Read the full document (INDICTMENT)

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Monday, August 6, 2018

Former Member of Barbados Parliament and Minister of Industry Indicted for Money Laundering

Donville Inniss Allegedly Laundered Bribes through a Long Island Company

A three-count indictment was unsealed today in federal court in Brooklyn charging Donville Inniss, a former member of the Parliament of Barbados and the Minister of Industry, International Business, Commerce and Small Business Development of Barbados, with conspiracy to launder money and money laundering.  The charges stem from Inniss’s acceptance of bribes from a Barbadian insurance company in 2015 and 2016 when he was a public official.  Inniss was arrested Friday and was arraigned today before United States Magistrate Judge Julie Sneed in the Middle District of Florida at the federal courthouse in Tampa.  Inniss was released on a $50,000 bond.

Richard P. Donoghue, United States Attorney for the Eastern District of New York, Brian A. Benczkowski, Assistant Attorney General of the Justice Department’s Criminal Division, and William F. Sweeney, Jr., Assistant Director-in-Charge, Federal Bureau of Investigation, New York Field Office (FBI), announced the indictment.

According to the indictment, between August 2015 and April 2016, Inniss engaged in a scheme to accept approximately $36,000 in bribes from high-level executives of an insurance company headquartered in Barbados (“the Barbados Company”) and launder that money through the United States.  In exchange for the bribes, Inniss leveraged his position as the Minister of Industry to enable the Barbados Company to obtain two government contracts.  Inniss concealed the bribes by arranging to receive them through a dental company and a bank located in Elmont, New York.  Barbados Company executives transferred the funds to the dental company using an invoice falsely claiming that the payments were for consulting services.  During the time of the charged conspiracy, Inniss was a legal permanent resident of the United States residing in Tampa, Florida and Barbados.

“As charged in the indictment, Inniss abused his position of trust as a government official by taking bribes from a Barbadian company, then laundered the illicit funds through a bank and a dental company located in the Eastern District of New York,” stated United States Attorney Donoghue.  “The Department of Justice will continue to hold accountable corrupt government officials here or abroad who use the U.S. financial system to facilitate their criminal conduct.”

“Donville Inniss allegedly used the U.S. financial system to launder bribes he received while serving as a government official in Barbados,” said Assistant Attorney General Benczkowski.  “These charges demonstrate the commitment of the Department and our law enforcement partners to hold accountable anyone who seeks to use our financial system to promote or launder the corrupt proceeds of their crimes.”

The charges in the indictment are merely allegations, and the defendant is presumed innocent unless and until proven guilty.

Assistant United States Attorney Sylvia Shweder of the Eastern District of New York’s Business and Securities Fraud Section, and Trial Attorney Gerald M. Moody, Jr., of the Criminal Division’s Fraud Section, are in charge of the prosecution.

The Defendant:

DONVILLE INNISS
Barbados

E.D.N.Y. Docket No. 18-CR-134 (KAM)

776 responses to “Former Minister Donville Inniss Indicted for Money Laundering”

1. Or was this a case of submitting a proposal to provide insurance coverage to the state?

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You see that Freundel was right, there are enough laws on the books already to lock up these crooks. Donville could only be held for laundering money in the US if he obtained the money in contravention of Barbados. You cannot launder clean money. Having breached the Prevention of Corruption Act of Barbados in order to receive the bribe, he could be held in the US for money laundering if he passed that money through the US and apparently he did.

Depends and similar adult diapers must be selling out.

3. Guest
    The CEO and Board of BIDC fir clarity.

4. Senator Caswell

Were you not in the Upper Chamber doing dixie about the need to lock up a boy last week?

