Read the full document (INDICTMENT)

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Monday, August 6, 2018

Former Member of Barbados Parliament and Minister of Industry Indicted for Money Laundering

Donville Inniss Allegedly Laundered Bribes through a Long Island Company

A three-count indictment was unsealed today in federal court in Brooklyn charging Donville Inniss, a former member of the Parliament of Barbados and the Minister of Industry, International Business, Commerce and Small Business Development of Barbados, with conspiracy to launder money and money laundering.ย  The charges stem from Innissโ€™s acceptance of bribes from a Barbadian insurance company in 2015 and 2016 when he was a public official.ย  Inniss was arrested Friday and was arraigned today before United States Magistrate Judge Julie Sneed in the Middle District of Florida at the federal courthouse in Tampa.ย  Inniss was released on a $50,000 bond.

Richard P. Donoghue, United States Attorney for the Eastern District of New York, Brian A. Benczkowski, Assistant Attorney General of the Justice Departmentโ€™s Criminal Division, and William F. Sweeney, Jr., Assistant Director-in-Charge, Federal Bureau of Investigation, New York Field Office (FBI), announced the indictment.

According to the indictment, between August 2015 and April 2016, Inniss engaged in a scheme to accept approximately $36,000 in bribes from high-level executives of an insurance company headquartered in Barbados (โ€œthe Barbados Companyโ€) and launder that money through the United States.ย  In exchange for the bribes, Inniss leveraged his position as the Minister of Industry to enable the Barbados Company to obtain two government contracts.ย  Inniss concealed the bribes by arranging to receive them through a dental company and a bank located in Elmont, New York.ย  Barbados Company executives transferred the funds to the dental company using an invoice falsely claiming that the payments were for consulting services.ย  During the time of the charged conspiracy, Inniss was a legal permanent resident of the United States residing in Tampa, Florida and Barbados.

โ€œAs charged in the indictment, Inniss abused his position of trust as a government official by taking bribes from a Barbadian company, then laundered the illicit funds through a bank and a dental company located in the Eastern District of New York,โ€ stated United States Attorney Donoghue.ย  โ€œThe Department of Justice will continue to hold accountable corrupt government officials here or abroad who use the U.S. financial system to facilitate their criminal conduct.โ€

โ€œDonville Inniss allegedly used the U.S. financial system to launder bribes he received while serving as a government official in Barbados,โ€ said Assistant Attorney General Benczkowski.ย  โ€œThese charges demonstrate the commitment of the Department and our law enforcement partners to hold accountable anyone who seeks to use our financial system to promote or launder the corrupt proceeds of their crimes.โ€

The charges in the indictment are merely allegations, and the defendant is presumed innocent unless and until proven guilty.

Assistant United States Attorney Sylvia Shweder of the Eastern District of New Yorkโ€™s Business and Securities Fraud Section, and Trial Attorney Gerald M. Moody, Jr., of the Criminal Divisionโ€™s Fraud Section, are in charge of the prosecution.

The Defendant:

DONVILLE INNISS
Barbados

E.D.N.Y. Docket No. 18-CR-134 (KAM)

776 responses to “Former Minister Donville Inniss Indicted for Money Laundering”

1. @Hants August 6, 2018 8:56 PM “The big question is were there others who were foolish enough to launder money in the USA.”

Long ago and far away an American diplomat who had previously served in Barbados told me in blunt undiplomatic language that he was surprised that Donville had been elected, that he did not think that Donville was very bright.

So yes Donville. That is how your American “friends” have long thought of you. You are presumably innocent, but if you should be convicted it will only prove to your American “friends” that they had been right about you all along.

And that we Bajans are idiots too.

2. Ah wonder if our buddy GP in Tampa..he declared he is not in Dade County..just curious.

3. The modern day civil service and politicians are not about changing anything that will decrease their chances of “geting sumting for nothing”
    In the Bible they had to wait for an entire generation to die out before God kinda trusted the newer ones with the promise he made their parents and grand parents. . Maybe that is the same here, unfortunately if you are worshipping the “god of corruption” we maybe stuck in an endless loop.

If we have or believe we have corruption in our DNA then we are doomed. This maybe the best that it gets.

