A Caswell Franklyn Column – Donville Inniss and Stealing Postage

This evening (December 19, 2017) I opened my mail box and found an “ON SERVICE” envelope addressed to me from the Minister of Industry , International Business, Commerce & Small Business Development.  It turned out to be card offering me Seasons Greetings from my parliamentary representative, “The Hon. Donville Inniss, MP, JP.

I am concerned that my parliamentary representative might not be aware that posting such communication in an “ON SERVICE” envelope is contrary to section 6 of the Post Office Act.  Subsection 6.(1) states:

There shall be exempt from the payment of inland postage all letters and communications transmitted by post from –

(a)     any Ministry or department of the Government;
(b)     such other bodies or officials as the minister may from time to time by notice published in the Official Gazette declare to be approved bodies and officials for the purposes of this section.

Subsection 6.(2) goes on to say:

Every letter of communication mentioned in subsection (1) shall –

(a)     be on official business of the Ministry or department, or, as the case may be, of the other body or official from which or whom the same is forwarded;
(b)     be marked “On service” and bear legibly inserted on the bottom left hand corner of the envelope under the address the designation of the Ministry or department, or, as the case may be, of the other body or official, and the official title of the sender.

I have not seen the notice in the Official Gazette which designated Ministers of the Crown as being eligible for free postage.  I am therefore asking my parliamentary representative to point me to the rule that allows him free postage for his personal mail.  If he can’t, I would appreciate anyone else to enlighten me.

Right now my mind is saying – abuse of office.  I sincerely hope that I am wrong, not for the sake of the Minister but for the rule of law.  This type of behaviour tends to make Barbados look like a banana republic.

I would be satisfied if the Postmaster General would take steps to recover this money.

58 thoughts on “A Caswell Franklyn Column – Donville Inniss and Stealing Postage

1. @”I am therefore asking my parliamentary representative to point me to the rule that allows him free postage for his personal mail. If he can’t, I would appreciate anyone else to enlighten me…I would be satisfied if the Postmaster General would take steps to recover this money.”

And I wonder how many pieces of personal mail were sent out, and how many other of the political class did the same, and how much this is costing the taxpayers. And besides I wish that MP’s would stop sending Christmas cards…it is so trite, and a waste of money and of other people’s time.

And since I doubt that Ministers do envelope stuffing themselves, how did the Minister or his constituency office obtain the envelopes, or which civil servant facilitated this deed.

So many questions.

So few answers.

2. Lol…ministers are using your own tax dollars to pimp you for votes. …and actually believe they are impressing the electorate with this scam and petty thievery of your own money.

3. Lol….did he send you a Christmas card last year, Caswell?……….and to think that it is alleged that Donville is a very wealthy man.

I still like to send Christmas cards to my overseas friends and I paid the PO $95 for postage a few days ago. SMH!

• Prodigal

I don’t think he could be that desperate.

I didn’t plan to vote but now I understand that the UPP is fielding a candidate in my constituency. I don’t know her, nor do I care to. If she gets one vote, she can rest assured that it would be mine.

4. This makes perfect sense to me, instead of pimping votes and stealing taxpayers stamps this is what Dumbville should be doing, but he has no vision, as we all know….

….,…though Skerritt turned it into a joke, it is worth the Caribbean’s safety and security to come up with their own model of weeding out the criminals looking to launder money using tax havens.

But Dumbville is yet to call the names of the 4 companies whom he and others allowed into the island to launder money, the same companies who were later convicted in other jurisdications…

..and he got the NERVE to pimp votes believing anyone will trust him enough to relect him…..let him get the convicted foreign money launderers to vote for him, he is still protecting them….idiot.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/12/19/dominica-pm-suggests-caricom-issues-its-own-blacklist-of-tax-havens/

“Dominica’s Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit today jokingly advocated for the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) to consider placing international countries on a blacklist as he responded to the latest move by the European Union (EU) to include Barbados and three other CARICOM states on a list of global countries considered to be tax havens.

“We always maintain in CARICOM that we do all what we have to do to ensure and assure the security of the world. People have to appreciate too that in our small jurisdictions there will always be certain capacity constraints.

“But I think CARICOM should start coming up with its own list too, and start blacklisting countries likewise. Is that a practice we should take or route we should take?” he asked, before telling reporters, “I think I should end there, I think I should end here on this” as he laughed out loudly.

“But just to say, I think it is unfortunate,” he said.”

5. Caswell. The rule of law does not apply to bajan politicians. They break laws because they know they will be no consequences. So what are you going to do about it?

6. The nerve of Dumbville, stealing taxpayer’s stamps to mamaguy the electorate into reelecting him.

7. Damian Green, one of Theresa May’s closest allies, has resigned from the cabinet after an investigation found he had breached the ministerial code.

This is how the Westminster/Whitehall model works.

• This is how the system is supposed to work here in Barbados too, but here dishonesty and bad behaviour is not frowned upon when you come from certain strata in this society.

If a poor black boy went into a supermarket and took a piece worth $5, he would be sure to be remanded to Dodds Prison. However, if you are a Minister of the Crown and posted out or caused to be posted out 6000 greeting cards by fraudulently using an official stamp to avoid paying postage nothing happens. The cost of posting 6,000 greeting cards is $3,000.

