51 days after being sworn in as Prime Minister of Barbados, the Honourable Mia Amor Mottley sits down with veteran journalist David Ellis for a no-holds-barred full-length interview on Barbados, July, 2018 at 6:00 p.m. The state of the economy, talks with the IMF, promises made and promises kept. They will all come under the microscope this Sunday evening at 6:00 p.m. as Prime Minister Mottley talks to David Ellis. View it live on CBC TV and Social Media and tune in to local (CBC in Barbados) radio stations. Sunday, July 15th at 6:00 p.m., Prime Minister Mottley talks with David Ellis….live from Illaro Court!

BLP News

437 responses to “An Interview with Prime Minister Mottley”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ T. Inniss

With all due respect your 8.21 am post does not seem to understand how consultants who are Caribbean based work.

The scope of operations of political consultants FOR THE MOST PART is limited to the Caribbean so Lucille or Hartley CANNOT DO U.S. ELECTIONS cause dem ent got de juice so to speak and it is very difficult to get the hook up.

So what happens is that as you show successes IN CARICOM that creates your CV for the next CARICOM gig.

The thing is that you have to be careful to pick winners all the time irrespective of who wants to hire you.

There is little room for error in this small market and there are few consultants with the skills to do it

Concomitantly this is why the Government of Barbados seeking to employ a small time consulting firm WIGH a ranking of 1000th from the USA to manage the affairs of our IMF BOUND ASSES is so ridiculous to contemplate

You don’t go to substandard entities to manage the affairs of a CUNTRY that has defaulted on debt UNLESS YOU GETTING A KICKBACK ON THE FEES THROUGH AN AGREEMENT WHICH HAS NOT BEEN SHARED with the SHEEPLE who are paying their fees by taxes, shared with the Leader of the Opposition whom you have cherry picked NOR THE IMF who you dun tell dat this substandard firm IS YOUR MANAGERS

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster an item is in suspense that remarks on T Inniss ‘ remarks about a consultant cabal

3. Georgie Porgie Avatar

t.innis
    re I noticed that PUDRYR has stated that there are only 3 persons working with White Oaks.

That one got me scratching muh head. Was Due Diligence done?

I mean 3 people ? So is it that they have no other clients or they are stretched real,real,real thin peoples.

man you let me down hey man
    MAN DAT IS AN EASY ONE MAN
    CANT YOU SEE
    IT MEANS THAT THEY HAVE THREE REAL REAL BRIGHT PEOPLE WUKING FOR THEM LIKE YOU, PIECE AND GP ah lie ? murdah!

all hell brek loose in de rum shop

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

only problem is dat none o we aint wukking fuh dem lol

5. Good Morning GP

Yuh right to laff at muh lol

6. Piece

The political consultants part is not as major for me as that of the overall picture.

Hartley henry get de pick,then he bring in Jong, then a suggestion is made to get a ‘Profesor’ – so Avinash get called and so on.Their contracts,salaries,list of achievements never get published for the island people to see and digest.

I understand political consultants operating in the Caribbean – with the big fish in a small pond type scenario.

Observing all that is going on brings no joy – but worry, anxiety and sadness.

7. Ms. Forde’s departure is about 7 or 8 years overdue, this was “free” money or “found” money for her and looked like it had Freundel’s pawprint all over it, how can you take a local bank Branch manager and put him/her in charge of a public transportation agency with hundreds of employees and expect tangible results.

This Gov’t has the opportunity to place a competent person with a modicum of experience in transportation issues to run the show but hope springs eternal.

8. @Sargeant

Read the back page of the Nation, $750,000 paid for car rental fees for the two consultants. These consultants were hired to ensure we have an adequate fleet of buses. We have been hearing that the rolling stock of the transport board does not exceed 70 on any day. Two hundred buses are reported to be defective.

9. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Sarge
    What you saying is very true……….but if you had the opportunity to meet this fool as I did once, you would jump out of your socks at the thought that this idiot could even run a local bank.

