51 days after being sworn in as Prime Minister of Barbados, the Honourable Mia Amor Mottley sits down with veteran journalist David Ellis for a no-holds-barred full-length interview on Barbados, July, 2018 at 6:00 p.m. The state of the economy, talks with the IMF, promises made and promises kept. They will all come under the microscope this Sunday evening at 6:00 p.m. as Prime Minister Mottley talks to David Ellis. View it live on CBC TV and Social Media and tune in to local (CBC in Barbados) radio stations. Sunday, July 15th at 6:00 p.m., Prime Minister Mottley talks with David Ellis….live from Illaro Court!

BLP News

437 responses to “An Interview with Prime Minister Mottley”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Not egocentric I typed afrocentric but dis stupid device do it own ting…

2. Artax and while you are at (it) using your chilse.
    The the electorate voted for change a change to correct out the misdeeds of past govts
    Your usual response of look at DT is not a correction but an excuse for this govt to stay on the old path of corruption
    Who in their right might would endorse the misdeeds of past govt as a correction to what steps Mia is taking
    Who in their right mind would endorse a wrong as a correction for right
    Who does that?

3. Mariposa

I realize the reference to Thompson has “gone over your head.” But if you’re of the opinion my example is an “excuse for this govt to stay on the old path of corruption,” so be it. After all, you have experience in this area, having found all types of excuses for the poor performance of an inept former DLP administration.

Once again you have demonstrated that your ignorance and lack of comprehension skills far exceeds your ability to see the “bigger picture.”

In other words, your lack of the ability to focus on the important facts of any situation and the effects it may have on other people or things.

Firstly, yes, I agree the electorate voted for change. And so far, they have experienced a change from what occurred under the previous inept DLP administration. I’ll give you one example. Former PM Stuart did not find it necessary to address Barbadians on any issue. He preferred to remain silent….even referring to himself as the “sleeping giant.”

Mottley has found it necessary to engage the media.

I recall you were “vehemently” critical of the Ellis interview…….and was appalled when you subsequently mentioned you had not listened to it. Criticizing for the sake of criticizing.

Although you and others may refer to these press conferences and interviews as “PR stunts,” “smoke and mirrors” and all the other ways you choose to describe them, for your political reasons…….you must admit it is a welcomed CHANGE from what transpired under Freundel and his fools.

As it relates to government continuing on the old path of corruption, and lest I be accused of being a member of the “Enuff of Lorenzo” team……

……..could you please tell me the corruption they have engaged in so far, since coming to office on May 24th?

4. And by the way, you are yet to explain to me how could the waiving of taxes be interpreted as “taking up millions of dollars and with the stroke of a pen give millions to rich” people, making them richer and the poor……poorer?

You are essentially suggesting, for example, if John Browne’s taxes of $1,000 was waived, he received $1,000 as a result of the waiver.

Please explain.

5. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Exyardfowl…all the thieves with their exminister co-conspirators want locking up…ALL OF THEM…and if whistleblowers are smart they would make sure they are not the ones taking the fall for minority thieves AND exministers…using the protections of the yet to be tabled and proclaimed whistleblower bill..

6. Not dont get stupid if i owe you a penny and you decide i can keep it whose pocket is the more richer b. Yours or mine
    If you owe the bank that penny who pays it and from whose pocket it comes
    Yours or his
    Debts do not disappear because of kind deeds or favours of any kind
    Debts must be paid
    Mottley made a decision to take the millions out of the tax payers pocket rather than make the taxcheater pay the debt
    Is that fair

##::::###::HellNo

Onebwould have thought that good goverance would have favoured country interest first
    One would have thought that govt would have seek remedy through a complusory method designed for those seeking debt forgiveness to be actively involved in programs to help the youth also donate to causes that can help the poor
    This action would have at least soften the blow and give an impression to the people that govt cares
    Yes i am mad that all and sundry old and young must now take up the burden for these tax cheats while they walk away with millions not recovered by govt

7. By your reasoning, you have once again demonstrated your ignorance.

Let’s assume, for argument’s sake, a business owner owes $1,000 in taxes from 1970 and as at the time prior to the waiver, he has been unable to settle the debt.

