if we are shown to have made a wrong call we will correct, quickly.

43. @PLT

Let’s not move on to “how do we improve” just yet….let’s catch the criminal bastards first. This is only one of many. No time for sweeping the issue under the rug as we do so well in Barbados.

And how is it that our investigative authorities did not lead or break this investigation? Ahhh…..corruption runs deep doesn’t it?

44. @Well Well
    Quoting you ” They do not enter the parliament to help the people who elected them, they enter to help themselves.

Fix that and everything else will fall into place.”

I am looking at this with a bit of humour. If you fix that then “who in hell would want to run for parliament. ๐Ÿ™‚ Maybe you and me?

It seem that the mere thought of having power corrupts. This corruption starts long before reaching parliament. I feel the corruption drives those persons to seek parliament in the first place. No saints seek political office bout hay.

45. For years the blogmaster has been asking why have we not seen more arrest on money laundering charges in Barbados. There is an army of staff and laws working to detect suspicious transactions yet nothing. Not counting the fishy Phillip Nicholls charge.

46. Sargeant,

Of court you need court authority, that is the rule of law. But all his assets in Barbados should b frozen. He is facing serious charges which, it is alleged, took place in Barbados. He is now on bail which means he can contact associates in Barbados.

47. @TheoGazerts August 6, 2018 8:59 PM “Deposit over $10,000 US attracts a measure of attention for the US government.”

Thieves should be aware that U.S. law has been amended to include “structuring” that is you do not have to deposit $10,000. But if they suspect that you re depositing say $9,995 or $5,000 twice etc. etc. they can still get you for money laundering.

This is how I would advise the political class. If you have been offered and decide to accept a bribe, or as we call it in Barbados a “progue”, not be be confused with pirouge a go-fastboat as used by drug traffickers. Deposit the money in a suitcase under your bed…then spend it on your CONSTITUENTS, buy them shoes, schoolbags, send baskets of fruit for the sick/elderly at home, pay for academic, piano and swimming lessons for other people’s children, send a few to university.

In other words. Don’t spend the bribe money on you and yours.

Give it ALL away.

But whatever you do do NOT, I repeat do NOT hide it in Uncle Sam’s place. Uncle Same aint your nice, nice Auntie Eunice, Uncle Sam is NOT some sweet, sweet, kind, gentle elder.

Everybody get it now?

48. “Can we outsource the policing of our nation to the US? Just joking! they have a whole lotta problems too.”

Exactly……and much bigger problems too, we all get a thrill from demonizing the US but it is really time for Barbados and the Caribbean to start locking up their own corrupt ministers/politicians and business people and stop leaving it to the US to clean up that mess…show some spine and balls and take down these criminals who believe themselves to be untouchable and above the law…

49. Greene totally forgot he was a mock police on BU..calling for me to be arrested not even two weeks ago, yet here he is wanting Barbados to give corrupt politicians and business people a free pass and let the US do all the work of locking them up..well, well, well.

50. “calling for me to be arrested not even two weeks ago, ”

actually, though Greene was encouraging the lock up of me, it was Artex pretending to be Wexford who called for my lock up…ya can’t make any of this up, I bet both of them done forgot all of that, after all it’s been longer than 15 seconds..lol