51 days after being sworn in as Prime Minister of Barbados, the Honourable Mia Amor Mottley sits down with veteran journalist David Ellis for a no-holds-barred full-length interview on Barbados, July, 2018 at 6:00 p.m. The state of the economy, talks with the IMF, promises made and promises kept. They will all come under the microscope this Sunday evening at 6:00 p.m. as Prime Minister Mottley talks to David Ellis. View it live on CBC TV and Social Media and tune in to local (CBC in Barbados) radio stations. Sunday, July 15th at 6:00 p.m., Prime Minister Mottley talks with David Ellis….live from Illaro Court!

BLP News

437 responses to “An Interview with Prime Minister Mottley”

1. Will students have to pay UWI fees for the 2018-2019 year or not?

2. Looking forward to this interview.
    One with the no holes barred, in your face premier journalists David Ellis.
    That it goes live is significant and in a situation where the Prime Minister has installed a minister of information who among other things, has responsibility for the “state -owned CBC, is notable given the recent history of political use and abuse of that agency.
    The riverside is not being upstaged in this scenario at all.
    We recall that under the previous administration such an exercise was recorded and edited after Mr Stuart was served up long hops from the benign but bountiful Rose among the pines.
    The pledge to be open and transparent and accountable is noble.
    This is even more critical in light of the unprecedented mandate given to the government.
    The role of the media therefore as a main gaurdian of our democracy will take centre stage again as we navigate this critical stage of our development.
    We look forward to how these two seasoned praticioners in their chosen fields of endeavour will interpret and deliver this crucible to the nation.

3. Please!!!!!!!!

David Ellis and no holes barred interview with Mottley is an absurdity in itself.

Now if you had said Kaymar Jordan from Barbados Today …………. well then …….

4. Please take a chill pill and listen to a real leader, PM Mia Amor Mottley!

5. I have decided that I will listen to as much of this as possible and blog.

I missed the opening but I have noted that Ellis seems to have thrown her off.Not sure what the first ques.

6. Isn’t it curious that she is concerned about the QEH and the heavy financial burden,yet she rushes off as the Hero at CARICOM meeting and offered contingent rights to all these persons with skilled certificates coming in to Barbados.So that the said QEH will be under even more pressure and the same as our schools and polyclinics.

7. Ellis just caught her out in a lie where in 2017 she said she is willing to refinance without defaulting on the debt.

Nuff bluster from Mia ‘we got this’ motley.

Lashes sharing yeah.Ellis surprising me.Wuhloss

She keeps telling him about one -upmanship.

8. Tell me the truth though …. if she says everyone must carry the burden and not only those at the bottom ,tell me how the hell you could give everyone of your elected MPS a ministerial position? eh

9. I agree with her for checking Dugid and the shite he talk and then want to play big and bad.

10. Another boss question by Ellis about the big cabinet and the appointment of Charles Jong in light of the ‘dire financial circumstances’ she say she met.

Her answer is bare piffle steupes.She need all these half day ministers because ‘many hands make light work’

She really think that every body is a kool aid drinker steupes.

11. Not follwing because i already know what to expect from the Grand mademoiselle liar.. nuff retracts

12. So wait is Mia ‘watch muh’ Mottley saying that the Dems had nuff consultants so what wrong with us having people like jong she election facebook page man.

She forget all of the consultants when the BLP were last in.

Piss poor.

I thought she offered the electorate change – is that change? steupes

Allande babb is she that woman with a man voice who used to push the blp position?

She calling out nuff names it seems these are the tzars she talking about.Well,well,well

And while these consultants and tzars getting nuff money the pensioners have to look for $45.00 every month..

13. I bet you following. Probably taping.
    I think ‘no holes barred’ is different from ‘no holds barred’.
    Saw the word ‘nooze’ at a next site

14. I honestly want my country to succeed but it can only do so on a foundation of transparency.

15. Transparency and honesty must be the guideline of any government that seeks to maintain the trust of the people.

She trying to avoid Ellis question that Britain who is a developed country with myriad of problems including Brexit has only 23 ministers but lil Barbados has 26 ministers plus 2 Ambassadors who now attend cabinet.

16. Honestly I am glad I listen up to this point.

Hal Austin your words might be prophetic my good man.

17. Keep me posted T.Inniss i do not have the stomach to hear much more of Mia political diatribe
    Only this time she is solo no one around to back up her positions.

18. Many hands means more govt debt for the taxpayers to pay
    Hope he asked her to be transparent about those tax waivers like giving a list of those people who received “free”money to fatten their bank accounts

19. System is Broken Avatar
    System is Broken

Britain population up to 2015 65 million plus / 23 Ministers or 1 Minister for every 2.8 million people.