10. Wow!! The majority of businesses operates on a 3-month probationary period, however, how on earth can any new government of just 54 days bring back a country that was on death bed due to negligence, arrogance and lackadaisical approaches. We must be cognizant to the fact that it is the electorate that analyse the performances of the politicians and placed the “X” on election day. Having all the armchair politicians gracing BU will become a negative for the last administration.

11. Both parties have their share of Yardfowls. Do you know even in the face of a 30-0 result some have not learned?

12. @ Mariposa, T.Inniss, Hal including the present administration backers

The more someone accuse someone, the easier for others to analyse the accuser and dismiss the constant rhetoric. Zero doesn’t give accusers one damn chance in Parliament or Cabinet. Shut up and lets work together for the benefit of our beloved country. “Dun wid um nuh, fuh yuh chile sake”

13. David BU

If you made the assumption that some yardfowls did not learn anything from the 30-0 drubbing, based on their responding with their daily rhetoric and “samey samey,” criticisms to every article…..then I can agree with you…….

…….but on the other hand, if you take into consideration the number and frequency of their contributions, then it seems as though the drubbing provided them with FULL TIME jobs to troll BU.

I remember one in particular mentioning they have a job managing a large corporation. But with the frequency of their contributions, I’m wondering where do they find the time to be logged onto BU on such a consistent basis…..from early morning to late at night.

Unless the name of that corporation is “DLP Propaganda Management Services Inc.”

14. Steupes

Tell Me Why

Name the present BLP administration backers that you referred to above nuh.

You remember under the last administration how you were here on the BU being the perfect ‘BLP’ yardfowl?

It seem you and some people here feel ‘yardfowl’ is a title to apply to those who criticize this government or does who you feel are Dems.SMH

Too much double standards and hypocrisy does be going on here.

There are few people on this site that I think are genuine and ‘you who know everything’ include one of them – Hal Austin – as a DLP yardfowl – yuh doan tink you sick in yuh head though.Steupes.

15. David BU

On a serious note.

This is the perfect opportunity for the Transport Board to investigate the contracts the previous Board entered into with Trans Tech Inc., especially as it relates to the exorbitant fees they charged tax payers for fixing bus transmissions.

Additionally, they should also investigate the circumstances surrounding the sale of several Hino Road Runner and Road Ranger mini buses to a well-known PSV operator from St. Philip.

Chairman Gregory Nicholls should let the public know what is the status of UCAL as it relates to they providing maintenance and repair seevices and if they will be paid the long overdue fees owed to them by TB.

16. @ T.Inniss. Don’t get tie up when someone discuss an issue that affects the entire country and you automatically assume that the person is a particular party yardfowl. You cannot expect me to see nonsense and compliment the doer. This is the fundamental reason the electorate control power and can kick out Bees, Dees, Upps or even Solutions.

That’s being hypocritical and I don’t tow that line. I dun wid dat.

17. By the way, what has become of Maureen Holder and John Lovell?

Someone told me that when asked about CBC during the Ellis interview, Mottley said that some former employees seemed to have ran away and gone into hiding, as their whereabouts are unknown.

So. just for the fun of it, I would like the new CBC Board to reveal the terms and conditions of Maureen Holder’s contract and her salary as a consultant at CBC.

Also, the Board should let taxpayers know if the DLP settled its debt of $109,609 with CBC.

After all, the BLP’s election campaign mantra was transparency and accountability.

This new found “forgiveness of sins” shiite Mottley seemingly wants to push now….

……is unacceptable.

18. TMW

If you were to review any of my contributions to this forum, you will discover that, although I was critical of the former inept DLP administration…..

……I never defended the BLP or any of its members….

……yet I was labeled as a BLP yard fowl and operative, especially by those that DEFENDED the DLP and CRITICIZED the BLP.

It’s par for the course, if you criticize the BLP, you are a supporter of the DLP…..

…..and likewise, if you criticize the DLP you are automatically labeled a BLP operative.