4. @ David

from what i have heard the Bim ML laws are more about reporting than about enforcement. that is why under the mutual evaluation of Bim ML regime Bim was so rounding criticised.

from what i understand no one has ever been prosecuted for ML except where they property was confiscated as a result of a theft or fraud charge. i have never heard of a person convicted for drug being charged for ML to do with money they have in their accounts or property they own. i stand to be corrected

5. @well well

i never called for you to be arrested i merely said you didnt know what you were talking about. the same thing is happening now

6. If Bdos Underground is concerned about fixing the problem of greed in public office,corruption,lack of Integrity,transparency & honesty and the issue of governance,then BU should have been attacking frontally and forcefully this new administration which started off by using the public purse to enhance their friends and family at a time of very scarce resources and by hiring Tsars,Ambassadors and Consultants at a time when the people of this country is being asked to make a sacrifice.

I find that especially galling in light of the big noise the then BLP opposition – led by Mia motley – made about the last govt decision to restore their 10% after giving up that portion of their salary for 2 years.

How does BU intend to keep this government on their toes huh ?

BU should like Barbados Today -been raising the issue of Charles Jong – a man currently working for more than one CARICOM government at the same time – all done out of taxpayers money – and with no disclosure by Mia Mottley as to his hiring terms,salary,need for this appointment,conflict of interest implications etc.

Now we are seeing a big storm brewing in Dominica about what they feel is the underhand way Mia worked to collude with Ross University to leave Dominica and come to Barbados.Even The Nation Newspaper is carrying the story.

Is that something BU should explore having regard for the big cheer BU said Mia was given when she spoke at the CARICOM Heads of Govt meeting in Jamaica and we were told how Bdos now is being viewed with pride and the long applause and other commendations she got and all the other glowing stuff from the blog owner.

Should we discuss if how this Ross Medical School matter was handled as CARICOM Partners (Dominica/Barbados) was the right way – given that Skeeritt, the prime minister of Dominica even came up here to congratulate on the night of her victory.

What about an article on White Oaks or on the 5 drug lords invited by Mia to the opening of Parliament?
    Are we really interested in good governance as is stated here or is that only a convenient talking point when it involves the DLP?

Currently there is no opposition in place and the major players in the Media are deep in the hip pocket of this government.

So there is a need for responsible social media sites to be extremely watchful as we guard this fragile democray and not be an extension of the public relations arm of the BLP.

7. The long reach must also stretch to senior civil servants. I can give an example, but won’t, of a serious breach of confidentiality by a senior civil servant, which horrified me.

8. Greene…seems you are the only one on the blog knows what you are talking about yet all that we have said in the last 6 years have come to pass…yet you only arrived a few weeks after May 24th..

So since you know all ya talking about…what’s next.

9. @Caswell Franklyn August 6, 2018 10:03 PM “Depends and similar adult diapers must be selling out.”

David, why are you letting the Senator use un-Parliamentary language? Lolll!!!

10. Articles should be done to cover issues on both the DLP and BLP but if we are saying we want to see a change in how govenance is done in bdos then we have to scrutnise and nip in the bud any unacceptable behavior by this incoming administration especially given the past history of many of their elected members.

Else we are spitting in people’s faces and telling them its rain.

11. Just from the banter here on BU, the REAL problem is crystal clear….
    We have become a nation of brass-bowl albino-centrics ….whose only reference points are money, power and self.

This repeated reference to the ‘small amount involved’ is telling… as is the resigned thinking that “corruption is unavoidable”.
    Someone who would ‘only’ sell out for $10M is just as crooked and compromised as is someone who would take $50. There is a PRINCIPLE involved here which has nothing to do with amounts.

Simple Simon’s stupid joke about ‘keeping the bribe in a suitcase and giving it to the poor’ is even worse…
    Lotta shiite.
    When public officials value principle, then bribes do NOT come into play AT ALL. When they don’t, they deserve the worse possible fate….

ANYONE who takes any bribe becomes a mindless slave to the bribe-giver. You either fall deeper and deeper into the trap – or you get exposed and embarrassed publicly.
    When a PUBLIC OFFICIAL allows themselves to fall into such a trap, they are nothing but traitors to the society.

The problem we now face is ‘who will bell the cat?”
    Who have clean enough hands to do this CRITICAL job of belling…?
    Have we passed the point of no possible return…?

Is our ass grass….?
    Unfortunately, Bushie thinks that the ‘ayes’ have it….

12. “Currently there is no opposition in place”

The defunct DLP really gotta change their name and faces now, we been telling them, but no one listens to people who can’t pay bribes..lol

13. @FearPlay August 6, 2018 10:11 PM “Oh dear, I hope that none of this involves the โ€˜leperโ€™!”

