Heather Cole
When I was a child,
I spake as a child,
I understood as a child,
I thought as a child: but when I became a man,
I put away childish things.
– 1 Corinthians 13:11

When I was a child, I loved the silly season not because it made me think earnestly about the persons and government in whom my mother was entrusting my future but for the music, the lyrics of songs, the political banter, the late nights attending political meeting, listening to things I did not understand; the funny things the candidates said, the gossip they started about one another and the fanfare of wearing red or blue and watching the spectacle of a well-practiced speech delivered by someone who turned up at our house asking for my mother’s vote.

Somehow we all got caught up in this exercise. It brought as much anticipation as Christmas. We all enjoyed it’s fanfare until the big day came with its nervous wait to determine our fate. However for the poor it always brought the same fate; nothing changed. The cycle continued of the rich becoming richer; the poor remaining poor and not laying eyes upon the middleman until five years later when he greeted you as if you parted yesterday.

Now that I am grown and uniquely interested in the well-being of all Barbadians, I now question what we have been doing all along.

I have come to realize how gullible a people we really are. By now it must be a weakness because we have fallen for the same ploy of broken promises season after season without redress. It appears that we enjoy being promised punishment. It is quite like the Stockholm syndrome which occurs after a relationship has been established with one’s captors. Slavery has really done us wrong as it seems that we have taken the deficiency of a once a year entertainment given to us by the masters way too far. Why do we need to profess it at every opportunity we get?

On Sunday March 7, 1965, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and about 600 persons marched. It was not an act to entertain but the last resort, a demonstration or protest that was akin to a riot or a slave revolt if it had not occurred in 1965. It was a protest that raised the conscience of a nation and obtained civil rights for black people. There is a lot for us to learn from the sobriety of this protest.

The social, economic and civil rights of all Barbadians have been under threat for the past 10 years. It is time for us to face the election season with sobriety. The upcoming elections must be a catalyst for serious thought and change because the spectre of entertainment has done us no good on raising the conscience of our nation.

If we were taught that a general election was the time for the people to force change when the mandate given by them was not accomplished, we would embrace the concept of warfare. If we as a nation were under constant attack and our situation one of duress, pain, hopelessness, suffering and misery and we found a chance to break free but there had to be a fight, our minds would be focused on the concept of warfare; the struggle to achieve a desired outcome.

No soldier going to war fraternizes with the enemy; the person who brings pain suffering and agony as that would be treason. Therefore no amount of money offered should cause a voter to sell their vote when there will only be fleeting gratification from the exercise and misery in the long run. Some sold their vote and now realize that it was not worth the day to day struggle to survive today. Others have also realized that they allowed their representative to change the economic climate which contributed to loss of their job, home, savings and car. They have all realized that they were tricked by hustlers for a hundred dollar bill, a cell-phone, i-pad, TV, fridge or stove. We have to learn to see beyond this trickery.

It defies logic to believe that a man can bribe his prospective boss, but it happened in Barbados. It is difficult to understand why Barbadians can allow representatives of political parties whom they will employ to bribe them. Perhaps the people do not understand the power that they possess. Any man who buys your vote will never have your interest at heart, only his. Never give up your right to vote freely and fairly.

This silly season is distinctly different as the country has never been in such social, economic and environmental difficulty before. Never have we had such scoundrels in Parliament who have bought not only the liberty of the franchise, but destroyed the economic well-being of the country and the social well-being of the people. Knowing full well what the sitting party did and will do the retain power. Anyone who thinks that this election is not a war is in denial. Perhaps all of the opposition parties must change their strategies and adopt the philosophy of warfare. The Art of War is a good read.

There is enough evidence on corruption alone to be used against the Stuart Administration. Then there is mismanagement of the economy, and then there are the scandals like the Cahill Gasification Plant, The Hilton Hotel, The Sewage on the South Coast and one can go on and on. The point that I am trying to make is that no one should leave your political meeting feeling happy and dancing or on the fence not knowing who to vote for. They should be so enraged that the ONLY choice they would have is to vote for an opposition party.