Let us make two assumptions; (1) the business is still in operation, (2) the business is closed. In either situation, assume the owner has $100 on his bank account.

You are suggesting that, as a result of the waiver, he will receive $1,000 from the government, thereby making him richer by that amount, so he will now have $1,100.

And you can’t see the folly in your argument?

Recently, there was a report in the press that a woman’s NHC rent arrears was $18,000.

Supposed the NHC decides to write off her debt. If we go by your reasoning, the NHC would have given her $18,000, making her richer by that amount.

But since she is poor, perhaps you have a problem.

Let me give you another example. It was also reported in the press that the DLP owed the state owned agency CBC $109,609.

Based on your reasoning, you and the DLP would benefit….

……if CBC decides to write off that debt.

8. But since you’re adamant that the debt must be paid, I hope you have encouraged your DLP colleagues to settle that debt.

9. My “ignorance” may be demonstrated by the fact that a wrong must be corrected by doing what is right
    Now you can holler and hoot all you want not going to change my mind

10. Nah….I would never want to change your mind.

And I agree that “a wrong must be corrected by doing what is right.”

But in some cases, one has to consider the underlying factors to determine what is right or wrong.

In your case, and as demonstrated by your contributions….

…..right or wrong is not based on morality, but on what you perceive to be politically advantageous to your cause.

So, perhaps you’re not the best person from whom we should take example of right or wrong.

I recall when the environmentalists and others were saying CAHILL was “wrong,” you presented all types of aguments to say it was “right.”

However, when your DLP administration conceded and agreed the project was “wrong,” you automatically changed your position to agree it was “wrong.”

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Artax July 19, 2018 5:00 AM
    “PUDRYR
    It’s about time Barbarians withdraw their money from these crooked banks and deposit it on one of several credit unions in the island.
    But rather than do this, Barbadians will find all types of excuses to keep their money in the banks, while they continue to complain about additional and increased bank service charges.”

Good piece of financial advice! But you should look at the other side of this ‘savings’ equation.

What would the same credit unions be doing with these ‘excess funds’ to generate a decent enough RoI to make it more attractive than leaving it with the commercial banks?

Is Barbados earning loads of forex to justify and indeed to support the existing lending portfolio of the credit unions?

Shouldn’t the credit unions be differentiating themselves from the foreign-owned commercial banks by trying to enfranchise both financially and economically their members (shareholders) by investing in areas which can either save forex or earn forex?

There are a number of ‘new-age’ enterprises ideally suited for the small-business entrepreneur which the credit unions could look at instead of the traditional car and vacation loans.

How about lending to those small new-age entrepreneurs who can see an economically-viable future for the cultivation, processing and commercialization of the plant cannabis sativa?

Bajans need to stop seeing that plant as Satan-as it was once demonized by the white business lobbyists- and must learn how to exploit its wide-ranging potentials; from cosmetics ,body and hair products to pharmaceuticals and healthy living consumables to house building materials to biodegradable shopping bags and packaging materials made of natural fibres instead of the environmentally harmful plastics.

12. Also find it to be insulting that after hiring consultants and advisors that Mia turns to public help looking for solutions

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Artax July 19, 2018 10:02 AM
    “I recall when the environmentalists and others were saying CAHILL was “wrong,” you presented all types of aguments to say it was “right.”
    However, when your DLP administration conceded and agreed the project was “wrong,” you automatically changed your position to agree it was “wrong.”

So what do you expect from a bare-neck yellow-breasted yard-fowl called “ac” the astute cretin performing the role of a brazen weathercock turning blue vex at every spin of her May 24th total disappointment and carrying the brand name ‘Mariposa’ and endlessly blowing in the ‘foul’ winds of DLP despair and discard?