The leper is not a leper. According to our former Prime Minister Freundel Jerome Stuart, the man you people call the leper, is his friend.

14. @ Bush Tea August 7, 2018 9:12 AM

I think you have hit the nail on the head. Unfortunately it may be the nail in the coffin(s) we call Barbados and good governance.

When i was younger the “bush tea” was a beverage and a medicine. I don’t know how to swallow what you have said. Is it a medicine or a beverage?

Either way we need a good dose of purgatives(castor oil) to fix this place we call home; unless we awake from our slumber on day to find ourselves homeless or nation-less for we have sold our soles when we were asleep at the wheel.

15. @ well well

i only comment on matters with which i am familiar or have knowledge of. that is how i know you were talking crap about legal procedures re Herbert

16. As to Inniss, after a single conversation with him, Bushie dubbed him to be ‘Dumbville’.
    A more simple minded, albino-centric, self-centered joker cannot be contemplated.
    This was not an academic assessment, but one based on character and community-centric predisposition.
    But…
    Time is short and mother Karma has lots of work to do.
    The ride has only just begun….

As Caswell says, if wunna know wunna will need them, go out now and get those adult diapers while they are still available….

17. ” he is innocent “

18. Is there now time for a public sector gifts and entertainment policy; and for a number of key people signing off on contracts? Only failed states do not have policies because they get in the way of incompetence and fraud.

19. @T.Inniss

BU is NOT Barbados Today, we have our approach that is not suffocated by agendas.

20. Why are the blp yardfowls keep looking for Mariposa?
    I have already put my two cents worth
    Unlike PTL and Enuff i have not stuck my neck out to act as a defending mouth piece for Inniss as tge two did for herbert
    Inniss has lawyers who are paid to defend himband speak on his behalf
    However in high profile cases every one would express differening opinions
    Any how i remember reading years ago articles about Inniss and his buisness dealings also included in that article were damming stories about. Blp mimisters and the now PM
    Maybe Donniville circumstance would unlock the many doors to corruption in Barbados when other birds start singing

21. lol..am beginning to think that PLTs wife should not allow him out alone, first he got himself invited on a drug boat. then he could not see through Dumbville..

.. these are dangerous times PLT, be careful, the island is not as you left it. We were not joking all of this time spent posting info.

22. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

This is ONLY tangential, given the recent “career Changing Move” by Pornville the Jailbird.

Do ole man would think it only reasonable to project that IN THE ABSENCE OF ANY VIABLE ALTERNATIVES that Verla Depeiza IS THE BEST CHOICE FOR DLP President when the elections are held on August 12th 2018 at the General Council

Verla is very articulate.

She is intelligent

Her name is not called in any adultery scandals

She does not seem to teif client funds

She is a good lawyer

She is not a Lil Hitler who always at every Wuk Up festival

She does not have to have her medicines/tablets or will go off

And she ent in jail in Miami

I NOMINATE Verla for president albeit for a party AT LEAST 10 years in the Wilderness (barring one of Mia’s 21 IDIOTS doing the same teifing as Fumbles Fools)

https://i.imgur.com/lsteo6F.png

23. Not much of a choice, not the brightest bulb either.

24. Yeah Greene…..well tell us about the legal procedures re Dumbville..

25. When it comes to political leaders i am getting a bit dismayed. Do we always want/need bright shining neon/LED stars or do we want humble “candles” that are honest not to bright does a honest days work; etc. over the years we were asking for these bright shining stars and look at the bunch we have accrued. Too honest poor is probably there modus operandi?

Let us start adding some additional personal character attributes to these would be or up coming leaders other than “bright shining stars”. Lets add honest; dependable, reliable; not tiefing; faithful; hard working on all things, not a lawyer or doctor, humble, patriotic, etc. Do i ask for too much

26. Re “… told me in blunt undiplomatic language that he was surprised that Donville had been elected, that he did not think that Donville was very bright.” ….. It is always amusing to hear how stupid a politician is when he is caught as a suspect in a crime. How about how smart he or she was to convince a bunch of citizens to vote for him/her! SMH.

@Mr BushTea, quite right re quantum of bribe…this same line of specious reasoning was used in the Herbert matter. As far as I know all wealthy people value every $ closely. They put a similiar focus on safeguarding their first $50 and locking that down as they do for $50K for $500,000 or $5Mil.