Have you noticed that Barbados Today has now become the choice “newspaper” for DLP supporters and frowned upon by BLP supporters?

Have you also noticed that, prior to the May 24th elections, the DLP operatives frequented this forum to defend their party, but since the change of government their contributions have now quadrupled to criticize the BLP?

We come to BU to cuss each other on behalf on political parties…..

…..but guh down in de Bush Bar tomorrow night and see Mia, Donville, Rudy, Carrington and all uh dem, drinking Dewars, eating pork chops and socializing together.

19. TmW

Take pieceuhderockyeahright, for example.

Prior to the May 24th elections, he was vilified by people such Mariposa, Fractured BLP (and perhaps T. Inniss in disguise), for what Mariposa described as his “stupid cartoons” and “not one effing seat” mantra.

Now his posts are predominantly anti Mia Mottley and BLP, he is now being revered by these same hypocrites, because he is more or less speaking their language.

And it’s obvious how the BEES feel about him then and now.

20. So Mia does be among the fellas drinking whiskey and eating pork chops.

Nuttin wrong wid dat she is one of the boys right ?

I wonder if santia,Cytnty,sandra husbands,Dr Browne and any of the other female MPs does be part of that?

Interested people want to know lol.

21. As usual, you display your ignorance and lack of understanding.

The underlying point is that while jackasses like you come to this forum to cuss supporters of the BLP on behalf of the DLP, and vice versa….and making an ass of yourselves in the process…..

….politicians from both parties can be seen socializing with each other.

That is what a political pimp like you need to know.

22. The definition of a yardfowl is blind loyalty.

23. @ T.Inniss. You are not only behaving like a yardfowl but getting on like a stupidfowl. Just look at the most successful Prime Ministers and see Barrow was a people’s person, Tom was a people’s person, Owen was a people’s person and David was a people’s person. Now we have Mia who is a people’s person. Get the drift.

24. Luv it ! Not only a Yardfowl but a stupidfowl.

You always know when you hit a nerve.lolllllll

Murdah

25. @ Artax.

Agree with your submission. However, T.Inniss seems not to understand that the Dems did not only loss the elections but also the respect of the electorate. Tag-team criticism places more empathy, sympathy and love for your opponents. Wunna wun learn at all.

26. After 54 days and in one week Mia increase debt
    Why shouldn’t all be mad as hell.

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David July 18, 2018 9:58 AM

“@Artax
    Yes, thought of your BU contributions on transportation when the news broke yesterday. Many more incompetents need to be replaced. The country needs to lift its game. Many of these SOEs will be rationalized soon any way. Did the prime minister state last week that she will be coming to the public to assist with prioritizing those services that government should retain?”

Her coming to the public to solicit help in making a decision on the future of the SOEs would only make productive sense (instead of the oft regurgitated political bullshit) if the report on the restructuring of these entities which was commissioned by the last MoF in his December 2013 SOS statement was to be publicized.

This rather costly and long-overdue report must contain some recommendations on the future of these fiscal parasites SOEs.
    Why is it still sitting on the MoF’s desk instead of being made available for informed discussion if only in the interest of the now much touted principle of transparency and openness in governance (equivalent to the BLP promise of glasnost and perestroika)?

28. TmW

Especially tag team criticisms that are not well researched and thought out.

Let me give you an example. One of the critics sought to present a conspiracy theory to imply some sort of sinister act, based on the fact that Caribbean governments use a core of political consultants, analysts and strategists.

This indicates a lack of research and analysis of the facts. As PUDRYR correctly mentioned:

“The scope of operations of political consultants FOR THE MOST PART is limited to the Caribbean so Lucille or Hartley CANNOT DO U.S. ELECTIONS cause dem ent got de juice so to speak and it is very difficult to get the hook up.

So what happens is that as you show successes IN CARICOM that creates your CV for the next CARICOM gig.”

If one follows these developments, you would not have rushed to post there is something untoward in Caribbean governments using these people.