Don’t you think that if the current BLP administration were to revive the WTE project and call it Cahill reincarnated under Greenland the real Ms angela Skeete would genuinely support it?

We are surprised that poor Ms. Many-pussies has not yet seen the wisdom of recommending to the new government the opportunity to get rid of the sargassum seaweed currently seen as a foul-smelling nuisance by using it as the burning material for her revived WTE plant.

Then there would no need to exploit a similarly odious smelling and discarded 30 tons of rotting material currently accumulating in the cesspool of the Deceitful Lying Party on George Street.

14. Mariposa,
    You are right. You do not hire expensive consultants and advisers then resort to asking the public for ideas. It suggests to me you are not yet ready for government.

15. Miller

You must realize credit unions are govern by different operating guidelines than banks.

And your question re: ” Is Barbados earning loads of forex to justify and indeed to support the existing lending portfolio of the credit unions?” is equally applicable to financial institutions such as Consolidated Finance, Fast Cash, Globe Finance and even Courts (Unicomer, which is registered as a financial institution).

The CUs could also “enfranchise both financially and economically their members (shareholders) by investing in areas which can either save forex or earn forex.”

The CU hierarchy and its members and special interest groups should lobby for legislation to establish a co-operative bank, similar to the one in SVG.

The numerous credit unions could deposit funds to this bank, which would also provide some of the traditional banking services.

The CUs could continue to provide service currently offered to members.

16. @Artax

You must be aware the BCCUL has been lobbying to government for years.

17. What is a participatory democracy? How does recruiting consultants by the government absolve it from ensuring a collaborative process is in place between the various estates?

18. What is wrong with this current BLP administration asking for valuable input from Barbadians, despite having consultants? Does this mean they are not ready for government?

Are you suggesting the Mottley administration should not accept solutions from the UPP, Solutions Barbados or even the DLP because they hired consultants?

Okay, the government hired consultant economists, does this mean the government should not take suggestions from Barbadians, for example, on how to deal with the sargassum seaweed problem?

You are also suggesting the recent tour by the relevant ministers of the Hastings area where the sewage was overflowing, accompanied by engineers, including Greenville Phillips II, was an insult and indicative of they not being ready for government?

Are you also suggesting because government hired consultants, they should not engage the Social Partnership?

Because you’re being cheered on by the resident pantomath, does not mean you should not be rational in your thoughts.

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Artax July 19, 2018 11:07 AM

Artax, on what basis, then, are you asking the average Joe Bajan to move their savings from the regular commercial banks to the credit unions?

Is it out of greed to earn a higher rate of interest or out of selfless altruism to save their economy from excessive blood loss through massive forex leakage via excessive imports to feed that insatiable beast of conspicuous consumption?

The transfer of those excess funds (liquidity) from the commercial banking sector to the credit unions lending portfolio could be justified on if those credit unions are going to lend those additional funds to sectors that are not only going to give a decent RoI but also save the Bajan economy from implosion arising from an endemic net loss of foreign exchange because of excessive conspicuous consumption (living above its means) compared to its forex earning capacity.

And the diagnosis of that state of chronic illness of conspicuous consumption applies to both the credit unions and those other lending institutions (as you clearly enumerated) involved in the killing of the economic goose that lays the precious forex eggs.

The ‘sweet life’ based on imported junk and unnecessary trinkets is about to ‘go belly up’ for Bajans. There will come a time in the very near future (around the corner) when Bajans will be forced to choose between importing medicines to ‘manage’ their fast growing NCDs or Mercedes Benz, Courvoisier, Remy hair and mock nails in order to find sufficient forex to pay back the country’s existing foreign lenders and the IMF.

20. Artax f you do not see the immorality in asking the poor to pay for the sins of the wealthy then as granma would say your conscience is dead

21. In the same breath how many consultants and advisers does Mia want
    Have it not dawned on you that the local public unlike the hired paid consultants would not be paid
    And furthermore if by chance some of the information gathered publicly is being used for solutions the hired guns can use such information at there disposal whenever for a set fee while enjoying publicity for doing a good job

22. Could you please explain to me “how the poor have to pay for the sins of the wealthy?”

If your comnents were written within the context of the proposed tax waivers, then surely you must realize the waivers would be extended to BOTH rich and poor.