Hopefully, when the next history book is written of Barbados, it will note that the period leading up to general elections in the year 2018 was significantly different than in previous election years; that the concept of entertainment was put away and replaced with the sobriety of warfare in order to extract what was duly required not only for the preservation of the socio and economic well-being of those alive then but also for future generations.

105 responses to “A Heather Cole Column – Warfare Vs. Entertainment”

1. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“There is enough evidence on corruption alone to be used against the Stuart Administration. Then there is mismanagement of the economy, and then there are the scandals like the Cahill Gasification Plant, The Hilton Hotel, The Sewage on the South Coast and one can go on and on. ”

But will it be used…will any incoming government use these many crimes committed by the current culprits and punish all the perpetrators, or will we hear a bunch of sissy excuses from the old boys and girls club of close political friends, family and business partners to continue the same corruption against the population in the course of another 5 year cycle.

2. An old saying is Nobody has ever bribed a man that wasn’t for sale, Tammanay hall bajan style

3. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Something needs to be done in this go around, they are out of control, both them and their bribers need every day exposure and arresting.

4. The reason the rich get richer and the poor remain poor is because the poor keep taking up their hard-earned money and buying up all the unnecessary stuff the rich sell. If we would buy from our own people, buy BLACK, we would become rich too. Our collective fate is in our own hands, and a conscientized Black population could do very well, in spite of the politicians.

5. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

I’m going to repeat for the umpteen time: when will the army intervene and put an end to this nonsense?

6. Well Well

The real question is, will the incoming admin punish itself?

7. What is the number…what is a bajan vote worth…actually what is a bajan soul worth

8. Well Heather my dear I must tell you this. I just left Barbados where I spend vacation. There are still many Barbadians devoted to the party system. Usually the diehard was of a certain vintage. Not anymore, persons younger than I am are prepared to go down with the ship of their choice. Listen to Down To Brass Tacks any day and the myriad of reasons why the Government of the day cannot be held responsible for the existing economic malaise, as advanced by numerous apologists beg the question are we talking about the same country? Heather girl accept the fact that we as a people are screwed.

9. I note that the St. Michael North West Development Foundation can sponsor a Donnie MacClurkin concert (foreign exchange going out) but the Ministry of Finance did not grant a VAT exemption to the Broadway to Barbados Charitable Trust. This charity has raised over $2 million for the QEH (see page 9A in the Sunday Sun).

10. @Ping Pong

You have to ask who donated the money. Perhaps an exemption was not necessary?

11. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ Heather

I endorse the last paragraph . However ,we, the electors, have to write that history. Those with all the virtues that we assess the present politicians not to have, must offer themselves for office. We , that belly ache about the need for change, must canvass votes for those of the virtuous party.
    We all are responsible for the outcomes. Remember we are only human. We must do what is in our power to do.
    Do the “corrupt”define who we are as a people? Are they in the majority? The moral majority does not stay at home on election day and hope their party wins or the less incompetent party wins.The moral majority works effectively for victory. If the moral majority loses then so be it.

12. Agree with you Bernard but the approach must be multipronged, for example holding elected officials accountable.

13. The sponsor of the MacClurkin concert is an organisation associated with Sinckler’s constituency. As the concert is free, I presume there is no VAT to be collected. I am told that in 2002 MacClurkin admitted to homosexuality but that God has changed his lifestyle. MacClurkin has been an inspiration to some DLP politicians in their own struggles I am told. They felt he could inspire others to change lifestyle as they have.

14. That was a vicious bouncer Ping Pong 🤨😐

15. Talking about warfare, I wonder who it was this guy pissed off.

Billionaire Barry Sherman, one of the most powerful capitalist in Canada and a close friend of Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has been executed along with his wife by multiple killers in Toronto

Story says Sherman made his money in pharmaceuticals and was also the chairman of the well known Canadian pharmaceutical company Apotex. The Toronto cops are trying desperately to wriggle out of investigating this apparent hot potato case of a high profile double murder by going with the old standy of “murder suicide”, but:

Here’s the new information: There are markings on the Shermans’ wrists, an indication that at some point their hands were tied together, though no rope or other ties were found near the bodies.