Barbados population 300,000 / 26 Ministers or 1 Minister for every 11,500 people.

This island is a joke.

https://www.bing.com/search?q=what+is+the+population+of+britain&form=EDGTCT&qs=RI&cvid=bce7d10d322e4c21804f8230e84c12b6&refig=e08ea1129e8c4458bb351da388eed6d4&cc=US&setlang=en-US&PC=HCTS

20. System is broken

So true!

It was a good question from Ellis and one she tried to bluff her way through.

Now we hearing a list of another tiers of consultants or tzars: Ms Babb,Mr Arrundel, a mr Jonathan reid etc etc.This woman got to be joking with the people’s resources.

21. Tourism kills reefs.

22. Where she makes any point that I can agree on I will say so like the point she made about Dugid and the road tax,but for right now I am giving her a 3.5 out of 10 so far.

23. We are now hearing that Govt is looking at ‘sovereign leases’ for the new buses and Sanitation trucks to come.

The advantage of that is your maintenance will not be a cost factor and knowing how these transport board drivers carry long these buses – that might be a good thing.

However smart lease providers will write that in the cost of the lease so you are paying it up front.

24. If your party did not destroyed this country…….we would not be in the mess we are in now.

What dont you idiots not understand…………..the DLP left the country broke………..run down and popped down everything and now PM Mia has to repair the whole damn country.

Wunnah should be shame to even comment on any damn thing………by the way why were no buses or garbage trucks bought by the DLP in ten years?

25. Watch a real leader………….not a stupid one like Freundel…………….wunnah still following him?

26. The PM has explained that a lot of the brains of the government left in the last ten years………all because they did not want to work with the jackasses of the DLP.

The taxpayers have to pay the MP’s who are all BLP……they would have to be paid anyway……
    ………why not let them work for the money?

What a wise leader!

27. Prodi-Gal

Why don’t you give up your position and save the taxpayers some money.You ain’t shame.

The truth is Mia wanted to create history by being the first female P.M. and now she got that there is no knowledge of what to do next.A lot of mumbo -jumbo and rushed policies that she has to come behind and clean up.Steupes.

28. System is Broken Avatar
    System is Broken

@ Prodigal Son

Are you a beneficiary of the BLP or blinded by your ignorance?

Anyone has a right to voice their opinion on this blog IRREGARDLESS of Political affiliation.

You seems to have lost your senses since this election and showing your true colours.

You are one of the reasons why I say the system is broken, everyone’s voice should be heard even if we don’t agree with their opinion or observations if it doesn’t suit our personal agenda or beliefs.

29. Shoo fly!

30. The DLP mashed up the country…..that is a fact!

31. I don’t like how david ellis look tonight.He look really frail.

32. Prodigal and Mia promised to fix it

Fix it Mia

33. Britain has a Cabinet of 23 yes, but 107 Ministers and 350+ local councils with their own decisionmaking powers on certain local matters. I am done. #whybother?

34. What is your point, Enuff?

35. Brtain can afford and britain has many counties and municipalities a bigger country to run with a huge population
    Mia teking the taxpayers money for joke after saying that the country is broke and there is no money
    Liar liar lock her up

36. System is Broken Avatar
    System is Broken

@ Prodigal Son

Barbados Underground Blog does not belong to you and the BLP party and every commentator a lackey.

DLP mashed up the island in 10 years and now BLP turn to fuck it up totally and no one should be able to voice an opinion unless its fit a BLP narrative.

You are one of the Underground Spin Doctors for the BLP.

I encourage T. Inniss, Mariposa, Grenville Philips, PeaceupontheRock, Hal Parris, Georgie Porgie or anyone who have an opinion to tell it as it is.

Barbados belongs to every citizen and resident, and not to any partisan clown irregardless to whatever party they support or don’t.

THAT IS FACT.

37. But wait……….where the hell you now come from?

Where or when do you see me trying to stop any dem from saying whatever they want to say?

But look at my crosses this bright Sunday……….

Be gone, you stupid idiot……..deal with the Redwash the BLP put on wunnah……..and leave me alone. You all are so bitter that any thing anyone says is an offence to you all.

David allows me to come on BU and you cannot tell me what to say……be off.

Wait until Donville open his mouth…….it is going to keep you all silent for years! Shoo fly!

38. System is Broken Avatar
    System is Broken

@ Hal Parris

Jokers like Enuff and Prodigal Son have no point instead of facing facts and walk away they come on the Barbados Underground to show their blinded ignorance with petty arguments as it relates to when Mia and the BLP policies or actions are challenged.

It makes them look just as EQUALLY stupid as the DLP yardfowls they harp about.

However I am more convinced that the two must have become a beneficiary in more ways than one.