Therefore, under these circumstances, and according to your logic…… the poor will obviously also have to pay for the sins of the poor.

Since you are adamant that you could make definitive statements relative to millions will be given to the wealthy…….then perhaps you are privy to information from the BRA relative to the number of wealthy people that would benefit from the millions.

Could you please share that information with this forum?

My friend, your argument is silly. I believe your source of information must be Jeptar Ince.

23. Okay….I now understand the rationale behind your argument.

The former inept DLP administration REFUSED to ACCEPT advice from anyone, including REJECTING David Estwick’s alternative economic policies…..

…….because they were concerned that “the local public unlike the hired paid DLP consultants would not be paid.”

Thanks.

24. “You do not hire expensive consultants and advisers then resort to asking the public for ideas. It suggests to me you are not yet ready for government.”

Hahaha, what idiocy!!! The involvement of the public facilitates, what as David rightly said, participatory democracy/governance and enriches the idea pool. The consultants’ task is to use their expertise to synthesise, analyse and formulate a sound policy based on the ideas. How do you think a party manifesto is crafted? #stoptalkingshyte

25. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah RIght Avatar
    Piece Uh De Rock Yeah RIght

@ the Sage Anunnaki

You had asked Artaxerxes this question “…Artax, on what basis, then, are you asking the average Joe Bajan to move their savings from the regular commercial banks to the credit unions?…”

I would like to give my two cents worth to this query.

As usual i going south to come north.

“…1 December 1955, the Montgomery bus boycott was a 13-month mass protest that ended with the U.S. Supreme Court ruling that segregation on public buses is unconstitutional…”

The strategy here or the first step of this strategy is to boycott these pernicious institutions of FCIB, Scotia, RBTT etc.

365 days of boycott served its purpose in Selma but this is one year of us losing 2.34% interest on our savings or some equally ridiculous amount of ROI.

With the inflation in Barbados at 13%? whu it means that we owe the bank money for keeping it safe for us.

The second stage is the Cycle of Consumption that eats up the FOREX that we earn but…given the fact that neither of the establishments have that expertise AT THIS TIME and they never sought to invest in such expertise, I am of the belief that their WAR FOR THE CONSUMER DOLLARS going MEK dem backsides re-think their inept models REAL QUICK if dem want to attract and KEEP their more enterprising clients.

Finally I going ask you what are you trying to do when you said “…on(ly) if those credit unions are going to lend those additional funds to sectors that are not only going to give a decent RoI but also save the Bajan economy from implosion arising from an endemic net loss of foreign exchange because of excessive conspicuous consumption (living above its means) compared to its forex earning capacity…”?

Sage Anunnaki, whuloss you dun going get masticate by Enuff of Lorenzo duo with that statement!!

Here you are on Thursday 19th of July making a remark that has befuddled the former DLP administration AND THE BLP ADMINISTRATION BEFORE THAT WHEN MIA WAS AG and will befuddle this current administration as well while MAM is prime Minister.

Because they do not know what to do and are of the hope that by getting all dese cuntsultants that they would miraculously engage the Oracle of the Delphi IN THAT SHOTGUN BLAST reasoning.

26. @ the Honourable Blogmaster

Your assistance please

27. Oh please . if that is so why did she not asked public to participate or give suggestions when she took liberty with taxpayers money
    Your comment shows the idocy and to what extent yardfowls would go to show their ignorance
    How in the hell would she use taxpayers money to hire economic advisers and then call on public for advice
    Hiw much advisers does Mia need
    The long and short of all this call for public participation falls in line with the same PR stunts she is using to capitalize on the confidence of the people

28. There is a growing list of issues and policies from past govt thst she has undone.
    Never heard any calls for people participation
    Some which affects the pocket books of the vulnerable
    How about summer camps
    Free bus rides for the elderly
    Gas tax
    Water tax
    One would think that these issues which are close to those who need them would require public participation
    So Enuff dont try puling that pissy a.ss sorry excuse about. Mia concern for what the public think
    Hell No hard to pull wool over my eyes after Mia campagain promise to put money back in the peoples pocket which has not happened.