This is trying to score political points and spread propaganda, without relying on common sense.

29. @Miller

Why release the report now, would this not prejudice if not muddy public opinion in light of what is planned?

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Artax July 18, 2018 11:54 AM
    “So. just for the fun of it, I would like the new CBC Board to reveal the terms and conditions of Maureen Holder’s contract and her salary as a consultant at CBC.
    Also, the Board should let taxpayers know if the DLP settled its debt of $109,609 with CBC.
    After all, the BLP’s election campaign mantra was transparency and accountability.
    This new found “forgiveness of sins” shiite Mottley seemingly wants to push now….
    ……is unacceptable.”

Artax, we couldn’t agree with you more!

Totally unacceptable while the ordinary Bajan households who have been sucking salt for the past 5 years now have to pay a $45.00 p/m levy on their water bills to mitigate the financial cost of the incompetence of the last DLP administration.

This obvious ploy to let those rags-to-riches DLP politicians go scot-free is certainly not going to escape the sharp eyes and tongue of the BU brigade fighting for Barbados and good governance in the name of Justice. We already have our patron saint PUDRYR.

Why not make effective use of the BRA (minus its current chief wearer) to investigate the many unusually LARGE payments from the Treasury (including those made from the SOEs) to the various contractors and service providers with known ties to the DLP politicians?

In whose bureaucrats bank accounts and ‘lowe-down’ politician’s cash pockets did a 10% of this largesse find it way?

We are sure you, Artax, have the requisite basic forensic accounting skills to undertake such an undercover task to reveal the audit trail that leads to those ‘corrupted’ officials, both politician and bureaucrat.

Your fee of 10% of the lucre identified could turn you into an instant multi-millionaire, n’est-ce pas?

But you would have to be extremely careful in case you find yourself having a ‘Killer of a ‘Bounty placed on your inquiring head.

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Artaxerxes

You said and I quote “…Now his posts are predominantly anti Mia Mottley and BLP, he is now being revered by these same hypocrites, because he is more or less speaking their language…”

I understand your main point.

About the duopoly.

BUT You know better that mpat here that I am neither DLP nor BOO

I am for Barbados AND MORE SPECIFICALLY, DOING WHAT IS RIGHT in the sight of my Lord

Neither of the pair is important.

What is important is that they do the Right thing and if they don’t WE MAKE THEM SO THE RIGHT THING AGAINST THEIR WILL.

A utopia is to be sure but what other choice is there?

32. ” Opposition Leader Joseph Atherley is suggesting that he has no immediate plans to quit the Barbados Labour Party (BLP), despite crossing the floor one week after the May 24 general election.

In fact, Atherley has refused to rule out the possibility of contesting the next general election on a BLP ticket.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/07/17/atherley-still-a-bee-and-is-staying-put/

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David July 18, 2018 1:20 PM
    “Why release the report now, would this not prejudice if not muddy public opinion in light of what is planned?”

What is planned other than what the fired ex Guv of the central Bank has already revealed?

How can you have a programme of fundamental privatization without ridding the economic body of parasites?
    Do you think a private enterprise would hire 5 workers when 2 can do the job without the politicians sending three to be unproductive ghosts on its payroll as presently obtains in the public sector?

The IMF have been excoriating the GoB for the past 5 years to cut deeper than the token 3,000 electoral fodder (many of which were replaced for the 2018 race).

IMF sees a staffing level between 15,000 to 18,000 as the ‘right’ fit for the Bajan public sector given its economic capacity.

So what do you think will have to be done if Barbados is to secure balance of payment support from the IMF? He who pays the piper must be allowed to call the tune.

And there is only one tune to select. It’s called Hobson’s song and it goes like this:
    Get rid of the parastatal parasites which have been sucking too long on the financially withering nipples of the emaciated cash cow called taxpayers or face the spectre of Devaluation full frontal.