5. Crooks , liars and scumbags will get them all of the DLP and the BBLP , you think its joke ? Massive Land Fraud and laundering of USD $$ funds, out of Flordia and the TERRA real estate in the Estate of Violet Beckles, they cant live in office forever they will also get Mia . COW , Cheltehman ,BIZZY, and the rest of the black and white criminals in Barbados Extradition is the new word for them all , Behold the Pale Horse,Massive Land Fraud and PONZi, Trump will get them all, The first day of Darkness Dec21 2017 google it , Alex Mitchell BFP

6. Oh dear, I hope that none of this involves the ‘leper’! Wouldn’t that be poetic justice?

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Yes David and my wish is being fulfilled. Mind you, there are more to come.

8. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Enuff August 6, 2018 9:56 PM
    “Given that the decision to choose an insurance company would have been a Board decision, what was the role of the CEO and Board?”
    The BIDC purchased insurance from ICBL for a premium of about US$945,000 per year. In order to secure this they payed the Minister 1.75% of that value in 2015 and about US$20k in 2016. They did this through a NY dental company controlled by a friend of the Minister. This friend has also been indicted as a co-conspirator… this means that his/her books will be subject to forensic audit to see what other dirt lurks there.

There is no godamn way that a BIDC insurance premium should be a ministerial concern at all… in fact it should not even have risen to the notice of the board unless there were strategic issues associated with it. It is entirely a staff responsibility; they should have gotten three quotes on a clearly written request for proposals that outlined the insurance parameters. It shows how utterly corrupt corporate governance is at this state owned corporation.

In the middle of audit season 2017 the CEO of ICBL disappeared in a puff of silence. I’m not sure whether this alarmed the Minister or not… but it should have. ICBL cannot afford to be on a money laundering blacklist so they clearly spilled everything that the auditors apparently discovered to the US authorities.

9. Re @Sargeant_8:16 PM…”Both Passports?”

Surely you cannot be suggesting that a sitting Bajan cabinet minister also held a US passport of citizenship! Or are you suggesting he recently changed his status since admitting office!

@Mr Blogmaster, quite succinct you were re the courts…if I’m following that discussion then surely as you suggest the closure of the courts would in no way affect the DPP filing charges and having that signed by a judge.

You also asked who woukd have approved the payment but based on the dominos already fslling CEO/MD, CFO and i believe an SVP no one else need be involved.

The other question is 1) WHY they needed to win those contracts so badly that they undertook the bribes and then 2) what of past contract successes?

Examined as a straight up business revenue goal to which the CEO’s bonus remuneration may have been tied the contract bribe would at least have an understandable motive…echo of the Wells Fargo sales pumping that caused their senior managers to commit crimes with fraudulent charges to customers, opening credit card acs unknown to other customers and so on. The desire to make sales goals without the necessary hard slogging!

BTW, Tampa, FL as you know has a very active Bajan community and Elmont NY is a stone’s throw from the heart of the Brooklyn Bajan community and a buoyant DLP branch. All of that to suggest nothing 🤣

But as others have noted what the hell is causing all these toes to be stumped now!

10. Does ICBL have an actuary?

11. Ooops..demiting office NOT admitting…

12. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Oops, I was wrong… the fine under the Prevention of Corruption Act is not $200,000, but a completely laughable $2,400. How pathetic…

13. @PLT, kudos to you. It seems you are well on your way to implementing that Transpareny International Bajan office.

Good stuff!

14. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

What a great day. What a Great, Great day. That is one about to go down, let the other coward in fair. We all knew for some time that they were fake and a bunch of deceitful rats. Those who sing the praises of this stinking lying rat, who openly said that he could not take a pay cut as his merciless rat nibbling administration under the biggest Johnny to ever be a leader in Barbados, destroyed an island that was the envy of other Caribbean nations, and one spoken amongst the big industrial countries as an island that is a model for other countries to look at. With this big can open, and the worms definitely will crawl out, all former ministers in the Deceitful Lying Party (DLP) need to be investigated. Dennis Kellman, Michael Lashley, Stinking Dennis Low Lowe, Pitbull Estwick, Byer-Suckoo, and the former Prime Minister, La Goata Stuart, who praise two crooks, one dead, and one who was permitted to put his money in the Central Bank. Let the real law go after they crooked tail holes. After all, we do know that they are well protected under our joke system in Barbados that says where even in the face of evidence, we still asking for evidence.