29. Listen to Atherly doing the Union job on behalf of the employees
    But what can one expect from. Unions who would preference to become political prostitutes and along the way sold their membership out for a 10% increase
    Seems like the good old days of muscular language and marching strategies coming out of the mouths of the Union leadership has beem replaced by dog eat dog
    What a dam shame

30. “How about lending to those small new-age entrepreneurs who can see an economically-viable future for the cultivation, processing and commercialization of the plant cannabis sativa?”

They are missing out on so much cash that can be generated just from the derivatives of this plant alone, not to mention the other natural herbs on the island which can be processed and exported…but that is their thing, waiting to fall 40 years behind as usual.

31. “Your comment shows the idocy and to what extent yardfowls would go to show their ignorance….”

Mariposa

Before you POST another comment similar to the one quoted above….

……..I suggest you sit down and take some time to read and HONESTLY analyse your contributions…… DEFENDING the DLP……prior to the May 24th general elections……

…….and I’m sure you’ll come to the realisation that:

(1) your above comment accurately describes the rationale and reasoning behind those contributions.

(2) the records will INDICATE this is exactly how I have been DESCRIBING your political “kool aid drinking” motives as it relates to those contributions.

(3) and I’m sure you’ll recall that many of those contributions drew the response re: “your ignorance hath no boundaries.”

But……on the other hand, your comment indicates that you probably came to that realisation already.

32. Enuff

I did not know the elderly now have to pay bus fare on Transport Board buses?

If you care to, perhaps you may want to tell us when Mottley “undone policies of the past govt”……

……as it relates to “Free bus rides for the elderly.”

33. Oh well your discourse serves no purpose .You are much a yardfowl as they come so there is no sense in you scolding me about my political coments when you have not come to the relaization that Mottley is also seeking the help of Jesus
    Who is next only time would tell
    Maybe Lucifer but then again she was once described as him by one of her ministers

34. By your standards, I’m a yard fowl because I criticize the DLP.

However, I have read contributions to this forum in which contributors express their support of their party of choice.

But yours always “take the cake.” You never fail to display the silly yardfowl extraordinaire you are.

Have you retired from managing that large corporation……or are you now employed by the DEMS to troll this forum……
    ……because since the change of administration, you have been frequenting the “halls of BU” now, more than ever.

Uh lie?

Hahahaha
    Wuh loss

35. Artax

Why bother with Mariposa? She is talking about fuel tax and sewage tax, but curiously never mentions that non-contributory pensions were increased by $3,640 annually which is $3,100 more than the $540 for sewage and garbage tax, and that the relativities maintained for minimum contributory pensions and survivor benefits and invalidity benefits; or that pensioners and the indigent only have to pay the S&G tax at 50%. I wonder how they survived before being $3,100 poorer and with an NSRL? Remind me who are the “vulnerable” in our society? How many drive, and how often to spend regularly on gas? Road tax, however, was mandatory.

36. Ohhhh…..I forgot to add the most important point for you to consider when reviewing your contributions:

(4) “Your comment shows the idocy and to what extent yardfowls would go to show their ignorance….”

37. So what is the point of putting one dollar in the pensioners hand and taking two out
    Mia smoke and mirror policies would only do well to serve the rich
    Will the poor have to dig deeper into their pockets to make ends meet

38. Doug Hoyte has left CBC. Did he jump or was he pushed?

39. He probably was pushed. Barbados the intensity of this govt path to a dictatorship increase everday

40. I am sure he was. The only good thing is that he was not replaced by a Chinese man or one of the prime minister’s old school friends or play mates. Our political elite could not spell merit to save their lives.