34. Did the PM just say at the BCCI luncheon that SOEs employ 10,000 as at today?

35. Is Atherley playing games or going senile…one has to question the mental state of politicians, if true, this is an unnecessary conflict, breach of ethics etc….how could this make any sense, even to him..lol

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/07/17/atherley-still-a-bee-and-is-staying-put/

“Opposition Leader Joseph Atherley is suggesting that he has no immediate plans to quit the Barbados Labour Party (BLP), despite crossing the floor one week after the May 24 general election.

In fact, Atherley has refused to rule out the possibility of contesting the next general election on a BLP ticket.

The Member of Parliament for St Michael West told Barbados TODAY this afternoon the issue about his party membership was moot, since crossing the floor was tantamount to severing ties with the governing party.”

36. I keep saying there are too many people on here who just open their mouth and talk nonsense because they have an agenda. One earlier raised the issue of Chastanet being in attendance at a meeting with Barbados and the cruise ships. When I read Kaymar Jordan’s editorial raising this issue I automatically thought–functional cooperation. I just heard the PM allude to the same reason. No wonder the opposers think I am an insider. lmao.

37. I’ve said from the outset that this Atherley as LOO is a farce and he has just confirmed that he is a back bencher in LOO clothing. This is worthy of a Monty Pythonesque sketch, are there any Bajan comedy troupes that can do justice to this routine?

38. Georgie Porgie Avatar

MR PIECE SAID
    Well I does always beg a piece from de ladies heheheheheh

PIECE BEHAVE YA SELF MAN
    YOU AINT KNOW IF YA DONT KEEP THE PEACE IN DE DAY YA CANT GET PIECE AT NITE

NOW YA KNOW
    I LEARN DAT FROM MY FRIEND SIMPLE SIMON

WUH LOSS

39. Georgie Porgie Avatar

MY FRIEND JOHN THE MATHEMATICIAN WRITES THAT IN AN EQUATION THUS

D PEA= N PIE

MURDAH

40. Sargeant
    Why you don’t leave the Bishop?🤣🤣

41. Atherley playing games .
    Sounds like a person looking for the best buyer
    Enough readon for him to one day be an independent another day to be a B and another day to be whichever way the wind blows in his favour
    Pity that the country has to put up Mia and Atherly for the next five years
    Anyhow i dont think barbados would have the intestinal fortitudr to endure much more pressure

Btw i keep reading about the conflict and butting of heads at NUPW cant help but laugh as the leadership head would soon be on the cutting block leaving the body to implode

42. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

And so it has unfolded that the insider Bishop Reverend Joseph Atherley has officially exposed what de ole man opined was his true stance and position.

It never ceases to amaze me how people, seeing only with their human eyes, get seduced by the hype.

In fact de ole man remembereth well and article here on BU about the dastardly man of cloth “grater love hath no man than this thst a man giveth up his life etc”

So I guess that AS THE LUMINARY JEFF CUMBERBATCH SAID recently regarding the ISSUE IT IS NOW POSSIBLE FOR ANY CITIZEN TO SEEK TO CHALLENGE THE ISSUE OF THERE BEING A VALID GOVERNMENT given this self invalidation of plurality by this scum Bishop Reverend Father Joseph Atherley

43. @ Artaxerxes

This Item regarding “Consumer Rights” or more specifically “The Right of Withdrawal” has its partial birth in your earlier comment

Bajans have to start realizing that each of us has a right to be served by these systems that we pay for and that we ent begging for nothing.

If Mia and her people think that they are bad johns let them continue for a while AND WE WILL REWARD THEM

With regard to the other rapists namely the commercial banks et al, let them feel the Power of May 24th

Find a Credit Union and once you are able to negotiate your terms, WITHDRAW YOUR MONEY from the Commercial Highwaymen and place it in safekeeping with the Union.

Mek de Union pay any withdrawal fees etc, that is how one negotiates with these banks but it is time to receive equity for the considerations given.

https://i.imgur.com/a1SZc6A.png

44. “Pity that the country has to put up Mia and Atherly for the next five years…..”