I admit that stealing cheese worth $10 is a crime, but so too is posting mail in “On Service” envelopes when you are not entitled to do so. The fine for that is $50 per letter.

• Here is a question for you Caswell- does the average Bajan think that Donville did any thing wrong based by n your submission?

• David

That is one of the major problems in our society. The average Barbadian most likely would do the same thing if given the chance since they do not consider stealing from the Government as a big thing. That is why people collect VAT and convert it to their own use without giving it a second thought.

• And this is the point Caswell, leaders must lead in the way David Comissiong has been on a couple matters like Hyatt and the Fingerprinting affair. Who will prosecute Donville if in fact he offended the law?

• The Postmaster General should report the matter to the Police. As a matter of fact, the law does not give her an option.

8. Caswell Franklyn December 20, 2017 at 5:54 PM #

Caswell, look on the bright side. Not even the voters in St James will return the buffoon Donville Inniss to parliament. He will slide out of Barbadian liv es like a snake in the night.

9. David December 20, 2017 at 6:50 PM #

“What is the Post Masters email address?”

Do you really believe the Post Master General would initial any type of legal action against a Minister of the Crown….. IN Barbados?

• @Artax

It must start with ensuring they are aware of the matter. Let us send her an email of the blog and copy David Comissiong as a start.

10. Today was just a bad day for Donville and the government -they lost the case against the seven BIDC workers on the back of Comissiong and the Hyatt matter.

11. And I’m sorry the NCC workers did not do the same.Is it too late for that?The BWU and the NUPW should have by passed the toothless bulldog ERT, overseen by DLP toads.Cant beat the law courts all the way to the CCJ.Too much political interference in affairs of state in Barbados under this DLP.

12. @David Mr Blogmaster that is a very interesting (or perplexing, really) question for Caswell re: “does the average Bajan think that Donville did any thing wrong based by n your submission?”.

I don’t know the law as Caswell does but there are very few if ANY democratically organized jurisdictions where candidate interface to possible voters is allowed to be done with, or as part of official government business and materials.

Just as we ALL know that it is wrong, inappropriate and possibly criminal to forcibly stick one’s tongue in a friendly work colleague’s mouth (uninvited); grab her derriere as a display of affection; or even leer at her often and advise her how lovely she is.

But as Caswell said “That is one of the major problems in our society. The average Barbadian most likely would do the same thing if given the chance …”

Not only is “stealing from the Government” not seen as a big thing it is seen as a right: a means to get back what was stolen from the person.

Unfortunately, so too is inappropriate sexually charged behavior towards females (and males) also seen as some given right.

So how would this clear act of fraud alone EVER get Inniss tossed out when everyone and their brother, sister and Sam Poochie trying to get over too!

How in heavens name did he get the envelops stuffed? Those actors involved should also be held liable for their compliant malfeasance.

13. I havd no clue why politicians, ministers, lawyers, insurance companies and every lowlife stink demonic masonic lodge member believe they have a right to interfere in the workings of the judiciary.

….that is one taxpayer owned entity that should NEVER be interfered with. ..ever..

I wonder if they noticed that KARMA is now working overtime…and she can work much harder and for a much longer period of time..

14. @ David who wrote ” Mia will not go after Donville, they are buddies.”

Therein lies the problem with Barbados.

Too many are connected by friendship, family and other intimate interest.

15. @Caswell Franklyn December 20, 2017 at 5:54 PM “posting mail in “On Service” envelopes when you are not entitled to do so. The fine for that is $50 per letter.”

And $50 fine x 6000 letters=$300,000

I think that the post office should move to collect this $300,000 as that is a good piece of change.

And if Cabinet Ministers engage in such naughtiness the Prime Minister will publicly chastise them…right?

16. I can’t believe that a Cabinet Minister is too cheap to buy his own stamps.

Lolll!!!

Just last month I figured out how many stamps I will need in 2018 and went to the post office and PAID for that amount.

Damn cheapskates.

17. Dr. Simple…that is not naughtiness, that is grand theft at the federal level by Dumbville to deceive and once reelected, ultimately defraud the electorate…2 crimes.

• Almost everyone in Sinckler’s constituency got a basket filled with hundreds of dollars of goodies. All I got from my representative was a lousy greeting card, with a picture of an ugly fellow on it and he did not even spend the damn fifty cents to post it.

• @Caswell

Looks like you received that Whatsapp that shows hundreds of hampers being distributed in North West? It would be interesting to know who financed and where the supplies came.

• David

I received the WhatsApp and I am thinking to myself, how could a Minister of Government dispense such largesse on his salary? Then it dawned on me, it must have been that 10% that was restored to their salary earlier in the year.

Seriously though, the level of spending needs to be investigated. I am not suggesting for one moment that there is corruption involved but it looks so to the casual observer.

18. @ Caswell ,

The representative was right NOT to send you a ” basket filled with hundreds of dollars of goodies.”