Anyone that challenge the BLP is an enemy and doesn’t have the island at heart, only BLP supporters and blinded Mia followers.

Never heard such shite in my life.

39. What a stupid person you are…………you may have the last word…..done responding to idiots!

40. System is Broken Avatar
    System is Broken

@ Prodigal Son

Ha Ha Ha, struck a nerve I told you your true colours are showing.

I have never supported any Political party on the island and have never voted in ANY election, because I personally know many of the Politicians on both sides and know them to be liars and bullshitters.

Because of your ignorance to justify your lack of argument you call me a DLP yardfowl, you are a typical dumb Bajan, and I don’t see how Donville Inniss got in the conversation.

I am totally convinced that Barbados education system have failed, it is easier for an idiot like you to put someone in a perceived box.

I may be new to BU but didn’t realise there are senior posters and new posters have to bow to them by not speaking the truth.

Again I will repeat what come out of your mouth and is now written is proof that the System is Broken.

41. System is Broken
    I am.just stating facts. There are also Ministers in the devolved assemblies. Like Mottley said, y’all picking at things to criticise.

42. Focusing on 1.7 million in salaries is a distraction at this stage although the optics look bad. She will be judged as stated on what she is able to achieve at the end of the term. Would like her to release the names of the bevy of consultants the DLP had on hire as well. BU is one place where she will be judged harshly if she does not deliver given the size of cabinet and extras.

43. Mia’s performance tonight was weak sad to say.

For those who were listening for some clarity as to the way forward,why she took certain decisions,the inconsistencies – it was Nada – more consultants to come in yuh face.

From what I hears her saying tonight is like – she hearing yuh but she going to do what she feel like – because – yuh know – umm – 30 – 0 right?

The start of a dictatorship some may say.Well owen – they didn’t listen to you on that score.

To think that after all the hue and cry about ‘everybody got to make a sacrifice’ and then this – 26 ministers,,2

Ambassadors to the cabinet (Billie & Mascoll),one financial advisor to the cabinet,a non national communications director ( Jong) who was her elections campaign person (see Dominica & st kitts)

,an advisor in Jessica Odle,an advisor in the former assistant to Mia

as Opposition leader – one Pat Parris,Ralph Thorne to get more money to look at drafting something or the other,- lord

help us here in Bim.

44. If you plan to be an effective dissenting voice at least be cogent and coherent in your offerings. Did we hear her say she has to consult with her cabinet? Did we hear her say she is currently consulting with the social partnership? Did we hear her say before integrity legislation is finalised the public will be included in joint consultation session? Did we hear her say the public will be included in the reform and modernization of the Town planning legislation? Did we hear he suggest there will be referenda on a number of issues?

45. T Inniss the Dem J/A what is your take now as you were on here speaking about lollipop questions and based on the Mr Ellis I know he would leave no stone unturned .True to form he tried unsuccessfully to throw Ms motley off but Ms motley answered everything he posed with confidence.The only thing she should have done is nan=me all the consultants the dems had and the salaries they were paid.Ms Mottley di d mention Mr morris being paid heaven knows for what and we know of the trini in the ministry of Transport alledged being paid 22,000 dollars a month again for what,with few buses on the road.I expect in future she will name all of them,and blow all these Dem bellyachers like T inniss ,mariposa Fractured and Piece,clean out the water..Therefore to Ms Mottley I say well done ,continue to work hard,unlike the previous PM who refuse to communicate with the people.

46. We all know who the Consultant who was being paid $7,000 from BTMI and the other $7,000 from elsewhere…

47. “Would like her to release the names of the bevy of consultants the DLP had on hire as well. ”

She needs to release all those names, their salaries and job description to the blogs and newspapers,, there is no reason why she can’t.

48. David
    Thank you. Her justification is that she needs the Cabinet to deliver given our precarious position. She’ll be judged on the deliverables or lack thereof. At least we know who the consultants are and their purpose. I also get the impression (I hope I am right) that their salaries, contracts etc will be made public as well as the bevy of consultants in Freundel’s office and costs. In 2 months she has had the same number of one-on-on interviews as Freundel in 8 years. The DLP apologists are going berserk. They can continue to call me a beneficiary and a yardfowl. 🤣🤣🤣

49. Given that there is partly legislation in place for the use of medical marijuana…that should already be a done deal for people who need the marijuana treatment for their various illnesses and should not be held up beyond the next 2 months to iron out the kinks..

…. there must be a minister of health who can fast track this, BAMP is already holding a public discussion on this next Wednesday..this should not be a long drawn out process.

50. Was George Pilgrim not promoted as an entrepreneur who owns five businesses on the DLP platform? Was he named this evening as one of the consultants in the PM’s office. The blogmaster is willing to be corrected.