Toxicology tests on their bodies reveal no sign of drugs that would have contributed to their deaths. Men’s leather belts found around their necks were the cause of the “ligature compression” that killed them.

A top forensic pathologist who did a second autopsy determined this was a double homicide, barring any new information that surfaces.

http://investmentwatchblog.com/billionaire-barry-sherman-one-of-the-most-powerful-capitalist-in-canada-and-a-close-friend-of-canadian-prime-minister-justin-trudeau-has-been-executed-along-with-his-wife-by-multiple-killers-in-toron/

16. “Bouncer”?! When I was younger, I was a mediocre off break bowler. Right hand batsmen played me fairly easily but “lefties” had a bit more trouble. LOL. Oh by the way, there are many who believe that one cannot change one’s sexual orientation only dispute it.

17. Should we also categorize:

………..the constituency night cricket, football and road tennis tournaments hosted by political candidates ONLY during the lead up to general elections……..

………distribution of Christmas hampers……..

……….and the sudden interest politicians are showing to the needs of constituents (and more so as general elections draw nearer)……..

…….. as “vote buying?”

18. @GreenMonkey

The Toronto cops are trying desperately to wriggle out of investigating this apparent hot potato case of a high profile double murder by going with the old standy of “murder suicide”,
    ++++++++++
    “Desperately trying to wriggle out”? That’s your opinion but sometimes it is what it appears to be not what people want it to be, this “double murder” theory was proffered by investigators hired by the family perhaps you should wait awhile before jumping to “desperately trying to wiggle out”.

19. @ Ping Pong ” MacClurkin admitted to homosexuality ”

Who gives a flying puck. Your next PM COULD be a homosexual or LGBTQ.

oops! forgot than wunna Bajans are against homosexuality.

As a CanBajan living in Canada I support the rights of the LGBTQ community.

20. Hants January 22, 2018 at 11:49 AM #

As a CanBajan living in Canada I support the rights of the LGBTQ community.(Quote)

We defend the rights of ALL people.

21. @ Sargeant and other CanBajans. Your children and grand children will have a great opportunity.

“The plan includes equipping 500 teachers with training and tools, according to a news release.

The program will be aimed at students from kindergarten to grade 12, with a particular focus on girls, indigenous people and other groups under-represented in the fields of science, technology, engineering and math.

https://www.ctvnews.ca/politics/feds-launch-50m-initiative-to-teach-kids-to-code-1.3458792

22. NorthernObserver Avatar

in fairness, readers should appreciate it is ‘silly season’ in Ontario, with an election looming, in a similar time frame to Barbados.
    The difference? Even with a provincial debt of $300 Billion and growing, it still has ACCESS to debt. They have rolled out free prescriptions to youth, potential free university education, a 20% hike in minimum wage, the program you cited, etc etc

23. On another topic I am here listening to a DLP PR onBrass Tacks with Minister Stephen Lashley who happen to call in after the intro by Mr Ellis and at 12.0 he is still on rambling all over the place while there has been roughly 5 calls in two and a half hours ,disgraceful.Is this a coincidence based on Mr Ellis choice of past Moderators I have my doubts.Looking at that list we had Peter Wickham and Marsha Hinds-Layne who were Dems then,Ms McClean,Shantelle Munroe Knight ,Tony Marshall,Maureen Holder,Akentolove Crbin,Harry Husbands,Ralph Jemmott,Matthew Farley and others who seem to have leanings,in my opinion to the DLP,selected by Mr Ellis.I hope that for balance that when next he is on I hear a representative of the BLp,UPP etc for their views.

24. Hants

I don’t care who you care to support, the hypocritical DLP that YOU support, have said it intends to make the presumed sexual orientation of opposing politicians an election issue.

Spare me your faux angst!

25. One has to question the length of time given to Lashley given the reluctance of th government to interact with those that elected them. It is the silly season!

26. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ David at 10:04 AM

Accountability? You cannot even get the perpetrators to accept responsibility. It is always some body else fault.
    Enforcement of agreed rules go through a tortuous process that leads to frustration and hopelessness.