That would be an attempt to buy your vote and you would probably “lock he up”.lol

• Hants

Your comment at 11:28 is spot on, except that none of the public officers, who have the power to deal with these matters, would dare prosecute a politician, not even for murder – remember Pele. It was not Bradshaw but the authorities knew the murderer. He was well protected, even though he was a BLP, he was related to Barrow hence he was untouchable.

19. Did anyone think to asked where these cards were printed (by whom, and at what cost ?) I’m sure that would be an interesting answer! Because they would have been far more costly than postage!

20. David December 22, 2017 at 1:10 AM #

“Looks like you received that Whatsapp that shows hundreds of hampers being distributed in North West? It would be interesting to know who financed and where the supplies came.”

@ David BU

To be fair to Sinckler, he has some very rich men that spend hundreds of thousands of dollars in support of his “benevolent endeavours”………. and one such man is Laron Gibbs.

Anyone one who seeks to represent the constituency on a DLP ticket, benefits from Gibb’s largess. When Dr. Mascoll was the DLP’s representative, for example, Gibbs hosted “all day parties” at Pile Bay, where food, drinks, music and goodies flowed similarly to the sea flowing to the shore.

Sinckler also solicit help from businesses and businessmen in the constituency, such as Carlton Supermarket, Channell’s Supermarket, KFC, Eddie’s BBQ, TNT BBQ etc.

So, under these circumstances, I believe it would be unreasonable for anyone to assume Sincker has accumulated such an enormous amount of wealth, (on a Minister’s salary), to undertake these activities (and buy votes too).

Yes, Bushie………. I wrote the above with a straight face (but had to laugh when I re-read it).

21. Laron is a “die hard” supporter of the DLP.

Similarly to Anthony Bryan, whose only claim to fame is reporting news in the Advocate……. the gospel according to the DLP………… and he was able to gain an “astounding” THREE national honours (Gold Crown of Merit, Companion of Honour of Barbados and Knight of St. Andrew………… not even ONE of the NATIONAL HEROES was able to attain this feat)………

…………….perhaps Laron may be expecting FOUR national honours.

22. @Caswell Franklyn December 21, 2017 at 11:10 PM # “Almost everyone in Sinckler’s constituency got a basket filled with hundreds of dollars of goodies. All I got from my representative was a lousy greeting card, with a picture of an ugly fellow on it and he did not even spend the damn fifty cents to post it.”

take it easy Caswell.

All I got from my MP was exactly.

NOTHING.

Got me here, crying in my spiced rum,,,which I made myself from a recipe provided by Vincent.

If I had received a greeting card I would not be here crying so much.

23. Artax December 22, 2017 at 8:05 AM “businesses and businessmen in the constituency, such as Carlton Supermarket, Channell’s Supermarket, KFC, Eddie’s BBQ, TNT BBQ etc.”

Since I do business from time to time with Carlton Supermarket, KFC, TNT BBQ etc. and since none of them have offered me a basket of goodies, or even a $5 discount voucher, do you think that if I asked for a 5% discount when I do my New Year’s shopping that any or all of these merchants will grant it?

24. @Caswell Franklyn December 22, 2017 at 8:33 AM “A knighthood”

People still care about knighthoods and such things?

25. Grenville Philips was recently talking about knighting Owen, I could not believe that ish in 2017…I had to set him straight…a big Black man like Grenville still set in colonial slavemindedness.

26. BUT WELL WELL IF THEY CAN KNIGHT THE FELLA AT THE ADVOCATE FOR SCREWING ROUND WITH ONE OF HIS SUBORDINATES FOR YEARS BEHIND HE WIFE BACK, THEY CAN KNIGHT OWEN TOO

LET VINCENT STAY WHERE HE IS……..HE PROBABLY BEST WHERE HE IS

27. Colonial slave mindedness is not a positive, commendable or admirable attribute GP.

28. @ Georgie Porgie December 22, 2017 at 8:07 PM

So too are the gods those same “creatures” conjure up to add meaning to life.

So from your ‘limitlessly’ cultural perspective which god is the biggest of them all?

Is it Ra, Zeus, Odin, Jupiter, Brahma, Baal, Mithra or Jupiter?

Or is it your favourite dictator and mass killer Yahweh the god of the Jews who- as the story in the book of myths and lies goes- arranged for the widespread killing of innocent boy children 2,000 solar years ago to protect your imaginary prince of peace illegitimately conceived 4 days after the Spring Equinox (Annunciation) and born 9 months later on the fourth day after the Winter Solstice (Xmas celebrating the rebirth of the Sun god) in keeping with good ole Norse mythology?

29. @millertheanunnaki December 23, 2017 at 3:01 PM “…illegitimately conceived…”

What is an illegitimate conception?

30. @ Dr. Simple “Riff-Raff” Simon Phd. December 26, 2017 at 3:27 PM

Young Mary was impregnated outside of marriage (and not by her arranged husband Joseph).

So in the eyes of the then laws what does that make little baby Jesus? A Bajan?

In Barbados of today both Joseph and the angel (the one who delivered the sperm) would be charged for statutory rape, Yahweh or No Yahweh, so help you God!

The blogmaster dares you to join the discussion.