15. PLT
    Given the value of that contract, an employee level decision would not have sufficed. I agree the Minister should not be involved and that’s why I asked about the Board. Caswell knows the financial rules well, ask him.

16. ICBL used to belong to GOB I believe.

GOB sold it to Trinidadian interests.

Was that RBTT?

Believe that was in O$A days

It looks like those interests sold some shares to the Bermuda company.

Who are the owners of ICBL now, the Bermuda Company and …?

17. The party conference should be interesting come Sunday

18. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

A contract of that value should have gone to public tender.

19. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

The info here on BU suggests that action was taken against the named alleged Barbados Company co-conspirators some time ago. If that is correct, the bajan indicted should have at least guessed that the US authorities were aware of the alleged laundering. If so, what would have been the compelling reason for his travelling to the USA where he would face almost certain arrest? Are Crusoe and Caswell right? Are they more and bigger shoes to drop?

20. David
    May 2, 2016 5:08 AM

Two points to make:
    Price at the petrol gone up again? Seriously? The public deserves to know how the calculation is done.
    ICBL will not be covering over 800 NUPW (public workers) and if you add the cancelation of BARP policies, there you have it.

21. Wow

When did this Donville Inniss story broke ?

Isn’t he up for the General Secretary position of the DLP next Sunday ?

Ok , I guess like the Brazilian former President , LULA . he can run for elections while in jail / or have a criminal Court matter hanging over your head !

Charles Herbert must be jumping with glee !

When he heard about this story !

22. @John
    Grasshopper
    Comments on the link that you provided “ceo-resigned” are interesting.
    A few smell a big fat rat and there are a few saying the resignation is business as usual..

23. Fines like $2.4K are just window dressing. They encourage and do not prevent crime.

24. Charles Herbert got absolutely nothing to jump for at this point and time Herbert might be thinking it would have been better to jump over board than face jail time

25. Some one overheard Innis lawyer muttering the words dirty scoundrels but did not know if Nate was using those words to describe Innis or Mia goons

26. The answer would be Mia – and you and your crooks don’t like it, do you Mariposa? You on the list?

27. Google ICBL Paradise Papers

28. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley

You and your government are to be congratulated on this, THE FIRST OF MANY, arrests of the local gang of thieves who sought to rape the Treasury of Barbados.

De Ole man knows that these are not going to be the first because all of the ingrunt dogs thought that they would be able to teif the money and use their amateurish Wire Transfers to hoodwink bajans but they DO NOT UNDERSTAND THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.

Justice, a la faceless mechanism of the US government wears many faces e.g. ICE, the Department of Homeland Security, The IRS and many more.

They are going to make an example of Pornville & Stinkliar and Quisling and all the rest of you who believed that wunna cud teif $$ and walk bout like bogolords in Barbados.

Jes dont fly back to the USofA

29. @William

Another is Barbados attaining the ranking of third indebted nation in the world.

30. Th Barbados government has now got to act on this. Arrest all the insurance company officials involved and use the US evidence to prosecute them locally. And close the company down.

31. Charles Skeete Avatar

If my memory serves me correctly this is the second occasion Mr Inniss has allegedly run afoul of the laws of the USA and as has been pointed out are mere allegations because I do not believe that the man who only last week was calling for the resignation of the leaders of the BWU and NUPW and for the alleged drug runner Mr Charles Herbert to be locked up and the the key thrown away could be do stupid to bring his country’s name into disrepute

32. For years I have been saying that financial regulation in Barbados is grossly incompetent. This proves it once again. Is the government going to launch a proper judicial review of the insurance sector in Barbados, which will include Clico, and will be given full powers to subpoena evidence and witnesses? Is the attorney general going to break his silence?
    Barbados is a failed state.

33. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

In Barbados ALL UH WUNNA IS BOGOLORDS

and wunna excretia does not stink!!