41. @ Mr Hal Austin

Hal Ammmmmm Doug did not “jump nor was he pushed”…. heheheheheheheh

Dere was certain “irregularities” dat were ammmmmm “uncovered” in and amongst the nuff millions dat dem owe heheheheheheh

ammmmmmmm Doug ent neider brainiac heheheheheheh and ent know how to cover he tracks like de feller who stab Owen in he back and de Guernsey accounts heheheheheh

Looka Hal, for you to be a teif, you gotta got a good memory or an alibi or a scapegoat to take the heat OR NOT YOU GOING GET CATCH as …. heheheheheh

42. Who got rid of him? Was it the prime minister or Melba? Why is our press doing such a lousy job?

43. Yeah piece yuh ought to know all the twist and turns of thiefing caused yuh thief the logo Stupid which i had reference your stupid cartoons and twist and turn the logo into” stoopid” as the name brand for your cartoons. Now go ahead laugh you twisted crook
    Btw if you again used any comments of mine in any form to be placed as a sign or message to any politicians in your ignorant cartoons i would set my lawyers on your backside
    ##:#::…cretininyourbacksidefullstop

44. Whuloss hahahahahahahahaha

“…Btw if you again used any comments of mine in any form to be placed as a sign or message to any politicians in your ignorant cartoons i would set my lawyers on your backside…”

Whuloss, hold muh muh belly i gine fall…

Girl, THINE INGRUNCE TRULY KNOWS NO BOUNDS!!!

I feel that dem going revoke your membership at the DLP at the same time that dem expell Fumbles Stuart at the AGM or whatever wunna holding in Belleville

Or is that Belle Vue

“…Trademark Registration of Common Words or Phrases

Clients oftentimes call me to ask if they can get a trademark registration on a “common word” or a “common phrase.” The question itself is always asked with a doubtful tone, as if they already know the answer is “no.” To their surprise, however, the answer is a resounding “YES!”. Or at least in some cases it is.

Guh long girl guh long, gi dat to you lawyers

Wuh loss

Honourable Blogmaster you ent going stop she doah!

She trying to kill de ole man wid laughter wuh loss

She is truly an AC doah

TO ALL BLOGGERS ON BU

Henceforth anyone here who uses the words Assinine Cretin hath used de ole man words WIDOUT ME PERMISSION and I gine toss me lawyers pun wunna.

And especially dem sheeple who like to say tings like piece uh badword and den does call de ole man Mr. Peace, Whaplax i going get me lawyers to give wunna a call whaplax

Oh Lawsie

heheheheheheheheh

45. Oh my goodness………woman you are getting crazier by the day.

You come on to David’s blog using a made up name and talk about suing someone for using any of your comments???

I am more than convinced that the May 24th REDWASH has made you batshit crazy.

Go Piece…….let me see her sue you……….wuhloss………REDWASH…….not a damn seat for wunnah!

Whohooo!

46. @ The Honourable Blogmaster

I am heah in stitches but would appreciate if you retrieve a comment of mine address to Thine Hignorance Knows No Bounds Please dont sue de ole man for dat whuloss…..

47. Prodigal why yuh always sticking yuh nose in everybody business isnt it not bad enough yuh got yuh head stuck all the way up Mottley butt.
    Jesus

48. Piece i dare u to use any of my comments as references or crossreferences as sign posting or messages in your stoopid cartoons without my permission . i dare you

49. Even a stoopid cartoon is triggering you off………whohoo!

50. Before Freundel Stuart stupidly allowed Parliament to dissolve itself, Ronald Toppin knowing how reckless the then government was….. raised concerns about what they could do without
    Parliament in session.

Well lo and behold his words were prophetic……..Doug Hoyte did as he like up at CBC without the oversight of a board……now his doings are being exposed………..he gone through the door and people that he set up may still have a job and he does not have one.

Goat!………not one of these dems should ever hold office again……they have done too much to destroy Barbados.