27. Lorenzo
    I can’t stand hearing the dodges and subterfuge of this little hitler from St. John,the most neglected parish in Barbados.Why would Ellis entertain a Minister of a government on his 4 hour show when this government is so piss poor in managing this country.I don’t want to hear from any of these inefficient and ineffective lying cabinet ministers.They can all go to hell where GP will make them pay penance every day.On second thought I would give Estwick a listen even though he cannot be relied upon to carry through his perceived dis agreements with his colleagues.But I blame OSA for all this.When the Eager 11 got their math fuzzy he could have supported them in correcting the equation.He chose instead to play with words to the effect that he would not support the Apple cart.In retrospect,it turned out to be the straw that broke his back in the 2013 election.

28. Upset the apple cart

29. Hants January 22, 2018 at 11:49 AM #
    “@ Ping Pong ” MacClurkin admitted to homosexuality ”

Who gives a flying puck. Your next PM COULD be a homosexual or LGBTQ.”

Our NEXT one. You really believe the current one is wholly heterosexual? Having an ex-wife and daughter means nothing, except perhaps that you have preferences that neither satisfy.

His demeanour and behaviour are typical of a frustrated, nasty, bitter, old ‘queen’. If it walks like a duck……

30. The press in Barbados is pathetic. When the voodoo doctor was heading the CB he chose not to entertain the press and now that he is just another citizen (and a wealthy one too) like the rest of us, every utterance is covered by the same media that was treated with such disdain. The same thing is going to happen when Mister My Nose Is So Big That I Refuse To Condesend To Speak To The Imbicles That Elected Me And Pay My Salary. You can bet that when the Anointed One starts braying all over the island he will be fawned over by the same media that can’t get a peep out of this sorry excuse of a lawyer/politician. If he were a punctuation mark, he would have to be a ‘Colon’.

31. @Fearplay

Interesting observation, it speaks to a reverence the society has for the political class and specifically ministers of government. They intimidate the media practioners. This may not be the case with Ellis but he is aware ministers on the talk show will attract interest and given his role he must be conscious of the business aspect and balance with being a media player.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ mitchlans January 22, 2018 at 1:04 PM

LoL!! An old ugly queen indeed like his dead idol Cammie T the Big Queen of a King maker at whose knees he received many lessons in ‘rearguard action’, political and otherwise.

We wait to see if Stephanie another pipsqueak princess of a wannabe drag queen will lower her ‘behind’ in trying to expose MAM on her ascendancy to the throne.

It’s really the height of moral Hypocrisy for Bajans to hold a woman to a ‘higher’ standard of sexual ‘differentiation ‘when the closets of ‘male’ holders of which she aspires [including the current and previous] are riddled with the skeletons of lovers of ‘homo’ sapiens.

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ FearPlay January 22, 2018 at 1:25 PM

Sweeeet!!!

What a ‘fair and balanced’ observation of the prostituting media!

One wonders what our friend NationNewspaper BLP has to say about Ellis and his ‘timely’ appearance on his River Road version of Bush Hill with his list of ministerial choir boys and girls as cheer leaders.

34. The Miller

Lard!

You very visceral today about matters sapiens. LOL

35. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Talking Loud Saying Nothing January 22, 2018 at 7:13 AM “when will the army intervene and put an end to this nonsense?”

So wasn’t the army raised in the same houses and churched in the same churches and schooled at the same schools as the current political class (B and D and all the rest) so why would you expect the army to govern better?

Stupssseee!!!

We the people need to stop being idiotic and we need to start THINKING and start ACTING in our own best interest.

36. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@lawson January 22, 2018 at 7:42 AM “What is the number…what is a bajan vote worth…actually what is a bajan soul worth.”

Don’t know ’bout the res’ but my vote is priceless, my soul is priceless.

37. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Ping Pong January 22, 2018 at 10:07 AM “I am told that in 2002 MacClurkin admitted to homosexuality but that God has changed his lifestyle.”

I don’t believe this.

38. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@GreenMonkey January 22, 2018 at 10:19 AM “Talking about warfare, I wonder who it was this guy pissed off.”

The Mossad maybe?

39. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

Artax January 22, 2018 at 10:48 AM “distribution of Christmas hampers”

Christmas gone nearly a month now and I still int get my hamper.

Tell de fellas that i would be happy to accept a Christmas hamper on Valentines Day, Easter Day, my birthday or election day…any day is a good day to receive a Christmas hamper.

40. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Ping Pong January 22, 2018 at 12:40 PM “the hypocritical DLP that YOU support, have said it intends to make the presumed sexual orientation of opposing politicians an election issue.”

We really need to stop prying into people’s sex lives. For example to the best of our knowledge our Prime Minister has never married anyone.

So is he a virgin?

Or is he an unrepentant fornicator?

41. Simple Simon

what is it you don’t believe; that MacClurkin admitted homosexual activity or that God changed his lifestyle? You are entitled to your beliefs but MacClurkin made these claims.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3743877/Formerly-gay-minister-Donnie-McClurkin-revealed-dating-female-gospel-singer-god-cured-curse-homosexuality.html

42. Want to send an early message to the ruling class? Whenever the election horse charges out of the stable DO NOT ATTEND A SINGLE DLP MEETINGS! What can they say to us about the economy, gasification, sewage, transportation, road repairs, education, Hilton, Sam Lord’s Castle etc, etc, that they failed to tell us about for five years ( and three months – full term ‘cause de people ‘lected we to s(w)erve for a full term)? Think of the frantic meetings in George Street as the rabid dogs start blaming each other and the word goes out to purchase more hampers. Now I know that the cool aid drinkers will attend every meeting and that’s to be expected. Heck, they have been living on table scraps for five years so they are now full blown cult members. For five years, only constituency member were considered important enough to receive blessings, well let those pompous asses continue to speak to their choir boys and girls. I will not attend a single DLP meeting.

43. @Fearplay

You promise not to stream also?

44. NorthernObserver Avatar

My observation, is prior to the upcoming election, there should be a referendum.
    The referendum questions should include at least
    1. Term for elected persons. Currently 5, but I believe it needs to be shorter. An accountability reckoning twice in 10 years is too far apart.
    2. Republic vs status quo.
    3, Fiscal limits

Barbadians, nor their politicians, are quite as ‘different’ as we may like to think. Given technology, holding votes and counting ballots is no longer a major exercise. A referendum should be separate from a general election.

I believe Barbados would benefit from setting modified ground rules.

General elections, with 2000 item manifestos, are not geared at performance. Nor should we attempt to confuse specific referendum questions with party nor candidate.

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Dr. Simple Simon January 22, 2018 at 3:07 PM

The man who hates that ‘woman’ to call him on he/she telephone is a closet bull (shitter), pure and simple.

Just like Mia is a rumoured dyke.

Dipper was bi, Tom was too and David was tri. Why are you surprised dead dick Fumble likes to dabble in shite on the South coast just like those two lawyering and gym macho men?

Homosexuality is the one of the sins of being ostentatiously intelligent. Why do you think Bush Tea is that smart as to cuss them to high heavens and go ‘MIA’ when his ‘behind’ is most wanted?

46. Dr. Simple Simon January 22, 2018 at 3:00 PM #
    @GreenMonkey January 22, 2018 at 10:19 AM “Talking about warfare, I wonder who it was this guy pissed off.”

The Mossad maybe?

Simple our thoughts exactly. He had ties to Israel, invested and donated tons to that country. There was no forced entry and nothing was stolen. they were off’d by professional assassins.

47. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“Just like Mia is a rumoured dyke.

Dipper was bi, Tom was too and David was tri. Why are you surprised dead dick Fumble likes to dabble in shite on the South coast just like those two lawyering and gym macho men?”

So why are they all pretending to be steeped in morality, hypocrisy kills.

48. @Northern Observer

You are being provocative of course?

You are very aware we do not have the Constitutional space to hold a referendum even if the political directorate had the appetite for it. The suggestions are good though.

49. NorthernObserver Avatar

Yuh know I prefer numbers…..what are the boundaries of “constitutional space”?

50. Worse case scenario up to June 2018.