But one ting dat wunna going learn with these state-wide investigations is that ALL DE MONEY DAT WUNNA TEIF, and ship to the USofA, anytime one uh wunna or wunna proxies go to the US to touch um…WUNNA ASS IS GRASS

Mia dun warn wunna bout Amnesty and Whistleblowers & to come clean albeit she used her blasphemous “come to Jesus” remark BUT the noose is tightening and wunna are all encouraged to “fess up” and give up the names of the criminals who helped wunna teif all dem millions of dollars

CAUSE WUNNA GOING GET LOCK UP

https://i.imgur.com/TgTxped.png

34. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Hal Austin

Hal

You said and I quote “…Th(e) Barbados government has now got to act on this. Arrest all the insurance company officials involved and use the US evidence to prosecute them locally…”

Fortunately for the population of Barbados AND UNFORTUNATELY for the friends of Pornville, who are in HIGH PLACES, and she knows who she is, SHE DOES NOT HAVE ANY CHOICE.

Here is what is playing out.

The former administration stole billions either directly or indirectly.

Theirs was a hope to remain in power and never be discovered AS WITH ALL INSTITUTIONAL CRIMINALS they feel that they will be at the helm forever.

In this case they teifed the money and the ONLY WAY THAT MIA MOTTLEY CAN HAVE A LEGACY is to borrow money OR THE COUNTRY that she worked so hard to be prime minister of WILL DIE in six months!

For it to at least be kickstarted SHE HAS TO GET IMF MONEY!!

That IMF money comes at a price and by price I DO NOT MEAN INTEREST PAYMENTS or operational conditions alone.

I mean pre-conditions of Accountability and Transparency.

Charles Herbert’s matter cannot be swept away like if it is an article on Barbados Underground that is placed at the bottom of the SEO engine.

THe DEA is watching this

and Pornville Inniss irrespective of who he knows cant get a free pass!

Nor can the officials at ICBL

Nor the CEOs and board members at ICBL or BIDC and the other SEOs.

THis one CANNOT HIDE or else it will result in NO IMF ASSISTANCE, pure and simple

So Pornville and all the rest of these fellers like Stinkliar have to rethink their relocation plans.

MIA MOTTLEY DOES NOT HAVE A CHOICE but to implement a prosecution plan that delivers and does not shift the goal post and to change that 2 year stupidity in the Integrity Legislation Bill of 1933

Or she may not only be a 5 year government but, in a state where devaluation is staring the country in its face, rule over a wasteland for a few years and then demit office herself.

YOU DO KNOW THAT CHERNOBYL DOES NOT HAVE A MAYOR DONT YOU? and do you want to know why wastelands have none?

35. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

If any of the ICBL former or current employees are invoved in this and are Canadian, the Canadian government can pursue corruption charges against any of their citizens who bribe government minusters offshore.

Lawson…we coming fa you.

36. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“Oh dear, I hope that none of this involves the ‘leper’! ”

I hope it does somewhere along the line, he and his sidekick’s ass need a serious jailing.

Pity they can’t hold Frank Alleyne for allowing these insurance companies to commit crimes on the island unregulated and unpunished.

37. Wait Piece hold yuh horses here . Now dont get carried away. The dominoes going keep fallin from the left side as well as the right side
    It aint over till the fat lady sings

38. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

This show is going to be good, just need some chocolates for snack, got everything else.

39. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

Specifically the OLD DAVID OF BU…you are indeed a trip and a half

Dat is why de ole man does you bigging you up and ent so keen pun de udder two jes yet heheheheheheh

I am looking at your comment at https://barbadosunderground.net/2017/12/19/a-caswell-franklyn-column-donville-inniss-and-stealing-postage/ on December 20, 2017 9:12 PM @Hants where you said an I quote “…Mia will not go after Donville, they are buddies…”

De ole man ammmmmm sort of hinted? at that earlier but I note that you said it before elsewhere.