It boggles commonsense to surmise that $36K was not a decent sum of money if you fully expect it to be so under the radar and NEVER to be noticed …particularly if there is another $10K over there and another $20K over here. Again SMH with some of the reasoning.

And @JamesG, truly it can be argued that “law enforcement in USA” is generally better than our locales. Yes it is also equally corrupt in many places and indeed in some of those places it will depend “on who you are and how rich you are” and who you know.

But despite that lots of big players political and corporate get taken down…not so here in BIM…thus one can ‘syllogise’: The US system has lots of politica/corporatel malfeasance like Bdos; in that system many bad political and corporate actors are indicted and convicted unlike Bdos; thus the US system is better. ๐Ÿคฃ

And in brief…

*Why is money laundering such a “1- … specialist type of crime” when we have seasoned accounts around and about to investigate the basics at minimum… yes, yes forsenic accounting is a speciality but do we really want to buy into the rhetoric of investigators being unfamiliar when EVERY YEAR for last many our auditor general has highlighted wrong doings ….how did those unfamiliar investigators trace that $3.3mil cheque!

*Yes “2-it is particularly difficult in small jurisdictions like Bim where executives will not give a statement …”
    Thus factually the only difficulty is “there is no appetite to investigate such matter by Government/ police” as all the laws are already in place to bring wrongdoers to justice.

Simply to bring credible charges and get a conviction of even a $2400 fine and maybe 12 months in jail would be COLOSSAL…ends person’s career, family prestige etc etc and bluntly warns others: you are next.

*Please cite the relevant law to validate that “5-the police in Bim cannot offer immunity to witnesses like the FEDS can do in the US”?

*Tax evasion is painfull wherever one resides so why is this accurate that “6- the FEDS have a myriad of laws especially tax laws that they used. In Bim that would be difficult” Which Bajan law precludes tax evasion prosecution?

*I believe Dean Cumberbatch touched on this plea bargaining re Bim at one point so will need to search that out again as I am unsure why this is raised by Hal and others as a whipping stick so often. All prosecuting jurisdictions have the ability to seek a lesser charge or strongly recommend leniency to a judge for a cooperating witness…which is the foundational basis of the ‘formal plea bargain’ process.

It comes back to “there is no appetite to investigate such matter[s] by Government/ police” . As said above if a B tumbles then so likely a D, and then of dear an A as like an inspector of police and further on an H and then the entire house of Bajan virtue is exposed for the sewerage about which all here speak!๐Ÿ˜ญ

27. https://bit.ly/2kv7DPH

This last government has a lot to answer for, particularly why Maloney had not been forced to remove the illegal protrusion at the Coverley exit entrance that caused the death of the lady’s 11 year old boy child, that question has now been shifted to the present government who is yet to remove the illegal obstruction or force Maloney to remove it.

Empty-headed Adriel Nitwit Dimwit never even cared enough to answer anything, just collect a free salary and do nothing, they should all lose their pensions.

We are still awaiting the names of the 4 Canadian companies Dumbville allowed into the country, these companies were all convicted of various crimes around he world…we await their names, Dumbville was keeping it a secret.

“Conduct Probes Covering the Last 9 Years in Barbados.

The Barbados Lobby started this petition to The Attorney General of Barbados Adriel Brathwaite
    Their economic, social and political lives have been turned upside down since 2008 and the People of Barbados have a right to know what is really happening in the island. They are numbed by your silence as national conversations should have been forthcoming from your office on these issues with the aim of resolution. They hereby petition you to initiate probes on the following:

Why you did nothing despite having first hand information that there was evidence of votes being bought (fraud) during last general election?
    Not being forthright with the people despite having evidence that the laws provided relief for persons to smoke marijuana for medicinal purposes.
    Why marijuana cannot be legalized in Barbados?
    Why did the Government change the rules so that Marston Gibson could become the Chief Justice of Barbados?
    Why the Minister of Finance only has a single solution, which is taxation, to solve the economic problems of Barbados?
    The 16 Billion dollars that has disappeared from the coffers of Barbados.
    Where did the funds go that were collected by the NSRL?
    Where have all of the NIS funds disappeared?
    The millions that have gone missing from the Barbados Revenue Authority. Why the female caught at the airport has not been prosecuted.
    Why have some Barbadians have not received income tax returns for the past 3 years despite the fact that they have filed taxes?
    The Four Seasons Project.
    A hotel is being built at the Carlisle Bay without the approval of the T&CP.
    13 .Allegations of involvement of Government Ministers in a luxury car smuggling racket.
    Government’s involvement in a plan to build a Plasma Gasification plant in Barbados.
    Why the Prime Minister lied to the people of Barbados when he had already signed a letter to have the Plasma Gasification Plant built on the island?
    Governments abuse of the Tendering rules.
    Despite its election promise government has not given 30% or any % of its tenders to small businesses.
    Why are the roads full of pot holes and in a deplorable state despite every year taxes being collected specifically for fixing the roads?
    19 . The check that was found on deceased Michael Wear.
    Why have you not even stated that there will be an inquiry into the death of Michael Wear?
    The 20 downgrades of Barbados.
    The amount of debt that his administration has accumulated in the last 9 years to be payed by our grandchildren.
    The true level of unemployment and inflation in Barbados.
    Why the Minister of the Environment put a tender in the newspaper without specifications.
    Why are there 1500 empty houses unoccupied and rotting in Barbados?
    Why the Minister of Industry and International Business is blaming a civil servant regarding one company when they were four rogue companies identified by the Canadian Parliament. Is he accepting blame for the other three companies?
    A probe into the illegal gun and drug trade that is destroying youth.
    Why your office has not seen it fit to modernize the mortgage legislation to prevent the poor and middle class from loosing their homes to the banks?
    Why are Ministers of government not solving the island problems that they are being paid to but wasting time feeding the people distractions.
    The people want to know.

28. Basically the one being charged is one of a multitude. Innocent until proven guilty, mind you.

Barbados is corrupt as xxx.

And if you are not one to play ball, good luck getting a job.

And not just Barbados. Read that indictment.

If you are so stupid to believe that……did not know what was going on, then I have a bridge to sell you.

I have previously personally raised a colleagues malfeasance re internal company matters to a (non Barbadian) CEO, who basically told me to get lost.

I was disgusted and it proved that much of corporate life and apparent integrity is a facade and not real.

As I said, not just Barbadians.

29. โ€œlaw enforcement in USAโ€ is generally better than our locales. Yes it is also equally corrupt in many places and indeed in some of those places it will depend โ€œon who you are and how rich you areโ€ and who you know.

LIKE IN THE CASE OF HILARY CLINTON !

30. Donville is actually in a unique position to redeem himself by being the first one charged.

31. @sirFuzzy

Curious how do you get the people to consider personal attributes when making a selection for public official.

32. The new resident yard-fowl, who is fond of pushing only one side of the story……..

……….has conveniently forgotten about the talk of bribes and Freundel Stuart’s involvement in the CAHILL affair…… especially when the dishonest Stuart said he never authorized the project……….but Barbados Underground displayed a copy of a document bearing his signature, which clearly indicated he had actually signed off on the project…….and was being untruthful.

Yes…….I agree that the former DLP administration should have investigated the members of the former Owen Arthur administration they accused of corruption.

Surely we can recall during the 2008 election campaign, David Thompson and the DLP went the length and breadth of Barbados accusing the BLP of corruption. Thompson even said on assuming office he would order a forensic audit of Hardwood Housing.

I am also sure that many of you remember the DLP dedicated three pages of their 2008 election manifesto to good governance, in which they promised to implement integrity and freedom of information legislation immediately after being elected, ministers would be required to sign a code of good conduct and declare their assets.

But seeing how the DEMS did not fulfill any of their manifesto promises, especially those relating to good governance, how could any reasonable individual expect them to do anything about corruption.

Instead, some of the first things Thompson did was to appoint his buddy Hartley Henry as his political consultant and used CLICO’s private jet to fly “up and down” the Caribbean.

Since the DLP refused to take advantage of the opportunity to lock up a few BEES……now the ball is in the BEES’ court, they should investigate the former DLP administration and lock up a few DEMS.

What is amazing is that when one exposes the “one sided” irrational and not well thought out nonsense they try to pass off as intelligent contributions……..they accused you of being a BLP supporter.

33. Were the accounts of the insurance involved in the Inniss scandal audited? Is this another failing of financial regulation? Is this further proof that Barbados is a failed state?

34. @ David
    Curious how do you get the people to consider personal attributes when making a selection for public official.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    People vote for those that best exemplify their own personal morals and character.
    Which is why a people ALWAYS get the leadership (and results) that they deserve.