Mariposa

Come on, my friend…..it can’t be that bad.

If the country had to put up with the stupid Fruendel “Sleeping Giant” Stuart and his fools…….the abysmal failure Chris “Stinkliar” Sinckler, Michael Lashley, the “Pit Bull,” Michael Carrington, Donville Inniss et al…… for TEN YEARS…..and forced himself on the country for an additional 3 months…..

……surely the country could put up with Mottley and Atherley for 5 years.

And look how the country rewarded the imbecile Stuart and his fools……not one effing seat.

I’m sure Mottley will be likewise treated if she continues to do shiite.

45. PUDRYR

It’s about time Barbarians withdraw their money from these crooked banks and deposit it on one of several credit unions in the island.

But rather than do this, Barbadians will find all types of excuses to keep their money in the banks, while they continue to complain about additional and increased bank service charges.

Could you image that Royal Bank of Canada implemented a policy that you cannot change a RBC cheque unless you have an account with that bank.

At one time Bank of Nova Scotia was asking customers to produce two forms of identification to change a cheque.

The banks are doing as they please since Sinckler and Delisle Worrell relinquished the Central Bank’s control of determining interest rates.

46. Yeap and shit she is doing distrubing the money amongst the wealthy while makkng the poor eat s.hit
    And this trend will continue once the IMF becomes the official managers of this country
    Who takes up millions of dollars and with a stroke of a pen hand over millions to the rich one armed bandits who refuse to pay their taxes
    Who does that?
    Who smiles and laff with the poor and those struggling to make ends meet make glorious promises and then rewards them with higher taxation
    Who does that?
    Who talks about integrity while budding up to bounty hunters and drug kinpins giving them official invite to parliament
    Who does that?
    Barbados is ripe for implosion because of the sh.it Mia has done and the mountain economic pressures soon to be laid out on each and everyhousehold when the IMF states its final word all because if Mia

47. “Who takes up millions of dollars and with a stroke of a pen hand over millions to the rich one armed bandits who refuse to pay their taxes…..”
    +++++++

Could you please explain to this forum how you managed to interpret the waiving of taxes as “handling over millions to rich people,” making them richer and the poor….poorer?

Where is these millions of $$$ that had been given to the rich coming from…..the consolidated fund or the Central Bank?

Your argument is silly, yet you persist with the nonsense on a daily basis.

Seems as though this one slipped pass the editors in George Street.

What are your thoughts about David Thompson waiving $19M in taxes due by the Barbados Turf Club?

And under your watch (according to the Auditor General’s report) the Barbados Turf Club not paying taxes for the past 9 years?

I hope you likewise interpret these actions as giving away millions to rich people as well.

48. Allow your criticisms to be guided by common sense….

…….rather than silly rhetorical political diatribe.

49. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Artaxerxes

There are two black businesses in Barbados that I know their owners reasonably “well”

Dave Hinds at the Roxy Supermarket and Bertram Hall at Popular Supermarkets.

They are two men who have an orientation to black business that is superlative in so far as they live and breathe a philosophy that is egocentric.

All dat is a Euphemism for dem does do good by black peeple by selling good produce at affordable prices to us niggers.

And this is why they are successful businesses because of there adherence to a code of ethics thst permeated through their being.

I say all this to say that the calibre of these credit unions HAS TO BE SIMILARLY COMPLEXIONED where we are confident to say thst party x is the lead to of that organization and his credentials are impeccable.

The fact is that no one is Jesus the Christ BUT we need to know ghat there are men and women of integrity whom you and I can endorse to our brothers and sisters.

Here is the type of campaign that de ole man would run to create that type of outreach

*** suffice it to say that it can be done and measured in quick time.

The challenge of course is are deposits 100% secured and is the management sound or is this organization one’s personal piggy bank?

DEM ***s is for an actual campaign dat de grandson got at he bank for rollout.

Dat grandson is someting else doah wid heself….I does pray for him regularly