Now here is the thing for active consideration by those that do care heheheheheheh

Pornville get catch doing something illegal in Murica right?

Pornville is MAM friend right?

Suppose me or you was in Mia shoes, what would we do for Pornville?

Would we, MINDFUL OF THE CANDY FACADE called the Integrity Legislation of 1933, seek to enact its “Free Pass Go” clause and say “cuhdear” he is me friend? showing how much “Mia Cares?”

Or would we adhere to the very laws that we are pretending to enact and lef we friend to the American Authorities?

You do know that if Mia or her proxy (read Ambassador in Miami) reaches out to Pornville AND IT IS EXPOSED TO THE MEDIA dat it is not going look too good for the Brbados Government do you?

I just wondering what you would do if in her shoes

40. Inniss is a Barbadian and the High Commissioner is there to assist nationals within the boundary of protocol. Remember we operate in a system that presumes innocence until found guilty.

41. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

While we contemplate innocence until proven guilty…there is a website to check out which exministers current ministers or their relatives and friends etc got property in the US..BFP broke this in 201q,

“What about the international finances of Health Minister Donville Inniss?

Barbados Free Press is publishing a series of stories showing that Minister of Health Donville Inniss profited from the online porn industry. Our stories tell the truth even if the Barbados news media covers up and looks the other way. Minister Inniss knows that our stories are true so he hasn’t taken any steps to have the stories removed from WordPress where Barbados Free Press makes its home.

But now we get to the issue of money. How was Minister Inniss paid for his involvement with online porn companies? Was he a stakeholder in any company or was he providing a paid service to front the porn industry? Were any of his family members or friends acting as proxies?

We think we see some interesting discoveries on the internet….

A reminder: the porn industry has long been associated with the degradation of women, human trafficking and money laundering.

Some of the Inniss porn websites direct customer fees to Switzerland and other foreign bank accounts. We haven’t found any that direct the money to Barbados. (We know. We paid and have the receipts!)

Did Minister Inniss receive all his porn profit monies in Barbados… or did some go into foreign bank accounts?

That is a good question for Finance Minister Chris Sinckler, considering he is assuring the international community that we do things by the rules here in Barbados.

And that brings us to Donville’s condo in Tampa, Florida…

“Owners INNISS DONVILLE
    Property Location 5125 PALM SPRINGS BLVD
    OXFORD PLACE AT TAMPA PALMS A CONDOMINIUM UNIT 2201 AND AN UNDIV INT IN COMMON ELEMENTS”

Hey… Nice little place. Not too fancy or expensive as Florida condos go. I wonder if it is rented out or sits idle until Minister Inniss visits Tampa? If it is rented out, I wonder where the rent money is banked and if the profits are declared as income in Barbados?

The wonderful thing about the internet is that you can follow paths and not know what you’re going to find and then.. WHAM!!! There online are the public record showing that Donville Inniss of Barbados owns a condo in Florida.

Hillsborough County Tax Collector: Donville Inniss condo information

Hillsborough County Assessor: Donville Inniss condo assessment

Zwillow.com Real Estate: Donville Inniss condo

Donville Inniss purchased the condo in March 2008 for US$146,000, but real estate crashed and it is now estimated to be worth only US$64,000.

We couldn’t find any mortgage information online, so maybe Donville paid cash for it. Or, maybe he put something down and pays a mortgage along with the taxes and condo fees.

Either way – paid cash or has mortgage – the money has to arrive in the USA one way or another, and seeing as how the customer payments from the Inniss-associated porn site Orgasm.com sometimes go to Switzerland (they change it up occasionally), we have to wonder if Donville’s condo money comes from Barbados or someplace else.

Florida Corporation registered at Donville Inniss condo!

Some websites say a person at the condo is “Gail Williams-Innis” and there is a corporation listed there too…

Kyfi, Corp.