If you want to know a nation’s character and its moral attributes – look at their leaders.
    When you can change the hearts of the people – you will see quality leaders emerge.

35. ICBL is a listed company, is the Barbados Stock Exchange going to suspend its trading? Has the FSC launched an investigation? What is going on in Barbados? The chairman of a major company charged with drug smuggling and the CEO (former CEO) of a listed insurance company caught up in bribery allegations? This is gross incompetence. Barbados is a Mafia country.

36. Hal, it seems from the timelines that the audit is what highlighted the issue. The then CEO left suddenly.

37. “No saints seek political office bout hay.”

It’s usually the self centred, self absorbed, vain, greedy and shortsighted who actively seek public office, you rarely find intelligent people who have genuine empathy and concern for the welfare of others seeking public office, hopefully with another 5 or 6 arrests of corrupt former ministers and the same amount of corrupt business people that will change that imbalance..and start attracting empaths to run for public office//.

Everyone agrees..lock up the Cartel of corrupt politicians and ministers, lock up the Cartel of minority business people, bribers, gun runners, drug runners, money launderers, human traffickers…and there will be light at the end of that tunnel, a new beginning, a fresh start.

38. Cruscoe, ,

You are speculating. Plse note, the insurance company named has not yet made public its 2017 audited annual account. Is that a financial crime in Barbados? Late reporting.

39. in addition a v valuable tool that the FEDS have is the law of making false statements of material facts to a federal agent. you think the Bim Govt would enact such a law?

40. The Feds had Pornville in their sights since 2015.The CEO left ICBL in early 2017.ICBL staff objected to being retired too early although according to Pornville the law allowed it.The affected staff won their day in court.The public was kept in ignorance by all these checks and balances we are supposed to have.
    Is it not ironic that Inniss made a statement and was quoted in the press in the last 2 weeks,that people who do illegal stuff should be locked to f…up.

41. If charges against Donville Inniss are proven he should face the full weight of the law. The charge sheet says these are allegations at this time and he is innocent until found guilty. If found guilty Inniss would have disgraced himself, his family the DLP and most importantly Barbados. No sympathy can be expected for such greediness and corruption. We await the verdict.

42. Hal, you are wrong. The audited financials are online.

43. Donville has to tell the truth. Lying to the USA courts is a serious crime.

He will have to answer questions like ” were other government ministers past and current involved in money laundering in the USA.”

He can negotiate the best deal for himself by giving up others.

Cat piss and pepper in Babadus.

44. Thanks. Problem with technology. I checked the BSE site and the latest is 2016. So the BSE is not up o date.

45. Got it.

46. It is abroad that given the low level of Inniss’ offence and the small bail offered him,the Feds are after bigger fish like well known scumbag politicians high and low,line and sinker and those business men and women who get nuff NIS money to split among themselves and the politicians,
    Inniss was the line Minister when Rockhard cement was given the ok to import cement and to store it at the port next to the flour mill.Ashes to ashes and dust to dust notwithstanding.
    Inniss was the line Minister when ICBL pay out some money that should not have been expensed.Inniss might sing like a canary to avoid prison.

47. Have you read PwC’s report on the 2017 accounts (page 28)? It reads like a fairy tale. There are about 3m regulated accountants in the world, of those, 360000 professionally qualified are in the UK and of those, about 35000 are general practitioners. In short, the UK has the most accountants per capita in the world. Yet, the auditing sector is in crisis. There is a reason for that.

48. Major embarrassment and reputational damage for both ICBL and BF&M to be caught up in something like this, especially IBCL.

It is no small matter for a financial services company esp. insurance to be caught up in money laundering allegations, whatever the final outcome of the case or quantum of money involved.

In more enlightened jurisdictions, people at the highest level within ICBL would have to fall on their swords…

But this is Barbados.

49. All these criminal insurance companies, their owners, CEOs and executives..who sucked the blood of the people on the island, destroyed the integrity of the judiciary by bribing a whole Chief Justice in the 90s, clogged up the court system with backlogs and bribed government ministers and politicians must be brought to their knees just as they did the island.

http://peterharrisbarbados.blogspot.com/2016/07/how-businessman-peter-harris-helped-to_8.html

50. We still have to be careful not to allow our emotions albeit justified or not to cloud our emotions and rush to judgment.For the sake of the good governance for which Barbados has long been renowned and for the sake of Mr Inniss’s children i do hope that the allegations are but a dream.