We don’t see much about this KYFI, Corp. except that “Gail Williams-Innis” is the President. Hmmmmmm… wonder what the corporation does? I wonder where the bank accounts are? (Note the wrong spelling of the Inniss name in the government records at SunBiz below. Hmmmmm…)

Maybe it is a “consulting” company (HA! HA! HA!) like the other Inniss Florida company…

INNISS INTERNATIONAL CONSULTING, INC.

Officer/Director: INNISS, DONVILLE

27445 AMELIA ISLE COURT WESLEY CHAPEL FL 33543

Hmmmmmm… I wonder where Inniss International Consulting, Inc. has its bank accounts? Florida, no doubt. Maybe New York and London, too? Why was it in existence for only a year and a bit? Was it set up for a quick purpose and then taken down when that purpose was done?

Without the Integrity Legislation we were promised we’ll never know… but that doesn’t stop us from asking questions.

Florida Department of State – Corporations

Do you want to see if any Bajan politician ever had a Florida Corporation?

It’s easy! Just go to http://www.sunbiz.org/search.html and start searching with all kinds of criteria. It worked for us, and it should work for Finance Minister Sinckler too!

Go to “Search our Records”, then “Inquire by Officer/Registered Agent” and insert the last name first: “Inniss Donville” or “Williams-Innis Gail” or just “Innis” or “Inniss”.

Other names we want to try? How about “Mottley” ??? WHOA!!!!

Well that’s a common name. I wonder if any are related to the former leader of the Opposition? Because that is what political folks do… they put the offshore “consulting” company and its bank account in the name of a spouse or other trusted relative. Like the company registered to Donville Inniss condo in the name of Gail.

How about “Duprey Lawrence” ??? YIKES!!! I wonder how many of these Florida Duprey companies are “on the side”?

Folks, have fun trying out all the politician names that you can think of. Let’s see what comes up!”

42. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

BFP broke this in 2011.

43. Can the AG Dale Marshall really touch this matter ……while his name is being bandied about with that of George Payne for ” STEALING ” an old lady’s land ?

44. Barbadian diplomats in the US are not high commissioners. High commissioners only apply to the Commonwealth.

45. You can try all the dance moves to shift the conversation, bottomline, Donville has the newsfeeds choked!

46. Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service
    August 7, 2018 5:15 AM

This show is going to be good, just need some chocolates for snack, got everything else.

Better get two hot dogs, a large drink too. It will likely be a long show. My guess is that this is only the trailer.

If it is true and charges continue, I bet he gets off on a deal. A deal to talk and talk and talk and talk.

The others will be the real show.

That will be the type of show wunna like to watch, buff fireworks and who dunnit etc.

47. Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service
    August 7, 2018 4:59 AM

The indictment is quite clear who was involved. Yes, a couple of careers done.

48. I am watching and waiting to see how this will play out.

Interesting how eagerly peter Thompson and John who were sure Herbert is innocent can bring all this info about what happens under the law.Strange how with Herbert we were being told about how he wouldn’t do that for such small money,and how intelligent Herbert is,and how the black fella could hide the drugs in the yacht,and how old the yacht is etc.

The white man Must be innocent but not the black man right.

Donville is the only person who could unravel this – so it is at him to do so.

ALMOST ALL POLITICIANS TAKE BRIBES SO FOR THOSE WHO PUSHING THIS AS A DEM THING – THINK AGAIN.MIA HANDS ARE NOT CLEAN AS WELL AS GLYNE CLARKE,PAYNE,MARSHALL,KERRIE,TOPPIN, DWIGHT ETC.

On the DEMS YOU HEAR MICHAEL LASHLEY,LOWE AND ESTWICK.

You never hear the names of Errol Barrow,Sir Lloyd Sandiford nor Freundel Stuart accused of bribe taking.

But you heard of Tom Adams,Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley.

Where are we going with this.Does $36,000. represent the millions that were “stolen” according to MIA AND THE BLP?

This charge if true involved a private company but if we had serious people in this country the Dems should have gone after the BEES from 2008 for the clear violation and corruption and bring all this to a halt.

six and half dozen – they all are the same thing .